BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Ground Works Land Design

Phone: (440) 930-8400 Fax: (440) 930-8401 869 Canterbury Road Suite 3, Westlake, OH 44145 http://www.groundworkslanddesign.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ground Works Land Design meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ground Works Land Design include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ground Works Land Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 11, 2009 Business started: 05/01/2007 in OH Business incorporated: 03/02/2009 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Department of Agriculture
8995 East Main Street, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.ohioagriculture.gov
Phone Number: (614) 728-6250
Fax Number: (614) 466-4346
foodsafety@mail.agri.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tony Nasrallah, Owner, President, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Nasrallah, Owner, President, Human Resources
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Floodlights & Search Lights Snow Removal Service Irrigation Systems & Equipment Contractors - Retaining Wall

Products & Services

Ground Works Land Design offers the following product(s): Techo-Pro Contractor, UniLock Authorized Contractor

Industry Tips
Lawn Care Companies

Additional Locations

  • 869 Canterbury Road Suite 3

    Westlake, OH 44145 (440) 930-8400

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When initially receiving the fee quote from the company, they provided us with signed quote which they asked to be counter-signed and sent back to the company. After discussing the various services included in the fee quote with the company, the fee quote (inclusive of a description of each service to be provided) was signed and send back to the company. After a series of rescheduling issues which the company did not notify us about, they called and told us they are at the house performing the work but that they could not do the agreed upon work for the price provided in the signed proposal because they did not perform adequate diligence when providing us their bid. The proposed bid was to remove landscaping rocks from all beds on the property, clean up the beds, edge the beds, and place mulch down in place of the rocks. When the company notified us of the need to alter the bid, the company said they could do the work on the front portion of the house but that they would lose too much money if they were to perform the work on the rest of the project. He said he would do the rest of the work in the back for about $500 dollars or so. Based upon his verbal indication, we accepted his revised proposal to do the work on the front and that he would provide us a bid later but for approximately $500. After the work on the front was complete, he called and said that just to pick up the rocks (not including the rest of the services) would be $1,500. We told him that it was too much money just to pick up the rocks in the back. A day later we received an invoice for the full amount of the job. To us, it seems that he purposely priced himself out of the job (which was less than the services provided) but charged us for the full amount. Not to mention, the amount of mulch he put down on the front was not adequate and there are still numerous rocks in the front yard.After receiving the invoice we called the company to ask about the invoice, the services not provided, and why we are being charged for a job which is not completed or agreed upon. After a couple weeks of no communication, I began to call multiple times during the week of July 29th but I received no return phone call or message. I dont believe we should be charged for a job which was half completed based on the signed proposal.

Desired Settlement: Besides a phone call we should not be invoiced for the full job which was agreed upon in writing based on doing approxiamtely half of the job.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted GroundWorks Land Design LLC to remove 3 trees from my front lawn, gind the tree roots and stumps and repair my front lawn. I received a signed proposal that included the tree removal, grinding the stumps and roots, tilling the existing lawn area 3 inches deep, delivery and installation of screened topsoil, seed, starter fertilizer, and top dressed with Hydro seed pelletes. I made a 25% deposit as requested in the proposal and 75% at completion. The total amount was $5,636.57 and both checks were cashed. Multiple times I questioned the way the work was being done but I was assured that the workers knew what they were doing.The tree removal and grinding of the stumps and roots was handled by a sub-contractor.I have issues with the lawn work that was performed. I have discussed these issues with **** ********* on multiple occasions but I don't believe that any of these problems will be corrected. Each time a point out a problem he tells me to wait (the work was completed March 28 2012) or that I don't know what I am talking about which is very insulting. Because of a physical disability I am not able to correct these problems on my own.The lawn was not tilled as specified. A small tractor was used to remove the wood chips left by the chipping process. Along with the wood chips about 3 inches of the existing topsoil was removed from the lawn and from the tree lawn. The lawn is now about 3 inches too low.Although screened topsoil was to be brought in as specified I did not see the delivery. The quality of this material is very bad. It is not screened topsoil as was specified. It appears to me and others who have seen it as crushed clay.The lawn was not properly graded and shows low and high points,Many areas of the lawn do not appear to have any grass seed.No starter fertilizer was applied.Insufficient amount of Hydro pellets were applied.My lawn looks horrible. Very little grass is growing and only in a few patches.I did not get the lawn that I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I cannot afford to pay another company to fix my lawn and physically I am not able to do the work, **** ********* has provided token efforts and I don't believe that he will ever give me the lawn that I paid for. If he cannot complete this work he should refund the money that is needed for me to hire someone else to complete the job.My front lawn looks horrible. As it looks now he has damaged my property. If I were to sell my house now I would loose thousands of dollars.

Business Response:

**** ********* with the business responded via phone as follows:

Consumer hired him to remove trees and stump grind lawn, also install new lawn. They removed the trees. The contract was for 25 yards of topsoil - they gave him 50 yards of topsoil at no additional charge. Lawn gets a 1 year warranty. For a full lawn it takes 2-3 years to fully develop. They also saw-cutted the lawn. The consumer thinks they brought fill dirt when they actually brought screened topsoil. It rained the night before so the soil may be clumpy. They tilled up the lawn and grinded the stumps. The consumer noticed sediment - this is normal. The company has been out several times to address these issues. Every time the consumer called they responded to him. Tony had to be out of town last week but told the consumer he would contact him today. There are certain areas where grass is not growing but they will touch them up. The lawn was planted nearly a month ago. Some seed may have dried out due to lack of watering.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Although the business has verbally told me that they will reimburse the cost to repair my lawn I have not received any document stating this and I have not received any money from this business.  This case should remain open and I will proceed with the court date of July 10, 2012 unless I receive the money to repair my lawn.

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

Business Response: The company responded via phone as follows:

The consumer signed a settlement agreement and release form. The consumer received a check on July 3, 2012.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1