BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers orthodontics. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Orthodontic Specialists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Orthodontic Specialists include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Orthodontic Specialists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 07, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1978 in OH Business incorporated: 08/21/1996 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Dental Board
77 S High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus OH 43266
https://license.ohio.gov/lookup/default.asp?division=95
Phone Number: 614-466-2580
Fax Number: 614-752-8995

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David A. Eichel, DMD, MSD Dr. Kevin J. Ison, DMD, MS
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David A. Eichel, DMD, MSD
Principal: Dr. Kevin J. Ison, DMD, MS
Business Category

Dentist - Orthodontist Dentists

Hours of Operation
varies
Method(s) of Payment
cash, checks, visa, mastercard, discover and financing
Service Area
Greater Cincinnati, Kenwood, Batavia, Norwood and Northern Kentucky
Alternate Business Names
David A. Eichel DMD, MSD Kevin J. Ison DMD, MS
Industry Tips
Choosing A Dentist Finding a Reliable Dentist

Additional Locations

  • 11419 Princeton Pike

    Springdale, OH 45246

  • 4440 Glen Este Withamsville Road  Suite 1400

    Cincinnati, OH 45245 (513) 943-0003

  • 4845 Rialto Road Suite A

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 772-6500

  • 7559 A Mall Road

    Florence, KY 41042 (859) 746-8600

  • 8050 Hosbrook Road  Suite 310

    Cincinnati, OH 45236 (513) 794-9191

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/22 I made an appointment for my son to see the orthodontics, hoping to have his braces removed. He has not been able to obtain services for over 1 year and was reluctant to go back to the orthodontics office. The appointment was made for 10/24 upon arriving they refused to see him due to non-payment. Although he brought payment and they accepted a check for over a hundred dollars. This is not the first time this has happen. When an appointment is made they should disclose this before setting the appointment rather than disrespecting a person's time. He is in college and does not just come with what ever money amount they decide at the time of day. I called them and they claim they sent the account to collects and that my automatic pay did not go through. I called them numerous times over this because my bank stated nothing tried to go through and my card number stayed the same. The card had just simply expired. I have not gotten any statements by mail. They did not have my correct address although I have given it to them several times prior. No calls regarding the amount. And they did not discuss payment problems prior when on the phone making the appointment to me the payee responsible for this. It is very poor service and poor business practice. I have paid a lot to these people and got nothing but problems from them. My son's teeth are worse.

Desired Settlement: I will need to find a orthodontic to take care of my son's teeth. How can you put a price on that. He will now require surgery. I want the braces off. I will have to file bankruptcy because they filled collections thus ruining my credit.Thank you Dr. ***** ****!!

Business Response:

 

Re: Response to complaint #*******To whom it may concern,

Patient signed contract with us on June 17, 2010 and Orthodontic appliances were placed on July 6, 2010. Pt. has missed several appointments and is delinquent on his account $2692.36. Last payment was made on October 4, 2011. (Pt. did come in on October 29, 2012 ( almost a year later) and made a payment by check for $150.00 which there was a stop payment made on that check). Per contract agreement which patient signed, should any account become 60 days delinquent, treatment progress stops and the patient will be seen for health and emergency appointments only. In the event that an account becomes 90 days delinquent and the agreement that has been made cannot be fulfilled we can remove all appliances/braces or at patient's request transfer records to another orthodontist. This however, does not release the contract holder from the responsibility of their financial obligation for services that have been rendered to date. Per our office policies delinquent accounts are sent to collections after 90 days. This account was not sent to collections until October 22, 2012 (almost a -year from the last payment-and patient was seen last on Janu-ary 4,7012 for an orthodontic adjustment. We tried several times to contact patient via phone and mail to notify him of account status. The patient's mother did call on December 20, 2011 when she realized automatic withdrawal payments were not coming out and asked if we could start deducting again at $179.00 monthly and she would pay account in full at income tax time. We did change the expiration date to March 2013 and set up withdrawals to start on January 2012 and payments were declined after that also. The number and address we have on file is incorrect and mail was being returned. We have left messages for a return call to discuss account. Calls were not returned.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not accept this because it is not accurate. I called not once but twice regarding the $179.00 payment plan because the business failed to take the money out of the account as agreed. This can be verified by my bank as no attempts were made after I notified them that the bank card was expired. If I was trying to get out of payment why would I call. I also called to notify them of the address change and the business failed to change their records to reflect the actual address. It appears once again they still have not updated my address. I do not agree with them taking my check for payment but turned down the service as my son wanted to have the braces removed. Also I explained that my son was away and not able to come in for service as no appointments were made during that time frame. I also explained that on the phone when I set up the most current appointment on Oct. 29, which they failed to disclose any of this issue thus preventing my son from missing work, gas, and agony of this matter as I pay for medical benefits for him. Also according to my insurance company they failed to submit payment of the $1000. benefit that my son is entitled to which they said they would do. Also at the time of the agreement in 2010 my son was a minor and not able to enter any kind of agreement. The insurance is under me as the policy holder, so entering any contract as a minor and not the policy holder is unlawful. One last thing when they refused to take off the braces despite payment being made on Oct. 29 I called to speak to the manager who notified me that the ballance in full was $350. so now they are reporting a different amount of over $2900??


I want the braces off, this is not acceptable way of conducting business.

Regards,

***** ***

 

Business Response:

Good morning *****,

On November 13, 2012 I had left a voicemail regarding scheduling an appointment for *********, I am unaware if you received the message. We would like to schedule an appointment for *********'s braces to be removed without retainers. He would need to sign a discontinuation of treatment at that appointment. Please contact our office at ###-###-#### for an appointment. May you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Sincerely,

****** **

Office Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1