BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Hogg Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (440) 888-9534 Fax: (440) 888-0889 View Additional Phone Numbers 7650 State Rd, Parma, OH 44134 http://www.hoggheating.com/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 5/20/2014 this business’s accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that: 1B. Fulfill all licensing and bonding requirements of applicable jurisdictions; provide all license and bonding information upon application for BBB accreditation; and provide periodic updates upon request of BBB. 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:

  1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
  2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
    • is professional,
    • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
    • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
    • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Hogg Heating & Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Hogg Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 03, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1990 in OH Business incorporated: 01/01/1994 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618
On 2/11/2014 BBB confirmed that the license from Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board expired.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Dinnin, Owner Mr. John W. Dinnin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Dinnin, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors Plumbers

Industry Tips

A well maintained heating and cooling system will save you money. Have your system checked every year by a qualified technician. Since fuel costs may continue to rise, the long-term economy of buying energy-efficient equipment should be a consideration even though the initial cost may be high. When selecting a contractor for service or maintenance, check the reputations of several firms with friends, neighbors and yourBBB. Obtain two or three written estimates for the work to be done and each bid should provide a full description of the services provided. Then, compare the costs of your bids, the size and capacity of the equipment proposed, the warranty offered and who will honor it, what it covers and for how long. Always keep a copy of all documents for your records. Be wary of unscrupulous individuals who may use scaretactics when evaluating your need. If in doubt, contact another contractor for a second opinion.

Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7650 State Rd

    Parma, OH 44134

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 502-4508(Phone)
  • (216) 749-4058(Phone)
  • (440) 499-5564(Phone)
  • (440) 565-4966(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hogg Heating was selected to install a York furnace with Aprilaire humidifier in our home in December, 2011. Several days after installation, the furnace would shut off periodically and blow only cold air. Hogg Heating explained that faulty ductwork was to blame. Subsequently, Hogg Heating was contracted to replace ductwork in our basement to alleviate the problem. After ductwork replacement, furnace continued to periodically blow only cold air. We were told that it was due to the remaining ductwork in the house, and that there was nothing else they could do.Regular yearly maintenance was performed by Hogg heating in 2012 and 2013, which included furnace clean/check and replacement of furnace and humidifier filters.In January, 2014, the humidifier would not operate. Hogg Heating was called again, and the company owner performed the service. I again mentioned the furnace only blowing cold air. He told me the "flame sensor" was bad and required replacement, along with a bad humidistat on the humidifier. Why wasn't the flame sensor replaced when the problems began soon after the initial furnace installation? He also replaced filters on the furnace and humidifier that had been replaced during the yearly clean/check in October, 2013. I was charged a total of $400.00 for repairs to a furnace that is only two years old, that had been regularly maintained by the company that originally installed it.

Desired Settlement: At the least, I would like a refund of my $400.00.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/15/13 I requested their furnace cleaning for $69. After the repairman completed the cleaning I was given a bill for over $344 however I had not been notified of this and had never authorized this service. He took off the cost of the cleaning reducing the price to $265.90. Feeling pressured as this was being discussed in front of my 6 year old son, I wrote him a check and signed the paper saying the work was completed so he would leave. I contacted the company (about 20 minutes after he left) and informed them what had occurred. I stated I would pay the $69 I had authorized but I would stop payment on the check until we could work something out about the rest. In a follow up phone call I had agreed they could take their parts back however wanted my furnace returned to the way it was. This was followed by several phone calls from their staff in which I was threated that the police were called and coming to my home because I stole their parts, I was hung up on twice, cussed at, and told never to call them again. He returned and took back his parts and replaced my parts. As he left he again threatened that the police would have come to my home and this was stated in front of my son and peeled out of my driveway. I have since researched and found this is in violation of Ohio Administrative Code 109:4-3-05 section D6 which states it is a deceptive act for a supplier (repair person) to charge for any repair or service which has not been authorized by the consumer.

Desired Settlement: Due to Hogg Heating's staff and repairman's threatening behaviors I do not wish to have them back in my home. My concern is my furnace was not broken to begin with however I can not prove this. At this time I do not think this can be resolved in a satisfactory way due to their behavior.

Business Response: With regard to this complaint, I would like to advise as follows:  Ms. ******* called for a Clean & Check.  A clean and check is $69.00 and is a routine maintenance that is performed on a furnace that is operating and is something that should be done yearly to either keep your warranty or to ensure no breakdowns.  Upon arrival at Ms. *******, she had no heat.  That is a different charge as there is a diagnostic charge that is $97.95 which also includes the trip charge.  **** ******, diagnosed and quoted Ms. ******* for her replacement part.  Ms. ******* agreed to have the part installed.  All parts are quoted prior to being installed.  **** installed the part, Ms. ******* paid him signed his invoice and he left.  Shortly after he left she contacted the office claiming that she cannot afford the part and was simply going to stop payment on her check.  I asked her if her heat was working and she claimed that it was working fine, but she just couldn't afford it.  At that time, I explained that if she stopped payment we would have to make arrangements to pick up the part, which would now be a used part and would be of no use to us, we could return her check but she would still have to pay the service charge of $97.95.  Now 3 hours of our valuable time has been taken and we can no longer sell the part since it was installed.  We made arrangements to pick up the part, **** had left their old broken part with them during the original call.  We collected $69.00 which was a charge for a clean & check.  And we left.  The customer was not honest when she called and thought perhaps since she could not afford it we would give it to her for free.  We also wish her the best of luck but would appreciate that she did call someone else in the future.  Her furnace is older and she will continue have problems if regular maintenance is not performed.  I apologize for the delay in my rebuttal, however I have been out taking care of my mother who is ill.  Thank you, **** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Hogg Heating and Cooling for a cleaning and check up on our 2005 Carrier furnace, $139 for cleaning and check with a filter, based on a $69 coupon. Just a few days later the furnace began to make noise. Called Hogg to check out the noise. The technician checks it out and advises us that the blower motor is running hot and going bad. The motor was covered under warranty, so no charge. However, this two hour repair still incurred a $98 service charge AND $312 in labor costs. The next day we discovered a leak in the PVC vent piping that exhausts from the same blower motor that was replaced. I observed the technician aggressively pulling on this same pipe while removing the old motor. We contacted their emergency service number. The technician responded but implied that it was not his fault but would be happy to fix it at an additional cost. We have since decided not to have this company back in our home. One visit leads to more costly repairs.

Desired Settlement: We feel that we were overcharged and the work that was done was not professional and simply incurred unexpected problems with a furnace that had not given us any problems prior to this cleaning and check up.

Business Response:

On 2/14/13 **** ****** arrived at ****** ******'s home for a scheduled clean and check which was advertised in the Val Pak flyer for $69.00.  This is the first time we have ever been to the ****** residence.  The furnace was operating and a clean and check was done on the furnace for $69.00 along with a filter 16 x 25 x 4 Honeywell Hepa Filter replacment for 45.00 and an Aprilaire Humidifier water panel for $25.00 totaling the $139.00.  We did bill her for the clean and check at the advertised price, filters and humidifier panels are additonial and quoted to customer for approval prior to replacement.  Ms. ****** was aware that we were not charging her $139.00 for the clean and check as she stated in her complaint.   On 2/22/13 Ms. ****** called stating that it was making a loud noise and we arrived at her home on 2/22/13 at 10:00 a.m.  At that time, we noticed that her inducer motor on her furnace was making a loud noise.  We recommended replacement of the inducer motor and were in the process of quoting her on replacement, when **** learned from the Distributor that her Inducer motor was in fact under warranty and only labor would be billable.  Ms. ****** was not even aware that the parts were under warranty and was happy to know that **** was honest about the warranty.  Labor charges were quoted at that time and Ms. ****** gave approval for the replacment of the motor which had to be picked up at the supply house returned to Ms. ******'s home and installed.  Her bill came to $409.95, due to the fact that Carrier brand Inducer Motor Assemblies come in pieces and must be built on site, which is labor intensive.  **** gave Ms. ****** a credit on her bill of $9.95 and charged her $400.00 which she agreed to pay on her credit card.  On Saturday 2/23/12 at approximately 6:27 p.m. our answering service received a call from Ms. ****** stating that we pulled some kind of pipe in her home and was upset and requesting a call back.  **** called Ms. ****** at approximately 7:00 p.m. on Saturday 2/23/13 no answer left a message.  **** called again on 2/23/13 at approximately 7:30 p.m. and once again received no answer.  **** called Ms. ****** again on Sunday at 9:30 a.m. and left another message and never received a call back from Ms. ****** either to our answering service or during business hours the following week.  Ms. ****** now has determined that she used another contractor.  Ms. ****** has a 30 day labor warranty on her repair, which is clearly stated on our invoices.  It was Ms. ******'s choice to allow another company to come out and not to have us come out under warranty to address her needs and concerns.  We feel that if Ms. ****** would have answered our phone calls after she called for Emergency Service then this matter would have been resolved without the arbitration of the BBB.  We cannot force her to call us back or allow us in her home.  If you have any questions or concerns with regard to the above, please feel free to contact me at any time.  Sincerely **** ******   (Please see attachments)

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sirs:On May 4 and May 5, there were problems diagnosing the repair of our air conditioner. Finally, the contractors decided to replace 30 amp contactor at $l20.00. The next day the contractor put in a new White-Rodgers programmable thermostat at $l25.00,The only thing that was wrong, was a jumper wire, that should not have been there. We are unable to contact them, as ours calls are ignored.Any help you can give us, would be appreciated. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: refund for thermostat and 30 amp contactor

Business Response: Customer agreed to $50.00 refund, we are not issuing due to negligence, we are issuing due to a misunderstanding.  His check will be cut 5/25/12, we cut checks on the last Friday of every month.  *** ****** should receive his refund of $50.00 that he agreed to with **** of Hogg HEating no later than 5/29/12 by USPS.  Thank you, ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i call hogg heating & cooling to have a clean&check for $69.00 the guy came out clean the furnace and adjust the heat censer so it wood not tern back on when i call the office and told them what happen and let them know i have a uncle that stays out of town who is a license heating & cooling contractor for business and residential and he told me to just adjust it and it work and that the guy try to get me to buy more services that i did not need the lady told me to **** *** and call my uncle next time .and the crazy thing is i gave him 80$ and told him to buy lunch

Desired Settlement: i think it was rong for the guy to do this take vantage of me and probably others who dont have someone to tern to for info like i did i think if any thing hogg shod refund me

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The company's response was not sent electronically and therfore, is unavailable for viewing.  

2/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/26/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2009, we contracted Hogg to run a hot water line off our boiler to an air handler (or blower) that heats one room in our house, a new addition. The objective was to enable that one room to be heated as a zone in the house on a separate thermostat. (We do not have any other means of heating this room, as we do not have hot water radiators in it.)Hogg performed this work for a cost of $1,648. However, there is a big problem. Every time the the boiler is called upon to heat the hot water for the addition, it also heats the hot water for all the radiators in the house. As a result, we have one of two choices: either over heat the house or under heat the addition. The two thermostats are not coordinated. The addition is not a properly working, independent zone.Jack came out to assess the problem this fall and explained that we needed another zone valve installed, which would require re-plumbing an area near the boiler. He provided an estimate for this work of $987.Since we previously contracted and paid him to set up our addition as an independently function zone, we do not see why we are having to pay another $1,000 to get this result. Clearly, his work from two years ago was not complete. He left out a critical component, the second zone valve.H. F. Hann, another heating and cooling contractor, visited our house and assessed Jack's work last week and confirmed that the original work was incomplete and should have incorporated two zone valves, not one.

Desired Settlement: We would like Hogg to return to our house and complete the work required to achieve the original objective, to set up the addition as an independently functioning zone. If **** incorrectly assessed what was required to achieve the original objective, we understand. But he cannot expect us to cover him for that oversight at a cost of $987. We'd be willing to cover the cost of the parts only, the copper tubing and, fitting and zone valve

Business Response:

We will contact *** **** and schedule an appointment for **** to come back out to his home and try our best to rectify this situation.  I would also like to apologize for the delay in my response, i have been out of the office.  Thank you, **** ******

Consumer Response: The consumer's rebuttal was not received electronically and is not available for viewing.

Business Response:

I have left voice mail for *** ******* to contact us to schedule a time for **** to see him.  I am waiting for his response.  Thank you, **** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved