BBB Accredited Business since

Two Men & A Truck

Additional Locations

Phone: (513) 942-9942 Fax: (513) 942-9945 View Additional Phone Numbers 7747 Tylersville Rd Ste C, West Chester, OH 45069 http://www.twomen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men & A Truck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Two Men & A Truck include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men & A Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Two Men & A Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 05, 2003 Business started: 10/21/2001 in 0
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael D. Lacey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael D. Lacey, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Lacey Enterprises LLC Two Men and A Truck
Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Additional Locations

  • 5371 Ridge Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45213

  • 7747 Tylersville Rd Ste C

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 942-9942

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Items damaged in move, items not delivered/and or missing from delivery, and damage to interior of home, specifically, gouged hardwood floors.

Desired Settlement: I like missing items located and delivered, or I wish to be reimbursed for them. Additionally, I would like damage to my home repaired by qualified individuals. I have contacted the company, was given an email address to send photos of damage, and also filed a claim I'm the day of moving. I have spent a month doing this, with no additional contact or resolution from the company.

Business Response:

Our manager reached out to the customer soon after the move due to a Red Flag comment card with the main complaints center around not getting the same crew that had performed the customer's previous move, Some furniture damage and no one asked the customer where we put anything. Our manager reached out and offered to send another crew to the customer's home, the customer said ok as long as the specific employee came out, since the employee transferred to another location we could not accommodate the request. And it was left at that. Once the BBB complaint came through our manager reached back out to the customer and asked again if we could come out and move the items free of charge. The customer said that she had paid someone $75 to move the items. Our manager asked if she would like to be reimbursed the $75. The customer replied no. But the customer then told our manager about scratches on her hardwood floor. At this time we cannot determine if we caused them or did the person she hired to move the rest of the items caused the damage.

We try to accommodate as much as possible but there are circumstances out of our control when it comes to assigning specific crew members to specific jobs, in this case the employee transferred to another franchise.

Our manager has reached out numerous times via phone and hasn't had much luck on that end. The customer feels the only reason why we are reaching out is the BBB complaint. At this point our manager has emailed the customer and requested what would be an acceptable solution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


I received only one, not numerous calls from the operations manager, and I also received several emails, responses to my email. In response to their comment about them only responding after I filed the claim, this is indeed fact. I can find no record of any offer of $75, and my major concerns of missing items, mainly, antique family china, and the damage to the hardwood floors, which had been freshly redone throughout the house prior to the closing, have not been addressed, nor where they when I emailed photos of the damage. So, this absolutely needs to addressed. I did leave a message for Clancy on 12/4, at 11:45 so I'm now waiting to hear back from him. 

Regards,

******** *****

Consumer Response: At the current time, the contract with this moving company is still packed in boxes from the move, so I, going to need extra time to locate it. So far, I'm missing a partial box of antique china, which includes six coffee cups, six bowls, medium box of cashmere sweaters, and ironing board. 

Photos of broken items and damaged floors. The floor damage is in multitude rooms and was difficult to photograph so that is would show the scale. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** *****

---

I received only one, not numerous calls from the operations manager, and I also received several emails, responses to my email. In response to their comment about them only responding after I filed the claim, this is indeed fact. I can find no record of any offer of $75, and my major concerns of missing items, mainly, antique family china, and the damage to the hardwood floors, which had been freshly redone throughout the house prior to the closing, have not been addressed, nor where they when I emailed photos of the damage. So, this absolutely needs to addressed. I did leave a message for Clancy on 12/4, at 11:45 so I'm now waiting to hear back from him. 

Regards,
******** ***** 

At the current time, the contract with this moving company is still packed in boxes from the move, so I, going to need extra time to locate it. So far, I'm missing a partial box of antique china, which includes six coffee cups, six bowls, medium box of cashmere sweaters, and ironing board. 
Photos of broken items and damaged floors. The floor damage is in multitude rooms and was difficult to photograph so that is would show the scale. 

Business Response:

These are the scratches that our repair vendor viewed as old and are not fresh scratches.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Prior to my purchasing the home, the floors had recently been refinished, and there was no one living in the home. There were no scratches on any of the hardwood floors throughout the home. The floors were scratched during the move, and there were witnesses other than myself present during the move. The previous owner can also confirm this. Additionally, there was no "repair vendor" at my home to inspect the damage to the hardwood floor, although, when I first made the complaint directly to the company, they asked for photos so that they could send the correct vendor to my home. No vendor/company ever contacted me or came to my home to inspect said damage. The damage is now three months old, so obviously, they will not look like they did immediately following the move. As the moving company was notified immediately, and never responded to the damage, perhaps this is how they operate, allowing damage claims to go unaddressed in order to not pay claims. 
Regards,

Jennifer Olson

Business Response:

Telephone conversation with **** ***** regarding damages:

The customer reported the damage claims only after she had other people rearrange her furniture which very well could have caused the damages.

We contacted the customer on a follow up call after the move. That is when she stated that she was un happy with the movers we sent out and that she had requested specific movers (who no longer worked for us) to perform her job. She indicated that the movers we sent out did not put things where she wanted them. Our manager offered to send out, free of charge, another crew to move the furniture where she would like. The customer said if we couldn’t send who she had originally requested, not to bother. We then received the BBB complaint. We followed up with the customer, the customer stated that the only reason why we called her was the BBB complaint.

The customer indicated that she had paid $75 to have people come move her furniture around because we failed to do it. My manager apologized and offered to reimburse the $75. She said no. Then she sent pictures of damaged floor and reported damaged items. It would be completely different if she had reported the damages initially, before hiring someone else to move the furniture for her.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


This is getting to be ridiculous, and the moving company's statements contain numerous lies. The day of the move, while the moving crew were here, I was contacted by the company several times about my displeasure with this move. Twice, I was told an operations manger would be out to supervise the move. Not once did anyone come out. I DID report the scratches and requested someone come to arrange the furniture where I wanted it since I was not consulted. I made a number of calls/emails to the company, which weren't returned. I was told that they needed photos in order to send the proper vendor out before repair work could begin. This was all done prior to having ANYONE MOVE ANYTHING. I waited more than a month and for a response in this matter, and eventually had to have furniture moved from the middle of rooms so that I able to live in my home. As I mentioned in previous responses, there were several witnesses to the damage that day. One of these witnesses happens to be an attorney, and if this matter isn't resolved promptly, I'm going to take action of a different kind. I have sent photos, I have called this company, I was contacted numerous times during the day of the move, I have phone records, VM records, emails, and dated photos documenting all of this. Fix the issue now. 

Regards,

******** *****

Consumer Response: 2/19/16 Reived photos of scratches and witness statement from consumer.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******** ***** <*****************>
Date: Fri, Feb 19, 2016 at 3:31 PM
Subject: ID ********/******** *****
To: ***********************

This is the second email I sent to Karen Lewis at Two Men and a Truck. I have two more with the photos which I will also send to you as separate emails.  I also have phone records from my call with her and the other individuals at the company. If you would like me to retrieve these and scan/send also, please let me know. I have emailed and called both the other owner and the previous owner regarding a statement. Once I get theses I'll send them to you as well. 

Sent from my iPad
Begin forwarded message:
From: ******** ***** *******************
Date: October 11, 2015 at 15:54:33 EDT
To: Karen*****************

Sent from my iPad

On Oct 11, 2015, at 15:43, ******** ***** ******************* wrote:

Karen-
I did respond to this email several weeks ago regarding my move, and having someone come out to place the heavy furniture in the proper place. I have yet to hear back from you, so I hired a handyman to move it for me. I paid $75 for that. At this time, I am also including the photos of the floor damage, and several items. Additionally, I am missing a box with some antique china, seven bowls, and coffee cups, an ironing board, and kitchen step ladder. I also filed the claim for the damaged silk lampshade as I mentioned. I am anticipating a prompt response and resolution to this matter, however, if I don't hear back from you this time I will be forced to take other action. Thank you. 
******** *****
************

---

Seems your server won't accept the email with the photos, so I'm attempting again to send them. I'll send them in separate emails. 

image1.JPG
image2.JPG
Sent from my iPad

Cincinnati BBB (sent by ************************)
AttachmentsFeb 19 (4 days ago)

to me 
---------- Forwarded message ----------

From: ******** ***** *******************
Date: Fri, Feb 19, 2016 at 3:33 PM
Subject: Fwd: ID ********/******** *****
To: ***********************

Sent from my iPad
Begin forwarded message:

From: Jim ****** ****************
Date: February 19, 2016 at 15:25:00 EST
To: ******** ***** <*****************>

 Here you go .....
Attachments area
Preview attachment im3510_20160219_180353.pdf
PDF
im3510_20160219_180353.pdf

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** *****

--- 

MESSGE FROM BBB/MRC ** *********** -- See attached files including statements from witnesses re: condition of floors and pictures of scratches in the floors. 

Business Response:

Could I get the approximate weight of the damaged items so we can factor the reimbursement of the damaged items.  I would also urge the customer to get a repair quote for the hardwood floor damage so we can get the ball rolling on that. Again I don't want to admit fault on the floor issue due to our employee statements and the timeline of reporting the floor damage, but we will try to accommodate the customers request the best way we can.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


The employees are lying, however, my main concern is getting the floors repaired, and not at my expense as I'm not responsible for the damage. I'll have a reputable company, provided by my insurance company, USAA give me an estimate that can included in the reimbursment amount. Given the level of lies, and lack of professionalism, I would absolutely not be willing to have any repair work done by Two Men and a Truck's subcontractors. 


Additionally, how would Two Men and a Truck, a moving company with presumably more experience in the weight of household goods, except me to weigh things? If I were to look at these items, which they have received photos of, and guess at an weight, I would just be leaving myself open for Two Men and a Truck to accuse me of lying or making something up. 

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: The items that were damaged, were they packed into the boxes by our gentlemen? If so, we just need an estimated weight, we would cash out the valuation coverage based on that estimated weight.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** *****

---

5/2/16 To date, the consumer has not received any contact from the business pertaining to the repairs claim for her floors. BBB has provided additional information pertaining to this damage and awaits a response from the business as to how they will be addressing the damage.

Please provide a response to BBB as to what steps the business will be taking to address the claim of damage to the floors.

Business Response:

Please reference our correspondence on 3/8/2016:

Could I get the approximate weight of the damaged items so we can factor the reimbursement of the damaged items.  I would also urge the customer to get a repair quote for the hardwood floor damage so we can get the ball rolling on that. Again I don't want to admit fault on the floor issue due to our employee statements and the timeline of reporting the floor damage, but we will try to accommodate the customers request the best way we can

9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers were intimidating and harassed me after I had asked the manager to dismiss them because of the driver's rude and inappropriate behavior and tone of voice with me. He stomped through my house yelling at me. Additionally the movers damaged a new washer and didn't cover it before moving furniture in by it; they damaged a $2,000 Hutch and denied it and punctured a large framed picture. They also left a dresser and night stand behind and claimed it was my fault because of a final walk through. However, I was distracted by the driver hiding in my master bath taking pictures of it with his cell phone and overly admiring it openly instead of walking me through the house. It made me uncomfortable and threw me off guard. I had walked through the entire house at the beginning and told them everything in that room was to be moved. Instead of immediately dealing with the issues management said they now required me to pay via a cashiers check before they could do anything. I had to get my son and brother to finish the move. The movers waited an hour after leaving my home and followed me to the interstate but inpulled off. It was a horrible experience.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $1,000 I sent to them via a check the next day!

Business Response:

We have gone through a long process on this customer including support of our corporate offices. We have the paperwork initialed where it states we loaded everything at the load. The customer refused payment at time of service, our crews are not to leave until they secure payment. The customer still refused to pay, not paying the bill is theft of services. I have gps data that shows our crew did not wait to "intimidate" the customer. That they in-fact left when they were told to leave. Our corporate offices generally sides with the customer. This time after talking to the customer our corporate offices instructed to send out a crew the following day (free of charge) to get the few items left at the load and get the ball rolling on repairing the damages, only if the customer had a cashier's check of $1298.00 because it was obvious to them that the customer wasn't intending to pay. The customer refused to get a cashiers check, so following the directions of our corporate offices we told the customer we could not continue.

So when we received the check in the mail a few days later, we assumed it would bounce or it would have a stop payment, so we never deposited the check anyway. I can shred it, or send it back to the customer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business response is not accurate at all. I would never bounce a check and have a signed contact that I will sign and send that states the fee was $118 per hour. The crew worked from 930 am to 330 pm so in essence I overpaid them by sending a $1,000 check. They left behind my dresser with a mirror and night stand. We did a thorough walk through at the beginning and I clearly stated all of the white bedroom furniture in the spare bedroom was to be moved. Instead of conducting a thorough final walk through, I caught the driver in my master bath taking pictures of the shower and bragging about how his girlfriend was going to love it. It diverted our attention from doing the walk through and made me very uncomfortable.


The crew came back to me twice after leaving and the first time all three men stood at my front door demanding payment. I again stated that I had every intention of paying after the job was completed as stated in the contract I had signed for $118 per hour. The Contract states payment is due after the job is completed. The crew at barbecue Chips and stained my bedroom chair and damaged my new washer, picture and China cabinet hutch.  Then an hour later they were waiting for me on a side street and pulled out behind me as I headed for the interstate.  I have no idea if they could have disabled the GPS but I am absolutely certain it was them in the large white truck with the Two Men & A Truck black and white logo. I reported this numerous times but they ignored it and kept demanding payment. I was extremely scared. The driver also told me at the onset of the job that they were the "A Team" and I shound add their tip to the check or debit card when I bake payment.

This company agreed to send a different crew that Thursday to finish the move because I was frightened of how the driver stomped through my home, yelled at me, then returned twice with an obvious attempt to intimidate.  The general manager agreed to send a new crew but only if I paid in full a cashiers check. They assumed I wouldn't pay as they stated so now required me to pay in full by purchasing a cashiers check prior to the job being finished.  I told him no and again that I would pay by check the $118 an hour after services were completed as the signed contract stated.  He told me that I was no longer a customer and refused my calls.

My son finished the move that Friday August 21 and I sent a check in the mail for $1,000 which is more than $118 an hour per the signed contract. This company continues to ignore major issues and assume I woukdnt pay. They are also not telling the truth at all.

I am shocked for the total disregard of customer satisfaction and their inability to address serious concerns. 

Regards,

****** **********

Business Response:

The customer's desired resolution was a refund of $1000 that she paid us. We have agreed with that. We still have not deposited the $1000 check. I can send it back to the customer or void it and shred it. It is completely up to the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution will be satisfactory to me after the check is returned to me in the mail. I do not trust this company to void and shred the check and prefer that they mail it back to me. After receiving the check, I will agree to this matter being closed.

Regards,

****** **********

8/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have discovered after they moved us that several valuable item are now lost or damaged. They refuse to try and make any remedy for this.

Desired Settlement: Would like the company to reimburse us for the lost items and damages.

Consumer Response: The lost items are as follows:
Bolts that hold together an antique bed
Lid to an antique butter churn
Brass rod to an antique recliner

The following item was damaged:
White end table badly scratched on top.


Desired resolution amount is $500


Business Response: Our operations manager at the franchise has reached out to this customer and has not been able to make contact. He is going to continue to try to contact them. I will update further when we have made contact with the customer.

3/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers were supposed to be at my house between 8-9am. I called them at 9:30am and they said that they were at my house. I told them that they were not and that is why I am calling. They were down the street at a different address. I had two men and a truck come move things out of home.They came unprepared for the day. They did not have enough boxes, not enough wrapping, and not enough bubble wrap. We had to wait for an hour for someone to come and bring supplies. They damaged my new Samsung refrigerator in the process. They scratched all 4 doors and dented them. When I said something to the mover, he got hostile and said it was like that. I told him that I just got that refrigerator last year and it is brand new. The other mover said that they damaged it trying to get it through the foyer and he was sorry. They were supposed to move me in one day. I still have things at my home to move. I paid $1,500 and some change to have them move me. **** the manager called me today and offered to pay a whole $100 to pay for my close to $6,000 refrigerator. That doesn't even cover the cost to have the doors replaced. I asked **** if he could refund me my money for the move, he said "no". I asked if he could replace the doors at least on the refrigerator, and he said "no" that all he is willing to do is $100. I told him that I will have to handle this in a different way.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my refrigerator doors replaced or the refrigerator replaced along with a refund for the cost of the move....

Business Response: After checking our records for both our ***** *** and ***** locations, we do not have any record of moving this customer and we do not have any manager named **** working for us.   We believe that she may have used another Two Men and a Truck office for her move.  Can the customer please check their paperwork for their move to see if they have the right offices?  

Consumer Response: Attached is the paperwork from my interaction with Two Men & A Truck. Thank you for your help.

Business Response:

After interviewing the two different operations managers that were sent out this job at different stages of this move and the movers performing the move, I will offer this explanation:

 This move was performed as a confidential move (husband and wife were separating and wife was moving out). The address we gave our gentlemen were for a few doors down so the customer could contact us when she was ready. This is normal for a confidential move. When our gentlemen arrived at the home, the customer was not ready nor did the customer give an accurate account of what was being moved during the estimate process. During the process of the pack and move, the inventory was changing. The husband and wife were arguing about items on a list of what the wife was going to take and what was going to be left. This happened multiple times, this slowed down the job considerably. Understanding the tough situation the customer was in we did discounted her rates. As you can see on the attached sales order, the rates were discounted heavily. The pack was slated for $175 per hour and the move was slated for $127. The service charge would have been $1684.25

The customer was charged 4 hours at $127.00 per hour and 7.75 hours at $112.00 for a total service charge of $1376.00 (this is also discounting off 0.5 hours for the trip for extra boxes). When we add in the packing supplies ($148.00 + 9.99 in sales tax) the entire bill comes to $1548.99.

As far as the damage is concerned the customer signed off on valuation coverage of $0.60 per pound per damaged article (See Attachment). We just need the model number of the refrigerator to determine the weight of the article so we can provide the customer with the cash out amount.

2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved to a brand new condo on the 2nd floor on 12/29/14, from a 3rd floor apartment with no elevators in either; all of which was discussed with the moving company prior to the move. I chose Two Men and A Truck because it is a well known company with insurance; knowing that my items and valuable to me & I was moving in to a new construction condo. My estimate prior to the move from the company was 3-5 hours and the move ended up taking 8 hours with me also packing 2 of my vehicles to move the process along. Everything was boxed up and ready to go when the movers got to my 2 bedroom apartment on 12/29/14. There were no damages on the walls or items on the way out of the apartment & in to the truck. Once they got to my new construction condo the movers damaged walls in the entryway, stairwell, & railings of my condo. On the way up the stairs in the entry of my condo they dragged my new condition over sized couch(also described prior to move) along the newly painted walls in multiple areas. With this they damaged the couch also.I discussed the damages with the movers & was told I would get a call that evening from the manager at Two Men & A Truck. I was never called back. I reached out to the company the next day 12/30/14 & talked to *** **** about damages & was asked to email photos to her & that she would get back with me to discuss how we were going to go about the repair process. I never heard from her so I called *** again on 12/31/14. She was not in the office so I left a message to have her call me back with how we were going to move forward with the repairs. I never got a call back so I called again 1/1/15 and left a message as it was a holiday. I called back on 1/2/15 since again I didn't here from anyone & *** said ***, the wall repair guy for the company and *****, the couch repair guy for the company would call me with when they could come out to look/fix the damages. On 1/4/15 *** called and we agreed that he would come out 1/5/15 to repair/paint walls & railings.

Desired Settlement: *** did a great job repairing the damages but the way he painted did not match up and I was told that the moving company does not pay him to paint floor to ceiling so that it would match up.I've had to reach out to the moving company everyday since I moved to see where we are with the repairs.Larry the couch repair guy didn't contact me until 1/14/15 to set up to come out &look @ the couch damage on1/20/15.I would like a full refund of $855 for my move because I have to get the damages fixed

Business Response: Our General Manager has reached out to the customer yesterday and left a message to discuss a settlement. Waiting on response.

Business Response: Our General Manager has been in contact with the customer. They have agreed upon a settlement and the check was mailed out today.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

We have settled on the money situation; however I would like them to come back out to my condo one more time to try to fix the paint on the walls that was already started but not yet completed.  I did leave a message with **** from Two Men and a Truck on 2/20/15 reguarding this matter; have not heard back as of end of buisness day on 2/23/15.

Regards,

******** ********

Business Response:


** ********,

We have met your desired settlement of $855. You have accepted and deposited the check for $855. By doing so you have released our company from any and all current and future liabilities pertaining to this Job.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
******** ********

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Two Men and a Truck to complete a household move on Jan 21st through Jan 23rd of 2015. A representative of the company come to my house (**** ********* *** **** ******** ** *****) to review the household items and provide a moving quote. The quote listed room by room the large items to be moved. The list of items was not all inclusive. It did not specifically list things like all the kids toys, kids bikes, piano, fish tank, pantry items, basement dehumidifier, etc. What it did list were beds, sofas, TV's, workbench's etc. I can provide a copy of the quote if requested. The quote was for (2) 26' box trucks to move my household from **** ******** ** to ******* ** which is about 3.5 hours. After loading the two trucks completely full, I was notified that they would not be moving the rest of the items. The reason stated was that the remaining items were not itemized on the quote. I argued that the quote was for the entire house and that it did not itemize everything in the house. The response was the same, the items were not on the quote and would not be moved unless I paid for a third truck to move the items. I pointed out that the quote was for a flat fee and that just because they quoted the job incorrectly at (2) 26' trucks instead of (3) did not make it my job to move the remaining items myself. They again refused to provide a third truck to complete the move as quoted for a flat fee. Therefore, I had to 1) Ask the buyer of my **** ******* home to Allow me to store the remaining items on their property until I could retrieve them. 2) Take another vacation day from work, borrow a truck and drive 3.5 hours there, load, and then return 3.5 hours back home with my remaining items.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is for a refund of $550 from the total already paid for my household move. This breaks down to $250 for truck rental (based off a similar ****** that was for rent) that was paid to borrow a truck, $150 in gas money, and $150 for 8.5 hours of my time at $15/hour since I cannot get my vacation time back.

Business Response: I interviewed the team that performed the move, the in home estimator, the general manage and after reviewing all the documents for the move in question, I can only offer an explanation to how this transpired. When our in home estimator goes through a home during the estimate process, the estimator takes notes on all inventory that the customer is asking us to move. This is how our estimates are generated based on the inventory reported during the estimate process. Based on the inventory list it was estimated for 2 trucks. The itemized list is then emailed to the customer prior to the move date with a statement says to verify the inventory on this list and contact us if there are changes that need to be made because that may change the estimated amount. On arrival to the move in question there was extra inventory that was not on the inventory list. When we do a flat rate move and it is for 2 trucks, your estimate is for 2 moving trucks labor and travel. It is a binding estimate, for us to move the items listed on the inventory for a set price. If we would have known about the extra inventory we would have been able to revise the estimate to include 3 trucks. But with the revision would have increased the price dramatically due to labor and costs associated with using a 3rd truck. We would have been glad to provide a 3rd truck to move the extra inventory but the customer refused to pay for a 3rd truck. We moved all of the items on the inventory list. We then filled the remaining space on the trucks with inventory the customer wanted moved that was not on the inventory list at no charge to the customer. The inventory that was left behind was in an outside shed and it included: raw lumber, a miter saw, some lawn ornaments and a piece of glass. None of which is on the inventory sheet. I can provide documents of the move upon request but they are the same documents that the customer already has.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


I understand the response from Two Men and a Truck - and I reject their explanation. They were contacted to move my entire household.  That is why they did an onsite estimate. Had they only moved those items on the itemized list, they would not have needed two trucks - everything would have fit into one truck.  I reject the implication that they were doing me a favor by moving items not list on the itemized list when they were hired to move my ENTIRE household.  Here is an email I received from ***** ********, operations manager at Two Men and a Truck: (which is also attached)

"*** ****,

    Per our discussion I went ahead and worked out a flat rate for the move and it comes out as follows.  This includes the use of 2-26 foot box trucks and a 4 man crew to take care of your move.

Total Labor (packing, load and unload): $4807.00

Total Materials: $1336.50

Fuel Surcharge: $1000.00

8 Hours total travel time( to get out to your location, to unload, and back to our office): $1672.00

Total for full pack and transportation is 8815.50 

 

Thank you for your time and the opportunity to take care of your move.  Our goal is to provide you with the best moving experience period.  If you have any questions about this or would like further info please give me a call anytime.  Our office number is ###-###-#### and my cell is ###-###-####. Thanks again,

***** ********
Operations Manager
*** ** **** ****** *** *******
Cincinnati, Ohio
P:###-###-####
F:###-###-####"

 

Notice that the total listed is for "full pack and transportation".  This is a full pack and move of my household.  The company was never going to issue an itemized list of everything I own to be moved as that is cost prohibitive and they realize it.  The itemized list contains the major items to be moved only.  It did not list most of our personal belongings, garage tools, outdoor kid toys, books, pictures, fish tank, piano, etc. What company would voluntarily move a piano or fish tank (since it was not part of the itemized list) without being paid for it and take on the damage liability?  The answer is none.  They knew the contract was to move the entire household, if they misquoted it, that is not my problem, that is a matter of internal training to improve their quoting process. 

For closure, I require a reimbursement of the costs I had to expend to retrieve the last of my possessions when they did not fulfill their end of the contract.  A total refund of $550 from the total already paid for my household move. This breaks down to $250 for truck rental (based off a similar ****** that was for rent) that was paid to borrow a truck, $150 in gas money, and $150 for 8.5 hours of my time at $15/hour since I cannot get my vacation time back that I was required to take to make another trip to move the rest of my possessions.

Thank you.


Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: ***** ******** does not work for Two Men And A Truck. According to the letter you included he works at "*** ** **** ****** *** *******".

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Two Men and A Truck to help with my move. A mini music box was stolen from our home during the move. In the days following, I repeatedly contacted the company requesting resolution. They have been slow to respond and have failed to return calls. Upon my third time reaching out to them, they instructed me to file a report with the police. I have since filed a report with the ********** Police Department. I've informed them that the complaint has been filed and I'm currently awaiting response from them.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be repaid the $100 cost of the music box plus the $60 we tipped the movers who stole from us. $160 total.

Business Response: When we heard of the missing device, we questioned both gentlemen on the job. They said they saw it on a window sill at the load location. They also stated that the customer was packing up a lot of the small / loose items. Our policy is any accusation of theft gets turned over to the authorities and we cooperate fully with the investigation. The police have more resources, and are able to take steps that we as the employer cannot. At this time we need to let the police investigation run it's course. If the investigation shows that there has been any wrong doing on behalf of our company then we will agree to the demands set forth in this complaint. We thank you for your patience in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


I contracted Two Men and A Truck to help with my move. A **** ***** ***** music box was stolen from our home during the move. In the days following, I repeatedly contacted the company requesting resolution. They have been slow to respond and have failed to return calls. Upon my third time reaching out to them, they instructed me to file a report with the police. I have since filed a report with the ********** Police Department. The Officer has placed several calls to various contacts at Two Men, and has yet to receive a call back. Two Men issued a previous response on the BBB website regarding the move and the theft. First, they confirmed that the movers saw the music box. They said they saw it at the load house. They also suggested that the **** ***** box was misplaced during the move. The details the company provided were factually incorrect. First, the music box was never seen at the load house. We gained access to the new home 2 weeks prior to making the official move with Two Men, and the music box has been at the new house for the entire 2 weeks prior to the move. Additionally, the music box was never boxed or transported between houses on the move day because it was always at the new house. There is no chance it was lost or misplaced. Two Men and a Truck's response to this issue has been substandard. They place all responsibility on their consumer and none on themselves. I hired them because I believed I could trust them with my property and they took advantage of me and still have yet to resolve the issue.

I have been issued a $60 refund for the tip I paid the movers. Upon the box being stolen, I asked for the tip plus the cost of the box ($100). Since then I've invested far more time and energy in resolving the matter than I would have ever imagined. I am now requesting half the price of the move ($372) to be refunded to me. I'm having a really hard time rationalizing paying a company that stole from me, especially as this continues to drag on and take up more of my time.

 



Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:

The police investigation has not turned up anything. At this point we do not want to drag this out any further. We have already refunded the $60 for the tip. I spoke with the customer and let her know that these things do take time but we would reimburse her $100 for the lost item. The customer agreed to this. I also informed the customer that we would continue with the police investigation per our internal processes and whatever the outcome is, it would not affect her reimbursement. On behalf of Two Men And A Truck, I apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused.


 

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Used Two Men and a Truck several times - this was a horrible experience. The men came tired and exhausted. They said I was thier second move, but just learned from the manager that was not correct. It took 11 hours to move out of a two bedroom apartment into a three bedroom house 1 mile away. Attempted to get some assistant regarding the over $1200 bill, which I was told that it should be around $900. I requested three movers; only two showed and was told that the third would not be there until 10 minutes prior to the move. Everything and boxed a color coded (top and side). They moved slow, they dropped several boxes, they didn't wrap my furniture as promised, they said we need to help upload the truck too, they complained about the number of boxes, they waited until everything was loaded on the truck to tell me I needed to authorize more time. They complained about a walkway. When trying to resolve this issue I have been told it was fault for scheduling the move on the "busiest weekend of the month". Customer Service has been challenging. I have yet to get any results. I paid for two slow movers. I talked to customer service the day after the move and was told they couldn't help. I talked to corporate office a couple days later, they said they couldn't help. Today I finally received a call which wasn't customer service friendly - she kept taking other calls, answered the radio, talked to people in the office. Said she wanted to hear my complaints but challenged everything I said. She finally said that I should hear something in a week, but that she needed to listen to the recording of the phone calls first.

Desired Settlement: I wanted refunded the amount that they went over the largest quoted amount for the move. I have asked for this and everyone says they can't help me, that it is not in thier job authority.

Business Response:

***** ***** was originally scheduled for 3 men and 1 truck on Saturday, 6/28.  I could not find the original estimate phone call because *** ***** did not call in from a phone number in our customer profile.  On June 17, ***** called in and spoke to ***** ** who updated *** *******  move to address and rescheduled *** ***** for Friday, 6/27.  When ***** attempted to discuss the estimate time of 5 to 6 hours, ***** stated that it won't take that long because they are going to have everything packed up and at the curb for the men when they arrived and that they would be helping to move everything.

 

On move day, we only had staffing for 2 men.  *** ******* move was revised and changed from 3 Men / 1 truck @ 172/hr to 2 Men / 1 truck @ 127 / hr. for 8-10 hrs. The total move took 11.25 hours, but *** ***** was given a credit of 1.25 hours for our employees taking breaks of which the men state they took somewhere between 30 and 45 minutes off throughout the day.  The total cost of *** ******* move was $1270.  With the original 3 Men / 1 truck would have taken between 7.25 and 7.5 hours to complete with the changes to the inventory and the additional walk times.

 

Customer detail notes said she did not want to disassemble the crib, she just wanted the crib shrink wrapped and padded and taken out to the truck.

 

When the men showed up to the house it was an extremely long walk from where you had to park the truck.  You had to go up 7 steps to go through a door to get into the building.  Then you had to go down 7 steps to get to the ground level the customer's apartment was on and then walk down the hallway.  Especially in a long move with lots of inventory, this extra distance can increase the time it takes to complete a move.  

 

The customer had boxes that were color coded as to which room they went into, but they also had a lot of miscellaneous items which were not on the inventory.  The husband was primarily at the load location with the , wife, baby and young child at the unload location.  ***** and the kids brought food to the men.  The customer states that they only moved one mile down the road.  She also states that they lived in a 1500 square foot apartment and that the move was huge since she had a family of four.

 

The customer did not help with the move or have anything out at the curb before the men arrived as she promised, which .  The men had to carry a lot of miscellaneous items to the truck.  There were 30 boxes and 10 totes on the inventory list.  In reality, the customer had 85 to 100 boxes by *** ******* own admission as well as the testimony of the men. 

 

One of the *** ******* complaints was that the men were exhausted when they arrived at job site because they had been on a move ahead of hers.  The men departed for *** ******* at 8:35 am and arrived at 8:58 am.  They did not have a job ahead of *** ******* and they were not tired when they showed up.  *** ***** had a very skilled and experienced move crew that has shown great longevity on big moves.

 

*** ***** states that the move was "messy" and cannot give any specific complaints.  *** ***** also said the men were "dropping stuff".  There were no damages on the move, and *** ***** could not explain what "messy" means.  *** ***** says it took such a long time and laughs when she tries to give specific examples of her dissatisfaction.

 

*** ***** was unhappy that they had to take the crib apart to move it.  The crib would not go through the door without being taken apart, so the husband took it apart.  I am not aware of any crib that will go through a doorway without being taken apart, so I did not find this surprising.

 

*** ***** had a lot of glass that the men had to pad and wrap to secure on the load.  At the unload site *** ***** states that she was unhappy that the men left the boxes on one side of one of the rooms.  The family's small child was playing video games in that room and the men tried not to disturb him or get in his way.  They left the boxes in a location in which they did not have to disturb the child.

 

There were a child and baby underfoot during a lot of the move that the men had to work around.  The men had to disassemble a baker's rack to remove it from the apartment.  The husband had to take some open boxes with chemicals and other items in them in his own car because they contained items not allowed on the truck.  The truck was completely packed full.

 

*** ***** states that a floor lamp was broken on the move and that it cost $30.  *** ***** states she threw the lamp away.  There was no damage report written up and the men state that no lamp was broken.  I offered to send *** ***** a check for $30 to replace the lamp but she didn't want it.

 

*** ******* mother paid for the move.  When the job was complete, the mother was not there to sign for the credit card authorization.  I had to have the mother call in to approve the charge to the credit card.  *** ***** was not happy about this on move day, but it is our policy.  Only the authorized user of a credit card can authorize payment.

 

In summary, while I believe a third man would have made the job easier for the men, I believe the total job time and cost would have been the same due to the long walk at the load site which included two flights of stairs and the added inventory of 100 boxes versus 30 on the estimate.  *** ******* inability to state specific reasons of dissatisfaction, her testimony that this was a huge job, and the fact that she told the csr estimator that they would have everything packed and at the curb when the men showed up lead me to believe the expectations set out before the move were not consistent with the true move on move day.

 

At the unload site the men had to unload from the curb.   They could not use the driveway. 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

***** ***** was originally scheduled for 3 men and 1 truck on Saturday, 6/28.  I could not find the original estimate phone call because *** ***** did not call in from a phone number in our customer profile - I have one cell phone number and no landline.  If another number was given it may have been my husband, but since I was the one coordinating the move, I'm not sure why I would have provided another number.  Also, no one asked for a second number.  I'm guessing that orginal estimate can not be found because that was the phone call that recorded their staff telling me that I would need 85-100 boxes for the move. 

 

 On June 17, ***** called in and spoke to ***** ** who updated *** *******  move to address and rescheduled *** ***** for Friday, 6/27.  When ***** attempted to discuss the estimate time of 5 to 6 hours, ***** stated that it won't take that long because they are going to have everything packed up and at the curb for the men when they arrived and that they would be helping to move everything - Two Men and Truck have NEVER taken as long as they quote, until now.  Also all boxes were in the front room by the front door waiting to be moved.  We NEVER recieved a confirmation phone call that they were coming.  We did not want to risk placing everything outside. 

 

On move day, we only had staffing for 2 men.  *** ******* move was revised and changed from 3 Men / 1 truck @ 172/hr to 2 Men / 1 truck @ 127 / hr. for 8-10 hrs. The total move took 11.25 hours, but *** ***** was given a credit of 1.25 hours for our employees taking breaks of which the men state they took somewhere between 30 and 45 minutes off throughout the day.  The total cost of *** ******* move was $1270.  With the original 3 Men / 1 truck would have taken between 7.25 and 7.5 hours to complete with the changes to the inventory and the additional walk times.

 

Customer detail notes said she did not want to disassemble the crib, she just wanted the crib shrink wrapped and padded and taken out to the truck.

 

When the men showed up to the house it was an extremely long walk from where you had to park the truck.  You had to go up 7 steps to go through a door to get into the building.  Then you had to go down 7 steps to get to the ground level the customer's apartment was on and then walk down the hallway.  Especially in a long move with lots of inventory, this extra distance can increase the time it takes to complete a move - I used Two Men and a Truck to move to this property in April 2013.  The walkway and stairs were not a concern then and the estimated work time was still less then quoted. 

 

The customer had boxes that were color coded as to which room they went into, but they also had a lot of miscellaneous items which were not on the inventory - Boxes were color coded, but half o them were unloaded in the wrong room (stuff that was suppose to go to the basement remained on the 1st floor.  Or it was left in the family room and we were carrying them upstairs.   The husband was primarily at the load location with the , wife, baby and young child at the unload location.  ***** and the kids brought food to the men.  The customer states that they only moved one mile down the road.  She also states that they lived in a 1500 square foot apartment and that the move was huge since she had a family of four - The children were in daycare from 7:30am until 6:00pm, they were never present during the lunch time.   I have records for that information.  Yes, I did say the move was large ... that is why I requested a third person. 

 

The customer did not help with the move or have anything out at the curb before the men arrived as she promised, which .  The men had to carry a lot of miscellaneous items to the truck.  There were 30 boxes and 10 totes on the inventory list.  In reality, the customer had 85 to 100 boxes by *** Drake’s own admission as well as the testimony of the men - the men refused to carry anything that was a liquid or was not in a box with a lid.  All miscellaneous items were taken to the house by myself or my husband.  The men did not handle any miscellaneous ite***  The 85-100 count was what I was told by Two Men and a Truck to have, I did not have an exact box count.  Unknown where the 30 box count came from.  The movers complained becasue that is what they said that they were told. 

 

One of the *** ******* complaints was that the men were exhausted when they arrived at job site because they had been on a move ahead of hers.  The men departed for *** ******* at 8:35 am and arrived at 8:58 am.  They did not have a job ahead of *** ******* and they were not tired when they showed up.  *** ***** had a very skilled and experienced move crew that has shown great longevity on big moves - The movers disclosed that they had one move prior to me where they had to move items of furniture.  The movers also smelled like sweat. The one driver said that the other was a new member on the team and that the third person that was supposed to be there quit after one day. 

 

*** ***** states that the move was "messy" and cannot give any specific complaints.  *** ***** also said the men were "dropping stuff".  There were no damages on the move, and *** ***** could not explain what "messy" means.  *** ***** says it took such a long time and laughs when she tries to give specific examples of her dissatisfaction - the movers would attempt to move multiple boxes down the steps as they were dropping off the dolly.  Furniture was not wrapped or protected so drawers were opening and items were falling out.  It was sloppy when one mover dropped a piece of furniture on himself. 

 

*** ***** was unhappy that they had to take the crib apart to move it - We were not unable about having to take the crib apart.  The movers said it would need to come apart to get through the door and so as they moved items, we took apart the crib. The movers did not stop their work to wait for the crib.  The crib would not go through the door without being taken apart, so the husband took it apart.  I am not aware of any crib that will go through a doorway without being taken apart, so I did not find this surprising.

 

*** ***** had a lot of glass that the men had to pad and wrap to secure on the load.  At the unload site *** ***** states that she was unhappy that the men left the boxes on one side of one of the roo***  The family's small child was playing video games in that room and the men tried not to disturb him or get in his way.  They left the boxes in a location in which they did not have to disturb the child. - One china cabnet was moved that had glass.  The child was out of the way playing on a tablet, no video games in our household.  We kept my son in the other room to stay out of the way of the movers. 

 

There were a child and baby underfoot during a lot of the move that the men had to work around - Once again the child and the baby were in daycare for 10 1/2 hours.  The baby, who is an infant, remained in her carseat or highchair.  As stated above by Two Men and a Truck, the older child was in the other room playing video games.  The men had to disassemble a baker's rack to remove it from the apartment.  The husband had to take some open boxes with chemicals and other items in them in his own car because they contained items not allowed on the truck.  The truck was completely packed full. - The husband made over 5 trips with a fully packed car and i made 3-4 trips with a packed wagon; not becasue they wouldn't take them, but becasue they were moving slow and we didn't want to hold anything up.  

 

*** ***** states that a floor lamp was broken on the move and that it cost $30.  *** ***** states she threw the lamp away.  There was no damage report written up and the men state that no lamp was broken.  I offered to send *** ***** a check for $30 to replace the lamp but she didn't want it.

 

*** ******* mother paid for the move.  When the job was complete, the mother was not there to sign for the credit card authorization.  I had to have the mother call in to approve the charge to the credit card.  *** ***** was not happy about this on move day, but it is our policy.  Only the authorized user of a credit card can authorize payment - I made no comment about not being happy with this. 

 

In summary, while I believe a third man would have made the job easier for the men, I believe the total job time and cost would have been the same due to the long walk at the load site which included two flights of stairs and the added inventory of 100 boxes versus 30 on the estimate - Once again, I'm not sure about the 30 box estimate.  If I would have had a crew that had energy, the job would have been completed in a timely manner.   *** ******* inability to state specific reasons of dissatisfaction, her testimony that this was a huge job, and the fact that she told the csr estimator that they would have everything packed and at the curb when the men showed up lead me to believe the expectations set out before the move were not consistent with the true move on move day.  My dissatisfaction was the amount of time that it took and the lack of crew that was provide.  It then became that no one would return my phone calls.  I called the local office and then had to call a coopriate office for assistance.  Getting the local office to make a phone back took forever.  The customer service was HORRIBLE.  The calls were constantly interupted by other calls and people walking into the officer to talk to the person on the phone.  I was interrupted several times by someone who was not at the move telling me how things went.  This person was beyond rude.  They had no interest in even listening to what I had to say.  I have said several times that I want the difference back - the difference between the maximum amount that they quoted me for the third person and what was paid.  I feel like this was a scam to get more money.  I feel like the movers have no interest in moving very fast because the company got more money for the move. 

 

At the unload site the men had to unload from the curb.   They could not use the driveway. - The men unloaded from the curb, told my husband that if he wanted it to go faster that he needed to help.  Prior to unloading I was told that I needed to resign a contract, as if my stuff was being held untill I signed. 


Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: We are sorry we did not meet your expectations with your move. Unfortunately there must have been a communication issue during the estimate process, and an obvious staffing issue the day of the move. On behalf of Two Men And A Truck please accept our apology. We agree to the proposed settlement. We will credit the difference between your highest estimate of $989 and the amount charged of $1270 ($281) and will also credit you an extra $19 to reach the proposed settlement amount of $300. We will refund your credit card $300 upon your acknowledgement to the BBB that this is an acceptable resolution to this matter (you do not have to close the complaint, just let the BBB know that this resolution is acceptable). Once you receive the credit to your card you can then close the complaint. Thank you for your patience in this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

6/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told by ***** that we could be billed a flat rate for packing and moving ($3700.00). $1600 of which was for packing. We decided to do our own packing and the price was adjusted to $2100. Throughout the moving experience, inspection and appraisal, etc., we kept in touch with Two Men and a truck in order to keep them aware of potential move dates. We had to schedule in advance to be gauranteed a date. During these conversations we were told at least three times that it was no problem and the price would be adjusted according to the terminology in the contract regarding partial hours or if we did not use the full 10 hr window, then our charges would be reduced. It was explained, that the truck charge would not change, it was obligated for the entire time. Well, we got a closing date for the 11th of April and scheduled the move for the 17th. During which time we moved a lot of smaller items ourselves. On the 17th the movers came and started loading. We were all under the impression that if we saved time we would save money, according to what we were told and the verbage in the written agreement. The movers worked very hard to save a *** a few dollars, in return after saving about 3hrs time, we celebrated with a pizza lunch and $40 tip. When they called in to their operations manager,*** ******, she informed me that their would be no savings because of the flat rate charge. I argued that we had been told differently on several occasions, but since I could not recall to whom I had spoken, she would not honor any verbal aggreement. We pointed out the verbage in the agreement, but she would not honor that either and insisted we be charged the full $2100 flat rate fee.

Desired Settlement: Approximately $300.00

Business Response:

*** ***** called in 8 days before the move and got our hourly pricing.  *** ***** still agreed to the pre-determined flat fee of $2100 for the move. Before commencing the move our gentlemen presented *** ***** with the Moving Services Agreement which outlined the agreed upon pre-determined cost of the move. *** ***** signed the moving services agreement which states "If moving for a predetermined flat fee, the amount is $2100." There are no other entries on this sheet to indicate a different cost structure in place. *** ***** signed the moving services agreement.  At the end of the move *** ***** wanted to change to an hourly rate since the move did not take a full 10 hours like estimated.

 

A lot of customers like the flat fee move, because no matter how long it takes they are only charged the pre-negotiated flat fee. In this cost structure we would not have been able to charge *** ***** any more money if the job had taken longer than 10 hours.  If *** ***** had asked to move to an hourly rate prior to the move, up to and including when our gentlemen showed up and presented him with the moving services agreement, We would have gladly placed *** ***** on an hourly rate.  However, since *** ***** waited until the move was done and then wanted to change the terms, we could not accommodate his wishes.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Regards,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

   I really do not expect to get  any money back from this transaction. It would be nice but I don't anticipate a refund. I saw a job posting for the *************** *** location for operations manager and we read some very negative reviews from former employees. It is our hope that their parent company took some form of action to remedy and improve customer relations at  this location.

Thank you,

***** *****

Business Response: We appreciate Mr. Nelm's comments, however we stand by our previous response and documentation. The flat rate is what was agreed to and we will honor that agreement. Thank you.

**** *****
Two Men & A Truck

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Personally, We would like a refund of our money based on the hourly rate also quoted and offered repeatedly in order to get our contract. The old bait and switch has now become outright lies because it is too much trouble to prove if it is not in writing.

Regards,

***** *****




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.

I know what we were told about the flat rate and also concerning adjustments to hourly rate. However, we have purchased a home and do not intend to move again. If circumstanes were to change, we would not use their services. I would also advise all my friends and family to avoid this business at all cost.

Regards,

***** *****




10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Two Men and a Truck to move my house on July 3, 2013. During the move,and employee dropped my dining room table and damaged it. A report was filed and was told someone would follow up. After a few weeks of waiting I started calling and didn't get a response. I finally emailed their corporate office which seemed to energize their efforts. My case was turned over to a local supervisor who called me once but has since been non responsive to emails and calls. It's been 2.5 months since my damage and still have no contact with anyone from the company willing to repair or compensate me for the damage they caused. I can provide the damage paperwork completed after the move or email strings of frustrations.

Desired Settlement: Repair or replacement of my dining room table.

Business Response:

****** ***** just spoke with *** ******** and have arranged for a pick up of the table on Monday the 23rd between the hours of 9a and 10a.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me assuming the business actually shows up. 

I took off from work today to meet Two Men and a Truck from 9-10a as promised, and they have not shown as of 2:30p.  I've left two messages for ****** ***** and he has not returned my call.

What should I do next?

Regards,

****** ********




Business Response: We picked up the customer's table on 9/23/13 and is currently being repaired.

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharged for shotty service. Moving arrival time was between 8am & 9am 8/29/2013; received a call at 7:19am to confirm move. Moveres did not show up until 8:40am. The location from the business to the arrival residence is 2.89 miles. I don't know what took them so long. The move took 5.75 hours. The residence to which they were moving the items is 2.15 miles. I only had 1 bedroom, 1 dinning room, 1 living room and 1 office to move. It should not have taken that long. It cost me $603 way to much. In addition furniture was left haphazardly around the second location. Stairwell was nicked up, armoir was badly scratched, hole in wall, one television was left in a bathroom, the door was taken off the hinges and not replaced. I called to complain 8/30/2013. Was told a manager would get back with me. No manager ever called. Called again 9/5/2013 left a second message

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for damages to property. It will cost me $200 to have the wall repaired.

Business Response:

In response to the below subject complaint, we have reached an AGREED upon settlement with April Norman in the amount of $225. The $200 was to satisfy her request and the additional $25 was included as GOOD FAITH for the delay in closure on her claims. The check should be mailed to the customer within 72 hours or upon completion of our verification that the customer check has cleared our account for services rendered.  If there is anything else that is needed please don't hesitate to contact me personally.

 ****** *****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******




8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/18/2013 Two Men and A Truck moved items from my apartment to a new location. In the process of moving, two pieces of furniture: a white sofa and a white upholstered bed frame were soiled heavily due to the fact that the movers did not wrap any of the items that they moved. The bed frame has large black hand prints, scuff marks and general dirt all over it. In addition, the movers made large black scratches/marks on the freshly painted wall going up the stairwell to the second floor. I called the company the next day (7/19/2013) to file a complaint about the damages and was told that a manager would return my phone call in 5-10 business days, and at that time a manager would schedule someone to come and look at the sofa, bed and wall to assess what needed to be done. My call was not returned in the allotted time therefore I called again and was again told that a manager would return my call and that the person on the phone could not do anything about this issue. The week of 7/29/2013 I received a call from an associate, not a manager, asking about my damage complaint and how I wanted to deal with the issue. I explained to the associate that I was told someone would come out and assess the damages and have the items cleaned and wall repainted. He asked if $100 would be sufficient and I said no because that would not cover the entire cost and I had been told someone would come look at the items. He said a manager would call me back on Friday 8/2/2013. I did not receive a call back on Friday, or the following 4 business days.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded $225 to cover the cost of professionally cleaning the king size upholstered bed ($100), professionally cleaning the sofa ($100) and repainting the stairwell wall ($25).

Business Response:

We have been in contact with Ms ****** on a few occasions and at last contact has determined to send a repair person out to repaint the stairwell as well as professionally clean the soiled furniture.  Unfortunately, this appointment did not get scheduled.  In light of this as well as the longer than typical time frame of communication with the customer, we agree that $225 would be a fair settlement to take care of the customer's damages.  We have issued a refund check and it will be mailed out to the customer within the next week.

Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any additional questions.

*** ******

General Manager

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

5371 Ridge Rd | Cincinnati, OH 45213

11925 Montgomery Rd #3 | Cincinnati, OH 45249

7747 Tylersville Rd | West Chester, OH 45069 Ridge ###-###-#### | Montgomery ###-###-#### | Tylersville ###-###-#### *********************

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Two Men & A Truck
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)