BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

One Man and a Hammer, Inc.

Phone: (440) 974-7978 Fax: (440) 367-1000 8550 East Ave., Mentor , OH 44060 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.onemanandahammer.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Man and a Hammer, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for One Man and a Hammer, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on One Man and a Hammer, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 29, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1999 in OH Business incorporated: 02/02/2004 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert A. Gallese, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert A. Gallese, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Cabinets Doors Fence Contractors Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Windows Windows - Repairing Storage Units - Household & Commercial Stone Setting Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Carpenters Doors - Repair Garage Builders Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Plastering Contractors Plumbers Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps

Industry Tips

The following general information is provided after all reports on companies in the home improvement industry. The Cleveland BBB routinely recommends that you check out any firm you are considering for home improvement work. All contracts should be in writing and contain the name, address and phone number of the company, complete disclosure of the cost of materials and labor, all guarantees and any verbal promises made by the company representative. Make sure you receive a copy of the contract. Checks should be made payable to the company, not an individual. You should also understand that some, but not all, contracts may be cancelled within a 3 day period. You may also wish to contact the building department at your local city hall to determine if the firm is licensed and/or registered to do work in your community. Require the company to obtain any necessary building permits. Finally, the BBB recommends that you not sign a completion statement unless you are satisfied with the job.


Additional Locations

  • 8550 East Ave.

    Mentor , OH 44060 (440) 974-7978

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early august 2013, ******* C. from One Man and a Hammer met us at our house to discuss remodeling our bathroom. We told him our upper limit was 15K but a comfortable price would be around 12K. We were uncomfortable with telling him our budget amount but he assured us that knowing the budget amount is how he could keep us on budget. We had to make out a check for $750.00 and signed a contract to get started with the work. We never received a copy of the contract. We posted on a message Board back and forth from Aug 10th- Aug 19th when we were to meet with ******* at the One Man and a Hammer location. He had to cancel this meeting due to health reasons and we never heard from him since. No one from One Man contacted us until our enquiry on the 26th. We were told that *** the owner would take over for **** We met with *** on Sat Aug 31rst looking at cabinets, tiles, etc. He said he would get a quote to us Monday or Tuesday. 10 days later after another email prompt from us he said one of his vendors was uncharacteristically delayed. He said he would finish it by 9/11 morning. After another prompt by email we received the proposal on Sept 16 with *** saying it was stuck in his outbox. His Bid was for over 19K. Why would anyone take the time to put a budget together at a total cost of 19K when the client is trying to get under 15K? We have twice asked for a refund of our 750.00 original deposit based on the mismanagement of our case and the inappropriate proposal for our work with our budget. First time we asked was met with obliviousness. Second time we asked was not even given an answer. This has been a fiasco. We really felt that **** C. was going to help us. Once he was out of the loop, we would probably not gotten involved with this company

Desired Settlement: Refund of our check for $750.00

Business Response:

To whom it concerns,The information below are copies of some of the numerous correspondences with M/M *******. As you will read, we did everything they asked including pricing out the job in as many ways as possible to bring the overall cost within their budget. Before we wrote the proposal, ****, my Sales Consultant, sent the *******s many emails with attachments showing most of the hardware and other materials. The attached files are some, not all, of the sketches we completed for the client. I have also attached the original Proposal for you to view. Again, we were very detailed with the Scope of Work and what was included. The emails below outline not only how I was able to reduce the overall cost of the project but also show my diligence in trying to make this a viable project. What confused me is the fact that I worked the numbers to their satisfaction, see email sent to *** on Wednesday, September 18, 2013 6:49 AM, answered all of her followup questions then receive this complaint. I truly do not understand what else I could have done to make them happy.Please call me with any questions or additional information.Regards,*** ******e, PresidentOne Man and A Hammer, Inc.Ph. ************From: '*** ****t' <**************>Wed 9/18/2013 10:20 AM***, The material is approx 44% of the job, the labor approx 56%. I hope this helps.  Cordially,  *** *******, Founder & President   From: *** ****t [mailto:**************] Sent: Wednesday, September 18, 2013 6:49 AM To: *** ******e Subject: Re: Estimate from One Man and A Hammer, Inc.  again, I am not looking for the total price of the project. It is now, with all the savings, between $14 and $15K. My question is how much is the material and how much is the labor. It does not to be broken down into every single item. Just those two numbers. I am aware that you can not be very accurate. thank you On Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 6:28 AM, *** ******e <************************> wrote: ***, I thought I included the total price in the email that addressed your concerns/questions. Although I will be happy to resend the information when I get to the office I believe the total cost was under $15K if you did the bulk of the demolition.  I shall email you later this morning with the job total.  Have a safe commute to work.   Regards,  *** ******e, Pres One Man and A Hammer, Inc. On Sep 18, 2013, at 6:20 AM, "*** ****t" <**************> wrote: ***, I just need a number for the total project. You can exclude painting. thank you *** On Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 6:13 AM, *** ******e <************************> wrote: Good morning ***, Your welcome, I'm happy that I was able to address your concerns.  Concerning labor costs, for which item are you inquiring about the cost? As I stated in my most recent email, I have not made it a habit to break down every item into labor & material, nor does any professional contractor. Is there another aspect of the job that you are considering doing yourself?  On Sep 17, 2013, at 7:50 PM, "*** ****t" <**************> wrote: Thank you ***, can you please let us know how much is the labor?  thank you ***** and *** On Tue, Sep 17, 2013 at 4:53 PM, *** ******e <************************> wrote: ***, I appreciate the questions and concerns you mention. See my answers below in RED. From: *** ****t [mailto:**************] Sent: Monday, September 16, 2013 9:56 PM To: *** ******e Subject: Re: Estimate from One Man and A Hammer, Inc. Dear ***, We got your proposal and I will say right away that we are not happy with how it was done especially after paying $750.00, meeting with ****, meeting with you and waiting for 2 months. Yes, the proposal took longer than it should have but you didn't wait two months. There are many selections that were researched then posted online. -On 8/15 you posted a comment about the selections and that you liked them. -On 8/16 you inquired about meeting on Saturday, 8/24. I realize that the 8/19 meeting was cancelled due to ****'s personal concerns. We ended up meeting on Saturday, 8/31. -Your proposal was prepared and sent but unfortunately got stuck in my outbox for whatever the reason, I'm not sure. Meanwhile, there was much preparation including professional sketches prior to compiling the estimate itself. You viewed the sketches during your meeting here on 8/31. 1.      I do not see anywhere the price of labor and/or materials.  We also expected  all things to be itemized so that we could see where we could save money especially because we were told that we would be provided with such a list – how much for painting, how much for demolition for example? -There are no contractors, professional or otherwise, that I am aware of who list labor and materials as line items. Within your estimate are allowances which I absolutely told you would be included; they are indeed. There are very few things that consumers, me included, purchase which list the costs to produce, distribute, and inventory the items. -In the Demolition section I address the painting task: "CLIENTS TO REMOVE WALLPAPER AND (They will also) PAINT WHERE REQUIRED." In ****'s notes from the initial meeting there is a note that you and/or *****topher were to paint and remove wallpaper. If this is not the case why would **** have jotted down that the paint & paper removal were two tasks that you agreed you would handle? 2.      There is no toilet replacement in the proposal You are correct, although the cost WAS included I accidentally omitted typing in the information within the proposal.   3.      Ceiling repair in the hallway where the leak was has not been included I will also include this task at no charge.   4.      I am assuming based on your proposal that including these two more things (toilet+ceiling) and lights, handles/knobs and accessories will bring us way above $20.000,00 -The toilet and ceiling are included. The handles and/or knobs cost anywhere from $2.50-$4.50 each; you require (9) based upon the current layout. -Concerning the accessories, I did not include them because they can be purchased at a local retailer for less money than the ones we get through our professional suppliers. I can't imagine that you will spend anymore than $100.   5.      I have no idea how much you are planning for vanities, mirrors, faucets, dry wall, insulation etc. -The cost for ALL of the items that have been, or will be, selected are clearly stated. -A 24" x 36" oval mirror costs $50.00. Typically we do not include mirrors because they unless it is a custom size or shape which didn’t appear to be the case here. The cost to HANG the mirror(s) is included. -Drywall, insulation: how will knowing the quantity of either of these products assist in getting the bathroom remodeled? The proposal clearly states what we are to do with both products. 6.      If we take your original proposal and include the proposed savings (The cabinet finish: $469.00; the soft-close mechanisms for the drawers and doors: approx. cost $378.00, The counter top-set wall cabinet: approx. cost $268.00, Granite Tops: $500 and tub $295.00= total $1,910.00) we end up with price of $19,171.45-$1,910.00=$17,261.00 which is still more than $2,000.00 above our upper limit. -Is it possible that the wall tile is replaced with a fiberglass surround kit? The savings would be $430.00. -Replace the ceramic FLOOR tile with a good grade of sheet vinyl which would cut costs by another $477.00 - Deduct another $907.00 for the cost-saving items above. 7.      We picked three types of tiles and even agreed about patterns and borders and you said that you would make a proposal for all three choices.  From you we only got $3.50 per square foot with additional cost for patterns, borders etc. -The allowance included in the proposal DOES cover the type of tiles that you selected. The only reason I did not list them is as exactly as you suggest; the selection was NOT finalized. -If the pattern stays as simple as you described in our meeting on 8/31 there will be no additional cost. 8.      Tub doors – unit allowance $200.00 is that installation or the price for the door. I said that we would like frameless doors and this is not the price for the frameless doors We could have been told immediately that you couldn’t fix our bathroom for $15,000.00 and save us time and money. We feel that we were not taken seriously  and this is not what we paid $750.00 for and we expect reimbursement. -ALL ALLOWANCES ARE FOR THE MATERIAL; THE LABOR IS INCLUDED. Here is the EXACT description of the door I proposed: Frameless Bypass Bath Door in Matte Nickel with Clear Glass. As you can read, it IS the price for a frameless door. -I TOOK YOU VERY SERIOUSLY WHICH IS WHY YOUR PROPOSAL TOOK SO MUCH TIME TO COMPILE. - I'm sorry you feel this way. I went through everything carefully to try to hit your budget. There are times when the choices that consumers make, me included, that are beyond what the budget allows. I have listed several ways to cut costs throughout this email and within the proposal.     Hopefully, I have addressed all of your questions and concerns. In a brief overview of the above please read the bullet points below: ·       The wait was not truly two months; there was much correspondence between the first visit and today. ·       Labor & materials are never broken out into line items; ALLOWANCES are always made clear as I did within your proposal. ·       Toilet: although it was in the cost of the proposal I neglected to type it in which I have now done. ·       Painting: it was originally conveyed that you were to remove the wallpaper then paint the walls. ·       Ceiling Repairs: now included at NO charge ·       Lights, Handles, & Accessories: the cost to purchase these items, $220, at a local retailer. We rarely include these items in an estimate because we don’t display them in our showroom. ·       Vanities & faucets: clearly outlined in the proposal. ·       Mirrors: $48 at Home Depot ·       Drywall & Insulation: It will be enough to cover what I've clearly stated in the proposal. ·       Total Cost: we can reduce the overall cost if you are willing to give up a few luxuries. Here's what my calculations show: $19,171.45 - $1K cabs. - $575 counter + $200 mirrors,handles,access. - $430 tub walls - $477 floor - $469 - $378 - $268 - $295 = $15,479.45.   The cost of the remodel can get very close to your budget if the selections are changed, as you can read. If you want to take the price cutting a step further, deduct $1,000 for demolition which includes removing the tile from the floor plus hauling off all of the debris. This additional deduction brings your cost to $14,479.45.   Let me know your thoughts.  ***

Business Response: *******,

As always, we explain to the client that we will TRY to meet their budget but not until we put together a full cost proposal. If the customer, in this case the *******'s, state that their budget is unrealistically low we tell them right then and there that we cannot hit there budget. In this case, as with all initial estimates, no materials were selected during the initial visit. I forwarded to you all of the information we had gathered and presented to them INCLUDING the bathroom sketches. Since they now have all of the information that we provided under the terms of the retainer, I don't believe that it's prudent of me to return their retainer. This scenario is exactly what the retainer is for, it hopefully prevents the client from taking all of our hard work then hand it over to a friend, a family member, another contractor, etc. We expend alot of energy and time in preparing the sketches and proposals, as you would expect. *******, if you had the time to read through the correspondence between *** and I, she asked me to break down the pricing AFTER the initial proposal was presented to her and her husband. I did as she asked. Below is an excerpt from an email I sent to Mrs. ******* on 9/18: 7.      We picked three types of tiles and even agreed about patterns and borders and you said that you would make a proposal for all three choices.  From you we only got $3.50 per square foot with additional cost for patterns, borders etc. -The allowance included in the proposal DOES cover the type of tiles that you selected. The only reason I did not list them is as exactly as you suggest; the selection was NOT finalized. As you can clearly read, the tiled shower was indeed included. I offered to M/M ******* an additional savings of $430.00 IF they were willing to use a fiberglass surround instead of tile. I was simply trying to show them another way to save money BUT tile was included. Please see all of the correspondence I included in my first response to this complaint. I did everything in my power to hit their budget and they still said no!!Lastly, I will refund $100 as a good faith gesture. To this day I'm not sure why they decided not to move forward.

Regards,
*** *******,
PresidentOne Man and A Hammer, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,


*******,

This excerpt from ***'s last correspondence says it all.   "As always, we explain to the client that we will TRY to meet their budget but not until we put together a full cost proposal. If the customer, in this case the *******'s, state that their budget is unrealistically low we tell them right then and there that we cannot hit there budget. In this case, as with all initial estimates, no materials were selected during the initial visit. "Who makes a full cost proposal and then determines if it is within budget?   They took our  $750.00 to tell us that they could not do our bathroom within our budget.  I would say $15,000 dollars for a bathroom is not unrealistically low.  In addition to $750.00 they wasted our time.  Very little work in whatever visual basic program they use to construct their diagrams was done as all of the elements were just being replaced, not redesigned.  *** acts like we just dropped communication without explanation but the fact is we asked him twice in email for a refund which he just ignored.   We don't want his $100.00 good will. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One Man and A Hammer (OMAH) was contracted to do certain repairs at **** * ****** ****. The total estimate was $3,105/- This estimate was given on 12/27/2011. To date only part of the work has been completed. One Man and a Hammer then came up with a 2 new estimates to finish rest of the work which was higher.I could understand that there would be a change in the estimate because new materials had to be put in. However OMAH was not able and I felt unwilling to explain the difference in the original estimate and the new estimate specially since part of the work had already been done. I wanted to know the cost of the work that was already completed so that I could figure out exactly how much they were charging for the balnce of the work.The owner *** was extremely rude, and was talking to me as he was doing me a favor, this is in spite of the fact that I have tried to work with OMAH for now over 4 months.

Desired Settlement: I would like to ensure that OMAH will give me the right cost of the work completed and not cheat me by upping the cost of the work completed.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** did sign a proposal/contract that included a statement that reads in part, "****THE ORIGIN OF WATER LEAKS CAN BE VERY DIFFICULT TO DETERMINE. IT IS THE ESTIMATORS BELIEF THAT THE WATER LEAK IS CAUSED FROM WATER COMING IN FROM CRACKS IN OLD CAULKING AND CRACKS IN BUILT UP MORTAR THAT WAS ORIGINALLY APPLIED TO STOP THE LEAKS".
We tried for weeks to get this job scheduled but the weather would not cooperate. If it warmed up it rained, if it was dry it was too cold but because Mr. ***** was becoming impatient, we decided to go and get done as much as possible.  We would have liked to wait for the weather to improve but we accomplished alot but did not finish applying the joint sealant to all of the joint cracks of the concrete. Before having a chance to return and finish the sealant, Mr. ***** called to say that water was still seeping into the building. It was at this time that I decided to visit the jobsite with ****, my Field Supervisor, and ****, one of my Project Consultants. The original consultant, **** *****, left my company a couple of weeks prior. The work we completed was as follows:
---- EXTERIOR WORK -----
1. Replace approx (42) linear feet of broken fascia boards along south driveway. (FYI...a fascia board is typically what the gutter is attached to)
2. Paint all new fascia boards
3. Repair wall stucco
4. Hang "No Parking" and "Height Restriction" signs to the exterior of the building.
5. Apply as much of the joint sealant as time allowed.

I want to be very clear about the exterior concrete steps and landing that Mr. ***** said has caused him many, many problems since being installed by another contractor. The original contractor did a horrible job along with not providing a proper barrier at the lower-level where the water was seeping in for years. It was obvious that someone had spread concrete mortar in many of the exterior joints in hopes of stopping the water seepage. It was made very clear to Mr. ***** that there was no way for us to pinpoint the source of the water infiltration.

During the visit with **** & ****, it was decided that an exterior porcelain tile set over a waterproof membrane was to be the most permanent solution. Mr. ***** was a party to all discussions about using the tile and membrane solution. He agreed that he wanted us to quote the use of the waterproofing system. Everything was measured and the information was brought back to the office where a proposal was created then emailed to Mr. *****.

The total for the original work was $3,105.00 of which $1,087.00 has been paid as a deposit. ALL OF THE WORK LISTED ABOVE WAS COMPLETED FROM THIS ORIGINAL PROPOSAL.

The total for the new proposal is $4,325.00 which includes a credit of $640.00 toward the masonry work that was to be done on the original estimate. In other words, the GRAND TOTAL to install the tile with the waterproof membrane is $1,860.00 which is a bargain. Typically, if we were to quote just the waterproofing part of the job, the cost would be approx 40% higher. Why did I offer this type of discount to Mr. *****??? Because its how I built this company, trying to be very fair and upfront with my clients. Unfortunately, Mr. ***** wants my company to warranty a problem that was caused by others which I will not do.

Lastly, I offered Mr. ***** a solution that I can stand behind. I understand he is frustrated with the past poor performance of other contractors but I don't believe it is my responsibility to be punished for the past shoddy workmanship.

Regards,
*** *******, Pres.
One Man and A Hammer, Inc,
Ph. ************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is with One Man and a hammer.We did business with them when we had some pipes explode and we had water damage.They did an estimate and the job came to around $5000.00.We paid half up front and asked if we could make payment arrangements for the rest.We signed a contract saying we would pay a certain amount a month until payed.The Owner *** decided he wanted his money sooner so he threatened to Sue us and forclose on our home. He left us NASTY and unprofessional comments on voice mails and text messages.He was so unprofessional he even began making NASTY comments about our family.A warning to anyone who wants to do business with this company,if you have to make payment arrangements do not do business with them....you might end up with the OWNER calling and leaving you unprofessional and threatening messages.Good Luck to who ever chooses to do business with them.

Desired Settlement: For the Public to know what and who they are dealing with if They choose to do Business with One Man and a Hammer of Mentor!!

Business Response:

After doing work for this homeowner I was asked by him if it was possible to make monthly payments on the balance.  I graciously offered a payment plan to the ********* then they decided not to pay.

Although I was not comfortable with monthly payments I agreed and an agreement was signed. The terms of the agreement were as follows:

1. $500.00 per month

2. Payments due by the 16th of each month until paid in full.

3. $50.00 penalty for all late payments.

Mr. ******* has NEVER made a payment on time NOR has he ever sent in a FULL payment. My office tried contacting them at least ten times via email and phone calls to both he and his wife, *******. I went to his home and taped a notice on his door to call me, once again to no avail. My office has also mailed Certified Letters with a date of Nov. 22 as the deadline for payment. Further legal action will commence immediately after the deadline if no payment is received.

Mr. ******* should be written up on BBB complaint site. Allowing rude and uncouth liars, such as the ********, attempt to discredit my company is simply wrong. I have the signed agreement if you would like to see.

Lastly, I was threatened via text message by Mr. *******. He told me he was going to put a bullet in my head. I think you now comprehend who I'm dealing with.

 

Regards,

*** *******

Consumer Response:

Complaint Detail
Once again I have a issue with the work of One Man and a hammer....We hired them to do work for us when we had pipes burst.They did a poor job of fixing the ceiling and they didnt clean up after themselves after they were done, the basement still smelled like the chemicals they used and the ceiling they attempted to fix fell apart.They were extremely over priced for the work that they did.The Owner was very unprofessional sending me nasty text and voice messages.He agreed to allow us to make payment arrangements and then quickly changed his mind and threatened to Sue us when he didnt get his money as quickly as he wanted.I did not threaten him,he made ALL of the threatening comments.So.....once again good luck to who ever decides to do business with this guys company
Desired Settlement
Make sure this Company does not continue to rip people off with their poor work and for the owner to not be so unprofessional....hopefully people will look on this site before hiring this Company to do ANY work for them
Desired Settlement: Other (requires explanation)

Business Response: THis homeowner filed the same complaint in late 2011. I was kind enough to allow him to make payments on the remaining balance owed for work done in his home. Last year, when I initially spoke with you about this homeowner, I faxed in the signed agreement between my company and this homeowner. The agreement had payment terms which he completely violated, he also would not respond to phone calls or emails for many weeks. I had to drive to his home and leave a notice taped to his front door before he decided to contact me. He apologized then went on to say that he was having financial problems. I explained that although I understand, I was not a bank and I need to be paid. He NEVER said anything in any of our discussions about shoddy workmanship. Only after I threatened him with a lawsuit did he start this nasty campaign of potentially libelous accusations. My company does outstanding work and provides customer service second-to-none. I'm really shocked that the BBB is once again allowing these false accusations to once again use up both of our valuable time and resources. This matter was closed and should remain closed. Please check your records for all of the documents that I forwarded to the BBB during round one of this ridiculousness. Please understand, I am not upset with the BBB but rather I am really surprised that Mr. Hunkele can continue to submit these false reports. Cordially, Bob Gallese, Pres. One Man and A Hammer, Inc,

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1