BBB Accredited Business since

Vita-Mix Corporation

Phone: (440) 235-4840 Fax: (440) 235-3726 View Additional Phone Numbers 8615 Usher Rd., Olmsted Falls, OH 44138 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vitamix.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm's commercial and home products are available via its website, at home shows, and through foodservice distributors and retail dealers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vita-Mix Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vita-Mix Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 31 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 31

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Vita-Mix Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1936 Business started: 01/01/1921 in IL Business incorporated 04/30/1955 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jodi Berg, President Ms. Loree W. Connors CPA, CFO & Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jodi Berg, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Loree W. Connors CPA, CFO & Treasurer
Business Category

Kitchen Accessories Appliances - Small - Wholesale & Manufacturers Commercial Products Manufacturers Appliances - Small - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 8615 Usher Rd.

    Olmsted Falls, OH 44138 (440) 235-4840

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a household Vitamix at C***** in 2006. Within 2 years of light use, the motor broke down. I am really angry with the company and never want anything to do with them or their products ever again. I'm also angry that they happily tell you that their products last for 20 years or more. That's complete and utter bull crap. It's false advertising and they should stop touting their products when they break down to quickly.

Desired Settlement: I'd like Vitamix to create better products that don't break down within a couple years of light use. I'd also like them to backup their products with a 20 year warranty, since that is what they openly tell you about their product.

Business Response:

 

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Ms. ******* ******’s complaint regarding the durability of the Vitamix.  Our customer service center supervisor contacted ******* ******’s via email on 7/19/2015 and by phone on 7/20/ 2015 with no reply.

Vita-Mix warrants to the owner that if this Machine (a "Machine" consists of a motor blender base and any containers purchased together) fails within 7 years from the date of purchase due to a defect in material or workmanship or as a result of normal wear and tear from ordinary household use, Vita-Mix will, within 30 days of receipt of the returned product, repair the failed Machine or component part of the Machine free of charge. 

The warranty for ****************** purchased on 4/23/2006 expired on 4/27/2013; Vitamix would like to extend a one-time courtesy repair to ******* ****** to solve the issue.  A note has been placed on the account authorizing the repair.

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401

 

7/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 25, 2015, I purchased a Vitamix 7500 Blender on Amazon.com through ******* **********. Before doing so I read all of the information about this blender on the Vitamix website. There was no mention that lubrication of the blade components infuses Teflon into the blended ingredients. The Vitamix website does promote their blender as a means to healthy eating. I experienced Teflon lubricant, a fluctuating and erratic motor, and a scared carafe. When this powerful motor behaves erratically it is alarming and might make a person leery of their blender. The replacement motor was an improvement but still hesitated when starting. Initially, Vitamix had no intention to replace the carafe, scared by eggshells. The carafe looked as though little tiny pieces of the Eastman Tritan Copolyester may end up in the blended contents. It took several requests for Vitamix to offer to replace it with one that was also 'Teflon free'! Vitamix is aware that use of their blender may add Teflon lubricant to your ingredients. (Google Vitamix and Teflon). Vitamix is also aware that the Eastman Tritan Copolyester carafe, supposedly durable, scratches and dimples easily and consequently, looks awful. Their recommended solution is to use Clorox to alleviate the degraded appearance. As of this writing, I have not received the new carafe. How Vitamix handled this issue is the subject of many websites and forums. There are reports the replacement carafes do not appear to solve the problem. If there is nothing to hide then why not inform potential customers of matters of obvious concern. Marketing should include a caveat and prior to the final sale, the customer should understand that Vitamix blenders require lubrication of components which results in the addition of Teflon into the blended ingredients. Then Vitamix can proceed to educate as to why this is necessary to particulate ingredients into ultra-fine consistency and that the industry deems its consumption completely safe. Then shoppers can make an educated choice. I do not care if Vitamix claims Teflon safe for human consumption. What I put into my blender is what I want to pour out if it - This is my preference. I think the way Vitamix dealt with this issue is irresponsible and suspicious. Therefore, I do not trust the company and do not want to own any of their products.

Desired Settlement: To return the blender for a full refund and for the Vitamix company to be upfront about this issue on their website!

Business Response:

 
 

 

 

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Mr. ********’s complaint regarding the order status of his Vitamix 5200 machine.  Our customer service center supervisor contacted Mr. ******** via email with the following information.

We appreciate you reaching out to us with your concerns.  We would like to address the questions you have posed. 

Vitamix has a vigorous inspection program to continuously ensure the quality, safety and durability of all our products.  Our containers conform to food equipment safety and sanitation standards set forth by the National Sanitation Foundation.

 

Our quality team became aware of concerns over the presence of tiny black flecks found in some containers.  We’ve identified that these flecks come from a seal in the bottom of containers.  All the materials, including the seal, used to make our containers meet the FDA requirements for food contact. The FDA certification allows for and addresses the safety of any possible migration of the components into the food.

 

Based on regulatory approval and third-party testing, our seal material is safe and presents no health risk from repeat exposure. The seal material meets the FDA, EPA and other regulatory agencies requirements for contact with food. The FDA certification allows for and addresses the safety of any possible migration of the components into the food. The seal has also been tested by a third-party standards testing authority, which reaffirmed that no health risk exists when food comes into contact with the seal.   Any flecks from the seal that may be ingested over the service years of our blenders represent a tiny fraction of what is considered safe.

 

While we're confident in the quality, safety and durability of our products, we take seriously customer preferences and are looking at possible modifications.  We expect to have a new seal in production by the fall.

 

It appears that you have purchased your Vitamix from Amazon.com through ******* **********.  Please contact the original place of purchase to find out their return instructions for the return and refund of your Vitamix.  

 

We can assure you that Vitamix is confident in the quality, safety and durability of our products. Vitamix has been in business for more than 93 years, and we are committed to making the best blending equipment in the world.  Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and for giving us the opportunity to provide you with this information.   We look forward to continuing to serve you for years to come.

 

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

CFO and Treasurer 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and although it is not a complete resolution I will accept. 

When I first contacted Vitamix in regard to the appearance of black specks, I was basically told to accept and live with the condition of my blender. Case closed. 
It was only after I contacted the Better Business Bureau that Vitamix took my complaint with the gravity it deserved. Their resolution does meet my solution halfway. What they failed to address is coming clean about the Teflon issue on there website or marketing in general. I mentioned this to the sales rep at ******* ********** and his response was ' How many blenders do you think Vitamix would sell if they did that?' ... My point exactly!
In their response to my BBB complaint they address the Teflon issue and when read between the lines again communicates they knew and never did anything about it other than to continue with the manufacturing and selling this defective product.
I recently studied Lean/Six Sigma and learned about the importance of controlling defects.  In companies where this concept is practiced to maturity, defects are controlled before the become frequent or severe defects and corrective  action occurs before production continues. Surveys are also a problem solving tool. Conduct a survey to acquire statistics on what people would choose, given the choice between Teflon in their food vs. no Teflon in their food.  
The Vitamix Company is apparently stymied by their position in the marketplace as the manufacturer of the most powerful blender in existence.  Their intransigent strategy to opt for components that yield the power but create unwanted defects may be the company's demise. 
I want to thank Vitamix for agreeing to let me return the blender for a full refund. 
I hold no ill will towards the Vitamix Company and I wish them well. Operating a business is challenging to be sure.
Regards,

****** ********


Business Response:

June 30, 2015

 

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138

 

Response to BBB Requests for more information

 

 

 

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Mr. ********’s complaint regarding about ******* **********, the retail dealer where he purchased the Vitamix machine, issuing him credit. Mr. ******** was advised that once our retail dealer has received the base and the container back Harvest ********** will issue Mr. ******** a credit for the purchase amount. Mr. ******** spoke with one of our customer service supervisors and is comfortable with this course of action.

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

 

CFO and Treasurer

 

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and I understand it to mean: I return the blender and receive a full refund. I consider the matter resolved upon completion of this transaction.

Note: If this company does not currently have a data driven methodology in place, they may do well to consider it.  Proper utilization of the Six-Sigma process and following the DMAIC roadmap is powerful. This is the true resolution.
Regards,

****** ********


6/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a blender from Vitamix 3 weeks ago. I was charged immediately. I still have not received the blender, I have called numerous time and have been promised that the item will be delivered but still no delivery, or shipping notification. Now I am unable to get through to customer service, the call center is closed. They also do not respond to email contact.

Desired Settlement: I want my blender, and I want restitution for wasting my time and energy.

Business Response:


Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Mr. *******’s complaint regarding the order status of his Vitamix 5200 machine.  Our customer service center supervisor contacted Mr. ******* via phone on May 21, 2015 to confirm information for shipping.  Mr. ******* indicated that he is leaving the country May 22, 2105 and would like the machine shipped to an alternate address.

Email confirmation was sent and Mr. ******* was advised that his order was shipped on May 22, 2015 via UPS and would be delivered on May 27, 2015 to his alternate address.

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

 

 

 

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called for repair of my Vitamix. It is under warranty. We could not trouble shoot over the phone & realized it was in fact the motor that needed replacement. I was told a return shipping label would be sent to my email address with I 24 hours so I could ship it to Vitamix. I did not receive the return shipping label. I requested it 3 more times via customer service email. I have not received a response. I checked my spam mail and it is not there either.

Desired Settlement: Return shipping label w/ postage prepaid & repair/ replacement of my vita mix.

Business Response:

May 14, 2015

 

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138

 

Response to Consumer Complaint No.********

 

Re:         ******* *********

               ** ****** ***

               ****** ***** ** *****

 

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to *** *********’s complaint regarding the repair of her Vitamix 5000 machine.  Our customer service center supervisor contacted *** *********’s via phone and email on May 12, 2015, advising that a new no-charge return shipping label was sent to her.  

*** *********’s confirmed receipt of the repair label, which will be used to ship her machine back to Vitamix for repair and to be returned to her promptly.

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

440-********

********************

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** *********, Ph.D. ** ****** ***** ********* ** ***** ***** ******** April 28, 2015 **** **** President Vitamix 8615 Usher Road Cleveland, Ohio 44138 Dear ****, This letter is to inform you of the horrendous customer service that I have received from Vitamix. I purchased a reconditioned Vitamix blender from your company approximately three months ago. After using it for a few weeks, I was disappointed with its performance. Frankly, at the price point that I paid, I expected much better blending performance from the machine. I was constantly getting air pockets in my nutritional shakes, and no matter how much tamping down I did, it took much longer and more effort than my $79 *********** did. I decided to return it for full refund. That’s when the fun began. I called your customer service line for instructions for return. First of all, the wait times on your customer service line are interminable and unacceptable for quality customer service. There were several times that I have to wait over 30 minutes to talk to a representative. Ridiculous! My time has value as well, and by making your customers wait so long, you are telling them that their time is less important than your time. On the upside, once I reached your customer representatives, I found them to be consistently polite and helpful. However, your systems were supposedly in transition, making it difficult for them to find and service my order. The first person told me that they would send out a UPS label by email, that you would pay for all shipping and returns, and that I would receive a full refund. None of these promises turned out to be true. After waiting a week for the label, I called back (ANOTHER 30 minutes of wait time!) and asked that a label be sent to me again. The explanation was that you were changing IT systems and that I would receive the label within two hours. Once again I was assured that I would receive a full refund from Vitamix. I had to call a third time (another 30 minute wait) before I actually received the return label. The return was relatively easy. I packed the blender back up, brought the label to UPS and sent it off. Weeks went by without a credit to my Amex card or an explanation from your company. I called back (another 30 minute wait) and your representative told me that the blender had been received and that I would be receiving a refund shortly. Finally, I found the credit posted to my account, but for $287, not the $311 that I paid for the machine. Another call and 30 minute wait went by, only to find that I was charged a restocking fee. At this point, I have spent hours on the phone without getting satisfaction. In today’s call, it took over 50 minutes for me to reach a CSR. The matter is still unresolved. Is that keeping up with the Vitamix brand? I wonder what your great-grandfather **** ******* would say. In short, I will never buy a Vitamix product again. No matter how good you think your machines may be, your negligence in servicing my account makes you an unworthy company to earn my business. My next blender will be from ******** or **********. Hopefully you can correct your problems and provide your customers the service they deserve. Sincerely, **** *********, Ph.D. cc: Attorney General’s office Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund as promised. A personal apology would be nice.

Business Response:

May 3, 2015

 

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138

 

Response to BBB Requests for more information

 

Re:         **** *********

               ** ****** ***** ********* ** *****

 

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Mr.  *********’s complaint regarding a $27.16 restocking fee that he was charged.  Our customer service center supervisor contacted Mr. ********* via email on 5/3/2015, advising Mr. ********* that he will be credited back the $27.16 in the next 3 to 5 business days.  

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *********


5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought my Vitamix blending station advance from ********* online and is still under parts only warranty, one day, it stopped working so i took it to *** food equipment service for repair, they told me the inspection fee is $75, i said ok and left the blender there, serveral hours later, they called me and said they would not repair my machine because the machine was not bought from *******(canadian dealer) even though it is still under 3 years warranty, that is strange, they did repair my other machine also bought from ** ******* online, finally i paid $50+ tax for the inspection and took tyhe stupid machine back, it is now sitting in my garage, what a joke, product still under warranty but they refuse to repair, i paid over $1000 for it

Desired Settlement: repair it

Business Response:

  

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Mr. ***’s complaint regarding not having his Vitamix Commercial blender repaired.  Our Commercial customer service center representative contacted our designated service provider in Canada on April 28, 2015.  We received confirmation that *** Food Equipment Services, our authorized service provider, contacted Mr. *** and made arrangements for him to bring in his blender for repair.  We will be repairing the blender at no charge. 

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ***


5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, March 21, 2015: I purchased a Vitamix Blender at the Flower and Garden Show in *** *****, CA. in the amount of $462.38 in which the funds were withdrawn from my account that weekend. I was told the blender would be shipped due to them not having the black vitamix on hand. On Monday, April 13, 2015: I called the number on my receipt (800-848-2649) and asked to speak with a manager. I spoke with Mr. ****** ******* (********************). I lead my confirmation with me providing Mr. ******* with my order #. His response was that they "do not use that order number". After going in circles, as to how the order # is not relevant for y order and an explanation about how "Vitamix is going through a new system upgrade..."- he rudely asked me to send him over a photo of my receipt because Mr. ******* had no record of me in their system. I complied... On Tuesday, April 14, 2015: Mr. ******* replied to my email and all-of-a-sudden everything appeared to be fine. His email read: "Hello *******, Good morning and good news I was able to track down your order and see that it is scheduled to ship today. As soon as I have tracking information I will send that to you as well. Thank you for your patience and sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. Best regards, Andres" On Wednesday, April 15, 2015: I emailed Mr. ******* requesting the tracking number he had promised... never heard back. On Friday, April 17, 2015: I called 800-848-2649, again, however this time I choose to reach the Operator. Upon briefing the Operator about my concerns, she offered to transfer me to a higher-up manager. I agree and was connected... When I spoke to the gentleman, he apologize. However, he was more concerned with cancelling my order- rather than provide me with the proper customer service. I again asked if he could provide me with the details as to where my Vitamix was; tracking number. His reply was "it's been pulled". Seriously!!! So, my Vitamix is STILL at the wherehouse?!!! He replied, "yes. Mam, I'm here to help you- I can just cancel your order." I was very disappointed and frankly, taken-a-back by the urgency to cancel my order- even after it was paid for weeks ago. I was upset, I told him I would be contacting the BBB and hung up because I had a meeting showing up at 1pm. About 5 minutes after... the man called me and tried to apologize, and frankly- I was done with it. I had to prep for my 1'oclock meeting. Today. Monday, April 20, 2015: I have no blender, still.

Desired Settlement: I just want my blender. I also want the warranty to be extended at this point, too.

Business Response:

 
 

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Ms. ******- ***********’s complaint regarding the order status of her Vitamix 5200 machine.  Our customer service center supervisor contacted Ms. ******- *********** via phone on April 21, 2015 with an order status update.  The machine will ship out via UPS on April 21, 2015 and the customer will receive an additional three years added to her warranty.

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

Submitted by:

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401

 

 

4/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a Vita Mix on 3-21-2015, while seeing a demo at an exposition. I bought a Standard 5200 Model with a 32oz dry container. I was unable to take the product with me because I was out of town at the time. The representative told me to expect my product in 3-4 weeks. It's now the end of the 4th week. I called Vita Mix on 4-17-15 to see if they can track my package. The representative at the call center was polite and informed me that my order was just processed and due for shipping soon. Having placed this order 27 days ago with the demonstrator, I told the man I felt the processing time was a bit extreme. I have been expecting my Vita Mix for two weeks and to learn I have to wait possibly two more is disheartening. I asked for expedited processing and shipping. He said he would write a letter to his supervisor and see if that's something they can do. I am really excited about my purchase of a Vita Mix. My partner and I are starting a 3 day juice fast this Monday the 20th, and then we are doing a 7 day raw and smoothies diet proceeding. I am going to be disappointed if I have to use my current ***** mixer. It doesn't make smoothies the consistency of my preference. I've called, e-mailed and now this.

Desired Settlement: I would like my purchased to be finalized and set for priority overnight shipping on Monday 4-20-2015.

Business Response:

 

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Ms. *******’s complaint regarding the order status of her Vitamix 5200 machine.  Our customer service center supervisor contacted Ms. ******* via phone on April 20, 2015, leaving a voicemail message with an order status update.  When Ms. ******* returned the phone call she was advised that her order had shipped out April 20, 2015 via UPS and would be delivered on 4/21/2015.

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

************ ********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

Morgan *******


4/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Vitamix blender on 4/1 via vitamix.com. I received a confirmation e-mail that say night, alerting me that my order has been placed. On 4/6, I had yet to hear that my blender had been shipped (though there were charges on my credit card) so I gave them a call. After almost 30 minutes on hold, I finally reach customer service. They explained that there was a computer upgrade that weekend before, and they were behind on filling orders. I explained to them that no where on their website does it state that there was a delay in processing orders, and I had not received any communication from them mentioning this delay or even apologizing. I was told that my order was estimated to be shipped on 4/8. On 4/9, I call Vitamix (again, 20 minute hold to even speak to a representative) and they state that the "estimated ship" date is only an estimate, and they have no way of knowing when my order will be shipped. They also told me about the computer upgrade, and orders will be delayed. Once again, I explain to them that I have yet to hear one word from them regarding this delay (I have had to reach out), and their website does not mention any delay in processing. They offered expedited shipping (which I was told was not an option the first time I called), and I accepted. On 4/13 I call (once again) because I still had not heard from Vitamix. I was told (this time) that they had been doing "physical inventory" and that is why my order has been delayed. I informed them that this is my third time calling, and I was not told about this "physical inventory" and I was told my order was delayed due to a system upgrade. The customer service representative told me there was not a way that she could check on the status of my order, and did not know when it would be shipped. I asked if I could speak with a supervisor, and the representative told me that there was not one available, but could give me a call back. (Assuming this would be same day) I agreed. I was then told it would take 24-48 hours for a supervisor to call me back!!!! I asked if this was their customer service model, to treat people this way. The only response I received was "no." The customer service representative then stated "well it looks like we gave you an extra 1 year warranty for your troubles" and I stated "yes but on a product that I have yet to receive!" I cannot get an answer from Vitamix on when my blender will ship, and there seems to be zero communication between customer service and the shipping departement.

Desired Settlement: I just want my product delievered!! I ordered it on 4/1, and it has yet to ship as of 4/13. Have my product delivered ASAP.

Consumer Response:

Good morning Linda,

 I am writing to let you know I heard from Vitamix. They have mailed my order, and it is expected to be delivered today. Thank you very much for your assistance.

 Sincerely,
 ******** *******

4/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Vitamix 750 blender's on/off button broke while still under warranty. I cannot get the company to respond to my numerous contact efforts to provide me warranty coverage. I have contacted them through their listed email addresses and webforms, including their service email address specifically designed for issues like this. I've not received any response or acknowledgement.

Desired Settlement: Replace, repair or refund.

Business Response:

April 13, 2015

 

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138

 

Response to BBB Requests for more information

Complaint ID# ********

 

Re:         ***** *******

               **** ********* ***

               *********** **

                                       *****

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Mr. *******’s complaint regarding his request to repair his Vitamix Pro 750 machine.  Our customer service center supervisor contacted Mr. ******* via phone on April 7, 2015,  leaving a voicemail message to resolve the issue.  A customer service agent then followed up in the evening with an email offering to set-up a no charge repair service.    An email reply was received from Mr. ******* on April 10, 2015, and a pre-paid shipping label was established so that Mr. ******* can return is machine to Vitamix free of charge.  Once the machine is received back by Vitamix via the pre-paid shipping label provided, it will be repaired and returned to Mr. *******.  The customer service supervisor also sent a follow-up email to Mr. ******* setting expectations for the repair turnaround time of two weeks after his Vitamix unit is received in-house at our Cleveland, OH repair facility.  Once the Vitamix machine comes back, we will make sure the repair is completed and will follow-up with Mr. ******* to ensure his satisfaction.

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

Submitted by:

***** ** *******, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401

LConnors@vitamix.com

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Yes, after several weeks of unresponsiveness and after I was forced to file this complaint with the BBB, Vitamix finally contacted me to honor their legally binding warranty coverage. Thanks for getting them to respond.


Regards,

***** *******


2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a $500 Vitamix last April/May from Amazon. 4 months after owning it, the Vitamix won't work. It looks like the motor fell and is not connecting to the pitcher to mix. I wrote Vitamix, had it registered and was told that I could send it back for repair. I have been trying to contact Vitamix for 3 months now and nobody will respond to me. I will NOT buy another product of theirs, and find it extremely frustrating and wrong that this company can charge us the Ultimate price, but not service their products. Wrong anyway you look at it. I just want my mixer to work.

Desired Settlement: I would like it fixed or replaced. For $500 that is fair to me.

Business Response:

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to Ms. *****’s complaint regarding her request to repair her Vitamix machine.  Our customer service center reps and manager placed several calls and emails to Ms. ***** so that we could make arrangements for a no charge repair.  Though we were unable to speak with her during those attempts, Ms. ***** did call us back on 2/13/2015, and a no charge repair order was successfully entered.  When last checked, the pre-paid UPS shipping label that we provided to Ms. ***** so that she can return her Vitamix had not yet been utilized.  Once the Vitamix machine comes back to our Cleveland, OH repair facility, we will make sure the repair is completed and will follow-up with Ms. ***** to ensure her satisfaction.

We anticipate these actions will serve to resolve the matter.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** *. *******, CPA 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Thank-you to both of you for your help in this matter. When getting my vitamix ready to ship I found a piece that was missing on the blender. When I put it back on I then tested it to make sure it worked. It is fine. I appreciate all of the help and response from both companies. I'm sorry I am delayed getting this letter to you. I have had some family issues to address and I greatly appreciate all you have done. Thank-you!

Sincerely,

********* *****

1/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/06 C***** advertised VitaMix (VM) 5200s with Silver/Platinum plate via their circular for December 2014 as "New Colors, Same Great Performance". Boxes with VM 5200 with Silver front plate. I purchased and found at home that product was solid black. Took it back and returned, than I re-purchase another one believing that it was mislabeled, and found same black mislabeled product once again. It was specifically advertised by C***** as New models by VM - 1st Initial Page (have circular and all pictures with receipts and return invoices as well!) as well as Box with VM with Silver plates (front & back pictures). Contacted VM and asked to Fix the issue, to get a Formal Apologies for the Mislead Advertising and compensate my time, energy, frustration and hassle on purchasing-returning and the commute in obtaining the product which was advertised. I spoke with the manager of the C***** warehouse (****) and also with two representatives from VM at the local C*****, who advised me to contact VM in order to fix and compensate the troubles that they put me through in regards to the misleading information on the box, circular, and context of the box. All information as C*****-circular, Pictures of the Box, Receipts and Return Invoices, and all related to misprint and false advertised product by VM (Box with Silver Plate Blender, when inside is a Black based blender!) was sent via email and followed with VM reps on a phone (emailed all to K*** C*** x**** on 12/9). Followed up on 12/10 with S*** x**** and was re-directed to P****** x**** as Lead of Team Supervisors. On 12/12 was proposed to send the wrong product to VM and they may exchange the product which was purchased by me in C***** as their mistake. They reject to cover my hassle, my time and any potential issues that may rise between me and C***** due of my buy-return & buy again experience (being even Ban), frustration of my family for the mislabeled product that was offered and advertised by C***** that sells VM. And even was advertised by two reps in local C***** store as newly product of 2014. This false advertising not only mislead me as an executive C***** member, but others who may find the pile of VM 5200s boxes with silver plated pictures to in reality to be completely black. My commute to-and-from and then back to C*****, my time to return and explain issues to provide sufficient information on the product while returning it back, and re-purchase experience, my hassle on misled information and purchase experience, and how VM handles the entire case - account *********. In order to cover their false advertising scam, VM stated that functionality Black or any other color' one are identical products that have different shape/colors (for a reason!) and at the end, they agreed that although it was their mistake, they were only willing to offer an exchange of the product by telling me that C***** products discounted and so on (rather than to see the entire scam of misinforming there products), and as compensation they offered 1 extra year of warranty to their product, but C***** members may return product at any time if not satisfied or so. I asked if VM may see as an option to cover all my poor experience with their product, frustrated purchase experience, hassle and time that was spent and offer me as compensation free-of-charge the right product as it should be from the first attempt to be initially purchased rather than exchanging it to the right (to cover their marketing mistakes) as deceptively advertised by C***** with misled boxing and based colors and plates. They simply denied any options to stand for their product, and for their mistakes with respect to US customers, rudely stating that all products are the same. With this being said all what was offered an extra year of warranty and if persuaded, at best they may exchange to silver plated one from what purchased in C***** (that part has to be as one-on-one by admitting by their Team of Supervisors on VM mistake initially!) with no desire to apologies, nor initiate any correction and alerts to C***** and C***** members (alert/recall/etc), nor any apologies to C***** officially on my actions due of VM mistake. I informed them, that if they were going to be disrespectful and not treat their customers cordially with respect I will to contact the FTC&BBB to report this fraud behavior and state the scam that VM has created is a fraud against me and other C***** customers. I told am contacting the FTC directly in order to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices of VM. All information including all receipts, pictures, and required and confirmed that VitaMix made a "mistake" were sent and reside under Customer Account# ********* - Vitamix

Desired Settlement: I would like to ask for a help of BBB & FTC on the scam and deceptive/fraud advertisement by VitaMix (Vita-Mix or VM) that was followed up by C*****, and as best minimum to get what I was ordered - right silver plated blender 100% covered by VitaMix on their fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices, get an official and public apology from VM to US customers as myself, an official letter to C***** on VM behalf to prevent any issues between C***** and myself as member/customer, Correction actions by C*****-VM due to misled & fraud advertisement and mistake, and proper compensation for all my hassle, frustration and time with VM as product.

Business Response:

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to the complaint issued by Mr. **** E. ******** regarding a Vitamix 5200s machine. 

Mr. ******** purchased a 5200s from C***** on 12/9/2014.  The customer contacted our Household Contact Center in Ohio on 12/10/2014 to report that the machine he received had a black base, instead of a black base with a silver face plate.  Given the nature of this concern, the call was immediately escalated to our Supervisory Team Lead.

Team Lead apologized for Mr. ********’s poor experience, and offered to replace his machine with the correct C***** machine, extend his warranty by three additional years free of charge, and offered a free set of Vitamix spatulas.  The Vitamix Customer Service Team Lead spoke with Mr. ******** personally on 12/10, 12/12, 12/13 and 12/22/2014 in our attempt to ensure customer satisfaction.

Mr. ******** has refused the replacement machine, warranty and spatula offer and has instead requested a completely free machine.  This request for a free machine is, in our view, unreasonable.  The customer’s experience was due to a mistake in a production and distribution item number which resulted in some boxes containing mismatched faceplates.  There is no difference in the functionality or capabilities of the machine he received and the correct machine we offered to replace it with, other than the different color faceplates.   Our Production team has been notified of this error and corrective action has been systemized. 

In our opinion, the solutions offered to the customer in response to the complaint filed by Mr. ******** are reasonable.  We consider this matter closed.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** W. *******, ***

 

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Viatmix absolutely irresponsible. If Ms ***** will try to buy TV in silver as boxed, shown and so on, and drive back and forward and return few times, and get Black ( same works with Car, or any appliances in anybody kitchen or furniture!), I would like to hear her feedback on Time, Hassle, Frustration, and fraud advertisements due of Mistken in Print But same Functionalities.

And regarding responds on issue, Customer initiated and first two times was called to Vitamix, and on 3rd call got Lead to respond ( not vise versa - and you may get all reps with whom I talked starting from 12/9, since nobody replied via email - not even once! ).

Regarding mistakes, same functionality, and all as you said Unreasonable - Customer explained to your Lead, that initial purchase, return, then one more time, and Time taht spent was a strong perceptional point on How poor was all handled by Vita-Mix, and all pictures and re-confirmations on every aspect - That was MY Time, not even one person from VitaMix checked any store!

 

And on extra 3 years - with exchange for 3 extra years warranty, VitaMix INVALIDATE my C***** life time warranty. So, that is like get burned twice after all.

To be precise,

1. What was offered - exhcange with 3 years warranty. Not sure what extra you refer. That will just like "shut-consumer-customer-on-own-mistakes"

2. What Customer asked to be Compensated for all time that he was driving back and forward, hassle on returns, and time to explain in store and so on. That was not just Refused!

" The customer’s experience was due to a mistake in a production and distribution item number which resulted in some boxes containing mismatched faceplates."

That is called Mislead and fraud advertisement if I am not wrong, and due of such misprint and boxing of incorrect products, Companies who respect their names, recall or Update vendor/customers on potential issues related with Company product!

"There is no difference in the functionality or capabilities of the machine he received"

- Purchased first of all, not received. People buy what they would like to and with the specific colors ( As H.Ford said regarding black cars that Ford manufactured! ). All get different colored fridges, even though they are same functionalities, versa spend time, and get hassle with ignorant seller or the company that has less respect to customers and consumers!

 

Regarding the Last Statement - "Our Production team has been notified of this error and corrective action has been systemized." - THAT IS INCORRECT. And to proof - I visit twice this year C*****, and same is there and that is in 3 locations. Same boxes, same machines, same mistake. So, let me ask ***** - Who is saing TRUTH, or mislead COnsumers and Customers? Is there anybody contacted C*****? And you know well answer by using "unreasonable" on same functionality where VitaMix mislead consumers and C***** customers with a New Product Line ( all pictures in a file ), and I may share with the pleasure new ones from recent visit to C*****.

So, can you put yourself in my shoes, after waste of sooo much time, hassle with reps, and compensation on 1 (original offer!), and then 3 (the latest offer!) extra warranty (especially since you have LifeTime while you are a C***** member!).

And how about compensation that you would ask from irresponsive support where you call few times for a help, and when by saing that you will contact for a help - you get Lead from Support on a line.

 

Customer asked for a compensation for hassle, - never requested. Lets at least with a small respect to the customer  - try to be a normal people!

 

Regards,

**** ********

************

 





 

1/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Vitamix is under warranty, on November 24, 2014 I called Vitamix customer service department to tell them about an issue I had with the cup and the tamper. Issue 1 is that the tamper on the machine is peeling and chipping on the tip where it comes closest to the spinning blades. Issue 2 is that the blades inside the cup are corroded and the cup leaks from the bottom. Not a big leak but it leaks. I first spoke with J*** then I spoke with T*** who is a manager on November 24, 2014. I explained the situation as I had them send out a new cup to me sometime ago. They should have the actual date in their notes. This cup was also leaking but it was the original that came with the machine. This second cup is now also leaking. When they sent me the replacement cup, the rep I spoke with told me that it was okay to wash the cup in the dishwasher from time to time. Not all the time. So when I told this to J*** and T*** they tell me they understand "BUT" its not dishwasher safe and that is why the blades are corroded and the cup leaks.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Vitamix to stand by what they call their great warranty program and customer service experience and send me a new tamper and a new cup for my vitamix machine. If it is not dishwasher safe, that was not what I was first told when they sent me the first replacement some time ago. Now that I know that I will not use it in the dishwasher. Not my fault their employee gave me this wrong information.

Business Response:

 


Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) is responding to your request for further explanation to Mr. ******’s complaint.  We have provided Mr. ****** with a new Vitamix container (“cup”) and tamper.  According to the UPS records, these items were delivered to Mr. ****** on Wednesday December 3, 2014.

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by Mr. ******* ****** appear to have been resolved.

 

Submitted by:

 

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

************ ********************

 

1/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: after many years of debating the merits of a $500 mixer i decided to go ahead and pull the trigger on this purchase. so i went on line ordered the blender filled out all necessary forms including payment info and a pop up appeared stating that an error had occurred and my order was not accepted. so i waited and contacted support yesterday and was assured the hold on money would be released and i could search another avenue or could place my order by phone with them to get my order by Christmas................. well money is not released blender is not on way and i have no way of ordering elsewhere as they have my money tied up because website is not processing orders correctly, an issue they know of and are not correcting or blocking form online ordering, to prevent further mishaps

Desired Settlement: i want blender here by dec 24 as stated before ordering

Business Response:

December 27, 2014

 

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138

 

Response to BBB Complaint

Complaint ID# ********

 

Re: **** * ********

**** ** ****** **

************ ** *****

 

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) reviewed and investigated the consumer's complaint regarding the Vitamix 7500 blender.   The customer complained about a problem placing an order via the Vitamix website and the concern that the machine will not be delivered by Dec. 24, 2014.   On December 23, 2014, Vitamix placed his order for overnight priority delivery so that the machine can be delivered to him by December 24, 2014.  A Vitamix customer service agent will contact Mr. ******** personally to provide him with a tracking number.     We are not able to determine why Mr. ********’s original order was not successfully completed on the Vitamix website.  However, to correct the situation, Vitamix entered the order directly into the system in order to provide Mr. ******** with the Vitamix 7500 machine within the timeline requested.   

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by Mr. ******** appear to have been resolved.

 Submitted by:

***** ** ******** ***

 

CFO and Treasurer

************ ********************

 

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, December 6, 2014, I discovered that by putting plain, bottle water or facet water into the new Vitamix, wet blade, container and the old wet and dry blade containers, small, black particles appear in the water. They are clearly identified one poured out into a white bowl after the water settles. I had been reluctant to order anything new from Vitamix after having an approximate 19 year relationship with them. I was apprehensive about conducting business with them after a c Customer Service Rep displayed a bad attitude with me over the phone earlier this year. She told me that the company has a new outlook and philosophy now. ********* *******,Vitamix Cusstomer Service Manager reached out to me via email to discuss issues. I decided to hold back for a long time. So I decided to purchase a new wet blade container after speaking with a Sales Representative. It was the only viable option I was told. She said they no longer replace the blade assembly. I paid and ********* gave me overnight shipment once I complained about a lengthy deliver time. I thanked him. My problem is that all 3 of my Vitamix containers inclusive of the new one, generates small, black specks inside the container for some unknown, non disclosed reason. After doing multiple test, of observing this in water in a white bowl, I was angry, devastated and feel deceived by Vitamix, I feel that I should have been notified about these black specks potentially forming on their website or they should have sent me an update. ********* promised to respond soon I requested a time limit of 12/11/14. He has failed to respond to me ever since. I faxed **** ****, Vitamix, President a complaint. I communicated to both of them, my proposed resolution. I have not heard thus far, any response. I also mentioned how I need my money refunded back for the new container. I communicated to ********* that I am ill recently, and unable to communicate verbally now. I mentioned that this is the holiday season and I need my money back asap.

Desired Settlement: Refund on the new, wet Vitamix container purchased 11/28/14 back to my card, and substitution for the 2 old Vitamix containers with a new, Stainless Steel, Vitamix 4000 Machine/ or refund on the 2 old containers back to my card.

Business Response:

Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) reviewed and investigated the consumer's complaint regarding the blender container.   The customer complained that she did not receive a timely response to her questions. On December 16, 2014, a Vitamix customer service supervisor contacted Ms. ******* personally via email to resolve her concern, noting that email is Ms. *******’s preferred and requested method of communication.   A full refund of Ms. *******’s recently purchased container has been extended.  There is no purchase record for Ms. *******’s other containers; however Vitamix has offered to replace them at no cost.   The email sent to Ms. ******* also provides full details surrounding the tiny black flecks found in some containers, and the regulatory approval and third-party testing results thereof.

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by Ms. ******* appear to have been resolved.

 Submitted by:

***** ** ******** ***

CFO and Treasurer

************ ********************

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is my second attempt to fix my vitamix blender in less than a year after I purchased it. The first time the blender would not turn on at all even when the power light was on. I sent it to the Vitamix company so that it can be repaired. When it came back, it worked for a few weeks and then I had the same issue. The on and off switch are not working. So although the power light is on, when you turn on the switch, nothing happens. I believe that the on and off switches are defected and therefore can not be repaired. This company said, that it stands by its product, and I think this is misleading. Please let me know if you can help me. VITAMIX 6000Serial# ******************Model# 001925Thank you for your help. **** ******

Desired Settlement: Entire blender replaced; the on and off switches are defective

Business Response: Vita-Mix Corporation ("Vitamix") reviewed and investigated the consumer's complaint to the extent possible given the information provided. On May 21, 2014, Ms. ****** called claiming her unit had no power. She did not have the serial number at that time and was asked to call back when she would be near her unit to be able to provide the serial number. She called back later that day at which time our customer service representative registered Ms. ****** in our system and scheduled a return of the Vitamix machine for evaluation and repair. We provided Ms. ****** with a postage paid return UPS label. Upon receipt of the unit, Vitamix repaired the blender and logged a note in the system that the "unit worked correctly, blade bearings sounded a little loud". Vitamix repaired the blender on May 22, 2014 at no cost to Ms. ****** per the terms of our product warranty.

On July 28, 2014 Vitamix received a call from Ms. ****** claiming the same product issue as described in the May phone call. The issue was described as an ON/OFF switch failure. A customer service representative again scheduled a return for repair, providing a postage paid return UPS label. We received the Vitamix machine for evaluation on May 31, 2014. The Vitamix repair team completed their evaluation of the unit and found the inside base to have an infestation of cockroaches which was the root cause for the switch failure. Again, Vitamix completed the repairs to the machine at no cost to the customer. Ms. ******’s unit was shipped back to her on Monday August 4th, 2014 via UPS Tracking Number ******************.

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by **** ****** appear to have been resolved.

 

Submitted by:

 

Loree W. Connors, CPA

 

CFO and Treasurer

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vitamix machine was still under warranty, and was sent in for repairs after it stopped working. It was returned and was still not working. Vitamix customer representative T*** ****** was initially responsive but after I advised that the machine had not been repaired even though it was returned to me, now I cannot get any reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like the machine to be replaced, since Vitamix was unable to fix it. I hate to think that the machine was returned to me in an effort to drag on this process and avoid the warranty.

Business Response:

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by Mr. ******* do not meet with the customer responsiveness standards established by Vitamix. 

Mr. ******* contacted Vitamix on May 18, 2014 using our on-line website contact form.  At that time, our Customer needed instructions and guidance on what to do about sending his machine in for repair, since he felt the motor was no longer working properly. 

On May 22, 2014 a Vitamix representative sent Mr. ******* troubleshooting “tips and techniques” to assist him, since there are some reasons his machine might have temporarily shut off.  Included in this Email was our direct toll free Customer Service number and Email information, should he still be experiencing performance issues with his Vitamix machine.

On May 26, 2014, Mr. ******* e-mailed our representative, indicating his machine was still not working to his satisfaction.  On May 27, 2014, our representative responded to Mr. ******* via Email with instructions for setting up a fully pre-paid return so that his machine could be repaired, and he agreed to do so.

On May 30, 2014 Mr. ******* communicated via Email that he had successfully shipped back his machine to Vitamix.  His machine was given a brand new motor, fully inspected, and has now been returned to him.

A Manager call to Mr. ******* was made on June 17, 2014 to check on Customer satisfaction.  He was not available, therefore and voicemail message was left for him.  On June 19, 2014 our representative was able to reach Mr. ******* via phone, who indicated that he appreciated the follow-up and his machine was “doing the job.”

Mr. ******* seemed satisfied with this approach.  The circumstances described in the complaint filed by ****** ******* ******* appear to have been resolved. 

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

11/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this letter to express to you how extremely upset and disappointed I am with your company. I would like to bring to your attention the fact that I received extremely poor customer service during my last contact with your company. With this type of service I received I would never recommend your product to anyone due to your customer service and repair.On August 13, 2012 my husband surprised me for my 50th birthday with a vitamix. He knew I had wanted a vitamix for many years but because of the cost we couldnt afford it. So when he surprised me with this special gift I was completely shocked and excited. On July 26, 2013 at 9:00 a.m. I called your customer service to explain that my vitamix had started smoking, there was black pieces and a screw from the drive socket, I also told them my vitamix was less than a year old. The female customer service representative I spoke with was friendly and helpful, she explained to me I would receive a prepaid postage envelope to ship back the vitmix for repair. On August 13, 2013 at 3:00 p.m. (exactly one year from when I received my vitamix) it was picked up by Fed EX as directed by instructions given to me by vitamix and shipped to Vitamix Corporation 200-1701 Shepherd Street East, Windsor, ON N8Y 4Y5.Finally on August 30, 2013 after waiting since July 26, 2013 I thought I had my received my vitiamix. Upon opening the shipped box I immediately realized that this was not my original vitamix but an old and very used vitamix. The base is old and scratched up, the black centre pad is not even sitting properly on the base of the vitamix. The vitamix container is either cracked or has a deep long scratch, as well they had placed a new label on it with my model and serial number. As I was the only one who used my original vitamix it was in perfect condition, it had no scratches or marks or cracks on it, I took great care in looking after it and I was proud to have it sitting on my counter.

Desired Settlement: I would like Vita Mix to send me postage so I may return this sub standard abused until they tried to drop in my lap.Once its returned I would hope they would send me a pristine replacement such as the one I returned or a new unit.

Business Response:

November 2, 2013

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138                                                                                 

Response to BBB Complaint

Complaint ID# *******

Re:      ****** ******

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by Ms. ****** ****** do not meet with the customer service and repair standards established by Vitamix. 

The Vitamix Customer Service Manager called ****** ****** on 10/23/2013 and spoke to her husband ****.  The Vitamix customer Service Manager apologized for the incorrect Vitamix machine being returned following a repair order.  A brand new Vitamix was shipped out and successfully delivered Friday, 10/25/2013. Ms. ****** confirmed receipt of the new Vitamix machine and seemed to be satisfied with this result.  A no charge UPS Canada return label was provided so that the incorrect Vitamix machine could be returned, and that unit is on its way back to Vitamix.  The Vitamix Customer Service Manager will determine the root cause of how it could have happened that the incorrect machine was sent to the customer.

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by ****** ****** appear to have been resolved. 

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

Consumer Response:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last month, I received a notice my 64L container was recalled due to potential problems with the blade. I followed the instructions provided and returned the container to Vitamix to have the blade replaced, and my original container returned to me. The container was received by Vitamix on September 25, 2013. By October 13, I still had no container. I use this blender daily, for my nutritional needs as I have medical issues. So it is a huge loss and inconvenience not to have my blender available to me. Then, my son gets tonsillitis, and I don't have the blender to make him cold smoothies or soups to ease the pain in his raw throat. I contacted Vitamix on October 14, 2013 and explain my frustration. I'm told my container was received, but, due to a problem with the serial number of the unit, no one knows where my original container is. I don't understand why Vitamix made no effort to contact me to get whatever information necessary, or or to make other arrangements? Had I not called, what would Vitamix do? Just hope I forget about the whole matter?A replacement container is sent to me, overnight delivery, but I'm told I need to pay UPS $31.00 in brokerage fees. Now I am really angry. I refused the package and contacted Vitamix, only to be told "Oh sorry, we will try to get the fees reversed and the package back out to you within the next few days." The next few days????I paid $600 plus 13% tax for this machine. That's a significant investment and to have this shoddy, poor, unsympathetic, incompetent service is appalling and disgraceful.

Desired Settlement: Financial reimbursement for the loss of the use of this machine, as I had to purchase pre-packaged nutritional drinks and foods at the drug store because I was unable to make them myself at home. In addition, for not being able to use the blender when my son was ill and make him cold beverages and smoothies that he could swallow.I was told by the first customer service representative owners would receive a "special gift" for the inconvenience of the recall, and I have not received this either

Business Response:

October 18, 2013

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138                                                                                 

Response to BBB Complaint

Complaint ID# *******

Re:      ******* *********

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by Ms. ******* ********* do not meet with the customer responsiveness standards established by Vitamix. 

The Vitamix Customer Service Manager called ******* ********* on 10/18/2013 to apologize for recall delays, duty charges at the door, and unacceptable customer service.  Vitamix understands the urgency of Ms. *********’s request to have her 64 oz container replaced, due to medical needs.   Ms. ********* inquired about when would a Costco in her area be stocking the Dry Grain Container again, and we offered to send her a free dry container at no cost, in order to help mitigate the inconvenience she experienced.  We expect the Dry Grain Container to arrive early in the week of 10/21/2013.  Ms. ********* seemed satisfied with this approach.  All other charges, etc., have been successfully refunded, and she now has the replacement 64 oz container working at home successfully again.   The circumstances described in the complaint filed by ******* ********* appear to have been resolved. 

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID***** **, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I wanted to add that I was contacted by V*****, on behalf of Vitamix, and explained my frustration and anger was related to my inability to use the blender for my diet and nutritional needs as the result of significant medical issues. The Vitamix blender is indispensable to me, it is used every day, at least two or three times per day. V***** was very sympathetic and understanding, and responded very quickly to my complaint. I am extremely grateful to her for this, and for her graciousness in sending me the whole grains blender without charge that was sold out in my local area CostCo.

Despite what happened with Vitamix, it will not stop me from recommending the blender to others and I am very happy with how quickly and efficiently my complaint was resolved.

 

 

10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Vitamix 7500 was recalled due to a problem with the blade in the jar. I did not have any problems with them promptly sending me the UPS tracking package to ship it back to them. However, they guaranteed that my jar will be returned within a week. My tracking number from UPS showed that they received it on September 24th. It is now October 9th and there is no sign of it. Thanksgiving is coming up and I won't even have one to use at my party. I am disappointed with this service and lack of response. I called in to the vitamix recall department and they told me that it is going to be shipped and will arrive in 3 to 5 days. So if I don't call will I never get my jar back?

Desired Settlement: I want my jar back ASAP. Just an upset customer

Business Response:

October 10, 2013

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138                                                                                 

Response to BBB Complaint

Complaint ID# *******

Re:      ***** **

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by ***** ** have been resolved. 

We looked into the situation and called Mr. ** on 10/10/2013 to apologize for the delay in getting his repaired container back to him.  We are shipping a new 64oz low-profile container out at no cost, so that Mr. ** will have both his repaired container and a new one at his disposal.  We will follow-up in a couple of days to ensure the new container arrives and Mr. ** has everything he needs.

Mr. ** seemed to be satisfied with our response.

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

 


10/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company will not honor their warranty for a container. I spoke with a rep. named ***** ***** ****** and she asked for me to send receipt to her and she would replace container. I did this weeks ago and no response. I sent several other email also with no response. I also emailed the main site. Again, there was no response.

Desired Settlement: I want a new container.

Business Response:

October 9, 2013

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138                                                                                 

Response to BBB Complaint

Complaint ID# *******

Re:      ***** *******

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by ***** ******* have been resolved. 

We looked into the situation and determined Mr. ******* used the Vitamix Email inquiry service located at *************** on August 20, 2013 @ 5:40 pm to submit technical questions he had regarding container use, wear and tear.  Our agent was in touch with Mr. ******* at regular intervals.  Once it was discovered that his container was still covered under warranty, we requested that Mr. ******* send over his purchase receipt to show proof of purchase.  We received the receipt and successfully registered his product purchase.  A brand new container was shipped out to him on 09/27/2013 at no charge.  A Vitamix Customer Service Manager followed up with Mr. ******* on 10/09/2013 and confirmed that he received his new container. Mr. ******* seemed to be satisfied with our response.

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401


10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having been to a home show recently I bought a Vitamix that I have always wanted, Vitamix has people that demonstrate the products and sell them right there, I purchased this from them and gave them my credit card number, which I never, ever do, as they didn't have any other way to collect money, they called it in for approval and even though I was uncomfortable with them writing down my number I assumed that it was a very good company and that my card would be protected, I was wrong. Three days later I get a call from my bank that I have, all the sudden weird charges on my account in another city in Texas. I have had this same card for over 10 years, had charged nothing on it for quite a while, all of the sudden three days after this purchase my card is stolen/sold and cloned and someone is trying to spend my money all over Houston. I wrote to Vitamix telling them of my problem and I never heard not one word from them. I now have spent a good deal of time correcting this issue, getting a new card, changing everything that was connected to that card and hoping that this is the end of it. Is this how they do business at their shows? This should never have happened.

Desired Settlement: I want them to look at how they do things in the future, I can't possibly be the only one that this has happened to. I also would like them to look into the people that I bought it from to see if this has happened with them before and if not what could have happened and what they can do to prevent it from happening again.

Business Response:

October 8, 2013

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Road

Olmsted Township, OH  44138                                                                                 

Response to BBB Complaint

Complaint ID# *******

Re:      ******** *******

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by ******** ******* have been resolved. 

We looked into the situation and determined that the show demonstrator who processed the product order using Ms. ******* VISA Debit card followed standard operating procedures.  We were not able to determine the source of the claimed fraudulent transactions.  We are reviewing our standard processes to ensure the continued security of customer transactions. 

We contacted Ms. ******* to assure here that her concerns are of utmost importance to us.  Our goal is to take the greatest care in processing show credit card orders and the proper handling of all forms.  We empathize with the inconvenience of having a Debit card deactivated.  We offered a resolution in order to help with her situation, which she accepted.  Ms. Charles seemed to be satisfied with our response.

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401

********************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** *******

 

 

 

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called vitamix to buy a new container for an old vitamix. Was told that if I turned in my old one I would get a $150 rebate. I was not convinced. They said they would give me the $150 rebate and since I lived in HI they would also send me a prepaid envelope to ship back the old vitamix. based on that I purchased. The new vitamix came. After weeks of requesting assistance I was sent a voucher for $100 when I turned in my old Vitamix. Despite repeated request I have not received the prepaid voucher nor any explanation of any kind why:1. I was deceived about the amount of the refund, and2. I never received a pre paid envelope to mail back the old vitamix.

Desired Settlement: The refund promised of $150.00.

Business Response:

                                                      

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by Mr. ******** do not meet with the customer responsiveness standards established by Vitamix. 

 The trade-in refund for Mr. ********’s order was incorrectly entered for $100.00 instead of $150.00, and the promised FedEx free shipping label was overlooked in error.

 A Customer Service Manager spoke with Mr. ******** personally on September 19th, and apologized for these oversights. 

 A new return order with the $150.00 refund was entered, and the FedEx label is being mailed to the Customer, per his request.

 We have corrected these oversights, and Mr. ******** appears satisfied with our response.

 Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401


 

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm the caretaker for a disabled woman who is unable to leave her house except for medical appointments. She has a horrible chronic illness. She purchased a refurbished Vitamix at a discount (due to her medical condition) 30 days ago. She noticed a burning odor when the machine was turned on high and noticed the thing to turn the speed up did not work.She sent two emails to Vitamix (she has cognitive difficulties so it's easier for her to communicate via email) but has received no response to her emails.

Desired Settlement: Replace the machine or refund her money.

Business Response:                                                              

 We have given Mr. ******’ response a careful review and can provide the following information at this time.

 We contacted Mr. ****** to clear up this matter.  Mr. ****** sent us an email on August 5, 2013.  A Vitamix representative responded to his email on August  6th.  The Vitamix representataive subsequently phoned Mr. **** and made arrangements to send him a replacement unit.   At that time a replacement order was entered into the Vitamix system and a return authorization of the original order was set up to return the non-working unit after the customer receives the replacement. The Vitamix records indicate that Mr. ****** received the replacement unit on August 7th

We trust that Mr. ****** is satisfied with this resolution of the matter.  

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

************

********************

 

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was at Costco on Friday, shopping for a VitaMix blender. There was a table set up with a young man demonstrating the product. I was with my little sister when we approached the stand. The guy decided to make a soup on the blender and then the problem started. The demonstrator tells me that I need to find my legal guardian in order to let us try some soup. That's not a problem and I understand why they do it so I just nodded at him and asked my sister not to grab any samples until my dad arrived(he was in the store with us, just in a different aisle). We continue watching and as the guy is about to pour out the soup for the hungry spectators he looks at me again and says "You can't get any without your adult". "Yes I know" I respond and then he gives me a look and says "You can't be here without a guardian" WHAT? What! Since when can I not watch a demonstration without an adult? You're telling me I can't watch? Excuse you! At this point I'm starting to get aggravated and am about to pull out my ID and show him that I AM 18 when he interrupts me midsentence and says "You can't be here, can you move away from the table or stand in the side of it?" and mind you he had some ATTITUDE. Not wanting to cause a scene, I left. But this man just embarrassed me in front of other shoppers and never listened when I tried to explain I am 18. I'm heading to college and I need a blender for my dorm, which is why I wanted to buy from VitaMix. I was even wearing my College Shirt! HORRIBLE customer service! HORRIBLE.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know someone will speak to this young man about talking to people better and WAITING for them to speak!

Business Response:

      ***** *** ****** *****

The circumstances described in the complaint filed by Ms. ***** do not meet with the customer responsiveness standards established by Vitamix.  We have attempted to contact this customer to express our regrets about their experience at the show demonstration.  We left telephone messages requesting a return call, but have not yet received a call back.  Further, Vitamix has investigated the consumer's complaint to the extent possible given the limited information provided about the location of the incident.

At this time, the complaint remains under our review and may be used as a training and development opportunity.  Our goal is to let Ms. ***** know that we have taken her complaints and customer service concerns seriously.

We thank the customer for her feedback and would like to invite her to reach out to us directly at 440-782-2389 with any further questions, comments or concerns that she might have at this time.

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

************

********************

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the Vitamix machine and have been using it every day for whole fruit and vegetable smoothies. On April 8th the Tamper that came with the machine touched the blades when I was making tomato juice. It made a really loud noise and I escaped from kitchen in Panic. I spilled hot tea on my hand and ruined my clothes. Also hit my 13 month old Baby who was standing in kitchen with me. I was not able to go to work for 2 days because of the burning sensation on hand. The lid was securely locked and the tamper was not even pushed. I was not expecting this to happen with my $425 blender. I could easily get it replaced but I wanted to get this investigated by Vitamix and their demonstration DVD tells us to use tamper freely and it would never touch the blades. I called Vitamix customer service and they listened to me and offered empathy and they acknowledged they will replace the machine. I told them that I love the product and these smoothies are part of my daily diet now. I would wait for the replacement to come and then send the machine for investigation. I was pretty clear that getting the machine replaced is no issue since I bought it from Costco a month ago. Costco would be more than happy to replace this but I want this investigated. I have promoted this product among my friends and relatives and they have bought the same machine. After their promises and call backs(where they kept saying they are recording the calls and asked me to narrate the scene, so I am sure they have the recording) they sent me a return label. I made clear that I would send the machine when I have the replacement from Vitamix. I don't want to be without it for even few days. One of the representative from Legal dept for Vitamix assured me they will send the machine and I should sent it later.After 10 days of wait I called them back and asked for the whereabouts of the machine and they started thrashing the company policy on me. I am being asked to send the machine before they could send the replacement.

Desired Settlement: This is a ****** customer service and all the empathy they offered seems fake now. They are the one who wanted to investigate this machine. I can easily get replacement from Costco any day and I have been clear on that. Till date I have not received the machine or any compensation offered for the burns, loss of work, ruined clothes and inconvenience. They absolutely are not living by the values they preach on their website. World Class customer service runs deep in roots my ***.#Frustrated#

Business Response:  
Vita-Mix Corporation (“Vitamix”) has reviewed and investigated the consumer's complaint and can provide the following response.

On May 1, 2013, subsequent to the filing of this complaint but prior to our receipt of it, Vitamix contacted the customer to resolve the present matter.  The customer returned his blender to the Costco store and has received a replacement.  Vitamix will receive the initial machine back for investigation of the issue raised by the customer.

We believe that this matter regarding the replacement of the blender has now been resolved to the satisfaction of Mr. *********.  

Submitted by:
Loree W. Connors, CPA
CFO and Treasurer
440-782-2401
********************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

The complaint I had was not for replacement of the product alone. It was about un-neccessary delay is replacing the product after I was told it will be shipped asap and I can return the one I have once I receive this. I also did miss work and have ruined clothes because of this incidence which is currently being discussed with Miss ******* * ***** who is Paralegal at Vitamix. She was the one who suggested me to go to Costco and return this machine. I did not simply get a replacement, I had to return it and buy it again which cost me extar since the CDN to US conversion was more this time. I am still awaiting her reply as I have sent her the details she asked about my loss.

Loree W. Connorsv completely ignored what happened when Vitamix called me. Why did I deny the solution they have offered. They were just focusing on replacing the product whereas they were the one asking for the product so they can get it investigated by theiur design department. The Vitamix rep calling me had no sympathy while she was asking me to send the machine back and on the contrary she hung up on me when I said I will not send the machine first since they agreed to send replacement and now needs to honour their word. ******* ***** is aware of the situation and I am awaiting her reply about the loss of work and clothes.

 

Regards,

 

******* *********

 

 

Business Response:           

 

We have given Mr. *********’s response a careful review and can provide the following additional information at this time.

 

Our normal policy regarding the return of a product is to send a replacement product upon receipt of the returned item.  We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication on this issue with Mr. *********.  Our policy was subsequently explained to Mr. Mr. *********; however, we certainly appreciate his desire to not go a day without his Vitamix machine.  In order to address Mr. *********’s concerns. while still complying with our policy, we suggested that he exchange the product at Costco. Mr. ********* has advised us that there was a price differential due to the US/Canada currency exchange which required him to pay the difference and we offered to reimburse him for any out of pocket costs incurred in relation to that exchange.  Mr. ********* has decided to decline our offer.

 

As of this date, and as has been explained to Mr. *********, we are awaiting the return of the product he returned to Costco, as per our agreement with him. After our quality review of the returned product, and once a determination has been made as to the likely cause of the event, we will then be in contact with Mr. ********* regarding his additional claims for reimbursement.

 

All of this has been conveyed to Mr. ********* and we hope that this will be a satisfactory written reply to his concerns at this time as we feel we have done all we can at this point to address the issues raised in his complaint. 

 

We will continue to work with Mr. ********* as outlined in this reply to bring this matter to conclusion.  Mr. ********* has been provided with a contact at Vitamix whom he may contact at any time with any questions or concerns he may have in the interim.

 

Submitted by:

Loree W. Connors, CPA

CFO and Treasurer

440-782-2401

********************

 

4/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased thousands of dollars worth of VITAMIX equipment in my life, consumer and commercial grade, for personal use and as gifts. One of the products I currently have in my kitchen is a VITAMIX Touch & Go 2. I decided recently that I want to purchase another container for my blender but was unable to identify which model would fit my blender on the VITAMIX website. I contacted VITAMIX customer service via email with my information and unit's serial number simply to find out which model container would fit my unit. The first response I received from ******** ****** at VITAMIX customer service asked for my City and State of residence so I could be referred to a distributor near by. I replied back to ******** ****** with my location stating that a local distributor would be great however I would also like to know what model I needed so I can contact a VITAMIX distributor with all the necessary information. ******** ****** replied back with just the name and phone of a distributor. I replied back to ******** that I was unhappy being pushed off to someone else, I am quite capable of locating a distributor on my accord, after all I did manage to purchase this $1000 blender. I would simply like to know what model container would fit. ********'s reply was yet another brush off, telling me that a distributor would have all the information I needed. To say I am disgusted with how VITAMIX customer service has responded to me is an understatement. I choose the commercial support channel of the service link, I put in my serial # to validate its a commercial product and I get blown off three times. I wasn't asking for free merchandise, just information on something I already paid for. I would hate to see how badly I would be treated if I needed to utilize VITAMIX's legendary warranty.

Desired Settlement: Decent customer service for decades old loyal customers who spend thousands of dollars with your company.

Business Response:

 

Dear *******:

 

In response to consumer complaint #*******, please be advised Vitamix contacted Mr. ***** on January 25, 2013.  ***** ********, Vitamix Commercial Customer Service Manager, emailed the information he was requesting in the prior call to Vitamix.  She provided the product list for the Touch & Go Vitamix blender as per his initial request.

 

She also agreed to send a complimentary recipe book titled BLENDING PROFITS a collection of drink recipes.  ***** ******** felt Mr. ***** was satisfied with the resolution offered.

 

In addition, Ms. ******** advised Mr. ***** she would review the complaint with ******** ****** and provide direction for better responses. 

 

 

With warm regards,

*****

 

We deliver world class customer service, creating the ultimate customer experience through performance that inspires.

 

 

 

***** ***********

Customer Service Manager

Vita-Mix Corporation

8615 Usher Rd.

Cleveland, OH 44138

1-800-848-2649 ext ****

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went onto the website for Vitamix and they advertised Demo and product for sale. I drove from Ms. to Tn (Whole Food Mkt) on Jan. 2. After viewing the demo, I decided to buy the 5200 Red Vitamix. At that time, I was told the Vitamix was not there. I paid for the item and ordered it. I have called (only to be on hold for 20, 30, 15 minutes. One time I was told that I was not in the system. The second time I was told that someone would call me back shortly. They have my money but do not respond. I have a cell phone (not a land line) and this costs me money to keep calling. I didn't realize this would be sooo difficult for a response or to send out the product. Maybe you can help me.

Desired Settlement: Give me the courtesy of call, send out the product ASAP, and credit me for my troubles (driving to Tn, and calling)

Business Response:

On January 8, 2013 I called the customer and left the message - The Vitamix order has been entered.  The order is in shipping today and I will email her with the UPS tracking number.

I understand she also contacted Vitamix on January 7th and spoke with a representative who advised her the order was being entered in our system and would be processed in a day.

Sincerely,

Sandy Ventimiglia

Customer Service Manager

 

 

10/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months ago I paid over $500.00 for a vitamix blender. The performance is inferior and the quality is very poor. I have found juicers/mixers on the market for 1/3 - 1/2 the price of this vitamix blender and they are built much better and outperform this product. I am so mad. $500.00 and I received a cheaply made PLASTIC blender. The blender container where the blade is housed is made out of PLASTIC and although I have followed the instructions in the manual to a T this basin is no longer clear but cloudy in appearance and looks absolutely TERRIBLE. I have seen blenders at HALF this price and they make the blender containers out of GLASS! I am VERY furious at the price vitamix charged me for this inferior product. I have written them and they are impossible to get a hold of.

Desired Settlement: I either want my money back ( Full Refund ) a replacement sent out or a GLASS container and NOT this cheap PLASTIC walmart container they sent with the item. This is theft! $500.00 they charged me for a TUPPERWARE product!

Business Response:

Attention: BBB

Reference - ID 9262743

(I) ****** *********** responded to Mr. ******* complaint via voice message on 10/17/2012 as well as a follow up email on 10/17/2012.

On 10/18/2012 Mr. ******* contacted me by phone.  (phone conversation attached)

His disappointment with the Vitamix TURBOBLEND was mainly concerning the cloudiness of the Vitamix 64 oz Tritan container.

I stated the minerals from fruits and vegetables can cloud the co-polyester container after several uses.  I suggested a product  (tested by our Quality Engineer) called Clorox Clean-up with Bleach.  

I also offered to send him a replacement shell, but we would not continue to replace the container for cloudiness.

Lastly, I offered a full refund of the purchase price,as well as sending a shipping label to return for credit refund. 

He also indicated he would be interested in a glass container.  I explained why Vitamix does not use glass containers - due to the 2 peak HP motor being a risk if a spoon was left in the container.  Explained our Engineers are researching glass containers, but at this time do not use glass as they have not attained a suitable glass container. 

Mr. ******* agreed to try the Clorox Clean-up and will contact me if he desires a full refund. 

Sincerely,

***** ***********

Vitamix Customer Service Manager

 

Consumer Response:

After the conversation with***** at Vitamix, I am not happy with the product I find inferior especially for the price they charged me for it.

 I also am not happy with the way they conduct their business nor with their sneaky practices of recording customer conversations without informing the customer

that they are being recorded even though they feel they have "One party consent laws on their side."  This, to me is unethical regardless of law and if they really felt

there was no ethical issue with this practice and that the recorded party would not protest being recorded then they would not conceal this practice from the 2nd party. I happen to live in a state where all parties must be notified if being recorded.  Additionally ***** went on with her endless sales pitch about this product stating that if anything goes wrong with it within 7 years vitamix will repair or replace it at no cost to the consumer.   This is NO credit to the excellence of their product. All this amounts to is, in my eyes, a blender I bought that has an extended warranty built into the products price and peddled off to the public as a superior product based on this false claim.   Lastly what ***** and Vitamix don't take into account is that these types of sneaky practices and deceptive habits ( rolling an extended warranty into the price of an inferior product and selling it to the public as a superior product based on the 7 years they will stand by it AND recording customers conversations without their consent or making them aware of it] will lose them any future business from people and will get them very bad publicity from word of mouth experiences.    With all that said because of Vitamix's devious practices, I want a full refund made to my account for this product along with ALL shipping supplies sent to me and pre-paid postage to ship the product back to them.  I also want an extra $10.00 credited to my account on top of the full price I paid for the product ( Shipping and Handling included ) for the time and gas I will spend in returning the item.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

Business Response:

Vitamix has reviewed the request from Mr. ****** ******* and we are prepared to comply with his request for full refund upon return of his Vitamix TurboBlend product.

Vitamix will supply the return packaging and shipping label for the return of the Vitamix TurboBlend.  We have also agreed to reimburse Mr. ******* $10 for gas and time spent to return the package.

Sincerely,

***** ***********

Customer Service Manager

10/19/2012