BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides higher education to traditional and non-traditional students through associate's degree, diploma, and certificate programs. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 10, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges & Schools
30 East Broad Street, Suite 2481, Columbus OH 43215
http://scr.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: (614) 466-2219
bpsr@scr.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Holly Helscher, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Holly Helscher, President
Related Businesses
The Art Institute of Ohio-Cincinnati
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Products & Services

Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati offers the following product(s): Accounting Technology, Architectural Drafting & Design Technology, Audio/Video Production, Biomedical Equipment Technology, Business Management, computer Networking & Applications, Criminal Justice, Early Childhood Education, Health Care Administration, Information Technology, Medical Assisting, Office Management, Paralegal, Parmacy Technology, Practical Nursing, Surgical Technology, Veterinary Technology

Industry Tips
Trade/Vocational Schools

Additional Locations

  • 1011 Glendale Milford Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45215 (513) 771-2424 (800) 888-1445 (877) 213-3956

  • 4805 Montgomery Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Brown Makie from August 2012 through November 2013, I went to both Woodlawn and Norwood campuses. During my time at Brown Mackie there were two separate occasions where I was sent to much money on my stipends. The first time I was at the Norwood campus and talked to financial aide, the lady told me one of my books must have not cost as much that quarter. The second time I called financial aid at the Woodlawn campus. I told the lady I didn't want to spend it and get in trouble or get a extra bill for it, that if need be I could return it(almost $5,000). The lady told me I couldn't return money to the government that I wasn't going to get billed extra for it. She also said that I got it because I was graduating and since it was my last check that's why it was bigger. After completion of the program I called to see when my diploma was going to arrive and that's when I was told I owed almost $5,000 in order to get it. I then spoke to a lady in financial aid again who said she would start a investigation on why this happened because it could not be done by accident, that someone had to intentionally go into my account and put it through twice. I was told that lady is no longer with the school. It has now been over two years of countless trips and phone calls to the school to try and find out why this happened. Each time I get told they are going to look into it and give me a call back or no one from financial aid is available and they'll pass my info along. It's about time to find a resolution in this matter.

Desired Settlement: The outcome I would like to see is the person who authorized the stipends to go through twice held accountable and a agreement made for the amount I owe to be reduced or eliminated.

Business Response:

Brown Mackie College – Cincinnati’s

Response to ID ******** – ****** ******

April 22, 2016

A thorough review of the information in *********, as it pertains to the distribution of Ms. ******’s financial aid has been done. This included a review of her packaging throughout her attendance here by our Area Director of Financial Services. As Ms. ****** stated, there is a balance due of $4620.00.

In consideration of Ms. ******’s concern, Brown Mackie College – Cincinnati is willing to adjust her balance by 50%, leaving her with an amount due of $2310.00 if she can pay in full the $2310 within the next 45 days.

Sincerely,

Holly H******* - Campus President, Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati

 


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a "scam" college! My 50K degree is not worth anything! The program I graduated from is now a diploma program. I was never able to obtain gainful employment in my field due to the fact that Brown Mackie is NOT an accredited college! Please save your money and attended an accredited college or trade school.

Desired Settlement: Documentation for applicable outstanding loans

Business Response: August 1, 2014

Cincinnati Better Business Bureau
7 West 7'h Street, Ste, 1600
Cincinnati, Oh 45202

Re: ***** ****** *** ***** ****

Ms. ****** started out in the college's Surgical Technology program before switching to the Medical Assisting Associate Degree program that was offered by our school in 2010-2011, The College presently offers only a diploma in its Medical Assistant program.

Brown Mackie College- Northern Kentucky was, at all times relevant to Ms. ******'s claims an accredited institution, as it has been since 1981, The specific Medical Assisting program in which Ms. ****** was enrolled was itself accredited, as is our diploma program today, Our Medical Assisting graduate placement percentage during the time in reference was 69.60%, Our records indicate that Ms. ****** was hired as a Medical Assistant at an OB/GYN office on March 29, 2011 working 25 hours a week. Ms. ****** resigned from this position on July 1, 2011 indicating that she was moving out of the state with her husband's job.

Please contact me with additional questions ###-###-####.

**************
Campus Director

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brown Mackie college didn't submit my enrollment certificate to the veterans administration. As a result I didn't receive my ** **** benefit from September thru October.

Desired Settlement: I think that monetary relief would be fair.

Business Response:

Dear *** *****,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this concern.  *** ********'s concerns are important to us.  In order to release information to your agency, we need *** ******** to complete the attached FERPA form granting us permission.  He may return the form to your agency or to my office.

Sincerely,

Robin Krout

Campus President

Brown Mackie College-Cincinnati

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

in reference to complaint ID *******, I have attached a signed copy of FERPA for authorization to release information

Regards,

****** ********




Consumer Response:  I responded to a e-mail in regards to a complaint ID *******. The issues has not been resolved, when I responded to the email from BBB, it automatically had some information in the subject section of the Email. My response was signing the paperwork that was sent by the place I had a complaint with. I'am still waiting to resolve the complaint, it was a mis-communication with the email.

Business Response:

Dear *** *****:

Thank you for forwarding the FERPA release from *** ********.  *** ********** concerns are important to us and we appreciate the opportunity to respond.  I have reached out to *** ******** by telephone but to date have not received a response.

*** ******** states in his complaint that we failed to submit his enrollment certificate to the ********* ************** and that he did not receive his September and October 2013 ** **** benefit.  He is requesting a refund in the amount of $4008.00 which represents the full quarter tuition for the months of October, November, and December.

In researching *** ********** records, we did discover that his September certification was not submitted until October 4, 2013.  His October certification was submitted on October 10, 2013.  The September and October payments from the ** were received and posted to *** ********** account on October 23, 2013.  These payments are highlighted on page eight of his ledger card which is attached.

*** ******** was issued a stipend check on October 24, 2013 in the amount of $565.00 from his Pell grant.  As the payment from the ** on October 23, 2013 for September created an additional credit on his account, he is also being issued a second stipend check in the amount of $771.00.

*** ********’s complaint is dated October 28, 2013 which is after the date when the payments from the ** had already been received and posted to his account.  It is also after the date that he was issued a stipend check in the amount of $565.00.

We apologize for the delay in submitting his September course to the ** for certification but at this time, *** ********** concerns with receiving his ** payments have been resolved.

If *** ******** has any future concerns with his funding, he should follow the grievance procedure as outlined in the college catalog and contact ****** *******, Student Accounting Supervisor or the Campus President.

Thank you for allowing us to respond.

Sincerely,

Robin Krout

Campus President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

First, I would like to point out two attached documents, the student account and account info documents. On the first document on the date of 8/6/2013 is when my ** **** benefits were posted to my account, now, on the second document named account info on the date of 10/23/2013 shows ** **** payments were submitted. In between 8/6/2013 and 10/23/1013 is approximately 78 days. The issue is that during the 78 days Brown Mackie didn't submit my enrollment certificate. Due to the untimeliness of this 78 day incident I became delinquent on several of my bills which had an adverse affect on my credit report. I worked hard to maintain a certain credit score and now it will take months to recover for the economical damage that has occurred as a result of Brown Mackie Colleges negligence. I have lost confidence in the Brown Mackie grievance/compliant system and as a consumer I have the right to be heard and the right to choose, I also have the right to redress. I chose the BBB, because they have a reputation for successfully handling situation like this, when people think they have been treated unfairly.

I would also like to point out the document entitled Brown Mackie email, its from a Brown Mackie employee explaining why my enrollment certificate wasn't sent in on time. Contrary to the assumption of the employee, I never told anyone I didn't plan to attend the school, the fact of the matter is I just recently enrolled in the Bachelors program. Furthermore I would like to show the document entitled benefits, it's from the Department of Veteran Affairs, dated Oct. 3, they told me that it was the school that failed to send in my enrollment certificate.  The final document I would like to show is the amendment document, it's also from the ********** ** ******* ******** it shows amendments that were submitted by Brown Mackie College. These were submitted after the initial compliant with the BBB was filed, which shows the BBB's effectiveness in handling situation like this and shows Brown Mackie's inadequacy to keep state and federal agencies informed. These amendments stem from 2011 which again is related to timeliness and accuracy, two amendments dating from  2011 and a recent one from 2013. The errors from Brown Mackie are reoccurring and now because of all their mistakes I'm suffering and I think it's unfair that I have to be subjected to this type of unfair dealing and bad business practices.  According to **** business ethics and code of conduct policy, Brown Mackie is obligated to timeliness and accuracy when it comes to student services and financial aid. It also states that Brown Mackie college will make no assumptions. 
I think that Brown Mackie should be held accountable for the errors and assumptions that led to an adverse affect on my credit report and economic damages I have suffered because of the inadequate management of their fiduciary type responsibilities, and for the lack of timeliness and inaccuracy when dealing with student services and financial aid. Brown Mackie college should uphold their obligations to me as a student and a consumer and respect my right to redress and uphold their obligations to State and Federal approving agencies.

Regards,

****** ********




Business Response:

January 2, 2014

Dear *** *****,

After a review of *** ********** response, we are unclear as to what *** ******** wants or is asking the College to do.  We are more than willing to discuss potential resolutions with him, but that will require him talking to us, which he has been unwilling to do.

I encourage *** ******** to contact me at ###-###-#### to discuss his concerns and potential resolution.

Sincerely,

Robin Krout

Campus President

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brown Mackie College - Cincinnati
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)