BBB Accredited Business since

One Man and a Hammer, Inc.

Phone: (440) 974-7978 Fax: (440) 367-1000 View Additional Phone Numbers 8550 East Ave., Mentor , OH 44060 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.onemanandahammer.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are an award-winning company that can handle most home renovations & remodeling requirements. Our in-house design services helps to guide our clients through the initial phases of dreams, ideas, and layouts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Man and a Hammer, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for One Man and a Hammer, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on One Man and a Hammer, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1999 in OH Business incorporated 02/02/2004 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert A. Gallese, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert A. Gallese, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Cabinets Doors Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Windows Basement - Remodeling Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Carpenters Doors - Repair Garage Builders Patio & Deck Builders Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Products & Services

One Man and a Hammer, Inc. sells the following brand(s): American Olean tile products, Bertch Cabinetry, Caesarstone Quartz, Delta, Emtek Fine Hardware, Granite, Kohler, Legacy Cabinetry, LG Quartz, Medallion Cabinetry, Naturally Aged Wood FLooring, Porcelain tile products, Schluter Shower Products, Ultracraft Cabinetry, WilsonArt Laminates

One Man and a Hammer, Inc. offers the following product(s): and much, much more., Cabinet and Door Hardware, Cabinetry, Counter Tops, Flooring, Porcelain and Ceramic Tile, Schluter Waterproofing Products

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, and credit cards.
Alternate Business Names
Acclaim Renovations & Design
Industry Tips

The following general information is provided after all reports on companies in the home improvement industry. The Cleveland BBB routinely recommends that you check out any firm you are considering for home improvement work. All contracts should be in writing and contain the name, address and phone number of the company, complete disclosure of the cost of materials and labor, all guarantees and any verbal promises made by the company representative. Make sure you receive a copy of the contract. Checks should be made payable to the company, not an individual. You should also understand that some, but not all, contracts may be cancelled within a 3 day period. You may also wish to contact the building department at your local city hall to determine if the firm is licensed and/or registered to do work in your community. Require the company to obtain any necessary building permits. Finally, the BBB recommends that you not sign a completion statement unless you are satisfied with the job.


Additional Locations

  • 8550 East Ave.

    Mentor , OH 44060 (440) 974-7978 (440) 974-8082

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early august 2013, ******* C. from One Man and a Hammer met us at our house to discuss remodeling our bathroom. We told him our upper limit was 15K but a comfortable price would be around 12K. We were uncomfortable with telling him our budget amount but he assured us that knowing the budget amount is how he could keep us on budget. We had to make out a check for $750.00 and signed a contract to get started with the work. We never received a copy of the contract. We posted on a message Board back and forth from Aug 10th- Aug 19th when we were to meet with ******* at the One Man and a Hammer location. He had to cancel this meeting due to health reasons and we never heard from him since. No one from One Man contacted us until our enquiry on the 26th. We were told that *** the owner would take over for **** We met with *** on Sat Aug 31rst looking at cabinets, tiles, etc. He said he would get a quote to us Monday or Tuesday. 10 days later after another email prompt from us he said one of his vendors was uncharacteristically delayed. He said he would finish it by 9/11 morning. After another prompt by email we received the proposal on Sept 16 with *** saying it was stuck in his outbox. His Bid was for over 19K. Why would anyone take the time to put a budget together at a total cost of 19K when the client is trying to get under 15K? We have twice asked for a refund of our 750.00 original deposit based on the mismanagement of our case and the inappropriate proposal for our work with our budget. First time we asked was met with obliviousness. Second time we asked was not even given an answer. This has been a fiasco. We really felt that **** C. was going to help us. Once he was out of the loop, we would probably not gotten involved with this company

Desired Settlement: Refund of our check for $750.00

Business Response:

To whom it concerns,The information below are copies of some of the numerous correspondences with M/M *******. As you will read, we did everything they asked including pricing out the job in as many ways as possible to bring the overall cost within their budget. Before we wrote the proposal, ****, my Sales Consultant, sent the *******s many emails with attachments showing most of the hardware and other materials. The attached files are some, not all, of the sketches we completed for the client. I have also attached the original Proposal for you to view. Again, we were very detailed with the Scope of Work and what was included. The emails below outline not only how I was able to reduce the overall cost of the project but also show my diligence in trying to make this a viable project. What confused me is the fact that I worked the numbers to their satisfaction, see email sent to *** on Wednesday, September 18, 2013 6:49 AM, answered all of her followup questions then receive this complaint. I truly do not understand what else I could have done to make them happy.Please call me with any questions or additional information.Regards,*** ******e, PresidentOne Man and A Hammer, Inc.Ph. ************From: '*** ****t' <**************>Wed 9/18/2013 10:20 AM***, The material is approx 44% of the job, the labor approx 56%. I hope this helps.  Cordially,  *** *******, Founder & President   From: *** ****t [mailto:**************] Sent: Wednesday, September 18, 2013 6:49 AM To: *** ******e Subject: Re: Estimate from One Man and A Hammer, Inc.  again, I am not looking for the total price of the project. It is now, with all the savings, between $14 and $15K. My question is how much is the material and how much is the labor. It does not to be broken down into every single item. Just those two numbers. I am aware that you can not be very accurate. thank you On Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 6:28 AM, *** ******e <************************> wrote: ***, I thought I included the total price in the email that addressed your concerns/questions. Although I will be happy to resend the information when I get to the office I believe the total cost was under $15K if you did the bulk of the demolition.  I shall email you later this morning with the job total.  Have a safe commute to work.   Regards,  *** ******e, Pres One Man and A Hammer, Inc. On Sep 18, 2013, at 6:20 AM, "*** ****t" <**************> wrote: ***, I just need a number for the total project. You can exclude painting. thank you *** On Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 6:13 AM, *** ******e <************************> wrote: Good morning ***, Your welcome, I'm happy that I was able to address your concerns.  Concerning labor costs, for which item are you inquiring about the cost? As I stated in my most recent email, I have not made it a habit to break down every item into labor & material, nor does any professional contractor. Is there another aspect of the job that you are considering doing yourself?  On Sep 17, 2013, at 7:50 PM, "*** ****t" <**************> wrote: Thank you ***, can you please let us know how much is the labor?  thank you ***** and *** On Tue, Sep 17, 2013 at 4:53 PM, *** ******e <************************> wrote: ***, I appreciate the questions and concerns you mention. See my answers below in RED. From: *** ****t [mailto:**************] Sent: Monday, September 16, 2013 9:56 PM To: *** ******e Subject: Re: Estimate from One Man and A Hammer, Inc. Dear ***, We got your proposal and I will say right away that we are not happy with how it was done especially after paying $750.00, meeting with ****, meeting with you and waiting for 2 months. Yes, the proposal took longer than it should have but you didn't wait two months. There are many selections that were researched then posted online. -On 8/15 you posted a comment about the selections and that you liked them. -On 8/16 you inquired about meeting on Saturday, 8/24. I realize that the 8/19 meeting was cancelled due to ****'s personal concerns. We ended up meeting on Saturday, 8/31. -Your proposal was prepared and sent but unfortunately got stuck in my outbox for whatever the reason, I'm not sure. Meanwhile, there was much preparation including professional sketches prior to compiling the estimate itself. You viewed the sketches during your meeting here on 8/31. 1.      I do not see anywhere the price of labor and/or materials.  We also expected  all things to be itemized so that we could see where we could save money especially because we were told that we would be provided with such a list – how much for painting, how much for demolition for example? -There are no contractors, professional or otherwise, that I am aware of who list labor and materials as line items. Within your estimate are allowances which I absolutely told you would be included; they are indeed. There are very few things that consumers, me included, purchase which list the costs to produce, distribute, and inventory the items. -In the Demolition section I address the painting task: "CLIENTS TO REMOVE WALLPAPER AND (They will also) PAINT WHERE REQUIRED." In ****'s notes from the initial meeting there is a note that you and/or *****topher were to paint and remove wallpaper. If this is not the case why would **** have jotted down that the paint & paper removal were two tasks that you agreed you would handle? 2.      There is no toilet replacement in the proposal You are correct, although the cost WAS included I accidentally omitted typing in the information within the proposal.   3.      Ceiling repair in the hallway where the leak was has not been included I will also include this task at no charge.   4.      I am assuming based on your proposal that including these two more things (toilet+ceiling) and lights, handles/knobs and accessories will bring us way above $20.000,00 -The toilet and ceiling are included. The handles and/or knobs cost anywhere from $2.50-$4.50 each; you require (9) based upon the current layout. -Concerning the accessories, I did not include them because they can be purchased at a local retailer for less money than the ones we get through our professional suppliers. I can't imagine that you will spend anymore than $100.   5.      I have no idea how much you are planning for vanities, mirrors, faucets, dry wall, insulation etc. -The cost for ALL of the items that have been, or will be, selected are clearly stated. -A 24" x 36" oval mirror costs $50.00. Typically we do not include mirrors because they unless it is a custom size or shape which didn’t appear to be the case here. The cost to HANG the mirror(s) is included. -Drywall, insulation: how will knowing the quantity of either of these products assist in getting the bathroom remodeled? The proposal clearly states what we are to do with both products. 6.      If we take your original proposal and include the proposed savings (The cabinet finish: $469.00; the soft-close mechanisms for the drawers and doors: approx. cost $378.00, The counter top-set wall cabinet: approx. cost $268.00, Granite Tops: $500 and tub $295.00= total $1,910.00) we end up with price of $19,171.45-$1,910.00=$17,261.00 which is still more than $2,000.00 above our upper limit. -Is it possible that the wall tile is replaced with a fiberglass surround kit? The savings would be $430.00. -Replace the ceramic FLOOR tile with a good grade of sheet vinyl which would cut costs by another $477.00 - Deduct another $907.00 for the cost-saving items above. 7.      We picked three types of tiles and even agreed about patterns and borders and you said that you would make a proposal for all three choices.  From you we only got $3.50 per square foot with additional cost for patterns, borders etc. -The allowance included in the proposal DOES cover the type of tiles that you selected. The only reason I did not list them is as exactly as you suggest; the selection was NOT finalized. -If the pattern stays as simple as you described in our meeting on 8/31 there will be no additional cost. 8.      Tub doors – unit allowance $200.00 is that installation or the price for the door. I said that we would like frameless doors and this is not the price for the frameless doors We could have been told immediately that you couldn’t fix our bathroom for $15,000.00 and save us time and money. We feel that we were not taken seriously  and this is not what we paid $750.00 for and we expect reimbursement. -ALL ALLOWANCES ARE FOR THE MATERIAL; THE LABOR IS INCLUDED. Here is the EXACT description of the door I proposed: Frameless Bypass Bath Door in Matte Nickel with Clear Glass. As you can read, it IS the price for a frameless door. -I TOOK YOU VERY SERIOUSLY WHICH IS WHY YOUR PROPOSAL TOOK SO MUCH TIME TO COMPILE. - I'm sorry you feel this way. I went through everything carefully to try to hit your budget. There are times when the choices that consumers make, me included, that are beyond what the budget allows. I have listed several ways to cut costs throughout this email and within the proposal.     Hopefully, I have addressed all of your questions and concerns. In a brief overview of the above please read the bullet points below: ·       The wait was not truly two months; there was much correspondence between the first visit and today. ·       Labor & materials are never broken out into line items; ALLOWANCES are always made clear as I did within your proposal. ·       Toilet: although it was in the cost of the proposal I neglected to type it in which I have now done. ·       Painting: it was originally conveyed that you were to remove the wallpaper then paint the walls. ·       Ceiling Repairs: now included at NO charge ·       Lights, Handles, & Accessories: the cost to purchase these items, $220, at a local retailer. We rarely include these items in an estimate because we don’t display them in our showroom. ·       Vanities & faucets: clearly outlined in the proposal. ·       Mirrors: $48 at Home Depot ·       Drywall & Insulation: It will be enough to cover what I've clearly stated in the proposal. ·       Total Cost: we can reduce the overall cost if you are willing to give up a few luxuries. Here's what my calculations show: $19,171.45 - $1K cabs. - $575 counter + $200 mirrors,handles,access. - $430 tub walls - $477 floor - $469 - $378 - $268 - $295 = $15,479.45.   The cost of the remodel can get very close to your budget if the selections are changed, as you can read. If you want to take the price cutting a step further, deduct $1,000 for demolition which includes removing the tile from the floor plus hauling off all of the debris. This additional deduction brings your cost to $14,479.45.   Let me know your thoughts.  ***

Business Response: *******,

As always, we explain to the client that we will TRY to meet their budget but not until we put together a full cost proposal. If the customer, in this case the *******'s, state that their budget is unrealistically low we tell them right then and there that we cannot hit there budget. In this case, as with all initial estimates, no materials were selected during the initial visit. I forwarded to you all of the information we had gathered and presented to them INCLUDING the bathroom sketches. Since they now have all of the information that we provided under the terms of the retainer, I don't believe that it's prudent of me to return their retainer. This scenario is exactly what the retainer is for, it hopefully prevents the client from taking all of our hard work then hand it over to a friend, a family member, another contractor, etc. We expend alot of energy and time in preparing the sketches and proposals, as you would expect. *******, if you had the time to read through the correspondence between *** and I, she asked me to break down the pricing AFTER the initial proposal was presented to her and her husband. I did as she asked. Below is an excerpt from an email I sent to Mrs. ******* on 9/18: 7.      We picked three types of tiles and even agreed about patterns and borders and you said that you would make a proposal for all three choices.  From you we only got $3.50 per square foot with additional cost for patterns, borders etc. -The allowance included in the proposal DOES cover the type of tiles that you selected. The only reason I did not list them is as exactly as you suggest; the selection was NOT finalized. As you can clearly read, the tiled shower was indeed included. I offered to M/M ******* an additional savings of $430.00 IF they were willing to use a fiberglass surround instead of tile. I was simply trying to show them another way to save money BUT tile was included. Please see all of the correspondence I included in my first response to this complaint. I did everything in my power to hit their budget and they still said no!!Lastly, I will refund $100 as a good faith gesture. To this day I'm not sure why they decided not to move forward.

Regards,
*** *******,
PresidentOne Man and A Hammer, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,


*******,

This excerpt from ***'s last correspondence says it all.   "As always, we explain to the client that we will TRY to meet their budget but not until we put together a full cost proposal. If the customer, in this case the *******'s, state that their budget is unrealistically low we tell them right then and there that we cannot hit there budget. In this case, as with all initial estimates, no materials were selected during the initial visit. "Who makes a full cost proposal and then determines if it is within budget?   They took our  $750.00 to tell us that they could not do our bathroom within our budget.  I would say $15,000 dollars for a bathroom is not unrealistically low.  In addition to $750.00 they wasted our time.  Very little work in whatever visual basic program they use to construct their diagrams was done as all of the elements were just being replaced, not redesigned.  *** acts like we just dropped communication without explanation but the fact is we asked him twice in email for a refund which he just ignored.   We don't want his $100.00 good will. 

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on One Man and a Hammer, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)