BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Renner Management Group Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 237-5567 Fax: (440) 237-3995 10147 Royalton Rd. Ste. D&E, North Royalton, OH 44133 http://www.rennermgmt.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Renner Management Group Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Renner Management Group Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Renner Management Group Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1979 in OH
Business Management
Mr. Jack Renner, President Ms. Diane Renner, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Renner, President
Business Category

Association Management Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 10147 Royalton Rd. Ste. D&E

    North Royalton, OH 44133

  • P.O. Box 33208

    N. Royalton, OH 44133 (440) 237-5567

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in October, Renner Mgmt Group was notified of the pumps not functioning properly and causing basements in several units to flood repeatedly. We were advised the pumps were replaced only to find out the electrical that runs the pumps was bad. On May 13, I was notified by RMG the pumps would be fixed when the electricians schedule permits. Electric was not fixed until a month later. Flooding occured on and off since October. Basements have flooded repeated times causing extensive damage/mold. They refuse to let me open a claim throught them, through All State insurance for internal repairs due to their neglect, that I pay for out of my monthly association fees.On May 13, I contacted RMG about my roof leaking (chimeny) and of holes in my outside wall. On May 16 they sent our ****** ******* who took pictures of the inside/outside of chimneys and submitted the estimate to repair to RMG that day. The ceiling in my room as well bubbling from the leaking and black mold is around my chimney. I was told on 6/19 ****** would be out to fix the chimney's on 6/20 ****** was here for all of 10 minutes and left. I recieved an email saying the rpairs were $3000 and would require Board Approval, to date we have not heard back anything. More rain, more leaking this week the damage as well as the mold continues to grow. The water damange to my basement from flooding as well as leaking into my ceiling attic is causing mold and potential health problems, not to mention damage to furniture and personal items. I have dry wall, carpet etc needeing fixed and replaced. They said they will not file a complaint on my behalf and this is a repair issue and would be treated as such. Only repairs continue to go undone with no communication as to when they will be fixed.

Desired Settlement: Repairs to be made promptly to avoid further damages. Respones to our inquiries/complaints with resolution. Opening up a claim through insurance to replace/fix damages due to their neglect in repairing the issues that caused the damages. I pay my monthly fees on time and expect resolution when a problem arises. They certainly charge enough and nothing gets done. They raised our monthly fees and want another assessment and we get no help at all.

Business Response: *********, As you stated, the pumps were replaced and the electric has been fixed. We had a plumber on standby to help with the pumps while waiting for the electrical connections to be fixed and updated. Unfortunately the cost to fix the chimney's exceeds the amount that the manager can sign off on. The proposal number of $3,450 per chimney has been sent to the Board for approval. We are still waiting for that approval.

Consumer Response:

Chimney repairs were done starting on 8/15/14, 3 months after initially contacting RMG. To date, nothing has been done to repair the holes on the upstairs/outside of my condo as also mentioned in my complaint. I have not heard one thing about these repairs. Waiting 3 months to have leaking chimney repairs in the rainy summer months is unacceptable. My bedroom ceiling has $3000 in damages, RMG refused to open a claim on my behalf through All State Insurance, that I pay for this policy as part of my monthly fees. While I am grateful to FINALLY have the wood surrounding the base of my chimney repaired, the black mold caused by it is still there and the large holes- also letting in water have not even been addressed.  No one who pays almost $300 a MONTH should have to wait 3+ months to have anything repaired ever.

 

Thanks,

********* *****

Business Response: As we understand *** *****'s frustration with it taking time to fix the chimney, Renner Management Group does not hire the contractors, the Board of Directors, for the ******** *********** *** * ***********, hire the contractors. There is a process to bidding the job out and voting on the contractor to hire. That process all takes time. As for the damage inside, *** ***** needs to review her Declarations of Condominium Ownership that will show the Association is only responsible to repair the damage outside and not the damage inside the unit. If *** ***** needs a copy of the Declarations, she can contact the office at 440-******** and a copy can be provided for her.

6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Renner Management Group is the property management company for my former HOA in ********** **. *** ******** is the property manager. I contacted *** ******** back in January regarding the lack of snow removal for my driveway, which is a service I pay to receive by the HOA by-laws. *** stated that he would address this with the snow removal company, however upon each subsequent snow this winter, my driveway was not plowed. I contacted *** each ***e with no response back. Finally, in March, I called him and told him I would not be making my March 1st HOA payment if I did not receive a call back. I never received a call back from *** or anyone at Renner. My next contact with him came on April 2nd when I received a late payment invoice for $10 for the payment I withheld. I contacted *** and he informed me that he would immediately waive the $10 late fee and I needed to put my complaint in writing and he would have it addressed with the board and a response to me by April 18th. I submitted my complaint in writing on April 4th and received no response to my follow up voicemails or emails. I received another late fee invoice in early May that was now for $20. *** ******** had lied to me and had not waived the $10 payment earlier. Now I was incurring an additional charge due to the lack of response by Renner and my HOA board. I spent hours on hold and leaving voicemails for various management personnel at Renner hoping to get some level of response, however I received nothing. I was on hold for an additional hour on Friday before I finally was connected to ***. During this call he informed me that he would be waiving the late fees that day. I went to the closing of my home on Wednesday, May 28th and found that the fees had not been waived. When I called Renner, I was told that *** was not available and the management team had informed the receptionist that the late fees could not be waived. I was lied to AGAIN. At this point, Renner and the HOA are hiding behind one another.

Desired Settlement: Based on the fact that I paid fees to the HOA and Renner for services not received, I am requesting that my home's portion of the money paid to the snow removal services be returned to me along with the $20 in late fees that I have now paid as part of the HUD at my house closing.

Business Response: After speaking with ******, we contacted the association's board and agreed to waive the late fees on her account. I spoke with ****** on June 4 and let her know this decision was made and to expect a check once her closing paperwork was received from the title company. At this time, we consider this matter closed.

7/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a condominium at **** ********* ***** *** ** ******** ********* on 1/4/2013 and the previous owner remained in the condo till 2/1/2013.I received the first bill for the condo association fee on 4/4/2013 as the statement left the condo associatio on 3/29/2013,copy of that is available.the fee was for march and april plus a late fee which was not justified since the they sent the bill at the end of march.I paid the balance for the association fee immediately and refused to pay the late fee since they wereat fault.Then they sent me a coupon book for the rest of the year and they always received the fee 10 days ahead of time.suddenly I received a statemnt on 5/26 requesting double late fee of 50 $ and it included the 25$ initial late fee and another 25$ for refusing to pay the initial late fee of 25 $.It is unethical business practice intende to rob people off disregarding any morals or values especially since they are responsible for sending the initial statement on time.I already sent them what they asked for 50$ unlawful fee .It is a bad start for the relationship between me and this particular association.again it is unethical and immoral business practice which has to be addressed with this particular management company.sincerely ****** ******

Desired Settlement: refund of the doubled late fee and apology for this shameful practice

Business Response: July 8, 2013

Better Business Bureau, Inc.
Attn: ******* *****
2800 Euclid Ave, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115

Re: Complaint ID *******

Dear ******* *****:

When we are notified that a unit has sold, we send a welcome letter to the new owner which informs them of their unit’s monthly maintenance fee amount and where payments should be sent. A welcome letter was mailed on January 15, 2013 to this new owner. A payment was made by the owner on February 20, 2013 which would indicate receipt of the welcome letter.

We follow the collection policy and procedures that have been enacted by each association’s board. Since a payment was not made for this unit’s maintenance fee in March, 2013, a late fee was charged and a statement was sent to the owner to show the balance due.  

The board has voted to waive the late fees. The owner has been informed and we are awaiting his response as to whether he would like the amount refunded in a check or will adjust the next month’s payment.

We believe this matter has been handled according to the association’s procedures and we now consider it closed.

Please feel free to contact me if you need any additional information.

Sincerely,


**** *****
Renner Management Group

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They removed my shrubs in 2009 and said they would be replace them and to date they have not replaced them. I have made phone calls, sent letters and emails asking when the shrubs would be replace. I placed a call today and was advising they sent a letter/email to the board for approval but have not heard back. They tell me the same thing every year. It is not 4 years later and no shrubs. When I moved in here almost 23 years ago I was told they would handle taking care and replacing shrubs. Previously they did replace a couple of them without any problem. One phone call and it was done. This was suppose to be covered by my monthly maintenance when I moved in. I have never had a problem until 2009.

Desired Settlement: Replacement by them of my shrubs as soon as possible.

Business Response: ********** ****** ************************
   
12:27 PM
       
to me

Customer Information:

****** *****
***** ******* ***** *****
***** ********* **** *****


I am unable to speak to what had happened prior to October 2010.

*** ******* shrubs were removed in 2009. As I relayed to *** *****, I follow direction from the Board of Directors at ******* ***** *. Renner Mgmt. acts as their agent.  Renner Mgmt. does not make any decisions or spend any money without the approval of the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors works with a very tight budget and they have felt that the money needed to be spent in other areas. I.E. painting and siding replacement of the units, new roofs, and paving pot holes driveways. (ETC)

As we all know that things change in 23 years and as we don’t always like the changes. *** ***** was given the option to replace her shrubs on her own and at her own expense if she wished to do so. This all comes down to is money and how the board spends their association’s money most wisely.

 

********** ******
10147 Royalton Road ***** ***
North Royalton, Ohio 44133
440-********
440-******** Fax
866-******** Toll Free
***Come and view our NEW Website at: www.rennermgmt.com
We also added a NEW UPDATES & FAQ'S page.
Your email will be returned with in 24-48 hours, if you have an emergency
please contact our office. 

8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past 9 months, I have been trying to get someone to repair a leak above my master bedroom. After contacting Renner Management group, I have had two roofing contractors out to my house to view the damages. Both stated they would schedule a later date for repairs after contacting the management group. I have heard absolutely nothing from Renner Management Group after both of these contractors left my house. Despite multiple calls after each visit, most of which were not even returned, I am still in the same predicament. I am receiving damage to my master bedroom that will cost me money to repair because it isn't an expense the management group covers. To say the least, this has been very frustrating on my part.There is either no intent to issue "expected" repairs covered by maintenance fees or no proper organization in place to properly execute the repairs. I have called Renner Mangement Group on several occasions and I always receive the voicemail of ********* ******. I almost never even receive a call back from her unless I make many consecutive calls. On the occasions I do receive a call back from her she is confused and never knows the history of my situation. I ask for specific items to show work is scheduled in the future and she has never followed up on those items.

Desired Settlement: I would like Renner Management to repair my roof.

Business Response:

July 31, 2012

***** *****

*** ****** *******

********* ******** **** *****

********** ******** *

From: ********** ****** - Renner Mgmt.

Work order was written on February 20, 2012 (*** *****)

Upon receiving your correspondence I contacted the Roofing Company that was given the work order.

The Roofing Company’s owner went out to meet with the unit owner on a Saturday. He reviewed concerns with the unit owner. The Roofing Company sealed roof vents, inspected stack flashings etc. sealed dormer front. (Possible ice back up problem) it was late in the winter season, no more ice in the 2012 winter.

3/28/2012 ********** ****** talked to unit owner to let him know that the Inside walls are the unit owners responsibility according to the Declaration of the Condominium Ownership with By-Laws Easements, Restrictions and Covenants. Renner Management Group serves as the managing agent for Sturbridge Crossing Condominium Association.

7/21/2012 The Roofing Contractor once again went out to see the unit owner on a Saturday and reviewed the items with him. The contractor did not see any fresh damage to the inside, he considered this work order closed and the roof repaired. Desired settlement is to have his roof repaired that has been achieved.

“If ***** ***** does not have a copy of the Declarations of the Condominium Ownership with By-Laws, Easements, Restrictions and Covenants, l can email the documents to him.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I disagree with nearly everything that ********* posted in her response.  Why the interior of my condo was inspected on two different occasions late last year and early this year I "never" heard a response back from either the roof inspector nor Renner Mangement.  On several calls to "Renner Management" numbering around 10 which included a formal fax to the company I have not been able to confirm that the roof was inspected and repaired.  Its been on "very" few occasions that I have even been able to reach the company.  On those occasions, they had no recollection of the progress made toward inspecting/repairing my roof.

Recently, 0n 7/21/2012 an inspector did come by my place on that Saturday morning to review the interior similar to the first two occasions.  On this occasion, I got the roof inspector's direct number.  After a week, I was able to contact the roof inspector directly and he confirmed he stopped by to review the roof.  There is no official documentation  that any work was done but I'm willing to take the roof inspector's word that the roof is in good shape and will not leak.

In response to *********** statement regarding repairs on the interior:

I have never stated I expected Renner Management to repair the interior of my condo.  I only stated that I was "responsible" for the interior and I felt it unfair to receive damage to the interior when they were making no efforts to ensure the roof was repaired and not causing more damage.  I did not want to repair the interior until I was sure no further damage would be done.  This ordeal has taken nearly a 10 months to complete on 7/21/2012.

At this time, I'd like to consider this issue resolved.  I just question the system that Renner Management has in place for dealing with resident concerns.  Although I have a verbal confirmation from inspector that roof is stable and will not leak I still worry because I do not have any official documentation stating this.  What action will I take down the road if a new leak is discovered and further damage is done to the newly repaired interior?  I'd like to reference this posting in case that event comes to pass.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After contacting Renner over 1 month ago we finnally got a contractor to come out to fix an issue with water coming into the home from siding/flashing. The proper fix is to put flashing down under siding that runs the water away from the window instead of on the window and into the home. The contractor said he is just a roof guy and wanted to caulk the area which will not fix the water coming in problem. Jacqueline at Renner called me and said it is up to me to fix the issue because I'm responsible for any window issues even though this is NOT a window issue. I have become frustrated dealing with Jacqueline a hand full of times and find she is too busy to handle her job and multiple tasks. I would prefer to deal with the owner on any further issues.

Desired Settlement: Either complete the issue of water coming into the home or I will have a contractor fix the issue and bill Renner.

Business Response: "Business response not received electronically and not available for viewing."

Consumer Response:

From: ***** ******* *****************************
Sent: Thursday, January 26, 2012 4:04 PM
To: *************************
Subject: Complaint ID *******

 

Since it is almost 2 months to the day since I placed the BBB complaint I had to have a general contractor come out and fix the damage so no more water would be coming in the walls creating more water damage, black mold, etc...

 

Since Renner basically said they cover any damage to the outside of the home then told me the damage is my responsibility I had to fix the issue before it got any worse.

 

For payment I traded my expertise in flooring with material to epoxy paint the contractors garage  for the general contractors material and labor for fixing the flashing under the siding.

 

To place a number on the trade would be in the arena of $200.

 

I can almost 100% guarantee that absolutely nothing will be done here by Renner or the BBB based off how this entire situation has played out so I look forward to the BBB email message back to me saying the complaint is closed with no consequence to Renner.....Please show me how right I am!!!

 

*****