12/4/2015 So my band played a gig for Gorilla Music on november 21st in Minneapolis. We were told we had advanced to the finals and we have been expecting a cal from them for almost 2 weeks now. We keep calling their number and the promoter who was working with us but they have not answered a single one of our calls. We have messaged them on facebook a few times too. It says that they have seen our messages but still they will not respond to us. They told us that we were going to move onto the finals and play an additional show too for all of the tickets sale we achieved for the initial gig. They promised us a lot and have screwed us over. We went out and made nearly $300 in ticket sales from our group for them and we saw not a single cent go towards us for our work. Gorilla Music is screwing over bands by giving false promises and robbing them of their time. They never held up their end for us in any way, shape, or form.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by B. P. on 12/4/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Everything is fine. I assure you that your band will get everything that you were promised. We are going to call you right away to set up your next show. by on 12/7/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1/2/2015 My band was approached by a gentleman and young lady that worked for Gorilla Music in at a Chicago promo party they were hosting in 2013. after our performance, we were told that they were extremely impressed with our music, professionalism, and merchandise display. We were given a business card by the gentleman and were told to get a hold of him. Not knowing much about the company we did a bit of research and found several negative reviews. Furthermore, we thought that could have been from disgruntled bands about set times, broken promises, etc. We decided it would be in our best interest to contact the gentleman and see what he had to say . He was very kind and professional, and titled himself as a band consultant/manager/adviser. He told us he would get us shows in and around our region and build up our brand, hook us up with discounts, and make it to where we definitely gain some steam. He then told us that his services weren't free and theat they would cost us $300.00 a month to start. Reluctant at first, we decided to try the guy out, after all, he made it seem like it was a worthwhile venture for us to pursue. So we started working with him, and every week we would have a conference call where he would basically recite verbatim out of a book/manual about what we should do. Not impressed with his lackluster advice and consultations, he then laid the big one on us..."hey guys, do you wanna play SXSW (South by Southwest) in Austin, Texas? How about two shows?" Speechless at first, we were star struck with the opportunity, and immediately became interested in the chance to perform at a festival most would dream of playing. We discussed the opportunity internally and came to an agreement that we definitely would want to play. The gentleman explained how in the past Gorilla Music always gave out free drinks and free pizza at the clubs/venues they booked and that always was a success in creating sold out shows for them. After being told that admission to their showcases were free and that Gorilla Music fronts all of the costs to rent the venues, he then dropped the "well...each show will cost you a little over $200". We were immediately thrown for a loop and realized that Gorilla Music is not really a music company, they are a sales company. Obviously, we wanted to play SxSw and we agreed that we wanted to make it happen. After all, what did we have to lose?? The Gorilla guy said he would send us tickets that would equate to free admission and one free drink so it would make it easier to promote the show. What a selling point!! We immediately thought that we could make this opportunity a success because we had free drink tickets we could give away, couple that with a CD of ours, and this could be a homerun to get people in the door. We had to get to work, we started a kickstarter campaign to raise funds for gas, lodging, Gorilla show fees, Gorilla adviser fees, etc. so we could make it to Austin, TX. We ended up meeting our goal of $3500 in 19 days. We set out for Austin, Texas last March with so much optimism. We had all of our merch, our free admission/drink tickets, all of our gear, we were ready to make this a success with the tools Gorilla Music provided for us. We arrived at our first venue, The Red Eyed Fly. Not familiar with how SXSW worked, we got there early so we could gauge parking, load-in, etc. We were greeted by a lady that was subcontracted by Gorilla Music (not an actual Gorilla employee) that would present us with load-in info and other particulars, specifically that we were playing an un-official SXSW showcase. No wonder we couldn't find ourselves on the official website! Not to concerned about official or unoffical showcases...we loaded in...and then immediately took to the streets to start handing out free admission/drink tickets to festival goers. After handing all of our tickets out, we approached the venue and saw a guy at the door checking ID's and taking tickets and saw him turn away like three people we had just told to come see us. Curious as to why they didn't come in...we asked the guy, and the guy (an employee of the venue) informed us that we were misinformed, and no drinks were free. We immediately became angry, because we were lied to. We drove 23 hours to perform under false pretenses. However, we gathered ourselves and realized we could still make some fans by playing our music. Turns out, all the bands were told this same line of B.S. so Gorilla could make money off of them and they not deliver anything in return...just a venue full of bands and musicians to play for one another. Day 2. We were to play at Lucky's Lounge. Again, unfamiliar with the city, we got there early and scoped the area. We eventually loaded in and met with the venue manager for a while. He was a very pleasant guy who was familiar with our hometown. As our set time drew closer, we were curious as to where the sound guy, not to mention, the other bands on the bill were, some of whom had played with us the day before. We were informed by the venue manager that all the bands cancelled because there wasn't a P.A. System adequate enough for 4 and 5 piece bands. Not to mention, there wasn't a sound guy to run sound for the bands. You mean to tell us Gorilla Music booked a show with bands and failed to address one of the most important components of booking live music? Amateur. Oh yeah...and the Free admission/free drink tickets that the Gorilla Music adviser sold us on, yeah, they didn't work for this venue either. We immediately tried to call the Gorilla Music employee and couldn't get a hold of him. Go figure. Trying to figure out what to do, we struck a deal with the venue manager for us to use his little p.a. that was more or less used for karaoke and we performed anyway. I mean, we did drive 23 hours. We had to make it worth our time. What an experience. After we returned home, we immediately cut ties with Gorilla Music. Gorilla Music only delivers false promises, unorganization, lack of support, and snakey-selling strategies and tactics(similar to a used car salesman, but worse). Gorilla Music rents venues, books 9-12 bands from out of town with no local draw, charges a premium price for each band to play, which in turn nets 35-60 musicians standing around playing for each other. My advice for any young band...STAY AWAY. Everything you read that is negative is true. Gorilla Music is a poison. Gorilla Music did absolutely nothing for us but take $900-$1200 of our money in 3 short months. Luckily for my band, we are still together and are now stronger than ever after dealing with clowns like these guys.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by B. B. on 1/2/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
19 people found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.
2/19/2014 My band agreed to play in one of the "battle of the bands" that Gorilla Music was putting together in Myrtle Beach, SC. We were sent a package with some tickets to sell and the info for the show. Later on they posted a flyer on our page. The flyer had the right date but the wrong day(it said Sunday instead of Saturday). Also the arrival times were different. We asked them to put us under our new original band name we are switching to and they did not do that. The show was held in a rather sketchy spot with a poor PA which had no monitors. The sound guy never showed up. The guy who put us on the show and the other guy who coordinated our load in and set time were not even there. I don't know that anyone that actually worked for the company was there. There ended up being 3 bands on the bill and after the crowd vote, which was a close comparison between us and another band, they chose both bands as a winner. I don't mind sharing the glory at all, but it just seems strange and unorganized. Lastly, we have not heard anything about a final round which is where they actually give the prizes away. We played Feb 8th. It has almost been two weeks since our round in the battle.I tried calling our contact listed in the brochure they sent us and the line was disconnected. I tried calling the number of the president of the company also listed in the brochure. that number was disconnected also. I called every number I could find on their website and left a message on three different machines. I never got a call back. I emailed the president of the company explaining everything and asked for an explanation before I wrote this review. He never emailed me back. I remembered another contact that had called me about load in times. I called that number and finally talked to someone. He explained that he heard bad things about the venue and he was trying to find another spot to have the show. He did not ask me (a local) for any advice for a good spot. He told me that he would call back Monday with the details for the final round. That would have been last Monday. He never called back. At this point I do not care to work with them any further. My final thoughts are that it may just be a big money scam. They do these battles in 65 cities from what I can gather from their website. Say they average 4 bands a round for each battle in each city. Each band sells tickets for 8 dollars. Say each band sells 20 tickets on average (a low assumption). 4x20 is 80 and 80x8 is 640. We had four rounds of this in Myrtle Beach. 640x4 is 2560. I do not know if they would sell tickets for the final round also. Either way, if they do this in 65 cities that can easily be 166400 dollars they rake in with very little expense. They print out tickets and I'm sure most cities actually have the final rounds and give prizes like they said. Otherwise they never would have lasted this long. I have read other reviews of similar inconveniences that prevent the last round from happening and things to that nature. Also the whole site is built off of the "Never pay to play!" motto. Of course you should never pay to play. You should get paid. I'm still waiting to see if this final battle happens but the whole thing seems really sketchy.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by MDitp on 2/19/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business *******y, I am sorry about the mix up with the flyer for the show. We try to our best to make the flyers for each show as accurately and as quickly as possible. As a musician and former band mate I know how frustrating it can be when some of the information on the flyers is inaccurate. Please know that we were also disappointed that some of the bands on your show canceled making this show a three band bill. If you look over the paper we sent you, I am sure that you will find that we do advance more than one band per show. I understand that it might seem strange to advance two bands on such a small show. However, I hope that you’ll agree that it is important that we honor our paperwork and our commitment for each event regardless of the number of bands participating. We do try to choose the best venue in each city where we have our events. In reality, there are just a few venues to pick from in each city. In most cases, all the bands are familiar and comfortable with the venues where we hold our events. I am sorry that this was not the case for your band. I would suggest that for all future events you familiarize yourself with the venue before agreeing to perform. As it’s very difficult if not impossible for us to predict how any given band will like a certain venue. I am sure you understand what I mean. Seeing as how your first round event was so recent, I can only assume that there is some confusion regarding the final’s round event. The finals can take several months to take place. Remember that we only advance a few bands from each show and sometime each show is several weeks or even a month apart. However, I can assure you that you will be contacted regarding the finals as soon as it as booked if you haven’t already been contacted. Again, sorry for any inconvenience that you or your band may have experienced. If there is anything I can do to help your next event run more smoothly please let me know. John Michalak johnemichalak@gmail.com by on 2/25/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6 people found this review helpful .
11/11/2013 My band attended a "Battle of the Bands" put on by Gorilla Music. We were told our time slot was between 5 and 7 pm, and received documentation explaining the gig. When we arrived we handed our tickets in to a representative, who then told us that they did not book two sound engineers. Apparently, they were putting on two shows at a time, a Battle of the Bands finals, and our show another Battle of the Band pre-lim round in the other room. I am a sound engineer, and offered but my services were refused. My band and 4 other bands were forced to leave the venue due to the mistake of the Gorilla Music group, and the venue. I was then told by Gorilla Music group representatives that they were familiar in being "shady", meaning they are familiar in doing unorthodox business. This is the most patronizing, and low blow I have ever seen a promotion company do, and I am outraged.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by marsh m. on 11/11/2013 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi, My name is John Michalak and I am one of the owners of Gorilla Music. I am truly sorry about the mix up that occurred over the weekend. Frankly, I am not sure why the venue only had one soundman for our two events. Unfortunately, our company does not have control over the sound equipment, which leaves us at the mercy of the venue. When you work with hundreds of clubs and thousands of bands these kinds of things do happen, but they are rare. I am told that the venue and our representative took every measure to try to accommodate the bands including allowing the bands to play in the bigger room after the finals round. Frankly, I am not sure why that wasn’t considered by the bands as it was a very good solution. Regardless, I would be happy to reschedule your band on another upcoming show. Please let me know what we can do to make this unfortunate situation better, and again please accept my apologies. John Michalak by on 11/11/2013

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4 people found this review helpful .