This business is not BBB accredited.

Lawn Control Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 944-7550 View Additional Phone Numbers 29625 Lakeland Blvd Frnt, Wickliffe, OH 44092 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lawncontrolcenter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Lawn Control Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Lawn Control Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1999 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 09/11/2014 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Department of Agriculture
8995 East Main Street, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.ohioagriculture.gov
Phone Number: (614) 728-6250
Fax Number: (614) 466-4346
foodsafety@mail.agri.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Hackney, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Hackney, Owner
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Fertilizers

Industry Tips
Lawn Care Companies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lawn Control Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    29625 Lakeland Blvd Frnt

    Wickliffe, OH 44092 (440) 944-7550 (440) 306-0279 (888) 549-9618

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8595 Columbus Pike # 201

    Lewis Center, OH 43035

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dried grass, nutsage(?) grass invasion, incompetent and unreliable treatments. Also, I have tried for 2 days to contact them. Constant machine response- left a number and message on a promise to call back. No call back. Finally sent an email cancelling service. Still no callback! Would prefer a verbal cancellation for verification, but no matter. I have a copy of my email response. Have contacted another service provider who will start next week.

Desired Settlement: As stated above - No references and no contact with lawncarecontrol center again.

Business Response: Unfortunately this season is extremely dry, so the lawn will be dry. Last year it rained 23 out 25 days in July so the lawns will look different. Furthermore at the customers request she skipped applications 2 and 4. The untimely and unreliable applications are due to the customer wanting less applications.She did have the regular visits last year with no problems. Nutsedge is a type of grass, not a weed and we do not guarantee the removal in dry weather. We will work on it slowly on it not to do damage to turf. It will defenitely not go away with 2 skipped treatments. The customer got 2 out of the 4 applications this year, that is the problem. We have you cancelled.

8/12/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed up with lawn care service in Feb 2016. I received first application a little bit late in April (That should have been my clue). My second application I had to call and leave messages more times then I can count to get someone to call me back. Finally they showed up and use the same fertilizer as the first application (crab grass preventer) even said so on the bill. Time for my 3rd application and numerous calls yielded one return call telling me they would have someone that week. That was two weeks ago. Allow me to add my lawn has more weeds then it ever has had, promises of free insect and grass seed application in between fertilizer applications were never fulfilled.

Desired Settlement: Adhere to fertilizer agreement OR REFUND ALL MY MONEY.

Business Response: First off, the customer called on 3/3 to order service, not Feb.  The first application was done on 3/29, not late in April. The 1st applications are done to the end of April. This was done well before that.The customer only wanted 5 out of the 7 application program. They requested to skip round 3 and 5. We spaced them out appropriate for the requested 2 skips. The 2nd application was done on 6/3. The 2nd application did have crabgrass prevent added as a extra protection. Which is completely a bonus for customer at no extra charge and was put down because of poor condition of lawn. I am not sure why that would be a negative. The next application was scheduled on 1st week of August. The customer cancelled on 8/5. We do spray the weeds on each application, but there can be a problem with weeds when you have applications skipped, especially when yard is not in great condition to begin with. Whatever application they want we will be happy to do. We setup the program exactly how he instructed us on 3/3  and did him to the exact specifications. We do spot seeding in fall, we have never said we do seeding in between applications. We do treat for insects for free as we find them during normal applications. Again, if he would like to continue service we will do it however you instruct us too, skips or no skips. If you do skip a round and would then like to have it, we will be happy to come back as soon as we can when we are in the area, usually a week weather permitting. We do the area all at the same time, when you want to be skipped and later request to have the application, that is the process. We did the service exactly as instructed from the person who opened the account. Furthermore the dates he that he stated were inaccurate. If you would like documentation on dates that were stated incorrectly we will be happy to supply them.

Business Response: We are sorry it did not work out for you. Unfortunately trying to save money and skipping applications doesn't always work out the best for your lawn. We did exactly what was instructed by the customer.

Consumer Response:



Better Business Bureau:

Let it be known, my lawn was in good to excellent condition beginning Spring 2016.  Having to call numerous times and leaving numerous messages not to receive a call back is not what I expect out of a business.  I did get a call back when I said I was going to quit service. Having had my lawn treated by the competition for the last 10 years, I can honestly say the grass ISN'T greener when you choose cheaper....

 

Close the case....

Regards,

**** *******


7/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called a couple of weeks ago to advise of brown spots left on my front lawn and my neighbors lawn after the last treatment. I was advised someone would be out in a couple days to look at it and fix the problem. I never received a follow up phone call or note on my door stating anyone was there or anything was done. Made a call again on 4/13 and advised situation not rectified. Told I would receive a call back that day from the local manager. I tried back at 4:45 until 5 to get in touch with someone to advise that I never got the call. I left several messages on 6/14 as no return call. All I get is the automated system. Very difficult to speak with anyone or get a response. This is our second year with them.

Desired Settlement: Would like a call and a date they will be out to fix the issue prior to the next lawn application. Would like the brown spots fixed.

Business Response: Im confused by this statement. The letter states someone called us on 4/16 which doesn't make sense. We show no such call.  It takes usually about 5-7 business days to come out for a non emergency. We show a call on 6/6. On 6/13 we got another call and I went out to property that day. I made sure there were no insects.  The next day on 6/14 I called and spoke to the Mrs. I told her I came out day before and nothing seems to be seriously wrong other than being dry. The small spots were browner than rest of lawn. I said I would have someone come out before next app and reseed. She said good. Another thing I am confused is that the customer did speak to the office manager as she states. I came out the following week. I also spoke to her on the day that this complaint was filed. I already told her we would reseed the small spots and that is what she is asking for in this complaint. We did service the lawn prior year but the customer skipped 3 of the applications per their request. The lawn is in fair shape with the 3 skipped applications, but will never be like it should with skipped applications.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did not state 4/16.  I stated 6/16.   I had to call them to remind them to come out because they had missed applications on our yard.  The brown areas are not due to missing, but incurred after application was done to my yard and neighbors yard.  A note was never left saying someone came out previously to look at yard.  First response back was on the day I made the BBB complaint as no one ever did call me back after being promised a call.  I would like to be notified when they will be coming out to seed the three areas so that I will not be left wondering if they came out.   

 

They are also very hard to get in touch with as you always have to leave vm hoping someone will call you back no matter which phone option you choos.


Regards,

******** ****

Business Response: On the first message it indeed says she called on 4/13. It was confusing like she was calling for months. Please read the first message she wrote and sent. When she spoke to crissy not an answering service, I came out that very day and then called on 6/14 and spoke directly to the customer. we usually come out in a week depending on weather.  Secondly, I spoke to the customer on 6/14 and explained I was out there 6/13 and looked at spots. She asks if I would reseed the small spots before we come out next time. I said yes, that is not a problem.  She said thankyou. Then I got a message from the BBB. She made no mention of that in our conversation. I have the conversation taped on 6/14 when I spoke to her. I stated this all in the first message.. So, I will say it again. We will come out before the next visit and reseed those small areas. We will call them before we come out. If this customer has confusion about our conversation and the last 2 messages I will be more than happy to talk to her again. 

4/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had service with lawn control center in 2015 they did more applications than they were suppose too.I paid them for all of these and the lady at there phone number assured me in 2016 I would have only five treatments like I originally wanted.Early in 2016 I received a special stating that I was going to receive nine treatments in 2016 and I could receive these at a reduced rate if paid early.I made several attempts to call and se what was going on and NO one returned my calls so my last call I stated I wanted to quit service. Late in March I made one more call to lawn control and no call back.So I hired another company and low and behold my new company and lawn control treated my yard on the same day.I called lawn control and they answered there phone the representative there said I owed her for this treatment and I told her I wasn't paying it and she said she was sending me to collections.So I filed a BBB complaint in central Ohio and called BBB and was informed that with most cases you have to cancel with a cancellation letter. So I sent them a certified letter and now the letter I sent wasn't deliverable.Note I do not have a written contract with this company and I've sent to e-mails to there new customer e-mail address and still haven't got a response.

Desired Settlement: For my service to be cancelled and the treatment I received to be written off

Business Response: must be mistaken we do not offer 9 applications, never have. So I don't know what paper they received . I have no record of a cancellation so I have cancelled account.

3/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for service in 2014 and 2015 was to be our 2nd year with the Lawn Control Center. Previously we were supposed to get 10% off service for signing up online and that did not happen immediately. In 2015, our 1st treatment should have happened in March and it didn't happen until April when the dandelions and weeds had already begun to grow. I paid for our 1 and only treatment in April and our check was cashed and posted in early May. I had to call at the beginning of June because we had not received our 2nd treatment. They tried to tell me that a tech had came out on May 27 and treated our lawn. A sign was not left on our lawn and there wasn't a bill left on the door. However, around that time there was a sign that was left in our neighbors yard. A bill was mailed to us and I then called the center and spoke to them and said we had not received service. The person told me they would send someone out for service. Weeks went by and still no service. I called on June 22 and to cancel. They told me they would cancel and I wouldn't have to pay for service that we did not get. Since that phone call they mailed a letter saying the account was cancelled. They never once told me I had a balance due. Since June 22 I have not got any other correspondence from the company until today. I got a phone call saying I have to pay for service that I did not get. They also sent a letter saying they sent statements, letters and reminders saying our account was past due. I did not get any reminders since June 22. I always paid my bill on time and would have paid for service on time if we would have got service. I asked to speak to management and they told me I couldn't until later on in the week. I look forward to hearing from management.

Desired Settlement: I think the business has a responsibility to call me and also to adjust my account balance to zero. When I called to cancel on June 22 they never told me that I had an outstanding balance due.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

From: *** ******** <*******@hotmail.com>
Date: Sat, Jan 30, 2016 at 2:39 PM
Subject: Complaint
To: "******@cleveland.bbb.org" <******@cleveland.bbb.org>


Hello,

You are working on a complaint of mine for the law control center. I have been in contact with them by email and they are clearing my account of any balance. Please close my complaint it has been resolved.
Thank you,
******** ********

Business Response: Apology no balance and no money due this was an inadvertent phone call and letters. Account is clear.

1/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had signed up for their services and was with them for a little while. Overall we were not impressed with the level of service they have been providing us. On one of our scheduled visits for lawn treatment, after arriving home from work, my neighbor had told me the Lawn Control Center representative that was supposed to treat our lawn, treated her lawn instead, and left us with a bill on our door. At that point, we had enough. On 6/24/2015 at approximately 3:10PM EST I had contacted the company and left a voicemail stating what they had done in error and informed them we wanted our account canceled right then and that we should not have to pay for their agent treating our neighbors lawn and not ours. In addition, I sent them an e-mail through their website explaining the same thing, only to get a bounceback notification saying the e-mail was rejected (which I have a copy of the sent e-mail and error). The next day (6/25/15), my wife got an e-mail from a lady with the company stating they were sorry to hear we were canceling our service (in which we still have a copy of the letter). That tells me that she either got the e-mail I sent her and/or the voicemail I left. By doing so, she must have acknowledged of me telling her what they did in error. We received a letter in the mail today stating we have not replied to correspondence and are stating we had a delinquent account and that if we didn't pay, they would turn us over to a collection agency.

Desired Settlement: We will not pay for a service we did not receive and are asking for this company to take responsibility for their error and seek no further action against us in regards to any kind of payment or service. They will not submit any type of collection agency service against us. This is the only outcome that will be acceptable for us.

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My lawn is riddled with weeds even though Lawn Control Center has been treating it regularly. Cannot reach company on phone & they don't return my calls. My lawn now has more weeds than it has ever had. Would not recommend this company to anyone. Very disattified with the results of this company's services and will discontinue their service.

Desired Settlement: The weeds to be gone from my lawn

Business Response:

This customer has never contacted our company with a complaint or service call of any type all season. If they call for service it automatically goes right in my list as priority. She might have called, there was definitely no message left for a service call of weeds, that is our priority. If there is no message , we have no idea they called. Our new software is very sophisticated and marks it as priority for weed calls.  I have put her in for a free service call and it will be re-sprayed for weeds this week.

****

8/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used Lawn Control Center for nearly two years for lawn fertilizing and weed control. Prior to this issue they have been prompt, courteous and attentive. About 2 months ago they spread granule fertilizer and dumped some in two spots, killing the grass. I have called at least four times requesting it be taken care of, and never even received an acknowledgement of my concern until I called to cancel further lawn treatments. I requested the spots still be repaired though, not surprisingly, I received no return call. Sadly, the service technician had been out to spray the lawn a couple times since the concern was raised and they never cared for their error.

Desired Settlement: I would like the problem they created to be repaired. If not, then I would like a refund that will cover the cost of grass seed, straw, another lawn service provider to work the lawn, and time for me to water and care for the damaged area.

Business Response: As soon as the weather breaks and it is suitable for grass to germinate we will renovate the burnt area. Unfortunately, we did not get 4 phones calls on this matter. We have had this customer for years with no problems with communication. I apologize for this and we will fix.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  We certainly did make at least 4 calls, and left messages, though only was able to make contact with a person on one occasion. Regardless, we appreciate their contact back in this case.

Regards,

****** ********


7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Been using this company for 2 years and this is the worst my lawn has ever looked. It is filled with weeds and has many bare spots that did not used to be there. We have called and left at least 5 messages in the past month and have not gotten a return phone call. They even came and did another application despite us telling them in voicemails that we do not want them coming near our lawn and that they were crazy if they think we are paying for our last 2 bills. They only have an answering machine so this is was the only option. The only thing positive I can say about them is that they were cheap. But obviously there is a reason for that!

Desired Settlement: Agree that we will not have to pay our balance due.

Business Response:

I will dismiss the bill. But for the record there are some untruths involved within their complaint.

1) we have a live person answering the phones she can not get to all calls so we have a roll over answering machine, very common.

2) our phone system tracks all phone calls and logs them within each customer account, there is no record of a message left.

3) we have photographs of all customers lawns at the start and end of the season, the lawn is healthy and green.

4) everyone gets weeds throughout the season as we have no way of preventing weeds just controlling.

5) we do not take care of bare spots we fertilize.

  I will clear account and cancel service.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution to clear and cancel service is satisfactory to me.  But, I will not stand by and be called untruthful.  I will again tell the truth about this company in the hopes that others do not choose this company to do business with.  Trust me, there is no reason for me to be untruthful.  On the contrary, they have many reasons to be untruthful.  In the end, I believe the truth will made clear.  It's only a matter of time.  And as you will see, my complaints are consistent with many other complaints made against this company.  I will address each claim specifically:

1) we have a live person answering the phones she can not get to all calls so we have a roll over answering machine, very common.

While this may be true, over the past 2 years that we have been with this company, I would say that we maybe called about 10 times and never once did we get a live person.   Nor has my neighbor whom uses this company.  But don't take my word for it. Go ahead- try for 5 days in a row- I would put money on the fact that no live person will answer. That being said, prior to this past month when we were calling and complaining about the service and asking for a manager to call us back, we always did get a return phone call.  Like I have said before- in the last month, between myself and my wife, we had called at least 5 or 6 times within a 3 week time frame.  Once we got a message (which he left during a time where we stated we were not available bc of our jobs) and they guy whom left the message clearly had no idea why were calling.  Other than that, we did not receive a return phone call. 

2) our phone system tracks all phone calls and logs them within each customer account, there is no record of a message left. 

This is the one that angers me the most because by making this claim, you are flat out calling me a liar.  I do not lie.  If you truly want to stand by this statement, then your "phone system" does not work and you should look into this.  

 

3) we have photographs of all customers lawns at the start and end of the season, the lawn is healthy and green.

This one made me laugh.  Do you really think people will believe that myself or anyone who has a problem such as mine, would go through all this trouble of writing a complaint if their lawn was healthy and green? This is truly the worst my front lawn has ever looked.  So bad that we have recently had 2 other lawn care companies come and discuss both have said that the damage is so bad that it would talk 6-12 months to repair.  

4) everyone gets weeds throughout the season as we have no way of preventing weeds just controlling.

 

Really?? Come look at my lawn again- the weeds are completely out of control.  

 

5) we do not take care of bare spots we fertilize.

Those bare spots were NEVER there prior this season.  And I don't know if "bare" is the correct word.  The weeds are so out of control that the bare spots we are referring to are spots where there is no longer any grass, just weeds.  The weeds literally took over and killed out the grass on those "bare spots".  
 

Regards,

****** ******


4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor service and follow up is impossible. Called a number of times and no one called me back as I was cancelling service due to poor outcomes, including damage to my yard and the fact that they gave me a neighbors bill on two separate occasions. Instead they delivered a current bill and then tried to say I owed them for an additional treatment that had already been paid ($49.05) on 08.08.2014. I am paying my current charge but am not paying the additional billed amount ($49.05).

Desired Settlement: Deletion of additional charge for service that had already been paid on 08.08.2014.

Business Response:

 The invoice attached was sent  out to them on 10/9 when we cancelled their account. If we are missing a payment, we will correct immediately. Otherwise the payment is due now.
 
Thankyou,

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NEVER CALL AHEAD BEFORE THEY COME. AERATED THE FRONT LAWN [10/8] WITH NO PRIOR AUTHORITY AND BILLED ME FOR THE SERVICE. WHY WOULD YOU AERATE THE FRONT LAWN ONLY TO START WITH? HAVE NOT RETURNED ANY OF MY CALLS [3X]

Desired Settlement: MAKE SURE I AM NOT CHARGED FOR THE SERVICE I DID NOT ORDER. THANK YOU

Business Response: Company's response by telephone/BBB staff/** 

 **** *******, owner of the firm stated he has personally spoke with his customer and this matter was resolved.  The consumer promised that he would be contacting BBB.  The account was adjusted. 

Consumer Response:

Consumer called. Complaint resolved.
 
 

 

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 19th Lawn Control Center made a service call to aerate my yard, at which time their technicians machine damaged multiple places in my lawn causing bare spots of dirt and mud. I started to contact them about this damage as of August 23rd via an e-mail to their "Contact Us" address in which I laid out my complaint as well as pictures of the damage. I received no response and reached out to them again via e-mail (please note you cannot call and reach a live person, only leave messages) on August 28th in which I provided more pictures of the damage, and threatened to cancel my service and contact the BBB. I received no response again to this e-mail, but instead they came and applied another round of fertilizer ignoring my requests to have my lawn fixed.I finally left a voicemail and they did in fact contact me back on 8/31, and said they would send a technician out to take a look at the damage.On September 22, almost a month after I had originally contacted them about the damage, they sent someone out to inspect the damage, to which they denied seeing any, even though there are bare spots still in the lawn as well as the pictures I provided as soon as it happened. And to top it off, they applied another round of fertilizer, and while doing so caused more damage to my lawn, the same issue as the first time, tearing up the lawn and causing mud and bare spots.I contacted them immediately and left another voicemail telling them that they once again damaged my lawn and asked for them to contact me ASAP as this was not acceptable to deny the original claim and then cause more damage during their "inspection". I received a voicemail the following day from a gentleman by the name of **** who said he was the one who came to my house, that there was no damage, and the new damage was nothing more the tire tracks with mud and would wash away, offering no offer of resolution other then denial of any wrong doing. I have left a message asking to speak to a live person about this, but have been ignored
An addition to my complaint about this company Lawn Control Center is that on 9/24 I left them a voice mail message asking that my service be stopped due to this ongoing issue with them. They ignored this request and provide more unwanted service to my lawn yesterday and invoiced me for it. I don't know if it is a coincidence that this happened same day they received my complaint from the BBB or not.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come out, and fix the bare spots in a manner that grass will grow back in an sufficient amount to cover up the damage done. If they choose not to come out and repair the damage then I will expect them to waive the invoices as I do not feel it is appropriate for me to pay to have my lawn damaged.

Consumer Response:

Please note that Lawn Control Center finally contacted me today and we were able to come to a resolution of voiding the outstanding invoices for these services and going our separate ways.  The matter has been resolved.

Thank you and the rest of your team for your assistance with this matter.
 
**** ** ****
************
 
 

8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arranged for a treatment from the Lawn Control Center. They supposedly came out and treated my lawn. After three weeks of the yard having a significant amount of weeds, I called The Lawn Control Center and left a message on their service complaint line, advising of the problem and displeasure with the service. Supposedly, someone was to contact me withing 48 hours. I also at the time, advised I did not want anymore treatments from the company.A couple of weeks later, I still had not heard back from the company and they came and did a second treatment without my consent. On the initial conversation, I advised I did not want treatments done, without my approval prior to each treatment. Yet, even more, I advised I did not want any more treatments, due to poor results. The Lawn Control Center has ignored my complaint, disregarded my wishes, and serviced my lawn without my consent. I have not been able to get a response from the company.

Desired Settlement: I want the comany to honor my request to stop all services, I wan credit to my account for the first treamtment for which I was billed ( I have a statement signed by a witness of the condition of the lawn three weeks after the supposed treatment. I also want credit for the second application which was applied, though I asked for the services to be cancelled by calling service number and leaving message. On establishing the service I stated no treatments without my prior consent-for each treatmt

Business Response:

I wanted you to be aware.
We show no call stating that the service was cancelled. We do not go to nor want to go to a home that does not want our service. We do over 20,000 applications a year and would never go and apply a unwanted application. We do have the customer cancelled now. Also, as a courtesy, we have clear her account. Her balance is zero.
LCC
 

1/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bill from the Lawn Control Center for a service that I did not ask for or aware that they are doing it on my property for the 2013 year. They are using a scare tactic! I pay the bill or they forqard it to a collection agency in jyst few days!I made few phone calls but nobody is answering the phone ...For the record I am using Scotts Lawn Service, and all my bills are paid.

Desired Settlement: The Lawn Control Center must cancel its bill, and they have no right to use a scare tactics for collecting money. They better check their records.This is WRONG!

Business Response: ******* ***** ******* at **** ***** ****** ** signed up on 3/28/2012. He received 4 applications in 2013 and each application came with a flag at his door and an invoice. His account was suspended  after the 4th application for non payment. He was well aware of the service and paid for the previous 7 applications, in which he was late 3 times on those. He has also received 3 friendly letters in the mail with no response. The 4th letter did state that we will send to collections if we did not here from him. Amazingly enough he called on that one on 12/17 and we called him back twice. He did not answer the phone. That is a total of 7 letters. Im sure he received 1 of those, 4 were hand delivered and 4 by mail.  The services were rendered on his request.  If he calls us we will work with him on the total amount. If he does not, the bill will go to collections if not paid.
 
Thankyou,
 
Phil

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 20, 2013 I wrote a formal letter informing this company that I was dissatisfied with them and no longer wanted to use their service effective immediately. I included a check for the previous service with this letter which was cashed on September 29, 2013 so I know they received the letter. This payment brought my account to paid in full status with no outstanding balance.On Friday, October 11th, while I was away from home and without my knowledge or consent a representative from this company came onto my property and performed a lawn aeration service. I came home to find a bill of $21.35 for this unwanted service hanging on my front door. I have tried on multiple occasions to try to contact this company via phone and no one ever picks up on any extension tried.

Desired Settlement: My position is that I do not owe this company any money whatsoever as they chose to ignore my request for them to cease services at this address. I would like the Lawn Control Center to send me a formal letter acknowledging that I do not owe them any money, that my account is paid in full, and that they understand that they are not to perform any services at this property in the future.

Business Response:  Invoices for aerations are printed and put on another truck. By time the mail was received with the letter to cancel service, we already performed the $20 aeration. When they called in to tell us they weren't paying we immediately credited the $20. There balance is zero. We don't argue of $20 if we are wrong or right. We would not go out and do an aeration for $20 if we knew they didn't want it. An aeration for that yard is $100. We lose money on it. They called and got a special price for new customers. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Lawn Control Center
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart