This business is not BBB accredited.

Kaplan's Furniture & Design

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 322-6128 Fax: (440) 322-4472 View Additional Phone Numbers 638 Broad St, Elyria, OH 44035 http://www.kaplansfurniture.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kaplan's Furniture & Design include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Kaplan's Furniture & Design include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kaplan's Furniture & Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1936 Business incorporated 07/03/1972 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Kaplan
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Mattresses Computers - Furniture Furniture - Childrens

Alternate Business Names
Kaplan's Furniture & Sleep Express

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    24869 Lorain Rd

    North Olmsted, OH 44070 (440) 471-4636

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    638 Broad St

    Elyria, OH 44035 (440) 322-6128

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    745 Leo Bullocks Pkwy Ste 835

    Elyria, OH 44035 (440) 322-0071

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct 26th I ordereda childrens bed set out of their children's catalog. The salesman (who is currently no longer employed there) lied to us about the quality of furniture we would receive. We specifically stated multiple times, that we did not want the cheap wood, we wanted sturdy solid wood for dressers, bed and night stand. The employee (*****) assured us that thenquality wood we would receive would be dovetailed, double track solid wood. He even took us to the back of the store to show my father and I what type of wood and what the dovetailing was specifically. Well, when we received our furniture on Nobember 27th, it came to our attention how cheap the quality was, and how we had been lied to. The correct wooden bed rails did not even come with the furniture, so they put temporary metal ones up, and my daughters bed is wobbly, also the Toy box drawer under the bed was dented in. So I called the facility, multiple times and was told I had to speak to the store manager (S****) he offered me an exchange on the furniture. So, we went to the store, picked out what we wanted (the quality) we wanted and they told us we had to pay an additional $800+. I told him I could not afford it, he told me he'd have to call me back and nerve did. I had to call him back multiple times. He finally decided to settle at $467. I told him I couldn't afford that, I had $200 to spend and that was it, and that it wasn't fair that what we thought we paid $1500 for was good quality. I even asked if there was any way to take additional items off to bring the amount down to my budget. Well it is now December 15th and I am still fighting with him. He keeps telling me he has to speak to so and so and will get back to me, he never calls. He laughed at me and told me he didn't know what I wanted him to do. I even talked to the store owner Steve Kaplan and he told me they would resolve the issue, nothing! I even talked to Kathy Kaplan on the Kaplans Facebook account and she guarranteed she would handle the matter and get to the bottom of it. She also stated that it was ridiculous and uncalled for. She told me she would be getting ahold of me, and never has! Nobody wants to help me solve this issue, they keep giving me the run around and pushing me away. No one ever returns phone calls. Please help! I just want to exchange my daughters furniture for a reasonable price. After all the hassle they have put me through I shouldn't have to pay a penny.

Desired Settlement: If I had my way I'd like a complete refund of my $1500 cash money! Don't even want to deal with ordering more furniture from them, and waiting another whole month to get it. Very rude people with horrible customer service skills!

Business Response:

Kaplans Furniture is family owned business that has been in business for 80 years. I contacted the manufacture of this product and explained to them the customers concerns, dovetail and the glides. There are two types of Dovetail. There is a French Dovetail and an English Dovetail. There are also two types of Bearing Glides. The side mounted glides and a full extension ball bearing glide. The product they purchased, out of a catalogue, is both French dove tail and Full extension ball bearing glide on the bottom, a much better product then a roller glide on the side. As far as what the salesperson told the customer, I have asked him and he claims that he did not tell them they would receive English Dovetail. At this point, Kaplans has fulfilled there obligation to the customer and there is nothing else that we can do.

Sincerely

***** *******

11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased furniture from this location, amounting to $2,200 back in July. The furniture has been damaged, and the office will do nothing about it. They have ignored my calls and refuse to work with me. The mechanics of the furniture do not work very well, and the pieces were not delivered completely. I spoke with the District Manager and he has refused to cooperate. I don't know what to do, but I feel cheated and no one seems to be taking my complaints seriously.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund me the money, and to take their furniture with them. I no longer wish to do business with them, unless an agreement can be reached.

Business Response:

Kaplan has been in business for 80 years and we know how to deal with and take care of our customers and hope to do this for many more years.  Looks like ***** ******* was real happy (two words were illegible) Kaplans did our part to fix what Mr. ******* had a problem with, our (illegible word) note are real clear and dates and are clear, when some one does not return your phone call, time and time it is not real simple to make the customer happy. It would be your call (illegible word) you (illegible word) today with the ID (illegible word) however we know we take care of people and we know the job you have to do. My cell # is 216-******** so call me if you still feel we have not done the right thing in (illegible word) Kaplan's was trying to do to fix the problem.

***** ******

(documents attached)

Consumer Response:

Sorry for the late response.  I have been away, with limited access to internet and voicemail.

The response by the owner isn't satisfactory, because of two things:

•His resolutions has taken two months, since time of purchase (7/26)
•The customer had promised to compensate by sending a gift certificate, which never came.
•The customer should compensate/take money off the total, for the delay.

I hope my response isn't too late.

Thanks, *****.

Sincerely,

*****.

*************






 

Business Response: We have gone above and beyond to help Mr. *******. We made 3 delivery attempts. The 1st two of them, which we could not get in to his building. We consider this closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This product was purchased on July 26, 2015, first and foremost.  Several calls were made to both locations with zero responses or attempts to fix the issue.  Yes, there was a message left to fix the problem, at first.  But, there was no follow up when I returned that call and, in turn, left another message.  My cell phone statements prove several outgoing calls from the months of July, August and September with very little response from the business.  I have left several messages for months, but it wasn't until I finally decided to get the BBB involved that someone came to my home.  The business would consider this matter close, and ignore a resolution for the months of frustrating outgoing calls, and ownership of an incomplete/defective product.  However, because of their lack of interest in resolving this matter, and their failure to deliver a discount--as promised by E******** (Elyria) and later confirmed by S****, the District Manager--I do not feel that the business has complied with my demands.   


To consider this matter close, I would ask for a discount, as it was initially promised that reflects the goodwill of the company, to compensate for the month(s) of August until it was fixed in September. 

Of course, I am willing to release the aforementioned cell phone statements to the BBB/Kaplan, so that you can get a better sense of the number of outgoing calls made. As of now, this matter has not been handled with the appropriate level of customer service one would expect. 

Conclusively, this matter is not closed to my satisfaction, until said discount is given. 

Regards,

***** *******




 

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising! We were told by salesman the sectional couch we bought was all memory foam, it's not! After only 2-3 months of owning we had cushions that won't return to full form, areas of couch cushions are sagging or flat ! We were told whole cushion is memory foam that's why we purchased it. False advertising to say the least , after we were told by the manager he would let us replace it with other furniture he changed his mind last minute. The manager ***** lied to us ! And we still have couch. After many calls to manager ***** problem is still left unresolved and they have done nothing to rectify problem!

Desired Settlement: To let us pick out something else in the showroom there to replace this piece of furniture at equal value

Business Response: We have given them a re-selection. This is completed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* And ***** *******


8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered furniture from Kaplans in North Olmstead on November 28, 2014. I was told that the order would take approximately 8-10 weeks. When it arrived, I would be notified and personnel from Kaplans would delivery the new furniture as well as move our existing furniture to another location within the house or to the curb. The furniture arrived over 17 weeks later and on 3/30/2015 I arrived at the store to pay the balance and set up the delivery. I was assured by the store manager (like the salesman before him) that the delivery personnel would move our existing furniture and set up our new furniture and would not leave until we were completely satisfied. I was called the day before the delivery was set to arrive and told I would receive a call approximately 30 minutes before they would arrive. The call came the day of the delivery and I left immediately to be able to meet them at my house (I was 15 minutes away). They arrived in about 5 minutes from the call and proceeded to bring in the new furniture. My wife asked them several times about moving the existing furniture and they ignored her and continued to bring in the new furniture. When I arrived, they were bringing in the last piece of furniture and the room was so full that you couldn't walk through it. When I asked about moving the existing furniture (which we wanted to be placed in our newly finished basement), the man replied that they wouldn't move our existing furniture. When I told him we were told otherwise by the salesman and manager, he repeated himself again. I picked up my phone and told him I would call immediately and get them cleared to move the furniture if that's what he needed and then he said that they would make an exception. They carelessly moved our new furniture out of the way and proceeded to move our existing couch down the stairs. In the process, they damaged the door moldings in four separate places, the walls leading into the basement and the couch itself. I asked them to leave immediately after they came up from the basement. After they left and I had time to sort through everything, I found an ottoman leg was damaged and we were missing four pillows. In addition, two of the pillows that had been delivered were incorrect. I called Kaplans to speak with our salesman and the receptionist said he couldn't find him and didn't know when he'd be back. I called back an our later and received the same response. When I called the Elyria store, a lady said that I should speak to the manager at the North Olmstead store and would transfer me to him immediately. The same receptionist from the North Olmstead store came on the line and said the manager was with a customer and he would call me right back. Approximately 90 minutes later he called back and listened to the story. He assured me that they would take care of everything. I should send him an email with details of what happened and he made notes about the pillows as well as the damage. They would have an employee contact me the following day to set up a time to review the damages and assess what needed to be done to make it right. In addition, he would place an order for the correct pillows the following business day. I received a call regarding the damages and the employee did come out and take pictures. He assured me that everything would be repaired and said he would come back out when the remaining (and correct pillows) arrived along with a new leg for the ottoman to the store. I was notified of their arrival approximately 4 weeks later and called the same employee back to set up a time for the delivery and repairs. He did not respond until after I called a third time. After setting up the appointment, he never showed up. I called Kaplans and they had no idea why he wasn't there. He called back the next day to say he forgot and wanted to set up another time. When I left a follow up message and didn't hear anything back from him for another day or two, I just went to Kaplans to pick up the pillows and ottoman leg myself. When I arrived at Kaplans the there were only two pillows and they were incorrect. The store manager said that the wrong ones had been sent over from the warehouse but that they had them. He also said they would have an employee take them to my house and drop them off the following day. When I arrived home the following day, two of the four pillows were sitting in front of my house. I called again and no one had any idea why the other two pillows weren't delivered and they were unable to find them in the warehouse. At that point, they said they would reorder the pillows and deliver them as soon as they arrived. It's been 29 weeks from our initial order and we still don't have everything. On top of that, I had to pay the man to who originally remodeled our basement an additional $250 to fix the damages caused by the movers.

Desired Settlement: I would like a check for the $250 that I had to pay to remedy the damages caused by the movers from Kaplans. In addition, I would like to be reimbursed for the cost of the pillows at $228.96. While this does not address the time and aggravation that has ensued since this whole fiasco began, it will reconcile the monetary aspects related to our purchase.

Business Response:

This is in response to the letter written by: Mr. ******* ******* (Customer) 

as told to me by:  Steve V****** (Driver)

Mr. ******* was the 1st delivery of the second time code - Drivers called after completing the delivery before the ********.  Drivers do not call while in a customer's home so the best possible time is immediately following the delivery ahead, so they may not get an exact 30 minute call ahead.  If they know they will only be in a customer's home for a very short time, they will call the next delivery before doing the current stop. As far as being promised that the drivers would stay in the home until the customer was completely satisfied... I'm skeptical about that because there were 3 more deliveries AFTER the *******'s.  Unfortunately, the sales person who supposedly made the promise is no longer with the company but emails from the Sales Manager clearly stated that is not our normal practice and that he spoke to the salesman about it.  Whether it was passed on to the customer is anyone's guess.

 
Mr. ******* wrote another email, contradicting himself in the statement in his complaint that 'HE TOLD THE DRIVERS TO LEAVE' but in an earlier email he stated that the drivers quickly left after taking 2 pieces down stairs.  Drivers DO NOT move customer's old furniture because of possible damage which would leave the Company liable but when Mr. ******* was yelling and acting in a manner that unbecoming a gentleman, the drivers made the attempts.  I assure you these drivers would NEVER purposely damage anything in a customer's home.  These men are professionals and above acting like that.

Steve (Driver) said they arrived 15 minutes after calling, so they were indeed ahead of 30 min. notification - rule of thumb is to call and if they have to wait once they arrive at a customer's home they will, but in this particular case Mrs. ******* was at the residence so they went ahead and started the delivery.  Steve said Mrs. ******* was very nice the entire time they were in the home but unlike Mr. *******'s accusations, she never asked them to move their furniture or relocate it, possibly thinking they already knew, but there were no notes indicating such a request on the delivery note (See attached).  When Mr. ******* arrived, he came in the house with an attitude demanding they move the furniture to the basement.  Steve tried to explain that the furniture was too big to go down into the basement, that the door was too narrow and the furniture was too big.  Mr. ******* had a fit and said he was PROMISSED we would do that for him, I'm assuming, he knew it was too big that's why he didn't want to do it himself.

 Cheryl P*****, Operations Mgr.

Kaplan's Furniture

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Teresa's Account:

When I talked to MR ******* he told me his issues and I told him I would send my tech out but this is why we do not and should not move furniture that was not purchased from Kaplan's.  AS I don’t believe our insurance covers such items. We are not a moving company we are simply to deliver your new furniture. We do help if necessary but the drivers are not meant to move furniture around. He also said he had small damage to his sofa that was not purchased from Kaplan's that he asked the guys to move that was obviously too big for the door way and not only did it do minor damage to the sofa it did the wall as well. The manufacture did send the wrong pillows. We reordered them he did not want Nick to bring them out he said he would pick them up at the North Olmsted store. We took them to the store and again they were wrong.  So he does have the correct ones on order. As service goes we have called him and tried to help in every way that we can.

Teresa P*******, Service Manager

Kaplan's Furniture
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nick's account:

Upon originally going too their house, they were both very nice and showed me all of the issues going on there. One leg on the Otto had a small chip in it which is what he had showed me first then he showed me what damage had been caused to the walls and doorway going into the basement with the old sofa from the living room all the damage was very minor (more clean-up and touch up on the paint) none of it was very bad or would even really need filled, I had gotten the parts in and had called and left them a voicemail that they were here and we needed to schedule a service appt. They did call me back once on a weekend that I was off in the evening I did return the call and had once again left a voice mail, I did not receive another call from them (also when I leave voicemails to customers I ALWAYS leave them the warehouse number as well so that if they happen to call me as I am with a customers or not able to answer for any reason they may contact her to set up an appt as well (we do realize that some people are contacting us on their work break and may only have so much time to talk during the day) not long thereafter I saw them on my board to deliver the pillows that came in and that the cust was going to touch up the walls themselves so I had contacted Mr. ******* to take the pillows out to him at which point he had asked me to just leave them on his porch (he was still very polite) I did leave them there per the cust request so as far as service went this cust had chose to have the wall repairs done himself without really giving us the chance to service them, which in my opinion was not $250 worth of damage as all it would have taken was a small qt of paint to repair and about a half hour of time.
 

Nick S****, Service Tech

Kaplan's Furniture

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

To Ms. P*****:

You have been well coached in responding to concerns related to customers. Given that your argument bases itself on my character and attitude toward the drivers does not permit a substantiated response as we are now remanded to citing each other as fabricating our own stories to support our individual points. I will stand by my claim that both the salesman and store manager told me that our current furniture would be moved for us when our new furniture arrived. I now regret not getting that in writing but at the time I felt that their word and handshake was enough – this is why I spent over $4,000 on furniture with Kaplans. You are a local company and one that I felt would stand behind their products/service. I would also ask that you speak directly to either the salesman or the store manager regarding this manner but it appears that they are no longer employed with the company.  

To Teresa:

Please see above statement regarding the furniture being moved and my reason for asking the deliverymen to follow through on the initial agreement that made with personnel at the North Olmstead location. The furniture is obviously not too big to be moved down to the basement of our house as it is currently there in one piece. Regarding the pillows, I have yet to receive the last two pillows from our original order. No one from the store has followed up with any indication as to when or if they will be arriving. It’s unfortunate that I paid the balance before having the furniture was delivered, as I have very little leverage for compliance on the part of Kaplans to make efforts to fulfill this order or reimburse me for the products that I have never received.

To Nick:

We set up an appointment with you to come out and you did not show up. I have a voicemail on my phone from you stating that you completely forgot about the appointment and asking me to return your call to set up another. With all due respect to your work, considering my experiences at that point with Kaplans and their employees, I had simply lost confidence in this company’s ability to back up their word and follow through on their claims. That is why I decided to hire out the work myself rather than work through Kaplans for the repairs. Regarding the damage and overall cost; once the man began the repairs on the walls and trim, he found that some of the areas were worse than he had originally anticipated and the cost increased based on the additional work that was necessary.

To summarize:

My house was damaged when deliverymen from Kaplans carelessly moved our furniture from one location to another. The timeframe for my order to be completed has more than doubled and is still not fulfilled. Kaplans was more than willing to take my money before the furniture was delivered and has since refused to compensate me for the repair work needed to my home and for the portion of the order that has never been delivered. Kaplans may argue the former but the latter is clearly an act of theft. I have always thought Kaplans to be an honest and forthright company that was very customer oriented but this experience has severely tainted my viewpoint. I would like to be reimbursed for the cost to repair my home and for the items that we have waited 7-1/2 months to receive at a total cost of $478.96.


Regards,

******* *******




 

Business Response: Dear Mr. *******,

We have tried several times to contact you regarding your pillows and have got no call back.  Your pillows have been in for the past week and we have been trying to set up a date for Nick to bring them to you. As far as the damages to your walls,  we have made several attempts to come there and make the necessary repairs, however, you chose to have the work done on your own, at a price I consider extremely inflated. At this time,  we are considering your account closed. 
Sincerely, 
Scott L******
Kaplan Furniture

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
Mr. L******,

I have received a single phone call informing me that our pillows had arrived at the store a day before I received your forwarded message from the BBB. There’s no need to allude to your many efforts to deliver the pillows when phone records can be provided to the contrary. As I have been on vacation and just arrived home last evening, I was only able to receive your message upon my return.

It was about twenty years ago that we purchased our first set of furniture from Kaplans and since then have spent over $10,000 with your company. In addition, we have touted Kaplans as the place to purchase furniture to anyone mentioning an interest in doing so. It has been the quality and, more importantly, the customer service that has kept up coming back. I now realize that Kaplans has become focused on making money at the expense of the customer if necessary to let a few hundred dollars stand between them and a satisfied customer. Notwithstanding the issues we had with our furniture being moved and the damage to our house, the final item of our order arrived (hopefully correct) 7 months and 23 days from the day we placed the initial order. By all accounts, Kaplans seems to think that this time frame is acceptable. We were told 8-10 weeks for the order to arrive and it became 3-4 times longer at just over 33 weeks. No one seems at all concerned about this time frame, as it appears they have been appeased since the final payment was made.

I can say that we will not be purchasing furniture from Kaplans in the future. Word travels fast within local communities and I can only say that for your company’s sake, I hope that some changes are made regarding customer service. 

******* *******






 

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purschased a living room set from Kaplan furniture, the couch came damanged on the end fabric missing and a space in between the front of the couch and chair. I called and they told me T****** would call me on Monday. She called on Monday to set up an appointment for 10-23-2013 for N*** to repair the furniture. I explained I just paid $1800.00 for this furniture and it just going to get repaired. It was suppose to come un damaged. She said she would get back to me. I called and spoke to a j*** who told me that nick would repair the furniture and that I would receive a check in the mail for a refund of $300.00 plus the $85.00 delivery charge. No check was received and N*** never showed up on 10-23-2013. I called and spoke to K***** on 10-23-2013 she stated N*** was on another repair job and was running late. I called back at 2:30 that day and stated that N*** never showed up and he left a message that his car broke down and he could not do any repairs. K***** then stated this would have to be directed once again to T******. I had left T****** 10 messages and she never have returned my calls. I I called again today 2 weeks later and she was at the elyria warehouse and could not take calls. So I am left with damaged furniture no refund and I lost out $200.00 on 10-23-2013 due to I took off work and missed out on over time. I want all the money that is do to me

Desired Settlement: They charged me full price for a floor model and I got ripped off. I stopped in and was told I was given the floor model and I would receive a refund. I did not order a floor model and now they are avoiding me because I found out the truth.

Business Response:  

The customer states in her complaint that she received “floor model” merchandise.
The merchandise she purchased were custom ordered (the “c/o” to the left of the line items on the handwritten order indicate “custom order”, meaning that we do not show or stock that fabric combination on the floor.
The fabrics attached are the fabrics she chose to custom order (not our stock fabric combination).
The customer also received her $100 off the order at the time of sale.
I’m not sure how the customer has come to the conclusion that we owe her $200 extra for her time.  She was only available on Saturdays for service as she stated that was her day off.  The original service was scheduled for a Saturday and the customer was unavailable on the number she provided so we could reschedule her service (the service van had to be serviced and was not available that day).  The customer called the store later the day of the original service and we explained to her that we could not reach her on the number she provided and to provide another for future service.  We could not reschedule the service that day as the person that does the scheduling does not work on Sat or Sun.  T*****’s (our service manager) call log shows that she attempted to call the customer and reschedule her service with no success.
We have been prompt and up front with this customer once we learned of her product damage. We have been awaiting her response to reschedule service.
If we can’t fix the damage we will replace the product as we have always done since 1936.
The customer’s delivery charge was refunded. It takes 10 days to two weeks to process.
As far as the $200 she claims she is “out” on a day she was already off will not be compensated.
T*****, our service manager is awaiting her response and can be reached Monday through Friday until 4 pm at 440-322-0071 extension ***
 
 
 
 
Have a great day!
 
John Hogston
 
Kaplan's Furniture
 

Consumer Response:

1) KAPLAN

The customer states in her complaint that she received “floor model” merchandise.

The merchandise she purchased were custom ordered (the “c/o” to the left of the line items on the handwritten order indicate “custom order”, meaning that we do not show or stock that fabric combination on the floor.

The fabrics attached are the fabrics she chose to custom order (not our stock fabric combination).

Customer Response;
This is incorrect due to the couch I purchased is in the same fabric and it is identical to the follow model couch. Even the spot on the corner of leg fabric was missing and so is the one they delivered to me.  I had a chase lounge that was from a different set made with the same fabric and it is okay. The chair I ordered was actually on the floor as well with the set that I had the chase lounge fabric ordered on to match the couch. All three pieces were supposed to be a reproduction of what was on his floor.  That it why it  was suppose to be a custom order but the chair and couch was already made in that fabric and style on the floor. So clearly their statement is incorrect, when he stated that it was not his stock fabric combination is wrong because both items were sitting on the show room floor in the same style and fabric.
2) KAPLAN

The customer also received her $100 off the order at the time of sale.

Customer Response;
It was labor day when I purchased the living room set  from Kaplan’s and the sale man came back and told me that when he checked his recorded the chase lounge had the wrong price and it was $100.00 less then what he had told me. Wrong again, they did not give me a $100.00 off there prices were incorrect for the chase lounge that what the sales clerk told me.

3) KAPLAN

I’m not sure how the customer has come to the conclusion that we owe her $200 extra for her time.  She was only available on Saturdays for service as she stated that was her day off.  The original service was scheduled for a Saturday and the customer was unavailable on the number she provided so we could reschedule her service (the service van had to be serviced and was not available that day).  The customer called the store later the day of the original service and we explained to her that we could not reach her on the number she provided and to provide another for future service.  We could not reschedule the service that day as the person that does the scheduling does not work on Sat or Sun.  ******’s (our service manager) call log shows that she attempted to call the customer and reschedule her service with no success.

 

Customer Response;

When I had called and explained that the fabric was damaged. I had told them what days I was off they were busy per ****** the service manager those days. ****** had then stated he could come out that Saturday, since he works every other Saturday.  I had then changed my work schedule to not work the overtime which would have been $25.00 an hour for 8 hours worked. I did not work because the service man was suppose to be there he called my cell number and I called him back gave my home number which is what he was suppose to call any way since I was home waiting for him that Saturday. He then called back and said he was running late on another job. I then said okay I still here waiting. Then 2’ o clock came his appointment time was for eleven and K***** at the store said he was running late and should be there any minute. 4’ o clock came and I called back and they said the repair guy would call me. He then called back and stated that his car now broke down and he did not want to tell me this so he has been working on his car all Saturday and was not at any scheduled jobs. I then called and left several messages for ****** to call me regarding these lies and left me hanging that Saturday all day when I could have worked and made money instead of lost money. ****** never called me back as of today. When I called upset K***** said she can not make her return my calls and that she was spending a lot of time at the ********** ******************* **********Elyria warehouse. I then wrote the better business letter. I have made several attempts to get this repaired. I now want a new couch since all they do is lie. 

4) KAPALN

We have been prompt and up front with this customer once we learned of her product damage. We have been awaiting her response to reschedule service.

If we can’t fix the damage we will replace the product as we have always done since 1936.

Customer Response

 

There statement is truly false, they left me hanging since that Saturday did not return any phone calls. I even gave them my work number which is a direct line to my desk, my cell phone and home, both have answering machines that no messages were left. I am over this and I want the product replace.  They have lied and this has gone on far too long.

 

5) KAPLAN REPLY

The customer’s delivery charge was refunded. It takes 10 days to two weeks to process.

 

CUSTOMER RESPONSE

 

Another lie I purchased this in September and it is December 03, 2013 and I have not received any refund check. It has been longer then two weeks. I hope they see the pattern of their lies.

6) KAPLAN REPLY

As far as the $200 she claims she is “out” on a day she was already off will not be compensated.

6) Do they not understand I took off that day just for him to come out and he never showed? If they would have called me first thing in the morning to reschedule I could have went to work that Saturday. Instead of staying home sitting waiting for him to come and does not even call me back until 4:15 that day to say he was home working on his car and that it was broke down. Yes this is rude of a business and they would charge me my time is money and their service man caused me $200.00 for that day.

7) KAPLAN RESPONSE

******, our service manager is awaiting her response and can be reached Monday through Friday until 4 pm at 440-322-0071 extension 721

Customer Response;

I had left her several messages since then and not one of them have been returned. I am the customer should ****** have not have called me back. I have left my home, cell, and work number. Why would I call and leave her another message if she has not returned the last 10 messages. Have the owner call me.

Customer Resolution.

I want the owner to call me and refund me the so call check that was processed along with my wasted time for that Saturday and I want a brand new couch. I have waited long enough and I just tired of all the lies. I paid over $1800.00 cash for this furniture.  I paid from working over time and they caused me more money by not showing up that day. My husband had passed away in April and I have worked every available shift and I lost out on my wages due to unreliable employee of Kaplan furniture. I want the owner to call me!!!!

Business Response:

We have been patiently waiting for the customer to contact us to have her merchandise taken care of.  We have yet to hear from the customer.

Our customer contacts are documented in our computer system.  The customer's day off (as was stated by the customer herself) is Saturday and that was the only day she could be scheduled.

I'm not sure why we need to compensate for "lost time" on a normal day off.  We will gladly work with the customer on a day that is convenient for her to have her product repaired.

If the customer did truly buy floor model merchandise as she claims, her invoice would have a statement that floor model merchandise is sold as-is.  We ordered the merchandise on good faith for the customer so she would have a

manufacturers warranty (again the "c/o" on the order stands for "custom order".  Also, if there were a floor model available for the product she selected, there would have been no "wait" for delivery.

We will issue an additional $100 refund to the customer for good faith purposes but we must hear from the customer first to schedule service before we will issue the additional good faith refund.

****s response to customers response on #3... He was only able to call the number on the paperwork. Customer did not answer. She was never given a time. he never talked to her. he tried to call her back when she did leave a message with a different number which was actually the same number as on the paperwork. Still no answer when he tried to call again. He never talked to her at all at that time.
****s response to #6.... he did call her that morning to reschedule she did not call him back. She waited and called the store at 2pm instead of calling ****. He left her a number to reach him on her vm. All customers are told they would receive a call the morning of the appt between 9:30 and 10am. Why did she wait until 2pm to call the store?
**** called her work number several times that Monday, tues, wed and Thursday that week and the number was always busy everytime????

 

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 19, 2013, I ordered Maple Amish-made table, 4 matching chairs and 2 matching ergonomic chairs which were to be delivered to me in March. I paid a considerable amount, $2,600.99 for this particularly wonderful and was very excited to have them prior to my wedding in May. I paid On or about the first week of March, Kaplans Furniture delivered a table and chairs that did not meet the description of the table/chairs that I ordered in January. Additionally, the table was delivered without legs and all of the chairs had MULTIPLE scratches on them and were clearly unfinished. It looked like they were never even sanded before the finish was applied to the table. I told the delivery men for Kaplans Furniture delivery and they took the table and chairs back and told me they would be replaced with the table and chairs I ordered in January. So I agreed. Mind you, this is during the time I was planning my wedding so I just wanted the table before May. On March 30th, Kaplans Furniture delivery men delivered its second set of table and chairs, which again did not represent the product I purchased in January. I again refused to accept this set which included a table that had a middle leaf that was clearly dented and the chairs were the EXACT same as those delivered the first week of March (scratched and unfinished). I became very frustrated at this point since I had to make MANY calls to the store to get this second delivery. I again contacted the store and a Kaplans Furniture agent named **** was to come to my house before my wedding to inspect the pieces. **** did come to my house on April 12, 2013 and agreed with me that the pieces were not able to conform to the original contract and must be fully replaced since there was too much wrong with the pieces. **** made a written report and encouraged me to contact the store to request that another table and chairs be sent to me. On April 18th, I called the store again and talked to *** **** the salesman and was told he would resolve this matter with the manager of the N. Olmsted store. On April 20th, I talked with J****, manager of the North Olmsted store who was supposed to call the owner. I never heard back from J**** or the owner. On April 23rd, roughly 1 week before my wedding, I called J**** who said that the owner has not responded to him regarding my request for a full refund. He told me that he would email the owner again. AGAIN NO RESPONSE FROM J**** OR OWNER.On May 3rd, AFTER my wedding and return from my honeymoon, I had to call again and was told J**** was not available. I left a message with S******, manager for the Elyria store who was supposed to talk to the owner and J*****. AGAIN S******, J**** OR THE OWNER NEVER CALLED ME BACK.On May 8th, I called S****** who told me that I could not talk with the owner and that they would not take the table and chairs back for a full refund. They would charge me 30% restocking fee and voucher to use in the store to pick something else out. I finally had to talk with a lawyer to try to obtain a full refund. It is still not resolved.

Desired Settlement: This issue has gone on since January. Kaplan Furniture has avoided my phone calls, timely updates, responses to my many concerns, provided the goods requested. I had my wedding in May and the stress of having to deal with this during the happiest time of my life is quite frankly, gut wrenching. I want a full refund and all the expenses in having to take off of work and consult with an attorney to get my money back. I have put ALOT of time and expense into this one VERY expensive purchase.

Business Response:

Ms ***** was taken care of.  She recieved a full refund on Friday 5/17/13.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *****

North Olmsted


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kaplan's Furniture & Design
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)