This business is not BBB accredited.

North Coast Masonry

Phone: (216) 326-8174 5343 E 135th St, Garfield Hts, OH 44125 http://northcoastmasonry.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential and Commercial Services
Building Restoration
Tuck-Pointing of Brick, Stone and Block.
Rebuild or Repair Chimneys, Steps, Porches and Foundations.
We Install New Hand Rails or Repair Old Hand Rails.
We Install Chimney Caps and Dampers.
Retaining Walls and Pavers.
Replace Sidewalks and Concrete Steps.
Waterproofing and Repair of Basement Walls.
We Install New Chimney Flashing.
Roof Repairs.
We Also Install Ceramic, Mosaic, Porcelain and
Natural Stone Tile.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for North Coast Masonry include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for North Coast Masonry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on North Coast Masonry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2006 in OH
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tim Laurenzi, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Laurenzi, Owner
Business Category

Chimney Builders & Repair Foundation Contractors Mason Contractors Roofing Contractors Tuck Pointing Chimney Cleaning

Products & Services

North Coast Masonry sells the following brand(s): Gelco Chimney Caps, Homesaver Pro Chimney Caps, and Chimney Saver.

North Coast Masonry offers the following product(s): Chimney Caps And Dampers., Home Saver Pro and Gelco

Method(s) of Payment
Cash or Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
Seven Year Warranty on all work
Business Management

According to Better Business Bureau files, the Principal of this company, Tim Laurenzi, is also Principal of North Coast Exteriors. For more information on that report, please refer to the report link below: 

              http://www.bbb.org/cleveland/business-reviews/roofing-contractors/north-coast-exteriors-in-garfield-hts-oh-92007069?bluerefx=1


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5343 E 135th St

    Garfield Hts, OH 44125 (216) 326-8174

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired North Coast Masonry in July 2013 to perform tuck-pointing, chimney work and an overlay service to repair salt damage to my front porch slab. The company owner described this porch service as a "top and bond" and charged $600 for such. North Coast Masonry completed this work in October 2013. I wrote a check for the work immediately after the job was finished. Within days of payment, the porch began cracking and falling apart. The deterioration continues to worsen. Additionally, I must now invest time and money into removing the splatter from the product used by North Coast Masonry. The product was splashed on my home's siding and a freshly painted wrought iron railing. I have another company going to repair the work that was done and I will not be contacting North Coast Masonry any further for work on the porch. I do not believe the procedure done was correct for an area requiring foot traffic, and the material clearly did not hold up. Therefore, I am requesting a partial refund of $600 on the services provided. This refund will cover the amount originally paid for the front porch work. It is now July 2014 and I am filing this complaint with the BBB. The owner of North Coast Masonry has been unresponsive now for more than two months. Repeated phone calls and emails have been made to him on this matter. He has been aware of these issues since last October when they first began. I would like to resolve this matter quickly and would appreciate his full and immediate cooperation with this request. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a partial refund of $600 on the services provided. This refund will cover the amount originally paid for the front porch work. It should also be noted that North Coast Masonry advertises as a BBB-accredited business and is not listed as such on the BBB website.

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since inception of original "Proposal/Contract" (September 2012), with completion date estimate of 2 to 4 days, project has not moved forward.I've attempted to contact business owner (*** ********) every day for over a year with no satisfaction. On occasion he will respond with offer of new completion date, then no call no show. I have visited his business office, which appears to be a residence, no one responds. Numerous attempts via phone call. No response. Last actual contact Mr. ******** told me he would refund all monies paid to him "within a few weeks". That was 2 months ago. Meanwhile due to North Coast Masonary's lack of professionalism and or competence the structure is incurring addition damage due to roofing not being completed as per our contractual agreement.This has been the worst experience I've ever had with any "professional contracter".

Desired Settlement: Total refund, an compensation for additional damages incurred due to untimely completion of project. Considering legal actions against North Coast Masonry as well as owner *** ********.

12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The project was originally suppose to start in June. Because of a not getting a permit in time the project didn't start till early July. The first time we spoke he said the job would take about 14-16 days. I didn't know if it was doable but I figure 21-30 days would be possible. We are now coming up on the second month of the project. I have the front wall of my building out and ready to be rebuilt. Been that way for over 2 week, the workers might come one day and might not show up for a week. When I explain that they are behind they let me know "I know". When there is heavy rain the water gets inside of the building and causing issues with the tenants. I've been more than patience, things have been delayed and not done how we wanted them too but I have let it slide. All I am asking is the job to be completed as promised.

Desired Settlement: This can easily be resolved. All I want is the wall to be rebuilt how we originally discussed. This needs to be done in a timely fashion as the job is overdue as we speak. This seems pretty cut and dry to me.

Business Response:

Business responded via phone as follows:

They are still working on the home. The work should be completed in approximately 8 days, weather permitting.