BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Two Men & a Truck

Additional Locations

Phone: (513) 942-9942 Fax: (513) 942-9945 View Additional Phone Numbers 7747 Tylersville Rd Ste C, West Chester, OH 45069 http://www.twomen.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men & a Truck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men & a Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Two Men & a Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 05, 2003 Business started: 10/21/2001 in 0
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

PUCO -- Regulates Movers

http://www.PUCO.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael D. Lacey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael D. Lacey, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Lacey Enterprises LLC Two Men and A Truck
Industry Tips
Moving Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Additional Locations

  • 5371 Ridge Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45213

  • 7747 Tylersville Rd Ste C

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 942-9942

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 263-6444(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told by ***** that we could be billed a flat rate for packing and moving ($3700.00). $1600 of which was for packing. We decided to do our own packing and the price was adjusted to $2100. Throughout the moving experience, inspection and appraisal, etc., we kept in touch with Two Men and a truck in order to keep them aware of potential move dates. We had to schedule in advance to be gauranteed a date. During these conversations we were told at least three times that it was no problem and the price would be adjusted according to the terminology in the contract regarding partial hours or if we did not use the full 10 hr window, then our charges would be reduced. It was explained, that the truck charge would not change, it was obligated for the entire time. Well, we got a closing date for the 11th of April and scheduled the move for the 17th. During which time we moved a lot of smaller items ourselves. On the 17th the movers came and started loading. We were all under the impression that if we saved time we would save money, according to what we were told and the verbage in the written agreement. The movers worked very hard to save a *** a few dollars, in return after saving about 3hrs time, we celebrated with a pizza lunch and $40 tip. When they called in to their operations manager,*** ******, she informed me that their would be no savings because of the flat rate charge. I argued that we had been told differently on several occasions, but since I could not recall to whom I had spoken, she would not honor any verbal aggreement. We pointed out the verbage in the agreement, but she would not honor that either and insisted we be charged the full $2100 flat rate fee.

Desired Settlement: Approximately $300.00

Business Response:

*** ***** called in 8 days before the move and got our hourly pricing.  *** ***** still agreed to the pre-determined flat fee of $2100 for the move. Before commencing the move our gentlemen presented *** ***** with the Moving Services Agreement which outlined the agreed upon pre-determined cost of the move. *** ***** signed the moving services agreement which states "If moving for a predetermined flat fee, the amount is $2100." There are no other entries on this sheet to indicate a different cost structure in place. *** ***** signed the moving services agreement.  At the end of the move *** ***** wanted to change to an hourly rate since the move did not take a full 10 hours like estimated.

 

A lot of customers like the flat fee move, because no matter how long it takes they are only charged the pre-negotiated flat fee. In this cost structure we would not have been able to charge *** ***** any more money if the job had taken longer than 10 hours.  If *** ***** had asked to move to an hourly rate prior to the move, up to and including when our gentlemen showed up and presented him with the moving services agreement, We would have gladly placed *** ***** on an hourly rate.  However, since *** ***** waited until the move was done and then wanted to change the terms, we could not accommodate his wishes.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Regards,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

   I really do not expect to get  any money back from this transaction. It would be nice but I don't anticipate a refund. I saw a job posting for the *************** *** location for operations manager and we read some very negative reviews from former employees. It is our hope that their parent company took some form of action to remedy and improve customer relations at  this location.

Thank you,

***** *****

Business Response: We appreciate Mr. Nelm's comments, however we stand by our previous response and documentation. The flat rate is what was agreed to and we will honor that agreement. Thank you.

**** *****
Two Men & A Truck

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Personally, We would like a refund of our money based on the hourly rate also quoted and offered repeatedly in order to get our contract. The old bait and switch has now become outright lies because it is too much trouble to prove if it is not in writing.

Regards,

***** *****




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.

I know what we were told about the flat rate and also concerning adjustments to hourly rate. However, we have purchased a home and do not intend to move again. If circumstanes were to change, we would not use their services. I would also advise all my friends and family to avoid this business at all cost.

Regards,

***** *****




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Two Men and a Truck to move my house on July 3, 2013. During the move,and employee dropped my dining room table and damaged it. A report was filed and was told someone would follow up. After a few weeks of waiting I started calling and didn't get a response. I finally emailed their corporate office which seemed to energize their efforts. My case was turned over to a local supervisor who called me once but has since been non responsive to emails and calls. It's been 2.5 months since my damage and still have no contact with anyone from the company willing to repair or compensate me for the damage they caused. I can provide the damage paperwork completed after the move or email strings of frustrations.

Desired Settlement: Repair or replacement of my dining room table.

Business Response:

****** ***** just spoke with *** ******** and have arranged for a pick up of the table on Monday the 23rd between the hours of 9a and 10a.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me assuming the business actually shows up. 

I took off from work today to meet Two Men and a Truck from 9-10a as promised, and they have not shown as of 2:30p.  I've left two messages for ****** ***** and he has not returned my call.

What should I do next?

Regards,

****** ********




Business Response: We picked up the customer's table on 9/23/13 and is currently being repaired.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharged for shotty service. Moving arrival time was between 8am & 9am 8/29/2013; received a call at 7:19am to confirm move. Moveres did not show up until 8:40am. The location from the business to the arrival residence is 2.89 miles. I don't know what took them so long. The move took 5.75 hours. The residence to which they were moving the items is 2.15 miles. I only had 1 bedroom, 1 dinning room, 1 living room and 1 office to move. It should not have taken that long. It cost me $603 way to much. In addition furniture was left haphazardly around the second location. Stairwell was nicked up, armoir was badly scratched, hole in wall, one television was left in a bathroom, the door was taken off the hinges and not replaced. I called to complain 8/30/2013. Was told a manager would get back with me. No manager ever called. Called again 9/5/2013 left a second message

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for damages to property. It will cost me $200 to have the wall repaired.

Business Response:

In response to the below subject complaint, we have reached an AGREED upon settlement with April Norman in the amount of $225. The $200 was to satisfy her request and the additional $25 was included as GOOD FAITH for the delay in closure on her claims. The check should be mailed to the customer within 72 hours or upon completion of our verification that the customer check has cleared our account for services rendered.  If there is anything else that is needed please don't hesitate to contact me personally.

 ****** *****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/18/2013 Two Men and A Truck moved items from my apartment to a new location. In the process of moving, two pieces of furniture: a white sofa and a white upholstered bed frame were soiled heavily due to the fact that the movers did not wrap any of the items that they moved. The bed frame has large black hand prints, scuff marks and general dirt all over it. In addition, the movers made large black scratches/marks on the freshly painted wall going up the stairwell to the second floor. I called the company the next day (7/19/2013) to file a complaint about the damages and was told that a manager would return my phone call in 5-10 business days, and at that time a manager would schedule someone to come and look at the sofa, bed and wall to assess what needed to be done. My call was not returned in the allotted time therefore I called again and was again told that a manager would return my call and that the person on the phone could not do anything about this issue. The week of 7/29/2013 I received a call from an associate, not a manager, asking about my damage complaint and how I wanted to deal with the issue. I explained to the associate that I was told someone would come out and assess the damages and have the items cleaned and wall repainted. He asked if $100 would be sufficient and I said no because that would not cover the entire cost and I had been told someone would come look at the items. He said a manager would call me back on Friday 8/2/2013. I did not receive a call back on Friday, or the following 4 business days.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded $225 to cover the cost of professionally cleaning the king size upholstered bed ($100), professionally cleaning the sofa ($100) and repainting the stairwell wall ($25).

Business Response:

We have been in contact with Ms ****** on a few occasions and at last contact has determined to send a repair person out to repaint the stairwell as well as professionally clean the soiled furniture.  Unfortunately, this appointment did not get scheduled.  In light of this as well as the longer than typical time frame of communication with the customer, we agree that $225 would be a fair settlement to take care of the customer's damages.  We have issued a refund check and it will be mailed out to the customer within the next week.

Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any additional questions.

*** ******

General Manager

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®

5371 Ridge Rd | Cincinnati, OH 45213

11925 Montgomery Rd #3 | Cincinnati, OH 45249

7747 Tylersville Rd | West Chester, OH 45069 Ridge ###-###-#### | Montgomery ###-###-#### | Tylersville ###-###-#### *********************

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 26, 2013, I used the services of Two Men and A Truck to move some furniture from my storage facility to my home. In the process of them moving my sofa, they ripped part of the seat cushion, arm rest and part of the bottom of the sofa. When it was brought to there attention they immediately filled out a damage report and told me someone will contact me. On May 1, 2013, I received a call from the manager *** from that location. I also expressed my concern that one of the movers smelled intoxicated. He apologized for everything that went wrong. He stated that they pay .60 per pound and I stated my sofa weighed roughly 250lbs. He said a check would be mailed for $150 in about 14 days. I contacted him on May 15, 2013 to see if the check had been mailed out. He stated he would contact the claims department to check. When he called me back he stated that the check hadn't been mailed out but that it will be mailed by the end of the week. He also said for me to call him on May 20, 2013 and if it hadn't been mailed by that time he would personally pick up the check because he was going to be in Dayton where the claims department was located. When I contacted him on May 20, 2013, he again called the claims department and he stated that it was mailed out on the previous weekend of May 18th. As of today May 29, 2013 I have not heard from *** nor have I received a check. I honestly feel like he's giving me the run around and doesn't want to compensate me for the damages.

Desired Settlement: The $150 check that I was told was sent out to me.

Business Response: 6/18/13 Business stated that refund has been given to customer.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and the respond is correct. I received a refund from the business which is satisfactory. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/17/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a box of expensive electronic equipment which went missing during our move. A police report was filled out and an investigation underway for two months now but the company has yet to reimburse us for the missingitems. The box was clearly marked as ps3 and equipment. It made it on the truck but never off the truck. They were very bad about returning calls about the subject and have never offered to reimburse us for missing items. This must surely be covered under their policy. They acted as if this has never happened and had no idea what to do about it. There was a report to the police during the move by a neighbor that someone appeared to be breaking into one of the trucks. The movers pretty much accused the police of profiling them suggesting that it was them breaking into their own truck.It was a very unusual experience and I am extremely dissappointed in their handling of the situation. I would most certainly never recommend them to anyone in search of a moving company.

Desired Settlement: We gave the police an exact money account of the missing items. It totalled to approximately $750.00. We would like the money for the missing items.

Business Response: At this point we are cooperating with the police investigation. Once that has completed we can move forward. If we re-imbursed the customer and the police found that we were not at fault we are out the amount the customer is asking for. Unfortunately until the police investigation is concluded we cannot move forward on this.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.

Regards,

***** ********

They have not cooperated well with the police according to the ******* Police. He did not get return calls from them many times and had to be very forceful with them to get any cooperation. The police has stated that he feels the company should reimburse as they are a bonded company regardless of the status of the investigation. As you are aware, things that have been taken are rarely found. Feel free to contact the ******* police , **** ********, at********. I do not agree with the company response at all. As you are aware, police investigations can go on for a very long time without any resolution.

Business Response:

We have contacted **** ******** and resolved her complaint. Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding.

 

Erick Lacey

Two Men & A Truck

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our mattress was damaged during a move performed by the Company. A technician was cut by a shattered window, broken either by himself or the mattress while he was moving it, and bled on our walls and in several large places on the mattress. The Company is aware of the incident, and has responded with an offer to professionally clean the mattress or give us $250, neither of which we are satisfied with due to the nature of the incident. We are not comfortable with the mattress only being cleaned, due to the presence of bodily fluids, and $250 is not sufficient to replace the mattress. The Company has not maintained open communication in resolving this matter. Further explanation can be found in the attached PDF document.

Desired Settlement: 1) $1,150; to replace the mattress damaged in the move. The mattress is a king-size, orthopedic pillowtop mattress from *** ******** ******** **ctory.2) The window broken during the move to be replaced. (This has since been resolved).3) The full cost of the move, $367.50, to be refunded. This is a new request, due to the extent of our troubles in resolving this matter and lack of communication from the Company following the incident.

Business Response: I spoke with the customer and informed them that we would have mattress professionally cleaned and also give them the depreciated value of the matress ($250). We are only legally bound to $0.60 per pound on any claim. The customer wants a brand new mattress.  We cannot stay in business if we replaced everything at full replacement value.  Our Home Office agrees with this direction.  If the customer would like to talk to our insurance company our insurance company would give them $0.60 per pound. I believe that what we proposed is fair to both parties.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

****** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a scheduled move and subsequent move inspection, it was discovered that the movers damaged the foot board of my bed. It was made clear that they would 1st try to repair it, and if it could not be repaired it would be replaced. This occurred on 12/28/2011. Two weeks later, I made a phone call, and left a message with the repairs manager, and my phone call was never returned. A week later, I called again, and spoke to the manager and he said he thought it was close, but would have to call me back and never did. Finally, I received a call last week, week of January 30th, and was told it was complete and scheduled a delivery for Thursday of that week. I left work early to meet the delivery personnel, but they never showed, and i still have not heard a response. This is now almost a month and a half from the move date.

Desired Settlement: Immediate return of damaged property that has been repaired and is in reasonable working condition, or replacement of the item if it is not repaired to satisfaction.

Business Response: We are sorry for the inconvenience. I spoke to the manager of that store and he informed me that the item was repaired and returned the customer. There was some confusion on delivery dates and times, I apologize for that. I hope this resolution is satisfactory.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1