BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

R.F. Miller Properties, Inc.

Phone: (513) 829-4446 Fax: (513) 297-1178 P O Box 24120, Cincinnati, OH 45224 http://www.nobanks.net

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers real estate services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R.F. Miller Properties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R.F. Miller Properties, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on R.F. Miller Properties, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 13, 2000 Business started: 01/01/2000 in OH Business incorporated: 08/23/2000 in 0
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce
77 S High Street, 20th Floor, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.com.ohio.gov/real/
Phone Number: 614-466-4100
WebReal@com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Elissa K. Miller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elissa K. Miller, President
Business Category

Real Estate

Industry Tips
Real Estate Investors

Additional Locations

  • P O Box 24120

    Cincinnati, OH 45224 (513) 829-4446

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm writting on behalf of my previous landlord R&F miller Properties. I had to move from there residents because they didn't pass section 8 inspection then wind up losing my section 8. Well now I been filling out housing application and they keep giving me 0 rental history. So I signed a piece of paper not once but twice for them to fax back to the housing I was trying to rent thru and they won't respond to anyone. I done called around 10 times, left messages and have yet to get a response and its stopping me from getting a apt. Me and my kids been homeless since Nov all because they won't respond.

Desired Settlement: See above

Business Response: Ms ******* Section 8 voucher was cancelled due to unauthorized occupants on the property which is also a lease violation, and she was asked to leave the premises in November.   Since then we have received 2 written requests for landlord references.  The first was returned to ******** ** **** **** on 3/11/13 and the second was returned to **** ******* ********** on 3/28/13.  Both of these companies had confirmed they received our fax at the time it was sent.

2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since the beginning of winter we have not had heat in our apartment for longer than three days straight. We have a boiler; the boiler will be on for about a day or two and then cut off. We've called the landlord and they would send someone out. The heat would be on all of 5-6 hours and then cut off again and we're stuck in a freezing home when its 16 degrees outside which will make our home a lot less than the outside temperature. We will sleep in bundles of close and constantly call the owners to complain about this ongoing issue. I understand the boiler should cut off from time to time but, the house should still remain room temperature. We have two girls that are 8 and 10 that are constantly coughing, have caught a cold, complaining of the cold and have to sleep with me with hats and scarfs to keep warm even then its still freezing. We've called at least 6 or 7 times since the winter have begun. I should not have to hassle my landlord about this ongoing issue is becoming a health hazard considering the flu is rapidly going around. and I cant take showers as often as I want to let alone go out and pay for a space heater which is dangerous and causing us to have to pay for a service that is included in our rent. The electric issue has been going on since we've moved here. It's a 3 family home and our electric isn't separated. We have had a duke bill forwarded to collections that we never received a bill for. Because of the ongoing issues we have a bill in collections and a home with no heat.

Desired Settlement: I would like my duke bill paid due to them taking the duke bill out of our name without warning and us never recieving the bill i would also like my heat working. the boiler needs to be replaced and they need to have it fixed. this is ridiculous,I feel like i have to hunt them down to fix services that we pay for every month.

Business Response: We have responded to every no heat call within an hour's time.  Many of the times we've been called to the property, there has been heat when we've arrived.  Over the last several days we have had staff there Saturday, Sunday, Monday morning and afternoon and there was heat.  We were called back out Monday evening for no heat, found that this time it was cool (61 degrees when it's normally 70) and we had the heat on within an hour.  Regarding the electric, unit 1 (the complainant's unit) is separate from the building and per their lease, they are responsible for their electric bill.  Units 2 and 3 are not separate and the owner pays the electric for those units.   The complainant is only paying for electric that they consume in their unit.  Regarding a **** bill going to collections, any amount of money owed to **** Energy is between the complainant and **** Energy.  We do not provide **** bills and ****  Energy bills their consumers directly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The whole response was a lie. We have phone records and text messages sent to Landlord multiple times for this issue.We had no heat for days at a time, when it was 16 degrees outside it was about 3 degress inside it was so cold my shower gel frooze and my kids and i were sleeping in coats, hats and scarfs. ****** responded to a text we sent and stated " there is heat" when it wasn't. We called **** ENERGY in November of 2012 because we had not received a bill and was told that the bill was taken out of my name and the remaining balance due has been sent to collections. We immediately contacted ****** ****** (Phone records can correspond) inquiring about this issue. He stated that he was not aware of our final bill being sent to collections and that they RF MILLER PROPERTIES had taken it out of my name and put it into theirs for the electrical issue they were having here in the building. I later found out (per other tenants) that we were the only tenants paying a utility since this building became vacant, we were the first people occupying this building. **** denied such today after speaking with him, he stated that unit's 2 and 3 were the only units in their name. **** records show that the whole house is in RF MILLER's name.*** (****** ******* *************) and the Health Department were also contacted about this issues as well (which is all documented). *** (****** ******* *************) and the Health Department were also contacted about this issues as well (which is all documented). In return of our complaints RF MILLER immediately places a "vacate to leave the premises" for a puppy visiting our home all of 3-4 hours. ****** Miller told ******* today that she had recieved complaints about my dog(s) prior to yesterday but had no proof untill yesterday which is also false, hear say. These slum landlord has done nothing but steal from my family and I from **** to paid heat that we never recieved.

Regards,

******* *****

 

Consumer Response: Customer contacted BBB and she stated that **** Energy will not give her documentation of who the bills name is in. 

She states that **** Energy unit one is in the businesses name.
She moved in April 30,2012 and the last bill she received was Oct 31,2012. **** Energy told her that it was taken out of her name  and put in the businesses name. 

Business Response: We have confirmed that our company has been paying for the complainants electric since November.  Due to a mix up with ****, our company has been paying their electric bill even though their lease states they are responsible for their electric.  We are not seeking them to reimburse us for these charge.  I'm not sure what the problem is, since the error is in the complainants favor.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

You can’t seek reimbursement for something you all did. First, it’s not in you all’s name now it is. The issue is our bill being sent to collections! NO ONE told us about it being switched out our name into RF MILLER PROPERTIES that’s the issue! But, we received a letter saying that it would be out of you guy’s name didn’t we?? We had to contact **** in regards to our **** bill because we hadn’t seen one and for them to tell us it was switched out of my name and sent to collections was wrong. We already contacted our lawyer so we'll be moving by the first as stated in their letter and we'll see you all in court. I’m done with the back and forth lies and heartless actions. I’ll be sure the right people here about all these issues at hand. You all made a lousy excuse to have us vacate the premises after receiving our rent and complaint from the BBB and Health department. A dog isn't the reason you all are bitter at the fact you left us no choice but to fill because you all avoided getting heat and other things fixed. You did not respond within an hours’ time, that’s a lie. You all sent someone here rigged it for a couple hours and we slept days in the freezing cold.

Regards,

******* *****

 

Business Response:

Regarding ***** it was discovered that unit number 2 and 3 had some common area electric on their meters and **** was to switch those units back into our name until we had fixed that wiring.  Apparently, **** switched all the units in the building back into our name.  We were unaware unit 1 had also been switched so there was no notification on our part given to the residents that the electric was being switched back into our name.  I called **** today and confirmed that the electric was taken out of their name on October 31, 2012 and they were sent a final bill to the **** ******** #1 address on November 2nd.  The final bill from **** would have been notification from **** that the service was removed from their name.  If they did not pay this bill and it went to collections, I do not see how this is R. F. Miller Properties responsibility to pay.  According to their lease, they should have been paying electric on their unit the entire time.  There was an error in their favor with **** switching the electric out of their name and we've been paying the electric for their unit since October 31, 2012.  

Please let me know if any further clarification is needed.

Also,  do I need to respond back on the online form or will this response be acceptable?

Thank you,

****** ******
 
************ ***************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We did not recieve a final bill **** the reason why we called inquiring about to find out it was in collections call log can verify that we called **** inquiring about our bill that we did not recieve and thereafter contacting RF MILLER  the same day **** told me that he did in fact take it out my and put it in RF MILLER PROPERTIES. Thats another lie everything is documented allnpaper work and call records have been giving to my attorney.  So in all the truth will be brought forward, we dont have the power to awotch anything the bill was no more than $100.00 we pay you all 6x that in rent theres was no reason for it being sent to collections lack of communication. You send everything else to our home why not the **** taken out of my name paper. Even that letter that didnt apply to us that you all sent to all tenants which caused us a late fee you didnt refund.

Regards,

******* *****

 

1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have many complaints on my landlord mostly with being misinformed while renting my apartment. on oct. 19th 2012, i rented an apartment and was under impression that i may get pets or pet, i found my apartment o ********** in the section that list for pets, even asking when i called if i may have a pet(s), i was told i could, after veiwing the apartment on said date, i asked again to my leasing agent if i could have pets she said i could. So i agreed i would take the apartment. at the time of the lease signing i was handed 2 pet agreements one for me and one to send back with my pet deposit of 200 dollars and 25 dollars per month per pet as stated. i kept my mothers dogs starting wednesday night and over the weekend. me and my mom went into deep conversation as she has stage three cancer and is going through chemo about how she is unable to even take care of herself and if i could help her keep her dogs for awhile, i said i would possibly. this morning december 3rd, i received a call from ****** ****** telling me my dogs would absolutly have to go, no exceptions, and im personally not ever allowed to have a dog now. this is all a lie as said above i was told i could and have pet papers to prove it, i was called a every name by ******, my neighbor since called her and said i just got the dogs and how they met my mom, im also going to be taking in a foster child in a few days ms ****** **** and cant be evicted as ****** said i would be in a few days. i need help now. it seems horrible when nobody does much and i do leaves here and trash and clean the halls and basement cause its all a mess, i rented the garage month to month then had it taken away from me because they wanted t add it to my lease, supposedlly my friend who stayed here and moved out on thursday night complained of the dogs because i was choosing my foster kid over him and my mom and maybe the dogs, he the assulted me wednesday and called ******. im willing to go to court fight for myself and pay fee, thank you

Desired Settlement: mrs, ****** to be called and listen to the truth, the papers i have are real and are headed by them and said i may have pets without limitations , on number size or color, i have three little old dogs and they are harmless my neighbors enjoy them and like me. i like mrs ****** until today,ill go to court and fight her tooth and nail but would just love if we could mediate though bbb and her follow my pet lease, ill never get a new place for me to keep my family together

Business Response: Per the lease, paragraph 11: 

PETS.  Pets  are not allowed on the premises, either inside, outside, even temporarily, without prior  written permission from Landlord.  Any non-permitted animals on the premises will be taken away and handled by the appropriate agency as denoted by law.  Tenant agrees to pay a refundable pet deposit and additional rent for each allowed pet.  A Pet Agreement, if applicable, is attached hereto as Exhibit “A .   Tenant to check here and initial if tenant has no pets. _________________.


You checked and initialed you did not have pets when you signed the lease.    While we do allow many pets, pets are not allowed without prior written permission from the Landlord.  I have two verifiable sources that 3 dogs and 1 cat have been on the premises since at least the beginning of November. Even if we had been given prior notice of your animals on the property, the Landlord would not have authorized 4 animals in a 1 bedroom apartment.   On December 3rd, you were asked to remove the pets from the property and you refused.  Due to the fact that you have violated your lease terms and have been dishonest with us about the pets on the property, you are being asked to leave the property.    


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ***

 

12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The only payment of rent is by mail. Prior to moving into one of their properties my lease stated that the rent had to be post dated before or on the date the rent is due and the rent would not be charged a late fee. In October we received a letter stating "Regardless of what our lease says rent has to be do on the due its due NO Exceptions". RF Miller ONLY form of payment is mail which, can be delayed for what ever reason regardless they will charge you a fee. There is no drop box or public office to bring our rent to. We have been meeting with owner and assistant each month since we've moved there to pay OUR as a tenant that is VERY inconvenient. There should be more forms of payment to receive rent. I there was a drop box to pay the rent there would be NO issue here. I should not be a hassle to pay your rent anywhere especially if the owner wants a consistent tenant.

Desired Settlement: As a tenant we would like better ways of rent payment or MORE communication!

Business Response: The lease paragraph number 3 and number 6 addresses how you may make your payments.  Lease excerpts:

3. RENT.  ... Make checks payable to R. F. Miller Properties, Inc. and  send to P. O. Box 24120, Cincinnati, Ohio 45224.  No money is to be deducted by Tenant from rent payment for any reason without express written consent of Landlord.

6. LATE CHARGES.  Monthly rent installment is due on or before the  30th DAY of each month in advance.  Rent mailed through the United States Postal Service is at the Tenant’s own risk.  Landlord expects Tenant to pay the rent on time, and no excuses will be accepted for late payment.  It is the Tenant’s responsibility to make sure that the rent is paid by the due date.  Should Landlord  fail to receive the FULL BALANCE of said rent by the 30 th DAY of the month, Tenant shall pay an additional 10 % of the rent installment as liquidated damages to compensate Landlord for the added expense of processing such delinquent account.  Payments postmarked by a U.S. Post Office on or before the due date will not incur a late fee.  What calendar day the due date falls on, and how this relates to the postal service, is irrelevant.  If the charge is not tendered with the monthly rent, Landlord shall not be obligated to accept the rent.  Payment will be considered late if the bank fails to honor your check.  Tenant will pay the late charge plus a $25.00 service charge on each returned check.   In the event a check is returned, all future payments from that time forward must be made by cash, money order, cashier’s check or official bank check only.  In addition, Tenant will pay all fees and costs associated with eviction proceedings against the Tenant or other legal actions necessary to enforce the terms of this lease.

An addendum has been signed by both party changing the original due date of rent from the 30th to the 2nd of each month. 

In the past we have offered a service of rent picks up, but due to abuse of the service,  in October, a letter was mailed to all tenants reminding them that this service was provided as a courtesy.   The letter also stated that regardless of PAST arrangements, we will strictly be enforcing lease agreements and not deviating from the lease.   We do not have a drop off box, nor will we be able to provide one in the future.  The lease states they must mail their rent payment and this is what they agreed to upon moving in to our property.  If there are concerns about payment getting lost in the mail, the postal service does offer certified options to guarantee it's arrival.  As long as their payment is postmarked on or before the due date, it will be counted as a timely payment by our office.