BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Artistic Renovations of Ohio, LLC

Phone: (216) 520-0838 Fax: (216) 524-3398 479 Elm Ct., Seven Hills, OH 44131 http://www.artisticreno.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Artistic Renovations of Ohio, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Artistic Renovations of Ohio, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Artistic Renovations of Ohio, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 13, 2004 Business started: 08/03/2007 in OH Business incorporated: 08/03/2007 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Perrin, President Ms. Sue Perrin, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Perrin, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Waterproofing Contractors Mason Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors Kitchen Accessories Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Building Contractors Building Restoration & Preservation Concrete Contractors

Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • 479 Elm Ct.

    Seven Hills, OH 44131 (216) 520-0838

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not happy with the plans that *** ****** the owner of Artistic Renovations of Ohio drew up because they were hand drawn and not professionally done. He charged me $2,800.00 before he drew the plans. I was not happy, so I asked for a refund, he agreed to refund me $2,400.00 in an email that I signed and mailed back to him. This was back in December2012. Since I didn't receive the refund, I called and emailed him several times with him giving me excuses that he's been working too hard, on two separate times telling me his father died once in january and once in June. Every time I contacted him he would tell me that he is sending the check that day, I still haven't received a check. It is August 7, 2013 and I can see that he has no intentions on honoring his agreement.

Desired Settlement: As per *** ******'s agreement, I would like to receive my refund of $ 2,400.00

Business Response: Company's response copied as follows:

Dear Sirs/Madam,


Please note that Artistic Renovations will be sending a certified check for $2400.00 to Mr. ***** this week.
I am sorry for the delay in getting this response to the Better Business Bureau. I will be sure that I respond in a more timely manner in the future if a situation arises.
** *** **** * **** **** *** ** **** *** ***** ** ** ****** *** ** ******** *** ** ****** *** **** *** **** **** *** ****** *******
If you should have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Artistic Renovations of Ohio

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe

7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2004, we contracted with Artistic Renovations regarding a complete remodeling of my house. The first stage of the process was stipulated to be the excavation of the front of the house to fix the drainage system and to waterproof the basement wall, which had leaked, during heavy rains, for years. The first was the excavation and waterproofing work was done and we were charged about $10,000 for this work. Because of the extent of the whole project, we were unable to live in the house at the time, so that it was not possible to supervise every step of the process.When (1.5 years later) when the whole project was done and we moved back in, the front wall leaked just as much as ever. We contacted *** and his company multiple times just to get him to come and look at things. Then he had his crew make some minor efforts, which did not work. We were then left with the dry wall pulled off and a block wall that leaked.We checked with the Middleburg Heights building inspector for advise and were told that the excavation, drain and waterproofing work had never been inspected. When the inspector had been called to check on another part of the project, the trench in front of the house had already been filled in.Getting no relief from Artistic Renovation, we contacted another contractor who excavated the front of the house again to find that:the drain pipe had been installed upside down;the amount of gravel used to back fill was inadequate, and, most important;that a piece of rebar, projection from the front steps, poured by ***'s people, was poking through a large hole in one of the blocks of the wall. This contractor fixed the leak, did what he could with the upside down drain pipe, had his work inspected, filled the trench back properly, charged us $900 and the leak was finally fixed.For years since, we have asked *** just to reimburse us the $900. He refused to do so.Please help.

Desired Settlement: A $900 valid check from Artistic Renovation and repair of a brick which they broke during their work, promised to fix, but never did.

Business Response: Artistic Renovations LLC
479 Elm Court
Seven Hills, Ohio 44131

March 28, 2012

Better Business Bureau, Inc
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2408

Re: *** ****** *** **** *********** *** ********
****** **** ********** ******** **** *****

Dear Sirs/Madam,

In 2004, we were contracted to complete an entire house renovation for *** ****** *** **** ******.
We enjoyed working with The ****** on their home project and The ****** were
completely satisfied with their home renovation project. In May 2007, to show their
appreciation The ****** hosted a party for everyone who played a part in the renovation. (see
attached invitation)
Artistic Renovations was contracted by The ****** to repair the block wall due to old
waterproofing and drain tile that were failing. Once the drain tile were replaced they were
tested by observing the clean outs — see pictures. All drain tiles were flowing properly. They
also were tested with dye. At no time after the repair was water coming into the basement,
until the concrete work was done by the neighbor.
Artistic’s scope of work was to build a front porch stoop as part of the whole house renovation.
The neighbor, a concrete contractor did all the concrete work, the stoop pad and the walkway.
Dr. ****** states in his complaint that the rebar rod was from Artistic Renovations work, that
Artistic Renovations poured the concrete, which is untrue we did not pour the concrete stoop.
Artistic Renovations was noti?ed that there was a problem with water in their basement that
was focused in the area by the front stoop. We sent over **** ******, of ****** St Company
Inc. our excavator and water proofer, and one of our staff to investigate the problem. ****
****** tested and ran water through the drain spout and the drain tile system, and found that
the water was running through all drains and there was no blockage. While the test was being
conducted there was never any water in?ltration into the basement. We agree that there was
a problem in the same area, under the front porch stoop, but could not understand where the
water was coming from. The water always came in during a hard rain that hit the stoop and
would find its way in through the hole made by the rod from the concrete.
The following is the complaint by Dr. ****** and supporting photos of the work performed by
Artistic Renovations.
Photo #1, 2 - Dr ****** states "Amount of gravel Inadequate - Our mason for 20 years
completed the job. Photo shows Artistic Renovations installed grave? 18-24 inches to grade — as
per code
Photo #3 , 4 - Dr. ****** claims "that the drain tiles were installed upside down."
if the drain tiles were installed incorrectly you would see the holes on top, the photos do not
show any holes on the top. Drain tiles were -correctly installed by Artistic Renovations.
Photo #5 - Dr. ****** states "most important; that a piece of rehar projection from the front
steps, poured by Ken's people was poking through a large hole in one of the block walls."
This photo shows the front stoop how it was finished before Dr. ****** concrete contractor
supplied the front slab and concrete sidewalks. There is no rebar poking out. Artistic
Renovations did not supply any concrete work to the stoop, driveway or walkways. Rebar is
used in concrete work and is not used in masonry brick work.
Dr. ****** then contacted the neighbor who dug up the area with our foreman **** on site to
observe the repair. While **** was there the neighbor never claimed it was a problem caused
by Artistic Renovations. They both talked about the problem being the rebar and that the rebar
was not installed by Artistic Renovations. Shortly after the repair, Artistic Renovations received
a letter from The ****** and enclosed a $900.00 bill and requested that they would like us to
reimburse them for what they had to pay the neighbor for the repairs. Artistic Renovations
went above and beyond for Dr. ****** and repaired the interior basement drywall and painted
the affected areas, even though it was not damaged as a result of any work performed by
Artistic Renovations. Artistic Renovations believes the damage was caused by the neighbor and
told The ****** we will not reimburse them the $900, this should be a dispute between The
****** and the next door neighbor. Unfortunately the neighbor is taking advantage of The
****** kind nature and trying to get Artistic Renovations to pay him to do his repair. This
contractor was very upset with Artistic Renovations when we received the contract to work at
the ******, he was very upset and let us know that he was supposed to do the entire job. After
speaking with the ****** we decided to let The ****** hire him for just the exterior concrete
work to be nice and not have the two neighbors in a riff.
if **** left a brick that was cracked on the back of the house we would more than happy to
have him stop out and repair the crack.

Sincerely,

Artistic Renovations, LLC
******* ** ******
President



Consumer Response: Dear ***** *******

It would take a lot of work to copy and send you all the receipts, etc.  I do not think that they would settle anything.  The crux of the matter is that the building inspector states that he was never called to inspect the initial excavation and water proofing.  The pictures which Artistic Renovations sent to not show the particular spot along the wall where the problem was.  The only witnesses we have are the persons who did the original work and those who fixed the problems.  Since they are different contractors, they are pointing fingers at each other. 

I believe that our house was the first, or one of the first, projects of its size that *** undertook and, at least at that time, ***'s strong point was not keeping the project organized and on schedule and keeping all his subs up to his own high standards.   There was electrical work which, when the building inspector came, had to be redone.  The broken brick, although it seems small, is something which *** has promised countless times to have fixed but has never gotten around to.  This is an example of the lack of follow through which often has characterized ***'s work for us.

On the other hand, ***** and his brother, who did all the outside concrete work, did an excellent job.  The concrete which they poured is solid!  The concrete floor inside the garage, poured by one of ***'s subs, has developed hollow spots under it, indicating substandard back fill before it was poured. 

So *** said his crew had waterproofed the front of my house and charged me $10,000.  It still leaked.  ***** FIXED the leak once and for all, and charged me $1,000.  

I do not believe that I can ever produce enough evidence to convince you that ***'s work was flawed, but I will always remain convinced.  You will have to leave this complaint filed as unresolved. 


****** ******

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44131

Re: ****** ****** ********


Dear Sirs/Madam,

Enclosed you will find the documents you requested:

1. Proof of permit number B 20042115 dated 6/4/2004
2. Contract dated 5/01/04
3. Warranty - see contract page 3 of 5

In addition I have enclosed the following building inspection from the City of Middleburg Heights:

1. Foundation and anchor bolts approval 7-9-04
2. Garage drain to storm approval 7-9-04
3. Pre pour for the footers for addition and front stoop REBAR IS IN PLACE 6-30-04 - note that the concrete being poured was for the addition footers - the neighbor did the concrete slab to the porch - Artistic Renovations rebar for the brick work on the front stoop was approved and was not poking any holes in the foundation - the rebar that was poking the hole in the foundation was the neighbors rebar.
4. Pre pour garage approved 9-3-04 (note the pre pour means the gravel fill is in place and all steel in place - that the job is ready to pour).

We have documented the entire project by photographs so you can see the scope and quality that went into this home. Two photos are included showing the finish area where the leak was and one of the prior photos showed the waterproofing in that area.  The second photo shows the gutter and downspouts overflowing down the wall of the same affected area.  I have the utmost respect for *** ****** *** **** *****, but I do not feel I should take money out of my family's budget to pay for substandard work that his "neighbor" performed.  I feel they have been duped by this contractor and they feel we are to blame but have nothing to show that we did anything wrong.  I would like to see the other contractor's contract and warrantee for the work performed.  We ran air tests and water dye tests in the drain tile and downspouts. At each test - no water come into the basement (the water is dyed so we can trace it) all water drained as designed to flow away from the home.  The water leak was coming from the stoop and getting in the hole that the other contractor, I would hope inadvertently, put in the existing foundation.

There have been no facts presented to even elevate this to the level of a complaint. Out legal council wants to protect Artistic Renovations reputation from the baseless accusations; I would rather not proceed with this action but may have no other recourse.

Sincerely,

Artistic Renovations

******* ******
President

Consumer Response:

re: #*******

Dear***** *******

Thank you for the extensive correspondence which you sent on 6/29/2012.  At this point, I see that there are various sides to this matter, and that there is no practical way to prove conclusively why the waterproofing of the fron of my house failed, so I do not believe that this dispute can be resolved.  I will therefore not pursue it any further.

Thank you for your help. I bear no ill will toward the people at Artistic Renovations, but had the responded fully to my original complaint of the continued leak, I am sure that there would have been no dispute to resolve.

Sincerely,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1