BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential & commercial moving.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men & A Truck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men & A Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Two Men & A Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2004 Business started: 02/01/2004 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 855-368-4200

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Michael Lally, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Lally, Owner
Related Businesses
Two Men & A Truck
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Alternate Business Names
Lally Ries LLC Two Men and A Truck
Additional Information

This firm is a franchise of Two Men & A Truck International of Lansing, Michigan. A report on the franchise headquarters is available from the Detroit, Michigan BBB or reports may be obtained online by visiting www.bbb.org.

Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Two Men & A Truck has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1089 Reading Road

    Mason, OH 45040 (513) 459-8080

  • 5930 Cheviot Road

    Cincinnati, OH 45247 (513) 245-1900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck moved us last Wednesday 5/27/15. Furniture was carried upside down. Our washer was delivered with a broken latch and the door no longer closes. The dryer was somehow dented on top. A supervisor was made aware that night about the washer and a damage report was filled out. Nobody from that company made any attempt to contact us, until I called and let them know how unhappy I am. I called them Tuesday 6/2/15, I spoke with ******* who said he would get in touch with Mr. Appliance. I let him know how unhappy I am. I have had no clean linens since Tuesday 5/26/15, we are unable to wash any clothes including underwear. I've called and cannot get any kind of commitment as to when I might expect the repair.

Desired Settlement: Immediate repair of our washer and dryer.

Business Response:

****** ****

9:10 AM (2 hours ago)
tome
***** from the business called and stated that this is not one of their customers. She stated that it may be from the Tylersville or Ridge Rd location which is not connected with their location.
****** **** Marketplace Resource Consultant

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

Date Sent: 6/7/2015 3:52:10 PM
Two Men and a Truck have sent a man to repair the washer. Thank you for your help.

 
Regards,

******* ****

 

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Two Men and a Truck to move from an apartment to a new house. They broke our television and are refusing to reimburse for the cost of replacement. We were sent a Pre-Move preparation email. It included items which they may have difficulty moving due to size or weight. It was only a 32" flatscreen, weighing less than 25 lbs. It should not have been a problem for size or weight.When the movers arrived at the apt., they informed me that they couldn't move it because it was not in its original box. We did not receive any advance notice about the tv being in its box. I had to sign a waiver in order for them to move it. At that point I had no other choice. It would have been left behind if I chose not to sign. So I signed it. The men had been carrying dressers and boxes all day. A small TV should not have been any trouble. But it was. The mover dropped it and broke the screen. I witnessed this.I don't believe this waiver should hold up due to the timing of my signing, and lack of alternative.I was not informed in advance regarding "valuation" levels for damaged goods. My initial moving estimate did not include being offered full-value protection

Desired Settlement: The television cost $350. That is the amount I am seeking, or a replacement of the same model. Insignia 32" LED

Business Response:

****** ***** response:

March 03 2015 our office conducted a move for *** *****. During the course of the move we transported a flat screen television, which was not in its original case. In accordance with Two Men and Truck policy we will request a release of liability prior to moving flat screen televisions, because of their temperamental disposition outside of their original case.  *** ***** signed the release of liability, which makes Two Men and Truck not liable for any damages during the transport. After receiving *** ******* signature we conducted the move.

When *** ***** plugged the television in at his current residence the television was found not to be functioning properly. *** ***** then proceeded to reach out to our office seeking a replacement for his television. We then opened an investigation and performed our due diligence, as we do for all claims. As a result of our investigation we came to the conclusion, we are not responsible for the television. Citing the signed release of liability.  

*** ***** was then offered the valuation of .60 cents per pound, as token of our good faith, which he promptly declined. *** ***** was very adamant that we fully replace the television.  

Moreover, *** ***** is currently disputing his credit charges which freezes the process of the claim, as stated on the pre-move confirmation letter: “No damage claims will be honored until the charges for moving services have been paid in full.”

In closing the offer of .60 cents per pound still stands, in which *** ***** could use for the purchase of a similar television.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

The company does not mention in their reply that the tv was not damaged in their truck while in transit. It was damaged when I witnessed a mover drop it while still in my house. It was a very small tv and should not have been difficult fir a professional to move.

This is also the first time they mentioned a contract clause regarding withholding payment in the resolution of a dispute. 
60 cents per pound is an offensively low offer for a $350 tv weighing less than 20 lbs.
Regards,
*** *****

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to resolve the problems with our move since the day of the move April 15, 2014. It has been almost 4 months. I have been told to be patient. I called to complain when the move started due to the staff not being adequately supplied or trained. I had the movers pack and move. During the course of the move there were numerous incidents. The packers did not have a tape gun. They were peeling off the tape and cutting it with my scissors. They used my dining room table as a work space and scratched it. I had to chase one of the movers down all day. He told me packed areas of the house that were not packed. I found him sitting in the truck. I called and requested the manager at the time to come to the house Libbie and she would not come and supervise the move. I had cabinets and closets not packed or partially packed. I had boxes left in the house. I have numerous broken and missing ite*** I have damage to my house scratches and walls banged, broken legs on my antique desk to name a few. I have been given the run around for months. I am on my forth manager since my move to resolve my complaint. I took out the insurance on the move and I have not been reimbursed for my damages. I have sent photos and a comprehensive list if my damaged items along with the replacement cost and values. I used the internet to reference the amount for the items listed I have included in the prices shipping and handling. I have noted below missing ite*** Not one person that worked on my move is still with Two Men and a Truck.

Desired Settlement: Since we took out insurance with Two Men and Truck we should be reimbursed by them for the damages to our personal posessions and home. We should also be credited for the move on our credit cards since they did not move us correctly, leaving boxes all over the place both at the old house and in the wrong areas in the new house.

Business Response: At Two Men and a Truck, we strive to exceed our customer's expectations on every move.   Unfortunately there are times when we fall short.   We were hired by *** ******* to pack and  move her belongings to her new home.  We apologize that her pack and move was not all that she had wished it to be but her items were packed and moved.   We cannot provide a full refund for the pack  and move, when we did in fact,  pack and move her belongings. 

We have been in contact with her for quite some time, attempting to resolve the damages.   A master carpenter was hired to assess and repair the furniture and house damages.  He was scheduled for a second appointment but it was canceled by *** ******* 15 minutes prior to the appointment.   He had advised us that he was unable to repair the floor damage and the decision was made to turn the claims over to our insurance company.  There are two claims through them- one for the floor damage and one for the cargo (personal belongings) damage.   Once a claim is turned over to the insurance company, we are no longer able to complete repairs or provide refunds towards damages.  We also have no control over the length of time it takes them to investigate or settle the claim.   We can however, keep in contact with *** ******* and the insurance company to provide updates and attempt to expedite the claim to the best of our ability.   It is our understanding that they have been in contact with her in regards to her claim at this point.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Two Men and a Truck mentions that they moved our items to our new house.  That is correct but the total lack of professionalism by this company was appalling. First, they moved our furniture and belongings without covering the hardwood floors with any taped cardboard or blankets, thus scratching the wood floors repeatedly according to **** Insurance Company(their own insurance) who has now confirmed the damage by the moving company to us and them.  We paid Two Men and Truck for packing and they sent us two of their employees who told us it was their first time they ever packed a house (both are no longer employed at Two Men and Truck according to their management).  They missed packing much of our items that we later found in various cabinets throughout the house and they packed over half of the breakable items without any insulation materials because they told us they didn't bring enough packing materials.  These same employees arrived at our house to pack without any tape guns that can professionally seal our boxes.  They told us Two Men and Truck doesn't provide tape guns to their employees and asked us to loan them a knife to cut the packing tape rolls. 

Our damages to our new home and our personal belongings were filed with Two Men and Truck five months ago.  Jennifer Sunberg their Office Manager since that time told us that *** (Owner) and J*** ******** their Controller had not decided to process our insurance claims because they didn't" want their insurance monthly payments to go up". The finally sent the furniture repairman they mentioned in their response to our home five months after we had moved and after over 10 inquiries by us to them to help us resolve our damages. We did cancel our appointment with this individual last week, but we see Two Men and Truck failed to mention that we cancelled because a relative had a heart attack suddenly and we had to rush to the hospital.    At this point they have processed our new home damage claims with **** Risk Insurance but still have not filed our personal belongings claim even though they were paid for the insurance by us.  Again, the **** Risk Insurance Adjuster just showed up to our home now five months after we filed our insurance claim.   We have provided them with over 80 photo's of the personal belonging damages that show multiple boxes packed with no insulation materials, broken items still in the boxes, damaged furniture clearly damaged and copies of their own internal company documents that indicated that these furniture pieces were not damaged before they moved us.  Clearly in our opinion this is a company that is selling insurance policies in the State of Ohio collecting the monies from consumers and then doing everything in their power to block any damage claims caused by their employees. 

At this point it continues to be clear to us that the company is not going to pay us for our personal belongings damage insurance claims (their way of managing their internal insurance monthly company cost is to pay for some damages but not others).  We should be refunded our monies paid to Two Men and Truck to us.

 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: We apologize again for the length of time it has taken for this matter to be taken care.   Unfortunately, once a claim has been turned over to insurance, we are no longer part of the process nor do we have any control over the length of time they take to determine their course of action- repair, replacement, or reimbursement.  There are two claims filed with the insurance company on behalf of *** *******- one for the property and one for the personal belongings.   Each has a different claim number and adjustor working on it.    We are not comfortable putting the claim numbers or contacts into this response for the public to view, but ***** *******, our franchise manager, will be happy to provide those to her personally if she does not already have them.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. My complaint is being addressed by the insurance company in a very professional and timely manner. I have no doubt that the insurance company will be rectifying the damage, missing, and broken ite***  However this course of action and resolution from the insurance company does not totally resolve my complaint.  I paid Two Men and Truck  for professional packing and moving. I did not get professional moving or packing. Two Men and a Truck have not reimbursed me for the move or the packing. Their work has caused me to go through months of frustration and hours of additional work to get even a response from them. All be it that the insurance company is working with me and is very willing to repair and compensate for the items I will have to replace and repair. These items will not be completely the same as the originals. Repairing an antique desk while very much appreciated just doesn't return it to the original unflawed condition. This is why I strongly feel that I should be refunded completely by Two Men and Truck for the packing expense. 


Regards,

***** *******

 

There are a number of issues with Two Men and Truck's response.  First our compliant was filed with them on April 15, 2014 and according to **** Insurance Company our claims were not filed by Two Men and Truck until September 14, 2014 nearly 5 and half months after our first conversation with Two Men and a Truck.  Two Men and Truck finally filed the claim after being contacted by the BBB of Cincinnati and the ***** ** **** Insurance Commission.  We are working with **** Insurance and their representatives for a partial solution to our losses.  Unfortunately, it does appear that our losses will not be completely covered by **** insurance, thus we believe that Two Men and Truck is still responsible for the nearly $1,200.00 we paid them to pack our personal belongings. 

Business Response: October 17, 2014

Dear *** *******,
You contracted our office to pack and move you on April 15, 2014.  We did complete both of those services.  At the end of the pack job, you initialed your paperwork saying that “Pack: I am satisfied all my belongings have been packed according to my specifications and I am taking responsibility for anything that has not been packed”.   Based on this information, the crew felt that they had satisfied what you, as their customer wished for them to do, in regards to the packing. 
Unfortunately there were damages to some of your items and property during the course of the move and our insurance company is taking care of those.  It is always our first step to see if damages can be taken care of in-house (with qualified vendors) before turning over to our insurance company.  This process was hampered by the fact that it was difficult to schedule appointments with you, and regardless of the reason, appointments were missed.   
While we understand that you are frustrated with the process, we have fulfilled our obligations in this matter and will not be offering a refund of moving or packing services. 

10/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck provided moving services for me on August 22, 2014. The moving services provided were substandard and performed by staff who did not uphold the "Movers Who Care" work ethic expressed as the company logo. The movers were scheduled to arrive at 9am but showed up after noon with the excuse that the scheduler in the office made an error with scheduling the move.The movers expressed that the normal "Two Men and a Truck" vehicle was being used in Indiana and a Penske Moving Truck would substitute. In addition they also expressed that did not have all mover's tools due to using a substitute trucking vehicle.The mover's quickly advised it would take longer than 3 hours to move me as expressed in writing per the scheduler in the office. Again it was expressed that the scheduler made yet another error in giving an inaccurate estimate time and cost of the move.The movers proceeded to move items to be placed in the truck. Once all the items were loaded on the truck the movers proceeded to the new place of residence where they then unloaded the truck and began the process of placing my items in the new residence.The movers did not exercise "care" in handling my personal items causing damage.The movers caused damage to my mattress by tearing a 3 inch to 4 inch hole in it. They also slide my box springs into a truck that was dirty which left dirt and particles of wood on the outside of box springs. In addition they ripped and left a mattress cover dirty because they also slide it across the floor of the dirty truck.It rained earlier in the day which left areas wet which ultimately caused water damage to one of my dresser drawers as the movers set it down in water at some point.Following company protocol I did report my concerns to the ***** Office and was initially told that the Manager was on vacation and would call upon her return. I thought this was response was both unprofessional and lacked a company who expressed the "Movers Who Care" attitude.

Desired Settlement: I would like both a refund of the services and a replacement of my torn mattress and mattress cover. In addition I would like my box springs professionally cleaned. I would also like the water damaged dresser drawer replaced

Business Response:

Our goal is to exceed our customer's expectations on every move and we apologize that we were unable to do so on *** *********** move.  I have been in contact and personally met with the customer on September 20th in regards to the repairs necessary for replacing the mattress cover, repairing the tear in the mattress, and the dirty box spring, I was unaware of any damage to a drawer or any other damages.   We did, in fact move *** *********** belongings and do not feel that a refund of moving costs is appropriate in this instance.  However, I have agreed to replace the mattress cover, received a quote for ******* ******* to come out and clean the box springs at *** *********** convenience, and use a patch to repair the mattress as recommended by the mattress company.  *** ********* did agree to accept a check for $220.00 to replace the mattress cover, clean the box springs and repair the mattress which I agreed to personally complete once *** ********* received the check. I have attempted to contact the customer again but have not yet received a response back.  Once again, we apologize for the damages which occurred during the move and are working to take care of them.  

******** *******

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers were confirmed for a 12-2pm window July 1, 2014 to move our 81 year old mother. Move to take a 2 hours..minimum amount of time we can hire. At 2:30pm movers had not showed up so we called office and spoke with *****. She informed my brother that they were running hours behind and that we were now looking at a 5pm move latest. We asked if they were running behind why they didn't call us earlier and there was no response. We asked her to call and keep us informed. At 5pm no sign of our movers and we called the office. No one answered the phone so we left a message asking where our movers were and when they would arrive. No call returned to us and we sat for another two hours waiting to hear. At this point we see a moving truck pull up and start to empty their contents at *********** *******, (where my mother was moving to). We find out that they were from the ***** *** office and hired from the ***** office to make this move for them. The man who hired Two Men and a Truck, *** *****, said his confirmed window was 1-3pm and ***** told him someone didn't show up for work and that is why they were running behind. His window was pushed back but he was lucky enough to have his move. His move was scheduled behind ours but was somehow put ahead of us. At this point the skies are darkening and we know there is an impending storm so we call and rally to pay a few friends gas and their time to come for an emergency move as we have not heard from Two Men and a Truck. As we were rallying our troops at around 8pm my brother received a phone call from ***** saying that she couldn't find anyone to move us. My brother asked her to call us in the morning (which she NEVER did). We haven't heard from them since. Prior to her phone call my brother left a voice mail on their office machine cancelling the move since we had rallied people to make the move. She obviously never even listened to her office messages to see we had called numerous times in desperation of finding out where they were and if the move was going to happen at all. We moved ourselves and what was supposed to be a two hour move by Two Men and a Truck turned out to be a 12 hour move done by family and some kind strangers. 4 family members took off work to be there for the two hour move but ended up missing 6 hours of work and cannot be reimbursed for their time off work. At the same time we are dealing with our 81 year old mother who is handicapped who is wondering where she is going to be spending the night. No dinner for any of us as we were waiting a call from Two Men and a Truck and it never happened. There is no way to figure the loss of wages for the 4 of us. But we ended up making the move in a total downpour with lightning and thunder and this should never have happened. I paid for everyone's time who showed up for a total of $150.00. I want to be reimbursed for the absolute nightmare of a day for all of us involved and the total disrespect from Two Men and a Truck. I think this is a fair amount considering paying for gas to come to our house and then drive to our destination and back home and then getting them out of their homes in a total downpour. People risked their lives to make this move happen. Two Men and a Truck were NOWHERE IN SIGHT!

Desired Settlement: $150.00 for what I paid out of pocket to people to move my mother without insurance or background in moving. This was at 8pm at night in a total downpour after waiting for Two Men and A Truck to do their job for 8 hours...but not show up. We finally finished her move and I got home at 11pm at night. You can't treat customers like this and leave them hanging. Two Men & a Truck never even called to apologize the next day or even check on us to see if we still needed or wanted a move. Total lack of customer support.

Business Response:

We apologize that this situation occurred.  Our manager on duty did her best to accommodate Ms. Haas, but we were unable to arrive during the scheduled window of time due to unforeseen circumstances.  We understand the inconvenience that this causes and we have made staff changes to address this issue and prevent it from occurring again in the future.  We will cut and mail a check for $150.00 to the customer as quickly as we can if the customer will provide a mailing address.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ***** ****



Please forward this address so that a check can be sent.

***** **** **** ******* **** *********** ** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


I have not received the promised $150.00 check. My current address is **** ******* ***** *********** ** *****, please mail the check there. My previous address was **** * ******* ****** ****** ** . Thank you.


Regards,

***** ***** ****

Business Response: ***** ***** **** was refunded $100.00 on her daughters credit card per her request on July 3, 2014.  The issue has been resolved

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

They had credited my "mother's" credit card (not mine) a deposit for the move that never happened.    I had asked for a out of pocket sum which they agreed to in earlier BBB emails.

Please read earlier emails as Two Men & A Truck agreed to pay the amount and asked where to send the check.  I provided the information and then closed the BBB complaint thinking they would send it.  Just like the day of the move, I am still waiting for them to do their job. 

Regards,

***** ***** ****

Business Response: I have talked to ***** ***** **** and apologized for the confusion.  I confirmed the address with her and advised she should receive a check for $150.00 by end of next week. 

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them on April 18 2014 to move me. They took over an hour trying to decide how to move my refridgerator instead of just removing the doors and take it out th front door. So that cost me an additional $110.00 (there hourly rate). They decided to take the refridgerator out the back door and slide it down the banister. It was severly dented on the side and several dents on the fornt. I have talked to several employess and general manager. I keep getting the run around. On June 6th they said the would cut a check that day and have someone pick up the refridgerator. I called on June 12th and got the run around again. I am wanting my hour I paid for them to talk about moving the refridgerator and them to give me a check for it. I was not told how much I would get. This refriderator was just 2 years old and looked like new.

Desired Settlement: refund for the refridgerator and 1 hour refund for the move.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

We apologize for any frustration *** **** has felt as we worked toward settlement of her claim of damage to her refrigerator.  We have handled the manner to the best of our ability and feel that the settlement we agreed to is fair for both parties.  We recently deliver a check to *** **** for $1100 so she can purchase a replacement refrigerator.  We apologize for the damage and any inconvenience that followed and we consider the matter to be closed at this time.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****



1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck was contracted to move my household contents on Jan 29th, 2013. They move went smoothly, except when the movers when to moved my fridge into the new house, they tore the vinyl flooring in the entryway. The mover pointed this out to me and filled out the Damage Report. They sent out their repair man to look at the tear and said that the floor could not be fixed, that it would need to be replaced, he took pictures and said that I would hear back from them soon. A few weeks later, I still hadn't heard anything and called them, and they sent out another person to take pictures and again they said that I would hear back from them. I had contacted **** at the office numerous times. I called the Head Office of Two Men and a Truck and they tried to negotiate between us. Apparently, they sent a 60 cent.. yes.. 60 cents.. less than a dollar, check to 'my partner' for repair. They said that this was the 'Reimbursement of Lost or Damaged Goods' that I chose on the contract. (Which I did initial, only it was for the $2.25 per pound) . Now this 'Reimbursement of Lost or Damaged Goods' only refers to the articles that they moved, not damage to the premises. This has been going on for almost a year. I have finally had the floor replaced.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Two Men and a Truck to pay for the new flooring in the entryway that was damaged by their movers without having to go to Small Claims Court. I have gone with the least expensive vinyl that I could find. The flooring was done by Lowe's and the total amount I paid was 771.93

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

We have attempted to resolve this issue with *** ****** and *** ***** in a manner that is fair to both parties in consideration of the fact that Depreciated Value Coverage was chosen for the move and not Full Replacement.  We have also taken into consideration the severity of the damage and feel it is more than fair to offer a settlement of $400.00 to bring this matter to a conclusion.  We understand that the floor has been replaced, but unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to price the vinyl through our vendors or schedule an installation through our vendors which would have resulted in a final cost of much less than $771.00.

We will be forwarding a check in the amount of $400.00 to *** ******* ***** at the address we have on file and consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

The facts in this case are simple.
 
The item damaged was NOT part of the items contracted to be moved, ie. household items.  Therefore, the Depreciated Value Coverage does NOT apply.  For example, if the drivers had run over a fire hydrant, Two Men and a Truck would be liable for full cost of damage.  The same applies in this case.  They were NOT contracted to move flooring.  Therefore, they are responsible for full replacement cost.
 
They are correct, the flooring has been replaced.  But they had more than ample opportunity  to price vinyl through their vendors.  The damage occurred the end of January 2013.  Two Men and a Truck sent 2 different people out, 2 different dates to take photos of the damage.  Both had said that the vinyl could not be patched, it would have to be replaced.  We never heard back from either visit.  We repeatedly called them.  During the last round of calls, I was told by ***** that the 60 cent check was all that they were prepared to pay.  I finally had the flooring replaced end of September, beginning of October 2013.  Two Men and a Truck had over 7 months to arrange for the pricing of vinyl and installation through their vendors. 
 
We refused the 400.00 check, as this does not cover the cost and installation of the flooring.
 
Regards,

****** ****** *** **** *****

-----------------------------

Their reply:

We have attempted to resolve this issue with *** ****** and *** ***** in a manner that is fair to both parties in consideration of the fact that Depreciated Value Coverage was chosen for the move and not Full Replacement.  We have also taken into consideration the severity of the damage and feel it is more than fair to offer a settlement of $400.00 to bring this matter to a conclusion.  We understand that the floor has been replaced, but unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to price the vinyl through our vendors or schedule an installation through our vendors which would have resulted in a final cost of much less than $771.00.

We will be forwarding a check in the amount of $400.00 to *** ******* ***** at the address we have on file and consider this matter closed.

 

Business Response: We have reviewed our files once again and our offer stands at $400.00 as previously stated.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Two Men and A Truck damaged the flooring.  They damaged private property that was NOT part of the move.  They are responsible for the full replacement cost.  They had over 6 months to send someone of their choice.  ***** was very rude and disrespectful.  

Regards,

****** ******




11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is Two Men and a Truck are not taking responsibility for breaking my dresser when they moved me on 9/29/13 When bring up the dresser to the apt. the movers set it in the bedroom upside down and was going to just leave it that why till I said something. They then had already had off most of the wrap and when they flipped it the drawers where popping out. During them moving me my friends where also moving stuff so it was crazy so we did not notice the broken dresser till after they had already left. My friend called the very next day Sept. 30, 2013 (the order was in her name)to inform them they broke my dresser. The damage they did was on the one of the side panel it is split in two all the way down. She spoke with a **** and he said I would need to let them know how old it was and where bought. I called as soon I got off work and spoke with an ****** told them my number and that the dresser was only 2 years old and from ****. She said the someone would call to come look at it with in 24 to 28 hours. Never got that call. Finally after many calls the repair guy calls and then says due to it being an ikea piece it could not be fixed but will let the office know this. I called the office the very next day they asked for pictures. I sent pictures to the office managers cell, they then forward to **** for OM was not working there anymore. He said he would get with the new OM and get back to me right away. After 3 days of not hearing anything I called again. Was told the OM was still working on it. After me getting very mad that it still was not fixed I finally spoke with an Antwan the new OM, he said he was just told about it 5 mins ago and it would depend on the inc we took out. We looked it only says if we see damage call with in 96 hours of move we did We where never offered any ins. Still not fixed to date. Antwan is not calling back and I keep getting the run around about what they are going to do to fix my dresser.

Desired Settlement: Went my dresser fixed or refunded the amount of dresser, cost to rebuild it, cost of gas to pick it up. Dresser was $250 2 years ago plus about 3 hours of my time to build it and picking it up Do not want anything less then $300.

Business Response:

We apologize for the unnecessary time and confusion in handling this claim. After speaking with the customer, we have agreed to purchase the same dresser at **** to replace the one that was damaged. In addition, we will be assembling the dresser and delivering it to the customer at a time that is convenient for her. *** ****** has agreed that this is a satisfactory resolution to her issue.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. As long as I receive my dresser by Nov. 8th. At this time I have not heard back as to when they will be bring the new dresser, when I talked to the office manager they where to call me back as to when they would deliver it and I have not heard anything back since Tues Oct. 29, 2013. 

Regards,

****** ******




Consumer Response: The dresser has not been delivered as of yet. The office manger did finally call me this Tues Nov. 12 and the are to deliver it this Tues Nov 19 at 7 pm.
  

Thank you for the follow up,

****** ******

Business Response: The new dresser was delivered yesterday, Novemeber 19.  Again, we apologize for the confusion and length of time it has taken for this matter to be resolved. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******




11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/7 we hired Two Men and a Truck to move our furniture from our home into storage. The two movers stated throughout the day that if any furniture is damaged that replace it. They stated that it is company policy to replace it and that it comes out of their pocket. During the move, they leaned our headboard up against our gas grill whie they were putting things into the storage unit. The grill was on wheels and was not secure. The grill moved, and the headboard fell to the ground. It was scratched in the center on the front. The movers told us that we would complete a damage form to initiate the refund. We completed the form the day of the damage (9/7). We began reaching out to Two Men and a Truck on Monday the 9/9 with little to no response. On 9/24 we were asked to provide a detailed description of the events that occurred to ******, which we provided. This was when the company began stating that the two movers were claiming I knocked the furniture over. This is a lie, and surely a result of a company policy that requires the movers to pay for the damages out of thier pocket. They did not respond to this email. I reached out to Two Men again with no response. We asked for the General Manager *** Wallace to call us for two weeks with no luck. On October 2nd I spoke with *** and she stated that ***** would call me- he never returned my call. I called back on 10/3 (I believe this is the exact date, I may be off a day or two) and spoke with *****. ****** was in the background coaching him on what to say. They offered to refund 1/2 of the cost of our headboard. I asked for *** Wallace to call me. I stated that they had shared on multiple occassions the policy was to replace the furniture. They said since the employees continue to deny the event we would split the cost. On 10/8 I called again since no one from Two Men had returned my calls. I spoke with ****** and she stated that "the movers are not supposed to state our policy of refunding for damaged furniture." She said "they are not supposed to share that they are held financially responsible." She stated that she would have *** call me the next day. On October 14th, *** emailed me stating, "Good Morning. ****** Boettcher in our Mason Office has made me aware of the claim you filed regarding a damaged headboard. In order to proceed with settlement of the claim I would ask that you provide a purchase receipt for the headboard in question. You can scan the receipt to Ms. Boettcher or myself and we will proceed with resolution of your claim. We sent the receipt 10/16. Once *** reviewed the receipt for $1700 he emailed: "We will not be providing a check for the full replacement amount of your headboard. It has come to my attention during discussions with ***** and ****** today that we have not gotten a repair quote from our vendor to repair the damage in question to your headboard. Usually this would be a first course of action as it is our right to decide whether a repair or cash settlement is the best course of action for settling particular claims. ***** ******** will pass along your information to our repair vendor who will be in touch and make arrangements to complete the necessary repairs at your convenience. I apologize that a vendor was not assigned to your claim sooner. We will make sure the repair work is scheduled as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience." Since this date they have had very little communication with us. Every interaction has required multiple calls or emails. I even reached out to their CEO and other executives to try any get someone to return my calls. Friday, 10/25 a vendor from their company reached out to me to try and schedule a repair of our headboard. I explained that we were in the middle of a dispute and that we would not permit them to repair our headboard. In the meantime, I have also filed a complaint with the Attorney General in hopes of resolving this quickly.

Desired Settlement: We paid $1713 for our bed. We are asking the company to fulfill the numerous oral committments they made to us, and issue us a check for the cost to replace our headboard. I am also open to discussing a mutually agreed upon compromise. We paid $682 for the movers and tipped the movers $200 cash (because they stated the cost of repair would come out of their check). One possible resolution would be to refund the money we have paid Two Men and a Truck given their lack of professionalism, lies, and damages to our property they caused. I would just like to resolve this quickly. Thank you.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

As stated by *** ************ in her complaint, there was some initial confusion as to who was responsible for the damage that occurred to her headboard.  The movers who performed the move continue to insist that they did not knock over the headboard, and that was the reason that our initial settlement offer was to split the cost of repair.  ***** ********, Operations Manager in our ***** office, extended this offer to *** ************ and she refused based on her feeling that the movers had entered into an "oral contract" to pay for a replacement headboard.  There is no such "oral contract".  We have spoken to the men involved and both deny making any statements about replacing the headboard and both men are experienced enough to know that we have skilled wood repair vendors that are able to repair simple scratches to wood furniture.   

After the initial offer was refused, I did request that the purchase receipt be provided.  We had made the decision to accept responsibility for the damage despite the insistence of our movers that they were not responsible, and we were considering whether a cash settlement offer would be a fair and prompt resolution.  If the cost of a replacement headboard had been close to our cost to repair we would have made a settlement offer.  It was not.  The request to provide a receipt was made with the intent of exploring another possible avenue for settlement.  At no time did I indicate that we would pay for a replacement headboard if they provided the purchase receipt.  One other issue to be aware of regarding the purchase receipt is that there is no itemized breakdown of the headboard, footboard, side rails etc.  The cost of the entire bed frame was approximately $1700.00.  Our liability in any case would be limited to the item we damaged.  We have confirmed with Arhaus furniture that the cost of the headboard alone at the time of purchase was $799.00, so the request for payment of $1700.00 is not appropriate.

As we have explained to *** ************ on numerous occasions, we do not acknowledge any "oral contract", therefore it is our right to repair damaged items as a first course of action according to the paperwork signed by *** ************ at the time the move was performed.  That is what we are willing to do.  We have several vendors that do quality work and they are more than capable of repairing the scratches to *** ************** headboard.  For her to insist that we pay for a replacement headboard or offer her a free move is not reasonable or fair.  Our typical repair cost for something like this would be $200-$300.  We would be willing to mail a settlement check for $300.00 in lieu of sending our repair vendor.  *** ************ could find her own capable vendor for that amount and likely have money left over.   

8/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We scheduled a move with the *****, ****, franchise of Two Men and a Truck for June 26, 2013. Two trucks and four men were scheduled to show up at 9:00. At 10:30 the morning of the move one truck and two men showed up and began to move us after thanking us for the careful preparations we had made. We had packed carefully, clearly marked boxes in terms of contents and placement in the new home, and we were careful to ensure easy access to all rooms. At about 2:00 in the afternoon, a second truck with two men arrived and joined in the work. At 4:00 one of the new arrivals claimed to find a bed bug in the bedding upstairs, called his supervisor, and the move was halted. We were told we would need to fumigate the entire house before they would return, and they gave us the option of their unloading what they had packed or taking it to the new house. We chose the latter; they drove to the new house and unloaded what they had packed, finishing their work a little after 6:00.We paid the movers for their work, a figure that almost exactly matched the estimate given to us over the phone. The next day we called a certified pest inspector and he came out on Friday, June 28 and examined the upstairs bedrooms. For almost two hours he probed all bedding, all clothing, looked from ceiling to floor, even behind pictures. He found nothing. You dont have bed bugs, he said as he left after writing his report. You dont even have spiders up there in those rooms.We sent the report to the ***** office and were told we would be contacted as soon as the report arrived. We never were, so we called the office. We were told the earliest date we could be moved was July 6. We were now left with clothes in one house, beds in another. We had to pack suitcases from the new house and move to the old house to sleep, which we did for three days before deciding to sleep on an uncomfortable sleeper couch in the new house. We essentially lived between houses from June 26 to July 6. We had two homes, neither of which we could live in.Our experience with the ***** franchise was simply horrible. Either the workers didnt want to work, knew they had met the estimate and wanted to quit, or didnt know a bed bug from a lady bug. We suspect they knew there were no bed bugs because they did move one of the mattresses from the upstairs bedroom to the new house after telling us we had a bed bug infestation, something they surely wouldnt have done had they believed the house had a problem.

Desired Settlement: We would like the following reimbursement from the ***** franchise of Two Men and a Truck:$80, the needless cost of bringing an inspector to our home.$150, mileage for three trips between the houses as we attempted to survive the unjustified cessation of our move.The total were asking for is $230, a figure that doesnt come close to reimbursing us for the stress and discomfort we experience working with this franchise.

Business Response:

At Two Men And A Truck we always try to exceed customers expectations.  I am sorry that we did not in this case.  I am glad that our sister office did get your move taken care of and your move is completed and that you are happy.  This is not what how we do things in my ***** office and again I am sorry that this happened the way that it did.  I am sorry for your inconvience and the extra time it took to get you moved.  We truely have much higher standards.

I have sent your address to the owner and the check should be mailed out to your new address.  You should recieve your check within 5-7 business days.  I hope that you love your new home and wish you well.  And I am very happy that you did complete your move with our sister office. 

 

Thank You and Best Wishes

****** *********

Franchise Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

The money we have asked for represents the actual expenses incurred because of the unjustified interruption of our move.  Nothing could make up for the stress and trauma that marred what should have been a very happy occasion.  We accept the payment but suggest consumers look at another franchise when they research potential moving companies.  

Regards,

 

***** ******

 

 

 

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck took 5 hours to move a refrigerator, upright freezer, and a washer and dryer on pedestals less than 4 miles away and also caused damage to a refrigerator and stairs, walls, and banister while moving the refrigerator down the stairs on December 14, 2012. They did repair the stairs, walls, and banister, but tried to refuse blame on the damage to the refrigerator. Finally, they called a repairman and I mailed them the receipts on March 12, 2013. After I made numerous followup calls, the office manager said the owner was sending me a check on June 10, 2013. No check came. On June 20th, the office manager said she would send a money order. I still have not received payment. The repair bill for getting the refrigerator working was $637.91. The replacement doors cost $587.40. The total cost for repairing the refrigerator back to its original state before it was damaged by Two Men and a Truck was $1225.31.I also paid them $451 for a move that was estimated to take 2 hours and took them 5 hours (they were "kind" enough to only charge me for 4 hours) because they couldn't get a refrigerator out of the original house and had to call in a third man and they tried moving the other refrigerator down stairs and got stuck on the landing and had to carry it back up and start over.

Desired Settlement: At the minimum, Two Men and a Truck owe me the $1225.31 they have told me they would pay after I used the repairman THEY called and submitted the receipts as they asked.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the damages to ******* fridge and we are sending the said amout for the doors. That check will be sent out this week.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *****

 

 

 

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving with Two Men and a Truck on ******* ** in *********** ** ** was the worst moving experience ever! Pieces of furniture were broken, scuffed or flat out missing. The movers went through my underwear drawer (this I know because I put an important ********* antique in there and it was taken out). They charged me for their lunch break. They didn't tell us where they put pieces to re-assemble our furniture. It has been over 22 days and after multiple attempts to resolve our issues I still have not gotten a call from customer service to either fix my furniture that was broken OR adjust my bill from being charged for the movers lunch. NEVER USE THIS MOVER!!

Desired Settlement: I either want a refund (not a whole refund, they did move our stuff, they just did a horrible job) and I want my furniture fixed or replaced. A phone call would've been nice after all the times I called.

Business Response:

  Thank you to **** ****** and to the BBB for getting this to us. We always want to leave our customers happy but when something goes wrong, we want to fix the problem as soon as possible.

I spoke to **** personally and this matter is taken care of. Her and I worked out time back for the damage and troubles.

Sincerely,

**** *****

General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our move with Two Men and a Truck was a complete disaster. Not only did they double their estimate, but they insisted we pay the higher amount before they would leave our home (and this was at midnight). At midnight, there was still a 3rd truck to be unloaded and they were insisting upon unloading that truck. We told them they had to leave and come back the next day. They then got on the phone with their manager and spent the next 15 minutes on the phone getting approval to come back.They packed expensive items incorrectly by placing custom drapes on top of our lawn mower, putting our wool rugs next to a refrigerator and placing bedding directly on the truck without being boxed or covered. They did not pack everything in our home and we ended up having to make multiple trips back to our home the next day to complete the move ourselves. They did not install the washer/dryer and left our dryer vent at our old home. I had to meet them back at our previous home to uninstall the vent and bring it to our new home to install. They left brackets for one of our beds on the truck which ended up going to another job the next day. A couple of the crewmembers made comments throughout the move about the sub-par crew that was on this job. They said they warned management about the crew that was assigned and those warnings were ignored. They said they asked for additional help with the move, but that they were overbooked. Another crewmember said that he took pictures of the horrible packing job that was done and sent them to the manager sos he would be aware of the damages. Once I spoke to the manager, she was extremely rude and was unapologetic. It was as if this happens all of the time and no matter what estimate they give you, they can take as long as they want and you will have to pay. I involved the corporate office, but they said they are limited in what they can do because each location is a franchise

Desired Settlement: We were quoted $1799 for moving costs and $1600 for packing totalling $3399. We were charged $3558 for moving and $1646 for packing totalling $5204. The moving costs were double what was estimated.They are offering to credit us for 2 hours of work totalling $424. We want to be refunded for the entire job given that they did not complete the job, the damage to our property and terrible customer service after the fact.

Business Response: We are om the process of responding to the complaint. 

Thank you

Business Response:

At Two Men and a Truck, we continuously strive to exceed our customer’s expectations with every move that we complete.  This move was no different.  We initially gave the customer an estimate on how long their move would take over the phone, as we do with most of our customers.  Doing an estimate over the phone, we are limited to the information that we are given by the customer.  In this case, when our crews arrived on moving day, the scope of the move was larger than we expected.  This was discussed with the customer and they chose to have another crew come out to help complete the move as soon as one became available.  The additional costs were discussed with them as well, which they approved.  Because of the larger than expected workload for the day, of course the move went longer than initially anticipated.  Crew members do not have the authority to reschedule the completion of a move to another day nor do they know what the schedule is for the following day.  In order to finish the move the next day, of course they needed to speak with the manager to ensure that a truck and crew members would be available and that any changes to other customers already on the next day’s schedule could be made. 

                                                     

Our crews are trained in proper moving and loading techniques to eliminate most damages.  From time to time, accidents will happen and we make sure that we take care of the damages that make occur during a move.  The customer did not defrost their refrigerator prior to the move.  During the time it was on the truck, it began to defrost.  When loading a moving truck, items are placed next to and on top of one another.  In a move that is especially large, this holds even more true.  As a refrigerator begins to defrost, it leaks water.  Anything next to it would then become wet.  Even though the leaking refrigerator would not have been the crew’s fault, our office did have the rugs cleaned, at our own expense. 

 

As noted in our Pre-Move Letter sent to customers, we are not responsible for disconnecting or reconnecting any appliances, including washers and dryers. At times, crew members will agree to do so to help the customer out, if asked.  Also, customers are asked to sign that they have inspected the house they are moving from and that the crew has taken all of them items the customer wishes for them to take.  We understand that there is a lot going on during a move and that these things can be overlooked by both the customer and the crews.  Which is why we ask them to sign that they did in fact take care of these details. 

 

The second day of moving was completed at no charge to the customer at what would have been charged at $318.00 (3 hours at a two man rate).  The customer also declined a refund of $424.00 (2 hours of our 4 man rate).  Damages were taken care of at our cost.  This is over $750.00 worth of services offered to the customer, to try and “make-up” for their experience.  The customer’s hired us for a service and we performed that service.  A full refund is not acceptable in this instance. 

  ****** *********

Franchise Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

The statements made by the manager of the facility are not true.  We DID NOT agree to them doubling our cost EVER.  No one reviewed anything with us.  They put the bill in front of us at midnight and said they couldn't leave until we paid.  THOSE ARE THE FACTS.  As a matter of fact, after they packed all of our belongings and saw everything that we own, they said the job would take 8.75 hours (and it ended up taking nearly 16).  So, the manager saying they came to the job and determined that the move was much larger than expected is untrue.  No one ever told us this.  Again, they documented AFTER PACKING ALL OF OUR BELONGINGS that the job would take 8.75 hours and it ended up taking 16. 

 

FACTS:

original estimate = 8.49 hours

adjusted estimate after 1st day = 8.75

actual charged = 16

 

Also, the manager doesn't even mention a very important new fact that has come to light.  The manager admitted to me that she did receive photos of the packing job that was done (sent to her by her own employee because he could not believe the terrible job that was done packing our belongings).  This included a picture of our custom drapes being loaded on top of our lawn mower.  She also admitted to me that she has since deleted these pictures and no longer has them.  How can a manager who claims to "meet or exceed our customer's expectations" receive pictures of a job from her own employee and proceed to delete them and never mention them to the customer?  The only reason I ever knew about these pictures was because of an honest crew member who decided to tell me the truth. 

 

The manager references damaged items that they have fixed.  All they have done so far is they have cleaned my rugs.  I also have the following items they have not fixed:

1. Custom drapes with oil stains on them (since they packed my drapes on top of our lawn mower)

2. Duvet cover with oil stains on it (since they packed it on the truck uncovered and unboxed)

 

The manager said she was going to have a meeting with her entire crew (including the employee who estimated our job) and find out what happened.  After the meeting, I called her to find out what happened.  She said "what do you mean what happened?"  I explained that obviously I wanted to know what the outcome of the meeting was.  She had nothing to tell me.  I have yet to hear the outcome of that meeting.  I thought she would want to know just as much as I do why in the world a job would take DOUBLE the amount of time her own employees estimated it would take. 

 

The fact is they did not complete the job.  They left my entire vanity full, jewelry, makeup, vacuum, lamps, prints, florals, etc.  All of which my husband and I had to pack ourselves.  They never had us sign anything saying the pack was complete.  We paid them to pack AND move all of our belongings.  They did not.  Now the manager is blaming us saying we should've realized they didn't move all of our belongings?  Isn't that their job? 

 

After the damages done to our property, the terrible way we have been treated and the complete lack of response from management, a $400 credit is a complete joke.

Regards,

 

*** ********

 

 

Business Response:

I have attached copies of paperwork signed and/or initialed by either *** or **** ********.  These include the job sheet, revision to estimate, optional waiver of visual inspection, and packing release.  During all stages of the job, the customers have initialed that all items are packed and moved to their satisfaction.  That they understood that the move was going to take longer than the original estimate and that they wanted the move to proceed.  Also attached is a release where we attempted to repair/clean any damaged items and that they were picked up before we had a chance to do so and that they were fine with what had been done. 

On the day of the packing, our first visual look at their actual items, our move manager and the rest of the packing crew spoke with *** about the fact that it was going to be longer than what was estimated, which is why we scheduled a third truck to come out to the job as soon as it was finished with the jobs already scheduled on it. 

I received one picture of the back of the truck and how it was loaded.  The picture was later deleted when I believed that the situation had been taken care of and the picture was no longer necessary.  This is a common practice as we are not in the habit of keeping pictures of customer’s personal belongings. 

Neither I nor my crew is aware of drapes being loaded on top of a lawn mower and this, for obvious reasons, would not be our usual practice.  This response is the first we have heard anything about drapes being loaded at all, much less on a lawn mower. 

The duvet was brought into our office as we were told there were spots on it.  The spots looked to be set it but we were willing to have it cleaned for them.  *** ******** came into the office and took it before we could do so, also picking up the rest of their items, some before repairs/cleaning could be completed.  He also signed a release of liability, releasing our company from any future claims on these items.  

I did have a meeting with my crew on this job and what we could improve upon for the next customer.  I am not in the habit of discussing employee meetings with non-company personnel.

Again, we have attempted to take care of “damages” that were not our fault, offered money back, can show paperwork signed by the customer that they were in fact aware that the job was going over and that they were ok with it, and that we completed the job to their satisfaction.  We have attempted to take care of this customer to the very best of our ability. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.   

The latest post from Two Men and a Truck includes documents from our move – one document which shows our complete credit card number, expiration date and signature.  Not wanting to have our credit card number on the website for viewing, I called the manager, ****** to ask her to remove it.  Her only response to my call was that if I call the office again, she will file harassment charges against me.  The document remains on the BBB website and I had to call and cancel my credit card number.

In response to the time our move would take, no one told us that the move would take 14 hours.  On day one, they said it would be 8.49 hours, on day 2 (after packing all of our belongings), they told us it would take 8.75 hours.  These are the times we signed for.  In the end, it took 14 hours.  We never agreed to pay for a 14 hour move we signed off on 8.75 hours – not 14 hours. 

Also, the documents ****** has posted have been altered.  There is additional writing on the documents that was not there when we signed them. 

****** says that she only deleted the pictures after she realized she no longer needed them.  This is not true.  I only found out about the pictures because a crewmember told me about them (a week later).  ****** only admitted to the pictures when I confronted her later.  She was never going to tell me they existed.

****** says that on the day of packing, the move manager and the crew talked to me about the time the move would take.  This is a lie.  I’ve never met the move manager and the crew never said the move would take longer.  They actually asked if they could bring in more crew so that the move would take LESS time. 

****** says that she and her crew were not aware of the drapes being loaded on top of our lawn mower.  I only found out about our drapes being loaded on top of our lawn mower from one of the crew members.  He said he took the pictures because of the drapes being on the lawn mower and the other examples of how terribly the truck was loaded.  I also talked to ****** about the drapes being loaded on the lawn mower.  For her to say she has never heard of this is another lie.

The duvet was loaded on the truck UNBOXED.  It was just placed on the truck with nothing covering it.  I didn’t know this until I saw them carrying the duvet into my new home on their shoulders.  It had no spots on it before and to suggest the spots didn’t come from being loaded on the truck with no boxing is ridiculous.  The reason I didn’t want them “cleaning” the duvet is because when they “cleaned” the rugs, they did not air them out properly.  When they delivered the rugs, they were musty smelling.  I called the cleaner they used and he said they dried the rugs inside of their office and that is why they are musty. So, I put the rugs out on my porch to dry them in the open air.  Since they didn’t “clean” my rug properly, I didn’t want them doing anything additional to my duvet.

The custom framed artwork that they damaged was picked up from our home 2 months ago to be repaired and we have not seen it since.  I have called the office and **** was supposed to check on this, but I have never heard any response back.

Also there has been no response to the fact that they did not move all of our belongings.  I had to load my own SUV with 2 trips with all of the items they left in our home and did not pack.  Again, ****** suggest this is our fault.

To suggest we were satisfied with the move is another lie.  I spoke to ****** multiple times Friday morning when they still had the 3rd truck to unload about how unsatisfied I was.  She has know since 4/19/13 that I was terribly unsatisfied.

Regards,

*** ********

 

 

Business Response:

We have removed the documents containing **** ********** credit card information as requested, even though she was reassured that no one else can see them.  But the documents show that not only were *** and **** ******** informed of the revised estimate time, they agreed to continue the move.  Our documents also show that we either repaired or attempted to repair any items that they claimed were damaged during the course of the move.  Discounts were given to the move and more were offered and rejected.  Especially in light of **** ********** repeated attempts at harassing the office staff, we feel we have satisfied all responsibility in this matter. 

 

****** *********

Franchise Manager

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck (**** ******* ***** *********** ***** was contracted to assist with my moving on 2/16/2013. I had used TMAAT before, but I am certain that I used a different franchise in Cincinnati. I had no issues with the movers. When the time came for payment, my card did not go through. Instead of providing customer service which should have been more than a mover, I was told that the police would be contacted. I am a professor at ***** **********, and I was horrified about the way I was being treated. I was not allowed to speak to a management person, just the mover. How is that customer service? No opportunity given to work something out with the company, just thug and aggressive behavior. If you want to treat single professional women like this, you ought to be ashamed. I've already notified the university about this francise. I did find a family member to help me out, but with lack of customer service from this abusive company.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bill adjusted because this behavior was inappropriate and menacing.

Business Response:

I am the Office & Move Manager here at the ******* ** location of TWO MEN AND A TRUCK®. At the completion of *** ********** move on Saturday, February 16th, my lead driver on her move called to let me know her credit card was being declined. We discussed with *** ******** other ways she could pay the bill, but that we did have to have payment before our crew could continue on with their day. Customers are made aware of our policy of collecting full payment at the end of the move both during the scheduling process and during confirmation paperwork they receive after booking.  She said she had transferred money into the account she was trying to use, but it wouldn't be available until Tuesday, due to being after 12pm on Saturday and with Monday being a holiday so the bank was closed. I asked them to hold for a few moments so I could contact my supervisor (General Manager) to see if we could get that approved. Unfortunately, we were not able to wait 3 days for payment. I called my lead driver back and we discussed with *** ******** that those arrangements were not acceptable and she would need to pay the balance in full that day. She told me personally that she was a professor at ***** **********, and that while she understands our policies, that she was in fact good for the money on Tuesday. I let her know that if we were unable to be paid, that we would need to call the police to have a report made. I explained that this was for documentation purposes only in case our customers are not able to pay their moving bill (intentional or not).  I also let her know I would contact our owner to see if he would accept her arrangements but before I had a chance to connect with him, our lead driver called back to let me know *** ******** had worked everything out to make the payment that day with a different credit card and the bill had been taken care of.

Since the Monday following her move, I have been working with our Customer Care department in our Corporate Office. *** ******** contacted them with her complaints as well. She felt there was no customer service when in fact, I was doing everything possible to have her arrangements approved, even stepping over my General Manager’s head to go straight to the owner for a possible different outcome.

 

Customer satisfaction is very important to us and after using **** ****** from our Corporate Office as a mediator, I began trying to contact *** ******** in regards to a partial refund, simply to try and turn this situation around.  When my first 2 messages were not returned, I called **** in Customer Care to see if she had heard from *** ********, which she has not either. I have, in total, left 3 voicemails and sent 1 email asking for her to contact our office in regards to her move. 2 voicemails even mentioned wanting to discuss a partial refund for her. I have not heard from *** ******** directly since her move date of February 16th

 

****** ******

Office/Move Manager

###-###-####

************************

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 14, 2012, we hired Two Men and a Truck to move a Spindle Piano and a Slate Pool Table from a residence in ********* ** to our residence in *******. There was an additional charge of $150.00 for the pool table due to the slate. During the move, the movers broke one of the pieces of slate in half. Two Men and a Truck took the slate and after a month, decided to glue the two sides of broken slate back together. This was due to the fact that they couldn't find any similar slate to replace it with and 3 new pieces of slate was an expensive option. The repair of the slate is flawed and results in a drift in the pool table. Thus, the entire table is flawed and useless as a pool table.

Desired Settlement: We have requested that we get refunded the cost of the move which was $496.50. We have bought another table as several weeks went by with a broken, unassembled table sat in our basement. The Franchise Manager of Two Men and a Truck, Libbie Sexton, has told us that our table is old and worthless, however, they would pay us $150.00 since we had to buy a new table. We think $496.50 is fair due to the fact that we had a pool table before the move, and had a broken useless pool table after.

Business Response:

We did a move for this customer on July 14, 2012.  The piece of slate that we moved had a 6 inch chunk missing out of the center piece previous to our moving of the item.  The pool table is 36 years old with some of the parts being made of partical board and was also 3/4 inch thick slate which we could not find.  Slate is normally is 1 inch thick.  . 

**** ******, our damage manager worked on the piece of slate and did a very nice job repairing the slate where it had broken in half.  When he was finished the piece of slate was level and was delivered to the customer. The repaired slate was accepted upon delivery by the customer without issue.  Within a few days after the delivery *** ****** called and stated they were not going to keep the table due to a flaw and that they were going to purchase another table.  The decision to purchase another pool table was their own.   The fact that they want the price of their move back is not acceptable to us. A depreation value on this pool table would be $252.00 so at this point that is what we are willing to do. 

Thank You

Libbie Sexton

Franchise Manager

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

******* ******