BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offered moving services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Two Men & A Truck Northern Kentucky
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 10, 2003 Business started: 12/22/2002 Business incorporated 12/02/2002 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Kentucky Division of Motor Carriers
200 Mero Street , Frankfort KY 40622
http://transportation.ky.gov/motor-carriers
Phone Number: (502) 564-1257

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 855-368-4200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jimmy C. Taylor Sr., President Miss. Laura Isaacs, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Miss. Laura Isaacs, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Jimmy C. Taylor Sr., President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
JDL Inc dba Two Men & a Truck JDL Inc. Two Men And A Truck
Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1335 Donaldson Road Unit 13

    Erlanger, KY 41018

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    615 W 9th Street

    Covington, KY 41011

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 07/31/13 I hired Two Men & A Truck for move me to my current residence. While moving a refrigerator into my home, the movers damaged my newly installed flooring. There were three (3) separate places damaged. A damage claim was filed. To date, Two Men and A Truck have not replaced my damaged flooring. I have made numerous requests to have my flooring replaced. Two Men and A Truck had guaranteed me that this matter would be resolved. Since this matter has not been resolved I have retained an attorney to handle this matter for me.

Desired Settlement: That the flooring be replaced, and my moving fees be refunded.

Consumer Response: I have had no response from them. Even after I had an attorney to send them a demand letter there was no response.I am still contemplating filing a lawsuit against them. This company is a joke. They charge you a fortune to move you and then when they damage your property they don't want to take responsibility for it. They should be ran out of business.

6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Two Men and a Truck for our 2/25/13 move. On that day during the unloading of items at our new house the movers decided to play a little game. One guy strapped our 100 lb safe to his back while the other walked behind him filming him on his cell phone stating "look a this guy, he's a beast" or something to that effect. As he stepped on the landing of our steps the strap slipped and the safe fell from his back. The safe hit the floor going through the carpet, pad and to the subfloor. It then bounced and put two large holes in our drywall. There is also damage to the corners of our safe. We also noticed there is damage to our washing machine. It is very obvious the strap was placed too tight and there are two dents on the front/side. This washing machine was purchased on November 23, 2012 from ** ***** for ~$1200. The movers left after telling us we'd hear from someone in 1-2 days. I called the office right away and was told I would get a call back. After no call we decided to drive to the office. **** ********* called when we were about 5 minutes away so we came in anyway. We met with **** and explained the situation with photos. He agreed to come out at 9:00 am to look at the damages. **** arrived at 9:20 Tuesday morning. Took a few photos and said that he would speak to ***** ****** that afternoon to discuss a resolution. I asked to receive a call from ***** with the plan of action. No call so I sent an email. She responded that **** would handle this damage claim and to allow 36-48 hours. We still have not heard from them even after calling again today to ****'s personal cell number he gave us at 5 pm today with no reponse. I feel like we have no other option but to involve a third party to assist in getting the repairs completed.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new safe to replace the damaged one and a new washer to replace the damaged one. Also, an inspection of the subfloor and repairs made as necessary. We also need drywall work to repair the holes in the wall. Additionally we will need replacement of the carpet pad and carpet. All of these with vendors we choose. Due to the negligence of the movers I am also requesting a full refund for our move. This all could have been avoided had they not been careless and followed procedure.

Business Response:

****

Please update this file. We have sent the BBB Complaint Response via certified mail with a check. I have attached photos of the minor damages that occurred. The wall damage appears large, but it is less than 2in. x 2in.

 

Due to the customer threatening legal action if we didn’t re-carpet their stairs and the entire 2nd floor we have directed all further contact to our attorney.

 

***** ******

General Manager

 

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

******** ******** ****** **** ********* *** *** ** ********* **  *****

***** ************ * ******* ************ * *** ***** ************ ****** ***********************  * **** ************ ******** **********************************************************  

Business Response:

 I have attached a copy of the Move Manager’s statement, Emails between Mrs. ******* and myself, as well as our Customer Contact notes showing in our system.

 

Time Line of this Move / Complaint:

02/25/13 - Move Day – Movers Left office at 9am, Arrived at the Job at 9:15am, Left Unload at 12:45am, Returned to Office at 1:00pm

 

02/26/13 – Customer called in complaining to office saying that they wanted to speak with a manager immediately (before the movers even left),

                  the manager was out of the office and meeting with another customer

 

02/26/13 – Customer arrived at the office to complain in person because a manager had not returned their call within the hour, the manager had just returned to the office 5 minutes prior, the manager was

                  attempting to call and they pulled up at the office.

 

02/26/13 – Email received from customer around close of business, to make me aware of the situation because they felt as if I had not, I replied by phone and email

 

02/27/13 – Move Manager went out to view damages and take pictures

 

02/27/13 – Emails & Calls received from customer before we had a chance to handle the investigation.

 

We sent it certified directly to the customer (see signed receipt attached). I turned all additional response over to our attorney since Mrs. ******* has been unrealistic and demanding with her expectations from the start.

 

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or thoughts on this matter.

 

 

***** ******

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

******** ******** ******

Direct Ph# 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The offered settlement of $390 is not even enough to cover the damage to the walls and carpet, let alone the damage to the washer and safe.  I have been pushing this issue with every avenue possible because the company has not been responsive.  Up until the time of receiving the certified letter every communication effort had been on my end to the company.  No one ever bothered to call, email or check in with us.  Had the company been up front in admitting their employees error and willing to work with me it would have been a different story.  I've heard nothing but nightmare complaints about how difficult this franchise is in dealing with damage claims and now I am in one of my own.

I still have never gotten anyone to inspect our sub-floor to ensure there is no damage.  I have received estimates on replacing the carpet, and since the current color is no longer manufactured we would have no choice but to replace it all.  We are also getting quotes on fixing the wall.  The company states these damages are cosmetic but how can holes in the wall and carpet be cosmetic when they never would have happened if the employees followed proper procedure.  I feel like the circumstances of the case are being left unrecognized.  Their employees were literally playing around on the job when this occurred.

To immediately jump to assuming I will accept your $390 with no conversation with me is unfortunate.  And then to immediately forward me to your attorney is ridiculous.  It just shows that the company is not willing to work with me on this matter, and they have ignored their employees negligence.  All I am asking for is my house to be restored to the manner it was prior to the damage - walls, sub-floor and carpet all need to be fixed/repaired.  They didn't even bother to ask me for estimates.

Also, Ms. ****** timeline is incorrect.  The move occurred on 2/25 as well as the phone call and visit to the office (not 2/26).  The moving manager came out on 2/26 and the email was sent on 2/26 as well.  As I mentioned previously, I felt like I had no other choice than to be aggressive with asking for a response since all I've heard are horror stories about dealing with this company on damages and I was not receiving any communication initiated by Two Men and a Truck.

 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

FYI to keep you in the loop for the status of this Complaint / Negative Review

We are making progress to repair the minor damages that occurred during the move. However, the customer has also placed negative reviews on the corporate website.

 

 

***** ******

General Manager

 

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

******** ******** ****** **** ********* *** *** ** ********* **  *****

Main: ###-###-#### / Direct: ###-###-#### / New Cell: ###-###-####

Email: ***********************  / Fax: ###-###-####

Website: **********************************************************

 

 

 

 

From: ***** ****** 
Sent: Friday, March 22, 2013 2:58 PM
To: 

**** ******* ************************* ***** ******* ************************** *** **** ** ****** ******************** ******** **** * ****** ******* * ******  

****,

As a follow-up to our conversation, once you have an agreed upon day and time for the carpet repair appointment for next week, you will let me know. I will do my best to make arrangements for one of our wall repair vendors to come out the same afternoon so that we don’t inconvenience you more than once.

 

*** will take care of patching the wall. Since you have additional paint available, you have agreed to paint over the wall repair after the patched area dries. Thank you for allowing us to work thru this matter.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ******

General Manager

 

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

******** ******** ****** **** ********* *** *** ** ********* **  *****

Main: 

Email:

 ***********************  * **** ************ ******** **********************************************************  

 

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 




Yes it has been resolved. Finally. 

Thank you
***** ******* 

Sent from my iPhone

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

5/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Staircase was damaged by movers. 3 months later there has been no resolution. Multiple phone calls and emails have made no difference. Two Men filed the damage claim and owned up to the damage. It was only lip service. This continues to be the worst customer service experience I can recall.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the damaged wood on our staircase replaced. It is a highly visible area and simply filling and staining would not be an acceptable fix.

Business Response:

***,

I was mistaken, the repair appointment is set for Friday, May 31, 2013 around 9:30am.

Sorry for the confusion.

 

***** ******

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

Northern ******** [0150]

Direct Ph# ###-###-####

 

From: ***** ****** 
Sent: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 10:35 PM
To: '*****************'
Cc: ***** Furniture
Subject: Banister Repair Appointment Scheduled - [*** ********, ********]

 

***,

It was a pleasure speaking with you tonight. I wanted to send you a follow-up email to let you know that I spoke with your realtor ****** **** and he will be meeting our repair vendor at your house tomorrow to complete the repairs needed. I have asked that before and after pictures be taken so that you can see that the repair was completed since you are no longer in ********. (See repair appointment confirmation email below)

 

As I stated earlier in our conversation, your repair had been assigned by our damage coordinator to two separate repair vendors who were unable to meet our customer service expectations. At that point our damage coordinator came to me and I had to research to find new repair vendors that can meet our high levels of customer service expectations. It took a few weeks to find and check references on several companies.

 

We are now utilizing ***** Furniture Service to handle our repairs when needed. **** ***** has been in business for over 30 years and comes highly recommend. He is also A+ rated with the BBB in Cincinnati as well as ******* ****.

 

**** *****

 

I did just notice that you filed a BBB complaint on this unhandled matter. Per our conversation earlier, you stated that the movers did not miss-handle the furniture but that the shelf to the extra-large and bulky armoire had been stored on top which was above their eye level. And that you had forgotten about it and probably would not have noticed it yourself had you been the mover. I appreciate your feedback and we will utilize this knowledge as we do further training with our moving staff. Training is something that we take very seriously so it is important that we know how an incident occurs so that we can make adjustments in our training & re-training so that we do not repeat mistakes. Again, I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

 

Hopefully, we have sped up the handling of this concern to show that the matter has not been forgotten and when the BBB follows up with you will answer that your concerns were addressed.

 

Should you have any additional concerns or questions, please don’t hesitate to call me.

 

Sincerely,

***** ******

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

Northern ******** [0150]

Direct Ph# ###-###-####


From: ***** ****** 
Sent: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 9:38 PM
To: '***** Furniture'
Cc: ***** ******** ******* *******
Subject: REPAIR Assignment from TWO MEN AND A TRUCK Northern ******** [*** ********]

 

http://www.ernstfurniture.com/10percent.png

 

Hi *****

Per our conversation earlier this evening, I would like for you to handle the following repair:

 

*** ********

Job *****

 

Location of Damage:   **** ******* ******* ****** ** *****

Type of Residence:      Home – Unoccupied, On the Market w/ ReMax

Appointment Contact   ****** ****, REMAX – Ph####-###-####

 

Item Damaged:            Wood base & Bannister of staircase, I do not have a photo of the damage, but the house listing you can see a picture of the staircase

 

Picture of Staircase - ********************************************************************************

 

Special Request:

Because the homeowner has moved to ******* and this house is on the market, we need to email before and after photos of the repair to *** ******** (homeowner) ***************** and to i****************** (for our files). If you do not have a camera on your phone or a digital camera to use, please stop by our office to borrow one.

 

Please reply a confirmation that you have received & accept this REPAIR assignment.

If you have any questions you can reach me at ###-###-####.

 

***** ******

General Manager

 

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

Northern ******** [0150]

1335 Donaldson Rd, Ste 13

Erlanger, KY  41018

Main: ###-###-#### / Direct: ###-###-#### / New Cell: ###-###-####

Email: ***********************  / Fax: ###-###-####

Website: http://www.twomenandatruck.com/movers-in-northern-kentucky

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

*** ********

 

 

 

1/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Two Men and A Truck in August to help me move to my new home. They did a terrible job and had terrible service as well. They damaged a large amount of my property. They damaged multiple places on my wall and bannister, my front door, and my 4,000 bedroom set. I called management immediately. ****** ***** came to the site. He agreed to have someone come and fix all the damages. Someone came and took pictures and then never came back. I have been going back and forth with *** ***** for months now... he would tell me someone was coming and he would call me back and then I would never hear from him. I called and left many voice mails. I also have back and forth emails from us both but nothing has ever been done. I will take care of hiring company to fix damages I just want them to pay for them. I paid a lot of money with understanding I has insurance and any damages were covered and they have been nothing but horrible. Please help me!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Pay for the damages to all my property.

Business Response:

I have attached the documented dialogue of the ******* ***** case. I will certainly assume the responsibility for the ball being dropped on a couple misses by our outside vendors. I will say, however, that I was in communication with *** ***** and tried to assure that the damage was taken care of. We even have the damage set to be repaired by an outside vendor as of October 30th. If you can please follow up with *** ***** to determine if the vendor has been to her home it would be certaily appreciated as I will direct my current and future communication with you.

If you need to contact me directly, I can be emailed at *********************** or ###-###-####.

Thank you in advance

****** ***** **

Operations Manager

 

Consumer Response: I have never heard back from Two Men and a Truck. I denied it because they said they contracted out Oct 30 yet it's been almost a month since I talked to them last. I can have my own company fix everything but the furniture however I would like to be reimbursed for cost. Please let me know next steps I have got looked over a lot and it's been a mess. I want something done asap!

Business Response:

*****

I have attached a copy of our contact notes that show we have been in contact with *** ***** and her claims are being handled. This file should be removed as a complaint from our records.

Please let me know if any additional information is needed.

Sincerely,

***** ******

General Manager

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

Northern Kentucky [0150] & Louisville Central [0199]

1335 Donaldson Rd, Ste 13

Erlanger, KY 41018

Main: ###-###-#### / Direct: ###-###-#### / Cell: ###-###-####

Email: *********************** * ***: ###-###-####

Website: http://www.twomenandatruck.com/movers-in-northern-kentucky