BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Kaplan's Furniture & Design

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 322-6128 Fax: (440) 322-4472 638 Broad St, Elyria, OH 44035 http://www.kaplansfurniture.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kaplan's Furniture & Design include:

  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Kaplan's Furniture & Design include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kaplan's Furniture & Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 16, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1936 Business incorporated: 07/03/1972 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Hogston, Vice President of Sales Mr. Steve Kaplan
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Hogston, Vice President of Sales
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Mattresses Computers - Furniture Furniture - Childrens

Alternate Business Names
Kaplan's Furniture & Sleep Express

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    24869 Lorain Rd

    North Olmsted, OH 44070 (440) 471-4636

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    638 Broad St

    Elyria, OH 44035 (440) 322-6128

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    745 Leo Bullocks Pkwy Ste 835

    Elyria, OH 44035 (440) 322-0071

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purschased a living room set from Kaplan furniture, the couch came damanged on the end fabric missing and a space in between the front of the couch and chair. I called and they told me T****** would call me on Monday. She called on Monday to set up an appointment for 10-23-2013 for N*** to repair the furniture. I explained I just paid $1800.00 for this furniture and it just going to get repaired. It was suppose to come un damaged. She said she would get back to me. I called and spoke to a j*** who told me that nick would repair the furniture and that I would receive a check in the mail for a refund of $300.00 plus the $85.00 delivery charge. No check was received and N*** never showed up on 10-23-2013. I called and spoke to K***** on 10-23-2013 she stated N*** was on another repair job and was running late. I called back at 2:30 that day and stated that N*** never showed up and he left a message that his car broke down and he could not do any repairs. K***** then stated this would have to be directed once again to T******. I had left T****** 10 messages and she never have returned my calls. I I called again today 2 weeks later and she was at the elyria warehouse and could not take calls. So I am left with damaged furniture no refund and I lost out $200.00 on 10-23-2013 due to I took off work and missed out on over time. I want all the money that is do to me

Desired Settlement: They charged me full price for a floor model and I got ripped off. I stopped in and was told I was given the floor model and I would receive a refund. I did not order a floor model and now they are avoiding me because I found out the truth.

Business Response:  

The customer states in her complaint that she received “floor model” merchandise.
The merchandise she purchased were custom ordered (the “c/o” to the left of the line items on the handwritten order indicate “custom order”, meaning that we do not show or stock that fabric combination on the floor.
The fabrics attached are the fabrics she chose to custom order (not our stock fabric combination).
The customer also received her $100 off the order at the time of sale.
I’m not sure how the customer has come to the conclusion that we owe her $200 extra for her time.  She was only available on Saturdays for service as she stated that was her day off.  The original service was scheduled for a Saturday and the customer was unavailable on the number she provided so we could reschedule her service (the service van had to be serviced and was not available that day).  The customer called the store later the day of the original service and we explained to her that we could not reach her on the number she provided and to provide another for future service.  We could not reschedule the service that day as the person that does the scheduling does not work on Sat or Sun.  T*****’s (our service manager) call log shows that she attempted to call the customer and reschedule her service with no success.
We have been prompt and up front with this customer once we learned of her product damage. We have been awaiting her response to reschedule service.
If we can’t fix the damage we will replace the product as we have always done since 1936.
The customer’s delivery charge was refunded. It takes 10 days to two weeks to process.
As far as the $200 she claims she is “out” on a day she was already off will not be compensated.
T*****, our service manager is awaiting her response and can be reached Monday through Friday until 4 pm at 440-322-0071 extension ***
 
 
 
 
Have a great day!
 
John Hogston
 
Kaplan's Furniture
 

Consumer Response:

1) KAPLAN

The customer states in her complaint that she received “floor model” merchandise.

The merchandise she purchased were custom ordered (the “c/o” to the left of the line items on the handwritten order indicate “custom order”, meaning that we do not show or stock that fabric combination on the floor.

The fabrics attached are the fabrics she chose to custom order (not our stock fabric combination).

Customer Response;
This is incorrect due to the couch I purchased is in the same fabric and it is identical to the follow model couch. Even the spot on the corner of leg fabric was missing and so is the one they delivered to me.  I had a chase lounge that was from a different set made with the same fabric and it is okay. The chair I ordered was actually on the floor as well with the set that I had the chase lounge fabric ordered on to match the couch. All three pieces were supposed to be a reproduction of what was on his floor.  That it why it  was suppose to be a custom order but the chair and couch was already made in that fabric and style on the floor. So clearly their statement is incorrect, when he stated that it was not his stock fabric combination is wrong because both items were sitting on the show room floor in the same style and fabric.
2) KAPLAN

The customer also received her $100 off the order at the time of sale.

Customer Response;
It was labor day when I purchased the living room set  from Kaplan’s and the sale man came back and told me that when he checked his recorded the chase lounge had the wrong price and it was $100.00 less then what he had told me. Wrong again, they did not give me a $100.00 off there prices were incorrect for the chase lounge that what the sales clerk told me.

3) KAPLAN

I’m not sure how the customer has come to the conclusion that we owe her $200 extra for her time.  She was only available on Saturdays for service as she stated that was her day off.  The original service was scheduled for a Saturday and the customer was unavailable on the number she provided so we could reschedule her service (the service van had to be serviced and was not available that day).  The customer called the store later the day of the original service and we explained to her that we could not reach her on the number she provided and to provide another for future service.  We could not reschedule the service that day as the person that does the scheduling does not work on Sat or Sun.  ******’s (our service manager) call log shows that she attempted to call the customer and reschedule her service with no success.

 

Customer Response;

When I had called and explained that the fabric was damaged. I had told them what days I was off they were busy per ****** the service manager those days. ****** had then stated he could come out that Saturday, since he works every other Saturday.  I had then changed my work schedule to not work the overtime which would have been $25.00 an hour for 8 hours worked. I did not work because the service man was suppose to be there he called my cell number and I called him back gave my home number which is what he was suppose to call any way since I was home waiting for him that Saturday. He then called back and said he was running late on another job. I then said okay I still here waiting. Then 2’ o clock came his appointment time was for eleven and K***** at the store said he was running late and should be there any minute. 4’ o clock came and I called back and they said the repair guy would call me. He then called back and stated that his car now broke down and he did not want to tell me this so he has been working on his car all Saturday and was not at any scheduled jobs. I then called and left several messages for ****** to call me regarding these lies and left me hanging that Saturday all day when I could have worked and made money instead of lost money. ****** never called me back as of today. When I called upset K***** said she can not make her return my calls and that she was spending a lot of time at the ********** ******************* **********Elyria warehouse. I then wrote the better business letter. I have made several attempts to get this repaired. I now want a new couch since all they do is lie. 

4) KAPALN

We have been prompt and up front with this customer once we learned of her product damage. We have been awaiting her response to reschedule service.

If we can’t fix the damage we will replace the product as we have always done since 1936.

Customer Response

 

There statement is truly false, they left me hanging since that Saturday did not return any phone calls. I even gave them my work number which is a direct line to my desk, my cell phone and home, both have answering machines that no messages were left. I am over this and I want the product replace.  They have lied and this has gone on far too long.

 

5) KAPLAN REPLY

The customer’s delivery charge was refunded. It takes 10 days to two weeks to process.

 

CUSTOMER RESPONSE

 

Another lie I purchased this in September and it is December 03, 2013 and I have not received any refund check. It has been longer then two weeks. I hope they see the pattern of their lies.

6) KAPLAN REPLY

As far as the $200 she claims she is “out” on a day she was already off will not be compensated.

6) Do they not understand I took off that day just for him to come out and he never showed? If they would have called me first thing in the morning to reschedule I could have went to work that Saturday. Instead of staying home sitting waiting for him to come and does not even call me back until 4:15 that day to say he was home working on his car and that it was broke down. Yes this is rude of a business and they would charge me my time is money and their service man caused me $200.00 for that day.

7) KAPLAN RESPONSE

******, our service manager is awaiting her response and can be reached Monday through Friday until 4 pm at 440-322-0071 extension 721

Customer Response;

I had left her several messages since then and not one of them have been returned. I am the customer should ****** have not have called me back. I have left my home, cell, and work number. Why would I call and leave her another message if she has not returned the last 10 messages. Have the owner call me.

Customer Resolution.

I want the owner to call me and refund me the so call check that was processed along with my wasted time for that Saturday and I want a brand new couch. I have waited long enough and I just tired of all the lies. I paid over $1800.00 cash for this furniture.  I paid from working over time and they caused me more money by not showing up that day. My husband had passed away in April and I have worked every available shift and I lost out on my wages due to unreliable employee of Kaplan furniture. I want the owner to call me!!!!

Business Response:

We have been patiently waiting for the customer to contact us to have her merchandise taken care of.  We have yet to hear from the customer.

Our customer contacts are documented in our computer system.  The customer's day off (as was stated by the customer herself) is Saturday and that was the only day she could be scheduled.

I'm not sure why we need to compensate for "lost time" on a normal day off.  We will gladly work with the customer on a day that is convenient for her to have her product repaired.

If the customer did truly buy floor model merchandise as she claims, her invoice would have a statement that floor model merchandise is sold as-is.  We ordered the merchandise on good faith for the customer so she would have a

manufacturers warranty (again the "c/o" on the order stands for "custom order".  Also, if there were a floor model available for the product she selected, there would have been no "wait" for delivery.

We will issue an additional $100 refund to the customer for good faith purposes but we must hear from the customer first to schedule service before we will issue the additional good faith refund.

****s response to customers response on #3... He was only able to call the number on the paperwork. Customer did not answer. She was never given a time. he never talked to her. he tried to call her back when she did leave a message with a different number which was actually the same number as on the paperwork. Still no answer when he tried to call again. He never talked to her at all at that time.
****s response to #6.... he did call her that morning to reschedule she did not call him back. She waited and called the store at 2pm instead of calling ****. He left her a number to reach him on her vm. All customers are told they would receive a call the morning of the appt between 9:30 and 10am. Why did she wait until 2pm to call the store?
**** called her work number several times that Monday, tues, wed and Thursday that week and the number was always busy everytime????

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 19, 2013, I ordered Maple Amish-made table, 4 matching chairs and 2 matching ergonomic chairs which were to be delivered to me in March. I paid a considerable amount, $2,600.99 for this particularly wonderful and was very excited to have them prior to my wedding in May. I paid On or about the first week of March, Kaplans Furniture delivered a table and chairs that did not meet the description of the table/chairs that I ordered in January. Additionally, the table was delivered without legs and all of the chairs had MULTIPLE scratches on them and were clearly unfinished. It looked like they were never even sanded before the finish was applied to the table. I told the delivery men for Kaplans Furniture delivery and they took the table and chairs back and told me they would be replaced with the table and chairs I ordered in January. So I agreed. Mind you, this is during the time I was planning my wedding so I just wanted the table before May. On March 30th, Kaplans Furniture delivery men delivered its second set of table and chairs, which again did not represent the product I purchased in January. I again refused to accept this set which included a table that had a middle leaf that was clearly dented and the chairs were the EXACT same as those delivered the first week of March (scratched and unfinished). I became very frustrated at this point since I had to make MANY calls to the store to get this second delivery. I again contacted the store and a Kaplans Furniture agent named **** was to come to my house before my wedding to inspect the pieces. **** did come to my house on April 12, 2013 and agreed with me that the pieces were not able to conform to the original contract and must be fully replaced since there was too much wrong with the pieces. **** made a written report and encouraged me to contact the store to request that another table and chairs be sent to me. On April 18th, I called the store again and talked to *** **** the salesman and was told he would resolve this matter with the manager of the N. Olmsted store. On April 20th, I talked with J****, manager of the North Olmsted store who was supposed to call the owner. I never heard back from J**** or the owner. On April 23rd, roughly 1 week before my wedding, I called J**** who said that the owner has not responded to him regarding my request for a full refund. He told me that he would email the owner again. AGAIN NO RESPONSE FROM J**** OR OWNER.On May 3rd, AFTER my wedding and return from my honeymoon, I had to call again and was told J**** was not available. I left a message with S******, manager for the Elyria store who was supposed to talk to the owner and J*****. AGAIN S******, J**** OR THE OWNER NEVER CALLED ME BACK.On May 8th, I called S****** who told me that I could not talk with the owner and that they would not take the table and chairs back for a full refund. They would charge me 30% restocking fee and voucher to use in the store to pick something else out. I finally had to talk with a lawyer to try to obtain a full refund. It is still not resolved.

Desired Settlement: This issue has gone on since January. Kaplan Furniture has avoided my phone calls, timely updates, responses to my many concerns, provided the goods requested. I had my wedding in May and the stress of having to deal with this during the happiest time of my life is quite frankly, gut wrenching. I want a full refund and all the expenses in having to take off of work and consult with an attorney to get my money back. I have put ALOT of time and expense into this one VERY expensive purchase.

Business Response:

Ms ***** was taken care of.  She recieved a full refund on Friday 5/17/13.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *****

North Olmsted

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 3 Beds from Kaplan's located at North Olmsted and so far was a terrible experience. They have a terrible customer service and are always late with everything. Every time that I call them, or they are too busy and tell me that they are going to call me back, but they never call, or they tell me that I have to call another day when the person that sold the bed is going to be there. The first thing was that I had to wait more that 3 month for my daughter's bed and when it finally arrived, it was defective. Today I still don't have my Daughter's bed. The service department has it. The second problem was with mi son's bed, one of the side rail cracked in half when my son sat on it. I never saw this happening before with a bed. I believe that the lack of quality is evident.I am trying to call for several days now without a resolution and with their poor customer service skills, things are not getting resolved.

Desired Settlement: I need a replacement bed and an updated warranty for the new bed that they are going to deliver. Evidently this is not a good product.

Business Response:

In response to this complant, First of all Ms. ******** came in to our store and ordered her beds on Sunday 2/10/13.  She was delivered her furniture on Saturday  3/23/13.  She has spoken to her sales person **** **** two or three times since then.  She has also talked to our service department a couple times as well.  In fact, before I opened this email and complaint, my service department had already called her today to remind her of the service call scheduled for today Wednesday 4/3/13.  Ms. ******** has not waited three months for her furniture.  When she came in and ordered, on 2/10/13 she was given a time of 4 to 6 weeks for her order to come in.  This is a very normal quote and wait on most of the furniture we order for our customers.  When her daughters bed came in, the manufacture did not send all the pieces for the bed.  Tony the sales person called and spoke with Ms. ******** to let her know and Kaplan's furniture delivered the other two beds so she did not have to wait.  Ms. ******** was informed that it would be a couple more weeks until those missing parts came in, and once they come in we will deliver that bed set for her.  In the case of the broken rails, that is why my service department has an appointment set up for today Wednesday 4/3/13 to go and look at the bed and get it taken care of.  Anytime there is damamaged furniture it goes through our service department.  Our service department always sets up service appointments in advance, so I know our service department has spoken to Ms. ******** in regards to her issues and complaints. 

I am sorry that Ms. ******** feels she has not gotten the response and service that she expected, but I feel as a company we have and will continue to take care of Ms. ******** as well as all of our customers to the best that we can.  I am sorry that Ms. ******** has felt like it has been three months for her to get her furniture, but from time of ordering to time of delivery it was in the 4 to 6 weeks that was given to her at time of sale.  I understand there were some road blocks in the way, but as a company we are taking care of this for the customer and she has been notified and has been kept up to date the whole time.

Any other furthure questions or concerns, please let me know.

Thank you,

***** *****

North Olmsted Kaplan's furniture

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They just went to my home today and fixed my daughter's bed. She is going to be able to finally use it. They are going to order a part for my son's bed and this should take 4 to 6 weeks as well. Because of their very poor customer service, I am not going to accept a response until the part is in and my son't bed is fixed. I am calling since last week about my son's bed and all they told me is that I had to talk to the person that sold me the bed. ??? They constantly tell me that they will call me back and they never do. If they say that they have a good customer service, they really don't know what they are talking about. The only good service that was provided so far from Kaplan, was the service dept. The sales people and the receptionists should really go for some training and learn how to treat the customer.

Regards,

********* ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a dining room table with 4 chairs and 2 additional chairs for the island in my newly remodeled kitchen on 05/11/12. My FIRST set was delivered on 06/05/12 damaged. The table looked as if it had been dropped with a huge broken piece on one side and 4 of the 6 chairs were either scratched and/or uneven legs that rocked back and forth approximately one inch. These were not rocking chairs. Kaplan's sent 'N***' to make an inspection and take pictures on 06/12/12 which he did and left me with a colored pen to help cover any remaining scratches until my new table and chairs could be delivered. This process, per 'T***** ******', had to be accomplished before a new set was ordered. I was told to wait approx 4-6 weeks. I called T***** on 07/20/2012 to inquire about a new delivery date and she said she forgot to place the order, "her fault" her words, but records indicated my new table would be in on 08/08/2012. SECOND table and chairs were delivered on 09/18/2012 DAMAGED AGAIN. The delivery men, J*** ******** and D***** ***** who both delivered the first damaged set said they were not surprised. "This happens all the time". They swapped out the new table top and the old table legs and together we chose the best chairs out of all twelve for me to keep until a THIRD set could be delivered. I called T***** ****** while the delivery men were still in my home and explained the current situation. She was rude, curt, unprofessional and offered to order a new set AGAIN but couldn't promise anything better. On 10/10/2012 with still no word on a new delivery date, I spoke to J**** *****, Store Manager and the salesperson I ordered from now 4 months prior, and was given 3 options. 1) wait to see if THIRD table and chairs were damaged 2) If so, "I'll give you a big discount" 3) I will refund you 100%. I told him I hoped to have a new dining set by Christmas and he assured me the new order was placed on 09/19/2012.To date 01/10/2012, I have not yet heard from anyone and am still looking at a damaged table and chairs. It was been 8 months. NOTE: This purchase was at Kaplan's Furniture 24869 Lorain Road North Olmstead, OH 44070

Desired Settlement: I want the dining room table, chairs and 2 additional chairs ordered on 05/11/12 to be delivered to my home without damage. I did not shop a clearance section of this store and have waited patiently for 8 months. I have not been contacted by anyone within the Kaplan's Furniture organization and I want this issue resolved immediately.

Business Response:

Per J**** *****, Kaplan's will be more than happy to refund her money or the consumer can come in and select a new set. On September 18, 2012 J**** ***** left a phone message with the consumer indicating this very same offer.  In the consumer's complaint, the consumer said a new dining set was on order, but the set was never ordered because they never received confirmation of what offer the consumer had chosen.  The consumer had said previously that she didn't want to order the new set unless Kaplan's could guarantee, 100%, that the set would not come in damaged.  They said they could not do this, that is why they offered the refund as an alternative.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a table and chairs from Kaplan's back in approx November 2012. The item came damaged, we signed a paper stating that, and the delivery person acknolwedged it. We were to receive replacement legs to our table within 60 days. I called at 61 days and was told the were not ordered yet. I called at 3 mmonths, not in "oh, I'll check into it. I called last week, in April of 2012, and they didn't have them for me and she would "look into it for me." I am receiving the runaround and can't do a thing about it.

Desired Settlement: I want my replacement legs to my table and a voucher for my time wasted on following up with something I shouldn't have to/very poor customer service.

Business Response: We have made contact with the customer and have it set to be resolved by the middle of next week or sooner. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any more info.

 

Thanks,

*** ********

Corporate Sales/Ops Manager

Kaplan’s Furinture

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1