BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers physical therapy services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that NovaCare Rehabilitation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for NovaCare Rehabilitation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on NovaCare Rehabilitation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 26, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 11/22/1996 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers (OTPTAT) Board
77 South High Street, 16th Floor , Columbus OH 43215
http://otptat.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: (614) 466-3774
Fax Number: (614) 995-0816
board@otptat.ohio.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael G. Shannon, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael G. Shannon, Vice President
Business Category

Physical Therapists

Alternate Business Names
NovaCare Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

NovaCare Rehabilitation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1198 Smiley Avenue
    Suite F

    Cincinnati, OH 45240 (513) 671-6362

  • 222 Piedmont Ave
    Ste 2200

    Cincinnati, OH 45219

  • 2600 Alexandria Pike Ste A

    Highland Heights, KY 41076 (859) 572-0710

  • 3187 Western Row Rd
    Ste 102

    Maineville, OH 45039 (513) 459-8599

  • 4260 Glendale Milford Rd

    Cincinnati, OH 45242 (513) 745-0640

  • 4360 Ferguson Dr
    Ste 120

    Cincinnati, OH 45245 (513) 943-4400

  • 5500 Harrison Ave
    Ste I

    Cincinnati, OH 45248 (513) 661-3114

  • 7720 Dudley Dr

    West Chester, OH 45069

  • 7981 Beechmont Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45255 (513) 232-1847

  • 8220 Northcreek Dr
    Ste 200

    Cincinnati, OH 45236 (513) 891-9940

  • 9275 Montgomery Road Suite 500

    Cincinnati, OH 45242 (513) 936-4574

  • University Of Cincinnati
    2751 O'varsity Way

    Cincinnati, OH 45221 (513) 556-3178

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My biggest reason for this complaint is Novacare's business practices. I decided to end treatment with them (my choice because nothing they ever had me do I couldn't do at home), this however did not stop them from calling me more than once to "remind" me that I hadn't seen them in a little while and that it's important to keep with my treatment. I chose to ignore the calls but the next thing I know they show up at my next doctor's visit to yet again "remind" me to make an appointment. This doctor's office has some sort weird relationship with the Novacare which is in the same building. Novacare employee's come and go through this "Sports Medicine's" office. This is highly unethical on both parts and I now do not trust either place.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the relationship between ** ****** ************ * ****** ******** (Florence KY) and Novacare, along with ******* ************ (Florence KY) is inappropriate. These are different a different entities and should be treated as such. The coming and goings of employees from a Rehabilitation office to a medical office or Medical Supplies company to a medical office seems to me some sort of collusion. This should stop! That's all I want. For someone to look into the business practices of these companies.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  I have typed up my own letter with further information, which is attached as a word document.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: I am following up on the complaint l received
from the Better Business Bureau regarding the patient ***** ***** — Reference #
********. It is our sincere apology if our practice of follow up has offended
Mr. ***** in any way. We would not have made any additional calls to Mr. *****
if he had expressed his desire for us not call him. We have a business practice
as other service oriented businesses like a Dentist office or Hair Salon, in
which we call patients if they have not made their appointment. Below is the
follow up call sequence that took place with Mr. *****.

Initial Evaluation 10/6/14.

Patient cancelled treatment for 10/10/14.

Follow up call 10/17/14. Spoke with patient
and he rescheduled for 10/20/24.

Physical Therapy Treatment 10/20/14 and
10/24/14.

Patient cancelled treatment 10/28/14.

Follow up call 11/3/14. Message left.

As Mr. ***** states, we are in the same building as *** ************ and this allows us to have improved communication with regard to
patient care. Our communication involves specifics to just what the Physician
has ordered for Physical Therapy. On the day that Mr. ***** had attended his
Dr. Visit, **** *********, PT Manager, was reviewing another patient's
treatment program with the Physician. **** happened to be there when Mr. *****
was being seen and was able to sit in with the visit. **** states that the Dr.
reinforced the importance to complete his Physical Therapy program and ****
also reminded Mr. ***** as he was leaving. Again, we apologize if Mr. ***** was
offended in any way. Our goal was only to improve Mr. *****'s care and physical
function.                                                                              
                                                                              
I cannot answer anything in
regard to ******** ************ as NovaCare Rehabilitation does not have any
business relationship with this group.

I have reviewed this information with the
Manager and the Market Manager for the Florence NovaCare Rehabilitation center.
We will make sure going further that each patient knows our communication
pathway with the Physician group and adhere to any requests that a patient may
have, not to be called if a Physical Therapy visit is missed or be present at
any of their Dr. appointments,

******* ** ******* Vice President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

I am following up on the second request from Mr. *****. I apologize for any misunderstanding on the last call Mr. ***** had with NovaCare Rehabilitation on 10/28/14. The person who took the call from Mr. ***** thought he was just cancelling his scheduled appointment. Again, we apologize for this misinterpretation.

Advanced protocols of Physical Therapy are needed for many complex surgeries that are performed by Physicians. Mr. ***** has had a complex surgery that requires specific protocols of care. We often get educated by the Physicians we work with to assure we understand the medical procedures and contraindications. We apologize that the NovaCare personnel was not introduced to Mr. *****. In the future if we are requested to see Mr. ***** with the Dr., then we will make sure to be introduced and Mr. ***** given an option if he wants us to be present.

We take the privacy of each patient extremely serious and I can assure you that we were not privileged to any information beyond the Physical Therapy prescription. By law, Mr. ***** can go to any Physical Therapy provider.

We work closely with all Physicians to make sure we are providing the best possible care to each patient. Communication is vital for the success of any rehabilitation program. Please accept our sincere apology. Our intent was only to provide Mr. ***** an exceptional clinical outcome.

tip/

******* ** ******* Vice President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on NovaCare Rehabilitation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart