BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides higher education to traditional and non-traditional students through associate's degree, diploma, and certificate programs. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 10, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges & Schools
30 East Broad Street, Suite 2481, Columbus OH 43215
http://scr.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: (614) 466-2219
bpsr@scr.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Holly Helscher, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Holly Helscher, President
Related Businesses
The Art Institute of Ohio-Cincinnati
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Products & Services

Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati offers the following product(s): Accounting Technology, Architectural Drafting & Design Technology, Audio/Video Production, Biomedical Equipment Technology, Business Management, computer Networking & Applications, Criminal Justice, Early Childhood Education, Health Care Administration, Information Technology, Medical Assisting, Office Management, Paralegal, Parmacy Technology, Practical Nursing, Surgical Technology, Veterinary Technology

Industry Tips
Trade/Vocational Schools

Additional Locations

  • 1011 Glendale Milford Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45215 (513) 771-2424 (800) 888-1445 (877) 213-3956

  • 4805 Montgomery Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a "scam" college! My 50K degree is not worth anything! The program I graduated from is now a diploma program. I was never able to obtain gainful employment in my field due to the fact that Brown Mackie is NOT an accredited college! Please save your money and attended an accredited college or trade school.

Desired Settlement: Documentation for applicable outstanding loans

Business Response: August 1, 2014

Cincinnati Better Business Bureau
7 West 7'h Street, Ste, 1600
Cincinnati, Oh 45202

Re: ***** ****** *** ***** ****

Ms. ****** started out in the college's Surgical Technology program before switching to the Medical Assisting Associate Degree program that was offered by our school in 2010-2011, The College presently offers only a diploma in its Medical Assistant program.

Brown Mackie College- Northern Kentucky was, at all times relevant to Ms. ******'s claims an accredited institution, as it has been since 1981, The specific Medical Assisting program in which Ms. ****** was enrolled was itself accredited, as is our diploma program today, Our Medical Assisting graduate placement percentage during the time in reference was 69.60%, Our records indicate that Ms. ****** was hired as a Medical Assistant at an OB/GYN office on March 29, 2011 working 25 hours a week. Ms. ****** resigned from this position on July 1, 2011 indicating that she was moving out of the state with her husband's job.

Please contact me with additional questions ###-###-####.

**************
Campus Director

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brown Mackie college didn't submit my enrollment certificate to the veterans administration. As a result I didn't receive my ** **** benefit from September thru October.

Desired Settlement: I think that monetary relief would be fair.

Business Response:

Dear *** *****,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this concern.  *** ********'s concerns are important to us.  In order to release information to your agency, we need *** ******** to complete the attached FERPA form granting us permission.  He may return the form to your agency or to my office.

Sincerely,

Robin Krout

Campus President

Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

in reference to complaint ID *******, I have attached a signed copy of FERPA for authorization to release information

Regards,

****** ********




Consumer Response:  I responded to a e-mail in regards to a complaint ID *******. The issues has not been resolved, when I responded to the email from BBB, it automatically had some information in the subject section of the Email. My response was signing the paperwork that was sent by the place I had a complaint with. I'am still waiting to resolve the complaint, it was a mis-communication with the email.

Business Response:

Dear *** *****:

Thank you for forwarding the FERPA release from *** ********.  *** ********** concerns are important to us and we appreciate the opportunity to respond.  I have reached out to *** ******** by telephone but to date have not received a response.

*** ******** states in his complaint that we failed to submit his enrollment certificate to the ********* ************** and that he did not receive his September and October 2013 ** **** benefit.  He is requesting a refund in the amount of $4008.00 which represents the full quarter tuition for the months of October, November, and December.

In researching *** ********** records, we did discover that his September certification was not submitted until October 4, 2013.  His October certification was submitted on October 10, 2013.  The September and October payments from the ** were received and posted to *** ********** account on October 23, 2013.  These payments are highlighted on page eight of his ledger card which is attached.

*** ******** was issued a stipend check on October 24, 2013 in the amount of $565.00 from his Pell grant.  As the payment from the ** on October 23, 2013 for September created an additional credit on his account, he is also being issued a second stipend check in the amount of $771.00.

*** ********’s complaint is dated October 28, 2013 which is after the date when the payments from the ** had already been received and posted to his account.  It is also after the date that he was issued a stipend check in the amount of $565.00.

We apologize for the delay in submitting his September course to the ** for certification but at this time, *** ********** concerns with receiving his ** payments have been resolved.

If *** ******** has any future concerns with his funding, he should follow the grievance procedure as outlined in the college catalog and contact ****** *******, Student Accounting Supervisor or the Campus President.

Thank you for allowing us to respond.

Sincerely,

Robin Krout

Campus President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

First, I would like to point out two attached documents, the student account and account info documents. On the first document on the date of 8/6/2013 is when my ** **** benefits were posted to my account, now, on the second document named account info on the date of 10/23/2013 shows ** **** payments were submitted. In between 8/6/2013 and 10/23/1013 is approximately 78 days. The issue is that during the 78 days Brown Mackie didn't submit my enrollment certificate. Due to the untimeliness of this 78 day incident I became delinquent on several of my bills which had an adverse affect on my credit report. I worked hard to maintain a certain credit score and now it will take months to recover for the economical damage that has occurred as a result of Brown Mackie Colleges negligence. I have lost confidence in the Brown Mackie grievance/compliant system and as a consumer I have the right to be heard and the right to choose, I also have the right to redress. I chose the BBB, because they have a reputation for successfully handling situation like this, when people think they have been treated unfairly.

I would also like to point out the document entitled Brown Mackie email, its from a Brown Mackie employee explaining why my enrollment certificate wasn't sent in on time. Contrary to the assumption of the employee, I never told anyone I didn't plan to attend the school, the fact of the matter is I just recently enrolled in the Bachelors program. Furthermore I would like to show the document entitled benefits, it's from the Department of Veteran Affairs, dated Oct. 3, they told me that it was the school that failed to send in my enrollment certificate.  The final document I would like to show is the amendment document, it's also from the ********** ** ******* ******** it shows amendments that were submitted by Brown Mackie College. These were submitted after the initial compliant with the BBB was filed, which shows the BBB's effectiveness in handling situation like this and shows Brown Mackie's inadequacy to keep state and federal agencies informed. These amendments stem from 2011 which again is related to timeliness and accuracy, two amendments dating from  2011 and a recent one from 2013. The errors from Brown Mackie are reoccurring and now because of all their mistakes I'm suffering and I think it's unfair that I have to be subjected to this type of unfair dealing and bad business practices.  According to **** business ethics and code of conduct policy, Brown Mackie is obligated to timeliness and accuracy when it comes to student services and financial aid. It also states that Brown Mackie college will make no assumptions. 
I think that Brown Mackie should be held accountable for the errors and assumptions that led to an adverse affect on my credit report and economic damages I have suffered because of the inadequate management of their fiduciary type responsibilities, and for the lack of timeliness and inaccuracy when dealing with student services and financial aid. Brown Mackie college should uphold their obligations to me as a student and a consumer and respect my right to redress and uphold their obligations to State and Federal approving agencies.

Regards,

****** ********




Business Response:

January 2, 2014

Dear *** *****,

After a review of *** ********** response, we are unclear as to what *** ******** wants or is asking the College to do.  We are more than willing to discuss potential resolutions with him, but that will require him talking to us, which he has been unwilling to do.

I encourage *** ******** to contact me at ###-###-#### to discuss his concerns and potential resolution.

Sincerely,

Robin Krout

Campus President

 

 

 

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in 2009 I attended Brown Mackie for around 3wks to a month max and then withdrew because the school was not at all what my admissions rep said it was, half of the students and underqualified teachers were there for purposes other that learning or teaching, the building was filthy etc. Also the rep didnt clearly explain how much it was going to cost and was just in a hurry to get me sign their contract. They charged the Federal Pell Grant $3,567!!! Plus they say I owe them a additional $445, for what? I couldnt tell you, I was only there 3wks! Aparently this is A fraudulent business scheme to swindle the Govt"s $!!! ...This for profit so called school is using the promise of the American dream as bait to trap vulnerable and low income students!

Desired Settlement: Refund the Govt and any $ they say I owe them.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this complaint. We take the former student's concern very seriously .  In order to properly respond to this concern, we will need a signed ***** form signed and returned.  It may be emailed back or mailed to Robin Krout, President, Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati 1011 Glenadale Milford Road, Cincinnati, Ohio 45215.

Sincerely,

Robin Krout

President

BMC-Cincinnnati

Consumer Response: I faxed the requested authorization form to the college on April 8th. Thanks.

Business Response:

Thank you for your patience for our response.  We take *** ************ concerns seriously and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

 

*** ********** states in her letter that she attended BMC-Cincinnati for three weeks to a month maximum in 2009.  In fact, *** ********** was a student from October 5, 2009 to December 22, 2009.  Her last date of attendance was December 17, 2009.  She completed a quarter of attendance.

 

*** ********** states that the faculty were unqualified.  The faculty who taught *** **********’s courses were appropriately credentialed to meet the requirements of the College’s accrediting agency, the Association of Career Colleges and Independent Schools (ACICS) as well as the State Board of Career Colleges and Schools (SBCCS) and the Ohio Board of Regents (OBR.)

 

*** ********** was charged tuition, fees and books for the quarter which she acknowledged by signing an enrollment agreement and receiving a college catalog.

 

*** ********** states in her letter that she received the Pell Grant in the amount of $3,567.  The amount of the Pell  Grant that was posted to her account was $3,567.00.  A review of her account indicates that she received $1,784.00 for the quarter she attended and that another $1,783.00 was posted to her account for the next quarter after her last date of attendance.  This second disbursement of $1,783.00 should have been refunded to the Department of Education since *** ********** did not continue into her second quarter.  This was an inadvertent error by the Director of Student Financial Services.  We are now in the process of refunding this $1,783.00 and appreciate that *** ********** brought this to our attention so that it may be corrected.

 

*** ************ account has had a zero account balance since January 5, 2010.  I cannot find any record of *** ********** owing the college $445.00.  I would be more than happy to review any documentation that she has received requesting payment in this amount.  If *** ********** would like copies of her account,  attendance, and grades, we would be more than happy to forward them to her upon request.

 

Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this student’s concerns.

 

Sincerely,

 

Robin Krout

Campus President

 

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Please refer to the attached document. According to NSLDS I still owe $445.. Let me know if you are unable to open it I will fax it to you. Also I would like to know when Brown Mackie is planning to refund the $1,783.00  they admit they owe the Government in their response to my claim ... By the way, Your online system will not allow me to submit my response though BBB website for some reason.
 
Thank You,
****** **********

 

 

Business Response:

Dear *** *****,

Please accept our apology for the time it has taken for us to respond to *** ************ additonal questions.  *** ************ concern is important to us.  In response to *** ************ question regarding her Pell grant refund, Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati refunded $1,783.00 for *** ************ Pell grant on May 18, 2013.

It appears *** ********** may be confused by her NSLDS statement.  She does not owe Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati $445.00.  A copy of her ledger card is attached which reflects a zero account balance and the refund made for her Pell grant.  According to NSLDS, *** ********** has $4,456.00 in outstanding loans from ******** Community College and ********** ***** Community College.  If *** ********** believes this is in error, she would need to contact the other colleges or her lender regarding the status of her student loans.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to *** ************ concerns.

Sincerely,

Robin J. Krout

Campus President

Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati

 

5/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Brown Mackie College off and on from August 2004 to July 2008. I was told at the time of enrollment, that my credits will transfer and that they were Nationally Accredited and my credits will transfer out, however they are NOT Nationally Accredited but they are Regionally Accredited and there isn't a school that accepts the credits from Brown Mackie anymore and if they except them they can only use them as electives. There are several people who paid a lot of money to attend Brown Mackie Colleges and can't further their education because of this situation, and its definitely a rip off!

Desired Settlement: If I have to start all over, I need my money refunded so that I could go to an actual school without worrying about not having enough financial aid!

Business Response:

I want to provide a follow up response for *** *******.  We take seriously her concerns and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

 

*** ******* states in her letter that when she enrolled at BMC-Cincinnati she was told that her credits would transfer and that the college is nationally accredited.  She states that she discovered that the college is regionally accredited and her credits won’t transfer.

 

Regarding *** ********* first point, the College is nationally accredited through the Association of Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS.)  The College was never regionally accredited during her time of enrollment.

 

All students who enroll at Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati sign an enrollment agreement, state disclosure form and receive a college catalog.  All three documents acknowledge the agency that accredits the college.  In addition, the documents also advise students that credit transfer is up to the receiving college.  Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati cannot guarantee that credits will transfer to another college.  *** ******* would have had to sign such a disclosure form and enrollment agreement as well as receive a college catalog. 

 

If *** ******* would like to discuss further options for her for furthering her education or would like to receive copies of forms she signed, we would be more than happy to provide them upon written request or through the Better Business Bureau upon receipt of a FERPA release form.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

Robin Krout

Campus President

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 15th I finished all the credits I needed to complete my degree in ********** ********** at Brown Mackie College. In order to complete everything with the school I had to go to every department and obtain a signature saying that I was okay to go. When I arrived in the Financial Aid department to get my signature the employee looking at my account told me I have a balance of $3,900.00! I was receiving loans and grants the entire time I was there that I made accessible to cover my tuition, books, and any extra fees. When she told me that I knew it was incorrect. She then further looked into my notes and noticed my Financial Aid advisor (*** ***** never called me in the office the beginning of the year to refinance me. Not once did they try to contact me for the 6 months I was in attendance at the school. She then further mentioned to me that because it was my last day of school I most likely would not be able to get my loans to cover the balance because I was "no longer putting in hours at the school." She then proceeded to tell me I lost all the grants that covered my tuition which was almost 50%. After meeting with me she informed me it was her last week and gave me a list of 4 people to contact that following Monday. I called each person and left voicemails. With not one single response back. About a month ago, I received a call from their corporate recovery center for the remaining balance on my account or else my account would be sent to collections. I had to physically go back to the school and talk to someone about it who told me she "forgot" to contact me back. A week later she emailed me a late dispersement loan letter to send back. I sent that 2 weeks ago and then yesterday I emailed her to check on progress. My email was returned to me. I called the school and they informed me she had quit. I am in circles with this school and have no idea what else to do. I cant even receive my diploma I earned because of their mistake and as of right now I owe them this money!

Desired Settlement: This in all honestly is their mistake for never refinancing my loans/grants. I would love for them to have to pay the entirety of my balance. The grant money I would have never had to pay back and now it is included in my balance to owe. No one will return my calls. I reached out to Howard Aim and he told me to first send you a notice to get things accomplished. Please help.

Business Response:

Dear *** *****

Thank you for allowing us to respond to this student's concern.  Her concern is important to us.  As *** ***** states in her complaint, her last quarter of attendance at Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati was April 2012.  Her graduation date was June 14, 2012.

 

A review of *** ******* financial aid file indicates that her financial aid officer was notified in May of 2012 that she was at the end of her financial aid award year and needed to file for her financial aid for her last quarter of attendance. Unfortunately, this notification was overlooked and the student was not notified by the Financial Aid Office that she needed to file for additional financial aid for her last quarter until June. We apologize that she was not contacted in a timelier manner; but, as will be explained, the delay in notifying *** ***** of the need to refinance had no impact on what she would or would not have owed the College.

 

In June of 2012, while reviewing her financial aid paperwork prior to graduation, the student accounting advisor noted that *** ***** had not, in fact, been refinanced, and she was referred to the financial aid office.  On June 15, 2012, she completed her financial aid application for her last quarter.  Even though the student had graduated from the college, we were able to have her sign a late disbursement letter for her student loans, which she did on September 19, 2012.  Attached please find a copy of the financial aid award letter that the student signed acknowledging the student loans that she was eligible to receive.  When the student re-applied for her financial aid, she was notified that, per the  U.S. Department of Education's regulations, she had reached her limit for 2011/12 eligibility for the **** ***** award. As a result, she was not  eligible to receive the **** ***** for the April quarter.  As noted on her signed award letter, the student was aware that she would only be eligible to receive student loans with regard to her final quarter of attendance.

 

The College regrets that *** ***** had not been contacted earlier regarding her need to refinance, however her student aid eligibility would have remained the same whether she had been refinanced prior to the April quarter or in June at the end of the quarter.  After her student loans are posted to her account, *** ***** has a remaining balance of $1,552.00 - a fact that she acknowledged in the award letter she signed on June 15, 2012.  The College will be more than happy to set up an affordable payment for the student for her remaining balance.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *****

President

 

9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended this "School" for almost two months. During which time I encountered many grammatical as well as punctuation errors on exams, assignments and lecture material. I in no way whatsoever want to spend any of my money on an institution that cannot operate at an even basic level of intelligence. I am wishing to withdraw and not be charge for my time wasted sitting in their building, silently and verbally correcting their learning materials. I enrolled for an education and that is not the service with which I was provided.

Desired Settlement: I feel I am in no way obligated to pay this school for anything other than the iPad issued to me.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. Geers:

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this student's concerns.  In order to release information to your agency, the student needs to complete, sign, and return the attached FERPA form to us.  She may submit it through your agency or directly to my attention at Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati.

Sincerely,

Robin Krout

Campus President

Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati