BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Holly's Hearing Aid Center, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Holly's Hearing Aid Center, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Holly's Hearing Aid Center, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2011 Business started: 06/01/2011 in OH Business incorporated 05/31/2011 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

The Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board
246 North High Street , Columbus OH 43215
http://www.odh.ohio.gov/odhprograms/dspc/hdlr/hdamain1.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 466-5215
Fax Number: (614) 564-2484

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Holly A. Johnson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Holly A. Johnson, Owner
Business Category

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices


Additional Locations

  • 1438 SOM Center Rd.
    Ste. 101

    Mayfield Hts., OH 44124 (440) 995-1000

  • 151 Main St

    Chardon, OH 44024 (440) 285-1700

  • 15561 W High St

    Middlefield, OH 44062 (855) 856-2244

  • 2845 N Ridge E

    Ashtabula, OH 44004 (440) 992-0101 (855) 856-2244

  • 35104 Euclid Ave
    Ste 100

    Willoughby, OH 44094 (440) 946-7800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer was calling about a hearing aid company. They ordered hearing aids and insurance was suppose to pay for the hearing aids. Insurance company paid the supplier but the supplier would not give them what was ordered and insurance paid for. The reason supplier said is because they were not paid what they were suppose to get so therefore they would not. Consumer has worked with the insurance company and supplier and this is still not resolved. This has been going on since October 20th 2015. Consumer wants the hearing aids under the contract as they are obligated to give them and the insurance paid for. The insurance paid the provider was she was due under the contract insurance company has with them.

Desired Settlement: Consumer wants the hearing aid Audibel A 3 Platinum that the insurance paid them for.

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sep 16, 2015, my mother purchased hearing aids from Holly's Hearing Aid Center. She died three days later and I discovered the purchase on the 22nd and contacted them for the "right to return the hearing aid within 30 days and receive a refund – their contract states: Under Ohio Law (O.R.C. 1345.30), a consumer has the right to return a hearing aid for any reason within 30 days after it’s originally delivered to the consumer or a person acting on the consumer’s behalf and to receive a refund" According to Tara D*****, assistant manager, Holly's will not issue a refund in her name or accept the devices back without executor papers from the court which I can not possibly obtain within the 30 days. Since they felt free to fill out her check for the devices and tried to get her to finance the purchase even though she was incapable of filling out the credit application correctly ( both of which I have copies of showing that the company rep completed them with her personal information, but credit was denied and she paid with a check written by them ), they clearly have two standards of people acting on the consumer's behalf. They acted as her representatives in the transaction for the credit application, yet I must be court appointed before they will return the check they wrote for her!

Desired Settlement: Accept the devices back and write another check for my mother returning the money.

Business Response:

Holly's Hearing Aid Center, LLC 

October 1, 2015 

September 16, 2015 ***** ****** came to Holly's Hearing Aid Center in Willoughby Ohio of sound mind and by herself. At that time she was given a "Hearing Exam" and found to be Hearing Impaired. Our Specialist fit Ms. ****** with Hearing Aids to help improve her quality of life. Ms. ****** was very eager to improve her hearing. She wanted to try "Financing" first to purchase her Hearing Aids. At that time Holly's Hearing filled out the top part of the Application which was for Merchants. Then Ms. ****** filled out the Applicants portion and signed the document herself. Ms. ****** was declined for Financing. At this time Ms. ****** insisted on contacting her bank. She called the bank herself to find out her balance on her account. She knew her account numbers and her Bank's phone number. She stated she had enough money in her account to purchase the Hearing Aids. Ms. ****** asked us to fill out her check for her but she fully understood the purchase and signed her own check. With many elderly patients our staff is always willing to help them in any way possible. Holly's Hearing was very pleased that Ms. ******'s hearing was improved and her quality of life was enhanced. Although it was only for a short time her life was improved and she was able to hear much better. Our staff took exceptional care of Ms. ****** and treated her with the highest of respect. 

We received several phone calls from ***** ******* in reference to Ms. ******. She expressed her concern about the Hearing Aids and that she wanted the money returned to her. We were very compassionate to her situation and expressed our heartfelt sympathy. Ms. ******* was not the POA (which terminates at the time of death) nor was she the "Executor of the Estate". Holly's Hearing Aid Center contacted their Attorney and was legally advised to not issue any refund to anyone until the proper paperwork had been received. Holly's Hearing is not legally allowed to give funds back to any family member unless there is an "Executor". As we are told that ***** is the daughter, we are not legally allowed to be the entity to make the decision to which designee the monies were to be distributed to. There could be many family members Ms. ****** would have liked the monies to go to. We are not at liberty to make that decision, only the Court System can do this. We asked Ms. ******* to please bring legal documents to us so we could refund the monies to the Legal Representative. As stated above Ms. ******* did not come with Ms.****** to her appointment nor did she have any part in trying to help her mother's hearing improve. Ms. ****** solely represented herself. 

Under no circumstances would Holly's Hearing wish to keep the refund, but we are under Legal obligation to make proper distribution of the funds to the Court appointed person. Ms. ******* was asked to please obtain this information. As a business Holly's Hearing will always make a conscience effort to do what is best for our patients and family. 

Holly's Hearing Aid Center 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Wrongly stated by Holly's Hearing Aids is that I asked for their partial refund in my name.  I asked for the refund in the name of " the estate of " or in my deceased mother's name to distribute the funds according to the law.  Also, omitted is the time required for probate court and expenses to obtain court ordered executorship as Holly's refuses to refund after the 30 days.  Holly's Hearing Aids knows full well that their terms for honoring the guarantee are not attainable.  Further, Holly's knows the refund would be legally distributed by accepting the aids back within their 30 days and issuing the check legally and correctly named, thus insuring that the funds would be properly distributed through probate court when that can be achieved.

Hopefully, others will check this business's BBB record before their elderly relatives enlist their services and question their refund policies and financing advice.



Regards,

***** *******




 

Business Response:

I can simply respond to this by saying " Please bring in the proper Court Appointed Paperwork and we will refund the money to you.  Just as we stated to you Ms. *******  previously under no circumstances would we wish to keep the monies but we must refund money to the Legal Representative. At the time when you called into the office and in your original complaint you stated that you were not the POA nor were you the Executor.

Respectfully

Holly's Hearing Aid Center

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Holly's Hearing Aids lawyers know ( and our lawyer concurred ) that I could not meet their requirement that I be court appointed within the 30 days that they stated they would honor the partial refund.  (Two days are now left.)  Our family has agreed that as my mother's executor they would like me to donate the hearing aids in her name to a charitable organization for the hearing impaired.  Hopefully these will be acceptable for someone.  My only aim at this point is to have the facts truthfully represented and to make other's aware.

Regards,

***** *******




 

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my husband earing aids last year. I have had nothing but trouble with them. I have taken them back several times for repair. I got no results then this company picks up and moves over an hour away from my house. I cannot travel this far in a car. I am a senior with health issues and my husband is blind also dealing with health issues. My children live far away and can not assist us. I would like to turn in the earing aids and get a full refund. We are not happy with the service or the product. I will then take my husband to a location near by to purchase a new pair of hearing aids,

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund so that I may purchase a new and different pair for my husband that can be serviced locally.

Business Response: Claimant purchased a set of Audibel hearing aids on 8/21/2013. Below is a summary of the patient's appointments: 8/26/13: Hearing great, no adjustments made. 9/6/13: Hearing great, no adjustments made. 9/23/13: Raised gain of hearing aids 2 clicks 11/4/13: Changed size of receivers to #4, suggested a custom earmold for right ear 11/8/13: Patient complained of feedback. Changed dome size in both ears. Made adjustments to increase gain. Patient reported good feel and sound. 11/25/13: Patient complained of domes popping out. Raised volume, changed receiver size to #3 on right side and changed dome size on both hearing aids. Patient reported good feel and sound. Again discussed custom earmold for right ear. 3/17/14: Patient reported left hearing aid not working, Cleaned and checked both hearing aids. Replaced receiver on left hearing aid. Ear examination showed some ear wax in left ear. Made adjustments to hearing aids. Patient reported the hearing aids sound good. Patient purchased a dehumidifier for moisture. 5/1/14: rescheduled appointment 5/19/14: Patient complained of feedback and the right hearing aid cutting in and out. Patient's wife reported the use of wax removal drops mainly in the right ear. Ear exam showed impacted wax in left ear and white wet liquid in the right ear. Patient's wife reported an ear infection about 1 month prior to appointment. In the opinion of the Audiologist, the white wet liquid was causing the right hearing aid to cut in and out. Audiologist made the recommendation for the patient to see and Ear, Nose and Throat doctor for the white wet drainage from the right ear and left ear wax impaction. Made adjustments to hearing aids. As you can see, the hearing aids have never been sent to the manufacturer for repair and are currently still covered under warranty. The problems that the patient was experiencing were solved in the office, except for the wax impaction and white wet drainage. These 2 items need to be resolved by an ENT. The North Olmsted office that the patient purchased the hearing aids has closed, but we have offered, via a letter mailed to all of the patients from that office, to continue to service and adjust the hearing aids at our Mayfield Heights office. According to MapQuest, it would take about 33 minutes from the patient's home to the Mayfield Heights office. When the patient initially called regarding the most current issue, the Patient Care Coordinator advised that she was going to mail a postage paid box to the patient for them to send us the hearing aids so we could resolve the issue because they did not want to travel to the Mayfield Heights office. The hearing aids are nonreturnable. The patient was made aware of the 30 day trial period and received a copy of the contract stating the length of the trial period the day the hearing aids were purchased. We are still offering to help, service, and adjust the patient's hearing aids at the Mayfield Heights office.

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Holly's Hearing Aid Center, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)