BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Municipal Services Of America Corp

Phone: (440) 773-0161 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.msa247.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 5/20/2014 the business's accreditation from BBB was revoked.

The revocation was due to violation of BBB Accreditation Standards:

6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:

  1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
  2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
    • is professional,
    • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
    • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
    • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Municipal Services Of America Corp include:

  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Municipal Services Of America Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 08, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2009 in OH Business incorporated: 06/22/2009 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Marucci, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Marucci, Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Sewer Contractors Snow Removal Service Concrete - Stamped & Decorative

Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    612 Carrington Ct

    Willowick, OH 44095 (440) 773-0161

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (440) 537-0512(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2012 (less than 2 years ago), Municipal services of america provided a quote to have our driveway expanded and all concrete work completed for entire driveway and front walkway. Municipal Services was hired to complete the job which was complete in June of 2012. Our driveway which is less than 2 years old is flaking, crumbling throughout entire driveway. I had a couple people see the driveway and gave comments that bad concrete was used. I had another concrete company come to look at driveway to see why this would happen after such a short period of time and they said they have seen this happen from time to time and this is clearly either a bad batch of concrete or concrete not being mixed properly. I contacted Municipal services to come and look and was hopeful that they would take one look at the driveway and agree to fixing it, however when they arrived **** ******* took a look at the driveway and said it is from salt, however we do not utilize salt on our driveway and he claimed that the city snow plows spray salt up onto driveways, which if that was the case the entire street would have an issue. Our neighbors had their driway done 6 months prior to us from another company and their driveway has no flaking or crumbling. I informed **** that another company was out and talked about the bad concrete or poor mixture issue which he denied that as being the issue. He said they buy their concrete from a vendor and they have no control over that. I informed him that I wanted the driveway addressed and wanted to know what would be done. Even though he agreed it looked horrible he said there is nothing he could do. He took pictures and said he would contact the place they get concrete from. We spent $10,000 on this driveway and want someone to fix it. We are the customer who hired a company to do a job and after 20 months you don't expect something like this. This was a lot of money to spend for something that looks this bad. **** has not gotten back in touch with us.

Desired Settlement: We would like the driveway either redone by municipal services so that it is not crumbling everywhere or a refund so we can have another company take care of the problem.

Business Response:

May 1st. 2014

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

Re: Complaint ID#******* 

 

This message is in reply to complaint filed by ******** ****** whom resides on **** ****** ******* ****** ** *** ***** ** *****. We would like to clarify that although the total final cost of the job was $7,525., the actual total cost of the driveway was $4,750. The difference of $2,775 was for other additional work performed in which the customer does not have issues with.

 

More over, attached are copies of the checks used for payment of the services rendered, along with the customer’s invoice confirming dates, prices and information giving notice that “Due to weather conditions in Northeastern Ohio that result in the use of salt, we do not express any warranties on concrete services.”

 

Promptly after the customers’ complaint, a representative of Municipal Services of America met with Mrs. ****** . He found evidence of the use of Salt and Calcium for snow removal. The customer’s house sits on a busy three-way street (intersecting- stop area), there is a lot of traffic and therefore the constant use of salt and calcium by the local snow plowers (See attached Photos).

 

We truly regret to be in this position. We cannot control what happens to our work after we leave a job and with Northeast Cleveland’s weather, we unfortunately cannot guarantee and of our concrete services.

 

 

Sincerely, 

 

***** *******

Municipal Services of America

************

 

****************

Consumer Response:

Good Morning ******,

 

I am emailing you my rebuttal for complaint # ******* which is also going to include attached pictures and proposal from municipal services which I will address further in this email.  I apologize that I could not respond straight through the BBB website but my computer is not compatible to attach the pictures and information I would like to include, but I am able to attach them in an email. Would you please post this to the claim?

 

After reviewing Municipal Services response that I received this morning I needed to clarify a few things and share my concerns and areas which are not in agreement.  First off I would like to say that Municipal Services is correct in the breakdown of the money for the work completed.  The $2200.00 portion was for replacement of our front walkway which I have no issues with except for when they sealed the walkway they got some sealer on our front door glass which you cannot remove.  The problem I have is that image 2 and 3 and photo 2 and 4 that Municipal Services sent clearly is showing evidence of salt in the street.  There is no evidence of salt on our actual driveway.  The majority of cities treat their side streets and main streets with salt in the wintertime, this does not mean that everyone’s driveways fall apart because they salt the roads.  I am enclosing a couple photos of what the majority of our driveway looks like.  These images are seen throughout the entire driveway including right up by the garage doors.  Prior to me making my first phone call to Municipal Services to express my concerns with the way the driveway looked (again the driveway is not even 2 years old), I had another concrete company look at the driveway because I wanted to see what would cause this.  They took one look and said you see this with either a bad batch of concrete or when the concrete is not properly mixed.  I have attached the initial proposal received from Municipal Services and on page 2 you will see that when they talk about the events that are not covered under a warranty it does list many things.  They do not however address poor concrete mixing or a possible bad batch of concrete.  Both of these things do happen from time to time according to the other concrete company that looked at the driveway.  Our neighbors had a new driveway put in 3 years ago and used another company and their driveway has not one area that is crumbling like our driveway.  If it were true what municipal services is saying about city snow plows using salt to do the roads than you would expect everyone on our street would have driveways that look like ours and that is not the case. 

 

I feel that the pictures submitted by municipal services shows very clearly that there is salt used on the roads but they did not find that salt on our driveway.  I also feel that due to this driveway being less than 2 years old and nothing listed in the proposal warranty information about issues with concrete itself whether it be poor product or poor mixing practice that I am due either the money for the driveway portion so I can have it redone or municipal service provide a replacement driveway.

 

Sincerely,

 

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they were agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received satisfactory customer service response to the following issues from emails beginning on June 20, 2013.April 19, 2013 Estimate states LIFETIME GUARANTEE. I am requesting a copy of that guarantee, in writing, immediately.April 19, 2013 Estimate states a T.V. VIDEO INSPECTION and cleaning of sanitary sewer included. I am requesting a copy of the DVD for that inspection immediately.April 19, 2013 Estimate states topsoil, grass seed, concrete and restoration. Resolution required: (1)Seeding of the disrupted area was not performed in the side yard or in a good portion of the front yard. (2)The Company returned once to add topsoil to the settled area around the backflow preventer, the area has settled again and requires further leveling. (3)The Company replaced a holly bush that didnt survive their replanting efforts with an evergreen tree that needs to be removed. Planting a tree next to my house is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: Copy of Lifetime GuaranteeCopy of Sanitary Sewer DVDSeeding of side and front yardTopsoil leveling of sinkhole over backflow preventerRemoval/relocation of evergreen tree next to houseReplacement of holly bush

Business Response:

 

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Municipal Services of America
Company Contact: ******* *******
Company Phone: 440-773-0161
Company Email: ****@msa247.com
Person Who Sent the Complaint:
Staff Member: ***** ******

Response:

This is in efforts to resolve ******* *********'s complaint. We will be returning to her home to lay more "sun and shade" grass seed from Kurtz Bros. Please advice her to mark the spot where she wants the tree relocated. Thank you.

Sent on: 11/11/2013 1:29:03 PM

Consumer Response: I haven't yet been contacted by Municipal Services of America, however, I returned home from work today to find that...


1.  The areas disturbed by the waterproofing were seeded, and even an area not disturbed by the waterproofing work was seeded.
2.  The evergreen tree that was planted in my back yard, near the house, was removed from the property and not replanted (previously suggested by me).
3.  Additional fill dirt was present at the backflow preventor installation area.

I appreciate their returning to complete the above work, some of it extra and above necessity.  

The remaining issues are:

1.  Warranty questions remain unanswered
2.  Holly bush replacement
3.  Sewer televising and cleaning video

I'm happy to discuss the remaining issues with the Company directly or through the BBB.

Thank you for your help.
 

Business Response: Dear *****,

 
I'd like to inform you that yesterday we fulfilled our promise to handle Mrs. *********'s request for removal of the tree, more topsoil and grass seed for the area in question. 
 
Sincerely,
 
Municipal Services

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Municipal Service of America provided waterproofing to two basement walls with work completed on 07/12/2012. On 07/22/2013 water was observed leaking form one of the walls that work was performed on. I called the company on 07/23/2013 and spoke with the secretary, who said that the wall should not be leaking, arranging for a representative to come to the house. The next day the representative arrived and observed the water leaking into the basement. When asked how they would fix the leak, he responded that they wouldnt and if I had any further questions to call the office. On 08/01/2013 I observed a new leak and called the company, leaving a message requesting for my call to be returned to discuss the new leak. Having not received a return call, on 08/09/2013 I called the company and spoke with the secretary. She explained that she was waiting for one of two people to return my call. On 08/17/2013 I once again observed a new water leak. On 08/23/2013 I called the company, leaving a message that a still had not received a return call, that a third leak had occurred, and requested that my call be returned the following Monday. No call was received from the company. On the morning of 08/27/2013 a fourth leak was observed and this complaint was filed. The frequency at which these leaks occur is now greater than before the alleged waterproofing work.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I am entitled to the service that I paid for, the wall being waterproofed. If this cannot be achieved I would like a full refund.

Business Response: This letter is in response to a complaint filed to the BBB by Mr. **** *****. Upon notification by Mr. ***** that he was having an issue with our waterproofing, we scheduled a tech to take a look at Mr. *****'s basement.  Our tech examined the basement and confirmed that the flood that hit the City of Willowick on July 20th 2013 had adverse affects on both the City's Storm and Sanitary Sewers causing them to overflow and consequently causing Mr. *****'s waterproofing to fail. Per the City of Willowick Officials & Service Director, 85% of the city's residents were deemed a flood; therefore making our warranties null and void. No guarantees can be made during a flood. For our waterproofing to function properly, residents must have a properly functioning active sewer system.  We would like to advice Mr. ***** to investigate the rest of his sewer system to make sure there aren't any other obstructions or issues caused by the July 20th, 2013 flooding

Consumer Response:

Thank you for your response.  I am looking for clarification on three areas of concern. 

First, can Municipal Services of America please provide specific details, such as but not limited to the degree of slope of the drainage pipes, the volume of gravel used, the thickness of the cement applied to the basement walls, and any and all other quantitative measures of  their product used in this specific job.  This information may help explain why only the full wall MSA was contracted to work on failed.  The other walls which had waterproofing performed on by a different company did not fail.

Secondly, can Municipal Services of America please respond to why MSA would not return any messages left with the secretary or on voicemail.

Lastly, can Municipal Services of America please indicate the specific number of their so called “warranties” they consider null and void.  In addition, does MSA plan on informing all of the affected property owners of their decision not to honor these legal documents.  If not, can Mr. ******* please defend his unethical business practices and lack of transparency.  If MSA does plan on informing all affected property owners of their unfortunate business decision by what date.

Because of Municipal Services of Americas business practices I no longer trust MSA to correct their products failure and now am seeking a full refund in the amount of $4700.

Business Response:

Hello,
 
This letter is to reply to a complaint & questions submitted to the BBB by Mr. **** *****.  On July 23rd 2013, our representative promptly visited Mr. *****'s home regarding his claim of water intrusion through one of the basement wall waterproofed by Municipal Services. Upon inspection of Mr. *****'s wall, our representative did not see nor witness any water intrusion as Mr. ***** was claiming and therefore, told Mr. ***** that if he had seen any water intrusion it was most likely due to the July 20th, 2013 flood and in that case making his warranty null & void as specified in his contract with us. We suggested then and suggest again that Mr. ***** should have his sewers investigated for any damage cause by the pressure from the City's backed up sewer system, obstructions caused by the flood that can restrict the flow of water or tree roots. 
 
In response to his question regarding the slope of the drainage pipes, since we only waterproofed 46' feet (approx. a wall and a half) we hook up to the already existing inlet and existing outlet with normal minimal grade. We used at least 42" of gravel, we applied a layer of cement and a layer of tar. 
 
We have attached an Article from the News Herald Newspaper where it states that a Willowick resident filed a class action lawsuit against the City of Willowick for a faulty sewer system.  We can also provide various news articles stating that the City of Willowick suffered a massive flood and submitted a "Declaration of Emergency". Understand that our warranties don't cover acts of God. It is clearly stated in our contract with Mr. *****, we have attached a highlighted copy.  MSA Corp feels that the photographs Mr. ***** provided don't really prove that its our waterproofed wall leaking, better pictures showing evidence that it in fact it was our wall leaking should be provided.  We also suggest that Mr. ***** join the class action lawsuit since we are not liable for the City's sewer system failing. If you have any questions in regards to the flood and the city's sewer system please call the Willowick service director *** ******* at 440-516-3000.
 
In conclusion, we are confident in our waterproofing methods & service. We haven't  had issues with any of our past customers. Mr. *****'s complaint seems to be an isolated one.  We would like to point out the fact that since the last time we worked on Mr. *****'s home he has then performed some landscaping at the residence and added a retaining wall which could have adverse affects on his yard drainage. Be aware that Mr. ***** hadn't had any issues up until the day of the flood and according to his statement the wall isn't currently leaking even after the normal rain we have had recently. In our efforts to resolve this, on October 21st, 2013 we called and left Mr. ***** a voicemail asking him to call us back so we can schedule a televising of his sewer lines. We have not heard back from him.  
 
 
Sincerely,
 
**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they were agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 9th 2013 Mike Marucci was given a $500 deposit to secure a stamp for concrete pillars. He said he had to order the stamp ...his quote " I will order the stamp tomorrow and it will take 2 weeks to come in. The companies that I order from only give you 1 week to use them so once it comes in I will be here. Everything will be completed in 3 weeks providing on the weather." On April 29 2013 my husband called Mike Marucci for an update as the 3 week mark was approaching. Mike called back the next day on April 30th and said he is still waiting on the stamp and is trying to get other jobs booked to use the same stamp and should be starting at the end of the week and will call to give us a heads up. On May 1st I sent Mike an email to call me cause I wanted an additional quote being that he said he was starting by the end of the week. I never recieved any communication for 2 weeks. On May 13 I called again and spoke with Angie and she told me "we are probably on the schedule but Mikes busy and the stamp came in last week". I asked her to please have him call me. 4 days went by and he never called. My husband called Mike on May 16 2013 to let him know that we want our deposit back due to lack of communication of Municipal Services because after 6 weeks and still no work even started it is in our best interested to move forward without Municipal Services. Mike Marucci told me that we are not getting our deposit back and said he never said it would be completed in 2-3 weeks. He felt it was necessary to argue with me about not returning the deposit.He said he can probably start the job next week or the week after. That would bring us to 7 weeks. We still decided not to use Municipal Services and told Mike Marucci that we have waited well beyond what he originally told us when he took our $500.00 deposit. I told him I want no problems for him or us&I would like the deposit back. He told me "Your not getting it back & if this goes any further I'll put a Lien on your house for the supplies"

Desired Settlement: We have been very patient with Municipal Services and it would be only fair for us to receive our deposit back of $500.00. We gave the deposit in good faith to have the work done with in the 2-3 week time frame that Mike Marucci originally stated.

Business Response: Company responded by phone. BC

The company called was contracted to perform a job for the consumer.  Materials were ordered at a cost of almost $4,000.  The materials took about 4 weeks to arrive.  The company collected a $500 deposit.  When the materials arrived the company told the consumer they were ready to get started. The consumer indicated they would like a refund.  The consumer is in breech of contract.  Consumer is now doing this themselves.

Consumer Response:

The companies response is false. We had to keep tracking down Mr. Marucci and his statement that he had to order $4000.00 in supplies is simply untrue. Making threats to put a lien on my home is unprofessional when the consumer did nothing wrong. The total cost of the job for the stamped pillars that the $500.00 deposit was held for totaled $3200.00.  Also Mr. Marucci is stating that I am in breech of contract. I am requesting the company please supply a signed copy of the contract from the homeowner that he says was breeched. I would supply a copy myself if there was one but one was never made. We are a consumer with integrity and don't understand how anyone can run a business by making false statements and false promises.

Thank You

Business Response:

*** ******* * ****** ****

** ** ******* **

******** ** *****

This letter is in response to a complaint filed to The Better Business Bureau by

******* & ****** **** whom reside on

. On April 
2nd, 2013, ******* * ****** **** contacted us to request an estimate for custom columns

they wanted built in the front area of their home. We promptly scheduled an appointment

for the next day April 3rd, 2013 and provided them with an estimate. On April 8th, 2013 (3

business days later) we contacted the ******via email to let them know we had additional

information about the columns and we wished to set up an appointment to go over the

details. The ******contacted us on April 9th, 2013 to confirm the appointment for that

evening. A check dated April 10th, 2013 for the amount of $500 was received from the

Voits that evening April 9th, 2013 as Good Faith deposit for the special order of material

needed to perform the contracted services.. The acceptance of the $500 check makes our

agreement a legally binding. We attempted to have the ******sign the contract on the spot

that day, but because of poor reception by the lake where their home is located, we were

unable to connect our mobile tablet to our invoicing program. We promptly ordered the

materials needed for the job through Willoughby Concrete Builders Supply and notified the

Voits that it would be 2-3 weeks for the materials to arrive. During the waiting period,

jobs were scheduled since we can't stop running the business to wait on materials. On 1

2nd, 2013, Willoughby Concrete notified us that the materials had arrived. The ******/span>

promptly scheduled for the week of May 13th, 2013 to have the services rendered"

however, during that time several rain days delayed our jobs that were in progress'

therefore, the ******start date got pushed to Monday May 20th, 2013. On May 19, 2013

the ******contacted us to cancel the job. We notified them that the deposit was not

refundable since special materials were ordered and could not be returned to the

manufacturer. By Sunday May 19th 2013, We noticed that the ******had already hired

someone else to do the Work at perhaps a cheaper price or decided to do it themselves and

therefore canceled so promptly. The ******could not have been scheduled any sooner than

May l3th because of jobs already in progress and the many rain days We have had in

Northeast Ohio this spring. We feel that their allegations are erroneous and false. We have

provided the BBB With copies of the proposal, check and the invoice for the materials. We

Would like to add that recently our supplier Willoughby Concrete notified us that the ******

called them several times impersonating our staff to retrieve information regarding this

matter. The supplier and our company have nothing to hide and have not provided the ******

With any false information. We feel have all acted in a timely manner and kept

communication With the ****** We look forward to resolving this matter.

Sincerely,

Mike Marucci

President

 

Business Response:

 
 
This is to reply to a question from ***** ******. The invoice from the supply company IS SOLELY for material purchase for the ****** project. It does not contain supplies for other jobs. We hope this answers your question. Feel free to contact us if you have additional questions. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Date:   July 1, 2013

 

From:    ******* * ****** ****

Complaint #:  *******

The following is in response to the letter you received from Mike Marucci that was forwarded to me on June 27, 2013. First- the statement that Mr. Marucci "acted in a timely matter and kept communication with us" is what's erroneous and false. Second- His statement claims that we canceled on Sunday May 19, 2013 and already hired someone else the same day at a cheaper price or we did it ourselves. Please take note: We canceled on Thursday May 16, 2013 as my complaint with the BBB is dated May 16, 2013. Third- We ABSOLUTLEY NEVER called impersonating his staff to retrieve information. We simple called Willoughby Concrete Supply stating that we were supplied with an invoice from Municipal Services and wanted to verify the date the materials were ordered and Heather (from Willoughby concrete) said it was ordered on 5/1/2013 and they have 30 days to pay or they will get finance charges. I'm sure that Heather contacted Mike or Angie once our call was completed on 6/7/2013 and based upon that conversation and there close work relationship they are falsely accusing us of impersonating there staff. Fourth- Based upon the invoice for the materials ordered and Mr. Marucci's prior statements... In one statement he says materials cost almost $4000.00. In the invoice that was provided materials totaled $4653.61. So which one is correct? Neither because how do you order that much in supplies for pillars that total $3200.00 which is on the estimate that Mr. Marucci provided. Also Mr. Marucci lied to *** **** on April 29, 2013. Mr. Marucci stated that he was still waiting for the stamp to arrived and the invoice clearly shows it was never ordered until 5/1/2013 which is 22 days after we gave our deposit. The invoice clearly shows that this is for 2 separate pillar jobs which confirms the prior conversation between *** **** and Mr. Marucci on April 29, 2013 when Mr. Marucci stated that he was trying to book other jobs with the same stamp. He took our deposit and put us on the back burner until he was able to book other jobs with that stamp. Please Note: All the supplies that are on the invoice are strictly for pillars not the driveway/walkway extension as no supplies need to be pre-ordered for that. Our concrete work have since been completed by a reliable, honest and hardworking contractor a week ago which a copy of the city permit can be supplied if needed to confirm the dates. I don't even know how to respond to us having start dates...Just another lie. Please provided emails or phone records showing that you contacted us for a start date. I can provided emails & phone records if needed that he never responded to. Why am I been held responsible for someone else's materials? Either Mr. Marucci business skills are clearly lacking or its just another lie to cover his trail. Pillar Estimate- $3200.00- Pre-ordered Supplies for pillars- $4653.61. No supplies needed to be pre-ordered for the driveway/walkway extension. The gravel, steel mesh and concrete is delivered during the job. Admitting that you are wrong is not a bad thing... Lying is what's bad. I feel truly sad for Mr. Marucci & his lack of integrity that reflects the company that was built by his grandfather. We don't feel its necessary for Mr. Marucci or any of his staff to keep coming by our house. We would like to resolve this matter in a civil fashion and would please appreciate that Mr. Marucci & Angie with there Black Mercedes Van & White Excursion stay away from our house.

 

Consumer Response:

07/18/2013

No the ESTIMATE was given to us on April 3, 2013. The deposit for the pillars was given on the evening of April 9, 2013 but the check was dated April 10, 2013. There was not a set date only that we were promised the job would be completed in 2-3 weeks from the time he received our deposit.  We had called Mr. Marucci for pillars. While he was here we asked him to quote estimates on other work but it was just an estimate cause we only had a budget of $4000.00 to work with and we made him aware of that while he was standing in front of our house in the street next to his vehicle. He also gave us a verbal estimate to install RUBBERSTONE on my upper deck patio floor and I am surprised he's not including that too. We never even communicated about anything other than the pillars since his original estimate on April 3, 2013. Mr. Marucci's statement on June 27th 2013 clearly states that and only talks about the pillars and he never mentions anything about any other work to be done. I am faxing you an email that shows communication from Mr. Marucci only regarding the pillars/columns.

Thanks

****** ****

Consumer Response: Email from company about columns

Business Response:

I attempted to reply online but my password wouldn't work.  To answer your question from 7/17/13 There was no delay between receiving the deposit and ordering the materials.  The manufacturer confirmed receipt of the order April 12th, 2013, 2 days after the deposit was received.  The order was received by the supplier on May 1st.  To answer the 2nd question the total price for the job was $6,255.80 (cost to the ****** the total cost for special materials was $4,653.61.
Thank you

Business Response:

 

Attached is the copy that shows proof that the order was sent to the manufacturer 2 days after receiving their deposit and not May 1st like the ******claim. Again, May 1st was when the supplier received it from the manufacturer. They were NEVER placed on the back burner and therefor feel no need in going to Arbitration. Please call Mike Marucci for any additional question at 440-537-0512.

 

Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to comply with its pre-commitment to arbitrate complaints.

1