BBB Accredited Business since

Laptop Battery Express

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 514-2590 529 Main St, Grafton, OH 44044

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Laptop Battery Express is a distributor of laptop batteries & power accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laptop Battery Express meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laptop Battery Express include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Laptop Battery Express
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 25, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2007 in OH Business incorporated 10/12/2007 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Fred DuBois, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred DuBois, President
Business Category

Batteries - Storage-Retail Internet Shopping

Products & Services

Laptop Battery Express offers the following product(s): Computer Batteries

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment

American Express, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, checks and cash.

Refund and Exchange Policy
Products can be exchanged or refunded within 30 days of sale. A 2 year warranty provides a new replacement if product fails within 2 years of the sale date.
Alternate Business Names
Digital Day, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 529 Main St

    Grafton, OH 44044 (866) 514-2590

  • PO Box 103

    Grafton, OH 44044


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Battery I received had been very sloppily re-manufactured, was thicker than the original, and does not fit in my computer. Repeated customer support calls & e-mails were never answered and never returned. Finally I got an e-mail saying that they would send be a prepaid return label but they never did. I have returned the battery to them asking for it either to be fixed or my money refunded (without and RMA number as they didn't give it to me on the one e-mail they did send me).

Desired Settlement: Either send a battery that works or refund my money.

Business Response: Sorry we missed the customer correspondence.

We will ship a new battery to the customer by month end.
We have a new supply of batteries in route to us.

3/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Battery Ordered on 10/31/14 does not work for Laptop. Emails sent Customer Service requesting Return Mailing Label are not answered.

Desired Settlement: $71.91

Business Response: Sorry for the delay in responding. We were extremely busy during the holiday season.

We are mailing a return label to return the battery for refund.
Additional causes of a battery failure can be a under-powered ac adapter, or accidentally running the battery to empty while in sleep or hibernate mode.
**** ******
Laptop Battery Express

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a battery for my daughter and had it mailed to her ***** ****. I paid $15 for two day delivery it took 4 days. The battery didn't work so I contacted **** ******* at Laptop Battery Express. He siad it was fine to return it for a full refund and also suggested I buy a cord also. I said I did not want the cord my daughter needed the battery working ASAP and we bought one elsewhere. I returned the battery and it has been confirmed delivered with the post office through tracking. I have called numerous times emailed numerous times and now they will not respond to me

Desired Settlement: My $90 refund

Business Response: Hello,

There is some confusion over the definition of 2 day shipping from Fedex and UPS.
This laptop battery was ordered on Thursday evening before the Labor Day weekend.  It was ordered after our shipping cutoff of 6PM on Thursday evening. It was shipped promptly on Friday via Fedex 2 day air shipping as requested. Fedex 2 day delivery does not include weekends or holidays in the calculation of travel days. Since Monday was Labor Day, a Holiday, It is not included in the count for transit days. Day 1 would be Tuesday and day 2 would be Wednesday. This is the day it was delivered. UPS uses the same definition of travel days. The Post Office does as well except that Saturdays are considered work days and there are more holidays on the post office calendar than Fedex & UPS have. There are delivery options to get a delivery on Saturday, but the cost is much higher and it is called Saturday delivery, never  2 day delivery.
The battery was returned for refund and a refund was processed without an issue. We also refunded the shipping costs of $15 even though the battery was delivered in 2 business days.

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased an adapter on Order #***** on 8/11/14. The one we received was not the one advertised. I did get someone on the phone right away at Laptopbatteryexpress, and we had a conference call with him, our computer technician, and me. The vendor figured out the exact adapter we were looking for, and he said he had one that he would send right out to us. I asked about the return of the one we received, and he said I could just send that one back after I received the correct one. Over 2 weeks went by, and we never received anything. Not only that, they are not responding to emails or msgs left on their voicemail. No one is picking up the phone there anymore. We need to return the item they sent because it is not the one advertised. I had to purchase the correct one somewhere else because I was not hearing back from LBE. I have applied for an RMA on-line, but never received any response. This is unacceptable, and we will never purchase from Laptop Battery Express again.

Desired Settlement: We would like an RMA to return the 85W Magsafe Power Adapter for a CREDIT to our credit card.

Business Response: We have apologized for our delayed response in communications. August is our busiest time of year during the back to school rush.  An additional ac adapter was sent to the customer at no charge along with a no cost return label to send the other adapter back. A refund has also been processed for the incorrect adapter.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



***** *******




8/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a battery for my Asus laptop on July 20, 2014 using PayPal. My account was debited the cost of the battery. The order site stated the battery would ship in 3-7 days. I got an email confirmation of the order stating that the order had been received and I would receive another email when the battery shipped. As of July 29 I had not heard anything. I tried to track the order but could not do so. I replied to the companies first email seeking an update on the order. As of July 31 I have still not heard anything from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a reply to my request for status update. If they can not provide the battery in a timely manner I need to know that so I can cancel the order,have my PayPal account credited, and seek a battery elsewhere.

Business Response: The customer has purchased a battery from us. The web site page indicates that this battery is currently out of stock and delivery time is 2-3 weeks.

In addition, we have emaied the customer that the battery is back ordered for another 2 weeks.
We have refunded the customers order in full tp PayPal and cancelled the order effective 8-5-2014.
Best Regards
Fred DuBois
Laptop Battery Express

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  Unfortunately the business missed my response to their inquiry in which they indicated the battery was  back ordered.  I asked that they ship the battery as soon as it was available.  Since the refund has been processed and it took three weeks to get a status on this order I have chosne not to pursue the order further and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



****** *******




7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered what was supposed to be a "genuine" brand new asus battery for a laptop and the picture even showed a genuine asus battery on the picture. So I paid the same price I would have paid for a asus battery for a generic battery which I wouldn't have bought in the first place if I knew it was generic. I had to call like I was placing an order because otherwise I could not get ahold of anyone. The person I spoke with, Fred, said the picture was not taken down and he apologized and said he would send an original asus battery that would take 2 weeks because he had to order it (they did not have any in stock even though the picture showed an asus battery and the description said "original" asus battery). Problem solved until I had to return the laptop the battery was for. I called and again had to push the button like I was placing an order to get ahold of someone. I was told to return it and I would get a refund. This was on July 2nd. Albeit July 4th was a holiday but the tracking number on the post office receipt said my battery was delivered to the address I was given to return it to on July 7th. I called on July 11th and was told they hadn't received it. "*****" did not try to look for the battery until I said I was going to file a complaint with the BBB b/c I needed my money back. She laughed at me and said they had not received the battery regardless of the tracking number saying it was delivered. She said when they received the battery I would get a refund. I looked at the battery on the webpage on 7/12/14 and it still shows the original asus battery picture with the description indicating it's an original battery and not a generic. Even though the owner stated to me he was going to remove it when I first called...

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund including shipping for the problems that I have had. They falsely advertised a battery. On top of that the customer should not have to follow up like this for a refund or be laughed at when they are upset. My entire charge was 94.90. I feel I deserve that since I received the bad customer service and I was made to believe I was ordering an original battery when in fact they didn't have any in stock.

Business Response: Hello. We will resolve the issue with a refund, although the customer indicated they would be happy with an exchange initially. The Battery is described as a replacement battery on our web site, not an Asus brand name battery. Our Xtend brand battery is a high quality battery & carries a 2 year warranty,  double that of Asus. We offered to exchange the battery at no added cost for the Asus brand battery but it would take 10-14 days to arrive. In our conversation over the phone that seemed to be acceptable to the customer at the time. I am sorry we did not see communications earlier that the customer had changed their mind and no longer wanted a replacement. We are not open on weekends & evenings after 6 PM. We have located the battery in our receiving department and will issue a refund.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



******* ********




1/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: LAPTOP BATTERY EXPRESS Subject: Battery QueryComment: These batteries are for work laptops that my employer doesnt reimburse me for maintenance on. When shopping online, the website and the price looked most appealing, and site was easy to navigate through. I found the batteries you recommended for my laptops in a reasonable amount of time. When I installed the 1st battery, in the Inspiron 1545, the battery showed 5% power and shut the computer down. In an attempt to recharge it, I plugged in the power adapter that came with the machine (a new purchase from Dell in 2010). The reading then said plugged in, not charging and stayed on 5%. I shut everything down, according to the instructions that came with the battery, and let it charge over night. The next morning, unplugged charger and turned computer on ... 4%. Your instructions state if the battery gets to 3%, battery is lost forever. Reinstalled original battery and it charged fine. Tried calling for tech support 6 or 7 times Thursday, then same on Friday sent an email request and then texted you on phone number that you called me about shipping info. Calls always end up sending me to voicemail after a minute of music.Now that Ive not had any response and theres no reconciliation for this matter, I want an RMA with Full Refund (less shipping). Ill be returning both batteries. (1st Message sent 9-2-13 message sent 9-13-13) This is my second attempt to get an RMA ... this is a forwarded email of the 1st attempt. I have contacted my credit card company, in an attempt to get a response from your company, to dispute the charge from you. Ignoring my request(s) only aggravates the situation ... Every time I get a survey about my experience with - I tell the truth ...Worst customer service, wont answer the phone, wont answer the emails, buyers beware ... next step (I guess) is the BBB. Call xxx xxx-xxxx and leave a message - when would be a good time to call and get tech support.

Desired Settlement: I want an RMA for the battery sent for the Inspiron 1545 - Dell has proprietary settings in this laptop that will not allow a 3rd party battery to be used. This business owner knows this fact and sells these "replacement" batteries anyway. They also know how the credit card system works and lays low for the 45 day dispute process. 60 day return warranty is about to expire so they send rebuttal to your cc company and the charge reappears. $74.90 refund and I'll pay return shipping.

Business Response: A refund was issued to Mr ***** on 12-2-13.

5/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a laptop battery on 5/15/2013 in the amount of $81.90. They charged my credit card and did not ship a battery. As of today, 5/23/2013, their website indicated that they still have not shipped a battery. I called their customer service number but they do not answer. I left a voice message to call me. No one called. I sent them an email asking to cancel the order and credit my credit card. I have not received a reply.I received my credit card statement and the charge is on the statement. I will not pay for the battery.

Desired Settlement: they should cancel the order and issue a credit in the amount of $81.90 to my credit card.

Business Response: I apologize for the delay in your order.
Your order was shipped via Fedex 4 days ago.
It is scheduled for delivery this next Wednesday.
Here is the Fedex tracking #  ***************

Laptop Battery Express

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



***** ****