BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc.

Phone: (216) 921-6300 Fax: (216) 921-6226 View Additional Phone Numbers 4568 Mayfield Rd Ste 112, Cleveland, OH 44121

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc. include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Abby & Associates Construction Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1953 Business started: 01/01/1953 in 0 Business incorporated: 04/18/1986 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Shon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Shon, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Waterproofing Contractors Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Paving Contractors Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
Abby Construction Co.
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • 4568 Mayfield Rd Ste 112

    Cleveland, OH 44121

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 921-6303(Phone)
  • (216) 921-6305(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a complete Roof Tear off and replacement in 2002. The Roof has been leaking for awhile according to another roofing company that I called once I noticed issues that appeared to be roof related. Called Abby Construction, they finally sent a tech out to check out the situation, he also stated there were some labor related issues that wasn't done at the time of installing the roof. The roof, doesn't have ice guards, tar paper for protection, missing wood and etc. If you get a new roof replaced, I would assume all the Roofing Standards would be met. So consequently the Abby Construction roofing team made a lot of short cuts. Very disappointed with the results, now 12 years later I need to replace my roof. I Abby Construction roofing work is sub-standard, they did a bad job and now isn't standing back their work. Very unhappy

Desired Settlement: Come back out and handle the sub-standard work done,by the Contractors they hired.

Business Response: Business responded to complaint.  See attached.

Business response also copied and pasted below by BBB staff 1/31/14.
 
Phone: (216) 921-6300
Fax: 216 921-6226 
 
ABBY & ASSOCIATES
General Remodeling Contractors  i 20:4
 
ABBY CONSTRUCTION COMPANY 
4568  MAYFIELD ROAD. SUITE 112
SOUTH EUCLID, OHIO 44121
 
BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC.
2800 EUCLID AVENUE, 4th FLOOR
CLEVELAND, OH 44115-2408
 
ATT: ******* ******
 
Dear ******* ******,
 
ENCLOSED IS A COPY OF ABBY CONSTRUCTION'S RESPONSE TO *****
******, 11/19/13.
 
THE BIGGEST PROBLEM IS THE "MOSS GROWTH" - THAT NO WARRANTY
WILL EVER COVER.
 
THIS JOB WAS COMPLETED IN 2002 AND OUR WARRANTY EXPIRED IN
2003.
****** ****, President
ABBY & ASSOCIATES CONSTRUCTION CO., INC.
 
P.2
 
PHONE: (216) 921-6300
Fax: (216) 921-6226 
ABBY & ASSOCIATES
General Remodeling Contractors'
 
ABBY CONSTRUCTION
4568 MAYFIELD ROAD, SUITE 112
SOUTH EUCLID, OH 44121
 
November 19, 2013
Ms. ***** ****** 
1228 East 123rd St.
Cleveland, OH 44108
 
Dear Ms. ******,
 
ABBY CONSTRUCTION has a Written (1) year contract warranty. The
roof was done in July 2002, 11 years ago..(over 4000 days have
passed by). 
 
Moss growing and rotted pieces of wood are "NOT" UNDER WARRANTY DUE
to environmental factors and your warranty lapsed 10 years ago.
 
I know your roof needs attention, however, after ll years it is
not free! 
 
Our average roof tune-up costs between $500 — $1000.
 
After talking to you last week, you indicated you want the tune—up
and will not pay anything. That is "NOT" GOING TO HAPPEN!
 
If you do want us out for tune-up it would have to be paid in
FULL prior to scheduling.
 
Sincerely 
***** ****, 
President
 

Consumer Response: Consumer responded to complaint.  See attached.

 
Consumer response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 2/13/14.
 
Better Business Bureau
******* ******
February 13,2014
Thank you for responding to my inquiry # 9895954. 
 I would like to submit a rebuttal and attach a copy of the cash contract and the change order given to me by Abby Construction June 25, 2002.  I don’t  want  free service by Abby Construction.  I had notice things with parts of porch awhile back but I didn’t know what was wrong.   I was told my another Roofing Company that the work wasn’t done correctly and there was some issues.  Actually the Technical that was sent by Mr. Shon said he also saw a lot of errors in the roof and was surprised that I haven’t notice earlier. 
I tried repeately to get Abby Construction to come out for inspection before the change in weather.  The winter came upon us before I could actually get another inspection.
I would like to submit a correction to my first letter, Mr. Shon  revised my original contact, because  he said, I had grossly rotted wood in the process of during the job, so naturally.   I had no choice but to agree with giving  more money, the  roof was torn off at the point.  Mr. Shon told me that the cost would cost be an additional $1000.00 so in total I was charged $6500 to install supposedely an new roof and repair to the back garages.  
Another  Roofer informed me that my current roof  install by Abby Constructions, didn’t have and ice guards, vapor barriers, or flashing. I have one layer of this sheeting flet paper that I’m enclosing;  In addition to the  shingles.
I would like to know if a permit was  pulled  when my roof was installed? Is there a code of ethic and Industry standard for installing New roofing?  
I stongly feel, I was taken advantage of my being a single woman and a inter City residence.  
I want  to know why Abby Construction would   istalled a Roof without proper Flashing, ice guards. The contract denote that all these things would be inclucled  June 25, 2002.  If the Roof was install correctly Abbey Construction should be able to prove the fact.    There is no way I have any roofing problems, with a 11 year old roof.
I will be calling a Professional Roof Service for a second opinion asap, and will forward a copy to your attention.
 
Thank you, 
***** ******
***********.
Thank you in advance,
***** ******
*****************
*****************
 

Business Response: Business responded to rejection.  See attached.

 
Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 2/25/14.
 
Phone: (216) 921-6300
Fax: (216) 921-6226
ABBY & ASSOCIATES 
General Remodeling Contractors
 
ABBY CONSTRUCTION COMPANY
4566 MAYFIELD ROAD. SUITE 112
SOUTH EUCLID, OHIO 44121 
 
February 20, 2011
 
Better Business Bureau, Inc.
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2608
 
ATT: ******* ******
Trade Assistant / FAX (216) 861-6365 
 
Dear ******* ******,
 
I am responding to******* ****** again for the FINAL TIME! 
 
12 years ego a roof was installed. ABBY CONSTRUCTION has a
1 year warranty. 
 
Outside environmental factors have occured in 12 years, such
as ice and moss growth on the roof.
 
I already suggested the solution is to have a Roof Tune-up.
 
ABBY‘S contracted warranty lapsed 10 1/2 years ago and thus all
legal obligations have terminated! 
 
Sincerely,  
****** ****, President
 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

1/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contract stated tear up concrete in front of garage, widen driveway on right side 2', then resurface the entire driveway with asphalt. Abby did not tear up concrete in front of garage instead the resurfaced it and now after one year the same cracks that was in the concrete is in the asphalt they put over it, its also cracking where the old concrete meet the old asphalt. I have made numerous attempts to contact the company to resolve this matter and have been unsuccessful. I am consistently being told the gentleman I need to speak with is out of the office. I have left a detailed description of my complaint with the secretary yet no one has attempted to correct the problem.The work was done Sept. 2011.

Desired Settlement: I want Abby to tear up the concrete as contract stated and put in asphalt, then seal it

Business Response:

Re: ***** *****
Complaint ID - *******
I am responding to letter received 9/27/12 from the Better Business Bureau.

Enclosed is a copy of contract dated 8/25/11.

In regard to the driveway - it states "widen on right side 2'. "Resurface" over the existing driveway - asphalt compressed with a 2 ton roller. Tear out edges - in front of city sidewalk and in front of garage.

We did tear out "edges" in front of sidewalk and garage. Then we resurfaced over the 99% of existing driveway.

On 9/10/12 I sent a proposal to sealcote entire asphalt driveway at a cost of $440. I recommended to **** ***** when it was paved last year to sealcote the driveway in (2012) between May and September.

This is basic maintenance. Also note in contract that there is a ONE YEAR warranty on all Labor and Material (except concrete and asphalt).

THE SOLUTION: Repair small cracks and sealcote entire driveway but the $440 must be paid in advance with a signed contract - already sent to her 17 days ago.

Business Response: Business responded via phone as follows:

The contract said tear out edges, not sections. The edge was about an inch. The consumer is complaining about a 5' x 11' area.

The consumer wants a free seal-coat. She had another company do a sloppy job.

They are offering to seal-coat in the spring.

The company said that if the consumer paid ******, not the company, $100, that he would seal-coat the entire driveway.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, why would I want an inch of concrete torn up and can you tear up and inch of concrete. All the concrete in front of my garage was cracked up ( 6'x11') and thats the tear out in front of garage stated on the contract. If ******  stated  he torn up any concrete at 3712 West 104th Street, he is a liar. I will have a line of asphalt remove, starting inside the garage to the beginning of the old asphalt to see if any was removed.


Please tell me why ****** and a lady in his truck, came out to my house November 16, 2012, to start the job but stated he didn't and enough sealcoat to do the entire drive. Thats when I told him to come back in the spring and do it when he can do the entire drive, he then called ******, ****** stated ****** said ok, again ****** never stated there was a fee.  

As I stated before ****** came up with sealing the cracks and sealcoating the entire driveway back in September  2012 when he came out and saw the cracks and stated it would be free ( you know I asked). 


The company I had to do the sealcoat did not to a sloppy job. Abby did the sloppy job, one month after they put the asphalt down weeds came up through it, ****** out and burned the weed but it didn't help they just came back up. If Abby did the job right I would not have weeds and cracks in the asphalt now.


Now I need to know when I get proof that no concrete was torn up not even the inch, then what.


Again why would I have Abby to tear up an inch of concrete, what sense does that make.



Regards,

***** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ***** **** with Abby Construction to remove my concrete driveway which did not pass city inspection and replace with a new smooth asphalt driveway. I had gone over with his less than sub-contractors how I wanted it. I came home and half my backyard was wiped clean because he apparently wanted to do it his way, so the next day I explained AGAIN how I wanted it and to no avail, I came home and it was wrong again. So I spray painted where I wanted my driveway. Finally it got through. But I am not done. I came home excited to see my driveway, when i pulled up to look, I was not impressed at all. With in a few days, it had sunk, I was able to kick rocks off the top, my new 12" drain was worthless, oh and it rained and you could see lots of standing water. He said he was going to send the guys back to roll it and fix it, I WISH THEY HAD NEVER SHOWED UP, BECAUSE THEY MADE IT WORSE. There was tar all over my new drain, all over my house, sidewalk, city sidewalk. Needless to say, I am very upset. I had called the city to come out and inspect it twice. The first time he came to inspect, it FAILED. ***** **** sent his guys out the second time to fix it, and again the inspector came out and it still does not pass inspection, Inspector said "very poor job on my inspection paper. ***** **** called me from my driveway the second time it had been fixed and told me that it looked good. After I heard that, I had stopped payment on checks, because he already has 4,000 of my money for a very very very bad job. If you are looking to hire this company, DO NOT. If he puts a lien on my house, fine. I have proof, pictures, 2 failed final inspections, so he does not have a leg to stand on as far as I can see. Very unhappy. I want the job done right, and will have to look elsewhere for someone to do it right.

Desired Settlement: Remove/Re-roll/Scrape tar off my house/Remove tar from new drain/ "JUST MAKE IT RIGHT"

Business Response: Dear Sir,I have already addressed Mr. ******* driveway.On Friday, 10/12/12 - I had the entire asphalt driveway resurfacedover. The pitch is good.It does need t o be sealcoated which is not included in our contract.It can be sealed after 30 days, but some experts claim 60 - 90 days.  ***** ****, President

ABBY & ASSOCIATES CONSTRUCTION CO, INC.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/23/10, I hired ***** ****, president of Abby Construction Co. The job consisted of, tear down existing brick garage and concrete floor . Clean up and haul away all debris. Rebuild new garage, concrete floor 6" wide curb and fibermesh or wire mesh. replace concrete in front of garage as required by city, install electrical garage door opener. I paid to *** **** a down payment of $6000.000, on 11/26/10. Because of the weather the job did not actually start until, 4/11, at which time I paid *** **** a additional $4000.00.The price for the total job was $20,182.00, so in 4/11, *** **** had been paid a total of $10,000.00 down payment. From the very first day I notice inappropiate behavior from the sub contracted people, such as loud file language, and even drinking beer on the job which I did address and also I reported this behavior to Mr. Shon. Also I noticed that they had parked huge dumpsters on my property that did significant damage to the existing driveway, side walk blocks, and lawn, all of which I have pictures of. After most of the job, the garage floor starts to crack, also water is comming inside through the backwall and coners, they hid the gutter pipes under gravel, they did not clean up and haul away all of the debris. The city inspector has failed the job, I have a camera full of pictures to support all of the above and much more! ***** was not cooperitve with what he needed to do to correct or complete the job. he just wanted to get more money. He had the nerve to put a lein on my property when actually he owe me! he has not earned the money he got which is $10.000, I still have to have a garage floor/driveway/repair damage to my property, clean up etc.I have much more to say,but out of space.

Desired Settlement: I expect for the lein to be removed off my property, and I expect part of the $10,000.00 to be refunded to me that ** **** recceived. I have had to hire a new contractor to correct this work, which so far, is close to $7,000.00 and still climbing.

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was resolved through BBB Arbitration