Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Fred's Heating & Cooling Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 307-1302 Fax: (216) 481-1589 View Additional Phone Numbers 451 E 200th St, Euclid, OH 44119 http://www.fhsohio.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a service and installation contractor for heating, air conditioning and plumbing. We have maintenance programs to increase operating efficiency of your equipment along with increasing the life span of it. We offer emergency service along with working with you on your schedule for service needed.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fred's Heating & Cooling Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fred's Heating & Cooling Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Fred's Heating & Cooling Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 1986 Business started: 05/01/1982 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://elicense1-lookup.com.ohio.gov/SearchCriteria.asp
Phone Number: (614) 644-3493
Fax Number: (614) 728-1200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Newman, President, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Newman, President, Human Resources
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Fred's Heating & Cooling Inc. sells the following brand(s): A.O. Smith (Hot Water Tanks), All Brands (Service), American Standard (HVAC), Bradford White (Hot Water Tanks), Bradford White For Hot Water Tanks, Carrier (HVAC), Comfortmaker (HVAC), Comfortmaker For Heating And Air Conditioning, Most Available Brands, Rennai and Navien (Tankless Hot Water)

Fred's Heating & Cooling Inc. offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners, Furnaces, Hot Water Heaters, Realated Products To The Industry

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Discover, Cash, Check.
Alternate Business Names
Fred's Home Services
Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • 1742 Hawthorne Dr.

    Cleveland, OH 44124

  • 451 E 200th St

    Euclid, OH 44119 (216) 481-4200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6236 Brynwood Dr

    Medina, OH 44256

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I REQUESTED THAT THE ABOVE COMPANY COME TO MY VACANT HOME AT ***** ***** *** *** ******* **** ***** AND PERFORM A POINT OF SALE INSPECTION. THE TECHNICIAN'S NAME WAS **.THE TECHNICIAN PERFORMED A COMBUSTION TEST ON THE FURNACE. HE STATED THAT THE FURNACE WAS EMITTING EXTREME HIGH AMOUNTS OF C O. HE TOLD ME THAT EITHER THE FURNACE ITSELF OR THE HEAT EXCHANGER SHOULD BE REPLACED. HE ALSO SAID THAT THE FURNACE MEETS ALL CITY CODES. I HAVE A HOME WARRANTY AND CALLED THEM TO DO THE WORK. THAT TECHNICIAN TOOK THE FURNACE APART AND FOUND NO EVIDENCE OF CRACKS, FLAME ROLL OUT OR DANCING FLAMES AND STATED THAT THE UNIT IS WORKING PROPERLY.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE TO BE REIMBURSED THE $125.00 FOR THE POINT OF SALE INSPECTION, SINCE IT IS EVIDENT THAT THE TECHNICIAN WAS SCAMING US TO SELL A FURNACE.

Business Response:

*****,

            Thank you for notifying me of this issue.  As you can see the invoice was signed by a Mr. **********, possibly a tenant.  My technician clearly did a thorough inspection of the furnace and the hot water tank for a city inspection.  In talking with him and reviewing the invoice he submitted a couple of weeks ago, I find that he did a good job on this call.  Most companies don’t even perform a combustion analysis while performing routine maintenance.  He did not recommend that the furnace be replaced.  He simply let the homeowner (maybe tenant) know that with CO levels indicated at combustion that it indicates that the heat exchanger is going bad and at some point will need to be replaced.  He did not “shut the furnace down” or condemn it as would have been necessary in the case that the heat exchanger was not operating efficiently.  The CO levels he is showing are at the combustion point and are indicative of a heat exchanger that is going to go bad.  Had he found CO in the supply air going to the home, he would have shut the furnace off completely and given her a “bad inspection report to the city”.

            My technician, did everything I would expect of a technician.  First, he did a thorough review of the furnace, including a combustion analysis, and informed the homeowner of his findings.  He does not say that the furnace or heat exchanger must be replaced.  The furnace, operating at the point of combustion at these CO levels, certainly is not operating efficiently. He did not say the heat exchanger had a crack or anything of the sort.

            We do not operate in an unethical manner.  Anytime ** recommends a replacement of furnace, heat exchanger, condenser, coil, whatever, he denotes that he made the suggestion on the invoice. My technicians will shut the furnace down if it is not safe to operate.  ** clearly felt the furnace was in working order.  Therefore, I find her claim unfounded and simply wanting a free inspection report to the city.  There will be no refund in this case, but if she thinks the combustion analysis is faulty or inaccurate, I would be glad to go to the home and do another combustion analysis with my meters to verify the findings.

           

 

***** ******

President

Newcore, Inc., dba Fred’s Home Services

Office:  216-481-4200

Cell Phone:  ************

Consumer Response:

I AM ATTEMPTING TO SEND A REBUTTAL TO THE RESPONSRE OF THE BUSINESS INVOLVED.  THE TECHNICIAN DID TELL MYSELF (THE OWNER, ****** *******) WHO WAS PRESENT AT THE TIME AND MR. *** **********, WHO IS THE AGENT REGARDING THE PROPERTY THAT WE NEEDED TO EITHER REPLACE THE HEAT EXCHANGER OR REPLACE THE FURNACE OR HE COULD NOT ALLOW IT TO PASS THE INSPECTION.  HE DID STATE TAHT THERE WERE NO CRACKS AND THAT THE UNIT WAS FUNCTIONING PROPERLY.  A SECOND CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN CAME IN AND TOOK THE FURNACE APART AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT AND HE POINTED OUT THAT WE HAVE A CO DETECTOR WITHIN 5 FEET OF THE UNIT.  I AM ATTACHING COPIES OF BOTH INVOICES.
 
******

Business Response: *****,
I received the invoice from ******.  I am skeptical that ****** "took the furnace apart and inspected the heat exchanger for $75.  My offer stands.  If she will allow me and my service manager to fully inspect that unit, and we find no problem, I will be happy to refund her money.  The reason is, if my technician made a mistake, I want to verify it. Also, I know the company she had review the furnace and I don't trust anything they have to say.  The guy used to work for this company before I bought it and he will try/say anything to discredit our company.  The fact that it was ****** makes me even more skeptical.  When I inspect and (if) I find no problem, I would refund her money.

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a condominium unit that I rent out in Cleveland Heights, OH. I live out of state, in Michigan. My renters informed that there was a water leak around the HVAC unit that seemed to stop when they turned off the air conditioning, and that the AC seemed to be slightly noisy when it cycled on. I called Fred's Heating and Cooling for a service call. They promptly responded, and the technician informed me that the unit was leaking water, was completely rusted, and needed to be replaced. He explained to me how the water leak was coming from my HVAC unit and how the rusting of the unit was causing it to "clunk" when it cycled on. He recommended replacing the entire unit for $4500. He said repair was possible of just the AC unit part of the HVAC unit for $2000, but that if the heating unit failed in the future the entire HVAC unit would still need to be replaced. He was quite convincing with his explanation so I believed him and planned to replace the entire unit, but thought I would get another opinion and quote. I was shocked when another local heating/cooling company informed me that the unit, although old, was completely functional. The water leak was coming from the AC unit of the condo above and leaking through the air vent. It is physically impossible for that leak to come from my AC unit, yet that is what I was told by the technician at Fred's. We informed the owner of the unit above me and he fixed the leaking problem with his AC unit. The AC unit in my condo functions fine. No repairs were necessary at all. Fred's Heating and Cooling was either totally incompetent, or most likely completely dishonest. They wanted me to make a very expensive repair that was utterly unnecessary.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company's dishonesty to be publicized so that others do not make unnecessary expensive repairs because of their shady business ethics.

Business Response:

   Eventhough I do not have any documentation of this complaint other than Mr. ****’s account, I take it very seriously.  Since I cannot deny or confirm with certainty the facts surrounding this service call, I will take Mr. ****’s word and sincerely apologize.  Every company, at some point, has someone that does something that goes against the ethical standards of the company. Our entire team is disgusted and upset with the fact that the accusation has even been made.  If Mr. **** has an invoice or pictures documenting the information from the other company, I would appreciate it for my files.

            All I can say is that the technician associated with this complaint no longer works for Fred’s Heating and Cooling. 

Consumer Response: I spoke with ***** ******, owner of Fred's Heating and Cooling, and he assured me that his business practice is not to sell unnecessary products to consumers, and that he does not tolerate any dishonest sales tactics from his employees. He has since fired the technician that I dealt with. I appreciated his phone call and explanation, and I hope that in the future his employees will better represent the business ethics he claims to espouse.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Fred's Heating & Cooling Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart