BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Don Snider Roofing Insulation, Siding & Gutters

Phone: (513) 777-5581 Fax: (513) 777-1923 View Additional Phone Numbers 6840 Yankee Rd, Liberty Twp, OH 45044 http://www.donsniderroofing.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial shingled and flat roofing, attic insulation, skylights, siding, soffit, trim, facia, gutter, downspout, box gutters and chimney services.  

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Don Snider Roofing Insulation, Siding & Gutters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Don Snider Roofing Insulation, Siding & Gutters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Don Snider Roofing Insulation, Siding & Gutters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 09, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated: 03/06/2003 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Donald Snider, Owner Ms. Jane Snider, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Snider, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Jane Snider, Customer Service
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Insulation Materials Chimney Cleaning Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

Don Snider Roofing Insulation, Siding & Gutters sells the following brand(s): Owens Corning, Atlas, Tamko, GAF, Certinteed, Mastic, Royal

Don Snider Roofing Insulation, Siding & Gutters offers the following product(s): Shingles, Rubber Roofs, Siding, 5" & 6" Gutters & Downspouts, Gutter Guards, Skylights, Exhaust & all roof Vents, Insulation, Chimney caps & Covers

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards

Additional Locations

  • 6840 Yankee Rd

    Liberty Twp, OH 45044 (513) 398-2037 (513) 777-5581

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 398-2037(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 29 2010 I signed a contract to replace the rear bathroom roof and flash the existing skylite. I have a 7 year workmanship warranty on this work. Since the roof was installed, I have called the comapny on many occasions to inform them that the bathroom roof was leaking. The roof and skylite continued to leak and I didnt hear back from the contractor. He did not show up to fix the problem nor did he stand behind his workmanship warranty. I have since hired another contractor to flash the skylite correctly and stop the leak that was occurring.

Desired Settlement: Due to the damages to my interior drywall and having to pay another contractor to replace the skylite flashing, I am requesting full refund of $1,350.

Business Response:

Don ****** Roofing has always stood behind our warranty and has been in contact with Mrs. ****** and back to her home on several occasions. The problem not the roof but the box gutters that was consistent each year with the weather that caused the leak. She was informed the box gutters needed relined from the beginning but didn't have the money to do at that time so we did a temporary repair that lasted a year for her.  If should would have taken care of the problems when she was notified the problem would not have happened.

The following is a list of reoccurring problems note the dates and weather conditions:

5/3/10 Installed new shingle roof and rubber roof and reflashed the skylight

12/6/10 Mrs. ****** called Mrs. ****** the bathroom was leaking – we set up an appointment for the crew to go when snow melted

12/14/10 Crew found the problem in the box gutters needed to be relined but they caulked that area for her at no charge

4/11/11 Mrs. ****** called Mrs. ****** the bathroom was leaking – we set up a time for the crew to go back

4/13/11 The crew could not find any wet spots or stains

1/17/12 Mrs. ****** called Mrs. ****** the bathroom was leaking we set up a time for Mr. ****** to come and look at the problem

1/18/12 Mr. ****** met with Mrs. ****** and showed her it was the box gutters she didn’t have the money to reline them so they agreed on a small repair of Patched the box gutter using roof cement and membrane for $250.00

1/28/12 Work was completed and she paid on 3/5/12

2/14/13 Mrs. ****** called and said she was having more problems Mr. ****** was out of town but he called her and said he would get back with her as soon as he returned

2/21/13 Mr.  ****** called Mrs. ****** and she said she had another company come and fix it

Consumer Response:

March 24, 2013

I have read the response from Snider Roofing regarding leak issues at my home. Snider Roofing and their response DID NOT address the issues of the dispute. The leak and damages sustained in my bathroom was not caused from the box gutter. It was a direct result of incorrect skylite installation that was completed at the time of new roof installation by Snider Roofing. The leak had been ongoing since the new roof was installed and I waited for five weeks after my last call to Mr. Snider and never got a response. My ceiling was bubbling and I had no other choice but to pay another reputable roofing contractor to fix the problem. I have supporting documentation to provide if necessary. I would like to be compensated for Snider Roofing's negligence and poor workmanship as outlined in my original claim.

I am willing to participate in a BBB arbitration hearing. 

Thank you,

***** *******  

Consumer Response:

4/15/13 Customer provided a copy of an invoice from another roofing company stating that the leak existed at the sky lite. 

Business Response:

Dear ***** ******,

Don would like to review the invoice from **** *** ***** Roofing with you, would you have anytime on Monday the 22nd or Tuesday 23rd morning or afternoon?

Thank you,

Jane Snider

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. Snider had many chances to meet and remedy my ongoing leak issue.  I waited for 5 weeks after I was told he was on vacation and would contact me when he returned and he didnt call or come during that time period.  I had no other choice but to have someone else fix the leak that was caused by Mr. Sniders defective workmanship.  I do not wish to have him at my home again. I feel that Snider Roofing is responsible for this leak and I am requesting $1,250 (the amount I paid **** *** ***** Roofing to fix the leak).

 

I am willing to participate in BBB arbitration to get this matter resolved!

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response: I did follow up as stated in our original response, so I feel this matter should be heard through the BBB arbitration to try and resolve it.
Thank you,
Don Snider

Consumer Response: ***** ****** *** ****** *** *********** **  *****

I would like to continue the claim against Don Snider Roofing. i have been sick and in the hospital also. So I'm out & better and would like to go ahead with the claim.
Thank you,


Business Response:

Don Snider Roofing would like to take this matter before arbitration to settle. 

Thank you,

Jane Snider

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was resolved through BBB Arbitration

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them to repair damage gutter, down spouts, and alum. flasing. They have been out here 5 times total. It is not still done! Now they want more money to finish the job! I will contact the Attorney General of Ohio and also take them to Civil court!

Desired Settlement: Finish the Job and I do not have to pay them more for what the have should done already.

Business Response:

On February 20, 2013 Mr. ****** contacted me for an estimate on repairing his gutters, downspouts and gutter apron for his home and also an estimate to replace them.  He was not going be available so we arrange to leave the estimate at his home. 

On March 3, 2013 ***** ***** went to his home and wrote up two proposals, one for a repair of $425.00 & a replacement for $1250.00

On March 4, 2013 Mr. ****** call me and requested the proposal for repairing the gutters, downspouts, elbow and install gutter apron for a total of $425.00 and not wanting the replacement for new estimate of $1250.00.

On March 15, 2013 we sent our gutter crew and completed the $425.00 repair plus two more elbow for additional $20.00 and he paid in full when the work was completed that day.

On March 20, 2013 he called to say we missed a 6' section of the gutter apron flashing

On March 22, 2013 we sent out a technician and replaced the 6' section at no charge even though it was not on original repair proposal we thought would make him happy

On March 25, 2013 he called the office saying the piece was still not fixed.  I told him that I would have the original estimator return his call so we could figure out what piece was not fixed. 

On April 1, 2013 Don Snider and ***** ***** called him to set up a time for ***** to stop back by to look at the problem.  Within a half an hour of the phone call ***** was at his home and he had left.  ***** called him on the cell phone and his reply was he had a doctor's appointment he forgot about.  ***** said no worries he would look at everything that was "Bent or Broken" his words and write up an estimate.  ***** wrote up an estimate to replace 10' of fascia cover on right front dormer, 10' of rake cover on left side of home, 10' rake cover on back left over awning and replace all with aluminum trim for a total of $225.00 and left it there for him.  He later called ***** on his cell phone and wanted the additional work of $225.00 done for free because we did not include it on our first estimate.  ***** explained he had only asked for the gutter and downspout estimate at that time and was sorry if there was a miss understanding.  ***** told him the work should cost more but was giving him more than a fair price because of the miss understanding.  He said he would call the BBB if we didn't do the work at no charge and I'm responding because we didn't. 

Sincerely,

Jane Snider

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

 

*** ******

 

 

Business Response:

Mr. Powell, Don would like to schedule to meet with anytime on Monday the 15th between 9-5, let me know a time good for you.  The reason why we would like to meet is because you only aurthorized a small repair to be done of $425.00 and DID NOT accept the proposal written at the same time and left with you TO REPLACE the BENT, BROKEN AND MISSING gutters, downspouts, elbows for the amount of $1250.00.  And now you want to say just fix everything for no charge?  You were to busy to see our estimate while he was there so he could only quote you by what the paperwork said which were gutters and downspouts, not fascia, trim, and soffit.  How’s the roof we didn’t check it for dents?

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

 

Regards,

 

*** ******

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9493182, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

 

*** ******

 

 

Business Response: 4/24/13 BBB  contacted the business and spoke with Mrs. Snider, she stated that they went out to customer on 4/23/13 and the customer would not come out and speak with worker. Worker then replaced  three pieces of the siding at no cost to the customer ($225) value. The customer was given two quotes, one for $425 for some repairs and another for $1250 to replace all the siding. Customer chose the repair and now wants more and more done without paying for the entire replacement. They have tried to explain to customer that he chose this instead of replacement. He will not come outside to discuss this.  Mrs. Snider stated that they will not do any more work.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 2010 Don Snider's company patch 2 locations on our commercial flat roof. We received a 5 year warranty on the patch. We have called them several times & they have even sent out several employees including Don Snider himself, because 1 patch has always leaked and now the other has started to leak. This has gone on so long, interior damage is occurring.

Desired Settlement: We would like the roof fixed.

Business Response:

Don Snider of Don Snider Roofing went out and met with *** and went over the whole roof.  He found a plumbing vent that the lead flange was not properly going into the PVC pipe like the rest of them from the original installation.  Don sent our crew back out and we repaired that at no charge for the inconvience of the roof leaking.  This was not covered under the 5 year warranty on 25x25 rubber area that was replaced but we wanted to take care of them. 

Thank you,

Jane Snider

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a complete tear off put onto my home in January '11. Despite repeated service calls, my roof still leaks in the exact same spot that it has for over a year. This has caused additional disrepair to interior drywall, which has already been fixed once, but is once again ruined as the roof continues to leak.I have made repeated calls and recently have spoken to them twice this week, with no follow-up service or even phone call to schedule service. This is simply unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like the leak fixed once and for all, as well as my drywall remedied on the interior.

Business Response:

******, I am so sorry on the delay.  Our crew will be back out there tomorrow and have a drywall professional ***** ********* to call and set up an appointment to repair the damage inside.

Thank you,

**** ******

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

However, the problem still has not been resolved. A crew was sent to my house, but yesterday 3/8, the roof did again leak in the same spot. I have called and left a message to the company this morning.

 Regards,

 ****** ********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service