BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Pyramyd Air

Phone: (888) 262-4867 Fax: (216) 896-0896 View Additional Phone Numbers 5135 Naiman Pkwy, Cleveland, OH 44139 http://www.pyramydair.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm specializes in the online sale of air guns and rifles, as well as bb and pellet guns. It also provides gunsmith services.
Consumers should be aware that some states and countries restrict or forbid residents from the purchase of such guns. Where permitted, purchasers must be 18 years or older. Consumers should familiarize themselves with the laws in their area when considering an airgun purchase.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pyramyd Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pyramyd Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Pyramyd Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1996 Business incorporated: 07/14/2000 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF)
5005 Rockside Road, Suite 300, Independence OH 44131
http://www.atf.gov
Phone Number: (216) 522-3786

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Val Gamerman, Vice President
Business Category

Internet Shopping Gun Dealers Guns & Gunsmiths

Products & Services

Pyramyd Air sells the following brand(s): The company carries American, European and Asian airgun manufacturers, including AirForce, Air Arms, Beretta, Benjamin Sheridan, BSA, Crosman, Colt, Daisy, Evanix, Gamo, IZH, Smith & Wesson, Walther, Webley & Scott.

Pyramyd Air offers the following product(s): Air Guns , Air Rifles, Airsoft Guns, BB Guns, BBs, Lasers, Pellet Guns, Pellets, Red Dot Sights, Scopes

Method(s) of Payment
The company accepts Visa, Master Card, American Express, Discover, Personal Check, Money Order, Wire Transfer, PayPal, Bill Me Later, and Amazon Checkout for payment.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Within 30 days of receipt of order, consumers may return any item in new condition along with its original packaging and any accessories for a full product refund.
The company does not refund any shipping charges. Items that are used, not in original packaging or otherwise not in new, saleable condition are subject to a minimum 15 percent (15%) restocking fee.
Consumers should not attempt to disassemble any items. Attempts to change the appearance or function of any item purchased will void the warranty and the right to return the product for a full refund.
If a consumer wants to exchange an item, that should be indicated in the space available at the bottom of the invoice.
All exchanges and refunds will be processed within 2 weeks from when the company receives all item(s) back.
Consumers should write the reason for their return and their phone number in the space available at the bottom of their invoice and keep a copy of the invoice for their records.

Additional Locations

  • 5135 Naiman Pkwy

    Cleveland, OH 44139 (216) 896-0893 (888) 262-4867

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 896-0893(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAD been a regular viewer of American Airgunner and have been an airgun enthusiast for over 40 years. On every episode of A. A. they announce a $500 give away if you go to the Pyramydair website and enter a keyword, this week it is "pellet". I have contacted Pyramydair many times to ask, by e-mail, where is the sweepstakes mentioned on the site and got no response. I just got off the phone with "customer service" and when I asked where to enter my keyword, the guy told me to use all capital letters in the word WIN, in other words I should go to PyramydAir.com/WIN. This I did only to find he was just blowing smoke up my butt! I am complaining about false advertising in the bait-and-switch arena. I'm trying to let others I know in the sport that this type of thing should be talked about and complaints filed because things like this really take away from the spirit of the sport and is plain wrong!!

Desired Settlement: I would like ALL false advertising to be at least exposed and in most cases prosecuted because it tricks the customers who of their own free will, choose to do business with these companies and get tricked into buying or participating in something that they don't want.

Business Response: Good morning, 


The Watch and Win promotion that we are running is neither false advertising or bait and switch. The promotion has been running since July 3 and a winner will be chosen on October 11. I have attached screenshots of the promotion. 

As you can see all the customer needs to do is watch American Airgunner and take note of the keyword. Then they go to pyramydair.com/win click on the link that says "Click here to win $500" and fill out the form that pops up. 

I copied and pasted the web address the Mr. ******* referenced and was directed to the correct web page to click on the link to enter the keyword. 

If there are any further questions, please let me know. 

Thank you, 
Erika Barton
Pyramyd Air Ltd


Business Response: Good morning, 


The Watch and Win promotion that we are running is neither false advertising or bait and switch. The promotion has been running since July 3 and a winner will be chosen on October 11. I have attached screenshots of the promotion. 

As you can see all the customer needs to do is watch American Airgunner and take note of the keyword. Then they go to pyramydair.com/win click on the link that says "Click here to win $500" and fill out the form that pops up. 

I copied and pasted the web address the Mr. ******* referenced and was directed to the correct web page to click on the link to enter the keyword. 

If there are any further questions, please let me know. 

Thank you, 
***** ******
Pyramyd Air Ltd


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: requested a refund for a product that two different ones were sent to me both defective and while waiting for a third replacement it was put on backorder for over 21 days. Still waiting for the refund of 149.99 since May 13. email from pyramyd Dear ***,Your order #******* has been canceled.Per your request this order has been canceled.We regret this decision and would like the opportunity to assist you in your product selection or to know more about the reason for your decision. Our sales and service associates are available Monday through Friday 9AM to 6PM Eastern and Saturday 10AM to 5PM Eastern.Thank you,Order Processing Department

Desired Settlement: I want my 149.99 credited back to the paymant method used, Bill Me Later

Business Response: Good Afternoon, 


We have successfully submitted the request for refund though to Bill Me Later as of this morning. We apologize for the delay and the inconvenience. Any further questions, please contact. 

Thanks, 
*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a large issue with fedex not being able to deliver the air rifle to me. so i had to drive 3 hours to collect. Which means i have over paid on postage and are due a part refund of my money even fedex say this. Fedex say because Pyramyd air is the account holder only they can apply for the refund. I have tried contacting them plenty of times and I'm just being ignored. There is no doubt about it!I have paid them too much and they wont even look into it for me, the one email i did receive back was not even related to my issue. i mailed back and still waiting for a response over 3 weeks ago. Now i have fedex chasing me with an invoice, where MY money could be used.I guess even a good website and what seemed to me trusted company, just don't want to know you once they have taken your money. Way to go Pyramyd Air!

Desired Settlement: i would like for you to contact fedex and settle this matter. It will take 5 mins of your time and help a customer.

Business Response:

To Whom It Concern

FedEx has been contacted and we will be filing a claim of service failure with them. There will be a complete refund to Mr. ***** of the shipping amount paid on the order. Any further questions, please let me know. 

Thanks, 
***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i had made two seperate orders approx. two weeks apart ,, i ended up returning them. pyramid air received both products on 3-1-72 , now the first product was refunded on my debit card on 3-07-13 in the amount of 161.00,, the other one they made me wait the entire 14 days which i understand is there policy ,,but now it is the 17th,, and pyramid air said they refunded the second refund in the amount of 128.90 on 3-06-13 and it was confirmed on 3-17-13 i have numerous contact with them and my bank ,pyramid air blames my bank i have been to my bank three seperate occasions and they showed me there computer and there is no refund in the amount of 126.90 at all ever posted to my account ,, pyramid air has left me no choice i dont know what to do they have my product and my money ,, i even asked for my products bak and they refused ,,i have all there emails they do not deny they owe me the money they just say they already refunded it and they will have nothing else to do with it ,, i have provided them wiht my banks phone number and fax number and they will do absolutely nothing ,,, i do not know where to turn ,, all i did was return a product and i lost my product and my money ,,can somebody please get to the bottom of this ? thank you so much **** ******

Desired Settlement: i would like the amout of 128.90 be put back on my card ,, i do not understand why two refunds sent on the same day in the same box ,, i get my money back on one on 3-07-13 and the other one ,, all pyramid air keeps saying is they already sent it and its up to my bank to see it and refund it ive spoke,faxed ,and been there in person , and pyramid air will do nothing for me , the fact is , they have my product and my money and said tough luch for me and thats about it

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:


We have spoken with Mr ****** regarding this situation. The refund he is referring to was issued to the credit card which he provided to us at the time of placing the order. On our end, the refund appears complete, which is why he was being told this by the representatives he spoke with. The issue, at this point, is between Mr ****** and his banking institution, not Pyramyd Air. We have fulfilled our commitment to the customer by refunding the money to the account which he provided to us when the order was placed originally. In speaking with Mr. ****** he now understands that the issue will need to be taken up with his bank. He is even going to be placing a new order with us since we have helped him in understanding where the problem actually is. If any further questions arise or information is needed, please contact and we will be happy to provide the information needed. 

Thank You, 
***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I could list this under Customer Service, Warranty, Product, Service, and Refund Issues.I bought a $2400+ competition air rifle, for my daughter, from PyramydAir. PyramydAir shipped me a damaged rifle - the wood was chipped on the cheek piece. Their customer service, in dealing with the return of the damaged rifle, was extremely miserable. I filed a complaint with American Express, who helped me navigate the waters of dealing with an intentionally rude and vengeful company, so I could ship the rifle back without any damage to my finances. Who ships out a damaged $2400+ competition air rifle, and then treats the customer with condescension and rudeness? Once I shipped the rifle back to PyramydAir, they would not credit my American Express account for the $2400+. At the 30-day mark of having a signed receipt of my return, I filed another complaint with American Express. Who knows when, or where, this will end up. I have no doubts, after being placed on indefinite hold, and being treated rudely by several employees of PyramydAir, that they are intentionally withholding my money. I will never buy anything else from PyramydAir. If someone else does, use your American Express because you'll need their help to survive the financial pitfalls of dealing with PyramydAir.

Desired Settlement: I would like a COMPLETE refund, NOW, of my $2428.90 to my American Express card. Should they persist in not refunding my money, I will file for my refund plus interest to my American Express.

Business Response: Dear *******,


Good morning. I would like to respond to the complaint brought forth by Miss ****. 
Miss **** purchased a rifle and a case on 08/01/2012 for her daughter. The rifle was delivered on Saturday 08/04/2012. Miss **** then called on 08/06/2012 to report the damage to the rifle. The customer service representative asked questions regarding the shipping container as well as the manufacturer's container so that we may be able to determine where the damage may have occurred. We ask these questions to be able to take the next course of action as we do not open these containers prior to shipment.
At this time, the representative made Miss **** aware of the next course of action regarding the return and the replacement. Miss **** did not feel that the action was appropriate.  Our returns policy is listed on our website and was also explained to Miss ****. The representative informed Miss **** that the rifle would need to be sent back to us(via pre paid shipping label) and we would ship out a new rifle once we receive the defective rifle. The call was transferred to me as Miss **** did not agree. I explained to Miss **** that we would not be able to ship out a new rifle until the defective product was received due to the cost of the product. She stated that she needed the rifle for the next day for her daughter. I explained the only way to receive the rifle next day was to pay for the rifle at that time and we would refund her as soon as we received the defective rifle back to our facility. Miss **** did not agree with this plan of action either. Miss **** stated that she was going to send both the rifle and case back to our company. I extended a second pre paid shipping label for the case. She then stated that she was going to buy a grip from another company and we would have to pay for it. I explained to Miss **** that we would take care of the return through our company and cannot pay another company for their product. Miss **** stated that she was going to file a chargeback. At that time, I explained to Miss **** that she was within her right to file the chargeback and we will respond appropriately through the dispute with American Express. 
Our company received the chargeback dispute from American Express on 08/16/2012. At the time we received the dispute, we still had not received any product back. Our company responded to the chargeback and we received another letter stating that the customer was still disputing the charge on 09/12. We responded again regarding the information given to the customer as far as our returns policy and the (2) pre paid shipping labels she was emailed back on 08/06/2012.
Miss **** called on 11/14/2012 regarding the return of the product. At that time, Miss **** still not had been refunded from the dispute filed with American Express. Miss **** was told that we would accept the product returned and there would be a restocking fee as it has been past the 30 days of our returns policy. We received the product back to our facility on 12/10/2012. The last contact we received from Miss **** was on 11/14/2012. Once the product was inspected, the refund was going to be issued by the Accounting Department on 12/14/2012. The accounting department was unable to process the refund at that time. Once the accounting department was unable to process the refund, American Express was contacted regarding the dispute to see if they had returned the money to our account. As of 12/21, 12/28, 01/04, we still did not have the information from American Express to issue the refund to the customer. We received this complaint on 01/10/2013. Miss **** had filed another chargeback from American Express. The accounting department was in contact with American Express and also Miss **** on 01/10/2013 American Express has processed a refund back to Miss **** for the amount of the order.

Thank you
Nicole Gvora

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to make a purchase from this site. I was never charged, I never received the product, and numerous attempts to get in contact with the company resulted in absolutely nothing.

Desired Settlement: I'd love to actually receive my order.

Business Response:

Dear *******

****** ****** submitted her order on 12/23/2012 at 5:43 pm EST. At that time, our offices were closed due to the Christmas holiday. Our offices were closed beginning 12/22/2012 at 5pm EST. The order for ****** ****** was held due to the billing address and shipping address being different. It is our policy to speak with the card holder to verify the information on the order to ensure that the order is not fraudulent. We work to protect ourselves as well as our customers from identity fraud and theft. An email was sent to ****** ****** on 12/23/2012 at 6:01pm EST automatically through our system to inform the order was on hold. Our offices did open on 12/26/2012 at 9am EST. However, our offices closed again on 12/26/2012 at 1pm EST due to inclement weather. There was a message posted on our website as well as our phone system. Our offices opened again on 12/27/2012 at 9am EST. On 12/27/2012 at 4:00pm, ****** ****** contacted our company to speak about the order being on hold. The representative verified the information on the phone and the order was approved. The order was shipped on 12/28/2012 with FedEx, and the order was delivered to the shipping address on 01/02/2013.

Thank you
****** *****
Pyramyd Air LTD

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 18, 2012 I ordered several items through PyramydAir on their web site. I was delivered to me very fast, but couple weeks later I did not like that product and decided to return for refund. Called customer service and got RMA number. Sent that product back. Two weeks later I decided to call them to make sure they received my package - they did receive it, but the refund would be issued only in one week. I waited one week and checked my bank account, nothing was refunded. I called them again, they said that I have to wait one more week. I waited one more week, checked my bank account, nothing was refunded. Called them again, today August 16, 2012, and checked on the status of my return, they said that it was processed long time several weeks ago and refund was issued on July 31, 2012, and said that I have to deal with my bank. I asked for a confirmation number for my refund, he said that bank does not provide a confirmation number. That is a pure lie!!! For every transaction there is a reference or confirmation number. I never received my money back (I am talking not just about few dollars, my order was over $750). I went to the bank (Bank of America) talked to the manager, they checked my account, then called main accounting office - could not find any trace of that refund (not even in processing state). It has been almost 17 days since the date PyramydAir said it was refunded. Usually refund takes only 3 - 5 business days, not 17. Refund was NEVER issued.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back!!!!!My order number: *******My RMA number: *****FedEx tracking number for returned merchandise: *****************

Business Response: Dear *******,


Our head accountant has already spoken with Mr. ********. The situation has been explained and resolved. 

Thank you
****** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to buy 2 air rifles from Pyramyd Air (PA). PA says: Based on the information that we have been provided by FedEx, we are not able to ship anything that shoots into Denmark, or over Danish airspace. If you have any other questions, please feel free to let us know. I have talked to FedEx in Denmark, they says it's not a problem to ship airguns to Denmark. I have talked to the Police and on the Justice Departments site, I can read that all air rifles of .177 is legal to buy and import. It's hard for me to convince PA that I am right, and therefore contacting you to help me out. I have bought some pellets with no problems, and I think PA is the best place to buy pellets. But in this case, hard to buy air rifles. Hope you can convince PA that I can buy air rifles of .177 without breaking danish law.****** ********, Denmark.

Desired Settlement: I would like to buy air rifles of .177 calibre, because in that calibre they don't need a weapon permit in Denmark, and I can import, collect and use these without breaking the law. I wan't to convince Pyramyd Air that it's legal to buy and not a problem.

Business Response: ********


The customer can speak to (2) different representatives at FedEx and can receive (2) different answers. We work with the Security and Customs teams for the items that we ship internationally. We do not ask for paperwork from FedEx when a restriction is provided. We place the restriction on our own shipping regulations to protect our customers from losing their money when an order is ceased since they will not be refunded for product or shipping. We are also protecting ourselves in the event that the customer files a chargeback or dispute with their card company so that we will not lose out on the costs of shipping and the product.

Thank you
****** *****

Consumer Response: I am now trying to contact FedEx to clearify these things, I am awaiting answer. I know the Danish law, and Customs do know it's legal for me, but if FedEx for some reason can't ship by air I will say this case is closed.
 
****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.