BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

CompSource, Inc.

Phone: (216) 566-7767 Fax: (216) 619-7117 View Additional Phone Numbers 3241 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.compsource.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CompSource, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CompSource, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on CompSource, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 11, 1994 Business started: 11/02/1992 in OH Business incorporated: 07/25/1996 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean Bellone, President & CEO Ms. Cathy Bellone, Vice President & CFO, Human Resources
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cathy Bellone, Vice President & CFO, Human Resources
Principal: Mr. Dean Bellone, President & CEO
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Office Furniture & Equipment Office Supplies

Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard, VISA, Discover, Paypal, Google, Amazon payments, wire transfers, the government I.M.P.A.C. card, and American Express.
Industry Tips
Computer Sales & Services

Additional Locations

  • 3241 Superior Ave.

    Cleveland, OH 44114 (216) 566-7767 (888) 266-7768

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 266-7768(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered verifone pinpad(credit card terminal) from them.Its missing a port for stylus.I am trying to return this they told me i have to send it to manufacturer.I send it there they send it back to me saying its working fine.I ordered stylus from compsource and then another stylus from amazon both cant get plug in.I called compsource and asked them that I will ship stylus and terminal and they can configue it and send it back to me.they said no.

Desired Settlement: I will send all the wires and everything and they would have to plug in that stylus for me in this machine.

Business Response: Please Check your EMAIL for the official RMA (Return Merchandise Authorization), we were able to get an Exception on this product to be returned.  Please ship back the unit, MX830 within 10 business days to:

 
 
CompSource, Inc.
Attn: RMA 9547
3241 Superior Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44114
 
Once the product is received, $282.00 will be credited.
 
Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7-21-13 I placed an order of 7 Ubiquiti antennas to Compsource Inc. the antennas are not working properly, in their website Compsorce claims that the range in antennas is 30+kms, but after testing them it only did less than 1km.After contacting several times with Compsource customer service, and explaining to them the problem, they refuse to change the antennas to the right or newer model and they refuse to do these or refund my money.I called to Ubiquiti (manufacturer) to see why these antennas are not working properly, and these is the answer I received:***** ********* (Ubiquiti Networks)Sep 04 07:25 am (PDT)Hello ******,Anything with a 5V POE is end of life. We recommend the AG-5G27-HP for functional replacement which will give you better performance and uses the 24v POE. The 5V versions were discontinued due to poor performance. I would return the 5v version you got and swap it out for the HP version that uses the 24v POE.Best Regards,***** *********Ubiquiti Networks****** ********Sep 03 02:01 pm (PDT)Hi:What is the difference between the antenna AGM5-1724 and the AG5G27?I keep buying the AG5G27 24V and works wonderful, I just received an AGM5-1724- 5V and POE looks old model, and is not working as good as the other one, looks like(1724) it's an old stock, test date is 11/25/09! will you please tell me the difference between these two models.Thanks,****** ********.You can see that the antennas that I purchased are old stock, discontinued, and not working properly, and Compsource Inc. refuses to change them or refund my money.Thanks,****** ********.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response:

Per the Customer’s Online Google Order, and our website, the customer received what he ordered:
7ea         Ubiquiti -  Ubiquiti Airgrid M5, Wireless Cpe, Outdoor 5ghz 100mw + 27dbi Grid Antenna - ID: AG5G27 
It clearly states the AG5G27 with 5 ghz.  The customer wants to return this special ordered item “claiming” that we sent him the wrong model and it should have been 24ghz.

                We have verified with the manufacturer that the item he received is the item that was ordered. The site clearly stated it was the 5V version of the AG5G27. At this point he could purchase the 24V POE separate.  We had the enduser take pictures of what he received and emailed it to the manufacturer and they said he definitely received what he ordered.

At this time, no credit is due.  We have Requested that an exception for a return back to distribution could be made however this is over 30days.    

Thank you,
Cathy
CompSource, Inc.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/4/12,I ordered a remote-control helicopter over the internet from CompSource.com for my 7 yr old son's Christmas present from Santa.I also purchased a 3 yr warranty.On 12/5/2012,I sent an email to CompSource requesting a $10 upgrade on the warranty to include accidental damage.The sales rep emailed me in reply stating that they added the upgrade and inquired how I wanted to pay(I replied on 12/25/2012,stating that a PayPal invoice would be fine).Also on 12/5/2012,I received an email from the warranty company thanking me for my purchase of their warranty.So,I received the helicopter in a timely manner & wrapped the gift to be stored until Christmas morning.On Christmas,my son opened his gift.The helicopter had a broken piece on it & the remote control had a broken toggle switch.I immediately re-packaged the helicopter & contacted CompSource via email.I was told to fill out an RMA online.I did so,but,was denied.They told me that the item was not eligible for refund and that I had to contact the warranty company or manufacturer.I contacted the warranty company.They had no record of my order.I contacted the sales rep,again,at CompSource.He replied with an email saying,"Please read attached message".Not sure what he wanted me to do with the attachments,I replied as such.He never responded.In the meantime,I contacted the warranty company again out of desperation.They responded by asking for the date of purchase & order number.I sent them the info along with the copy of the email that I had received from them back on 12/5/2012 thinking that would trigger something in their system.Didn't hear back from them.The next thing I know, CompSource refunded me the original warranty amount stating that since I never paid the addt'l $10 owed for upgrade,they never ordered the warranty.I,then,sent an email to CompSource telling them I was confused why they did that.After scolding me for not paying the $10,the sales rep recommended I purchase the warranty w/accidental damage ASAP to still be covered!

Desired Settlement: This has been going on since 12/25/2012. The "back and forth" has taken up a lot of my time and energy (because it is so frustrating). I can't dispute through Paypal because it has been over 45 days. At this point, I just want to be done with it. I want CompSource.com to pay for return shipping and refund my money.

Business Response:

Toy Helicopters are very easy to break, so warranties are always recommended.  Unfortunately, the Accidental Warranty was never paid so we could not add the warranty to the enduser's order.  Just as a side note,  The manufacturer does have recommendations for ages on this Helicopter since it is quite advanced which is 14 years of age.     The manufacturer is Radio Road Toys, at this point they must be contacted for an exchange.

  Manufacturer: Radio Road Toys

    Manufacturer Part Number: HK-51

    Brand Name: Radio Road Toys

    Product Name: RC Helicopter

    Product Type: Toy Helicopter

    Operating Range: 10 ft

    Remote Control Source: Remote Controlled

    Toy Class: Remote Controlled Vehicle

    Recommended Age: 14+

    Features: Built-in Camera, Built-in Gyroscope

    Power Source: Battery

    Battery Rechargeable: Yes

    Maximum Battery Run Time: 0.12 Hour

    Color: Blue, Black

    Material: Metal Alloy

    Application/Usage: Outdoor

 

Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This issue has nothing to do with a child playing with the toy.  The helicopter came to us broken.  Are you saying that you are not responsible if your item comes to a customer broken?  Broken upon receipt?  This is not a manufacturer issue.  I will only accept a refund.  I think that is only fair.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

Business Response:

After the purchase was made the customer called for Accidental Coverage to be added.  At that time, he was told it would be an additional $10.  He never paid the additional so the Accidental Warranty could not be ordered for them.  There was an email sent to the enduser's Husband, which the account was ordered under.  We did not receive a reply so their paypal account was refunded for the warranty.  Below is a copy of the email sent:

Hey *****,

                Just wanted to contact you regarding your warranty.  You specified you wanted to upgrade the warranty to the ADH warranty.  The warranty has not yet been ordered since there is still a balance on your order of $10.00.  Please give me a call when you get a chance to complete this transaction. 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

 

 

 

Business Response: The manufacturer is willing to repair/exchange the item.  It does state that the customer must ship the item to them; however as long as they are within the United States, Radio Road Toys will ship it back to them at no cost.  It says "-Customers outside the USA must pay for return shipping."


To help out the customer, if they ship the product back to Radio Road Toys; Ground shipping, or  US mail with Tracking we can reimburse the shipping costs when receipts are given.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an Acer Monitor through this company. I was sent a damaged/defective product. I called 6 times for an RMA. They did not respond until my credit card company called them on the phone. I had a professional verify the machine was defective. I spent $45 shipping the item back, through Fed Ex, which I felt was not fair since the item was damaged. Now, they are taking a 15% restocking fee for a damaged item. I do not feel this is fair and think it is outrageous that they are charging me more than $100 for a damaged item.I called today and spoke to customer service and was told that this is their policy. It is not listed on their website that a 15% re-stocking fee is charged for damaged items. Nor does the website say that if you are sent a damaged item , you are required to pay for return shipping.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the total amount that I was charged. They have kept $106.66 for 're-stocking' the damaged item, which I do not feel it fair under consumer laws for selling damaged goods.

Business Response: When the item was received, we inspected it to see if it was defective.  It was not defective, the monitor has an arm that allows it to be adjusted.  The customer was afraid by moving it she would break it since it made a clicking sound.  The clicking sound is normal and lets you know when it gets to the next angle.  Acer products are not returnable, only exchangeable if the item is defective or damaged.  We made an exception for the customer to return the item.  The customer did not want an exchange so was informed that a restock fee would be applied.  If an exchange was made, there would not be a restocking fee.  If the customer would like to purchase another monitor we could allow the original full amount to be applied to a different monitor even if it is a different brand.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased roll labels from CompSource.com on 4-6-2013. The heading for the two different sizes of roll labels I ordered were as follows:Description: PRIMERA TUFFCOAT EXTREME GLOSS LABEL - 3" WIDTH X 5" LENGTH - 6 / CARTON - RECTANGLE - 375/ROLL - 2" CORE - POLYESTER - INKJET - WHITEVendor Part #: 75848Price: $69.00Available: IN STOCKQty: 3&Description: PRIMERA TUFFCOAT HIGH-GLOSS LABEL - 3" DIAMETER - 12 / CASE - CIRCLE - 850/ROLL - 3" CORE - PAPER - INKJET - WHITEVendor Part #: 074828Price: $37.00Available: IN STOCKQty: 3I ordered 3 cases of each size. Clearly the way the product was advertised on their website, I thought I was buying the 3X5 labels of 6 per carton and the 3 diameter labels as 12 per case. When the product was finally delivered I opened the shipping box to find 3 rolls of each size of labels, instead of 3 cases of each, as was advertised on their site. I have tried contacting them numerous times, but after speaking with a rep the day after I received my order, and after waiting a combined 71 minutes two different times on hold, they will not return my calls or emails. I also filled out the RMA form for returns 6 times and Ive only received one email reply that I will be contacted in 24-48 hours, but no one has contacted me. Ive called 50+ times in 2 weeks and nobody answers, no voicemail, nothing.I have the original product description I cut and saved from how it appeared on their website when I intially ordered. A few days after my order, the product description was removed, though I had not complained about my order until I received it 11 days later. I was also harassed and insulted by the one customer service rep I spoke with, who placed me on hold for 46 minutes, then I hung up and called back and I was placed on hold for another 25 minutes by the same rep until the phone went dead. I tried calling back and no would answer.

Desired Settlement: I have asked for a refund of $318.00 for the cost of 3 rolls of labels in two different sizes, a total of 6 rolls. Im also expecting the $22.50 for shipping costs, since if I had known the product was falsely advertised I wouldve never purchased from their company, and it will also cost me a fee to send the product back, which I wouldnt have had to do if the product I received was true to the description advertised on their website. I am requesting a refund of $340.50 in total.

Business Response: The items the customer purchased are exactly what he ordered.  The pricing was based on per item per roll.  Our pricing reflects cost per each item not case pricing.  Below is the retail per roll from Primera (Manufacturer's site)  We charged $69 and retail is $79.  We tried to get an exception done however the enduser opened the rolls which are Consumables.  We can refund some of the shipping amount but he did receive the items needed to work in his Primera machine at pricing below the Manufacturer's pricing.

3" x 5" Gloss Polyester White, 375 Labels

Availability: 
Call 800-797-2772 for pricing.

$79.00
SKU: 75848 

The pricing per roll charged on Part 74828 was $37.00 when retail per roll is $43.00 as seen from Primera's site below.
Since the Rolls are opened, and the customer can use them for his printer, I can only offer a shipping refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order through the website, order ******. The item was shipped, the tracking number shows it was delivered but I never received my item. I am not sure if it was delivered to the correct address or if someone took the package from my step but I never received my item. I contacted the shipping company, Fedex and they said I would have to go through the sender to file a claim. Compsource is saying it is too late to file a claim.

Desired Settlement: I purchased another scanner from a local merchant. I want my money returned.

Business Response:

The enduser placed an order on 12-18-12 and it was shipped the same day.  It was delivered via FEDEX on 12-21-12 at the address provided.  *** ** ***** Street via FEDEX tracking:

***************

Per our ONLINE POLICY

It was If a package is lost, damaged, or delivered to wrong address by carrier, you must notify Customer Service so a claim will be put through with the carrier. Claims usually take 2 to 4 weeks to process. Once the carrier acknowledges the claim you will receive your credit. All claims must be made within 2 days of receipt.

We make every attempt to file claims, however it has been almost 2 months, since the day of delivery and the opportunity to file a claim is well past the time frame available.  At this time, he should file a claim under his home owners insurance as theft if he doesn't have it, or make a police report since FEDEX did deliver this almost 2 months ago to the address provided. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Your answer is unhelpful, as a claim against my home owners will not meet the deductible and a police report will just show an item was stolen. I will never purchase from your company again regardless of the outcome of this case. I first contacted you about not receiving my item when I opened a case with paypal against you at the end of december.  It may be 2 months now but it was not 2 months when you received first notice that my package was not delivered. 

Regards,

**** *******

 

Business Response: This case was closed with Paypal since we did ship the product and it was delivered to the correct address.  Any shortages, lost claims had to be made within 2 days of the loss. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

2/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 3 Memory modules from compusource that were listed with AXIOM brand. The order was placed to be shipped next day air, with charges as follow:Subtotal: $411.00Shipping: $51.00 STANDARD ONE DAY (EST. Arrival Date on Thursday, January 10 after 3PM)Tax: $0.00Express Processing: $4.99Total: $466.99The items received were Micron which were priced in other stores significantly lower than the price charge. I requested an RMA and full refund of the charges since they offer to refund any price difference. I received an email from them stating that since the modules shipped performed as well as the ones advertised, any return would be charged with a 15% restocking fee. No refund of the shipping charge, or the "express processing". (By the way no express was served since the items did not arrive at the specified date).After returning the items, SURPRISE!! The credit is valid for exchange, not REFUND.This is a classic case of Bait-and-switch, misrepresentation and abuse.I really appreciate your help with this matter.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund of 466.99

Business Response: The enduser placed an order on 1-9-13 for special order memory.  These items were shipped out the next day, FEDEX Overnight from AXIOM.  The modules were AXIOM memory.  The memory was delivered and signed for on Friday, 1-11-13 via Fedex tracking ************ by A. ******* at 10:23 am.  We were able to get an exception for the return of the memory modules and the enduser was issued RMA  9275.  His return was received and the credit is being processed.  We waived the policy of Exchange only and allowed the return for refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a product "ZEBRA Z-SELECT 4000D 7.5 MIL TAG - 3.25" WIDTH X 1.87" LENGTH - 1170/ROLL -1" CORE - 6/CASE" at a quantity of 5 cases, at a cost of $27.00 per case. What we got was 1 case of 5 rolls of tape, at a charge of $27.00 per roll with $43.50 charge for ground shipping from Ohio to New York. When we called and spoke with Cathy B she stated that it was "unreasonable to expect a $27.00 per case cost". Going back to the website the price has now changed from the date when we placed our order. However we printed out a page from the website the day we made the order, as per our standard procedure when ordering products online. We also have an email confirmation confirming the price of $27.00 per case. We were told that we would receive a shipping label in order to send back the product but we still have not. When one of my staff members called to follow up as to the status of the shipping label he was twice forwarded to a voice mail, and then they would not answer his calls.

Desired Settlement: We would like the terms of our agreed purchase to be fulfilled but if the company can not agree to that, which it seems they will not, we would at least like to return the product for a FULL refund.

Business Response:

The enduser was emailed a call tag to *****************

The unopened items need to be sent back and we will issue a full credit since there was a misunderstanding.  The enduser did say he purchases these by the case every year and pays over $100.00 per case so the per item price that he was shipped was not unreasonable.  I did offer the customer a call tag the same day I spoke with him, however he said he had to consult with his customer service department.  During the time he called back, I was out of the office so could not follow up until now.  The call tag was sent so once we receive the products back, he will be refunded.  Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 2nd I ordered a TV stand advertised on the companies website for a certain price and "Free Shipping." I purchased the item, and received an invoice showing paid in full and no shipping.On January 3rd I received an email from ******* ****** apologizing for the discrepancy, but informed us there would be an additional $92 for shipping. I spoke to Mr. ****** who admitted their website did indeed say free shipping, but they could not honor their quote.

Desired Settlement: I would like to purchase the item at the original price quoted including free shipping. Failure to follow their advertising statments is misleading and probably illegal.

Business Response:

The free shipping is only when items can ship ground.  Due to the Dimensional size of the item, it required Trucking from a Trucking company, which is an additional expense. 

On our Website, we clearly state Shipping details:

 Your order may be refused for free shipping depending on weight, dimensions, and girth. If those 3 factors determine a large package size shipping will be calculated and a sales rep will inform you of the price.

The sales rep Clearly informed the Enduser immediately so he could be informed due to the Dimensional size of the product ordered, it required TRUCKING and this was additional.

There was no deception being made, the product he ordered requires SPECIAL Handling via Trucking since it is too heavy and large.

When he refused to pay the additional to have it Trucked to him, we had no other choice than to Credit the order.  He has already been credited in full and is out no money.

Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CompSource received a fraudulent claim from my credit card On 3-28-2012. I contacted my financial institution to immediately stop all transaction and further purchses. I filed a police report and contacted Cathy B. Owner of CompSource and she told me to fax all paperwork over and they would take care of this issue. I did what Cathy requested and the money was returned to my account, but to later find that it would be reversed. I called Cathy B. to find out what happened as well as my banking institution and Cathy said she was not in the business of losing money. The company refused the bank a return of the funds. The product was found to be later shipped to a vacant lot. It seem odd that a company that calls themselves reputable shipps hundreds of dollars worth of computer prducts to a vacant lot and receives no signature upon delivery of such a sale. I did everything that Cathy asked me to do but she later realized that the purchase was much bigger that she expected to return. This is very unfortunate.

Desired Settlement: Refund fraudulent claim.

Business Response: The customer's information was verified completely by VISA.  We only ship items when the enduser's bank gives us authorization to do so.  This order was fully Authenicated and all information, including personal pin numbers were verified before VISA gave us the Authorization.  We did nothing wrong.  If the enduser's information was compromised, we are not liable for that.  We did ship the product and it was delivered so we cannot refund anything since it was a Fully Verified sale.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/31/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order from Compsource.com for a Lumix DMC-ZS20 last night. The list price was $300 and there were 15 available based on the company's website when I ordered. This morning I get an email saying they were "unathorized" to sell the camera, and my order was cancelled. I check the website and see that they have re-listed the camera for $330 and there's 15 available. Apparently they just wanted to raise the price. Totally FRAUDULENT! I spoke to ****** ******** from the company who confirmed my suspicion and indicated that it was directed my higher level management. I talked to thier management and while I was talking to them, they removed the item from their website. Amazing! I would avoid buisnesses that follow these type of tactics.

Desired Settlement: I see that the company boasts it is a BBB accredited company and thought that your bureau would be interested in this information.

Business Response:

Certain Manufacturers Control Pricing, called MAP pricing.  Manufacturer's Advertised Pricing.  This item fell into that category so we were not able to ship the item.  The customer was not charged anything since the item was not available to ship.  It has been rectified and if the customer wants the item it is available at this time.  I talked to ****** who has been an employee here for more than 4 years and verified that he did not say we were doing anything "Suspicious". 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2/24/12 ****** from CompSource sends me quote for $6348.00. The quote includes payment of $452 from credit card. 2/28/12 Receive invoice SO-163452 showing invoice PIF $6348.00 with $5896 being on card ending ****. ****** was to do a will call pick up at Ingram Micro 80 Micro Drive Jonestown, PA. ****** informed me I needed to take the receipt and form of ID to pick it up. On my way to pick up the tv's I receive voice message from ****** that price increased on TV's and that I had to pay $1690 for each TV instead of $1474. Obviously, I am upset, I already PIF for them and on my way to pick them up! How can he not honor his quote adn the fact I already paid for them. His reply "I can't do anything about it, there was an instant rebate and it is no longer available". ****** is the salesperson and should be knowledgable of this. It is not my fault nor my responsibilty to know about CompSource and/or distributors rebates. I call *** at Ingram Micro who confirms no order is ready for me to pick up from CompSource they did not order or pay for the TV's I paid them. ****** informs me I can get the same TV"s shipped from Indiana for $1500 each. Are you kidding me now I am to pay him more money so he can ship the TV's, when I was just told he never paid for the ones I paid him today. ****** then emails me asking what my decision is. I found another vendor but ****** already put through the charge on my credit card. I emailed for a credit to the card. He sends me documentation showing my invoice went from $6348 to $452 with a credit of $5896 to card ending ****. I do not even have a card ending in that number. At this time, I am very alarmed about fradulent activity. I called BOA, who in turn called CompSource. Helen, the BOA rep, called and asked for the approval code for the credit. CompSource could not provide her with one and ****** actually hung up on us. Helen called back and they never answered the phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $5896.00 plus additional charge of $663.20 that it cost me to purchase the TV's from Ingram Micro. After receiving my quote from ****** for $1474 for each TV. I then quoted my customer $1600.00. Alpha does not do business like CompSource, we honor our quotes and provide the product that they paid for. I not only lost money on TV's, I may have lost future sales which could be hundreds of thousands of dollars because CompSource did not provide me TV nor refund.

Business Response:

This customer is confused.  On 2-24-12, She originally placed an order and only had the money available to pay for 4 mounts, so only the mounts were charged.  She paid for the mounts and picked them up on the 24th.  When her money was available in her account to be charged for the TV's, a few days later, there was a rebate that ended.  We notified her that the few days in delay meant that the rebate had ended and refunded her money on 2-29-12.  The below authorization was emailed to her when she requested it so not sure why she is saying otherwise.  We have no control over Rebates and are not liable for pricing increases.  Her money was refunded over one week ago.

Transaction ID:  *********

Type:     Credit

Status: Settled

Batch:   763

Auth Code:         304392

Avs Result:          Address: Match & 5 Digit Zip: Match

CVV2 Result:      Match

 

Mastercard® Secure Code Authentication

Transaction Info

Date:     02/29/2012

Time:     13:08 PST

Invoice:                SO-163452

Amount:              5,896.00

                xxxxxxxxxxxx****           (Master)              Unlock Card

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1