BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers replacement windows, doors, siding and gutters.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window World of the Queen City, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Window World of the Queen City, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Window World of the Queen City, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2009 Business started: 04/15/2009 in KY Business incorporated 04/15/2009 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Barry Foster Mr. Tommy Jones Mr. John Oslica
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Foster
Principal: Mr. Tommy Jones
Principal: Mr. John Oslica
Business Category

Windows Gutters & Downspouts Windows - Installation & Service Doors Siding Materials

Additional Information

This company previously operated as Window World Northern Kentucky. A report on Window World Northern Kentucky can be found with BBB Serving Cincinnati. This company is headquarted in North Wilkesboro, North Carolina. A report on the headquarters can be found with BBB serving Northwest North Carolina.


Additional Locations

  • 1840 Airport Exchange Blvd, Suite 110

    Erlanger, KY 41018 (513) 921-4189 (859) 594-4189

  • 1840 Airport Exchange Blvd.
    Suite 110

    Erlanger, KY 41018

  • 1895 Airport Exchange Blvd
    Ste 230

    Erlanger, KY 41018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered Windows and signed a contract on August 6th 2015. I was not called to have the windows installed until December. I was told it was the busiest time of the year and asked to be patient so patient I was. FinallyFinally I was called and set a date for December 14th to have the windows installed. They arrived and the windows were wrong and had to be remade. I was called shortly thereafter to set a new install date and because the windows "might" be in. When I said that is weeks away I don't know my work schedule there was no apology for the issues the first time just well that's not my problem that date is filling quick so you'll need to call soon to get that date. I emailed corporate but they told me it was a franchise and they would pass on the message to the franchise owner that I just want a refund. Then Franchise called today to install. Again no apologies just set an appointment. I just want my money back from a company with no customer service.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back and an apology would be nice

Business Response: I would like to start off with apologizing for your windows being mis measured along with the time frame. This was an honest mistake. It was not our intention and would love for you to remain our customer and schedule an installation date. I would like to note that on 9/25/15 your windows arrived in our warehouse. On 10/2/15 I personally called and left a message to schedule your window installation. On 11/9/15 ***** called and left a voice mail at 10:21am. Looks like we received a call back from you on 11/9/15 where we scheduled your installation date for 12/14/15. I have all this information due to we have to keep notes on every customer file, in writing and in the computer. Below I will add the notes from ********* conversation with the customer on 12/16/15, which at the time never mentioned to cancel. 12/16/15 I called ****** to reschedule & she is mad that they were mis measured & she ordered them in August. I apologized & tried to schedule her & she hung up on me. I called her back & she said she doesn't know if the 18th will work because she has to check her work schedule. I told her to call me back ASAP so I could get her on the calendar for install -** We never received a callback from Mrs. ******. ******* then called to schedule 1/18/16 since the windows came in on Friday 1/15/16 to have her installed this week. We spoke to the owner about refunding the deposit. Due to the contract signed by Mrs. ****** we will not be refunding the deposit amount. We would love to move forward and schedule an installation date to install the windows. Thank you, ******** ******* Office Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
     This does not change the fact mo one except ******* would speak to me and I only had one voicemail that I received which I responded promptly. They called again weeks later. First apology was nice but too late. I still would like a refund so I can buy windows from a company with good customer service. If I have issues I would like to trust that they will be handled. I'm not sending back a steak in a restaurant I'm investing in my home. 


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
****** ******

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window World replaced 14 windows in our home. On initial delivery, numerous windows were defective with issues ranging from damaged glass in a large picture window, several windows with bent lift rails, misaligned grids in one window, and damaged screens. In addition, a large 3 piece picture window was ordered in the wrong size, could not be installed and had to be reordered. The initial installation was performed poorly, particularly with regard to sealing of the windows both inside and out. Large gaps and smears were left in the interior caulk throughout the house and caulk was applied equally sloppily on the exterior, including globs of caulk dripped and hardened on our backyard paver patio. The windows were also left filthy with no attempt to clean the glass or frames after installation. The installer also damaged my daughter's bedroom desk, which now requires full replacement, and we only discovered the damage after he left as he did not inform us that anything had happened. Window World would not come to our home to address these issues until the 2 new picture windows and several additional damaged windows were delivered, which took several weeks. At this time, their solution to the caulking issue was to simply cover the damage with a wider bead of caulk. I am not at all satisfied with the appearance of this repair, and in fact the original defects in the caulk are still visible through the coverup. In addition, 2 window sashes that were supposed to be replaced, 1 with a bent lift rail and 1 with a crooked grid, still have not been replaced more than 4 months after the initial installation date. I have paid 75% of the original bill at this point and Window World refuses to complete the job, saying that this is warranty work even though the product was defective at delivery. Window World has also never offered to reimburse us for the damage to my daughter's desk. To date, Window World has been to our home 3 times, requiring me to take 2 days off of work and spend over 4 hours on a Saturday, and the job is still not finished.

Desired Settlement: I have communicated to Window World that I am willing to live with the ongoing problems with our windows under the following conditions: 1. Remaining 2 damaged sashes are replaced 2. Window World agrees to fully honor original warranty 3. Remainder of bill, constituting a roughly $1800 or 25% discount off the original price, is waived 4. Window World also reimburses the $100 needed to replace the desk in my daughter's bedroom that was damaged by the first installer Window World has offered an $800 discount, which I do not believe is adequate to compensate for the myriad problems we have had, not even accounting for the investment of my time to deal with these issues.

Business Response: In response to *** *********** complaint. Window World is a company that is not going to walk away from an unsatisfied customer. I was unaware that Mr. ********* was still unhappy with his caulk. We will be more than happy to remove and re-caulk every window that our customer is unhappy with. We will re-caulk all 14 windows inside and out if needed. I have attached the signed service paperwork from where Mr. ********* signed stating the windows that came in the wrong size were replaced, along with his caulk concerns were addressed. I have also attached an email response from ******* to Mr. ********* on November 19, 2015 at 1:12pm. This shortly before the customer submitted his BBB complaint at 1:24pm. Although we have yet to receive a response back in order to set up service needs. If Mr. ********* needs a Saturday or any other day, we are willing to come out on a day no one has to take off work. My Installation Manager has tried to reach Mr. ********* by phone on 11/25, 11/30, 12/2 and 12/3 to schedule a service date for caulk and to deliver the sashes. We need a call back in order to address the services requested by the customer. We have offered to take $800.00 off of the remaining balance of $1791.50 due to the inconvenience during installation and cost of the desk. Our offer still stands, with allowing our company to come back out and replace the sashes needed and to re-caulk the windows to *** *********** satisfaction. Once complete the $991.50 will be due once service is complete. Once all is complete and paid, Mr. ********* will then be under our Lifetime Warranty. Thank you, ******** ******* Office Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


I would like to start by saying that this is the first I have ever heard of ******** *******, as she has never once reached out to us to attempt to resolve these issues during the 5 months since our windows were initially installed. If Ms. ******* was unaware of the ongoing problems with our window installation then I would suggest she speak with her staff as to why they were not keeping her informed, as I have been very clear and upfront with Window World about my disappointment from the very beginning. She also states that "our offer still stands", even though this is the first I have heard of this offer.

In the attachment from Ms. ******* showing my signature on the work order, which she implies indicates my satisfaction with the completed job, she conveniently ignores the fact that I paid only half of the remaining balance at that point because the job was not complete at that time. My inclination on that day was to pay none of the remaining balance, but was convinced into paying half by their installation manager, what he called "a show of good faith". Obviously, that was my mistake. My "good faith" was rewarded by their refusal to finish the job, specifically not replacing the 2 sashes in my daughter's bedroom, until I paid the bill.

Ms. ******* also mentions in her response that my complaint with the BBB was filed 12 minutes after ******* emailed me. I'm not sure what her point is, but the timing certainly was not a coincidence. In the email file she attached to her response, you can see at the bottom of the page that it is part of a chain of emails between ******* and myself, where Window World repeatedly stated that they would not replace my defective windows until the bill was paid in full. This is in fact reiterated, though interestingly not underlined, in the email that Ms. ******* attached. 

More interesting than the timing of my BBB complaint with *******'s email, is Windows World's change of stance on November 25th, 6 days after I filed my BBB complaint. After stonewalling us for months and refusing to finish the job, they call me out of the blue wanting to come to my house and replace the damaged windows and fix the caulking issues as soon as possible. To then suggest that I am somehow at fault for not running to the phone and immediately responding to their offer is disingenuous. I had held off for months on filing a formal complaint, hoping that I could work the issue out directly with Window World. It was only after they were compelled by the risk of a black mark against their BBB rating that they suddenly had an interest in completing our job before payment. As far as I'm concerned, "walking away from an unsatisified customer" is exactly what Window World did until a brought my complaint to the BBB.

As I stated in my original complaint, my wife and I are willing to live with the defects in the caulk. This entire process has left an incredibly bad taste in our mouths and we frankly do not want Window World to set foot in our house at this point. They have violated our faith and trust and we are not comfortable having them in our home. If Window World had done months ago what they are proposing now, we would have felt differently. Unfortunately, Ms. *******' response to our complaint, which was misleading to the point of dishonesty, was the final straw. She claims concern for our satisfaction, but then spends the remainder of her response basically blaming us for why they haven't finished the job, which is insulting.

To make this issue go away, we will pay Window World $250 on delivery of the remaining 2 window sashes to our front door, which I will install myself. Window World must agree that this payment will settle our bill in full and place our lifetime warranty into effect. No further interior or exterior work by Window World is desired or expected, excepting any future warranty issue which may arise.

If this proposal is not agreeable to Window World, I am not sure this disagreement can be resolved.

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: I am sorry to hear we have a customer that feels this way about our company. The initial installation date was on 7/10/15. We then came out for service on 8/10/15 and 8/22/15. On these dates we replaced four windows, replaced four sashes and nine screens that were damaged in shipping. We also addressed caulking issues and cleaned the windows as requested. We have tried to address all of your concerns and needs. We unfortunately also had a decline in staffing during this period in time, this took us some time to get back on track. We offered a $400.00 discount and increased to an $800.00 discount off of your remaining balance of which you have declined both. At this time, after I had learned you still had service needs, we want to come out and fix the remainder of your concerns. We are concerned that we have an unsatisfied customer. Unfortunately our hands are tied at this point as we cannot help if you will not allow us in your home.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

As usual, Window World does not respond in a substantive way to any of my actual complaints – and continues to imply that I am somehow at fault for their failure. I’m not sure how prolonging this matter in order to further alienate me as a customer and squeeze $900 more out of me makes sense for their business, but that is apparently their plan.

1. I was going to leave this issue alone but, since they brought it up, my windows were left filthy on day 1 and most were never cleaned, despite what Window World suggests in their response. If there is any doubt about this, I can provide current pictures of the glass from windows in my home that still bear the Window World logo from the labels that were on them on the day of delivery. We have intentionally not cleaned these windows while awaiting resolution of this matter. At their second visit to our home they cleaned some of the windows, but expected me to escort them around the house and request that they clean each window individually even though they were all filthy and I had stated that they all needed to be cleaned inside and out.

This is a perfect example of Window World’s approach to this entire job. They never proactively identified and corrected blatantly obvious problems, things that were done so poorly any reputable contractor would be embarrassed to put their name on it. Instead, they simply did sloppy work and placed the burden on the customer to identify and demand that the issues be fixed, when they could have performed a thorough inspection of their own and corrected the issues. They should be the experts in identifying where the job was not done to an acceptable standard and correcting it, not me. That is why they were hired.

2. If Window World were concerned with my satisfaction they would have done the job correctly on July 10th, or August 10th, or August 22nd. I wonder if the Window World representative responding to my complaint would continue to allow someone into their home if they had failed to do the job correctly or completely on the previous 3 attempts? I should trust that they will do it correctly on the 4th try, when they are proposing essentially restarting the job from the beginning?

3. I’m not sure how their failure to adequately staff their business has any relevance to my complaint.

4. The damaged sashes, which I will point out again were damaged at install on July 10th, have still not been replaced – even though Window World was in my home 2 times since then. And since August 22nd they have refused to complete this portion of the job in order to force payment from me. As I said before, it was only after I filed my complaint with the BBB that Window World suddenly became interested in my satisfaction and returning to my home to complete the job.

Window World claims their hands are tied if I will not let them into my home. That is not true. I provided a simple proposal in my previous response to resolve this matter:

1. Deliver the 2 replacement sashes to my home

2. I will pay $250 cash on delivery

3. Window World will accept this $250 as payment in full on my account and honor the lifetime warranty on my windows.

Unfortunately, this was not acceptable to Window World. They are not concerned with my satisfaction. In my opinion, they are much more interested in extracting every penny they can from me rather than simply admitting they botched this job horribly from day 1 and that the thousands of dollars I have already paid them is more than fair considering what they have and continue to put us through.

I am still willing to settle this complaint in exchange for Window World delivering the 2 replacement sashes to my home and agreeing to honor our lifetime warranty. However, I am rescinding my offer to pay $250 and expect Window World to accept my previous payments as payment in full on the account.

That is my final offer to resolve this matter.

Regards,

****** *********

Consumer Response:

At this point, in order to resolve this issue, I am willing to accept the most recent offer of Window World to complete the work at my home and honor the lifetime warranty in exchange for payment of $791.50. The remaining work to be done includes replacing 2 sashes, removing and replacing exterior caulking to a satisfactory appearance, removing spilled caulking from backyard patio paver stones, and any interior caulking repairs we may request. In addition, all windows, including glass and vinyl, should be thoroughly cleaned both interior and exterior as this has never been done for most of the windows.

Best regards,
***

Business Response: We will be more than happy to honor and complete this settlement. We went ahead and left a message today for Mr. ********* to give us a call back to schedule his service through *****. I will be sure all of *** *********** concerns will be addressed at time of service, with the remaining balance due of $791.50. Thank you, ******** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *********

11/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had 9 windows replaced by this company within the past 10 years. I was unsure of the date as I have divorced and cannot locate the paperwork. However, I read that the issue that I'm having with my large living room window should still be covered under warranty. It is double-paned and it looks like someone spray painted in the space between the panes. I have pictures. When I first contacted the company in late Sept/early Oct, I was told to send pictures of the UPC code/s of the window/s so my order could be located. After several attempts of sending pictures that the lady said were not readable, I found a window with labels that were very clear and sent those. I have not heard back since. I followed up again on November 4, 2015 and still no word.

Desired Settlement: I would like that window replaced. It is very unsightly and limits the view from inside or outside of our home.

Business Response: I have spoken with Ms. ****** today. I let her know we will need to schedule a day for our installation manager to come out and get measurements so we can replace the glass in her window. I can see on the window sticker she sent over, this is a Window World window. Ms. ****** stated she will let us know what days would be good for her so we can get her on the schedule. When we are out at the property we will look to find more information in other Window World windows. Hopefully this will possibly help us to find the original file. If not at least enough information to start up a new file for future warranties. Thank you, Michelle D******

11/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered windows on 9/14/2015 and was told 6-8 weeks for install company has never contacted me about install called on 10 /14/2015 and was told my windows would be in on Friday 10/16/2015 and they would call me finally called again on 11/3/2015 and now told they would not be there to install windows until 12/14/2105 wanted to cancel and was told too bad look on back on contract--contract is not specific and basically states no guarantee was basically told too bad that is the time frame

Desired Settlement: I would like my windows installed when they told me they would be installed before the holidays There was a false promise and I ordered windows in enough time to install before the holidays

Business Response: Please see I have attached a copy of the back of the contract that Mrs. ******** has signed. I have underlined and highlighted where our contract states though not guaranteed a 6 to 8 week installation period. Every year, same time of the year, window sales go up all across the country and in our store. Every great window company at this time are 10 to 12 weeks for installations, if not longer. We are doing our best to get windows installed, along with keeping our customers happy. We had offered to place Mrs. ******** on a list to have her moved up if any openings come along. Thank you, Michelle D****** Office Manager

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a whole house of windows from Window World, the salesman came gave me the sales pitch only about the windows I bought offered no others. I purchased the windows after the pitch. this was April 2012 I noticed in the winter that I was getting alot of noise, my bedroom is now cooler than before and very noisy. I called the install manager Andy. that next spring because of the weather I waited, he sent the installer to check, said eveything was installed correctly, that is all that was said, 2013. I went on. the next winter the same cooler and so noisy I can't sleep at night, I ask them to check again, they came out told me that they should not be noisy, I was told this by the salesman, install manager Andy, and warehouse manager. but the windows are noisy. I kept on the and they sent the installer out on Oct 23 2014 I think it was a thurs , told him to put foam around the windows which he did. I called on Oct 24 following day and informed that it did not change anything. I called again after Thanksgiving because no one had returned my call. Now the last few times I have talked to Andy he says there is nothing they can do but SELL me new sashes with laminated glass to try. I was not told about any laminated glass before I bought them. they are supposed to be filled with argon to keep out the noise, I ask maybe it was not put in. they told me there is no way to check that. So I have no idea it it is even in the windows I just want them fixed I can't deal with the noise.

Desired Settlement: If they will not replace until satisfied, I want a full refund because I feel I was mislead from the start since I was only told about the windows I purchased and then they now want to sell me laminated windows, never mentioned before. And the fact that they all have told me that the windows should not be noisy. So far all the windows have done is make the house look a little better. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH THESE WINDOWS AT ALL AND MY DAUGHTER BOUGHT THEM ALSO AND IS HAVING EVEN MORE PROBLE** THAN I AM. Some dates may not be exact I have called so may times I don't remeber all of them.

Business Response: From: **** ****** <**********@*************************>
Date: Fri, Apr 17, 2015 at 2:01 PM
Subject: Case #********
To: "***********@cincinnati.bbb.org" <***********@cincinnati.bbb.org>
Cc: ******** ******* ****************@*************************>, **** ****** <**********@*************************>


To whom it may concern,

This statement is in reference to customer ***** ****** complaint.

We have never intended to mislead **. ******.

Our staff has been responsive to **. ****** concerns,as we have made numerous trips to her home with the intention of fixing her issues.

 

**. ****** has had concerns regarding the windows she purchased in April 2012.

The customer is stating her windows are allowing cool air and sound into her home.

 

First, **. ****** purchased the number one selling replacement window in America. This window carries the **** ************ seal of approval.

You do not receive this award with an inferior product.  That being said, we need to install our product properly to enhance the performance of the window.

We have responded to every request from **. ****** to address her concerns even bringing in a manufacturer's representative to check on the installation and performance of the product.

He found the product to be functional.

We have added extra insulation around the windows and re-sealed them.

 

Second, our sales staff does not promote our products as sound proof.  With double strength glass and argon glass most customers notice a reduction in outside noise.  We can never guarantee this because every home situation is different…..Close to street, playground, daycare, airplanes, schools, shopping, etc.

 

Third, we offered laminate to **. ****** only after sound became an issue.  This is an expensive option and we don't offer this to customers unless sound is an issue when we visit them the first time.  It is the customer's responsibility to let us know at that time if sound is a major issue.

 

We are willing to take another look at all aspects of the windows and installation. We always want 100% satisfied customers.  I will personally look at **. ****** windows and hopefully we can come to a fair settlement.

 

**** ******

Window World of the Queen City

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

This statement is in reference to customer ***** ****** complaint.

We have never intended to mislead **. ******.

Our staff has been responsive to **. ****** concerns,as we have made numerous trips to her home with the intention of fixing her issues.

 

**. ****** has had concerns regarding the windows she purchased in April 2012.

The customer is stating her windows are allowing cool air and sound into her home.

 

First, **. ****** purchased the number one selling replacement window in America. This window carries the **** ************ seal of approval.

You do not receive this award with an inferior product.  That being said, we need to install our product properly to enhance the performance of the window.

We have responded to every request from **. ****** to address her concerns even bringing in a manufacturer's representative to check on the installation and performance of the product.

He found the product to be functional.

We have added extra insulation around the windows and re-sealed them.

 

Second, our sales staff does not promote our products as sound proof.  With double strength glass and argon glass most customers notice a reduction in outside noise.  We can never guarantee this because every home situation is different…..Close to street, playground, daycare, airplanes, schools, shopping, etc.

 

Third, we offered laminate to **. ****** only after sound became an issue.  This is an expensive option and we don't offer this to customers unless sound is an issue when we visit them the first time.  It is the customer's responsibility to let us know at that time if sound is a major issue.

 

We are willing to take another look at all aspects of the windows and installation. We always want 100% satisfied customers.  I will personally look at **. ****** windows and hopefully we can come to a fair settlement.

 

**** ******

Window World of the Queen City

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]  I did not bring up noise issues because I didn't have them before I got the windows, and as I said before I was told by 5 people from that company that there shouldn't be alot of noise.  I know what I was told.  **** is correct they have came out and I said this in my 1st part of  complaint, I do not deny that.  But I do not know where they get they are the best windows I do not agree.  Come try to sleep in my house you will see  I will reply to your e-mail also

Regards,

***** ******

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Window World to replace all of windows at a charge of $10,000. We noticed that ants were coming in from the window sills and upon inspection found the installers did not properly caulk the metal trim. There are large gaps where the trim was just laid and the sides were not caulked. We contacted the company three times and were told three times the issue would be resolved. The product has not been fixed or attempted to be fixed.

Desired Settlement: I would like the trim caulked on ALL the windows so that the gaps are not longer visible allowing bugs to enter the home. If this cannot be accomplished I would like a refund.

Business Response:

Our install manager **** was scheduled and had went out to the ***** home yesterday morning to meet the customer, this way the window issues could be pointed out to him.  **** had arrived and no one was home,  so he walked around the house and noticed a couple places that need to be caulked on back of the home.  As **** was leaving the babysitter had shown up and he asked the babysitter to let Mrs. **** know he was there.  Customer called in this morning Thursday 7/31/14 and spoke with ****.  **** is going back out to the customers house this morning for the issues to be pointed out to him and get pictures.  This way we can find the exact issues our customer is having to get them resolved. 

Thank you,

Michelle Daniels

 

Consumer Response: I was told I would receive a phone call before ****'s arrival on 7/30/2014. I did not receive a call. My sitter pulled up as **** was leaving and was told he did see the issues and would send out a crew later that day to fix the issue. A crew did not come out and fix the issue so I called to follow up again on 7/31/2014 and talked with **** directly. **** said he needed to come out again and look at the problem from the inside of the house. Please note the trim is on the outside of the house and the issue is very obvious. The trim is not caulked and there are large gaps. This will be the fourth time we have discussed this with Window World and the fourth time we were told someone would fix the issue "the same day". The first complaint was made in May and **** called and said he looked at the windows and did not have the proper materials to fix and would "have a crew come out". When we followed we were would told **** did not find any issues (opposite of what was discussed with ****). This was obviously untrue because we spoke to **** directly and confirmed he did see the gaps. All we want is for the trim to be properly affixed to the window. The trim is installed correctly on the front of the house.

Business Response:

On 7/31/14 **** and **** both went out and met Mr. **** at the property to go over the issues.  **** and **** came back to the office and stated that all the issues had been taken care of.  I then received email back on Friday 8/1/14 from BBB stating that the issues had not been solved, so I called into the office to speak with **** letting him know that the customer still needs service.  **** called me back later that morning to let me know he had called and spoke to Mrs. **** who then stated to him everything was ok.  The office had tried to call and follow up with customer on 8/1/14 and left a message as well with the service **** and **** provided at the house while Mr. **** was there.  We have not had any call backs from customer letting us know otherwise.  I want to believe this issue has been resolved.  If not, I would like the customer to call me back and let me know.

Thank you,

Michelle Daniels

Office Manager

Consumer Response: The services were completed

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered our replacement windows on 3/19/14. Our windows were installed on 4/23, all except one window that was damaged during shipping. This window came in two weeks later ( 5/9), Window World did not call us to schedule an install until Tuesday after I had contacted them to follow up on Monday. We were scheduled for the last window to be installed on Wednesday, 5/14. I received a call at 7:39 am stating the installers trailer was broken into so he couldn't come out to install. I asked if our window has been stolen and **** (the manager) stated no it had not. At that point I asked if it could be installed on Saturday, my next day off work. **** said " I will have to see if my installer wants to work." We finally settled after calling in several times that it would be installed on Saturday, 5/17. We also requested that the window in the bathroom be looked at since the screen will not sit flush with the bottom of the window. The installer came out and said that he looked at it and that was just how it was going to be. He said that vinyl and metal don't always meet up properly and left it at that. After speaking with my husband that evening we decided that was not acceptable since all the other windows had the screens sitting flush. This particular window is near a tree and I have had little bugs crawling in under the little gap where it's not flush. This window appears that they put to big of a window in the frame of the house, it looks bowed next to the screen. We have contacted *** (salesman) and **** (manager) several times with pictures via email, phone calls, and texts. They had said they would send someone out to look at it but never called to schedule. *** will respond to us that he will have **** contact us and then we are never contacted. When we call the office the receptionist just takes a message for ****, and he never returns phone calls. This was the most expensive window because it has two panes of obscure glass, costing $439.00.

Desired Settlement: I believe we should be refunded the amount of the window. We have already pretty much been told they are not going to do anything about the gap at the bottom. I think this is unacceptable because all the other windows are fine. We would like the amount credited to the credit card that the remaining balance of our window is charged to. If this is not an option I want a different installer from Window World to correct the situation so there is nt longer a gap between the window and screen.

Business Response:

On June 2nd 2014, I called and spoke to Mrs. ***** in regards to their bathroom window having the issues.  I then spoke to **** about going to the customers home on Wednesday June 4th 2014.  **** let me know that he had called and spoke to the customer and let the *****'s know that we would be ordering a new frame for the window.  I also put in an order for a new screen as well.  On Wednesday June 4th a new frame and screen had been reordered for customers bathroom window, we left a voicemail letting customer know.  I have an estimated load date of 6/13/14 for these products to arrive.  Once I receive delivery of the new frame and screen we will be calling customer to schedule service to install the new parts to fix customers bathroom window.  I also let Mrs. ***** know that if they have any issues with their windows to call into the office to the service department for service so we can stay on top of customers service.

Thank you,

******** *******

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. This reslolution is satisfactory as long as the new window frame and screen fit properly. Their response said the frame was to be in last Friday, 6/13  and I still have not heard anything from them about scheduling an install. I am still waiting on their call to progress further.

Regards,

***** *****

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window world installed a house of windows for me. There are gaps between the outside trim and my brick that I can put 2 fingers in. My windows have leaked and some of them are very hard to open. The caulk did not stick to the plastic on the windows enabling them to to leak. An installer came out to look and told me the caulk they used had a deficiency and they no longer use that type of caulk anymore. A gentleman has come out numerous times to try to fix the issues but he has made at least half a dozen trips and now wants me to give him a key to my house. He wants to try to fix the issues from the inside. The issues need to be fixed on the outside from a ladder and I do not want to give him a key to my house. I just want my windows to open properly, not leak and not have any large gaps around them. I paid $3000.00 for these windows and just want what I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I want my windows fixed properly in a timely manner without having to give a strnager the keys to my house.

Business Response:

 I am responding to the complaint filed from customer. Customer is very unhappy that we had to go out so many times to do a service on his property and I fully understand where he is coming from.  On 7/24/13 our Install manager and one of our install crews went out to finish up the service job.  Mr. ******** called in the following morning 7/25/13, still not happy with the work that was done.  I gave customer my email address to send me pictures, he let me know that he had sent them over.  I had never received customer’s email, which I do believe he had sent to me.  I believe our customer and I have good telephone communication, I would like to resolve this service issue with customer.  Although I know and understand how frustrated one can be and just want the job done the way he would expect it to be.  Customer said he was just going to fix the service himself and no longer wanted us out to his property to fix the issue, considering it should have been done right and completed the first time we came out.  If there is anything more you need from me, please let me know.

Thank you,

 

******** ****

Window World

Office Manager

1840 Airport Exchange Blvd.

Suite 110

Erlanger, KY 41018

P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

6/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested an estimate through the online website at windowworldcincinnati.com/free-estimate. On that site there was a series of slides that ran on the upper left portion of the screen. One of those slides said: Why Window World? $189 Windows Installed Lifetime Warranty Included Expert Installation189 windows installed, this is why I requested a quote. There was no asterisk or any other small print. They have now changed that after I called, which is good, so no one else will think there is a 189 window. they have added an asterisk, which says additional charges may apply. When the estimator showed up, he told me they didn't sell windows for 189, let alone windows for 189 installed. He had an estimate sheet, and the cheapest window on that was 259. I ended up calling the office for window world Cincinnati about this false advertising on the website, and they told me they didn't know what I was talking about. I got them to finally find it online, and they admitted seeing it. They then said it was a national company, and corporate is in charge of advertising on the website. I got a phone number for corporate and called the next day. Corporate said all advertising was handled by the franchise owner and gave me his name and the number I called the day before. I called the Cincinnati office back, told them the situation and the lady said the owner wasn't in. She explained to me that the owner did pay someone to do the advertising, that federal law changed window requirements and that they can't sell 189 windows now, and they just haven't changed the advertising. I asked her to have the owner call to at least discuss this problem with me. She said she would leave a message for him. It has been a little over a week and I haven't received a call.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the advertised price. I ordered the cheapest window the estimator had, as it was comparable to other estimates. I can't cancel it has been more than 3 days. I just feel they should honor their advertising. If not, at least others will know the customer at this company doesn't mean much. You get the run around when dealing with the office, or at the very least, they don't know how their business and advertising works, and the owner has no time for the customer.

Business Response: 6/11/13 BBB contacted the business and was advised that the complaint has been resolved and windows were installed on June 7th.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I never was contacted in regards to my complaint of false advertising.  So their statement that the problem was resolved is false.  I asked the office to have the owner call me to discuss my issue, and to this day i still have not heard from him.  I did have the windows installed, as i am a man of my word and accepted the estimite the estimator gave me.  I did not want to stick him with the windows, as this is what he told me would happen if he made the order and they weren't installed.  I  was hoping the owner would at least be concerned enough about his customers to discuss the matter with me, which he was not.  They did change their website after i filed my complaint, and added an asterisk which states added charges may apply but the asterisk information is on a different slide on the website.  So still not straight forward.  I was never contacted by the owner.  If you want to run a successful business, I believe you should be man enough to talk to your customers and address their concerns.  I will definitely not recommend this particular window world to anyone.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told specifically that the windows on my building would be replaced before the end of May. I noticed on my warranty that it states that the installation took place on 5/10/2013. The was no date of installation on the receipt. I was assured that I'd have them installed and when I spoke with the salesman that sold these to me he said that he didn't know what I was talking about. He never said that he didn't say that. I also was never told by him what the cancellation policy is. They still haven't given me an installation date. I'm possibly looking at late june or july before they are installed. Unfortunately I see this company as liars and will not recommend them to anyone and won't use them for any of my properties.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to cancel my window install. I found another company that'll do the rest of my windows faster and cheaper.

Business Response: 6/11/13 BBB contacted the business and was advised that the windows were installed and the complaint has been resolved. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The issue was the fact that they plainly lied to me.  They offered no apology and and in no way tried to make up for what happened.  The sales person and the people in the office were not pleasant to talk with.  The installers were excellent.  I've moved on to one of their competitors who has given me better service and better prices.  Window City.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Window World of the Queen City, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)