This business is not BBB accredited.

Romero's Landscaping

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 253-0171 20860 Miller Ave, Cleveland, OH 44119 http://www.romeroslandscaping.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Romero's Landscaping include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Romero's Landscaping
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2005 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Department of Agriculture
8995 East Main Street, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.ohioagriculture.gov
Phone Number: (614) 728-6250
Fax Number: (614) 466-4346
foodsafety@mail.agri.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Romero Phillips, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Snow Removal Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20860 Miller Ave

    Cleveland, OH 44119

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 200732

    Cleveland, OH 44120

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March I engaged Romeros Landscaping to maintain my yard, both lawn and beds, plant some pachysandra, and undertake Spring and Fall cleanups. He agreed to satisfy my needs. Beguiled by his assurances as well as his website proclaiming him a member of the BBB, I gave him a check he requested for $50 to secure our agreement, said sum to be applied to the fall clean-up. The next day he offered me a 10% discount if I paid for the entire seasons cost for lawn cutting. All other work would be billed at $61.50 an hour for his team (****** and his helper). I gave him another check for $680. Then the excuses and interminable delays began. At the end of the first week in June the weeds where knee high, the pachysandra was unplanted, the lawn was a scraggly mess, the edging and trimming crudely done with a weed-whacker. ****** complained that he couldnt get through my back gate with his riding mower. His small mower was being repaired so he cut my back lawn with his weed-whacker. He appeared only once in April, pleasantly ignored my complaints, and patiently explained that his helper had jumped ship for a job with Taco Belle, leaving him to care for 70 customers by himself. checks in the amount of $730. I told him I must end our relationship. I had given him two checks in the amount of $730 and asked him to refund the unearned portion of that money which I reckoned to be $465 for the lawn. I was willing to forfeit the $50. He refused. He said he intended to keep all the money. He was ready to attend my lawn for the rest of the season, but I should find someone else to renovate, maintain the beds, and clean up in the Fall. Considering that ****** has failed to provide the services he agreed to, I believe he is in default and obligated to honor my request. I respectfully submit this matter for your adjudication.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of at least $465. An additional $50 may be added to that figure as a result of the adjudication requested above.

Business Response: In response to Mr. *** *****'s complaint. I explained to him my situation about finding quality employees, my two main guys quit. One of them went back to school and the other had health issues. Yes I did tell Mr. ***** that I would do the work and eventually I would have done it, even now I am caught up on extra work. I had made every effort to do the extra work for him and his wife. I even went as far as telling them that I would do said flowerbed/extra work in his complaint and if it was not up to par or he was dissatisfied in anyway the work would be a free project. They had agreed to that and then I got a call from them in which he said "I no longer want you on my yard, I hired a new landscaper and then the insults started". So at that point all negotiations were off and I told him I still wanted to fulfill the grass cutting as described in my contract and his new landscaper could do the flowerbed work. Mr. *****'s grass was always well maintained Like my other 70 clients. My first obligation is to the grass cutting, that is what is under contract. I am still willing to cut his grass for the rest of the season. And I never said I could not do his fall clean up. It has been told to me that Mr. ***** changes landscapers on a regular basis. If you need a copy of his contract, it is available. Mr. ***** Broke the grass cutting contract after about two months and there can be no refund in this matter.

Consumer Response: My need and my agreement was for a full service landscaper as advertised by ****** in his website and by his personal assurances that he could and would do the work. I never "insulted" him or said I didn't want him on my yard. I find those asseverations to be as sad as they are untrue. I treated ****** with the respect he deserves both as the pastor of a church and a businessman. I expected the same him from him. It is I who, unfortunately, paid him upfront. It is he who broke our agreement through shoddy work and non-compliance. The moral: money warps ethics.

Business Response: Company's Response by telephone/BBB staffs/** 

 
Company responded that they will offer no refund, they serviced the lawn and stand behind their contract.  As a goodwill they are willing to either provide a Fall clean up or Spring clean service for the consumer, this was not their choice to discontinue services, but the consumers.     


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Romero's Landscaping
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)