BBB Accredited Business since

Midwest Sports Supply Inc.

Phone: (513) 956-4900 Fax: (513) 956-4910 View Additional Phone Numbers 11613 Reading Road, Cincinnati, OH 45241

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sporting goods sold by mail and on the Internet.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midwest Sports Supply Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midwest Sports Supply Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Midwest Sports Supply Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 18, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/05/1989 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Martin Wolf, President Mr. Greg Wolf, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Martin Wolf, President
Business Category

Tennis Equipment & Supplies Internet Shopping Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Sporting Goods - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Midwest Tennis Outlet

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Midwest Sports Supply Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11613 Reading Road

    Cincinnati, OH 45241 (800) 334-4580 (513) 956-4900


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a pair of **** tennis shoes from their website on June 5th, received on June 9th, 2015. Within 6 weeks the bottoms had worn through the outer sole. When I called, both the customer service rep and her supervisor told me that those shoes just don't last that long and that there was no warranty/guaranty. I paid over $100 for these shoes and for them to last less than 2 month is unacceptable. Both reps also told me that if I had called about them prior to purchase, they would have said not to buy them.

Desired Settlement: I would accept a full refund or credit.

Business Response: As stated by our staff **** does not carry an outsole warranty for the shoes purchased. The statement of "if I would have called they would have told me not to buy them" was taken out of context. We stated if you wanted a shoe with a outsole warranty we would have not recommended these because they do not carry a warranty. The ***** shoe by **** are a light weight shoe built for speed not durability and that is why they do not warranty the shoe. We did offer a discount off another pair that did carry a warranty but the customer declined that offer. We also offer a feature on a website that they could have just viewed shoes with a sole warranty. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The original consumer service rep told me that they would not have recommended the shoe. When I told the supervisor, he said exactly the same thing, and did not "clarify" or alter the statement in any way; he agreed and said that he too would not have recommended the shoe. Midwest Sports is now claiming that their words were taken out of context. It was a stand-alone statement in both cases with ample time for further justification that was not provided.  If you know you are selling a product that is inferior, you have an obligation to either stop selling or to let customers know in advance of purchase.

A 15% discount off of another pair of more expensive shoe does not in any way resolve the problem - they are selling what they themselves consider to be an inferior shoe.  There is no mention on the shoe description page of any of the stipulations they are now claiming.  They are asking me to follow up good money after bad.  Although the shoes did not come with a 6- month guarantee, 6 weeks is a ridiculously short period of time for shoes that are worn for several hours, several days per week.  There is a hole in the bottom of the shoe. Clearly the product does not live up to expectations, clearly Midwest Sports was aware of the problem and continued to sell them, and now, clearly, Midwest Sports is not following good business protocol. 


****** ******

Business Response: Just so everyone is aware that is our number 1 selling shoe as well as the number 1 selling shoe for **** tennis and has been for the last 8 years. If the shoe was inferior this would not be the first complaint we would be receiving on this shoe. The customer purchased a shoe that was light weight and had no manufactures warranty and now is upset that they wore through the shoe. If you are looking for a durable shoe again this would not be a shoe we recommend. We are willing to take an additional discount off a shoe that does carry a warranty. We are basically giving the customer free money when we did nothing wrong. They are more than welcome to send the shoes back to **** to have them look at the shoe. **** does require for the consumer to pay shipping both ways. We are trying to compromise for a resolution but unfortunately we can not replace the shoes at no charge.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The bottom line is that I paid over $100 for a pair of shoes that were worn for a few hours, a few days per week, and within 6 weeks had worn a hole through several layers.  Completely unacceptable. Any reputable store would return or exchange for full value.  That Midwest Sports's response is to tell me these shoes were not expected to last, that they would have recommended against them, and that there was no official 6-month guarantee is simply bad business.  An offer of 15% off a different pair (a more expensive pair, per their recommendation) is, again, bad business and unfair to the consumer. 

****** ******

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was bought 3 pairs of shoes when I was in Cincinnati. I live in another city and took them home to see how they would fit. I walked around my house on carpet in the shoes. Never wore them outside or on floors other than carpet. In fact the pair of new balance I never even walked around in them. I sent them back for a refund. They denied the refund because they have been worn and are dirty. Even if you try on shoes in a store and walk around the soles can get dirty. I guess if try on a pair of shoes and the soles get dirty you own them. I assume the stores floor isn't perfectly clean at all times.

Desired Settlement: A full refund.

Business Response: To Whom it may concern,

This customer has shopped in our showroom on 4 occasions and on each time has returned what was purchased which is no big deal however that being said they should be very familiar with our 30 day return policy. Not only had the shoes been worn but they tried to return them after about 50 days which is past our 30 day return policy. We do try in every case to error on the side of the customer and want their experience to be a good one. In this case we were not able to take back used shoes after our return policy date. 

2/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1218/14 I placed an order with Midwest Sports for a gift to my husband for Christmas. I purchased the **** ***** ********* Men's Tennis Shoe that was on sale for $99.95. I also used a promotional code to get 10% off, which brought my total down to around $90.00. After my purchased I noticed the same shoe in blue/red so I called to see can I get the color exchanged. The representative, ****** told me that the blue/ red shoes I wanted was not available in size 12. I asked what other colors they had and chose to go with the red/black. I asked was there any change in the price and was told no. I was totally happy with my purchase. However, I received the shoes today and opened the package to wrap it and noticed a bill for $165.00. I called Midwest and they won’t honor what their representative told me. They said the most they can do is discount this shoe from $165.00 to $135 or I can send back the shoes. I feel misled, cheated, and I was deceived because I never agreed to pay $165.00, they charged my credit card without me authorizing it. I really feel scammed. Instead of Midwest trying to make it right, the offer that I was made is making me spend more money that I planned to spend. To send the shoes back means I won’t have any shoes to give my husband on Xmas morning and would have to make an additional purchase plus spend the $90, 00 on the shoes. Either way I am screwed or I don’t think it’s fair.

Desired Settlement: I think Midwest should honor their representative statement that my bill wouldn't change.

Business Response: The customer order the shoes online and then called to try to upgrade the shoes to a newer model which cleared stated they were $165 as shown on the website. Customer called in after they received and tried to get us to honor a price for the previous model which would have been below our cost. We informed the customer that a return label was supplied in the box and that the item could be returned free of charge if they felt mislead in any way. The other option we offered was to lower the price for $165 to $135 to make up if they had any misunderstanding. The shoe they had originally ordered online was available and in stock they were trying to call and upgrade and get it at the same price. We were not sold out of the item. We do not and have never tried any form of bait switch the customer wanted the nicer item at the lower price and unfortunately we can not do that. Again they can send the item back free of charge for a full refund.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my  complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response to my complaint is completely untrue.  I never called for a upgrade.  I called for a change in color and specifically asked if my original order would change.  Most companies keep recordings of the original phone call which Midwest could easily do to verify that I specifically asked about the change in price.   The bottom line is that this company does not stand behind their agent's actions and they charged my credit card without my permission.  Which is very shady.


******* ******

Business Response: We again apologize for any issues or confusion on this order. We had offered a discount on the color originally ordered if they did not want that color why did they order? If they wanted the other color why did they not just order that color at full price instead they ordered the discounted shoe and tried to get the full price shoe for the same price when calling. We did offer a discount of 20% but that we could not match the closeout shoe price. The other option was to ship out the original ordered shoe which they did not want. The customer decided to keep the shoe at the discounted price on our last phone conversation so I thought the issue was resolved. The customer received the newer shoe at the discounted price excepted that and moved on only to find out they took that discount and agreement and then started a BBB complaint. They can send the shoe back used or unused for a full refund other than that we are unable to discount the shoe any deeper than we already offered and had excepted by the consumer. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

To answer the questions that you asked, I stated before I shopped online and purchased what I seen online which totalled to $99.00 (really $90 b/c I had a discount code).  I called less than ten minutes later because I had placed the order and thought about I don't want any  white on the tennis shoes because they get dirtry.  It's no way I could inquire about a color change and change the order without calling in.   I really don't appreciate how you are implying like I tried to scam you when I have purchased shoes from MIDWEST for the last 5 years and never had a problem before.   The reason I am saying you are scamming me because you have every phone call recorded.  Your agent specifically told me that the price of the shoe would not change with my order.   If that was the incorrect information he should honor it.  However your company charged my credit card a extra $75 dollars without my permission.   So who is the scam artist?

******* ******

12/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned two items to Midwest sports and was refunded for one. According to Midwest sports only one was received. The return shipping weights were consistent with the items returned. The returned shipping weights were consistent with what was received. Midwest Sports addressed me as if I was a liar attempting. never once considered the act that they lost to bag.. I'm open to discussing this with an arbitrator. The reason for the an arbitrator is that Midwest Sports never considered the bag was returned with the unused tennis racquet only that I was a liar. Below is supporting information that the bag was returned and one unused tennis racquet: Thank you for your order! Your order has been shipped. THIS IS AN AUTOMATED EMAIL...PLEASE DO NOT RESPOND TO THIS EMAIL..YOU WILL NOT RECEIVE A REPLY...PLEASE GO TO ********************** for assistance If this email was sent on the weekend or a Legal Holiday, your order has been packed and will be shipped on the next business day. Thank You Please allow up to 24 hours for your tracking # to update into the UPS system. How Long Will It Take to Receive My Order? Ordered From Order Number Ship Date Midwest Sport* ********************* ********** ****** ************ ******** Ordered by **** ******* ***** ****** ***** **** **** ************ ** ***** ** Ship to Attn:**** ******* ***** ****** ***** **** **** ************* ** ***** US Package Shipping Method Tracking Number 1 UPS 2nd Day Air ****************** Item Description Quantity Ordered Back Ordered Quantity Shipped ******** Head MicroGel Extreme MP Tennis Racquet 4 5/8 2 0 2 283094 Head 2013 Original Combi Tennis Bag 1 0 1 281028-16WH HEAD SONIC PRO STRING 16 WHITE 281028-16WH String for 230000 / Lbs :53 Proof of Delivery Close Window Dear Customer, This notice serves as proof of delivery for the shipment listed below. Tracking Number: ****************** Service: UPS 2nd Day Air® Weight: 6.00 lbs Shipped/Billed On: 01/31/2014 Delivered On: 02/04/2014 5:21 P.M. Delivered To* ************* *** ** Left At: Front Door Thank you for giving us this opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, UPS Tracking results provided by UPS: 06/21/2014 10:47 A.M. ET Proof of Delivery Close Window Dear Customer, This notice serves as proof of delivery for the shipment listed below. Tracking Number: ****************** Service: UPS Ground Weight: 3.00 lbs Delivered On: 02/21/2014 9:17 A.M. Delivered To: *********** *** ** Signed By: **** Left At: Dock Thank you for giving us this opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, UPS

Desired Settlement: An apology and a full refund for the bag.

Business Response:

We do have record of the customer’s order as well as their return. The customer purchased 2 frames and a bag on 1/31/2014 on 2/05/2014 called to say that he would be sending back a racquet and bag. Once we received the frame with no bag our receiving department made notes and notification was sent.  Customer called back in April and at that point we started a UPS investigation in which the claim came back as declined stating the package weight when dropped off at the shipping store was the same throughout the shipment and upon receipt. The bag by weight was not in the package when shipped and we did not receive therefore we cannot issue a refund for something that was not in the package. We tried to resolve the issue with a discount code on a future order but we cannot give credit for items we do not receive. 

It also appears the customer started 5 different complaints through the BBB for the same issue. We have been an upstanding company through the BBB and take customer service very serious as been shown through those years. We would like all 5 complaints removed if possible.

Thank you

***** *****

6/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered $645.26 worth of tennis equipment from Midwest Sports Supply. The order processed on 5/16/2014 and shipped on May 19th. When the 1st delivery attempt was made, I received a sticker tag from *** indicating that the sender requires a signature and that the signature must be taken at the time of delivery. I called *** after the 2nd delivery attempt failed and indicated that I would not be available during business hours during the week (because I work 9am-5pm). This phone call occurred with *** on that Thursday, 5/22/2014 at which time I made a request to pickup the packages at their ****** ***. location in ********. On Wednesday, May 28th (2nd business day since requesting pickup), I made a phone call to *** to check-in before picking up the packages. *** indicated that the sender (mid west sports) has a restriction on the order that prohibits pickup and that the packages were returned. I called Mid West Sports after I spoke with *** on the morning of May 28th. The representative indicated that the restriction for pickup was put on by midwest sports, and that the order will be shipped back out. I received an email from ******* **** from Midwest sports later that morning requiring that I pay $101.30 for re-shipping the order. I called Midwest Sports back and spoke with their Vice President. He indicated to me that Midwest Sports does not require a signature (although *** indicated that they did). He said that Midwest Sports does not prohibit pick*** from *** locations (although *** told me they did). He refused to resend, offered to refund the items cost, but kept a charge of $101.3 for the original shipment. Upon review, I do not understand why I was charged the original shipping charge, nor his later determination to not refund it. See below for the original order confirmation email from MidWest sports. I do not understand why I was charged for shipping in the first place. As per the email below, shipping and taxes on the order are 0.00. However, the item Subtotal is $645.26 and the order total is $746.56. No indication is made to where the extra $101.30 comes from. Only now after this incident, do I assume it applies to the shipping cost. Midwest Sports tells me that they did not put a** barriers or restricted shipping; *** tells me they did. Now I am stuck between both of these companies and I do not understand why my non profit has to pay for it. Ordered From Order Number Ship Date Midwest Sports ********** Web/** ************ 05/19/14 ******* ********* ** ****** *** ** ********* ** ***** US Shipping Method: Ground Items Shipping to : Item Qty Price Total ****** ******* Game ***** Low Compression Red 36 Pack ********* Item # ********* 10 $43.95 $439.50 ***** *** 85 Ball Hopper Fixed Handle Item # ******** 4 $26.49 $105.96 ***** 10 inch Rainbow Spots 6 Pack Item # ******* * $24.95 $99.80 Item Subtotal: $645.26 Shipping:  Tax: $0.00 Order Total: $746.56 Order Comments: If you have a** questions, or need to make changes to your order, please contact our Web Customer Service department from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm EST Mon-Fri at ###-###-#### . If more convenient, feel free to email us at mailto: **********************. Thank you again for your business and enjoy your day

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded in full for $764.56. Midwest sports put multiple barriers in place that prevented me from receiving items that I purchased. Further, they did not notify me of a** of these barriers. Given that ma** people work 9-5 jobs, it is not unreasonable to assume that I would be able to pickup items from a *** shipment location. After all, it is for that reason that they have this option in the first place. Delivered packages do require signatures, but not necessarily at the time of delivery. This distinction was not communicated to me in the shipment confirmation email, nor over the phone when I made the order. I had no reason to assume that Midwest Sports would prohibit pickup.

Business Response: We would like to start by apologizing for a** confusion on this order as it appears the customer feels misinformed from the beginning of the order. We guarantee shipping within 24 hours or next business day. This order was placed on May 16th a Friday in which the next business day would be Monday and in this case or dispute I am still confused on why the shipping time frame was even brought up. Secondarily Midwest Sports does not require a signature on a** package shipped unless by customer request it is strictly up to the *** driver if they feel comfortable in leaving the package. The driver will leave a note as they did on approximated time of delivery and options to contact the hub for pickup. Once you arrive at the *** hub the only requirement is that you proper ID to pick up your package. Lastly the order was placed on our website at and on the website shipping cost is calculated before checkout so the customer has no surprises.

In closing we have included both the actual screen shot of the customer cart and not some typed document they did leaving out pertinent information as well as the *** ship progress.
*** shipment details directly from ***.com
***********, **, United States 05/28/2014 9:00 A.M. Delivered
05/28/2014 5:41 A.M. Destination Scan
********, **, United States 05/23/2014 8:30 P.M. The receiver was not available at the time of the final delivery attempt. / The package will be returned to the sender.
05/23/2014 4:25 P.M. The receiver was not available at the time of the final delivery attempt.
05/23/2014 3:16 A.M. Destination Scan
********, *** United States 05/22/2014 4:34 P.M. The receiver was not available at the time of the second delivery attempt. A final attempt will be made.
05/22/2014 2:27 A.M. Out For Delivery
********, **, United States 05/21/2014 4:17 P.M. The receiver was not available at the time of the first delivery attempt. A second attempt will be made.
05/21/2014 5:47 A.M. Out For Delivery
05/21/2014 3:34 A.M. Arrival Scan
*********, **, United States 05/21/2014 2:28 A.M. Departure Scan
05/21/2014 12:02 A.M. Arrival Scan
**********, **, United States 05/20/2014 10:24 P.M. Departure Scan
05/20/2014 8:33 P.M. Arrival Scan
** ***** **, United States 05/20/2014 2:30 P.M. Departure Scan
05/20/2014 1:00 P.M. Arrival Scan
********* **, United States 05/20/2014 8:07 A.M. Departure Scan
05/20/2014 2:22 A.M. Arrival Scan
************ **, United States 05/20/2014 12:38 A.M. Departure Scan
************ **, United States 05/19/2014 5:56 P.M. Origin Scan
United States 05/19/2014 5:54 P.M. Order Processed: Ready for *** 

We have attached a screen shot of the order as it appears in the shopping cart for the customer to review.
This is not something Midwest Sports likes to see happen as it cost us $135.00 just to get the package back to us and the shipping out to the customer was actually $147 so it is a bad deal for all involved and we were willing to ship the items to a new location and just charge the same amount as originally charged for shipping even though it has cost us in excess of $160 above what the customer has already paid to ship this package and then have it redelivered back to us after the customer had not been available. I would also like to add or question the comment about being a "non-profit" and how they plays into the decision of how we should proceed. We treat everyone of our customer with respect and appreciate every order whether it comes as a volunteer or an avid tennis player. We also as a compa** have given millions of dollars and can document that to ********** ********* ******** over the last several years so should we beat our chest and ask customers or our vendors to give us free or undeserving items? 
We are more than willing to give the customer a full refund they paid on the items we had shipped to them but do not feel as we should be held responsible for the shipping charge they clearly agreed to to and could not fulfill their obligation to be available to receive the goods. 
Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter. 

10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered tennis racquet and string from their on-line store( Got it with different string. When I called customer service I was told that string that I ordered did not participate in promotion and by their discretion they changed my order. Nobody notified me about the change and asked to provide additional funds to prepare my racquet as I ordered. The store just shipped it. I cann't return it- my son participate in tournament and needs the product now.

Desired Settlement: 40$ credit or gift card to their store- the sum that I need to pay to restring the raquet

Business Response: Dear Valued Customer,


We are extremely sorry for any issue this has caused as we explained to you over the phone several times before. The promo you entered was for a racquet/shoe promo as again I personal discussed with you over the phone and you had acknowledged as such. You in no way shape or form put a shoe in the "******* Summer Shoe promo" therefore not qualifying you for the ******* RPM Blast string. As stated specifically on the website ad we had put a disclaimer if you put a non qualifying item in your cart Midwest Sports reserves the right to change it to a qualifying product for FREE. We are unfortunately at the mercy of the manufacture with the promo and gave you exactly what string your racquet qualified you for again for FREE. We again apologize for any confusion on the order and did offer discounts as well the chance to string another racquet with the RPM but would have to charge you for the string and that was not something you were interested in. We thank you for your feedback and this opportunity to try and improve our company through feedback.  

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
My problem was that the bussiness didn't notified me about the change and confusion in my order despite that the store asks for all the information like phone cellphone and e-mail. I would have provide additional funds or would have look for the product elsewhere but I didn't have the chance to do that.
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


****** ****