BBB Accredited Business since

My Chimney Guys

Phone: (440) 669-5045 208 W Lincoln St, Oberlin, OH 44074 http://www.mychimneyguy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Chimney Guys meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for My Chimney Guys include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on My Chimney Guys
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2003 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Randy Wagner, Owner
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

My Chimney Guys has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Chimney Guys was hired to construct an exterior direct-vent fireplace chase and install a direct vent-fireplace. On Dec 19, 2015, I noticed that an ice cold breeze was coming in through the fireplace. On Dec 19, 2015, I contacted Randy W***** from My Chimney Guys and asked him to come back to my house to resolve the problem. Randy told me on Dec 21, 2015 that he would let me know in the evening when he would be available to look at the problem. I did not hear from Randy W*****. I tried to contact Randy W***** on Dec 23, 2015, but he did not respond to my message. On Jan 6, 2016, I went to the fireplace shop that referred me to Randy W***** to see if they could help resolve the issue. I was unable to make contact with Randy W***** through them also. I had an ASHI certified inspector evaluate the fireplace. He confirmed that a large draft was coming through the fireplace. It was his opinion that the fireplace was improperly insulated and sealed. It was his opinion that the chase was poorly constructed.

Desired Settlement: I would like for My Chimney Guys to refund my money so I can hire someone else to correct the problems. I reserve all legal rights and remedies.

Business Response:

Business responded to complaint.  See attached.

Business response transcribed below from a hand written version by BBB staff 1/26/16.

I was first out at Mr. ******* appox. two years ago when he had an electric fireplace.  I spend more than a hour with him going some options, gave him so me free advice, and didn't even charge him for the inspection.  I did not hear from him again until 07 APR 15.  He had removed the electric fireplace and was looking for a gas direct vent fireplace.  I went back out there and explin some things to him and models for him to look at.  Still at no charge I quoted the job on 11 AUG 15 for the agreed price.  I asked him to go to the quarry to pick out the sandstone hearth extension due to the fact that his wife wanted one single stone in a particular color.  She found what she liked, and ordered it. I ordered the manufactured stone, and all the other materials without collecting a deposit.

On 21 Sept 15 we bought the owner supplied fireplace, my supplied lumber & manufactured stone.  We worked for two days on running a new gas line, moving 110v electric lines, installed new 2X12 header and building a dog house style chase to Mr. ******* specs for the new fireplace.  I then drove out to pick up the sandstone, upon arrivel I found the quarry had cut the stone in two pieces.  Mr. ******* refused to accept it.  The quarry tried to sell him another that was very similiar, but he wanted one with no grain in it.  Due to the time of the year; the quarry shuts down for the season. I have done a lot of business with them over the years, so they did me a favor and drilled out one last stone for me.  Because I wanted to get the job done to keep cash flow on the positive.

We went back to the homeowners for a third day to side & roof the chase.  Then install the

p. 2

fireplace hook it up, insulate & seal chase, hang owner supplied mantel, build hearth, scratch coat with motar & test fire.

At that point there was nothing more that we could do, until we had the stone.  The fireplace was completely operational.  Mr. ******* contacted me appox 2 days later via text on my personnel cell phone with several complaints about work.  I set up a time & date to meet with him.  He stated that he didn't like the white color of the J mouding around the vent, the siding didn't line up with the corner of the old sliding & he didn't like the style of the corner moudling and he felt that it was installed poorly.  I agreed that the corner moudling should have been done better and I should have noticed it.  I explained that no companies make the style corner moudling anymore, and if he could find it, I'd install it.  Even though I disagreed with some of the problems I agreed to "fix" them when I got the sandstone.  Then he added that we broke his outdoor outlet cover.  I know that it was already broken, but I didn't want to fight with him, so I just said I'd replace it.

The stone came in the end of NOV. I called him and set it up for 07 Dec 15. That day we fixed all his issues on the outside of the house.  The second day we moved inside to install the new hearth stone and the manufactured stone.  We finished the stone work on the third day.  He still had me come back another day to change the roofing on the chase and he had me on my knees with a wire brush and acid scrubbing his 15+yr old driveway, because he found dime sized motar spots on it.

The unit was installed for 79 days before we finally completed the job.  It is on the westside of the house. The direction of the winds.  It is vented horizontal out the rear of the firebox.

p. 3

The winds are pushed right into the back of the unit.  If he would leave the pilot light on, as he was told many times, this would reduce the cold air being in the unit. Mr. ******* has contacted the manufacturer of the fireplace Heat-N-Glo, they have filed a case # P.O.C. Jen 952-985-6554.  She reached out to me and asked me the story.  I explained it to her and stated that I would share this statement with her.  They are going to send a factory rep to meet with me and Mr. *******.  As of now they are stating that everthing seems good do to the fact that I am factory trained, NFI certified and did everything right. 

As fro Mr. ******* "Inspector", who is he and how can he see though vinyl siding to see that it was build wrong.

I pride myself in bending over backwards & explaining everthing to my customers. I love what I do, and the people I help on a daily basis.  if you read my review on Angies List it shows.  I actullay take it very personal when customers complain.  I would love to have Mr. ******* happy, but I don't feel I can ever make him happy.  I just wish I relized that before I bid the job.

Randy S. W*****

*Update: Mr ******* has been to the Hearth & patio shop in North Ridgeville on 22 Jan 16 & 23 Jan 16 both times he step in front of a sale of a fireplace with Rick S**** to insult me and tell the customer to buy from somewher else. 

Consumer Response:

Consumer sent the following update:

On February 19, 2016, a representative from the fireplace manufacturer and a contractor hired by the fireplace retailer came to my home to inspect and repair the fireplace and chase.  They were able to detect the breeze coming into my home.  The contractor and manufacturer's representative spent approximately 5 hours making repairs.  The work included removing the siding, caulking various openings susceptible to air infiltration, installing house wrap on the chase, and reinstalling the siding.  There may have been other repairs made that I am not aware of. 

After 5 hours of repairs, it is clear that My Chimney Guys did not construct the fireplace chase in a quality manner, and therefore my initial complaint has been confirmed.

Thank you,

**** *******

Business Response: Business response taken over the phone by BBB staff 3/3/16.  he said that he spoke to **** from ****** ************ just before he went out to the consumer's home with the factory representative.  He told **** that if there were any costs incurred in repairs he would be happy to cover them.  He has attempted to reach **** since, but has not had any response.  If there is a **** associated with this repair he will still cover it. 

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (1)Would not return or very slow to return phone call's (2) Extremely slow in getting work done. (3) After he came out to repair, when we went to use the fireplace insert it Still would not work.

Desired Settlement: To pay bills to have someone else fix .

Business Response: Business response taken over phone by BBB staff 2/11/14. ***** said they are refunding the full cost charged to the consumer for initial fabrication, the consumer can use this to cover the cost of the new grate. The retail shop where the purchase was initially made is ordering the new unit, and the consumer advised the service guy from the shop that she would report resolution to the BBB this Thursday. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on My Chimney Guys
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart