BBB Accredited Business since

Fish Furniture

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 461-1050 Fax: (440) 461-7586 View Additional Phone Numbers 1443 SOM Center Rd., Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 http://www.fishfurniture.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fish Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fish Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on Fish Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 12
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1931 Business started: 01/01/1925 in OH Business incorporated 10/09/1925 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel E. Geller, Owner, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel E. Geller, Owner, Human Resources
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Home Theater Mattresses Beds - Retail Clocks - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Fish Furniture Shop, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fish Furniture has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1443 SOM Center Rd.

    Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 (440) 461-1050

  • 23770 Lorain Rd.

    North Olmsted, OH 44070 (440) 779-7700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a couch from fish furniture 7/7/14, delivered some time in Aug 2014, I started noticing the couch was losing its firmness back in Aug 2015 and the problem continued to worsen, originally I thought it was because the cushions were wearing out. But in Jan 2015 I took the cushions off when i was cleaning to find a large dip where the springs should be. I contacted Fish furniture on Jan 23 and asked about whether or not my couch was still under warranty, they didn't know. They said "maybe it was for 18 months" and referred me to the service department. I was told they would contact me with in two weeks. When they didn't I called on Feb 8 and they had no idea who i was or what i was calling about and still did not know if my couch was still under warranty. I spoke with "Jo" who states she is the only Jo that works there. I had asked for employee identification and she refused to offer me any. I kept asking if the couch was under warranty and they would not tell me if it was, instead they insisted on sending Bob out to take a look at the couch. I stated that I paid $2,000 and I did not wish to invest more money into a couch that was falling apart for no apparent reason. Finally they said it would not cost anything for Bob to look at the couch. He came out on a day I was not in town so my room mate was there to handle the process. Bob told my room mate that the springs should not have come loose and that the clamp had come off. Then proceeded to offer to pay half of the cost to fix the couch. My room mate declined and when I was back in town I contacted Bob who said that they were not willing to pay for the couch to be fixed, that i would have to pay half. I do not have kids, I do not have pets, i do not often entertain guests at my house, I do not jump or play on the couch, I literally sit and watch tv on it. There is no reason for the couch to have come apart the way it did and when I spoke with him he said it would take "Considerable force for this to happen" but yet the fabric under the cushions are intact. If I had been throwing myself onto the couch or jumping on it I'm guessing with the spring gone i would of went right through the top of it as well. Further more I had a person who know things about couches check it for me and It is not ONE spring that has come loose, it is THREE of them which Bob had overlooked. I feel like this couch is a lemon and was not constructed properly. The clamps were not placed like all the other ones with it bypassing the wood, instead based of the hole you can feel where they were they were exposed. Second, it looks on the clamp that there is a spot for a nail to be placed after the clamp is in place but there is no hole i could feel where the nail was, none floating around the bottom of the couch. So it was secured solely on the metal teeth? That does not sound like it would hold regardless of who was on the couch. Pictures of the couch http://tinypic.com/r/23w61d2/9 the loose springs http://tinypic.com/r/eqv49u/9 an intact spring with the clamp not visible http://tinypic.com/r/2u7spwz/9 intact fabric underneath the cushions http://tinypic.com/r/67i887/9 where the clamp was placed based on the teeth marks

Desired Settlement: I would like a different couch that is properly constructed. I would opt to just have it fixed but I worry that there are other construction issues with this couch and one day may collapse or something of the sort and injure someone.

Business Response: From: Fish Furniture <fishfurniture@sbcglobal.net>
Date: Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 12:42 PM
Subject: Fish Furniture response to Complaint ID 1*******, our customer ***** *****
To: *****l@cleveland.bbb.org


Dear BBB and ***** *****,

We are sorry the seat springs pulled away from the clips and frame underneath your sofa

The formal warranty for repair labor is one year, and your sofa was delivered in August 2014

The labor from the independent sofa repairman is $ 100.00

We offered to pay half for you and you were uncomfortable with that

So to show our goodwill to you we are paying 100% of the repair costs out of our own pocket

You understand that if your sofa requires future repairs which are out of warranty then you will have to pay for the requested work if needed

Thanks again for being a valued Fish Furniture customer

Dan G***** – owner of Fish Furniture

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Flex-Steel love seat has a failed head rest after only one and a half years of owning the unit. The love seat is made out of leather and cost over $1500 to purchase. After extremely light use, the headrest area appears to have the leather almost completely wiped off and has turned a reddish color. I explained this to the sales representative at Fish Furniture and was told that because it is out of warranty, the store will not back up the love seat and it's not their problem. I asked if they would repair it rather than replace the love seat and again was told that it was not their problem. I was told that this love seat sold by Fish Furniture is not compatible with people since the chemicals that are naturally occurring in people will destroy the leather, which is why the head rest went bad. I'm confused at this as the reason I bought this love seat is to have people sit on it. If the love seat is not compatible with people, I would not have bough it. I now feel that I've been lied to in order for me to buy a love seat that I cannot use.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the love seat head rest repaired. I was told that the love seats are not compatible with the natural chemicals that come from humans.

Business Response:

I am sorry you are having the problem with the Flexsteel loveseat.  We forwarded the pictures to the manufacturer and I carefully studied them as well from the photos you sent us.

What is causing the change or discoloration of color in the leather exactly where someone's head or hair comes in contact with the left side headrest is some type of reaction to a hair care product or hair oil or chemical from a hair product.

I called and left you a message on both Friday 1-09 and Mon 1-12 to discuss this.  The first goal is to try to figure out what is causing this to prevent it from getting worse in the future.  I will be happy to discuss this with you and guide if you would like to call me anytime at (440) 461-1050.

Our entire industry and every sofa manufacturer takes the position they cannot control what comes in contact with a headrest from a hair care product or chemical reaction.

Whether this happened three weeks after delivery or three months after delivery or a year and a half after delivery, there simply is not a manufacturer warranty for cloth or leather regarding this discoloration.

I do value your business and want to try to help you to show our good will for your business.

There is an excellent independent 40 year veteran leather repair man named **** *****.  He is out of Barberton and comes to Cleveland once every few weeks.  In my past 30 years of being in the industry, he is the best leather man out there.

All the premium furniture stores and car dealerships use him for leather repair.  There is no one better than him in the state of Ohio.

I did forward the pictures you sent us to him and then called him to discuss them.  He did agree it was some chemical reaction to a hair care product or hair oil.

He thinks he can heat the leather up to draw the oil and chemicals out and then re-dye the leather to make it look better.  He verbally estimated on the phone a charge of $150 to $200 if he is just working on the one area on the left side facing of the loveseat headrest.

The process is quite time consuming and there would be additional charges if there is more than one area to work on.

**** ***** can be reached at work ***** ******** or cell ***** ********.

In this scenario, if you would like to try him out, you would call him and make an appointment with him to come to your house to work on your loveseat.

You would be responsible for paying him whatever his charges are.  To go over and above for you and show you we value your goodwill, I would be willing to re-imburse you for half of the cost that you pay him after the work is done.  I would mail a check to you when you send me a copy of his invoice.

**** ***** is not an employee of Fish Furniture.  He is an independent leather repair man.  While I have no control over how the repair will look when it is done, I am confident from our past dealings with him that it will be a great improvement based on his unique skill set for working with leather.

As I referenced above, please call me if you would like to discuss this further or call **** ***** to schedule a repair appointment.

Thank you for being a past Fish furniture customer.

Sincerely,

****** ** ****** - owner of Fish Furniture

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *******


7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an electronic lifting recliner 11/2012. The mechanism that opens and closes the leg lift bent in the first month of use. The company took a month to return my calls and finally replaced the chair. Upon replacing the chair, the owner stated that I am to sit softly in the chair and that I may be too heavy for it. I am 310 pounds and did not know until that conversation that there is a 350 lb weight limit. He was rude and illuded to my weight being a problem even though I was under the limit. I had asked if I can just get my $1100 back and was told no. The salesman never told me of the durability of this recliner. He stated it is the biggest and the best they offer ( hence the $1100 price tag).The replacment recliner has the same issues as the first one. The base is not very supportive and just sitting on the ground with thin metal arms and the mechanism is bent on one side. The recliner is inoperable to open and close and I dont think that a $1100 dollar big electric operated recliner should fail the same way only after 12 months use. I dont want to call Fish Furniture and have to be ridiculed for my husky stature. I want a full refund since either chair is capable of operating or supporting a person that is 40 lbs under the later stated limits.

Desired Settlement: I already had a replacment and that recliner did the same. I want a refund so I can purchase a chair elsewhere.

Business Response:

This is Dan Geller - the owner of Fish Furniture.  I left our customer *** ***** a message 0n 6-26 and 6-27 and 6-28 in immediate response to your forwarding of his comments to me on 6-26.  We had not heard from him in the past 1.5 years.  He just phoned me back a few minutes ago.

We exchanged the chair for a brand new one after the mechanism got bent a year and a half ago.

I just spoke to *** ***** today, 6-27-2014 and explained to him the Flexsteel warranty and what is covered and what is not covered.

We came to a meeting of the minds and are ordering a new mechanism for him to fix his recliner.

The labor is not covered by the warranty, but we will graciously cover 2/3 of the labor and *** agreed to pay $50 for his small portion when we exchange the mechanism.

This matter will then be closed and resolved to both parties satisfaction.

*** told him he would write in to the BBB revising his comments accordingly to what we worked out.

As always, thank you for the BBB's professionalism in helping to resolve and facilitate customer concerns.

We value our AAA+ rating and will always strive to help our customers any way we can.

Dan Geller - owner of Fish Furniture

 

Consumer Response: Dan Geller and I have reached an agreement that I am satisfied with.

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a space-saver recliner chair from Fish Furniture at their north olmsted location for $554.91 on October 16, 2012. It was supposed to be a bright lemon yellow color called "sunshine". It was delivered about 5 to 6 weeks later. Within a very short time the color started to change and became very pale to almost white in some areas. It is not exposed to sunlight. The warranty states that it covers "defects in materials" which we believe this to be. We contacted the store and they sent someone named B** to check the chair a couple weeks later. B** said the warranty doesn't cover fading. We were told they would contact the manufacturer (Best) and get back to us. I called and spoke to the store manager, R**, and he said they would get back to us. After almost 3 weeks I called again and was told "Sorry, the warranty doesn't cover fading." They said we are just out of luck. The warranty did not state it did not cover fading and we feel that not only is it a defect in materials but that there is an implied warranty of merchantability as fading was not expressly disclaimed by name. The chair should reasonably conform to an ordinary buyer's expectations and no one expects a chair to be ruined by fading within a few months of purchase. We have purchased furniture from Fish several times before but will never buy from them again if they do not refund our money and take this chair back. This is not their usual quality and they should stand behind what they sell.

Desired Settlement: We would like the $554.91 returned and the chair picked up and taken back to their store.

Business Response:

 

Dear BBB:

We are sorry our customer ******* ******* is unhappy with the yellow fabric on her recliner and how it is sunfading.

The recliner was delivered to her on November 12th, 2012.  Her first phone call to us was almost six months later on May 3rd, 2013.

Unfortunately, no manufacturer in our industry is able to warranty fabrics against sunfading.

To go over and above to help our customer, I did offer her a re-selection of her recliner in a different fabric where we are covering the majority of the cost and she is participating in a small manner.

She mutually agreed to this and will be coming in to our store to re-select.

We are now considering this case closed and mutually solved.

Dan Geller - owner of Fish Furniture.

 

Consumer Response:

*******,
Yes, sorry, totally my fault.  Forgot that I was on other computer when I filed.  Although I disagree with the term SUNfading in Mr. Geller's response since the chair gets no sun, we have resolved the issue to both our satisfaction.

I assume my complaint will be removed.

Thank you for your time and sorry about the mix-up with the emails.

******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

13 Customer Reviews on Fish Furniture
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart