BBB Accredited Business since

New Creation Builders

Phone: (216) 355-9999 Fax: (216) 441-1632 View Additional Phone Numbers 5309 Barkwill Ave, Cleveland, OH 44127 http://newcreationgaragebuilders.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New Creation Builders meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for New Creation Builders include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for New Creation Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on New Creation Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 2004 Business started: 11/01/2001 in OH Business incorporated 11/15/2002 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael A. Cantrell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael A. Cantrell, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Garage Builders Paving Contractors Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

New Creation Builders sells the following brand(s): Amish Built

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check and all major credit cards.

Additional Locations

  • 5309 Barkwill Ave

    Cleveland, OH 44127

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/26/15 I had new roof put on by builders. Noticed after payment was made that they had damaged the gutter screens and had left a large amount of debris in the gutters including roofing nails and sand. Also, they had loosened the nails holding gutters onto roof. Called to report damages a couple of days later and was told someone would be out to look. Nobody came. Called on 7/22, 7/29, 8/5, 8/6, 8/7 and finally someone arrived on 8/10. He did nothing and reported back to New Creation Builders owner. He said he would be back to clean out gutters and repair damages on 8/11 and never showed up.

Desired Settlement: Would like my gutters cleaned out and screens repaired or replaced.

Consumer Response:

Consumer sent the following update:

I am messaging to let you know that my complaint # ******** against New Creation Builders has been resolved to my satisfaction.  A worker showed up and cleaned out my gutters and replaced the gutter screens.  Thank you for your help.  I really appreciate all that you did.

Sincerely,
********* *****

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We added onto our existing garage and had a new driveway put in by New Creation Builders. Since then, we have had major flooding issues in the garage. We spoke to them 2 months ago about the drain they installed not draining properly, causing water to flood into the garage. They were supposed to replace the old clay pipe with new PVC when they finished the driveway, but failed to. Also, the drain pipe was not pitched properly, causing water to sit and freeze in the winter. In addition, the concrete used on the driveway is of poor quality and pitted throughout. Now, we have to break-up the new driveway to correct these problems. We have contacted them multiple times to set-up a date to discuss when this work could be done and to get an estimate for the work. However, our voice mail messages have not been returned. We would like to get this work done so that the drain will not freeze again this winter and we won't continue to have major flooding, due to storms.

Desired Settlement: We would like the old clay pipes replaced with PVC and the drain properly pitched.

Business Response:

July, 3 2015

New Creation Builders

5309 Barkwill Ave

Cleveland, OH 44127

216.254.3527

BBB

2800 Euclid Ave.

4th Floor
Cleveland OH 44115

RE: consumer complaint #********

In good faith, we have meet with Mr. ****** on see the problem trying to resolve this issue. We are not obligated to any further work for Mr. ******. Our contract did not cover the scope of work that is the focus of this complaint. All we were hired and paid to do was a garage addition, driveway, and new crock on drain. The drain worked fine and we had no complaints until now.  

In good faith, we have asked Mr. ****** to have the pipe viewed with a camera and identify the problem area and we could dig up the designated area and do the repair at a reasonable cost but Mr. ****** wants us to dig up the whole drive replace the whole clay and replace the driveway. 

We are happy to supply Mr. ****** with phone numbers to hire a camera

1.     Dave The Sewer Man-plumber (330) 819-8665

2.     All City Home Repairs (216) 970 8595

 

Thank You

Michael C*******

Cc: Certified Mail

***** ****** **** ******* *** ***** * ** *****

******* ****** ************ ******* ****** ************

******* *********************

Business Response: We in good faith, we are offering to help resolve this situation, we have never been contracted nor paid to do the scope of work being requested and we appreciate the home owner supplying the contract that proves that.

 The burden of proof on how the damage occurred to the 50 year old clay pipes 5 years later is a very unlikely.  We will not tear up the work we did five years ago to replace the sewer line. we were contracted and paid to put in a drain, the drain remains in tact and functioning and is not the cause of the leak.
At this point there is also an issue of our safety and the safety of our equipment, as the homeowner on speaker phoned in front of several of our employees threaten us. We have had several phone conversations with the home owner where he screams and threatens us and then hangs up. We find it impossible to reason with him and we request a mediator be assigned to our case.
Thank you
Michael C*******

Consumer Response:

Consumer sent the following response:

Michael C******* finally came over on Wednesday, August 5th to give us an estimate on redoing our driveway drain and pipes.  He seemed like he was angry and unhappy about having to come over.  He acted like he really did not want to do the job.  He had his own plan on how to reroute the drain and was not very open to the advice we were given by other contractors on how how to correct the problem.  He had many excuses as to why his work has created the flooding.  He said for us to "call him sometime before the winter" to hopefully be able to get the work done.  
    In the meantime, we have found another company who understands what was done wrong and is more knowledgeable about how to fix it.  This company is willing and able to get the job done sooner (even doing the pre-sawing work this morning).  We feel it is in our best interest to have this company do the job and admire their professionalism and experience. We are glad to be able to move forward so that this headache can be put behind us.  
    We thank you for all you have done to try to help us resolve our issue with New Creation Builders, but unfortunately they were unwilling to help us in the way we needed.  We still hope that others will be able to read our experience with them so that they don't have to go through what we have .

    Thanks,
    ***** and ***** ******

 

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a contract with this business to build a garage attached to the house 22.6 x 40 x 12So far they have failed the last 2 inspections for the electrical the concrete floor the electric has since been fixed. We had a meeting with the head of inspection for the building department and he told ***** and **** the owner there was no way he would pass the concrete as it holds water 2 foot x 6 foot section almost a half inch deep and an area of about 4 foot round that holds about 3/8 of an inch of water.Then there is the issue of the garage wall height being 6 inches short of 12 foot. then we have the final issue of are contract states he is putting in rafters and he changed that without my consent and put a truss roof up.when we all met with building inspector they said they would fix all of this except the trusses and they would have a company come in and have an industrial strength epoxy put on garage floor and they would raise the roof the additional 6 inches. They are refusing to do the work since we still owe them money for the job they cant get inspection to pass they want paid then they said they will finish job

Desired Settlement: I want a new concrete floor installed and the roof raised when you put in the new rafters as the contract states there is nothing in are contract that states epoxy floor or truss roof all I am asking for is you do your job because the building inspector will not pass this just make it right or refund a total of 10000. dollars so I can have this fixed to code.

Business Response: We said we would (they said they would fix all of this except the trusses and they would have a company come in and have an industrial strength epoxy put on garage floor and they would raise the roof the additional 6 inches) and we are willing to finish it to get paid we are in constant communication with the owner and we are working on a happy solution

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

******* **********

5:23 PM (15 hours ago)



I received a certified letter from new creation builders giving themselves a deadline to turn everything into the building department for approval
and there deadline was August 15 2014 and they did not do this. ***** at building department said nothing was done.
I also sent them an email and a text letting them know the garage door opener is broke and to add that to the list and 3 weeks later still have not heard from them about anything. but I have over 40,000.00 in repairs that need done

Regards,

******* **********

Business Response: The company responded via phone as follows: The company states the consumer still owes the company $5,000 and they said they have not pursued it.
The company stated they did not want the garage to over-power the house.
The consumer was home every day when they were doing the work. 
There is a puddle in the back of the garage that only gets wet when you hose it off.   
The company offered to put a new epoxy on the floor to even it out and the consumer refused.    
They can't take out the cement pad because it would affect the foundation of the home. 
The company said the city hasn't contacted them any further. 
The company said they were going to go back and raise the ceiling 4 inches if the consumer puts the $5,000 in an escrow account and the city would have to sign off on it. 
The contract says 12' but that was an estimate. They just had the area that was taped off to work with. There was no existing garage. 
The company said the consumer never specified anything about storage, he only wanted to be able to put his trailer in there. 
There is nothing in the contract about storage and they saw there were trusses and did not say anything during the construction of the structure. 

1/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable