BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Fish Furniture

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 461-1050 Fax: (440) 461-7586 1443 SOM Center Rd., Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 http://www.fishfurniture.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fish Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fish Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Fish Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1931 Business started: 01/01/1925 in OH Business incorporated: 10/09/1925 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel E. Geller, Owner, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel E. Geller, Owner, Human Resources
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Home Theater Mattresses Beds - Retail Clocks - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Fish Furniture Shop, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1443 SOM Center Rd.

    Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 (440) 461-1050

  • 23770 Lorain Rd.

    North Olmsted, OH 44070 (440) 779-7700

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an electronic lifting recliner 11/2012. The mechanism that opens and closes the leg lift bent in the first month of use. The company took a month to return my calls and finally replaced the chair. Upon replacing the chair, the owner stated that I am to sit softly in the chair and that I may be too heavy for it. I am 310 pounds and did not know until that conversation that there is a 350 lb weight limit. He was rude and illuded to my weight being a problem even though I was under the limit. I had asked if I can just get my $1100 back and was told no. The salesman never told me of the durability of this recliner. He stated it is the biggest and the best they offer ( hence the $1100 price tag).The replacment recliner has the same issues as the first one. The base is not very supportive and just sitting on the ground with thin metal arms and the mechanism is bent on one side. The recliner is inoperable to open and close and I dont think that a $1100 dollar big electric operated recliner should fail the same way only after 12 months use. I dont want to call Fish Furniture and have to be ridiculed for my husky stature. I want a full refund since either chair is capable of operating or supporting a person that is 40 lbs under the later stated limits.

Desired Settlement: I already had a replacment and that recliner did the same. I want a refund so I can purchase a chair elsewhere.

Business Response:

This is Dan Geller - the owner of Fish Furniture.  I left our customer *** ***** a message 0n 6-26 and 6-27 and 6-28 in immediate response to your forwarding of his comments to me on 6-26.  We had not heard from him in the past 1.5 years.  He just phoned me back a few minutes ago.

We exchanged the chair for a brand new one after the mechanism got bent a year and a half ago.

I just spoke to *** ***** today, 6-27-2014 and explained to him the Flexsteel warranty and what is covered and what is not covered.

We came to a meeting of the minds and are ordering a new mechanism for him to fix his recliner.

The labor is not covered by the warranty, but we will graciously cover 2/3 of the labor and *** agreed to pay $50 for his small portion when we exchange the mechanism.

This matter will then be closed and resolved to both parties satisfaction.

*** told him he would write in to the BBB revising his comments accordingly to what we worked out.

As always, thank you for the BBB's professionalism in helping to resolve and facilitate customer concerns.

We value our AAA+ rating and will always strive to help our customers any way we can.

Dan Geller - owner of Fish Furniture

 

Consumer Response: Dan Geller and I have reached an agreement that I am satisfied with.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a space-saver recliner chair from Fish Furniture at their north olmsted location for $554.91 on October 16, 2012. It was supposed to be a bright lemon yellow color called "sunshine". It was delivered about 5 to 6 weeks later. Within a very short time the color started to change and became very pale to almost white in some areas. It is not exposed to sunlight. The warranty states that it covers "defects in materials" which we believe this to be. We contacted the store and they sent someone named B** to check the chair a couple weeks later. B** said the warranty doesn't cover fading. We were told they would contact the manufacturer (Best) and get back to us. I called and spoke to the store manager, R**, and he said they would get back to us. After almost 3 weeks I called again and was told "Sorry, the warranty doesn't cover fading." They said we are just out of luck. The warranty did not state it did not cover fading and we feel that not only is it a defect in materials but that there is an implied warranty of merchantability as fading was not expressly disclaimed by name. The chair should reasonably conform to an ordinary buyer's expectations and no one expects a chair to be ruined by fading within a few months of purchase. We have purchased furniture from Fish several times before but will never buy from them again if they do not refund our money and take this chair back. This is not their usual quality and they should stand behind what they sell.

Desired Settlement: We would like the $554.91 returned and the chair picked up and taken back to their store.

Business Response:

 

Dear BBB:

We are sorry our customer ******* ******* is unhappy with the yellow fabric on her recliner and how it is sunfading.

The recliner was delivered to her on November 12th, 2012.  Her first phone call to us was almost six months later on May 3rd, 2013.

Unfortunately, no manufacturer in our industry is able to warranty fabrics against sunfading.

To go over and above to help our customer, I did offer her a re-selection of her recliner in a different fabric where we are covering the majority of the cost and she is participating in a small manner.

She mutually agreed to this and will be coming in to our store to re-select.

We are now considering this case closed and mutually solved.

Dan Geller - owner of Fish Furniture.

 

Consumer Response:

*******,
Yes, sorry, totally my fault.  Forgot that I was on other computer when I filed.  Although I disagree with the term SUNfading in Mr. Geller's response since the chair gets no sun, we have resolved the issue to both our satisfaction.

I assume my complaint will be removed.

Thank you for your time and sorry about the mix-up with the emails.

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1