BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential & commercial moving.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men & A Truck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Two Men & A Truck include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men & A Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Two Men & A Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 16, 2004 Business started: 02/01/2004 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Michael Lally, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Lally, Owner
Related Businesses
Two Men & A Truck
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Alternate Business Names
Lally Ries LLC Two Men and A Truck
Additional Information

This firm is a franchise of Two Men & A Truck International of Lansing, Michigan. A report on the franchise headquarters is available from the Detroit, Michigan BBB or reports may be obtained online by visiting www.bbb.org.

Industry Tips
Moving Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Additional Locations

  • 1089 Reading Road

    Mason, OH 45040 (513) 459-8080

  • 5930 Cheviot Road

    Cincinnati, OH 45247 (513) 245-1900

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 263-6444(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers were confirmed for a 12-2pm window July 1, 2014 to move our 81 year old mother. Move to take a 2 hours..minimum amount of time we can hire. At 2:30pm movers had not showed up so we called office and spoke with *****. She informed my brother that they were running hours behind and that we were now looking at a 5pm move latest. We asked if they were running behind why they didn't call us earlier and there was no response. We asked her to call and keep us informed. At 5pm no sign of our movers and we called the office. No one answered the phone so we left a message asking where our movers were and when they would arrive. No call returned to us and we sat for another two hours waiting to hear. At this point we see a moving truck pull up and start to empty their contents at *********** *******, (where my mother was moving to). We find out that they were from the ***** *** office and hired from the ***** office to make this move for them. The man who hired Two Men and a Truck, *** *****, said his confirmed window was 1-3pm and ***** told him someone didn't show up for work and that is why they were running behind. His window was pushed back but he was lucky enough to have his move. His move was scheduled behind ours but was somehow put ahead of us. At this point the skies are darkening and we know there is an impending storm so we call and rally to pay a few friends gas and their time to come for an emergency move as we have not heard from Two Men and a Truck. As we were rallying our troops at around 8pm my brother received a phone call from ***** saying that she couldn't find anyone to move us. My brother asked her to call us in the morning (which she NEVER did). We haven't heard from them since. Prior to her phone call my brother left a voice mail on their office machine cancelling the move since we had rallied people to make the move. She obviously never even listened to her office messages to see we had called numerous times in desperation of finding out where they were and if the move was going to happen at all. We moved ourselves and what was supposed to be a two hour move by Two Men and a Truck turned out to be a 12 hour move done by family and some kind strangers. 4 family members took off work to be there for the two hour move but ended up missing 6 hours of work and cannot be reimbursed for their time off work. At the same time we are dealing with our 81 year old mother who is handicapped who is wondering where she is going to be spending the night. No dinner for any of us as we were waiting a call from Two Men and a Truck and it never happened. There is no way to figure the loss of wages for the 4 of us. But we ended up making the move in a total downpour with lightning and thunder and this should never have happened. I paid for everyone's time who showed up for a total of $150.00. I want to be reimbursed for the absolute nightmare of a day for all of us involved and the total disrespect from Two Men and a Truck. I think this is a fair amount considering paying for gas to come to our house and then drive to our destination and back home and then getting them out of their homes in a total downpour. People risked their lives to make this move happen. Two Men and a Truck were NOWHERE IN SIGHT!

Desired Settlement: $150.00 for what I paid out of pocket to people to move my mother without insurance or background in moving. This was at 8pm at night in a total downpour after waiting for Two Men and A Truck to do their job for 8 hours...but not show up. We finally finished her move and I got home at 11pm at night. You can't treat customers like this and leave them hanging. Two Men & a Truck never even called to apologize the next day or even check on us to see if we still needed or wanted a move. Total lack of customer support.

Business Response:

We apologize that this situation occurred.  Our manager on duty did her best to accommodate Ms. Haas, but we were unable to arrive during the scheduled window of time due to unforeseen circumstances.  We understand the inconvenience that this causes and we have made staff changes to address this issue and prevent it from occurring again in the future.  We will cut and mail a check for $150.00 to the customer as quickly as we can if the customer will provide a mailing address.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ***** ****



Please forward this address so that a check can be sent.

***** **** **** ******* **** *********** ** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them on April 18 2014 to move me. They took over an hour trying to decide how to move my refridgerator instead of just removing the doors and take it out th front door. So that cost me an additional $110.00 (there hourly rate). They decided to take the refridgerator out the back door and slide it down the banister. It was severly dented on the side and several dents on the fornt. I have talked to several employess and general manager. I keep getting the run around. On June 6th they said the would cut a check that day and have someone pick up the refridgerator. I called on June 12th and got the run around again. I am wanting my hour I paid for them to talk about moving the refridgerator and them to give me a check for it. I was not told how much I would get. This refriderator was just 2 years old and looked like new.

Desired Settlement: refund for the refridgerator and 1 hour refund for the move.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

We apologize for any frustration *** **** has felt as we worked toward settlement of her claim of damage to her refrigerator.  We have handled the manner to the best of our ability and feel that the settlement we agreed to is fair for both parties.  We recently deliver a check to *** **** for $1100 so she can purchase a replacement refrigerator.  We apologize for the damage and any inconvenience that followed and we consider the matter to be closed at this time.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck was contracted to move my household contents on Jan 29th, 2013. They move went smoothly, except when the movers when to moved my fridge into the new house, they tore the vinyl flooring in the entryway. The mover pointed this out to me and filled out the Damage Report. They sent out their repair man to look at the tear and said that the floor could not be fixed, that it would need to be replaced, he took pictures and said that I would hear back from them soon. A few weeks later, I still hadn't heard anything and called them, and they sent out another person to take pictures and again they said that I would hear back from them. I had contacted **** at the office numerous times. I called the Head Office of Two Men and a Truck and they tried to negotiate between us. Apparently, they sent a 60 cent.. yes.. 60 cents.. less than a dollar, check to 'my partner' for repair. They said that this was the 'Reimbursement of Lost or Damaged Goods' that I chose on the contract. (Which I did initial, only it was for the $2.25 per pound) . Now this 'Reimbursement of Lost or Damaged Goods' only refers to the articles that they moved, not damage to the premises. This has been going on for almost a year. I have finally had the floor replaced.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Two Men and a Truck to pay for the new flooring in the entryway that was damaged by their movers without having to go to Small Claims Court. I have gone with the least expensive vinyl that I could find. The flooring was done by Lowe's and the total amount I paid was 771.93

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

We have attempted to resolve this issue with *** ****** and *** ***** in a manner that is fair to both parties in consideration of the fact that Depreciated Value Coverage was chosen for the move and not Full Replacement.  We have also taken into consideration the severity of the damage and feel it is more than fair to offer a settlement of $400.00 to bring this matter to a conclusion.  We understand that the floor has been replaced, but unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to price the vinyl through our vendors or schedule an installation through our vendors which would have resulted in a final cost of much less than $771.00.

We will be forwarding a check in the amount of $400.00 to *** ******* ***** at the address we have on file and consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

The facts in this case are simple.
 
The item damaged was NOT part of the items contracted to be moved, ie. household items.  Therefore, the Depreciated Value Coverage does NOT apply.  For example, if the drivers had run over a fire hydrant, Two Men and a Truck would be liable for full cost of damage.  The same applies in this case.  They were NOT contracted to move flooring.  Therefore, they are responsible for full replacement cost.
 
They are correct, the flooring has been replaced.  But they had more than ample opportunity  to price vinyl through their vendors.  The damage occurred the end of January 2013.  Two Men and a Truck sent 2 different people out, 2 different dates to take photos of the damage.  Both had said that the vinyl could not be patched, it would have to be replaced.  We never heard back from either visit.  We repeatedly called them.  During the last round of calls, I was told by ***** that the 60 cent check was all that they were prepared to pay.  I finally had the flooring replaced end of September, beginning of October 2013.  Two Men and a Truck had over 7 months to arrange for the pricing of vinyl and installation through their vendors. 
 
We refused the 400.00 check, as this does not cover the cost and installation of the flooring.
 
Regards,

****** ****** *** **** *****

-----------------------------

Their reply:

We have attempted to resolve this issue with *** ****** and *** ***** in a manner that is fair to both parties in consideration of the fact that Depreciated Value Coverage was chosen for the move and not Full Replacement.  We have also taken into consideration the severity of the damage and feel it is more than fair to offer a settlement of $400.00 to bring this matter to a conclusion.  We understand that the floor has been replaced, but unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to price the vinyl through our vendors or schedule an installation through our vendors which would have resulted in a final cost of much less than $771.00.

We will be forwarding a check in the amount of $400.00 to *** ******* ***** at the address we have on file and consider this matter closed.

 

Business Response: We have reviewed our files once again and our offer stands at $400.00 as previously stated.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Two Men and A Truck damaged the flooring.  They damaged private property that was NOT part of the move.  They are responsible for the full replacement cost.  They had over 6 months to send someone of their choice.  ***** was very rude and disrespectful.  

Regards,

****** ******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is Two Men and a Truck are not taking responsibility for breaking my dresser when they moved me on 9/29/13 When bring up the dresser to the apt. the movers set it in the bedroom upside down and was going to just leave it that why till I said something. They then had already had off most of the wrap and when they flipped it the drawers where popping out. During them moving me my friends where also moving stuff so it was crazy so we did not notice the broken dresser till after they had already left. My friend called the very next day Sept. 30, 2013 (the order was in her name)to inform them they broke my dresser. The damage they did was on the one of the side panel it is split in two all the way down. She spoke with a **** and he said I would need to let them know how old it was and where bought. I called as soon I got off work and spoke with an ****** told them my number and that the dresser was only 2 years old and from ****. She said the someone would call to come look at it with in 24 to 28 hours. Never got that call. Finally after many calls the repair guy calls and then says due to it being an ikea piece it could not be fixed but will let the office know this. I called the office the very next day they asked for pictures. I sent pictures to the office managers cell, they then forward to **** for OM was not working there anymore. He said he would get with the new OM and get back to me right away. After 3 days of not hearing anything I called again. Was told the OM was still working on it. After me getting very mad that it still was not fixed I finally spoke with an Antwan the new OM, he said he was just told about it 5 mins ago and it would depend on the inc we took out. We looked it only says if we see damage call with in 96 hours of move we did We where never offered any ins. Still not fixed to date. Antwan is not calling back and I keep getting the run around about what they are going to do to fix my dresser.

Desired Settlement: Went my dresser fixed or refunded the amount of dresser, cost to rebuild it, cost of gas to pick it up. Dresser was $250 2 years ago plus about 3 hours of my time to build it and picking it up Do not want anything less then $300.

Business Response:

We apologize for the unnecessary time and confusion in handling this claim. After speaking with the customer, we have agreed to purchase the same dresser at **** to replace the one that was damaged. In addition, we will be assembling the dresser and delivering it to the customer at a time that is convenient for her. *** ****** has agreed that this is a satisfactory resolution to her issue.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. As long as I receive my dresser by Nov. 8th. At this time I have not heard back as to when they will be bring the new dresser, when I talked to the office manager they where to call me back as to when they would deliver it and I have not heard anything back since Tues Oct. 29, 2013. 

Regards,

****** ******




Consumer Response: The dresser has not been delivered as of yet. The office manger did finally call me this Tues Nov. 12 and the are to deliver it this Tues Nov 19 at 7 pm.
  

Thank you for the follow up,

****** ******

Business Response: The new dresser was delivered yesterday, Novemeber 19.  Again, we apologize for the confusion and length of time it has taken for this matter to be resolved. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/7 we hired Two Men and a Truck to move our furniture from our home into storage. The two movers stated throughout the day that if any furniture is damaged that replace it. They stated that it is company policy to replace it and that it comes out of their pocket. During the move, they leaned our headboard up against our gas grill whie they were putting things into the storage unit. The grill was on wheels and was not secure. The grill moved, and the headboard fell to the ground. It was scratched in the center on the front. The movers told us that we would complete a damage form to initiate the refund. We completed the form the day of the damage (9/7). We began reaching out to Two Men and a Truck on Monday the 9/9 with little to no response. On 9/24 we were asked to provide a detailed description of the events that occurred to ******, which we provided. This was when the company began stating that the two movers were claiming I knocked the furniture over. This is a lie, and surely a result of a company policy that requires the movers to pay for the damages out of thier pocket. They did not respond to this email. I reached out to Two Men again with no response. We asked for the General Manager *** Wallace to call us for two weeks with no luck. On October 2nd I spoke with *** and she stated that ***** would call me- he never returned my call. I called back on 10/3 (I believe this is the exact date, I may be off a day or two) and spoke with *****. ****** was in the background coaching him on what to say. They offered to refund 1/2 of the cost of our headboard. I asked for *** Wallace to call me. I stated that they had shared on multiple occassions the policy was to replace the furniture. They said since the employees continue to deny the event we would split the cost. On 10/8 I called again since no one from Two Men had returned my calls. I spoke with ****** and she stated that "the movers are not supposed to state our policy of refunding for damaged furniture." She said "they are not supposed to share that they are held financially responsible." She stated that she would have *** call me the next day. On October 14th, *** emailed me stating, "Good Morning. ****** Boettcher in our Mason Office has made me aware of the claim you filed regarding a damaged headboard. In order to proceed with settlement of the claim I would ask that you provide a purchase receipt for the headboard in question. You can scan the receipt to Ms. Boettcher or myself and we will proceed with resolution of your claim. We sent the receipt 10/16. Once *** reviewed the receipt for $1700 he emailed: "We will not be providing a check for the full replacement amount of your headboard. It has come to my attention during discussions with ***** and ****** today that we have not gotten a repair quote from our vendor to repair the damage in question to your headboard. Usually this would be a first course of action as it is our right to decide whether a repair or cash settlement is the best course of action for settling particular claims. ***** ******** will pass along your information to our repair vendor who will be in touch and make arrangements to complete the necessary repairs at your convenience. I apologize that a vendor was not assigned to your claim sooner. We will make sure the repair work is scheduled as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience." Since this date they have had very little communication with us. Every interaction has required multiple calls or emails. I even reached out to their CEO and other executives to try any get someone to return my calls. Friday, 10/25 a vendor from their company reached out to me to try and schedule a repair of our headboard. I explained that we were in the middle of a dispute and that we would not permit them to repair our headboard. In the meantime, I have also filed a complaint with the Attorney General in hopes of resolving this quickly.

Desired Settlement: We paid $1713 for our bed. We are asking the company to fulfill the numerous oral committments they made to us, and issue us a check for the cost to replace our headboard. I am also open to discussing a mutually agreed upon compromise. We paid $682 for the movers and tipped the movers $200 cash (because they stated the cost of repair would come out of their check). One possible resolution would be to refund the money we have paid Two Men and a Truck given their lack of professionalism, lies, and damages to our property they caused. I would just like to resolve this quickly. Thank you.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

As stated by *** ************ in her complaint, there was some initial confusion as to who was responsible for the damage that occurred to her headboard.  The movers who performed the move continue to insist that they did not knock over the headboard, and that was the reason that our initial settlement offer was to split the cost of repair.  ***** ********, Operations Manager in our ***** office, extended this offer to *** ************ and she refused based on her feeling that the movers had entered into an "oral contract" to pay for a replacement headboard.  There is no such "oral contract".  We have spoken to the men involved and both deny making any statements about replacing the headboard and both men are experienced enough to know that we have skilled wood repair vendors that are able to repair simple scratches to wood furniture.   

After the initial offer was refused, I did request that the purchase receipt be provided.  We had made the decision to accept responsibility for the damage despite the insistence of our movers that they were not responsible, and we were considering whether a cash settlement offer would be a fair and prompt resolution.  If the cost of a replacement headboard had been close to our cost to repair we would have made a settlement offer.  It was not.  The request to provide a receipt was made with the intent of exploring another possible avenue for settlement.  At no time did I indicate that we would pay for a replacement headboard if they provided the purchase receipt.  One other issue to be aware of regarding the purchase receipt is that there is no itemized breakdown of the headboard, footboard, side rails etc.  The cost of the entire bed frame was approximately $1700.00.  Our liability in any case would be limited to the item we damaged.  We have confirmed with Arhaus furniture that the cost of the headboard alone at the time of purchase was $799.00, so the request for payment of $1700.00 is not appropriate.

As we have explained to *** ************ on numerous occasions, we do not acknowledge any "oral contract", therefore it is our right to repair damaged items as a first course of action according to the paperwork signed by *** ************ at the time the move was performed.  That is what we are willing to do.  We have several vendors that do quality work and they are more than capable of repairing the scratches to *** ************** headboard.  For her to insist that we pay for a replacement headboard or offer her a free move is not reasonable or fair.  Our typical repair cost for something like this would be $200-$300.  We would be willing to mail a settlement check for $300.00 in lieu of sending our repair vendor.  *** ************ could find her own capable vendor for that amount and likely have money left over.   

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We scheduled a move with the *****, ****, franchise of Two Men and a Truck for June 26, 2013. Two trucks and four men were scheduled to show up at 9:00. At 10:30 the morning of the move one truck and two men showed up and began to move us after thanking us for the careful preparations we had made. We had packed carefully, clearly marked boxes in terms of contents and placement in the new home, and we were careful to ensure easy access to all rooms. At about 2:00 in the afternoon, a second truck with two men arrived and joined in the work. At 4:00 one of the new arrivals claimed to find a bed bug in the bedding upstairs, called his supervisor, and the move was halted. We were told we would need to fumigate the entire house before they would return, and they gave us the option of their unloading what they had packed or taking it to the new house. We chose the latter; they drove to the new house and unloaded what they had packed, finishing their work a little after 6:00.We paid the movers for their work, a figure that almost exactly matched the estimate given to us over the phone. The next day we called a certified pest inspector and he came out on Friday, June 28 and examined the upstairs bedrooms. For almost two hours he probed all bedding, all clothing, looked from ceiling to floor, even behind pictures. He found nothing. You dont have bed bugs, he said as he left after writing his report. You dont even have spiders up there in those rooms.We sent the report to the ***** office and were told we would be contacted as soon as the report arrived. We never were, so we called the office. We were told the earliest date we could be moved was July 6. We were now left with clothes in one house, beds in another. We had to pack suitcases from the new house and move to the old house to sleep, which we did for three days before deciding to sleep on an uncomfortable sleeper couch in the new house. We essentially lived between houses from June 26 to July 6. We had two homes, neither of which we could live in.Our experience with the ***** franchise was simply horrible. Either the workers didnt want to work, knew they had met the estimate and wanted to quit, or didnt know a bed bug from a lady bug. We suspect they knew there were no bed bugs because they did move one of the mattresses from the upstairs bedroom to the new house after telling us we had a bed bug infestation, something they surely wouldnt have done had they believed the house had a problem.

Desired Settlement: We would like the following reimbursement from the ***** franchise of Two Men and a Truck:$80, the needless cost of bringing an inspector to our home.$150, mileage for three trips between the houses as we attempted to survive the unjustified cessation of our move.The total were asking for is $230, a figure that doesnt come close to reimbursing us for the stress and discomfort we experience working with this franchise.

Business Response:

At Two Men And A Truck we always try to exceed customers expectations.  I am sorry that we did not in this case.  I am glad that our sister office did get your move taken care of and your move is completed and that you are happy.  This is not what how we do things in my ***** office and again I am sorry that this happened the way that it did.  I am sorry for your inconvience and the extra time it took to get you moved.  We truely have much higher standards.

I have sent your address to the owner and the check should be mailed out to your new address.  You should recieve your check within 5-7 business days.  I hope that you love your new home and wish you well.  And I am very happy that you did complete your move with our sister office. 

 

Thank You and Best Wishes

****** *********

Franchise Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

The money we have asked for represents the actual expenses incurred because of the unjustified interruption of our move.  Nothing could make up for the stress and trauma that marred what should have been a very happy occasion.  We accept the payment but suggest consumers look at another franchise when they research potential moving companies.  

Regards,

 

***** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck took 5 hours to move a refrigerator, upright freezer, and a washer and dryer on pedestals less than 4 miles away and also caused damage to a refrigerator and stairs, walls, and banister while moving the refrigerator down the stairs on December 14, 2012. They did repair the stairs, walls, and banister, but tried to refuse blame on the damage to the refrigerator. Finally, they called a repairman and I mailed them the receipts on March 12, 2013. After I made numerous followup calls, the office manager said the owner was sending me a check on June 10, 2013. No check came. On June 20th, the office manager said she would send a money order. I still have not received payment. The repair bill for getting the refrigerator working was $637.91. The replacement doors cost $587.40. The total cost for repairing the refrigerator back to its original state before it was damaged by Two Men and a Truck was $1225.31.I also paid them $451 for a move that was estimated to take 2 hours and took them 5 hours (they were "kind" enough to only charge me for 4 hours) because they couldn't get a refrigerator out of the original house and had to call in a third man and they tried moving the other refrigerator down stairs and got stuck on the landing and had to carry it back up and start over.

Desired Settlement: At the minimum, Two Men and a Truck owe me the $1225.31 they have told me they would pay after I used the repairman THEY called and submitted the receipts as they asked.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the damages to ******* fridge and we are sending the said amout for the doors. That check will be sent out this week.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving with Two Men and a Truck on ******* ** in *********** ** ** was the worst moving experience ever! Pieces of furniture were broken, scuffed or flat out missing. The movers went through my underwear drawer (this I know because I put an important ********* antique in there and it was taken out). They charged me for their lunch break. They didn't tell us where they put pieces to re-assemble our furniture. It has been over 22 days and after multiple attempts to resolve our issues I still have not gotten a call from customer service to either fix my furniture that was broken OR adjust my bill from being charged for the movers lunch. NEVER USE THIS MOVER!!

Desired Settlement: I either want a refund (not a whole refund, they did move our stuff, they just did a horrible job) and I want my furniture fixed or replaced. A phone call would've been nice after all the times I called.

Business Response:

  Thank you to **** ****** and to the BBB for getting this to us. We always want to leave our customers happy but when something goes wrong, we want to fix the problem as soon as possible.

I spoke to **** personally and this matter is taken care of. Her and I worked out time back for the damage and troubles.

Sincerely,

**** *****

General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our move with Two Men and a Truck was a complete disaster. Not only did they double their estimate, but they insisted we pay the higher amount before they would leave our home (and this was at midnight). At midnight, there was still a 3rd truck to be unloaded and they were insisting upon unloading that truck. We told them they had to leave and come back the next day. They then got on the phone with their manager and spent the next 15 minutes on the phone getting approval to come back.They packed expensive items incorrectly by placing custom drapes on top of our lawn mower, putting our wool rugs next to a refrigerator and placing bedding directly on the truck without being boxed or covered. They did not pack everything in our home and we ended up having to make multiple trips back to our home the next day to complete the move ourselves. They did not install the washer/dryer and left our dryer vent at our old home. I had to meet them back at our previous home to uninstall the vent and bring it to our new home to install. They left brackets for one of our beds on the truck which ended up going to another job the next day. A couple of the crewmembers made comments throughout the move about the sub-par crew that was on this job. They said they warned management about the crew that was assigned and those warnings were ignored. They said they asked for additional help with the move, but that they were overbooked. Another crewmember said that he took pictures of the horrible packing job that was done and sent them to the manager sos he would be aware of the damages. Once I spoke to the manager, she was extremely rude and was unapologetic. It was as if this happens all of the time and no matter what estimate they give you, they can take as long as they want and you will have to pay. I involved the corporate office, but they said they are limited in what they can do because each location is a franchise

Desired Settlement: We were quoted $1799 for moving costs and $1600 for packing totalling $3399. We were charged $3558 for moving and $1646 for packing totalling $5204. The moving costs were double what was estimated.They are offering to credit us for 2 hours of work totalling $424. We want to be refunded for the entire job given that they did not complete the job, the damage to our property and terrible customer service after the fact.

Business Response: We are om the process of responding to the complaint. 

Thank you

Business Response:

At Two Men and a Truck, we continuously strive to exceed our customer’s expectations with every move that we complete.  This move was no different.  We initially gave the customer an estimate on how long their move would take over the phone, as we do with most of our customers.  Doing an estimate over the phone, we are limited to the information that we are given by the customer.  In this case, when our crews arrived on moving day, the scope of the move was larger than we expected.  This was discussed with the customer and they chose to have another crew come out to help complete the move as soon as one became available.  The additional costs were discussed with them as well, which they approved.  Because of the larger than expected workload for the day, of course the move went longer than initially anticipated.  Crew members do not have the authority to reschedule the completion of a move to another day nor do they know what the schedule is for the following day.  In order to finish the move the next day, of course they needed to speak with the manager to ensure that a truck and crew members would be available and that any changes to other customers already on the next day’s schedule could be made. 

                                                     

Our crews are trained in proper moving and loading techniques to eliminate most damages.  From time to time, accidents will happen and we make sure that we take care of the damages that make occur during a move.  The customer did not defrost their refrigerator prior to the move.  During the time it was on the truck, it began to defrost.  When loading a moving truck, items are placed next to and on top of one another.  In a move that is especially large, this holds even more true.  As a refrigerator begins to defrost, it leaks water.  Anything next to it would then become wet.  Even though the leaking refrigerator would not have been the crew’s fault, our office did have the rugs cleaned, at our own expense. 

 

As noted in our Pre-Move Letter sent to customers, we are not responsible for disconnecting or reconnecting any appliances, including washers and dryers. At times, crew members will agree to do so to help the customer out, if asked.  Also, customers are asked to sign that they have inspected the house they are moving from and that the crew has taken all of them items the customer wishes for them to take.  We understand that there is a lot going on during a move and that these things can be overlooked by both the customer and the crews.  Which is why we ask them to sign that they did in fact take care of these details. 

 

The second day of moving was completed at no charge to the customer at what would have been charged at $318.00 (3 hours at a two man rate).  The customer also declined a refund of $424.00 (2 hours of our 4 man rate).  Damages were taken care of at our cost.  This is over $750.00 worth of services offered to the customer, to try and “make-up” for their experience.  The customer’s hired us for a service and we performed that service.  A full refund is not acceptable in this instance. 

  ****** *********

Franchise Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

The statements made by the manager of the facility are not true.  We DID NOT agree to them doubling our cost EVER.  No one reviewed anything with us.  They put the bill in front of us at midnight and said they couldn't leave until we paid.  THOSE ARE THE FACTS.  As a matter of fact, after they packed all of our belongings and saw everything that we own, they said the job would take 8.75 hours (and it ended up taking nearly 16).  So, the manager saying they came to the job and determined that the move was much larger than expected is untrue.  No one ever told us this.  Again, they documented AFTER PACKING ALL OF OUR BELONGINGS that the job would take 8.75 hours and it ended up taking 16. 

 

FACTS:

original estimate = 8.49 hours

adjusted estimate after 1st day = 8.75

actual charged = 16

 

Also, the manager doesn't even mention a very important new fact that has come to light.  The manager admitted to me that she did receive photos of the packing job that was done (sent to her by her own employee because he could not believe the terrible job that was done packing our belongings).  This included a picture of our custom drapes being loaded on top of our lawn mower.  She also admitted to me that she has since deleted these pictures and no longer has them.  How can a manager who claims to "meet or exceed our customer's expectations" receive pictures of a job from her own employee and proceed to delete them and never mention them to the customer?  The only reason I ever knew about these pictures was because of an honest crew member who decided to tell me the truth. 

 

The manager references damaged items that they have fixed.  All they have done so far is they have cleaned my rugs.  I also have the following items they have not fixed:

1. Custom drapes with oil stains on them (since they packed my drapes on top of our lawn mower)

2. Duvet cover with oil stains on it (since they packed it on the truck uncovered and unboxed)

 

The manager said she was going to have a meeting with her entire crew (including the employee who estimated our job) and find out what happened.  After the meeting, I called her to find out what happened.  She said "what do you mean what happened?"  I explained that obviously I wanted to know what the outcome of the meeting was.  She had nothing to tell me.  I have yet to hear the outcome of that meeting.  I thought she would want to know just as much as I do why in the world a job would take DOUBLE the amount of time her own employees estimated it would take. 

 

The fact is they did not complete the job.  They left my entire vanity full, jewelry, makeup, vacuum, lamps, prints, florals, etc.  All of which my husband and I had to pack ourselves.  They never had us sign anything saying the pack was complete.  We paid them to pack AND move all of our belongings.  They did not.  Now the manager is blaming us saying we should've realized they didn't move all of our belongings?  Isn't that their job? 

 

After the damages done to our property, the terrible way we have been treated and the complete lack of response from management, a $400 credit is a complete joke.

Regards,

 

*** ********

 

 

Business Response:

I have attached copies of paperwork signed and/or initialed by either *** or **** ********.  These include the job sheet, revision to estimate, optional waiver of visual inspection, and packing release.  During all stages of the job, the customers have initialed that all items are packed and moved to their satisfaction.  That they understood that the move was going to take longer than the original estimate and that they wanted the move to proceed.  Also attached is a release where we attempted to repair/clean any damaged items and that they were picked up before we had a chance to do so and that they were fine with what had been done. 

On the day of the packing, our first visual look at their actual items, our move manager and the rest of the packing crew spoke with *** about the fact that it was going to be longer than what was estimated, which is why we scheduled a third truck to come out to the job as soon as it was finished with the jobs already scheduled on it. 

I received one picture of the back of the truck and how it was loaded.  The picture was later deleted when I believed that the situation had been taken care of and the picture was no longer necessary.  This is a common practice as we are not in the habit of keeping pictures of customer’s personal belongings. 

Neither I nor my crew is aware of drapes being loaded on top of a lawn mower and this, for obvious reasons, would not be our usual practice.  This response is the first we have heard anything about drapes being loaded at all, much less on a lawn mower. 

The duvet was brought into our office as we were told there were spots on it.  The spots looked to be set it but we were willing to have it cleaned for them.  *** ******** came into the office and took it before we could do so, also picking up the rest of their items, some before repairs/cleaning could be completed.  He also signed a release of liability, releasing our company from any future claims on these items.  

I did have a meeting with my crew on this job and what we could improve upon for the next customer.  I am not in the habit of discussing employee meetings with non-company personnel.

Again, we have attempted to take care of “damages” that were not our fault, offered money back, can show paperwork signed by the customer that they were in fact aware that the job was going over and that they were ok with it, and that we completed the job to their satisfaction.  We have attempted to take care of this customer to the very best of our ability. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.   

The latest post from Two Men and a Truck includes documents from our move – one document which shows our complete credit card number, expiration date and signature.  Not wanting to have our credit card number on the website for viewing, I called the manager, ****** to ask her to remove it.  Her only response to my call was that if I call the office again, she will file harassment charges against me.  The document remains on the BBB website and I had to call and cancel my credit card number.

In response to the time our move would take, no one told us that the move would take 14 hours.  On day one, they said it would be 8.49 hours, on day 2 (after packing all of our belongings), they told us it would take 8.75 hours.  These are the times we signed for.  In the end, it took 14 hours.  We never agreed to pay for a 14 hour move we signed off on 8.75 hours – not 14 hours. 

Also, the documents ****** has posted have been altered.  There is additional writing on the documents that was not there when we signed them. 

****** says that she only deleted the pictures after she realized she no longer needed them.  This is not true.  I only found out about the pictures because a crewmember told me about them (a week later).  ****** only admitted to the pictures when I confronted her later.  She was never going to tell me they existed.

****** says that on the day of packing, the move manager and the crew talked to me about the time the move would take.  This is a lie.  I’ve never met the move manager and the crew never said the move would take longer.  They actually asked if they could bring in more crew so that the move would take LESS time. 

****** says that she and her crew were not aware of the drapes being loaded on top of our lawn mower.  I only found out about our drapes being loaded on top of our lawn mower from one of the crew members.  He said he took the pictures because of the drapes being on the lawn mower and the other examples of how terribly the truck was loaded.  I also talked to ****** about the drapes being loaded on the lawn mower.  For her to say she has never heard of this is another lie.

The duvet was loaded on the truck UNBOXED.  It was just placed on the truck with nothing covering it.  I didn’t know this until I saw them carrying the duvet into my new home on their shoulders.  It had no spots on it before and to suggest the spots didn’t come from being loaded on the truck with no boxing is ridiculous.  The reason I didn’t want them “cleaning” the duvet is because when they “cleaned” the rugs, they did not air them out properly.  When they delivered the rugs, they were musty smelling.  I called the cleaner they used and he said they dried the rugs inside of their office and that is why they are musty. So, I put the rugs out on my porch to dry them in the open air.  Since they didn’t “clean” my rug properly, I didn’t want them doing anything additional to my duvet.

The custom framed artwork that they damaged was picked up from our home 2 months ago to be repaired and we have not seen it since.  I have called the office and **** was supposed to check on this, but I have never heard any response back.

Also there has been no response to the fact that they did not move all of our belongings.  I had to load my own SUV with 2 trips with all of the items they left in our home and did not pack.  Again, ****** suggest this is our fault.

To suggest we were satisfied with the move is another lie.  I spoke to ****** multiple times Friday morning when they still had the 3rd truck to unload about how unsatisfied I was.  She has know since 4/19/13 that I was terribly unsatisfied.

Regards,

*** ********

 

 

Business Response:

We have removed the documents containing **** ********** credit card information as requested, even though she was reassured that no one else can see them.  But the documents show that not only were *** and **** ******** informed of the revised estimate time, they agreed to continue the move.  Our documents also show that we either repaired or attempted to repair any items that they claimed were damaged during the course of the move.  Discounts were given to the move and more were offered and rejected.  Especially in light of **** ********** repeated attempts at harassing the office staff, we feel we have satisfied all responsibility in this matter. 

 

****** *********

Franchise Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck (**** ******* ***** *********** ***** was contracted to assist with my moving on 2/16/2013. I had used TMAAT before, but I am certain that I used a different franchise in Cincinnati. I had no issues with the movers. When the time came for payment, my card did not go through. Instead of providing customer service which should have been more than a mover, I was told that the police would be contacted. I am a professor at ***** **********, and I was horrified about the way I was being treated. I was not allowed to speak to a management person, just the mover. How is that customer service? No opportunity given to work something out with the company, just thug and aggressive behavior. If you want to treat single professional women like this, you ought to be ashamed. I've already notified the university about this francise. I did find a family member to help me out, but with lack of customer service from this abusive company.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bill adjusted because this behavior was inappropriate and menacing.

Business Response:

I am the Office & Move Manager here at the ******* ** location of TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®. At the completion of *** ********** move on Saturday, February 16th, my lead driver on her move called to let me know her credit card was being declined. We discussed with *** ******** other ways she could pay the bill, but that we did have to have payment before our crew could continue on with their day. Customers are made aware of our policy of collecting full payment at the end of the move both during the scheduling process and during confirmation paperwork they receive after booking.  She said she had transferred money into the account she was trying to use, but it wouldn't be available until Tuesday, due to being after 12pm on Saturday and with Monday being a holiday so the bank was closed. I asked them to hold for a few moments so I could contact my supervisor (General Manager) to see if we could get that approved. Unfortunately, we were not able to wait 3 days for payment. I called my lead driver back and we discussed with *** ******** that those arrangements were not acceptable and she would need to pay the balance in full that day. She told me personally that she was a professor at ***** **********, and that while she understands our policies, that she was in fact good for the money on Tuesday. I let her know that if we were unable to be paid, that we would need to call the police to have a report made. I explained that this was for documentation purposes only in case our customers are not able to pay their moving bill (intentional or not).  I also let her know I would contact our owner to see if he would accept her arrangements but before I had a chance to connect with him, our lead driver called back to let me know *** ******** had worked everything out to make the payment that day with a different credit card and the bill had been taken care of.

Since the Monday following her move, I have been working with our Customer Care department in our Corporate Office. *** ******** contacted them with her complaints as well. She felt there was no customer service when in fact, I was doing everything possible to have her arrangements approved, even stepping over my General Manager’s head to go straight to the owner for a possible different outcome.

 

Customer satisfaction is very important to us and after using **** ****** from our Corporate Office as a mediator, I began trying to contact *** ******** in regards to a partial refund, simply to try and turn this situation around.  When my first 2 messages were not returned, I called **** in Customer Care to see if she had heard from *** ********, which she has not either. I have, in total, left 3 voicemails and sent 1 email asking for her to contact our office in regards to her move. 2 voicemails even mentioned wanting to discuss a partial refund for her. I have not heard from *** ******** directly since her move date of February 16th

 

****** ******

Office/Move Manager

###-###-####

************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 14, 2012, we hired Two Men and a Truck to move a Spindle Piano and a Slate Pool Table from a residence in ********* ** to our residence in *******. There was an additional charge of $150.00 for the pool table due to the slate. During the move, the movers broke one of the pieces of slate in half. Two Men and a Truck took the slate and after a month, decided to glue the two sides of broken slate back together. This was due to the fact that they couldn't find any similar slate to replace it with and 3 new pieces of slate was an expensive option. The repair of the slate is flawed and results in a drift in the pool table. Thus, the entire table is flawed and useless as a pool table.

Desired Settlement: We have requested that we get refunded the cost of the move which was $496.50. We have bought another table as several weeks went by with a broken, unassembled table sat in our basement. The Franchise Manager of Two Men and a Truck, Libbie Sexton, has told us that our table is old and worthless, however, they would pay us $150.00 since we had to buy a new table. We think $496.50 is fair due to the fact that we had a pool table before the move, and had a broken useless pool table after.

Business Response:

We did a move for this customer on July 14, 2012.  The piece of slate that we moved had a 6 inch chunk missing out of the center piece previous to our moving of the item.  The pool table is 36 years old with some of the parts being made of partical board and was also 3/4 inch thick slate which we could not find.  Slate is normally is 1 inch thick.  . 

**** ******, our damage manager worked on the piece of slate and did a very nice job repairing the slate where it had broken in half.  When he was finished the piece of slate was level and was delivered to the customer. The repaired slate was accepted upon delivery by the customer without issue.  Within a few days after the delivery *** ****** called and stated they were not going to keep the table due to a flaw and that they were going to purchase another table.  The decision to purchase another pool table was their own.   The fact that they want the price of their move back is not acceptable to us. A depreation value on this pool table would be $252.00 so at this point that is what we are willing to do. 

Thank You

Libbie Sexton

Franchise Manager

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

******* ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck moved us on April 23 from ****** ***** ** ** ********** **. to ***** *********** **** ** ********** **. Our washing machine was working fine before the move and will not work at all now. They (two men and a truck)said they would fix the machine. They sent a person out to look at it and he said he would get someone else to look at it. Friday another fellow came out looked at it and said he will contact a third person to fix it. I called them back on Monday they said they will get back with us. No return call since. We finally went and purchased a new replacement on May 9th. We know the washer was not new. 4 or 5 years old but should have lasted 5 to 8 years more. If they would have called to settle at the time of dispute we would have split the cost, but since we hear nothing I think they should reimbuse us for the total amount. The replacement of like brand would have been 849.00. But we could no longer afford the top line washer, so we got a different model that was much less. $516.00 with my husband's veterans discount.I am very dissapointed in Two men and a truck, I had no idea this is still going on today three weeks later, and still no one who knows about washing machines has been to our home. We were told they said we would hire a certified electrician to come see our washer, why would we do that knowing that they said they would have it fixed, according to the contract they will repair, replace, or compensate us .

Desired Settlement: actual cost of replacement washer which is $516.73

Business Response: We successfully moved ******* *** **** ***** on April 23rd, and shortly thereafter received a call from the ***** that their washing machine was no longer working. Later that day, we received a second call saying that it was, in fact, working and that there were no issues. A week later, we received a third call that the washing machine was once again on the fritz. We went out to inspect the unit that week and found no visible damage to the unit as a result of the move. Despite this fact, we sent our own repair person out to see if he could get the machine working for the ***** family as an extra measure to ensure their satisfaction. He was unable to fix the issue on the spot, and the ***** informed they would hire a certified electrician to inspect the unit and would let us know the result.
To date, we had not heard the outcome of the electrician’s inspection and we had not denied any claims. It was our understanding that we were still working with the ***** to rectify the situation despite the fact that there was no visible damage and the machine and it was working after the move.
TWO MEN AND A TRUCK™ has 3,500 movers operating 1,400 trucks each day across the U.S., and we have a 94% customer satisfaction rate as a result of our commitment to our customers.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

 

**** *****

I can not believe what two men and a truck said. they never called us back , every time we called them. the last man that came out said he would get the washer fixed. he told us our washer was a newer one and he could not work on it, he was very nice and told us when he left our home that he would send someone out to fix our washer, so we waited and waited. there was no reason for us to call and get our washer fixed when we signed an agreement if any of our things were damaged two men and a truck would take care of it. we also called them at least three times in that first week we moved in.it was pretty ovious after going in to the third week that we needed to do something else, so we called****** *** at ******* **. I made a comment to a person named***** that i felt like they were avoiding our calls that we made to them. when***** picked up our washer they even made a comment on how new our washer was. i really thought two men and a truck would honor their contract, but now we feel very used. we payed them cash and tipped those men very good. We feel like it was a very expensive move for us, the move aand new washer cost us over 1100.00.I think they should pay us at least half the cost of the washer. I was very afraid the young man that moved our washer down the steps  (17) would get hurt.It sounded like the washer was going through the steps .Why would we hire a electrian to fix our washer when they kept saying they would get it fixed ?I just can't let this go. I am suprised we are still waiting for them to honor thier contract.

 

 

Business Response:  

I did review the complaints from the ***** case and did want to reply to you. We did the move on April 23, 2012. Mrs. ***** called on April 24, 2012 and said that her washer was not working so I was getting with the crew that was on the move to see what happed with her washer. Before I could get with the crew she called back the same day and said her washer was working fine and never mind with the washer. Then our home office emailed me with a complaint 7 days later. Our Moving Service Agreement does state that the customer has 96 hours to call in after a damage is noticed. So after she called back in to say the washer is working and then waits 7 more days to call our home office to say that there is a problem with the washer.
First *****, our move manager, was sent out to look at the washing machine to make sure there were no visible damage to the outside of the machine to show that we did not drop or damage the outside of the washer. There was no damage to the outside of the washer which shows that the crew was not being negligent or careless with the customers belongings. Then I sent ****, our fleet manager out to the customer house to see if he could figure out if there was any reason that we could have caused the washer to stop working. **** also did not see any damage to the outside of the washer. **** contacted an appliance repairman and explained what was wrong with the washer, he told **** that he did not work on those models but due to what **** told him he told **** that he would need to order electrical parts off the internet. **** told the ***** that this is what needed to be done, but the ***** did not want to wait because it was to take too long to order the parts and get the parts back. At no point did **** tell the ***** that he would fix the washer, but that he would try to fix it if he could. The ***** refused to order the electrical parts needed for the washer and that was the last that we heard from them.
At no point did anyone agree to fix the washer (**** said IF HE COULD) nor to buy them a new one. There is not going to be an agreement to buy a new washing machine that we may have not had anything to do with damaging. We were trying to figure out what was wrong with it and to see if it was something that was either caused by us or not. It was never determined that it was damaged by us moving the washing machine. And it was never said that we were going to hire a certified electrician to go out to their home.
The last that we heard from Mrs. ***** was that they were going hire a certified electrician to find out what was wrong with the washer and they were going to call us back and let us know. We did not hear anything back from them until ****** *** called from the news asking us questions. At that point I got with our home office and they put together a statement. Also, if this went on for 3 weeks it is because after she called my office to let us know the washer was fine, she then waited 7 days and called our home with a complaint.

****** ****** ********* ******* **** ******* ** ****** **** ***** ************ ************************

Business Response:

Hello again. I got with the owner and he is willing to offer ** ***** $300.00 for her washer due to the confusion around this matter, but not willing to buy Ms ***** a new washer for the following reason:

1) Ms ***** has not been able to demonstrate that we caused any problems to this appliance.
2) The washer was, in fact, operational at some point AFTER the move, according to the customer herself.
3) She purchased a new washer without consulting with us about our willingness to contribute to the cost.
4) She went directly to a sensational, TV newscaster and presented a distorted picture of the circumstances

I will look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Thanks,

****** ****** ********* ******* **** ******* ** ****** **** ***** ************ ************************

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Although they have never called to resolve this.  They are willing to pay for some of the agravation and cost.Regards,

 

**** *****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2011 Delivery Issues
1