BBB Accredited Business since

Ray St Clair Roofing Inc

Phone: (513) 874-1234 Fax: (513) 682-4695 View Additional Phone Numbers 3810 Port Union Rd, Fairfield, OH 45014 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.raystclair.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers residential & commercial roofing, siding, gutters & chimney work, windows, entry doors & attic insulation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ray St Clair Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ray St Clair Roofing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ray St Clair Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1955 in OH Business incorporated 10/28/1993 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raymond J. St. Clair, Owner Mr. Kevin St. Clair, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kevin St. Clair, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Raymond J. St. Clair, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Skylights Ventilating Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Awnings & Canopies Doors Windows Deck - Repair Soffit & Fascia Chimney Builders & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Insulation

Products & Services

Ray St Clair Roofing Inc sells the following brand(s): AFT Cellulose Insulation , Alcoa, and more..., Carlisle Membranes, Certainteed, Gutter Helmet, Karnak Coatings, Polaris Windows & Entry Doors, TAMKO, VELUX Skylights, Veriform Siding

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover and Check are accepted
Alternate Business Names
Ray Saint Clair Roofing Inc St Clair, Ray Roofing Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3810 Port Union Rd

    Fairfield, OH 45014 (513) 874-1234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Ray St. Clair Roofing on March 30,2016 to inspect our roof. The quote we received from Dave ********** the Project Coodinator was for $8866.00, this was for a tear-off of the old shingles and replacement with new shingles, and four new roof vents and flashing. After showing concern over the amount he said "Don't worry about it, if your insurance company does not cover it, we will work something else out...we receive special rates from the manufacture all the time. Just give me a call when you here from the insurance company." Well we settled with our insurance company on April 10, 2016, for around $2400.00. So, I called Ray St. Clair on Monday April 11, and once again talked with Dave the Project Coordinator, and told him what we had from the insurance settlement and that we would add about $1100.00 more to make it $3500.00. He said if we go with a less expensive shingle (a 3-tab 25yr.) do not do a tear-off of the old shingles and just place the new shingles over top and flash around the chimney, that they would do the job for $4221.00. To which I agreed on. Dave said that he would be call in a day or two with the contract to sign and that he needed a check for 10% of the price to get us on the schedule. Well I waited and waited for (5)days before I called looking for when we would finish the contract this is now April 15, 2016. I finally got a hold of him on Saturday the 16, around 8:45am, he asked how much was the quote and I told him it was for $4221.00. Dave said "That's fine, I should finish up with my last client around 11 am to noon, and I will be by between 12:00 to 1:00pm". I said great I will have your check for the 10%. This is where it turns ugly, Dave calls me at 1:00pm (when he was suppose to be there) and tells me "I must have missed a step, and it will be $5880.00" (unquote). (This was an increase of 39% over the agreed price!)To that my response was NO WAY! I can't afford that. After my objection he said "I will be in the office on Monday (April 18) and see what I can do." Well Monday, rolls around and I waited and waited (again) and still no call. So, around 2:00pm I called Ray St. Clair and talked to a lady in the office. She took my statement and said that someone would contact me. About 3:40pm the project coordinator Dave called, and said he was in the office that morning (AND HE STILL DID NOT CALL AGAIN) he and another person ran the numbers through the computer and the best they could do is $5600.00. I told Dave you must be kidding $5600 for a roof job that is NOT a tear-off and nailing over the existing roof while using a much less expensive shingles I told him that I can go down to Home Depot and get 20 square of 3-tab 25 year shingles for $1500.00. ($75.00/sq.) Then he gives some nonsense about paying a crew and delivery. I told he Dave just stop right there, if I am paying $75/sq. Ray St. Clair is probably paying $45-50/sq. and since this is only about a two man crew job which should take only (1)day, but lets add it up $1500 for shingles $500 for crew equals $2000, with a profit for Ray St. Clair of around $2200.00 for on day. Dave still stated that he could only do it for $5600.00. That's when I told him we're done and I will file a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is that the original agreement of $4221.00 for 20-square of 3 tab 25 year warranty shingles (to be laid over the existing shingles) and the flashing around my chimney, be performed as quoted on April 11, 2016, by the project coordinator. And that I deal with someone other than the project coordinator that started this unpleasant episode.

Business Response:

CLIENT ID # ********

Our Estimator states that he inspected the roof of the client and left a proposal for a new roof (tearoff), which was $8,866.00 and $1,865.00 for the gutters. The Client called our Estimator and expressed concern about the price.  I advised him of finance options, but never stated any special manufacture rates as stated in his complaint.  Then the client called to let our Estimator know he received a settlement from his insurance company and it was considerably less than our estimate.  I then told him I could figure up a couple different options, but he was in his truck and it was Saturday.  He gave the Client a verbal price of $4,221.00.  On Monday our Estimator rechecked the numbers and he realized he made a mistake in the estimate over the phone and called and apologized to the Client for his honest mistake in arriving at the price.  The new and correct price was stated as $5,692.00. 

We do apologize for the mistake , we do try and stay away from verbal estimates for this very reason.  We will agree to take $700.00 off the $5,692.00 and accept $4,992.00 for the roof price.

Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

I reviewed Ray St. Clair Roofing response with great disappointment. My statement was accurate and I stand by it. It is not surprising that they sided with their project coordinator, however, he did state that they receive special discounts from manufactures (which I know this really doesn't matter, I just wanted to state for the record that this person was untruthful to me and now with his employer).  The new offer is rejected because it is still $771.00 (18.2%) over the quoted price. As I stated to the St. Clair representative my family can not afford anymore for the roof, and I refuse to create a debt with the special financing at ***** ***** ****  just to settle their need for excessive greed! As stated before the profits on this job would still be over $2000.00 for about a one day , two man crew, job.   You know, it is sad that a company with this reputation (that they boast about on television) that a corporate officer can not pick up phone and resolve this issue in two minutes, as I was promised by to two female office personnel when I called a few weeks ago.  If Ray St. Clair Roofing can not/will not honor a quote by a representative paid to give quotes/estimates, and then tried (many times) to cover it up...and then states that I was not correct in my original complaint, then so be it.  Then this company has a sever integrity issues.  And potential customers should be made aware of it.

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $12,000.00 in September of 2014 to have 2 chimneys repaired at my home by this company(Ray St. Clair Roofing). The contract guaranteed: the removal and replacement of existing deteriorated cement crowns, the tuck pointing, in historical mortar, of any open mortar joints and/or the removal and replacement in mortar ANY damaged bricks in both chimneys. I also paid for a Crown Coat Waterproofing material to be applied to protect the repair work from the elements. New metal flashings were to be added as well. In actuality, instead of replacing bricks in needed of replacement, they shot rubber caulk instead of mortar. Sand was then skimmed over the mortar to disguise the caulk. Up to 30 bricks needed to be replaced per chimney. Several cracks in the brick were covered with just a smear of caulk. When warranty work was attempted, the repair team was unsure of what their instructions were from their boss and confessed they had no idea where to even start because of the condition they found the chimneys in upon arrival. They asked me the home owner if I knew what they were supposed to be doing at our home that day. They then used bright white mortar and they didn't repair any of the damaged bricks. They simply skimmed over crack with the bright mortar. The cap on the back chimney was not square so we've incurred further damage. After several attempts over an 8month period, I've tried to have this work repaired correctly by Ray St. Clair Co. The last 2 months, my phone calls haven't been returned. We've lost all faith in this company being able or willing to repair our chimneys properly. Truthfully, we'd never trust them again now that we have the rubber caulk and evidence of their deceitfulness with photos and broken brick with rubber caulk attached. They assumed we'd never get up that high with a boom to see the quality of work they performed so they purposefully were deceitful. It wasn't until we had the house painted by using several boom operators that we were given up close access to these areas. That's when we collected this evidence including several damaging photos. We've had the chimney repaired properly one month for an additional $12,000.00 by a reputable company.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking a full reimbursement of $12,056.20. My job # was ******

Business Response:

After reviewing this complaint Ray St. Clair Rooting would like to reimburse Ms. ******* for half of the desired settlement requested. Under normal circumstances we would like the opportunity to view and then make any needed corrections. We do understand that in this case we lost the right to do this.

We would like to settle this complaint by sending Ms. ******* a check for $6,000.00 and ask for this complaint to be removed.

Sincerely,

***** *** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. *** ***** has offered a reimbursement of half the amount I requested.  His reasoning is that he wasn't given the opportunity to correct the situation.  If he had thoroughly read my complaint AND researched his company's work logs, he'd see that I tried on several occasions to have this issue resolved by his company.  The "repair" team his company sent to our home was completely unprepared for what they found upon arrival.  They were dumbfounded as to where to even begin because so much work on our 2 chimneys was completed incorrectly by the 1st crew just 7 months prior.  The first crew removed and replaced some of the old broken bricks, caulked some of the broken bricks back together and then added more caulk as "mortar".   They then added sand into a smear of caulk over those joints to "appear" as cement mortar from a distance.  The 2nd team, the "repair" team should have torn down all of the work completed by the 1st crew and completed the job as it was stated in our original contract.  Instead, they added bright white mortar here and there over the historic colored cracks in the old original mortar and they did nothing to replace the top 4ft of layers (on both chimneys) that had been caulked into place by the 1st Ray St. Clair crew.  


The deception involved in this case is despicable.   How many "repair" visits and how many months and years is a customer expected to give a business to hold true to the work they guaranteed??? I was given no other choice but to hire a trustworthy company to repair the chimneys properly before any more damage was done to my home.  Also, why in the world, would Mr. *** ***** think that I would EVER trust his company to do the work properly after being taken advantage of 2 times!!!  

 I will not accept an excuse of  "it was our sub contractors fault" or "we weren't aware of what the crew had done while on your roof".  It is the responsibility of the company to honor their written contract that guarantees their work to be completed properly.  The project manager of Ray St. Clair roofing should have been on the roof inspecting the workmanship as it was being completed AND should have never signed off on the final product before guaranteeing the work was completed properly.  If he had done so, he would have protected the customer and their business' reputation.  

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response:

I did receive Ms. ********* response concerning my offer to try and resolve her complaint. I should have explained myself in greater detail with my first response. The reason that I have offered to refund half of the money paid for the job is because during a conversation with our Salesperson, ***** *******, Ms, ******* had expressed that she was satisfied with certain aspects of the job we performed. She had indicated that on the front chimney the Reveal Crown, Copper Flues and Copper flashing were all satisfactory parts of the job.

I do understand that we lost her trust to come back and perform the areas of the job that were not done to her satisfaction. I am not happy about this at all, but I do understand .

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Ray St. Claire  Co. can send me a check to my home address at **** ***** *** *********** ** *****.  Upon receipt of payment, I will close this case.  

Regards,
********* *******

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 1997, under contract, Ray St. Clair (RSC) Roofing Inc. shingled the roof on my house and detached garage. In developing this contract, I pointed out numerous problems with numerous leaks I had with the porch and adjacent "dogleg" in the roof line - fixing these problems was the prime purpose for having the roof done. The contract included removing the existing roofs, installing 30# underlayment, ***** ******* 25 yr. shingles, and *** ***** applied for the lower sloping front porch. Also, the eves troughs surrounding the porch were replaced with larger ones. All this was based on RSC's advice. At the very beginning, the installers neglected to install the *** ***** and roofed the porch and part of the roof before I questioned them about it. The team leader was surprised and had neglected to read this detail and said they'd tear things off and start over. I also disagreed with the team for flashing at the dogleg because it was the source of a leak that had damaged my living room ceiling. Over the years, I had to call back RSC multiple times. I am fighting an ongoing battle over leaks in my porch roof, a problem that has ruined the ceiling I had replaced after the initial re-roofing. Last year, I successfully argued my case and a representative, free of charge, installed metal flashing and assured me that it would fix the problem of water getting behind some boards and getting into my porch ceiling. RSC said the big leak is the fault of ice dam and they really couldn't do anything about that. The past few days, copious amounts of water were (and still are), dripping and freezing and the RSC representative who came to my house said, that my porch is "the perfect storm" for this problem and that there was nothing they could do. I explained that this ongoing issue was the reason I hired them in the first place. Before the work/service was performed, I was assured by the RSC representative that *** ***** was what I needed to solve the problem. He also stated that it will take care of the porch leak problem and I will see no more dripping/leaking. Last year's RSC representative said that *** ***** wouldn't solve the problem and that there is new technology that's better. Yesterday, March 1, 2015,again, there was lots of water and icicles coming in behind the flashing and through my porch ceiling. Today, icycles have melted and now leaking and dripping continues. I feel I was given false information by the initial Ray St. Clair representative who stated that they could fix the porch roof leaking issues. It seems unethical for a company to claim they can fix an issue and then after the work is complete, a different representative informs me that they cannot do anything more for solve the problem. So I've paid $6,457.00 and I still have the same problem RSC said, in 1997, that they would fix.

Desired Settlement: Fix the roof properly so that water no longer ruins my porch ceiling (which was what RSC initially said they would do for me)

Business Response:

Hello ******! Here is what RSCR proposes to do at no charge for *** *****!

 

1) We will remove the present shingles and metal work on the low sloped roof only over the front porch.

 

2) We will install a *********** two ply self adhering modified roof over this location.

 

3) New modified roof will extend beneath shingle roof at tie in approx. sixteen inches. New shingles will be installed at this tie in point.

 

4) New metal apron flashing and rake metal flashing will be installed along perimeter of this roof location.

 

NOTE: This is a different product than what is currently on this roof section. It will not have the same appearance as the current roof. We will color match this as close as possible to current shingle color.

 

***** ********

Ray St.Clair

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  My wife and I both highly appreciate this outcome and wish to thank both the BBB and Ray St. Clair Roofing.

Regards,

***** *****

1/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid bill on 12/16/2014. Business charged my credit card on 12/18/2014. Received "duplicate invoice" on 1/24/2015. "PAST DUE, PAYMENT IN FULL TO AVOID COLLECTIONS.

Desired Settlement: A receipt for payment as promised.

Business Response: We acknowledge our clerical error in this matter, we made a mistake.  The customer did pay their invoice and we mistakenly sent an duplicate invoice indicating they had not.  I have since sent the customer an email with our apologies and as well as a paid in full receipt for work done.  As I stated to this customer, we try to keep our mistakes minimal, but we do make them and we are sincere when we say that we are sorry this happened. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.  If you and the business have reached an agreement and compliance is set for a future date, we trust the business will comply.  Please contact us after that time if the matter is not resolved as agreed and we will review the complaint and proceed accordingly.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ray St Clair Roofing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)