BBB Accredited Business since

Graebel Van Lines

Phone: (513) 874-4662 Fax: (513) 860-4738 View Additional Phone Numbers 9085 Le Saint Drive, Fairfield, OH 45014 http://www.graebel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Graebel Van Lines meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Graebel Van Lines include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Graebel Van Lines
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 04/14/1983 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Susan Vance, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Vance, General Manager
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Graebel Cincinnati Movers, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Graebel Van Lines has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9085 Le Saint Drive

    Fairfield, OH 45014 (513) 874-4662 (800) 383-4607 (888) 880-6818

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were given an estimate of approximately of 1300 to move our house by their representative Chase. About five hours into the move the movers told me they didn't have enough nan power or packing materials to finish the job in the seven hours that they were given to pack and move our items so that were going to simply pack the large things and the rest was our issue. We called the office and complained.. I also attempted to call Chase and he never returned my call. The movers drove to our new house with what they had . As they were unloading I finally was able to speak to sue who said. They'll finish but I had to pay an extra 140 an hour.. I said what choice did I have? They finally finished after an additional 5 hrs of overtime. While talking to one of the movers he told me they do this all the time..they approximately weighed our move at 3 thousand lbs when in reality it was over 7. We feel they gave us a deceptively gave us a low estimate knowing they would have to go over the time alotted and they could charge us overtime. In tge least we feel we were deceived. At most it was extortion.

Desired Settlement: I also want compensation for stress and frustration caused by the deceptive practice caused a financial issues for me and my family..

Business Response:

The initial estimate provided to the ****** ******** was for Graebel to move 6391 pounds estimated to take 3 men & a truck 8 hours including the drive time and to provide packing material of 38 cartons of various sizes.  The total non binding estimated move cost was $1367.00 . 

After several hours on location day of the move the crew did advise the ********'s that they felt the job would take more time than estimated.  At that time there was some discussion with Mr. ******** regarding the additional time needed and he indicated he felt he had no choice so needed the crew to continue.  We did offer to Mr. ******** at that time the option to only continue with moving the large items if he wanted to move the smaller items on his own to control costs.  A subsequent discussion was held with **** ******** who is Mr. ********'s mother as she had provided the payment for the moving services and her authorization was needed to charge the addtional amount to her credit card.  I did also indicate to **** that we would not charge any overtime rates since the job would now continue into evening hours.

After review of the paperwork upon completion of the work it was apparent that the ********'s had the crew perform packing services which were not included in the original quoted cost.  The initial quote only included packing material and transportation labor costs.

The move did end up taking a total of 13.5 hours which includes the drive time and additionally packing material & packing labor for 65 cartons.  It is my belief the additional time taken to complete the move was a direct result of the additional services required for the packing labor and additional materials.

I would be happy to offer Mr. ******** a discount of $100 as a gesture of goodwill.   

Sincerely,

Susan V****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]
I was told by THEIR movers they were given only 7 hrs to move.. 40 boxes to do it and it was only just over 3 thousand pounds. They also told me if they were aware of the amount they would never had accepted our move because two of the movers had plans at four. One had a softball game and one had a pig roast. 

I only agreed to move ANYTHING because the movers said they weren't given more than 40 boxes and didn't have anymore to complete the move safely..chase also said we'd receive a "bing sheet" that would account for every box and item. We never received such a sheet.. I attempted to call chase when I was first aware of the weight . boxes and time issue. He never returned my call.  They also broke my daughters bed boards.
I want to OPT-IN to passing our story to the media so others may avoid this moving company..
Regards,

**** ********

Business Response:

Though I understand and appreciate Mr. ********'s frustration, we did provide a written non binding estimate of charges to ****** ******** which detailed the estimated services and included the estimated weight of the shipment.   I have attached a copy of the signed Order for Service which details the estimated costs, packing and weight estimated.  As indicated in Mr. ********'s original complaint, the actual shipment weight was 7000# so the estimated weight was accurate to within 10%.

The actual move cost was higher than estimated because of the additional packing services requested by the ********'s on the day of service. 

Mr. ******** is accurate in that he did attempt to contact his sales rep on the day of the move, he was out of the office at that time which is why he was immediately directed to the General Manager for discussion/resolution. 

It is regrettable that Mr. ******** feels as though he has been treated unfairly but the actual charges are basedon the actual services performed.

The aforementioned $100 goodwill gesture has been applied to the total move balance as previously offered and I will make certain a claim form is sent out to Mr. ******** immediately so that a claim can be filed for the damaged bed parts so that issue can be properly assessed and addressed accordingly.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Its obvious that this company refuses to take responsibly for the fruad they committed.. Their own movers said they double book in the summertime because people want to move before schooll starts and things needed to change. As far as chase not being in the  office.. I callwd hos cell phone and left a meesdage staring he didnt give me enough man power and. He estimated my move at 3000 lds NOT the over 6 it ended up being. Unless chase is a complete itdiot he should know how his job.. He told us he ALWAYS over estimates the load and thats what sold us on going with this compsny..  At this point I feel legal action is my only recourse. ..I'm going to seek depositions from each person involved in my move... And demand compensation for my time and continued frustration
Sincerely
** ********

Regards,

**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Graebel Van Lines
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart