BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Champion Window Manufacturing & Supply Co., LLC

Phone: (513) 346-4600 Fax: (513) 346-4614 View Additional Phone Numbers 12121 Champion Way, Cincinnati, OH 45241 http://www.championwindow.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers windows, entry & storm doors, siding, and awnings. The company offers basement remodeling through Basement Solutions by Champion and patio room enclosures through Champion Patio Rooms of Cincinnati, LLC. Separate reports are available upon request.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion Window Manufacturing & Supply Co., LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Champion Window Manufacturing & Supply Co., LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Champion Window Manufacturing & Supply Co., LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1954 Business started: 01/01/1953
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brandon McDonald , Division Manager Mr. James Mishler, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brandon McDonald , Division Manager
Principal: Mr. James Mishler, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
Champion Patio Rooms of Cincinnati, LLC Basement Living Systems by Champion Champion Opco, LLC Champion Retail Co, LLC
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Awnings & Canopies Shutters Siding Materials Windows Doors - Repair Siding Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Champion Champion Windows
Additional Information

The Cincinnati, Ohio location is the corporate Headquarters for Champion, however this report only covers local experience. Contact your local BBB for a report on the Champion in your area.

Industry Tips
28 Questions For Your Home Improvement Projects Home Siding and Re-siding

Additional Locations

  • 12121 Champion Way

    Cincinnati, OH 45241 (513) 346-4600 (888) 296-7788

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 875-5575(Phone)
  • (859) 331-1167(Phone)
  • (888) 296-7788(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1st attempt @ resolving a warranty issue started on 07/10/13, and a return call was promised. On 07/11/13, with out a promised return call from Champion, a response was they lost their computers and will call around 4-5:00. That didn't happen. On 07/12/13, I called again and Charles @ Champion was out of office, but will call Mon.07/15/13. Charles finally called and set appointment to look at the issue. Upon inspection,07/19/13 Charles said he would get items on order. On 07/30/13, at 3:42 PM, I called again and the service girl stated the doors had been ordered and should be here in 2-3 weeks. They supposedly would call and establish an appointment for installation. On 08/13/13,3:55 PM I called again to inquire what was happening. They supposedly will call in the AM and apprise. On 08/14.13, I called and told them I wanted the job completed by Fri. 08/30/13 as I had company coming on 09/01/13, and wanted the job completed by then. I received a call back on 08/19/13 stating George and another fellow would be here on 08/30/13, and it would be an all day job.Henceforth, I changed all my schedules to be here that day. Today, 08/30/13, at 9:37, Champion called and stated they would not be here because their supplier did not have the doors ready. I question why someone did not call previous to that time??? The warranty is covered at their cost and this is ridiculous!!!

Desired Settlement: GET IT COMPLETED AS SCHEDULED!!!!!!!

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


We have received a copy of the above complaint and appreciate the opportunity to respond.  We agree with Mr. **** that our communication could and should have been better in reaching out to him prior to learning that the product was not yet in.  The service was re-scheduled immediately upon receiving the product and our Division Manager followed up with Mr. **** to ensure that the service was completed to his satisfaction.  At this time we do believe the warranty service has been completed to the customer's satisfaction. We appreciate this feedback to continue to improve our service to our customers.

Sincerely,

Karen Miller
National Customer Care Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: approx. 2 winters ago, a champion salesman,Mr. Camille Saleh, came to my home on Woodwick for a demo of their windows. My son-n-law, Matthew Duncan, was in presence. Mr. Saleh did a demo on a triple pain window. He did radar testing of some sort which he said was 0degrees outside the window, and when you touched the window you could not feel the cold at all. I was dumbfounded to say the lease. He also did it with heat and you could not feel the heat from the inside of the window. Both of us were excited over this window. At no other time did he demo any other window. He said if we purchased them tonite he would extend the warranty to 5 years. I called my husband, even though we had not had any other demos, I told him this triple pane window was terrific. Mr. Saleh took our down payment of $3,000. and set up an installment and I made sure to have him tell me this would be the window that would be installed. Well even when they were installing the windows I questioned the installers and got no clear answer from them on the triple pane. After two winters I remained skeptical. I wrote a type written letter to Mr. Mischler, CEO of champion windows letting him know that I was mislead and I sent the letter certified and restricted, therefore only he or an agent assigned could sign for the letter. Well I then received a call from Amy Frye, who said she could speak on Mr. Mishlers behalf. But she was not the one that signed for the letter. It was Aimee Myerly, someone at the front desk. She did not check the agent box on the letter. Amy Frye told me that they demo competitive windows to show that their windows do the same. At no time did the salesman do a demo on a champion window and he reassured me I would be getting the window he demoed. It ended up costing us $12,000. which we charged. She has offered to send "Joel" out to do some tests on the windows. I simply told her I wanted the windows that were demoed to me and not the double pan they installed. She said that could not be done. #76485 Do right!

Desired Settlement: I want the triple pane windows that were demoed in my home to be replaced with the windows champion placed in my home. Amy Frye tried to say she did not even know the competitors window they use to demo. This was a total scam and it has been eating at me ever since they were installed. She denied they could do this and said she did not even know which competitors window was demoed. I could have sworn that a champion sticker was even on this window. The salesman lied and misrepresented. Justice

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


We have received a copy of the referenced complaint and appreciate the opportunity to respond.  As Ms. ****** states in her letter, she purchased windows from Champion 2 years ago from our Sales Manager ******* *****.  We were unaware of Ms. ******'s concerns about her windows for the last two years they have been installed until we received her letter to Jim Mishler.   We take customer service very seriously at Champion and any concerns that are brought to our attention our addressed and we do our best to resolve to our customers satisfaction.  Ms. ****** stated in her letter (as in this complaint) and was adamant that she believed she purchased and was demo'd triple pane windows.  As explained to Ms. ****** we are extremely concerned if she believes she was misled or there was any confusion at all, but that we have not ever sold or offered triple pane glass.  It is true that our factory representatives demonstrate a variety of glass samples to show the value of our double pane Comfort 365 glass - as we show in our demonstration - our Comfort 365 glass outperforms even triple pane glass and is the true "wow" factor that only Champion can deliver.  So as explained to Ms. ******, we were and continue to remain ready, willing, and able to come back out and show her a demonstration again, look at her glass if she is concerned with the performance and make sure the windows are insulated and installed correctly.  We  are more than happy to do this even though the windows have been installed for two years, and the contract clearly states (as all of our contracts do) that "All Champion windows feature comfort 365 glass" - which is only offered by us and only offered as double pane.   We can not install or offer triple pane glass when it is simply something we do not offer - do not sell - and can clearly show where our glass outperforms it as we do in our demonstrations.  We did have an appointment to meet with Ms. ****** and do the demonstration again and inspect the windows, but Ms. ****** cancelled that appointment and asked us to reschedule.  We have left messages at Ms. ******'s home to attempt to reschedule this, but Ms. ****** has not responded to our messages.  We remain ready, willing, and able to inspect her concerns as stated above, but cannot replace the windows with triple pane.  We are happy to work with the BBB through mediation or any other avenue if need be.

Sincerely,

***** ******
National Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

****** ******* *********************> 
11/25/2012 02:01 AM

I just tried to send this email. For some reason it did not go through, but, 
I will go over it again. I just got the letter from BBB dated 11/19. They have given us 7 days to either resolve this or not. I have contacted you several times since I received the letter, you were not available. I guess since it was a Holiday week some people aren't around no matter how important the matter how important the matter is. Well it is very important to me and the money I spent on what I was told was a triple pane window. I am lucky I had a witness here and he can back me up on the whole demo or non demo that was done on a champion window. I even called my husband raving about the triple pane window, salesman present as well as my son-n-law, and he agreed with me. The salesman said it had to be ordered that night or I would not get the 5 year guarantee. Being close to Christmas Iguess someone needed a large commision. I could not get in touch with you I finally called Amy Frye. BBB gave me 7 days to either resolve this or not. I passed this on to Amy via email, she was not available the last time I called. I asked to be  called Monday to get this going. Although I am almost certain I will not get what I was led to believe I was buying. Looking forward to hearing from someone.By the way, email is impersonal, and I do not check it everyday. A phone is still the best way to get in touch with someone, especially when this is important. What if I had no email, what would you do? Phone calls are personal and professional, not emails., Talk to you soon. Mrs. ******

 

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


We have received a copy of the consumers response and appreciate the opportunity to respond.  As stated in our original response we have contracted Ms. ****** on several occasions to attempt to schedule a service.  After receiving a phone call from Ms. ****** after our initial response we have been in touch with her through Amy Frey, our Asst. Mgr for National Customer Service.  Amy spoke with Ms. ****** the week of 11/26 and attempted to schedule another appointment for our Installation Manager to visit Ms. ******s home and inspect her concerns.  Ms. ****** has since informed us that her schedule is too hectic to find a time for us to visit and would need to hold off until after the first of the year.  It is our intention to follow up with Ms. ****** after the first of the year and attempt to schedule a visit again.

Sincerely,

***** ******
National Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

12/17/12 Mrs. ****** contacted BBB and stated that she called K**** ****** with Champion to set up an appointment for an inspection. 

Business Response: Ms. ****** did contact our office and spoke to Amy Frey in our National Customer Care Department.  At that time an appointment was again arranged for our Installation Manager, Joel Poulin to visit Ms. ******'s home, but Ms. ****** cancelled and then stated that she would prefer to have a third party person inspect her home prior to Champion doing an inspection.  Champion remains ready, willing, and able to inspect Ms. ******'s concerns with a home visit under the guidelines of her warranty.



BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company failed miserably on all levels of service. They were quick to quote and very slow to deliver. After signing a contract it was weeks before anyone came to my home to assess repairs. We were told that they would have to special order our skylights and the wait would be 6-8 weeks. At this time we were also asked to provide a downpayment of $500.00 for materials. After waiting for the skylights to be manufactured we were told we would have to wait an additional 2-3 weeks for installation. When installation day arrived we were informed that they could not do the job because of the way the sunroom was constructed. Customer service was non-existent and there was absolutely no follow-up. This company needs to be investigated.

Desired Settlement: I would like my downpayment returned plus the interest it accumulated while they were holding my money.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


We have received a copy of the attached complaint and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Mr.  ********* and his wife did contract with Champion for skylights in their sun room addition.  The sun room addition was not a room installed by Champion and at the time our installers went to the home it was discovered that the roof  was in somewhat of a disintegrating state and composed of a material that is not structurally sound to hold the weight of skylights.  Since this was not a room installed by Champion we were unable to ascertain the condition of the roof and structural integrity of it until our installers were able to do their inspection.  It was explained to Mrs. Leininger, whom the contract was with, that the roof could not hold skylights and installing them would eventually cause them to most likely fail and cause further damage to their room and roof.  At that time it was explained that we would refund the deposit of $500 and that has been done.  The Leininger's did receive their complete deposit and the contract has been terminated.

Sincerely,

***** ******
National Customer Care Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *********

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a screen room put in about 18 months ago. The salesmen promised to come by shortly after installation with our Warranty- we still have not received one. The screen door was never installed properly and we have ongoing issues with it. When the repairmen would come to fix the door, they would just drill more holes in the frame- making it look very unattractive. This summer we called customer service and waited several days/weeks to hear back from someone about a solution. After finally getting a hold of someone they said that they would order a new door, but that we are running a commercial operation out of our home (which is NOT true at all!) and that technically they should not be fixing this problem. I contacted the CEO of Champion Windows on August 3 and he replied that I should expect to hear back from him on August 7- it is currently August 21 and I have not heard from anyone at all. Our door is still broken and even the CEO does not care about his product or company name.

Desired Settlement: I would like the warranty in writing and a complete repair of the broken door, not just more drilling. I do not want to see any more holes. I would like an apology from whomever falsely accused us of running a commercial operation out of our home, and I would like at least a partial refund for all of the stress and head ache related to these dealings with Champion Windows.Back up your product and own up to your mistakes.

Business Response: We have received a copy of the referenced customer concern and appreciate the opportunity to respond.  We apologize for any miscommunication, but a new door was ordered for Ms. ********** and she has been contacted at this time to schedule installation of an entire new door.  If Ms. ********** does not have a copy of  her warranty, we will be happy to place a copy of the warranty in the mail for her records.  In addition, we certainly apologize if Ms. ********** felt like anyone representing Champion was accusing her of anything or for any lack of communication.  We are committed to customer service and standing behind both our product and our warranty and at this time the door is being replaced per Ms. **********'s request and covered under the warranty.


Sincerely,

***** ******
National Customer Care Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 2010 I ordered 15 windows and 2 exterior doors from Champion, on credit through GE Capital. The credit terms, repayment amount, interest rates, or term of loan was never explained to me. Shortly there after the person came to make sure all measurments were correct to place order. At that time Champion was fully aware that I intended to keep the FRONT and BACK STORM DOORS.September 2010 the windows and doors were installed over a period of 2 and 1/2 days. I was told the storm doors would not go back on due to the way the installation with the exterior doors were handled and the installers left. I immediately called and complained and the head installer came back out and got the BACK Storm door back on, but said the front would not go back on at all, and if they did get it back on then the warranty on the exterior door was null and void because the storm door was not vented. Well they didn't tell me this at time of order or measurement.Sales person discounts a door, but GE Capital will not extend credit further to get on order and I could not afford it as an out of pocket expense so to this day I am still without a storm door on the front and cannot leave the other door open to look out and watch the kids play.February 19th Sales person calls to see if I am still happy with product/service, and I said I wasn't happy that I still didn't have a front storm door. He says he will see what he can do. February 22 I get a call from the service department to come service the door. Well HOW DO YOU SERVICE SOMETHING THAT DOESN'T EXIST? So I call the service tech back and explaim=n everything again and he says he will get back to the sales person and sales manager? So I am back at the waiting game. This is riduculous. Great product, poor customer service issues.

Desired Settlement: At this point they can credit off some of the order, or they can get me not only a front storm door, but they can replace the back one for me too for all the time and trouble and hassle that I have had to go through because of this.I would love to be able to sit in the spring/summer time with the front door open and be able to watch the kids play in the culdesac without worrying about bugs getting into the house or the dogs getting out of the house and running away.

Business Response:

 

I have received a copy of the complaint notice above from your office and appreciate the opportunity to respond. 

When replacing entry doors that have existing storm doors in place, it is typical for some homeowners to wish to keep their existing storm doors while others choose to leave the storm door off, and others purchase new storm doors.  If the homeowner wishes to keep their existing storm doors it is possible to reinstall them; however, other times it is not possible to reinstall them due to fit, etc. with the new doors.  Therefore, if the homeowner wishes to keep their storm doors this would typically be documented on the agreement so our installation department is aware as well.  

Unfortunately, there is nothing on *** ******** agreement stating this, but we do understand from her notification that she believes this was made clear to her factory representative and therefore, our installation department did attempt to put both storm doors back on and then involved her factory representative when *** ****** was not satisfied with the result.  

At this time, we would like to have our Installation Manager visit *** ******** home and inspect the work and the doors to see how we can best assist *** ****** and address her concerns with a resolution that suits all parties.  We are ready, willing, and able to inspect the install and fit of doors to come up with a solution for *** ******.  Our Installation Department will be contacting *** ****** to arrange something at her convenience.

Respectfully,

***** ******

National Customer Care Manager

Champion Windows

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Champion has not contacted me stating that an installer would come back out, but problem is after a few months of not getting this resolved the storm door (THAT THEY SAID WOULDN'T FIT BACK ON) was thrown out because I had no place to store it except for out back and I was afraid of safety issues with the glass and my 3 dogs.  I explicity remember when the person came out to measure the final measurements his name was ******, he was FULLY AWARE that the existing storm doors were being kept, he said that would not be any type of problem.  When the install was done and they gave me the bad news about the front storm door NOT GOING back on, I was then told if they got that existing storm door back on that it would VOID their warranty on the interior/exterior new entry door that was on my order, because my existing storm door was not ventillated.  ****** saw my EXISTING storm door at measurment time and did not say anything about the fact if we kept that door that warranty would be voided because of no ventillation.  So I don't have the front storm door any longer, and I can't open my front door to let sunshine in the house because my 3 dogs will run away.

 

Champion has not made any type of communication with me except to try to send out a service tech and that was before this BBB complaint was issued because there is nothing to service if I have no door PERIOD....

 

Thank You

 

Mrs. ******** ******

 

 

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


We apologize for any mis-communication with Ms. ******.  We have contacted her at this time and arranged for our Installation Manager to visit her home and inspect the back door and also discuss options for the front storm door.  Our Installation Manager is visiting Ms. ******'s home this afternoon, Monday 4/23/12, at 4:00 p.m. to address.  We are confident that we will be able to resolve Ms. ******'s concerns and will provide an update to the BBB after our visit this afternoon.  

Sincerely,

***** ******
National Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

I have been contacted by the Installation Manager from Champion, promptly a few minutes before 4 (which was fine) he was very attentive and listened to all my concerns regarding the original measurments and the intent to keep the storm doors on due to the animals.  We now have a new front storm door on order includining the install, and my husband and I agreed to keep the back storm door since it was able to be placed back on properly.  I should have my new storm door in 6-8 weeks.  Thank you Champion for finally understanding my concerns regarding the original order and the measurements.  Again Installation Manager very professional and was completely understanding to the situation.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1