BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Imperial Home Center Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Imperial Home Center Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Imperial Home Center Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1960
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Darlene Hodge, President
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Construction & Remodeling Services Countertops Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Shower Doors & Enclosures Steam Bath Equipment & Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 16000 Madison Ave.

    Lakewood, OH 44107 (216) 221-6955

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i gave them 11,498.93 down payment....but they never came out to recheck measurements...and the total price that came in was over my budget....i ask for my money back..but they keep insisting that they need 272.12 to pay for charge card fees...never heard of such i thing...i always get my full down payment back...when they had my charge card co on the phone they told them there was no charge...they keep calling me 3-4 times a week..and now have sent a letter out to me...if they dont stop bothering me..am going to get a harrarement charged against them...i have this matter in dispute with visa co...there a terrible co.

Desired Settlement: JUST WANT THEM TO GIVE BACK MY 11,498.80 BACK IN FULL..

Business Response: Paul H**** <paul@imperialhomecenter.com>
AttachmentsFeb 16 

to me, ******* 
Dear *******,
 
I spoke with ******* in your Cleveland office this morning regarding the BBB complaint against Imperial Home Center by ******* ****** dated 2/8/2016.  Our position is that Imperial Home Center is willing to make full refund to Mrs. ****** her down payment less the credit card fees charged for this transaction.  On Friday, 02-05-16 in my last conversation with Mrs. ****** she insisted that this refund will be handled by her credit card company through their dispute resolution process.    I have enclosed with this e-mail all relevant documents pertaining to this complaint.  Included in these documents is a copy of the letter I sent by certified mail to Mrs. ****** on Friday 02-05-16 recapping events occurring up to that date.  As of today we have received no response from Mrs. ******.  As of 12:30 today, First Data (our credit card processing company) has no records of a chargeback being initiated.
 
Paul H****
 
General Manager
Imperial Home Center
16000 Madison Avenue
Lakewood, OH 44107
 
Business: (216) 221-6955
Mobile:   (216) 509-2418

Business Response:

March 4, 2016 

Better Business Bureau 
2800 Euclid Avenue 
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2408 

Attn: ******* *****
Dispute Resolution Team Leader 

Re: Complaint ID ********, Mrs. ******* ****** 

Dear *******, 

In a meeting here at Imperial on January 22, 2016, I agreed to cancel a Kitchen Remodel Agreement between Imperial Home Center and ******* ****** dated January 14, 2016 and offered to immediately refund the down payment amount of $11,498.80 less credit  card fees charged to Imperial. We also communicated that if credit card fees were returned to us after the refund was transacted Imperial would refund Mrs. ****** the difference. Mrs. ****** would not accept paying the credit card processing fees charged us from that transaction and left our building refusing to allow us to process the refund. Attempts to reach out to Mrs. ****** over the following two weeks by phone and finally a certified letter sent February 5, 2016 were unproductive. In my last discussion with Mrs. ****** before I sent the certified letter I was told that documents had been filed with her credit card company and that we would be hearing from them. We were informed in a letter from you dated February 10, 2016 that a complaint was filed against Imperial Home Center to the Better Business Bureau. On February 16, 2016, I responded to the complaint and provided all relevant documents pertaining to the complaint. Included in these documents was a copy of the letter I sent by certified mail to Mrs. ****** recapping events occurring up to that date. 

From February 16, 2016 until March 2, 2016 I made dozens of inquiries (phone calls and e-mails) with the Better Business Bureau, ********** **** and ***** **** ***********, and *** Bank attempting to bring resolution to this matter. On March 2, 2016 ****** ****, *** Bank Credit Card Resolution Analyst informed me that at the urging of *** Bank, Mrs. ****** was returning to Imperial Home Center to process the credit amount of $11,498.80 less $272.12 credit card fees charged to Imperial. Yesterday afternoon Mrs. ****** was refunded $11,226.68. We reiterated to Mrs. ****** verbally, and in writing that if our Credit Card Processing Center issues a credit against the merchant fees charged Imperial Home Center, it will be reflected on a future statement. Upon receipt of the statement from our Credit Card Processing Center, Imperial Home Center will contact ******* ****** and make arrangements to refund the credited amount. This I can assure -you we will do. 

I have attached additional documentation from ********** **** as proof to the Better Business Bureau that Imperial Home Center received less than the $11,226.68 that we refunded Mrs. ****** yesterday, and certainly far less than the $11,498.80 that Mrs. ****** insisted we owed. 

In closing I respectfully ask that your office reconsiders its decision to post Mrs. ******'s complaint in your public domain. Her complaint contains several erroneous and unfair statements. Also, Mrs. ****** was clearly in the wrong to have expected that Imperial Home Center should return nearly $300 more back to her than we received. I understand that the Better Business Bureau must advocate for the Consumer, however the fact that we are a principled business with over 30 years of accreditation with the BBB should hold some sway in this matter. We acted fairly and honorably in dealing with Mrs. ****** and should not have to suffer her slander once it is posted on your website. 

Thank you for all the great work that your organization performs. I appreciate all the time and effort put forth by you in helping with this resolution. 

Kindest Regards, 

Paul H****, General Manager 
Imperial Home Center


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

IN ALL THE YEARS THAT IVE USED MY CREDIT CARD THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I DIDNT GET FULL DEPOSIT BACK....THEY SHOULD CALL THEIR BANK AND TALK TO THEM...I STILL EXPECT MY 272.12 BACK...I NEVER SLANDERED THEIR COMPANY...JUST FILED A COMPLAINT OF NOT GETTING DEPOSIT BACK...


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Imperial Home Center Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)