BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Basista Furniture, Inc.

Phone: (216) 398-5900 Fax: (216) 398-5280 View Additional Phone Numbers 5295 State Rd, Parma, OH 44134 http://www.basista.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm sells furniture at its showroom and through the Internet.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Basista Furniture, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Basista Furniture, Inc. include:

  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Basista Furniture, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Basista Furniture, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1939 Business started: 10/10/1920 Business incorporated: 07/28/1976 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stanley Basista, President Mr. Tom Basista, Vice President Mr. Jerry Davis, Sales Manager Ms. Sue Ferguson, Office Manager Ms. Debbie Harrison, Accounts Payable
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stanley Basista, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sue Ferguson, Office Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Internet Shopping Bedding Computers - Furniture Furniture - Childrens


Additional Locations

  • 5295 State Rd

    Parma, OH 44134 (216) 398-5900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 635-1200(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being relocated for my job and wanted to get new furinture before I left because it was cheaper to purchase in Ohio. I went into Basista after going to another furinture store and they beat all of their prices. I was trilled but that did not last long.I was concerned when purchasing the furniture because they didnt have what I was ordering in stock. They assured me MULTIPLE times that they would have it in by the time I moved. As time went on I kept calling the store to see when everything would arrive. They confirmed each time that I would have my furniture before I left. TWO days before I was supposed to move they informed me the furniture would not be in and there was nothing they would do for me. They would not ship the furniture to my new home and told me to have my company do it (they are already paying for the first move I was not going to make them pay for Basista's mistake). Stan the owner was rude, condescending, and told me it wasn't their mistake, even though HIS employees promised I would have my furiture. Now I am moving without my furniture. I wish I would have stuck with the first furniture store. They are a poorly ran organization and I will never shop there again.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked them to ship me my furniture to my new location.

Business Response:

***** ***** came into our store on August 11th, 2013.  At that time we checked stock at the factory for various items she wanted to order.  On August 11th, they were in stock at the factory.  She did not place her order for the furniture until 2 days later on August 13th, 2013.  She received delivery on all items except 3 tables on August 31, 2013.  We told her the 3 tables would be shipping on September 6th, and we would receive them a few days thereafter.  We have no control over the factory stock.  She also never told us an exact date when she was going to move at time of purchase.  She finally told us a moving date on September 3, 2013 that she would be moving on September 6th.   We did let her know immediately on September 3rd that we would not be getting her tables before her move date.  We informed her that there was a local store that had these 3 tables in stock that she could purchase them from.   We also told her that we could keep them on order and she could pick them up the next time they are coming back home.  Her future father in law told us that they were going to purchase them from the other local store.  We have since given her a full refund for the 3 tables she did not receive. 

 

Basista Furniture, Inc.

 

Stan Basista, President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new white four piece Vaughan Bassett bedroom set from Basista Furniture which was delivered on May 28th, 2013. Three of the four pieces had problems. The top center dresser drawer was not fully functional and scratched the opening in which it is supposed to fit. There was a paint chip on top of the chest and the top drawer of the nightstand was not aligned. A repairman atempted to fix these problems only to make them worse. He spray painted 30% of the chest top which no longer has the original finish and is highly noticable. He put a plastic leveler underneath the dresser and re-aligned the center drawer by twisting the frame of which he said is O.K. only to force another drawer underneath out of alignment. The "service man" had every excuse in the book as to his repairs being acceptable. I have spoken to the salesperson and the owner of Basista Furniture only to be responded to with a flippant atittude. Their solution is to order new parts for the dresser and chest. I did not purchase brand new furniture to have it pieced together and place levelers underneath it. I was also given the impression this is to be expected when not purchasing a $5,000.00 bedroom set. $1,300.00 to me is a lot of money and I purchased brand new, not used. If this bedroom set is not of the quality that it was hyped-up to be than Basista Furniture should not promote it as such. Brand new furniture should look and function as new!

Desired Settlement: Refund or exchange for brand new flawless pieces (dresser and chest) that function and look as new.

Business Response: In regards to the complaint that was filed by ***** ***** regarding his Vaughn Bassett bedroom furniture, we would like to respond with the actions we are willing to take to resolve this matter.  We ordered a replacement top for the chest and also a replacement drawer for the dresser which we felt confident would fix the problem.  These replacement parts did come in on Wednesday, July 10th and Tom Basista has called the customer 3 times to let him know but has yet to receive a return phone call.  Tom Basista would also like to go out the customers home personally to view the issues he is having with his furniture to resolve this situation.   Thank You.


Sincerely,

Basista Furniture

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Four weeks passed before Basista Furniture responded to Better Business Bureau complaint. I have already spoken with Tom Basista and his resolution was to order replacement parts for the furniture. I am not entertaining any more offers of repairs, replacements or in-home visits. Surface refinishing, a plastic peice put under a dresser leg, push pins under drawers and replacing parts on brand new furniture is unacceptable and insulting. I did not receive what I paid good money for. As I wrote in previous response, my only resolution is for Basista Furniture to take back defective bedroom set and refund purchase price in full at time of pick up. Should Basista Furniture choose otherwise a small claims hearing has been scheduled for Monday August 12th, 2013 where photos, documents, and evidence will be presented.

Thank You, ***** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 700 recliner from these people in march 2011. I bought it specifically because i was told it could handle 300 lb man. The chair is garbage it is bent the wood stand is cracked it is setting sideways. It is the most uncomfortable chai I have ever set in. I called them they were supposed to set up appointment to look at it . I went out of town and get a call that the guy is there to look at chair. when I get home they left a message on answering machine. Sorry but appointments are not made by answering machines

Desired Settlement: replace chair or refund money their choice. Next will be small claims suit.

Business Response:

Hi *******,

 

In regards to complaint #*********, we just contacted our customer and we are going to order him a replacement chair.  He is satisfied and happy with us resolving his problem of his complaint of his chair. 

 

Sincerely,

Basista Furniture

*** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved