This business is not BBB accredited.

Basista Furniture, Inc.

Phone: (216) 398-5900 Fax: (216) 398-5280 View Additional Phone Numbers 5295 State Rd, Parma, OH 44134 http://www.basista.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm sells furniture at its showroom and through the Internet.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Basista Furniture, Inc. include:

  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Basista Furniture, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Basista Furniture, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1939 Business started: 10/10/1920 Business incorporated 07/28/1976 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stanley Basista, President Mr. Tom Basista, Vice President Mr. Jerry Davis, Sales Manager Ms. Sue Ferguson, Office Manager Ms. Debbie Harrison, Accounts Payable
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stanley Basista, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sue Ferguson, Office Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Internet Shopping Bedding Computers - Furniture Furniture - Childrens


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5295 State Rd

    Parma, OH 44134 (216) 398-5900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a leather sofa, chair and ottoman in Feb. 2012, not much after we got the furniture the color started "flaking" off the sofa, after numerous complaints they came and took our sofa and "repaired" it. Well it has continued to happen in the same place that was repaired. I called them and yes they told me that the were going to try and get replacement seat covers for us but the company had gone out of business, which they told us 3 years ago when we asked for the sofa to be replaced. They then offered that we could come in and purchase something else at a discounted rate, we shouldn't have to do so in 3 years. They also sold us this "Protection Plan" that covered everything, they lied about that, which we found out when we filed a claim with them. They gave me a name of a leather repair service, but no offer to cover the expense.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to repair the flaking on my couch

Business Response:

We have spoken to our customer and she is happy with the resolution we have come to.  We are picking up her sofa and chair and having it repaired for her at no charge. Please let me know if there is anything else I need to do regarding this complaint.  Thank You. 

Sincerely,

Basista Furniture

*** ********
Office Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********


9/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being relocated for my job and wanted to get new furinture before I left because it was cheaper to purchase in Ohio. I went into Basista after going to another furinture store and they beat all of their prices. I was trilled but that did not last long.I was concerned when purchasing the furniture because they didnt have what I was ordering in stock. They assured me MULTIPLE times that they would have it in by the time I moved. As time went on I kept calling the store to see when everything would arrive. They confirmed each time that I would have my furniture before I left. TWO days before I was supposed to move they informed me the furniture would not be in and there was nothing they would do for me. They would not ship the furniture to my new home and told me to have my company do it (they are already paying for the first move I was not going to make them pay for Basista's mistake). Stan the owner was rude, condescending, and told me it wasn't their mistake, even though HIS employees promised I would have my furiture. Now I am moving without my furniture. I wish I would have stuck with the first furniture store. They are a poorly ran organization and I will never shop there again.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked them to ship me my furniture to my new location.

Business Response:

***** ***** came into our store on August 11th, 2013.  At that time we checked stock at the factory for various items she wanted to order.  On August 11th, they were in stock at the factory.  She did not place her order for the furniture until 2 days later on August 13th, 2013.  She received delivery on all items except 3 tables on August 31, 2013.  We told her the 3 tables would be shipping on September 6th, and we would receive them a few days thereafter.  We have no control over the factory stock.  She also never told us an exact date when she was going to move at time of purchase.  She finally told us a moving date on September 3, 2013 that she would be moving on September 6th.   We did let her know immediately on September 3rd that we would not be getting her tables before her move date.  We informed her that there was a local store that had these 3 tables in stock that she could purchase them from.   We also told her that we could keep them on order and she could pick them up the next time they are coming back home.  Her future father in law told us that they were going to purchase them from the other local store.  We have since given her a full refund for the 3 tables she did not receive. 

 

Basista Furniture, Inc.

 

Stan Basista, President

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new white four piece Vaughan Bassett bedroom set from Basista Furniture which was delivered on May 28th, 2013. Three of the four pieces had problems. The top center dresser drawer was not fully functional and scratched the opening in which it is supposed to fit. There was a paint chip on top of the chest and the top drawer of the nightstand was not aligned. A repairman atempted to fix these problems only to make them worse. He spray painted 30% of the chest top which no longer has the original finish and is highly noticable. He put a plastic leveler underneath the dresser and re-aligned the center drawer by twisting the frame of which he said is O.K. only to force another drawer underneath out of alignment. The "service man" had every excuse in the book as to his repairs being acceptable. I have spoken to the salesperson and the owner of Basista Furniture only to be responded to with a flippant atittude. Their solution is to order new parts for the dresser and chest. I did not purchase brand new furniture to have it pieced together and place levelers underneath it. I was also given the impression this is to be expected when not purchasing a $5,000.00 bedroom set. $1,300.00 to me is a lot of money and I purchased brand new, not used. If this bedroom set is not of the quality that it was hyped-up to be than Basista Furniture should not promote it as such. Brand new furniture should look and function as new!

Desired Settlement: Refund or exchange for brand new flawless pieces (dresser and chest) that function and look as new.

Business Response: In regards to the complaint that was filed by ***** ***** regarding his Vaughn Bassett bedroom furniture, we would like to respond with the actions we are willing to take to resolve this matter.  We ordered a replacement top for the chest and also a replacement drawer for the dresser which we felt confident would fix the problem.  These replacement parts did come in on Wednesday, July 10th and Tom Basista has called the customer 3 times to let him know but has yet to receive a return phone call.  Tom Basista would also like to go out the customers home personally to view the issues he is having with his furniture to resolve this situation.   Thank You.


Sincerely,

Basista Furniture

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Four weeks passed before Basista Furniture responded to Better Business Bureau complaint. I have already spoken with Tom Basista and his resolution was to order replacement parts for the furniture. I am not entertaining any more offers of repairs, replacements or in-home visits. Surface refinishing, a plastic peice put under a dresser leg, push pins under drawers and replacing parts on brand new furniture is unacceptable and insulting. I did not receive what I paid good money for. As I wrote in previous response, my only resolution is for Basista Furniture to take back defective bedroom set and refund purchase price in full at time of pick up. Should Basista Furniture choose otherwise a small claims hearing has been scheduled for Monday August 12th, 2013 where photos, documents, and evidence will be presented.

Thank You, ***** *****