BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential moving & storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jeffers Moving & Storage Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jeffers Moving & Storage Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jeffers Moving & Storage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 28, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Shelton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Shelton, Owner
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Choosing a Storage Facility Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jeffers Moving & Storage Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 4250

    Cincinnati, OH 45242

  • 890 Kieley Place

    Cincinnati, OH 45217 (513) 232-9131 (513) 631-1435 (513) 793-7264

  • PO Box 10

    Amelia, OH 45102

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this Company to move me to my new address. They assured me they would start at 8:00 am and they did not arrive til closer to 12:30 pm. I had to alter my plans for the day. I was solely relying on them by this point and needed to move so I had to proceed. They moved me nicely, sufficiently, and even quickly. But when they began to quote the price I felt locked in and I felt it was a little to steep for me to pay. The amount was $411. I lived in a small 1 room apartment and that seemed a bit much. We agreed upon $109 for 2 men per hour - I was not aware of the mileage, but that was okay. I later called the business before filing a complaint with you and the owner agreed that they over charged me for the time. He said he would only charge me for 3 hours as opposed to the 3 - 1/2 hours originally charged and would send me a check in the mail... that was approx. 1 month ago. I have not received a check, my mail is forwarded if it was mistakenly sent to the old address and they have my phone number. I was hurt when they charged me so much, when you are moving every penny counts. Then when I called and he said he would send me the check I trusted him and was hopeful. This just makes me feel that this is not a reputable Company. I checked with you first and found them here is the reason I chose them. Please help however you can. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: He promised to send me check for $65 - I felt that was not enough; but I am happy with that.

Business Response: 3/24/15 -- Called and spoke with *** *******. He said the complaint had been dumped into his spam mail and he just noticed it yesterday. He couldn't open the file so I read him the complaint over the phone. He was familiar with the situation. He is putting a check in the mail for $65 to ***** ****** Said he had intended to do this earlier but didn't get to it. He also said he would call Ms. Wills today to let her know he is mailing the check today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 
I did get a call with a promise but I got that before, when I receive a check I will let you know.
 
Regards,

***** *****

11/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the Jeffers to move me. When I called to set up the move I spoke with the owner of the company. My move was to start a 8am on Wed. morning. The movers came at 8 15. ne of the movers asked if he could put a bottle of water in my freezer. I looked at him. He put it in the freezer any way. Then they started. Then they went to the truck and was there for about 15 mins. I told them we need to get this done. Then they started working. finally got everything on the truck after so many breaks The one mover told me he was blind. I told him he should not be doing this kind of work. So we get to the new place. I come and show then how to get moving. One of the movers is standing drinking more water. Talking about how hot he was. I told them we need to get this done. I dHe no not see them for a little while. I go looking for them One is standing looking out of the window. I told him I need to get this done please. He got very upset and was talking very loud. I went to the back to call the owner back. To tell him what was happening. He seem like he didn't care at all. So then the movers gave me my bill. It was $486 I told them no way. I am only paying for the time they were working. I called the owner. He and I went around and around. Then we came to 360. I paid it. Before the movers Left I saw a big hole in the back of one of my dresser. I showed it to the movers. Then I saw other thing that were damaged. The then the mover asked me to sign that everything was fine I told him no. I called the owner I was upset. He told me he would come out to see the damage. Three days went by. I called him he said he was on his way. I waited for three hours. He finally came. He did not take any pictures. He looked and told me some one would call me. I waited two weeks no call. I called him back he told me he was working on it and I would get some thing in the mail. Nothing ever came in the mail. I called back. He said he was done working on it and put it in the mail.. Nothing ever came. I called him today 9-9-14. He told me to have some one to come fix my thing and send him the bill. I told him no. I told him to send some one. Then he got up set and said he was done with it. I told him my things needs to be fixed. He told me to have it fixed and he would pay me back. I told him no. Then he got very upset and ended the call.

Desired Settlement: I want my things fixed the are not that old.

Business Response: Movers arrived within 10-15 minutes of arranged time, customer told movers she had a plane to catch (which she did not tell us about beforehand) and could they hurry up. Customer got in the way telling the movers how to do their job, which caused delays, and refused to pay the entire bill, citing damages. I inspected the items and offered to accept the amount she had paid, letting her keep the rest for damages.  The looking out the window issue the customer referred to was the mover looking for a shortcut into the apartment complex to save time unloading. Customer was charged $486.00 for 4.5 hours and she paid $360.00.

Joe Shelton
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Regards,

****** ******
 

I made the owner aware of this problem right away. He has never tried to fix the problem.

My daughter dresser has a very big hole in the back. My dresser is a lot of scratches on one side.

My dinning room table has very big nicks in it on one side. My dinning china in very big nicks in it.

The movers did not work the hole time they were there. Yes I had to ask them to keep working

they keep stopping for water breaks and the mover was day dreaming out of the window. One of the movers told me he was blind. I told him he

should  not have this job. I have tried to get this matter taken care of. The owner came to see

the damages. He took no pictures no notes. He just walked out of the door and said

someone would get back to me. No one ever did so I had to call him many of times.

He just told me lies. He told me he mailed something to me. Nothing ever came so I called him

back. Then the owner tried to trick me into paying to have my things fixed. I told him no he

got upset. And ended the call. I have not spoken to him since then.

This is not a good company for any one to use.  The one mover that told me he was blind got very

loud in the hall way. After I asked him to get back to work. I told the owner about that to he never

said nothing about it.

 

Consumer Response: Per phone call: The customer did not receive a written estiimate. She only received a verbal of 325.00


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Jeffers Moving & Storage Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart