BBB Accredited Business since

Walton's Distributing, Inc.

Phone: (513) 281-4444 Fax: (513) 621-0019 View Additional Phone Numbers 11562 Lebanon Road, Cincinnati, OH 45241 http://www.waltonsgames.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers retail sales in vending machines, pinball machines, jukeboxes, pool tables, etc.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Walton's Distributing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Walton's Distributing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Walton's Distributing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 05, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1949 in OH Business incorporated 02/13/1996 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Walton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Walton, President
Business Category

Retail Stores Sporting Goods - Retail Table Tennis Equipment Vending Machines Juke Boxes

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
all
Service Area
tri-state
Industry Tips
General Retail Report Code

Additional Locations

  • 11562 Lebanon Road

    Cincinnati, OH 45241 (800) 998-8200 (513) 281-4444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used pinball machine with a year warranty. I have been attempting to have the service department fix a repair since August 2012. I call they schedule, dont show with no phone call. Today after 3 calls they still wouldnt confirm if they would get there, yet another 5 hours of my time wasted waiting for "The best of Cincinnati" to show up and complete the service. We schedule service, no show I am told to be patient. Another no show, they show take a part to repair and say it will be back in a week. That was before Thanksgiving its now after Christmas. I am told we will call you. No call is received. I am scheduled for service again, no show, another scheduled service, no show, yet another scheduled service no show. I guess the old buyer beware is in affect here.

Desired Settlement: 1.Set a date and time and Show up. 2.Complete the repair. 3.Extend the warranty another year since six months were lost waiting on a repair.4. Reimburse or refund some cash to me for the 6 days and nights of waiting for service with no contact or call.

Business Response:

Ref: *******

Hi ******,

At Walton’s Dist. Inc., it’s always our goal to make All Customers Happy.  It has been and will always be our goal to take care of all of our customers.  This is how we have been in business for (63) sixty-three years as of today.  Our company trucks make about 3,300 deliveries a year, and we sell everything you drop a quarter into.

There are two (2) important points about this service call that need to be noted.  First (1st) important point is that our service department are  8:00AM – 6:00PM.  Our customer could only do service calls after 7:00PM & only on certain days which created problems with appointments.  Also, service technicians run into problems finishing up with their calls sometimes, because the service calls they are on take longer than planned.  With the holiday season being very busy this year, & the evening service calls, our service technician did miss some of the appointments that were made in trying to repair our customer’s pinball machine.  Important point, this pinball was sold with a one (1) year warranty.  It is always our goal to take care of all of our customers, & we will 100% resolve, fix, and take care of our customer. 

The second (2nd) important point about this service call that needs to be noted, is that customer called our management team, told them that there was a problem with these evening service calls on specific dates, & they took charge to correct & fix this problem – Before this letter was sent to our company.  We told the customer that we would pick pinball up, & take to our service department, to be 100% professionally repaired, & that when we deliver the customer’s pinball back to him repaired, that then customers one (1) year warranty would start.  Pinball was picked up on Saturday 1/12/13 to be repaired. 

We will take care of our customer 100%, just like we always take care of all of our important customers.

In conclusion, Walton’s Dist. Inc. has been in business for (63) sixty three years, because we have built our business on always taking care of all of our customers, everything may not always be perfect & there maybe problems at any given time, but we “alwaysfix and take care of customers, and that is why the #1 number one reason people buy from us is – “Previous customers”, or “friends & family” of “previous customers”.  Taking care of our customers, fixing all problems equals a future of planted seeds that grow to future sales & success.

Thank you,

***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9370179, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

******
Interesting response. They omitted the part about the fact that This started in AUGUST of 2012 when my schedule was not restricted.  Management was emailed on Oct 3rd no response, November 26th no response and on 1/9 I did get a response to my email which coincides with the day I filed the report with BBB.
 
The machine was indeed picked up on 1/12 but has yet to be returned repaired.
 
I have called and checked on the status on:
1/15- Told no change still not fixed
1/20 -No change still not fixed
1/23 No change still not fixed
1/30 Left a message after hours.
 
None of these calls were initaited by Waltons and I do not have an answer on when it will be fixed and returned.
But this is how they have 100% satisfied customers?  Not sure what they consider 100% satisfied.  I am not.
 
Not sure what you need from me .... but this issue is NOT resolved.  And I have not had the use of the machine since AUGUST!
 

Regards,

****** ****

 

Business Response: I called the customer 1/31/2013, I gave the customer my personal cell phone number, I ask customer to only talk to me from this point on.  The purpose of this is to give the customer all details of what we are doing to fix customers pinball, also to stop all confusion.  I informed customer today that the (1st) first owner of this pinball never had a service on this unit, and that it worked perfect on our showroom floor before sold.  *****, our service dept tech, that is working on this unit, has a list of parts & chips that he is waiting for to come in & says that this unit has experience a power surge, or some type of static electricity problem in customers home.  Our service dept., is working on this unit, & it will be fixed soon.


Thank you,
*****

12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a standard arcade machine over the phone on a Saturday. Cost was $3083.18. Was told there was about a 7 day lead time to deliver product because it had to be ordered and they were out of stock. Called the next business day to cancel (store closed Sunday and Monday) my order. I was transferred to the owner who acted like this could not be done and it was too late to cancel, but he would call me back once he figured out how to do it. Basically leaving the issue open ended. I never heard back from the owner. I proceeded to call on Wednesday and Thursday with no return calls back. My credit card is still charged $3083.18. I made it clear I do NOT want this product and will NOT accept any delivery attempt. I want a full refund.

Desired Settlement: I want a FULL refund.

Business Response:

 

                                                                                                                                                  

  To start out what happened?

Customer called to place order of an arcade game, said he needed it before Thanksgiving, and we needed to RUSH it in, because HE needed it before Thanksgiving, We called factory, and told our sales rep. that we needed it right away. Our sales rep, told me that we would have to pay for it upfront, to get ahead of other orders, and pay extra freight ($180.00 extra) to guarantee delivery date. Which we did, and now our company has the full price of game and freight invested in this sale. This order was paid in advance (paid in full) to take care of this customer. Three (3) days later customer calls and cancels order. I explained to ****, what we had done for him and meet delivery date. **** says my wife is going to kill me for buying the game. I told ****, "That we had other customers that wanted to purchase this game under the sales price and that we would take care of him." We sold ****'s game, I called ****, just like I said I would. I told **** that we sold his game, which he paid for, and that we rushed in for him. **** said, "Great!" I also told ****, that he would be getting a credit refund. We DID give ****, a credit refund. I do not know why **** placed an order and acted like he had to have it right away, rush the factory to get it here, and also have us pay freight —but he did. ****, ALSO after getting the store credit refund on his credit card, also tried to get another credit refund from his bank. Two credits for $3,083.00 totaling $6,166.00, but ****s' bank, called our bank, which called me seeing that ****, had received his credit refund, and stopped the double credit to ****s' credit card. ****, definitely tried to get two credit refunds totaling $6,166.00, and our bank stopped it on 11/29/2012,

There are (4) four reasons why Mr. **** ********, is wrong for sending this letter to the BBB.

The (3.') first reason is because, everything we sale at Walton's Distributing, Inc. is sold under the condition of all sales final, Which is what the Law says in the State of Ohio, for the types of goods that we sale. This is also posted in our showroom. Knowing or not knowing, ****, purchased an arcade game under the condition of "All sales final," whether or not **** knew is not important, the law is important. Our company DID NOT have to give ****, a credit on his purchase — but we did.

The (2nd) second reason is because, ****, called our company, placed an order, and then pushed our company to get the order in faster, ****, asked me personally what the delivery time was, and he was told (9) nine days to (2) two weeks. **** said he needed this arcade game before Thanksgiving, and that it had to be there before Thanksgiving. I told ****, that I would see what I could do to push the order threw, Our company paid for the game, and the freight company an extra $180.00 to get this unit to our warehouse in (3) days after Monday. To take care of ****'s order, and time demands, this cost our company an extra $180.00 in freight cost, and paying for unit up front,

 

The (P) third reason is because, **** waited (3) days before calling us to cancel his order. Did not leave a message with the answering service, called our office on Tuesday after the ORDER was placed with the factory, and extra freight was charged to our accountant.

The (4th) reason is because, we did tell the customer we would see what we could do for him, and that we would take care of him, and give us a few days to sell his unit, or see what we could do for him. ****, was called later in the week, by me personally, and told that we had sold his unit and that he would be getting a credit. ****'s response was, "Great!"

 

Because of the customer knowing, or not knowing the Law of Ohio, or not caring about it "all sales final," because of the customer pushing us to get unit to him by a deadline date, and costing us a real $180.00, due to **** waiting a full (3) days after placing order to cancel order. When the whole thing could have been stopped, and because we did take care of the customer in a reasonable amount of time, and because we did give him a credit back, I believe this whole complaint should be thrown out. Because it is not fair, it is not reasonabig, BBB letter complaints, are supposed to be when someone has a real problem, not when a company in a reasonable amount of time fixes a customer's problem, and 100% takes care of them.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.The business did give me a refund, which I accept.  The refund was given only after I disputed the charge with my credit card company - I waited 16 days to file the dispute (which is more than enough time to show a credit according to the credit card company).  The fact that I was trying to get away with double credit is just ridiculous.  It's called a "temporary credit" issued by the credit card company whenever someone disputes a charge.  It's unfortunate I had to even dispute the charge to get my refund, as well as wait 16 days.  This business owner called me and tried stiff arming me and threatning legal action for the $160 expediting if I did not send the BBB a letter stating I jumped the gun in filing a complaint.  He mentioned his board of directors came into the store and were irate and he could not believe I did this.  I felt after waiting 2 days, 6 phone calls, and a store visit, - all without a call back -  was sufficient time when dealing with such a large purchase.  NOTHING was ever said to me about extra expedited shipping costs when I purchased the item.  I understand this cost may be legitiate, but if I were aware of this upfront I would have been happy to pay back the fees.     I actually waited 2 days (Sunday & Monday) to call and cancel my order because the business was closed.  Not 3 days as noted by the business.  I would advise anyone not to purchase from this store, and to make sure the owner writes out a reciept and purchase of sale, stating all charges.  The owner stated I was "the customer from hell" and has the absolute worst business accumen.  He went into a rage and could barely speak coherently when I tried speaking with him, and his intimidation tactis were pathetic.  With an average of 4 complaints a year over the last 3 years, I'd strongly suggest to the BBB to recind Walton's Distributing's A+ rating.   

Regards,

 

**** ********

 

 

Consumer Response:

 

The original transaction with this merchant happened 11/10/12.  The credit was not submitted for credit until 11/24/12 (posted 11/28/12) - several weeks after the merchant promised (see attached) and I filed a credit card dispute.