BBB Accredited Business since

Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc.

Phone: (216) 921-6300 Fax: (216) 921-6226 View Additional Phone Numbers 4568 Mayfield Rd Ste 112, Cleveland, OH 44121


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1953 Business started: 01/01/1953 in OH Business incorporated 04/18/1986 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Shon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Shon, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Waterproofing Contractors Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Paving Contractors Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
Abby Construction Co.
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • 4568 Mayfield Rd Ste 112

    Cleveland, OH 44121

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a complete Roof Tear off and replacement in 2002. The Roof has been leaking for awhile according to another roofing company that I called once I noticed issues that appeared to be roof related. Called Abby Construction, they finally sent a tech out to check out the situation, he also stated there were some labor related issues that wasn't done at the time of installing the roof. The roof, doesn't have ice guards, tar paper for protection, missing wood and etc. If you get a new roof replaced, I would assume all the Roofing Standards would be met. So consequently the Abby Construction roofing team made a lot of short cuts. Very disappointed with the results, now 12 years later I need to replace my roof. I Abby Construction roofing work is sub-standard, they did a bad job and now isn't standing back their work. Very unhappy

Desired Settlement: Come back out and handle the sub-standard work done,by the Contractors they hired.

Business Response: Business responded to complaint.  See attached.

Business response also copied and pasted below by BBB staff 1/31/14.
 
Phone: (216) 921-6300
Fax: 216 921-6226 
 
ABBY & ASSOCIATES
General Remodeling Contractors  i 20:4
 
ABBY CONSTRUCTION COMPANY 
4568  MAYFIELD ROAD. SUITE 112
SOUTH EUCLID, OHIO 44121
 
BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC.
2800 EUCLID AVENUE, 4th FLOOR
CLEVELAND, OH 44115-2408
 
ATT: ******* ******
 
Dear ******* ******,
 
ENCLOSED IS A COPY OF ABBY CONSTRUCTION'S RESPONSE TO *****
******, 11/19/13.
 
THE BIGGEST PROBLEM IS THE "MOSS GROWTH" - THAT NO WARRANTY
WILL EVER COVER.
 
THIS JOB WAS COMPLETED IN 2002 AND OUR WARRANTY EXPIRED IN
2003.
****** ****, President
ABBY & ASSOCIATES CONSTRUCTION CO., INC.
 
P.2
 
PHONE: (216) 921-6300
Fax: (216) 921-6226 
ABBY & ASSOCIATES
General Remodeling Contractors'
 
ABBY CONSTRUCTION
4568 MAYFIELD ROAD, SUITE 112
SOUTH EUCLID, OH 44121
 
November 19, 2013
Ms. ***** ****** 
1228 East 123rd St.
Cleveland, OH 44108
 
Dear Ms. ******,
 
ABBY CONSTRUCTION has a Written (1) year contract warranty. The
roof was done in July 2002, 11 years ago..(over 4000 days have
passed by). 
 
Moss growing and rotted pieces of wood are "NOT" UNDER WARRANTY DUE
to environmental factors and your warranty lapsed 10 years ago.
 
I know your roof needs attention, however, after ll years it is
not free! 
 
Our average roof tune-up costs between $500 — $1000.
 
After talking to you last week, you indicated you want the tune—up
and will not pay anything. That is "NOT" GOING TO HAPPEN!
 
If you do want us out for tune-up it would have to be paid in
FULL prior to scheduling.
 
Sincerely 
***** ****, 
President
 

Consumer Response: Consumer responded to complaint.  See attached.

 
Consumer response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 2/13/14.
 
Better Business Bureau
******* ******
February 13,2014
Thank you for responding to my inquiry # 9895954. 
 I would like to submit a rebuttal and attach a copy of the cash contract and the change order given to me by Abby Construction June 25, 2002.  I don’t  want  free service by Abby Construction.  I had notice things with parts of porch awhile back but I didn’t know what was wrong.   I was told my another Roofing Company that the work wasn’t done correctly and there was some issues.  Actually the Technical that was sent by Mr. Shon said he also saw a lot of errors in the roof and was surprised that I haven’t notice earlier. 
I tried repeately to get Abby Construction to come out for inspection before the change in weather.  The winter came upon us before I could actually get another inspection.
I would like to submit a correction to my first letter, Mr. Shon  revised my original contact, because  he said, I had grossly rotted wood in the process of during the job, so naturally.   I had no choice but to agree with giving  more money, the  roof was torn off at the point.  Mr. Shon told me that the cost would cost be an additional $1000.00 so in total I was charged $6500 to install supposedely an new roof and repair to the back garages.  
Another  Roofer informed me that my current roof  install by Abby Constructions, didn’t have and ice guards, vapor barriers, or flashing. I have one layer of this sheeting flet paper that I’m enclosing;  In addition to the  shingles.
I would like to know if a permit was  pulled  when my roof was installed? Is there a code of ethic and Industry standard for installing New roofing?  
I stongly feel, I was taken advantage of my being a single woman and a inter City residence.  
I want  to know why Abby Construction would   istalled a Roof without proper Flashing, ice guards. The contract denote that all these things would be inclucled  June 25, 2002.  If the Roof was install correctly Abbey Construction should be able to prove the fact.    There is no way I have any roofing problems, with a 11 year old roof.
I will be calling a Professional Roof Service for a second opinion asap, and will forward a copy to your attention.
 
Thank you, 
***** ******
***********.
Thank you in advance,
***** ******
*****************
*****************
 

Business Response: Business responded to rejection.  See attached.

 
Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 2/25/14.
 
Phone: (216) 921-6300
Fax: (216) 921-6226
ABBY & ASSOCIATES 
General Remodeling Contractors
 
ABBY CONSTRUCTION COMPANY
4566 MAYFIELD ROAD. SUITE 112
SOUTH EUCLID, OHIO 44121 
 
February 20, 2011
 
Better Business Bureau, Inc.
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2608
 
ATT: ******* ******
Trade Assistant / FAX (216) 861-6365 
 
Dear ******* ******,
 
I am responding to******* ****** again for the FINAL TIME! 
 
12 years ego a roof was installed. ABBY CONSTRUCTION has a
1 year warranty. 
 
Outside environmental factors have occured in 12 years, such
as ice and moss growth on the roof.
 
I already suggested the solution is to have a Roof Tune-up.
 
ABBY‘S contracted warranty lapsed 10 1/2 years ago and thus all
legal obligations have terminated! 
 
Sincerely,  
****** ****, President
 

1/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)