This business is not BBB accredited.

Hogg Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (440) 888-9534 Fax: (440) 888-0889 View Additional Phone Numbers 7650 State Rd, Parma, OH 44134 http://www.hoggheating.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Hogg Heating & Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Hogg Heating & Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Hogg Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1990 in OH Business incorporated 01/01/1994 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618
On 2/11/2014 BBB confirmed that the license from Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board expired.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Dinnin, Owner Mr. John W. Dinnin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Dinnin, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors Plumbers

Industry Tips

A well maintained heating and cooling system will save you money. Have your system checked every year by a qualified technician. Since fuel costs may continue to rise, the long-term economy of buying energy-efficient equipment should be a consideration even though the initial cost may be high. When selecting a contractor for service or maintenance, check the reputations of several firms with friends, neighbors and yourBBB. Obtain two or three written estimates for the work to be done and each bid should provide a full description of the services provided. Then, compare the costs of your bids, the size and capacity of the equipment proposed, the warranty offered and who will honor it, what it covers and for how long. Always keep a copy of all documents for your records. Be wary of unscrupulous individuals who may use scaretactics when evaluating your need. If in doubt, contact another contractor for a second opinion.

Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7650 State Rd

    Parma, OH 44134

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had called Hogg Heating and Cooling to conduct a clean and furnace check which they advertised in a local mailing flyer with coupons for the service in the amount of $69. They came to my home October 29th and I paid for the service call with a debit card. When I conduct a review of my account because I notice my account balance was not to what it should be, I found 2 additional charges to my account on October 30th in the amount of $69 and $ 508. Another charge to my account on November 3rd in the amount of $69. I contacted the business and the bank to resolve the issue of unauthorized charges against my account. Speaking with a **** ***** on November 6th, the business was to refund me the money and had blamed the incident on a new employee. As of this date I have not heard from the business. On November 10th I filed a police report with the Parma Police Department for theft. Huntington Bank has filed a dispute complaint against the company and the business is not cooperating with the bank.

Desired Settlement: The business needs to refund the bank and apology to me for the way this issue had been handled in such a poor matter that I would not recommend them to anyone. They refuse to refund the money they stole from my account and should be prosecuted.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hogg Heating was selected to install a York furnace with Aprilaire humidifier in our home in December, 2011. Several days after installation, the furnace would shut off periodically and blow only cold air. Hogg Heating explained that faulty ductwork was to blame. Subsequently, Hogg Heating was contracted to replace ductwork in our basement to alleviate the problem. After ductwork replacement, furnace continued to periodically blow only cold air. We were told that it was due to the remaining ductwork in the house, and that there was nothing else they could do.Regular yearly maintenance was performed by Hogg heating in 2012 and 2013, which included furnace clean/check and replacement of furnace and humidifier filters.In January, 2014, the humidifier would not operate. Hogg Heating was called again, and the company owner performed the service. I again mentioned the furnace only blowing cold air. He told me the "flame sensor" was bad and required replacement, along with a bad humidistat on the humidifier. Why wasn't the flame sensor replaced when the problems began soon after the initial furnace installation? He also replaced filters on the furnace and humidifier that had been replaced during the yearly clean/check in October, 2013. I was charged a total of $400.00 for repairs to a furnace that is only two years old, that had been regularly maintained by the company that originally installed it.

Desired Settlement: At the least, I would like a refund of my $400.00.

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/15/13 I requested their furnace cleaning for $69. After the repairman completed the cleaning I was given a bill for over $344 however I had not been notified of this and had never authorized this service. He took off the cost of the cleaning reducing the price to $265.90. Feeling pressured as this was being discussed in front of my 6 year old son, I wrote him a check and signed the paper saying the work was completed so he would leave. I contacted the company (about 20 minutes after he left) and informed them what had occurred. I stated I would pay the $69 I had authorized but I would stop payment on the check until we could work something out about the rest. In a follow up phone call I had agreed they could take their parts back however wanted my furnace returned to the way it was. This was followed by several phone calls from their staff in which I was threated that the police were called and coming to my home because I stole their parts, I was hung up on twice, cussed at, and told never to call them again. He returned and took back his parts and replaced my parts. As he left he again threatened that the police would have come to my home and this was stated in front of my son and peeled out of my driveway. I have since researched and found this is in violation of Ohio Administrative Code 109:4-3-05 section D6 which states it is a deceptive act for a supplier (repair person) to charge for any repair or service which has not been authorized by the consumer.

Desired Settlement: Due to Hogg Heating's staff and repairman's threatening behaviors I do not wish to have them back in my home. My concern is my furnace was not broken to begin with however I can not prove this. At this time I do not think this can be resolved in a satisfactory way due to their behavior.

Business Response: With regard to this complaint, I would like to advise as follows:  Ms. ******* called for a Clean & Check.  A clean and check is $69.00 and is a routine maintenance that is performed on a furnace that is operating and is something that should be done yearly to either keep your warranty or to ensure no breakdowns.  Upon arrival at Ms. *******, she had no heat.  That is a different charge as there is a diagnostic charge that is $97.95 which also includes the trip charge.  **** ******, diagnosed and quoted Ms. ******* for her replacement part.  Ms. ******* agreed to have the part installed.  All parts are quoted prior to being installed.  **** installed the part, Ms. ******* paid him signed his invoice and he left.  Shortly after he left she contacted the office claiming that she cannot afford the part and was simply going to stop payment on her check.  I asked her if her heat was working and she claimed that it was working fine, but she just couldn't afford it.  At that time, I explained that if she stopped payment we would have to make arrangements to pick up the part, which would now be a used part and would be of no use to us, we could return her check but she would still have to pay the service charge of $97.95.  Now 3 hours of our valuable time has been taken and we can no longer sell the part since it was installed.  We made arrangements to pick up the part, **** had left their old broken part with them during the original call.  We collected $69.00 which was a charge for a clean & check.  And we left.  The customer was not honest when she called and thought perhaps since she could not afford it we would give it to her for free.  We also wish her the best of luck but would appreciate that she did call someone else in the future.  Her furnace is older and she will continue have problems if regular maintenance is not performed.  I apologize for the delay in my rebuttal, however I have been out taking care of my mother who is ill.  Thank you, **** ******

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Hogg Heating and Cooling for a cleaning and check up on our 2005 Carrier furnace, $139 for cleaning and check with a filter, based on a $69 coupon. Just a few days later the furnace began to make noise. Called Hogg to check out the noise. The technician checks it out and advises us that the blower motor is running hot and going bad. The motor was covered under warranty, so no charge. However, this two hour repair still incurred a $98 service charge AND $312 in labor costs. The next day we discovered a leak in the PVC vent piping that exhausts from the same blower motor that was replaced. I observed the technician aggressively pulling on this same pipe while removing the old motor. We contacted their emergency service number. The technician responded but implied that it was not his fault but would be happy to fix it at an additional cost. We have since decided not to have this company back in our home. One visit leads to more costly repairs.

Desired Settlement: We feel that we were overcharged and the work that was done was not professional and simply incurred unexpected problems with a furnace that had not given us any problems prior to this cleaning and check up.

Business Response:

On 2/14/13 **** ****** arrived at ****** ******'s home for a scheduled clean and check which was advertised in the Val Pak flyer for $69.00.  This is the first time we have ever been to the ****** residence.  The furnace was operating and a clean and check was done on the furnace for $69.00 along with a filter 16 x 25 x 4 Honeywell Hepa Filter replacment for 45.00 and an Aprilaire Humidifier water panel for $25.00 totaling the $139.00.  We did bill her for the clean and check at the advertised price, filters and humidifier panels are additonial and quoted to customer for approval prior to replacement.  Ms. ****** was aware that we were not charging her $139.00 for the clean and check as she stated in her complaint.   On 2/22/13 Ms. ****** called stating that it was making a loud noise and we arrived at her home on 2/22/13 at 10:00 a.m.  At that time, we noticed that her inducer motor on her furnace was making a loud noise.  We recommended replacement of the inducer motor and were in the process of quoting her on replacement, when **** learned from the Distributor that her Inducer motor was in fact under warranty and only labor would be billable.  Ms. ****** was not even aware that the parts were under warranty and was happy to know that **** was honest about the warranty.  Labor charges were quoted at that time and Ms. ****** gave approval for the replacment of the motor which had to be picked up at the supply house returned to Ms. ******'s home and installed.  Her bill came to $409.95, due to the fact that Carrier brand Inducer Motor Assemblies come in pieces and must be built on site, which is labor intensive.  **** gave Ms. ****** a credit on her bill of $9.95 and charged her $400.00 which she agreed to pay on her credit card.  On Saturday 2/23/12 at approximately 6:27 p.m. our answering service received a call from Ms. ****** stating that we pulled some kind of pipe in her home and was upset and requesting a call back.  **** called Ms. ****** at approximately 7:00 p.m. on Saturday 2/23/13 no answer left a message.  **** called again on 2/23/13 at approximately 7:30 p.m. and once again received no answer.  **** called Ms. ****** again on Sunday at 9:30 a.m. and left another message and never received a call back from Ms. ****** either to our answering service or during business hours the following week.  Ms. ****** now has determined that she used another contractor.  Ms. ****** has a 30 day labor warranty on her repair, which is clearly stated on our invoices.  It was Ms. ******'s choice to allow another company to come out and not to have us come out under warranty to address her needs and concerns.  We feel that if Ms. ****** would have answered our phone calls after she called for Emergency Service then this matter would have been resolved without the arbitration of the BBB.  We cannot force her to call us back or allow us in her home.  If you have any questions or concerns with regard to the above, please feel free to contact me at any time.  Sincerely **** ******   (Please see attachments)