BBB Accredited Business since

Jim Eckhoff Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (513) 923-1234 Fax: (513) 923-1075 2942 Jonrose Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45239 http://www.cinbbb.net/jim_eckhoff_plumbing_inc


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential, commercial and industrial plumbing, excavating and related services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jim Eckhoff Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jim Eckhoff Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jim Eckhoff Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 16, 1987 Business started: 03/01/1978 in OH Business incorporated 06/22/1981 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB)
6606 Tussing Road , Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: 614-644-3493
dic.ocilb@com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim R. Eckhoff, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim R. Eckhoff, President
Business Category

Plumbers Excavating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Eckhoff, Jim Plumbing Inc.
Industry Tips
Ohio Residential Contractor License Requirements

Additional Locations

  • 2942 Jonrose Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45239 (513) 923-1234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had heard good things about Eckhoff Plumbing and was told by members of the ******** **** *********** *** board that Eckhoff employees were in our community very often, as they have an agreement to complete plumbing jobs within the management office and structure. I had begun in March of 2015 to experience the plumbing issues regarding the toilets not flushing and draining properly. I heard from a property owner, that the toilets/plumbing in our community were very outdated and that those not replaced/maintenanced were wasting lots of water and money. Again, I came to understand from the start that the Eckhoff plumbers did so much work here in the community that they were usually here and did not charge to look at a job or give an idea of repairs needed. I called them and scheduled the visit for 2/8/16 by ***c, one of their engineers. He was quite knowledgeable and answered my questions. Again though, I was never told that I would be charged anything. If I'd known prior to the visit even being scheduled, I would not have requested the visit. I was given the estimate of $469 to replace the toilet by telephone (it was actually left in a message on my answering machine). Again, my complaint is the fact that I was never informed that I would be charged $110 for someone to look at the repair and discuss options. In addition, I did not receive a bill prior to the collection phone call that I received from **t- the week of the 25th of April. I have since contacted people in the construction/remodeling industry, and they expressed that their own practices are very different. Their first question was why did Eckhoff Plumbing charge such a high price for a visit, being as they are very frequent visitors to this community. One of the contractors (names are available on request) explained to me that his company would not charge for a visit, as representatives of his business would most likely be able to talk a customer through determining whether or not there was a leak leading to heavy water usage. He assured me that he would not charge a customer at all to make that possible determination via telephone. He would only charge if a visit and repair took place. Another contractor stated that they would give a "diagnosis" of the plumbing problem for a $49 visit and offer a free estimate. Both contractors mentioned above are licensed professionals stating clearly that they would never expect to be considered to have offered an estimate without first submitting to the customer a written analysis of the job and the price. The price and business actions of other plumbers being considered- still validates to me the fact that I should have been told ahead of time that I would be charged for that initial visit. No one with whom I spoke- residents or employees in the POA office had told me that a charge for the visit would result. I do not blame them for this either.

Desired Settlement: I simply want for this bill to be credited. Again, I never thought that I was to be charged $115 and that a proposal and bill had apparently been sent to me the first week in March. I did not receive this, or I would have disputed it at that time. I never let bills go unpaid, as I'm meticulous in keeping my credit score at a certain number.

Business Response:

1st an appointment and an estimate are two different things...Miss ******* asked for repairs and never mentioned the toilet replacement-this would be considered a repair and chargeable.    I understand the miss communication so we will waive the fee incurred.   I will contact the customer and inform her of this.

 

Thank you,

**** ******

Office Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jim Eckhoff Plumbing, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)