BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers replacement windows, doors, siding and gutters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window World of the Queen City, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Window World of the Queen City, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Window World of the Queen City, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 07, 2009 Business started: 04/15/2009 in KY Business incorporated: 04/15/2009 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Barry Foster Mr. Tommy Jones Mr. John Oslica
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Foster
Principal: Mr. Tommy Jones
Principal: Mr. John Oslica
Business Category

Windows Gutters & Downspouts Windows - Installation & Service Doors Siding Materials

Additional Information

This company previously operated as Window World Northern Kentucky. A report on Window World Northern Kentucky can be found with BBB Serving Cincinnati. This company is headquarted in North Wilkesboro, North Carolina. A report on the headquarters can be found with BBB serving Northwest North Carolina.


Additional Locations

  • 1840 Airport Exchange Blvd, Suite 110

    Erlanger, KY 41018 (513) 921-4189 (859) 594-4189

  • 1840 Airport Exchange Blvd.  Suite 110

    Erlanger, KY 41018

  • 1895 Airport Exchange Blvd  Ste 230

    Erlanger, KY 41018

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Window World to replace all of windows at a charge of $10,000. We noticed that ants were coming in from the window sills and upon inspection found the installers did not properly caulk the metal trim. There are large gaps where the trim was just laid and the sides were not caulked. We contacted the company three times and were told three times the issue would be resolved. The product has not been fixed or attempted to be fixed.

Desired Settlement: I would like the trim caulked on ALL the windows so that the gaps are not longer visible allowing bugs to enter the home. If this cannot be accomplished I would like a refund.

Business Response:

Our install manager **** was scheduled and had went out to the ***** home yesterday morning to meet the customer, this way the window issues could be pointed out to him.  **** had arrived and no one was home,  so he walked around the house and noticed a couple places that need to be caulked on back of the home.  As **** was leaving the babysitter had shown up and he asked the babysitter to let Mrs. **** know he was there.  Customer called in this morning Thursday 7/31/14 and spoke with ****.  **** is going back out to the customers house this morning for the issues to be pointed out to him and get pictures.  This way we can find the exact issues our customer is having to get them resolved. 

Thank you,

Michelle Daniels

 

Consumer Response: I was told I would receive a phone call before ****'s arrival on 7/30/2014. I did not receive a call. My sitter pulled up as **** was leaving and was told he did see the issues and would send out a crew later that day to fix the issue. A crew did not come out and fix the issue so I called to follow up again on 7/31/2014 and talked with **** directly. **** said he needed to come out again and look at the problem from the inside of the house. Please note the trim is on the outside of the house and the issue is very obvious. The trim is not caulked and there are large gaps. This will be the fourth time we have discussed this with Window World and the fourth time we were told someone would fix the issue "the same day". The first complaint was made in May and **** called and said he looked at the windows and did not have the proper materials to fix and would "have a crew come out". When we followed we were would told **** did not find any issues (opposite of what was discussed with ****). This was obviously untrue because we spoke to **** directly and confirmed he did see the gaps. All we want is for the trim to be properly affixed to the window. The trim is installed correctly on the front of the house.

Business Response:

On 7/31/14 **** and **** both went out and met Mr. **** at the property to go over the issues.  **** and **** came back to the office and stated that all the issues had been taken care of.  I then received email back on Friday 8/1/14 from BBB stating that the issues had not been solved, so I called into the office to speak with **** letting him know that the customer still needs service.  **** called me back later that morning to let me know he had called and spoke to Mrs. **** who then stated to him everything was ok.  The office had tried to call and follow up with customer on 8/1/14 and left a message as well with the service **** and **** provided at the house while Mr. **** was there.  We have not had any call backs from customer letting us know otherwise.  I want to believe this issue has been resolved.  If not, I would like the customer to call me back and let me know.

Thank you,

Michelle Daniels

Office Manager

Consumer Response: The services were completed

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered our replacement windows on 3/19/14. Our windows were installed on 4/23, all except one window that was damaged during shipping. This window came in two weeks later ( 5/9), Window World did not call us to schedule an install until Tuesday after I had contacted them to follow up on Monday. We were scheduled for the last window to be installed on Wednesday, 5/14. I received a call at 7:39 am stating the installers trailer was broken into so he couldn't come out to install. I asked if our window has been stolen and **** (the manager) stated no it had not. At that point I asked if it could be installed on Saturday, my next day off work. **** said " I will have to see if my installer wants to work." We finally settled after calling in several times that it would be installed on Saturday, 5/17. We also requested that the window in the bathroom be looked at since the screen will not sit flush with the bottom of the window. The installer came out and said that he looked at it and that was just how it was going to be. He said that vinyl and metal don't always meet up properly and left it at that. After speaking with my husband that evening we decided that was not acceptable since all the other windows had the screens sitting flush. This particular window is near a tree and I have had little bugs crawling in under the little gap where it's not flush. This window appears that they put to big of a window in the frame of the house, it looks bowed next to the screen. We have contacted *** (salesman) and **** (manager) several times with pictures via email, phone calls, and texts. They had said they would send someone out to look at it but never called to schedule. *** will respond to us that he will have **** contact us and then we are never contacted. When we call the office the receptionist just takes a message for ****, and he never returns phone calls. This was the most expensive window because it has two panes of obscure glass, costing $439.00.

Desired Settlement: I believe we should be refunded the amount of the window. We have already pretty much been told they are not going to do anything about the gap at the bottom. I think this is unacceptable because all the other windows are fine. We would like the amount credited to the credit card that the remaining balance of our window is charged to. If this is not an option I want a different installer from Window World to correct the situation so there is nt longer a gap between the window and screen.

Business Response:

On June 2nd 2014, I called and spoke to Mrs. ***** in regards to their bathroom window having the issues.  I then spoke to **** about going to the customers home on Wednesday June 4th 2014.  **** let me know that he had called and spoke to the customer and let the *****'s know that we would be ordering a new frame for the window.  I also put in an order for a new screen as well.  On Wednesday June 4th a new frame and screen had been reordered for customers bathroom window, we left a voicemail letting customer know.  I have an estimated load date of 6/13/14 for these products to arrive.  Once I receive delivery of the new frame and screen we will be calling customer to schedule service to install the new parts to fix customers bathroom window.  I also let Mrs. ***** know that if they have any issues with their windows to call into the office to the service department for service so we can stay on top of customers service.

Thank you,

******** *******

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. This reslolution is satisfactory as long as the new window frame and screen fit properly. Their response said the frame was to be in last Friday, 6/13  and I still have not heard anything from them about scheduling an install. I am still waiting on their call to progress further.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window world installed a house of windows for me. There are gaps between the outside trim and my brick that I can put 2 fingers in. My windows have leaked and some of them are very hard to open. The caulk did not stick to the plastic on the windows enabling them to to leak. An installer came out to look and told me the caulk they used had a deficiency and they no longer use that type of caulk anymore. A gentleman has come out numerous times to try to fix the issues but he has made at least half a dozen trips and now wants me to give him a key to my house. He wants to try to fix the issues from the inside. The issues need to be fixed on the outside from a ladder and I do not want to give him a key to my house. I just want my windows to open properly, not leak and not have any large gaps around them. I paid $3000.00 for these windows and just want what I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I want my windows fixed properly in a timely manner without having to give a strnager the keys to my house.

Business Response:

 I am responding to the complaint filed from customer. Customer is very unhappy that we had to go out so many times to do a service on his property and I fully understand where he is coming from.  On 7/24/13 our Install manager and one of our install crews went out to finish up the service job.  Mr. ******** called in the following morning 7/25/13, still not happy with the work that was done.  I gave customer my email address to send me pictures, he let me know that he had sent them over.  I had never received customer’s email, which I do believe he had sent to me.  I believe our customer and I have good telephone communication, I would like to resolve this service issue with customer.  Although I know and understand how frustrated one can be and just want the job done the way he would expect it to be.  Customer said he was just going to fix the service himself and no longer wanted us out to his property to fix the issue, considering it should have been done right and completed the first time we came out.  If there is anything more you need from me, please let me know.

Thank you,

 

******** ****

Window World

Office Manager

1840 Airport Exchange Blvd.

Suite 110

Erlanger, KY 41018

P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested an estimate through the online website at windowworldcincinnati.com/free-estimate. On that site there was a series of slides that ran on the upper left portion of the screen. One of those slides said: Why Window World? $189 Windows Installed Lifetime Warranty Included Expert Installation189 windows installed, this is why I requested a quote. There was no asterisk or any other small print. They have now changed that after I called, which is good, so no one else will think there is a 189 window. they have added an asterisk, which says additional charges may apply. When the estimator showed up, he told me they didn't sell windows for 189, let alone windows for 189 installed. He had an estimate sheet, and the cheapest window on that was 259. I ended up calling the office for window world Cincinnati about this false advertising on the website, and they told me they didn't know what I was talking about. I got them to finally find it online, and they admitted seeing it. They then said it was a national company, and corporate is in charge of advertising on the website. I got a phone number for corporate and called the next day. Corporate said all advertising was handled by the franchise owner and gave me his name and the number I called the day before. I called the Cincinnati office back, told them the situation and the lady said the owner wasn't in. She explained to me that the owner did pay someone to do the advertising, that federal law changed window requirements and that they can't sell 189 windows now, and they just haven't changed the advertising. I asked her to have the owner call to at least discuss this problem with me. She said she would leave a message for him. It has been a little over a week and I haven't received a call.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the advertised price. I ordered the cheapest window the estimator had, as it was comparable to other estimates. I can't cancel it has been more than 3 days. I just feel they should honor their advertising. If not, at least others will know the customer at this company doesn't mean much. You get the run around when dealing with the office, or at the very least, they don't know how their business and advertising works, and the owner has no time for the customer.

Business Response: 6/11/13 BBB contacted the business and was advised that the complaint has been resolved and windows were installed on June 7th.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I never was contacted in regards to my complaint of false advertising.  So their statement that the problem was resolved is false.  I asked the office to have the owner call me to discuss my issue, and to this day i still have not heard from him.  I did have the windows installed, as i am a man of my word and accepted the estimite the estimator gave me.  I did not want to stick him with the windows, as this is what he told me would happen if he made the order and they weren't installed.  I  was hoping the owner would at least be concerned enough about his customers to discuss the matter with me, which he was not.  They did change their website after i filed my complaint, and added an asterisk which states added charges may apply but the asterisk information is on a different slide on the website.  So still not straight forward.  I was never contacted by the owner.  If you want to run a successful business, I believe you should be man enough to talk to your customers and address their concerns.  I will definitely not recommend this particular window world to anyone.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told specifically that the windows on my building would be replaced before the end of May. I noticed on my warranty that it states that the installation took place on 5/10/2013. The was no date of installation on the receipt. I was assured that I'd have them installed and when I spoke with the salesman that sold these to me he said that he didn't know what I was talking about. He never said that he didn't say that. I also was never told by him what the cancellation policy is. They still haven't given me an installation date. I'm possibly looking at late june or july before they are installed. Unfortunately I see this company as liars and will not recommend them to anyone and won't use them for any of my properties.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to cancel my window install. I found another company that'll do the rest of my windows faster and cheaper.

Business Response: 6/11/13 BBB contacted the business and was advised that the windows were installed and the complaint has been resolved. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The issue was the fact that they plainly lied to me.  They offered no apology and and in no way tried to make up for what happened.  The sales person and the people in the office were not pleasant to talk with.  The installers were excellent.  I've moved on to one of their competitors who has given me better service and better prices.  Window City.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/28/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered 7 windows from this company. I called to set up a time for them to be installed. The lady stated they will be in on Friday. I asked if we could have them installed the following Wednesday. She said sure. We just have to check the shipment when it comes in on Friday to make sure nothing got broken during transit. We never heard back from them so we assumed everything was good. I called Weds. morning to find out what time they were coming. she stated they were loading up the truck and will be on their way. Not even 15 minutes later, I received a phone call that one of the windows glass had broke. I asked her if we could just leave the old window in until they can reorder a new one. She stated no that they like to do every thing at one time. They will just put duct tape on the new window and it will be fine. She stated a new window would come in the following Friday and they would come out and put it in that day. Fast forward to the next Friday, we never heard from the company. I called them on Monday. They stated the new window was in but to call our sales rep. My husband called him, and he stated he didn't know of any problems with our windows. I called Window world back on Tuesday. The lady asked if I spoke with our sales rep, I stated that my husband did, but the sales rep was out of town and didn't know anything. She then advised me that our window was not in. It was on the inventory sheet, but not on the truck. She put a rush on it so it should be here today, Friday. On Wednesday I get another call that the window didn't make it for today, so it is going to be here next Friday. My husband and I are very disappointed with the run around service we are receiving. I asked to speak with the owner of the company. She stated she would leave him a message to call me. As of today, I have not heard anything from the owner. The duct tape is on our Front window of our house. We have two large dogs and 3 little girls. There is broken glass in between the panes.

Desired Settlement: We would like a discount on this window. We paid over $500 for this window alone. It has been 2 1/2 weeks since they have been installed. They promised us it would be a week at the most. It looks tacky to have duct tape on your front window. It is also a hazard to my family.

Business Response: Mr. ****** from Window World contacted BBB and advised that the customer has been reimbursed as requested.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My original new construction windows was pulled out along with all the insulation around the windows which was not the problem, the problem came along about a week after the job was completed when we had a wind storm and the wind started howling around the windows real bad.Called them back out for service all they did is slap some caulk around the outside of the window. Upon a piece of the trim falling off after installation I found out that they did not insulate or foam around the windows!!!! At this point it is causing bad condensation around the drywall and trim causing **black mold** and water running down the wall I have pictures. If this was tken care off the first time and done the correct way I would not be dealing with this issue!!! I noticed my allergy acting up real bad and im wondering if this issue is in my wall from the mold.Thanks,Joe

Desired Settlement: To be resolved!!!

Business Response: 6/11/12 BBB contacted Mr. Oslica who stated that he had contacted the consumer and the complaint has been resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had new windows installed last March and they keep making a noise. We have had the people out here several times trying to find out what is causing the noise and they cannot figure it out. When the wind blows we keep hearing a whoo sound. Like ghosts make if they made noises. They have said it didn't have enough caulking around the windows and they added strips of felt and not sure what all they did. I called again on April 2 and told them about it again and we needed to have a screen replaced as there were holes in it. I was told someone would contact me and come out and check on it. On April 9 my husband called and they came out the next day and only repaired the screen. We were told it would be several days before some supervisor would be in contact with us. This is April 18 and we have not heard from them as yet. We were suppose to save money by buying these and we have not.

Desired Settlement: At this point maybe we need to have the windows replaced. The top portion does not stay up and the noise is still there. This is for 9 windows out of 12. Not sure what to do.

Business Response: 6/1/12 Mr. Oslica contacted BBB and stated that a window manufacturers rep will be in town to see consumer on June 6th.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

That is only part of the complaint.  It took them over a month to respond and only by my husband calling them to find out what what going on.  I do not want this closed until after June 6.
]

Regards,

******** ******

 

 

Consumer Response: The people from the home office of Window World are suppose to be here on Wed morning.  I am not sure what they will say, but I want this open until after they come.

Business Response: Helene,
Good morning.
We spent the morning at the ******'s doing some repairs yesterday the 13th. If you would call them and make sure they are happy.
Thank you.
John Oslica

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved