This business is not BBB accredited.

Live Fit Cincinnati, LLC.

Phone: (513) 519-6563 Fax: (513) 519-6563 4869 Duck Creek Road, Cincinnati, OH 45227 http://www.livefitcincinnati.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers personal training services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Live Fit Cincinnati, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Live Fit Cincinnati, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 21, 2013 Business started: 04/01/2008 in OH Business incorporated 04/01/2008 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Striet, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Striet, Owner
Business Category

Personal Trainers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Live Fit Cincinnati, LLC. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4869 Duck Creek Road

    Cincinnati, OH 45227 (513) 519-6563

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I inquired about ***** ********, a representative of LivFit ********** in regards to nutrition for weight loss, a lifestyle change. I contacted ***** ******** who informed me that her program for nutrition was $240.00 for the first month, and $150.00 thereafter. I asked ***** ******** if she had a sample plan that I could see to see if it would work for me, in response ***** stated, "I do not give away free diet plan samples.” That should have been a red flag, however, I chose to proceed based on the website for LiveFit ********** claims "if a trainer or training facility does not provide extensive nutritional guidance, ongoing support, and continuing education to their clients, losing a significant amount of weight and body fat, and developing toned, athletic muscles is nearly impossible. We are different. We go above and beyond in helping them develop meal plans and actionable fat loss nutrition strategies which will drastically accelerate their results." I met with ***** ******** 11/7/13 for about an hour discussing my plan and measurements. During our meeting ***** explained that I would be eating 5 times a day, and that it usually takes her about 5 to 6 hours to complete a meal plan that is individualized for that individual, that is why she does not give away free "samples". On Sunday, 11/10/13 I received an email and it included the meal plan the meal plan is as follows: "Meal 1: 4 whites, 1 whole egg, 40g oats, 1/2c blueberries Post Workout- 1 scoop of protein powder, 8oz unsweetened almond milk, 1 slice of low sodium Ezekiel bread, 30g almond butter (you only get the bread if you workout) Meal 2: 120g chicken, 200 g sweet potato Meal 3: 130g sirloin, 160 g quinoa, optional veggies Meal 4: 6oz nonfat, plain Greek yogurt, 30g almond butter Everything is in grams so it looks like a lot of food to someone that cannot convert grams to ounces. After receiving this meal plan there were multiple questions I had, obviously. My first question: is this the only thing I can eat for 30 days? What kind of almond milk etc. I thought this was just the first week menu. What in the world cost $240.00? T he websites claim of going above and beyond, this was sent in an email and looked like it took 5 minutes to put together, and I know it is almost exactly what another individual she is training is on as well. I told ***** that it didn’t look hard, because it didn't, there was NOTHING to this. Anyone will lose weight with a dramatic deficit, which is common sense. After one day on the diet, I knew changes needed to be made for me, because this was about ME and MY success, or so I thought that is what I paid for. *****'s responses were not what the website claims, as above and beyond or "coaching" the coaching to me was insulting and derogatory. Here are some coaching tips I received: "I'm curious as to what I said that indicated your meal plan would change every week? This isn't weight watchers :) I'm not a personal chef and wouldn't want to be - lol" "You're asking a question not even a full day into your meal plan that I might hear after 6 months." "If you expect to never be hungry, (unless you want to progress at a snail’s pace), that's unrealistic. You're not even in that much of a deficit right now. Your calories are still high. I gradually reduce the calories over the next couple of months." "If you needed support, you didn't present it that way in your complaints." "I have no interest in arguing with anyone. I'm far too busy." "We should probably re-evaluate this partnership at the end of 30 days." ***** did claim that she "cheered me on" but I didn't see this. When I originally spoke with *****, I indicated in detail my past struggles with yo-yo dieting and losing and gaining, and I needed a lifestyle change. Not one time during our conversations did she mention, you will eat the same foods for 30 days, and one of those foods is sirloin steak. ***** already charges $240.00 for the above meal plan, add $75.00 if you want to work out with her which I declined to do because of distance and cost, and then add on sirloin steaks. Had ***** been up front and shared what her plan consisted of, I probably would have opted out; this does not look like a lifestyle for me. I work as an ER nurse, I am on my feet for 12 plus hours, she wanted me to eat every 2-3 hours my days start at 5 am, and even spacing I would be done eating before my shift was up. I was starving, and if that meant changes needed to be made, and it may take a little longer or “snail’s pace” as she stated, that is what a coach is for. I was miserably hungry, and she said “deal with it” I paid too much to be treated like that. I have no intention in becoming a bodybuilder, I wanted change, and I thought based on the compelling claims on the website, she was good for her word. After her last email of not having time to argue, I ended the partnership. Moments later this was posted on her facebook page "Dieting is tough. You'll inevitably be hungry if you're in a deficit. And sometimes you'll even be frustrated. Accept it, and keep moving. It's part of the process (in other words, suck it up)." I found that very coincidental and unprofessional. I ended the partnership with ***** on 11/13/13, and on 11/21/13 I sent a request for a refund. I did not feel that the services that were promised were delivered. The meal plan was $240.00 for what? It was sent an email; it could have at least been a separate document to look like it took time. ***** claimed on 11/6 it took 5 days, she got me mine in 4. The response I got back from ***** is what I expected insulting me as a person and finished with a threat of sending me to an attorney for accusations of slandering her, not to mention untruthful claims, foods that would be included, as well as her accusation of facebook slander which are baseless. She is more than likely referring to a conversation I had with a mutual acquaintance that we share who asked what happened, I was fully aware the conversation would be relayed to her, nothing I said was untrue or not based on fact, which would clearly by definition not be slander, and she herself posted on social media directed at me. The final email I received back is below (I was unable to include the email snippets she included where I had questions those will be sent hard copy). ***** represents herself as representative of LiveFit ********** and I do not feel the service I received represents what their website promises. Shortly after on 11/22 her friends posted positive reviews on the BBB site. I feel that ***** misrepresented herself and is charging $240.00 for a service that is clearly not fit for everyone, and while she claims I am the only one that has ever quit that diet, it isn’t for everyone. I did not see her credentials listed for being able to sell nutrition. I would like a refund as I feel the services that I received are clearly not what the website claims. *****’s email response for refund: *** There are no refunds. You paid for a diet. You received a diet. We talked for over an hour, you understood the # of meals, foods, I understood your likes and dislikes and then you committed to follow this through and I agreed to help you with the nutrition piece. That is it. You are the only person that has EVER quit the plan I've written- in fact, 2 of YOUR friends are currently on the program and doing quite well. I'm not surprised that you feel this is somehow my fault. You warned me yourself actually in your original email- of your yo-yo dieting, and bouncing from one fad thing to the next including the HCG diet. And then after receiving the diet, you actually wrote to me and told me it didn't look difficult at all. Your problem is that you decided that you didn't like ME and that's fine. But it's not worthy of a refund. I gave you what you paid for and what we agreed upon. It's like eating a meal at a restaurant and then asking for your money back BC you didn't get along with your server. I wonder if you've asked every other trainer and nutritionist you've worked with in the last 3 years for a refund as well. Do not email or contact me again. You're right- the "city isn't that big" :) I agree. So, If you decide to be unprofessional in any way, publicly or socially slanderous via Facebook again (yes I was made aware) or otherwise, I will forward it to my attorney ******* ******* of ****** * ******. Regards, ***** ******** Owner, LiveFit Personal Training ###-###-####

Business Response:

Hello:

Several weeks ago this same client wrote a negative review of our business concerning the same matter. I responded to the review at that time, and I've once again posted her comments in the negative review (which I believe was not posted for public viewing on the BBB review page for my business) and my responses below. In my opinion, nothing new was brought up in her formal complaint, so my response to her initial negative review, in my opinion, should suffice. This client was charged $240 for the time put into developing her meal plan, which was specific to her needs, and-despite her incorrect claims to the contrary- requires a great deal of detail, calculation, and precision. Developing a plan this detailed does, in fact, take several hours. Furthermore, this client's claim that our website misrepresented the service couldn't be further from the truth. If you read the page dedicated to this service on our website, found HERE, we delivered on all points, as we always do. At any rate, once again, please see her initial comments and my response to those comments below:

“I purchased a nurtition plan from a representative of Live Fit ********** for $240.00 for a one month plan. To begin with, I asked ***** ******** the individual who was responsible for writing the plan for a sample plan, to merely see what I would be paying for. I was told that she does not give away free samples of diet plans, should have been a red flag.” 

Because each client's plan is completely customized, taking into account current weight, body composition, estimated metabolic rate, activity factors, and caloric and macronutrient needs, the only way to provide a "sample" is to actually perform all the calculations and provide a prospect with the actual customized meal plan itself. This takes a painstaking deal of precision and time. It is labor intensive on our end and we need to be compensated for our time and expertise, as would anyone providing a service. There is a thorough overview on our website describing the service, and we feel it provides prospects with a representative "sample" of what they will be receiving. While we could provide prospective clients with someone else's meal plan, that would be specific to someone else-not the inquiring prospect-and, more importantly, unfair to other clients who have paid for the service. We cannot give away that information as it is proprietary to them. Quite simply, it is impossible to provide a sample which is reflective and representative of a custom, highly individualized and precise plan. 

“I met with ***** for maybe an hour, when I received the plan, it was in an email form and was basically a cookie cutter meal plan that I was to follow for 30 days.” 

Our meal plans are about as far from "cookie cutter" as it gets. If the plans were cookie cutter, everyone from a 300 lb. inactive individual to a 180 lb. highly conditioned individual would receive the exact same plan, containing the exact same number of calories, in the same macronutrient ratio. This is the exact opposite of what we do. Each client's nutrition plan-as was the case with this particular client- is specific to their starting weight, body composition, activity and fitness levels, and goals. Our plans-and we have no problem saying this-are as detailed as one can possibly imagine, down to the exact gram of each food contained in the plan. 

“The diet itself was very easy to follow--reading it and planning, there was nothing to it,...” 

We are glad this particular client found this to be the case. We try to make our plans as straight forward as possible. 

“...it was not comprehensive at all.” 

Once again, see our responses to this client's comments above. To say the plan this client received was "not comprehensive at all" is a blatantly incorrect statement. 

"After a long 13 hour shift in the ER I had expressed questions and concerns for ***** to maybe ease into this so I could stay on point, because I thought this was about my success and a lifestyle change."

 We ease EVERY client into the plan. We actually start clients with a higher caloric intake and a higher percentage of carbohydrates than what is commonly prescribed by other practitioners. We want our clients to eat as much as possible and still meet their goals. We are not in the business of depriving people and setting calories or carbs too low because we want our clients to be successful and present a plan which is sustainable. It's easy to put someone on an unsustainable starvation diet, but we refuse to do this because we want to see a permanent lifestyle change in our clients. In fact, this particular client’s nutrition plan didn’t even have her in a caloric deficit yet – as we ease into the plans as noted above. 

In the case of this client, she may be confusing comprehension with variety. We believe in a core group of protein, fat, starch, and fruit and vegetable options. We believe in whole, unprocessed, low sodium and low sugar foods. There are only so many foods in each category which meet our requirements. We do not believe in processed 100 calorie “snack packs”, frozen “healthy” entrees, or complex gourmet recipes which take a great deal of time to prepare. If a client wants to add variety, we recommend doing so with spices, rubs, marinades, and different prep methods. But to write a recipe book for every client is somewhat ridiculous. The diet is meant to be adhered to strictly for the first 30 days, as to become familiar with the routine, committing to eating differently and adopting the lifestyle of making good choices with food. Optimally, you eat what is on your plan and then substitutions are used in situations such as a special night out to dinner, or traveling, holidays, or other situations that make it difficult to stick with 100%. 

This client was told repeatedly that we were available via text or a phone call if she was EVER in a situation where she didn’t know what a good food choice was or needed support in that way. We are after OPTIMAL-not just “OK”-results, and this philosophy is reflected in the foods we prescribe. While we do offer substitution recommendations for any food contained within a plan upon request, this can become a slippery slope, because even if a substitution we offer is similar or identical in caloric content, the macronutrient ratio of the substituted food may not be the same as the originally prescribed food, and this can alter the results the client receives in a negative way. We have found, through years of applying our philosophy with hundreds of clients, and getting fantastic results, people respond better and are more consistent with a diet which does not offer a great deal of day in and day out variety. Too much variety, especially when attempting to follow a plan as precise as ours, becomes unmanageable, impractical, and inefficient for the vast majority of people. Having to prepare different meals, containing different foods, each and every day is tedious. If the goal is to streamline things for clients and make it easier to stick to a plan, too much variety is detrimental, in our opinion. 

Once again, a lack of variety does not mean, in any way, shape or form, that the plan is not comprehensive, or was not comprehensive in the case of this client. Based on our results with hundreds of others, the testimonials our clients have provided (found on our website), the positive responses from other satisfied clients found right here at the BBB website, and the transformations we’ve helped produce (again, examples can be found on our website), we stand by our services-particularly our dietary consulting and meal planning service-and we feel our reputation speaks for itself. If any prospective client reading this is leery of the service we provide, we’d be happy to provide as many references as you would like to ease any concern you may have.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please provide a singed document that states there are NO refunds for NUTRITION. I did not wait weeks, it wasn't even a week. As stated numerous times, the plan after speaking with other PRO bodybuilders, this diet is not new and was adjusted for my weight.  Bottom line, the service provided to me was not appropriate nor professional, the emails were condescending and rude, and were not coaching in nature. I would like my money back, I am not interested in your testimonials or reviews from friends a day AFTER I asked for a refund. I did not see the credentials listed in the response, ( in case I missed them)  from my understanding the person making the meal plan has to be certified to do so. Again, please provide the signed documentation that states there are no refunds, if you cannot, I would like my money back. 


Regards,

******** *******




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The customer provided a copy of the email seont from the owner of the business that they are going to povided the customer a refund. Customer would like to know a time frame when she will receive the check.

-------- Original Message -------- * ******************************

Subject: BBB complaint
Date: Mon, 16 Dec 2013 08:07:58 -0500
From: P****** *******************************
To


***: I need your mailing address. I'm giving you a refund. I have neither the time nor the energy to deal with this any further. ******* ** ****** Owner LiveFit Personal Training


Regards,

******** *******




Business Response: The check is scheduled to be sent out on Monday 12-23. Payment can be expected within 5-7 business days.