BBB Accredited Business since

Vitale Asphalt Maintenance Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 543-2844 Fax: (440) 543-2909 16945 Munn Rd, Chagrin Falls, OH 44023

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vitale Asphalt Maintenance Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vitale Asphalt Maintenance Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1987 in OK Business incorporated 03/15/1999 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Rosemary R. Vitale, Owner & Vice President Mr. Theodore Vitale Jr., Owner & President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rosemary R. Vitale, Owner & Vice President
Business Category

Asphalt Seal Coating Paving Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Vitale Sealing & Patching Company

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: During an estimate meeting, ******** ****** told me they would regrade my current driveway, excavate the gravel, take away the excess, and pave it with fresh asphalt. She repeatedly indicated that the drive would be at the same height as the current yard. She also agreed to regrading and paving an additional 15' x 15' parking space at the rear of the drive. "Conveniently", the work was done while I was away on vacation. When I returned, I found that the drive appeared to be simply paved over, with a raised asphalt lane 4 - 6 inches above the rest of the yard. Also the parking space measured 11.5' x 17'. I withheld payment of the balance until someone contacted me about these issues. Finally *** ****** came out. It immediately became clear that they were not going to be bothered with me. He insisted they did the job correctly, that my claims were wrong, and that I must pay them the balance. So I agreed to just accept the work I didn't agree to and let it go, chalking it up to the fact that I made a bad decision in hiring them...part of life's learning experiences. I told *** I would send a check next week because the money wasn't currently in my checking account. He seemed not to trust that I would and insisted on being paid right then and there. I said the only way I could pay them at that time was by credit card. He said fine. I showed him the invoice I received (the 2nd one -- the first one they sent me was too low) and told him he could put $3295 on my credit card. He wrote that amount down. He never gave me a receipt -- just took the card numbers. Then when my credit card bill came I saw ****** charged me an additional 3% fee for using a credit card. *** never mentioned there would be a fee, and it was not indicated on either invoice I received. Had I known of the fee at the time I never would have agreed to the credit card payment. I would have stood by my word and sent in a check the following week. I tried resolving this with ****** but they won't discuss it -- I was told that the 3% fee was mentioned on the initial contract I signed months ago -- the same contract that says they were supposed to regrade the drive and put in a 15' x 15' parking space. I feel that ****** engages in deceptive business practices and that their people cannot be trusted or taken at their word. It is a shame because I like the idea of supporting a local business with strong community ties. But it is hard for me to let this 3% fee go -- the idea of paying even more for already unsatisfactory work irritates me.

Desired Settlement: I simply want them to refund my $98.85 so we can be done with each other.

Business Response: I have already sent copy of our contract that she signed clearly stating fees charged.
We did offer to change the addition to her liking.  She declined.
We at no time ever force customers to pay their bills by credit card or any method. 
Their bill was getting close to 60 days past due, if not paid we would have follow common practice for construction and just placed a lien on the property. 
At this time, we are going by the contract. 
Later we will give more detail as the season is extremely busy at this time and *** will make comment in detail regarding contact with customer.
******** ******
Business Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


***** ******

Business Response: I have responded to this.  Where is our response??????

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not understand.  All I see is a blank contract that was never signed.    Are they trying to hold me to a contract which they had previously already broken?  If they expected me to pay a 3% credit card fee on the balance then why didn't it say so on the invoices?  Why didn't *** tell me about the fee when we discussed a payment on the credit card?  Were they trying to deceive me? Is Vitale responding to the issues I have raised or not?  


***** ******


5/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing for services not done. Sealcoating needs to be redone.

Desired Settlement: Refund-Cash

Business Response: This is the first I hear of a problem. 
How can there be a complaint when we were never made aware of a problem.
Can not response until customer calls the office and we investigate.
******** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Vitale Asphalt Maintenance Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)