BBB Accredited Business since

Direct Payment Plan

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 564-1087 Fax: (440) 564-1169 View Additional Phone Numbers 15175 Overture Dr., Newbury, OH 44065 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company's business is the set up and maintenance of bill processing systems for utilities on the internet.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Direct Payment Plan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Direct Payment Plan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Direct Payment Plan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1990 in OH Business incorporated 10/17/1990 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Good, President Ms. Joyce Good, Treasurer Mr. B. Thomas Mulvaney, Vice-President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Good, President
Business Category

Bill Paying Service Billing Service Business Services - General

Alternate Business Names
Payment Solutions Inc. Stop Processing Center

Additional Locations

  • 15175 Overture Dr.

    Newbury, OH 44065 (440) 564-1223

  • P.O. Box 122

    Novelty, OH 44072


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, this is regarding a privacy issue. I recently signed up with AEP Ohio for automatic payments and learned it's handled through Direct Payment Plan as a third party. The day after I signed up, I have been receiving nonstop phone calls from "unauthorized" numbers from all over Ohio and even outside the US. It's ridiculous - I'm getting about 10 calls a day from bill collectors, insurance companies, people that simply hang up, and it's all tied directly to when I signed up with this payment company. I want to be removed immediately as this is harassment and I will be contacting AEP Ohio to be removed from the automatic payment plan. Your site states you do not give out private info but this is obviously untrue as my phone number has been sold everywhere. Please remove my number immediately! I'm on the Do Not Call list!

Desired Settlement: Remove my phone number,***-***-****, from your list immediately!

Business Response:

It is unfortunate regarding your situation. We have been in business for sixteen years and are proud to state that we have never heard a consumer experience this situation.  The enrollment that a consumer submits is received through a very secure process to our operation.  The information is then sent only to the biller(s) that was requested by the consumer.  This information is never shared with any other parties from  Once the information is passed to your biller its security is governed by the policies of that company.  Annually we are audited by a third party regarding our total privacy and security policies and procedures.  The results of this audit are shared with the billers we currently process Direct Payment enrollments. 

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/29/14, I signed the following companies up with Direct Payment Plan: Water, Sewers, Gas & Electric (on the Internet). My Gas bill was paid on 3/20/14 by Direct Payment Plan. My Electric bill which was paid on 2/27/14 by Direct Payment Plan. Unfortunately, my Electric bill for 3/31/14 was NEVER paid by Direct Payment Plan after I called the Electric Co. today. I will be receiving a Late Fee charge on my April bill d/t non-payment of the bill by this Co. There is no phone # to call this Co. I want to make sure that they are going to pay all 4 companies that I signed up for. I feel they are responsible for the late fee that will be incurred on my Electric bill for April. Please let me know the outcome. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: See the above letter. I have NEVER had this happen to me by a Payment Plan Co. If this Company does not want to take the time to pay customer's bills, then let me know. I will gladly sign up directly with the utility companies instead.

Business Response:

We contacted The Illuminating Company and received the following response:

"On 1/31/2014 at 6:45 am the customer was automatically set up for direct debit from reference number *******.  At 9:45 am on 1/31/2014 ****** ******* called and had the direct debit removed stating that they were changing banks.  The rep sent a new form to the customer to be set up on direct debit." 

This resulted in the customer's Direct Payments stopping until CEI received a new enrollment from the customer.  The customer's billing statement from this point forward would not have indicated that the bill was automatically being paid, and should be paid by check.  The customer needs to re-enroll in Direct Payments.


11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up for direct payment for one of our utilities in Feb. 2003. I August we got billed for a returned payment charge because we had closed our account at the bank we previously paid through in July. We left a lot of time for the transitions before closing the old account. We communicated with direct payment plan at that time and charge was supposed to have been dropped. No we find the charge on our latest, Sept., bill. The record number of the Feb. sign-up is ********.Also, Direct Payment Plan has no customer service phone number on their web-site.

Desired Settlement: Refund the utility's returned payment fee. $26.00. And how about $20 for the hour I spent on this.

Business Response:

Attached are the only enrollments Direct Payment Plan handled for this customer.  The first one ******** was in February of this year and was for ****.  The second enrollment ******** was in August of this year and was for **** *** Municipal Utilities.  Both enrollments contain the same banking information.

We have no record of an e-mail from the customer in regards to cancelling an enrollment.  If we had received an e-mail regarding cancelation it would have received the response below.


To cancel the service you are to contact each biller directly.  Any attempt to cancel the service by e-mails through this site will not be acted upon and will delay solving your situation.  Reference each companies invoice for a customer service phone number or your phone directory.

"The website is for the purpose of enrollment in Direct Payment.  Your information is immediately forwarded to your billers and not retained by the site."

The website contains the same response in regards to cancelling an enrollment.



Business Response:

The initial page on the website you used to enroll in Direct Payments,, has a More Information link that displays answers to questions and offers a way for direct contact with us.  At the bottom of the page is the following statement:

"If you have feedback on our site please submit comments using our Feedback Form."

We receive customer inquires daily through this resource which we respond to within 48 hours.  Our response includes but is not limited to a company contact name and phone number.



Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


**** *********



In a sense I ACCEPT their response, because I don't want to pursue it further.  I REJECT it because a hidden service is not adequate service.  Normally "Feedback about this website." is just that and has nothing to do with communicating about a problem or failure on their part. Not only is their alleged help service misrepresented as "Feedback..." it is subsumed under the rubric of, "More Information."  I was not seeking more information, I was seeking to resolve a problem. Moreover their response time is not appropriate to the type of service they are selling.


I don't think that this company should have a good BBB rating until they fix this problem.