BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers residential and commercial moving.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men & A Truck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men & A Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Two Men & A Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2004 Business started: 02/01/2004 in OH Business incorporated 02/01/2004 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 855-368-4200

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Michael Lally, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Lally, Owner
Related Businesses
Two Men And A Truck of Northern Kentucky
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Alternate Business Names
Lally Ries LLC Two Men and A Truck
Additional Information

This firm is a franchise of Two Men & A Truck International of Lansing, Michigan. A report on the franchise headquarters is available from the Detroit, Michigan BBB or reports may be obtained online by visiting www.bbb.org.

Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Two Men & A Truck has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1089 Reading Road

    Mason, OH 45040 (513) 459-8080

  • 5930 Cheviot Road

    Cincinnati, OH 45247 (513) 245-1900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Two Men and a Truck to move my furnishings into storage last July. Last Month (April 13) they moved my furnishings from storage to my new condo. 2 Glass shelves from the china cabinet were not in the final move to the condo. All the other furnishings were present and moved without any problems. This was noticed at the time of the final move. I discussed this with the moving crew, 1 of whom was involved in the first move last July. We discussed the fact that the china cabinet was one of the last items to be moved and the shelves were handled quickly and perhaps not as they would have been typically. When I called Two Men and a Truck to report the problem and discuss resolution they repeatedly failed to return my call. Finally, I was told they were not responsible for the glass shelves as they were not in their possession the whole time. This makes no sense as all other furniture, including the china cabinet were still in the storage unit and moved just fine. I had new glass shelves made for $215.00 and was hoping Two Men and a Truck would 'do the right thing' and cover this cost. They refused. I did a final check-in with them twice before filing this complaint and once again they did not return my call. My two moves were almost $2000.00. Replacing the shelves was $215.00 and I'd like a refund for this amount.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a refund of $215.00

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.  I was able to pull the sales order and you did sign the release of liability that we are not responsible for items being loaded or unloaded into storage.  The property in question was out of our care custody and control from July 2015 to April 2016 therefore we would not be responsible for damaged or missing items.  I do apologize that the staff did not return your calls.  Unfortunately, we will not be able to reimburse for the missing glass.  We do appreciate your business and thank you for choosing Two Men and a Truck

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I do not believe the missing items were ever in storage.  All items were moved out of storage in April and since the shelves were the only missing items - the only thing that makes sense is that they were never placed in storage.   Why would just 2 shelves be missing?  Because they weren't there to begin with is the only conclusion I can draw.  Also, all release forms I signed were at the end of the move day at a time when I was tired, the crew was anxious to move on and I could not realistically be signing a release form with full knowledge that all items were accounted for.  I'm sure this is true for almost every other client too.  We are asked to sign forms when we cannot realistically be signing forms with full knowledge of what we are attesting to with our signature.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

Here is a copy of the Release of Liability you requested

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did not request a copy of the ROL so I don't know why the business sent this.  This document doesn't cover the issue of missing items.  I am missing 2 glass shelves to a china cabinet.  I believe they were never put into the storage unit and thus were not there for the 2nd move when all my furniture was moved out of the storage unit.  I am very disappointed in the response and actions of Two Men and a Truck.

Regards,

***** *******

1/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We "paid in full" the $8000 quote to move our household belongings from *****, ** to *******, **. We signed up and paid for full coverage with replacement value insurance. After delivery was made, the driver/mover took pictures and acknowledged in writing the damages that occurred to our belonging during the transport. We filed the damages claim immediately which was over three (3) months ago and still can't get resolution despite the multiple promises made by management. Conversely, when we were shopping for a mover -- the salesperson made repeated commitments of, "reliability, integrity, trust, honesty, and you can count on us... Unfortunately, management is quick to collect the payment in full -- but ignores repeated phone calls for resolution. We have made over 15 phone calls to this office... to the point that the Recptionist feels embarrassed and uncomfortable every time I call to speak to the manager -- who is always unavailable due to being in a constant state of meetings. Bottom line -- We have never filed a complaint on any business nor have we ever posted a negative review but we don't want to see anyone else have to deal with a company that makes promises and commitments to get your business -- but fails miserably to deliver on that promise. Buyer beware! Two Men and a Truck of ***** claims to be an A+ with customer service -- but they will only deliver "CUSTOMER DISSERVICE."

Desired Settlement: We paid in full for insurance to pay for any replacement to our belongings due to damages incurred in the move. The driver/mover has signed for and acknowledged these damages -- an adjuster/appraiser has visited our home in ******* to confirm these claimed damages. We want to be paid immediately for the replacement value of our belongings... We are going on (4) months after the written claim was filed.

Business Response: There have been several delays in the process of settling your claim which were beyond our control and required a greater amount of patience than normal from all parties involved.  I am sorry that we have been unable to meet your expectations so far.  We are continuing to work diligently toward a resolution and we will communicate any further developments as soon as possible. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear in the attached document. 


Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

We have been in contact with *** ******* and made a settlement offer totaling $1649, which she has rejected.   The details of our efforts to close out the various claims made are as follows.  We sent a master carpenter to *** ********* residence in ***** at the end of September.  *** *******, along with our office, received the estimate for repairs from the carpenter and we agreed to pay for all repairs.  *** ******* was not happy with the service being provided by the vendor and agreed to accept a cash payment of $850.00 in lieu of the repairs being completed and she shared her intent to hire her own vendor.  In addition to the furniture damage, a toaster oven and two Sony Stereo speakers were claimed as damaged during transit.  We honored those claims and unfortunately those items cannot be repaired.  We asked *** ******* to provide receipts to help establish the value of the items in question and she was unable or unwilling to do so which meant we had to determine the replacement value of the items in question to the best of our ability.  Unfortunately, the retail establishments from which we needed to obtain receipts were not cooperative and it took many attempts to finally obtain the needed documentation.  Based on the documentation we obtained, the replacement cost of the toaster oven is $250.00, the replacement cost of the two speakers is $499.00 + taxes.

 

*** ******* is now declining our offer stating that we are obligated to replace her damaged goods with new since she purchased replacement level valuation.  However, *** ******* acknowledged with her signature on our paperwork, which we've attached, that we reserve the right to repair damaged property if possible.  In this case repair is possible for all items except the speakers and toaster oven and *** *******'s demand that we purchase new items has no contractual basis.
 

9/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was supposed to move Friday, September 4. The movers arrived late, but they called to let me know they were having vehicle problems - later showing up in a ****** truck. Movers were going along fine for about an hour when all of a sudden, after returning from being out in the truck, they came in to tell me that they have to halt and terminate the move. They alleged that I had bed bugs and stated as per management and company policy that they had to take everything already loaded into the truck, about 85% of the stuff, off and put it back. They also informed me that their manager made that call, that they were headed out to the location and would meet with me to discuss my options. Once the franchise manager was on the scene, they started fooling with a mat, a mat that never touched my bedding or even inside my apartment. I went out to speak with them. At NO TIME did anyone ever show me evidence of bed bugs, nothing. Clayton, the franchise manager, advised me to contact a local exterminator and once they came in to spray, provide proof that they sprayed, that they would be able to reschedule my move. I spent the entire rest of the business day on the phone trying to find an exterminator to come out. **** **** ******* returned my call, the business that was referred by Clayton and they told me that they don't do that, never have and that they didn't know who I was speaking about, that they didn't know Clayton. Saturday morning, Alisha called from Two Men & A Truck to ask me how my move went - I told her it didn't and that I was disgusted with the lack of communication between management and the office. After getting ***** to come out and inspect, it was shown that I didn't have bed bugs at all, no evidence remotely close to bed bugs. I have paperwork of the inspection that I provided Two Men & A Truck. I was told to call Clayton back today, due to the Labor Day holiday, and he was not sympathetic at all. I told him that because of his error, his company's error - that I wasted a day off work, out over $2000 (because I am paying on two places that I can't live in because of a cancelled move) and that I didn't think it was right to try and bill me because of their mistake. He didn't care. He was immovable, didn't offer a discount, didn't offer anything to keep a customer satisfied. I contacted corporate offices in Lansing, MI - spoke with customer service, a young lady by the name of Charli. She took my complaint and told me that basically on the corporate level they would file my complaint and refer it back to the local franchise. That basically it is up to the franchise, not corporate office, to handle problems, customer service complaints, etc. I have been rescheduled for my move for this Friday, September 11 - but I am concerned about retaliation. I have already paid my deposit, but I don't think I should have to pay anything further because of their mistake.

Desired Settlement: I want a free move because it was Two Men & A Truck's mistake, error, issue - not mine. They claim its "company policy" but I shouldn't be penalized further because they don't know the difference between a bed bug and a carpet beetle. I am out $2000 for rent and gas, now two days of work, and the humiliation of being accused of having bed bugs when they didn't bother to even show me "evidence" - not even once. I don't think I should be penalized because they lied about the exterminator - who stated that 1. they don't do apartments, 2. don't provide a certificate that areas have been sprayed and 3. don't even know the franchise manager. A free move would be close $600 - I am willing to let them keep my deposit - but I don't think I should have to pay them further.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

We disagree with the description of events and timing laid out here.  Our crews acted in accordance with the stated policy each customer is made aware of when scheduling the move.  We understand that it can be very frustrating when things don't go according to plan or schedule, but we have an obligation to protect every customer from possible contamination from the previous customer which we take very seriously.  We apologize for the inconvenience this caused, but blaming that inconvenience on us is not fair.  We accommodated the customer to the best of our ability when an adjustment to the scheduled time became necessary and the move was recently completed with no problems.

We would like to invite the customer to contact our office once again if she would like to further discuss what evidence led to our decision to reschedule the move.  At this time we are not willing to refund the full cost of the move as requested.

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Representatives from the company came to my house and evaluated the time and cost to move my belongings. They provided an estimate that it would take 8.66 hours. I subsequently agreed to the terms of the move, paid the $100 deposit, and received the pre-move paperwork from the company showing the time and cost estimated to complete the move. Also on the letter was the fact they were moving my belongings to two separate locations. On the day of the move, the a truck and three movers showed up. In all, it took 17 hours to move my belongings over two days. Thus, it took twice as long to move me as estimated. What was more distrubing is the fact the estimate was 100% off! This estimte error was the fault of the company representatives. I complained to ***** ******* at the company on May 7 about the estimate and was told that there was confusion regarding the move and the driver and moving crew didn't realize there were two stops on the move. However, I provided ***** with a copy of the pre-move letter me they sent which clearly stated t ere were to moves and contained the addresses. ***** said she needed to look into it and would get back to me on May 11. I did not receive a call on May 11. On May 12 I received an email from ***** indicating there was a family emergency and she would call me on May 13. I did not get a call on May 13 or 14. I called on May 13 and no one picked up the phone. I finally called on May 15 at 4pm and was told ***** was on a call but the receptionist told me ***** would call me right back. After an hour, I called back and was told ***** would call me back. I received no call. I am extremely disappointedin the responsiveness of this company and would like resolution to my issue.

Desired Settlement: I understand that an estimate can be off by 20-30%. Being off by 100% is unacceptable. I want a refund of $850 which would cover an overage of 30%.

Business Response: On February 17, 2015, two managers went to meet with Mr. ****** at his residence.  He advised us that we would not be moving all his belongings.  We compiled a list of items going to storage and a list of items going to his new residence.  The customer service rep entered all the information into the system and advised Mr. ****** it would be 2 trucks and 4 men and emailed him a copy of the estimate.  Mr. ****** advised the rep that he would not need 2 trucks as he was only hiring Two Men and a Truck to move his items going to storage not to his new residence.  The rep then removed all the items going to his new residence and completed a revised estimate of items only being moved to storage.  This is the estimate that Mr. ****** is referring to for $1332.92.  It was at least a month between the time this estimate was given and when Mr. ****** booked his move with us.  The final estimate provided to Mr. ****** was to move items to storage only.  On the day of the move we moved items to storage and to his new residence.  Mr. ****** is correct that we did have both addresses on the pre-move letter he received as we originally had planned on moving items to both locations.  The address to the new residence was not removed but Mr. ****** was advised to review the updated estimate which shows that the items being taken to the new residence were no longer on the estimate.

On the day of the move, the lead crew member, advised Mr. ****** that the move would take 2 trucks if everything was being moved and the estimated time would be more then originally estimated.  Mr. ****** opted to proceed with his move.  Due to hours of service restrictions, the unload of the second truck was completed the next day, again Mr. ****** was in agreement.  The hourly rate that Mr. ****** agreed to did not change.  Mr. ****** was present for the entire move and aware of the time it was taking to move all his belongings. 

At this time, we are not providing a refund of services to Mr. ******, as he was advised prior to the move and on the day of the move that if he wished for all his belongings to be moved it would take 2 trucks and 4 men.  Based on the information provided to Mr.******, if we moved only the items going to storage as he originally said, the estimated time and cost would have been accurate.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In the response from the company it states: "The customer service rep entered all the information into the system and advised Mr. ****** it would be 2 trucks and 4 men and emailed him a copy of the estimate."  I have never seen a nor do I have in my possession an email from the sales rep with anything that states 2 trucks and 4 men were needed. I would appreciated seeing this document.

The response states: "Mr. ****** advised the rep that he would not need 2 trucks as he was only hiring Two Men and a Truck to move his items going to storage not to his new residence." This is blatant lie. I never had a conversation regarding 2 trucks and 4 men because I was never told this was necessary nor did I receive a written estimate. I have attached the only estimate sent to me.

The response states: "The rep then removed all the items going to his new residence and completed a revised estimate of items only being moved to storage." Once, again I only have one estimate that was sent to me via email on March 9. I would appreciated seeing the original estimate.

The response states: "On the day of the move, the lead crew member, advised Mr. ****** that the move would take 2 trucks if everything was being moved and the estimated time would be more then originally estimated." Again, this is blatant lie. I was never told it would take 2 trucks. The only concern expressed by the the lead crew member was whether my belongings would all fit into the 10'X25' storage unit I had rented. There was no discussion about the move taking longer until later in the day, when the truck filled up (around 2pm) and they had to make an unscheduled run to storage.  In fact, after the move was over, the driver tried to get me to initial a document indicating that I had been notified that the move would take extra time above the estimate. However, I refused to initial it because that conversation never took place. The driver then called the office to make sure that it was ok I did not initial. He was told that was ok. I will provide that document at your request. However, I know the company has a copy of it and will know exactly what I am referring to.

The response states: "The final estimate provided to Mr. ****** was to move items to storage only." What final estimate are they referring to? I only have one estimate in my possession. Were there three estimates (an original, an amended, and a final?) If there is another, I would appreciated seeing it.

The response states: "On the day of the move we moved items to storage and to his new residence.  Mr. ****** is correct that we did have both addresses on the pre-move letter he received as we originally had planned on moving items to both locations.  The address to the new residence was not removed but Mr. ****** was advised to review the updated estimate which shows that the items being taken to the new residence were no longer on the estimate.Again, where is the updated estimate?

As you can see, the company continues to use hearsay and refer to documents they have never shared with me. I have attached the following documents for your perusal:

1) Pre-move letter containing the cost and time estimate and the two stops we agreed to;
2) The only estimates I received from the company. One is for packing up the kitchen and the other is for moving my belongs; and
3) Two documents of correspondence I had with ******** ******* while I was trying to resolve this issue outside of the the BBB. You will notice they were initially blaming this on me "adding" a second stop. However, the documents I provided clearly show they were in agreement with both stops. I would appreciate seeing the documents they referred to in their response.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: The documents provided by Mr. ****** are accurate documents.  We are not disputing that two unload addresses were provided on the estimate sent to Mr. ****** but per our pre-move letter we ask that the estimate be reviewed in its entirety for accuracy that includes the list of items being moved. The move manager completed an in home consultation with Mr. ******, he advised that Two Men and a Truck would not be moving everything.  The move manager was very thorough and separated items we were and were not moving.  The original estimate with 2 trucks is no longer available as it was revised only with the items going to storage.  Our last conversation with Mr. ****** was on March 9, 2015 when we provided the estimate with 3 guys and 1 truck.  Mr. ****** did not reserve his move date till April 22, 2015, which was 1 week prior to his move date.  Due to the length of time of no response from Mr. ****** we no longer have the original documentation from his in-home consultation. 

Mr. ****** was advised that we provide an estimate and that the estimate could be higher or lower.  When we arrived at Mr. ******'s house to move him, the lead advised Mr. ****** he would need two trucks.  Mr. ****** to the best of my knowledge was present for the entire move.  If we were to of moved only the items per the estimate provided to Mr. ****** the items would of fit on one truck and in the amount of time estimated.  Mr. ****** was aware a second trip would be needed and at the same hourly rate as originally noted.

Below is information that Mr. ****** provided on his internet inquiry also:

2/6/2015 3:21:00 PMEstimatetwomen\************** First Name:*****
Last Name:******
Date of Move:
Email:*******************
Phone:**********
Type of Dwelling:home
Square Footage:
Floors:
Current Address:
New Address:
Comments:Need to move belongings from 3 bedroom house into storage in either ******* ** ***** (haven't decided on storage location yet) while new house is being built.
From Zip/Postal Code:*****
To City:*****
To State/Prov:


6/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck moved us last Wednesday 5/27/15. Furniture was carried upside down. Our washer was delivered with a broken latch and the door no longer closes. The dryer was somehow dented on top. A supervisor was made aware that night about the washer and a damage report was filled out. Nobody from that company made any attempt to contact us, until I called and let them know how unhappy I am. I called them Tuesday 6/2/15, I spoke with ******* who said he would get in touch with Mr. Appliance. I let him know how unhappy I am. I have had no clean linens since Tuesday 5/26/15, we are unable to wash any clothes including underwear. I've called and cannot get any kind of commitment as to when I might expect the repair.

Desired Settlement: Immediate repair of our washer and dryer.

Business Response:

****** ****

9:10 AM (2 hours ago)
tome
***** from the business called and stated that this is not one of their customers. She stated that it may be from the Tylersville or Ridge Rd location which is not connected with their location.
****** **** Marketplace Resource Consultant

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

Date Sent: 6/7/2015 3:52:10 PM
Two Men and a Truck have sent a man to repair the washer. Thank you for your help.

 
Regards,

******* ****

 

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Two Men and a Truck to move from an apartment to a new house. They broke our television and are refusing to reimburse for the cost of replacement. We were sent a Pre-Move preparation email. It included items which they may have difficulty moving due to size or weight. It was only a 32" flatscreen, weighing less than 25 lbs. It should not have been a problem for size or weight.When the movers arrived at the apt., they informed me that they couldn't move it because it was not in its original box. We did not receive any advance notice about the tv being in its box. I had to sign a waiver in order for them to move it. At that point I had no other choice. It would have been left behind if I chose not to sign. So I signed it. The men had been carrying dressers and boxes all day. A small TV should not have been any trouble. But it was. The mover dropped it and broke the screen. I witnessed this.I don't believe this waiver should hold up due to the timing of my signing, and lack of alternative.I was not informed in advance regarding "valuation" levels for damaged goods. My initial moving estimate did not include being offered full-value protection

Desired Settlement: The television cost $350. That is the amount I am seeking, or a replacement of the same model. Insignia 32" LED

Business Response:

****** ***** response:

March 03 2015 our office conducted a move for *** *****. During the course of the move we transported a flat screen television, which was not in its original case. In accordance with Two Men and Truck policy we will request a release of liability prior to moving flat screen televisions, because of their temperamental disposition outside of their original case.  *** ***** signed the release of liability, which makes Two Men and Truck not liable for any damages during the transport. After receiving *** ******* signature we conducted the move.

When *** ***** plugged the television in at his current residence the television was found not to be functioning properly. *** ***** then proceeded to reach out to our office seeking a replacement for his television. We then opened an investigation and performed our due diligence, as we do for all claims. As a result of our investigation we came to the conclusion, we are not responsible for the television. Citing the signed release of liability.  

*** ***** was then offered the valuation of .60 cents per pound, as token of our good faith, which he promptly declined. *** ***** was very adamant that we fully replace the television.  

Moreover, *** ***** is currently disputing his credit charges which freezes the process of the claim, as stated on the pre-move confirmation letter: “No damage claims will be honored until the charges for moving services have been paid in full.”

In closing the offer of .60 cents per pound still stands, in which *** ***** could use for the purchase of a similar television.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

The company does not mention in their reply that the tv was not damaged in their truck while in transit. It was damaged when I witnessed a mover drop it while still in my house. It was a very small tv and should not have been difficult fir a professional to move.

This is also the first time they mentioned a contract clause regarding withholding payment in the resolution of a dispute. 
60 cents per pound is an offensively low offer for a $350 tv weighing less than 20 lbs.
Regards,
*** *****

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to resolve the problems with our move since the day of the move April 15, 2014. It has been almost 4 months. I have been told to be patient. I called to complain when the move started due to the staff not being adequately supplied or trained. I had the movers pack and move. During the course of the move there were numerous incidents. The packers did not have a tape gun. They were peeling off the tape and cutting it with my scissors. They used my dining room table as a work space and scratched it. I had to chase one of the movers down all day. He told me packed areas of the house that were not packed. I found him sitting in the truck. I called and requested the manager at the time to come to the house Libbie and she would not come and supervise the move. I had cabinets and closets not packed or partially packed. I had boxes left in the house. I have numerous broken and missing ite*** I have damage to my house scratches and walls banged, broken legs on my antique desk to name a few. I have been given the run around for months. I am on my forth manager since my move to resolve my complaint. I took out the insurance on the move and I have not been reimbursed for my damages. I have sent photos and a comprehensive list if my damaged items along with the replacement cost and values. I used the internet to reference the amount for the items listed I have included in the prices shipping and handling. I have noted below missing ite*** Not one person that worked on my move is still with Two Men and a Truck.

Desired Settlement: Since we took out insurance with Two Men and Truck we should be reimbursed by them for the damages to our personal posessions and home. We should also be credited for the move on our credit cards since they did not move us correctly, leaving boxes all over the place both at the old house and in the wrong areas in the new house.

Business Response: At Two Men and a Truck, we strive to exceed our customer's expectations on every move.   Unfortunately there are times when we fall short.   We were hired by *** ******* to pack and  move her belongings to her new home.  We apologize that her pack and move was not all that she had wished it to be but her items were packed and moved.   We cannot provide a full refund for the pack  and move, when we did in fact,  pack and move her belongings. 

We have been in contact with her for quite some time, attempting to resolve the damages.   A master carpenter was hired to assess and repair the furniture and house damages.  He was scheduled for a second appointment but it was canceled by *** ******* 15 minutes prior to the appointment.   He had advised us that he was unable to repair the floor damage and the decision was made to turn the claims over to our insurance company.  There are two claims through them- one for the floor damage and one for the cargo (personal belongings) damage.   Once a claim is turned over to the insurance company, we are no longer able to complete repairs or provide refunds towards damages.  We also have no control over the length of time it takes them to investigate or settle the claim.   We can however, keep in contact with *** ******* and the insurance company to provide updates and attempt to expedite the claim to the best of our ability.   It is our understanding that they have been in contact with her in regards to her claim at this point.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Two Men and a Truck mentions that they moved our items to our new house.  That is correct but the total lack of professionalism by this company was appalling. First, they moved our furniture and belongings without covering the hardwood floors with any taped cardboard or blankets, thus scratching the wood floors repeatedly according to **** Insurance Company(their own insurance) who has now confirmed the damage by the moving company to us and them.  We paid Two Men and Truck for packing and they sent us two of their employees who told us it was their first time they ever packed a house (both are no longer employed at Two Men and Truck according to their management).  They missed packing much of our items that we later found in various cabinets throughout the house and they packed over half of the breakable items without any insulation materials because they told us they didn't bring enough packing materials.  These same employees arrived at our house to pack without any tape guns that can professionally seal our boxes.  They told us Two Men and Truck doesn't provide tape guns to their employees and asked us to loan them a knife to cut the packing tape rolls. 

Our damages to our new home and our personal belongings were filed with Two Men and Truck five months ago.  Jennifer Sunberg their Office Manager since that time told us that *** (Owner) and J*** ******** their Controller had not decided to process our insurance claims because they didn't" want their insurance monthly payments to go up". The finally sent the furniture repairman they mentioned in their response to our home five months after we had moved and after over 10 inquiries by us to them to help us resolve our damages. We did cancel our appointment with this individual last week, but we see Two Men and Truck failed to mention that we cancelled because a relative had a heart attack suddenly and we had to rush to the hospital.    At this point they have processed our new home damage claims with **** Risk Insurance but still have not filed our personal belongings claim even though they were paid for the insurance by us.  Again, the **** Risk Insurance Adjuster just showed up to our home now five months after we filed our insurance claim.   We have provided them with over 80 photo's of the personal belonging damages that show multiple boxes packed with no insulation materials, broken items still in the boxes, damaged furniture clearly damaged and copies of their own internal company documents that indicated that these furniture pieces were not damaged before they moved us.  Clearly in our opinion this is a company that is selling insurance policies in the State of Ohio collecting the monies from consumers and then doing everything in their power to block any damage claims caused by their employees. 

At this point it continues to be clear to us that the company is not going to pay us for our personal belongings damage insurance claims (their way of managing their internal insurance monthly company cost is to pay for some damages but not others).  We should be refunded our monies paid to Two Men and Truck to us.

 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: We apologize again for the length of time it has taken for this matter to be taken care.   Unfortunately, once a claim has been turned over to insurance, we are no longer part of the process nor do we have any control over the length of time they take to determine their course of action- repair, replacement, or reimbursement.  There are two claims filed with the insurance company on behalf of *** *******- one for the property and one for the personal belongings.   Each has a different claim number and adjustor working on it.    We are not comfortable putting the claim numbers or contacts into this response for the public to view, but ***** *******, our franchise manager, will be happy to provide those to her personally if she does not already have them.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. My complaint is being addressed by the insurance company in a very professional and timely manner. I have no doubt that the insurance company will be rectifying the damage, missing, and broken ite***  However this course of action and resolution from the insurance company does not totally resolve my complaint.  I paid Two Men and Truck  for professional packing and moving. I did not get professional moving or packing. Two Men and a Truck have not reimbursed me for the move or the packing. Their work has caused me to go through months of frustration and hours of additional work to get even a response from them. All be it that the insurance company is working with me and is very willing to repair and compensate for the items I will have to replace and repair. These items will not be completely the same as the originals. Repairing an antique desk while very much appreciated just doesn't return it to the original unflawed condition. This is why I strongly feel that I should be refunded completely by Two Men and Truck for the packing expense. 


Regards,

***** *******

 

There are a number of issues with Two Men and Truck's response.  First our compliant was filed with them on April 15, 2014 and according to **** Insurance Company our claims were not filed by Two Men and Truck until September 14, 2014 nearly 5 and half months after our first conversation with Two Men and a Truck.  Two Men and Truck finally filed the claim after being contacted by the BBB of Cincinnati and the ***** ** **** Insurance Commission.  We are working with **** Insurance and their representatives for a partial solution to our losses.  Unfortunately, it does appear that our losses will not be completely covered by **** insurance, thus we believe that Two Men and Truck is still responsible for the nearly $1,200.00 we paid them to pack our personal belongings. 

Business Response: October 17, 2014

Dear *** *******,
You contracted our office to pack and move you on April 15, 2014.  We did complete both of those services.  At the end of the pack job, you initialed your paperwork saying that “Pack: I am satisfied all my belongings have been packed according to my specifications and I am taking responsibility for anything that has not been packed”.   Based on this information, the crew felt that they had satisfied what you, as their customer wished for them to do, in regards to the packing. 
Unfortunately there were damages to some of your items and property during the course of the move and our insurance company is taking care of those.  It is always our first step to see if damages can be taken care of in-house (with qualified vendors) before turning over to our insurance company.  This process was hampered by the fact that it was difficult to schedule appointments with you, and regardless of the reason, appointments were missed.   
While we understand that you are frustrated with the process, we have fulfilled our obligations in this matter and will not be offering a refund of moving or packing services. 

10/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck provided moving services for me on August 22, 2014. The moving services provided were substandard and performed by staff who did not uphold the "Movers Who Care" work ethic expressed as the company logo. The movers were scheduled to arrive at 9am but showed up after noon with the excuse that the scheduler in the office made an error with scheduling the move.The movers expressed that the normal "Two Men and a Truck" vehicle was being used in Indiana and a Penske Moving Truck would substitute. In addition they also expressed that did not have all mover's tools due to using a substitute trucking vehicle.The mover's quickly advised it would take longer than 3 hours to move me as expressed in writing per the scheduler in the office. Again it was expressed that the scheduler made yet another error in giving an inaccurate estimate time and cost of the move.The movers proceeded to move items to be placed in the truck. Once all the items were loaded on the truck the movers proceeded to the new place of residence where they then unloaded the truck and began the process of placing my items in the new residence.The movers did not exercise "care" in handling my personal items causing damage.The movers caused damage to my mattress by tearing a 3 inch to 4 inch hole in it. They also slide my box springs into a truck that was dirty which left dirt and particles of wood on the outside of box springs. In addition they ripped and left a mattress cover dirty because they also slide it across the floor of the dirty truck.It rained earlier in the day which left areas wet which ultimately caused water damage to one of my dresser drawers as the movers set it down in water at some point.Following company protocol I did report my concerns to the ***** Office and was initially told that the Manager was on vacation and would call upon her return. I thought this was response was both unprofessional and lacked a company who expressed the "Movers Who Care" attitude.

Desired Settlement: I would like both a refund of the services and a replacement of my torn mattress and mattress cover. In addition I would like my box springs professionally cleaned. I would also like the water damaged dresser drawer replaced

Business Response:

Our goal is to exceed our customer's expectations on every move and we apologize that we were unable to do so on *** *********** move.  I have been in contact and personally met with the customer on September 20th in regards to the repairs necessary for replacing the mattress cover, repairing the tear in the mattress, and the dirty box spring, I was unaware of any damage to a drawer or any other damages.   We did, in fact move *** *********** belongings and do not feel that a refund of moving costs is appropriate in this instance.  However, I have agreed to replace the mattress cover, received a quote for ******* ******* to come out and clean the box springs at *** *********** convenience, and use a patch to repair the mattress as recommended by the mattress company.  *** ********* did agree to accept a check for $220.00 to replace the mattress cover, clean the box springs and repair the mattress which I agreed to personally complete once *** ********* received the check. I have attempted to contact the customer again but have not yet received a response back.  Once again, we apologize for the damages which occurred during the move and are working to take care of them.  

******** *******

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers were confirmed for a 12-2pm window July 1, 2014 to move our 81 year old mother. Move to take a 2 hours..minimum amount of time we can hire. At 2:30pm movers had not showed up so we called office and spoke with *****. She informed my brother that they were running hours behind and that we were now looking at a 5pm move latest. We asked if they were running behind why they didn't call us earlier and there was no response. We asked her to call and keep us informed. At 5pm no sign of our movers and we called the office. No one answered the phone so we left a message asking where our movers were and when they would arrive. No call returned to us and we sat for another two hours waiting to hear. At this point we see a moving truck pull up and start to empty their contents at *********** *******, (where my mother was moving to). We find out that they were from the ***** *** office and hired from the ***** office to make this move for them. The man who hired Two Men and a Truck, *** *****, said his confirmed window was 1-3pm and ***** told him someone didn't show up for work and that is why they were running behind. His window was pushed back but he was lucky enough to have his move. His move was scheduled behind ours but was somehow put ahead of us. At this point the skies are darkening and we know there is an impending storm so we call and rally to pay a few friends gas and their time to come for an emergency move as we have not heard from Two Men and a Truck. As we were rallying our troops at around 8pm my brother received a phone call from ***** saying that she couldn't find anyone to move us. My brother asked her to call us in the morning (which she NEVER did). We haven't heard from them since. Prior to her phone call my brother left a voice mail on their office machine cancelling the move since we had rallied people to make the move. She obviously never even listened to her office messages to see we had called numerous times in desperation of finding out where they were and if the move was going to happen at all. We moved ourselves and what was supposed to be a two hour move by Two Men and a Truck turned out to be a 12 hour move done by family and some kind strangers. 4 family members took off work to be there for the two hour move but ended up missing 6 hours of work and cannot be reimbursed for their time off work. At the same time we are dealing with our 81 year old mother who is handicapped who is wondering where she is going to be spending the night. No dinner for any of us as we were waiting a call from Two Men and a Truck and it never happened. There is no way to figure the loss of wages for the 4 of us. But we ended up making the move in a total downpour with lightning and thunder and this should never have happened. I paid for everyone's time who showed up for a total of $150.00. I want to be reimbursed for the absolute nightmare of a day for all of us involved and the total disrespect from Two Men and a Truck. I think this is a fair amount considering paying for gas to come to our house and then drive to our destination and back home and then getting them out of their homes in a total downpour. People risked their lives to make this move happen. Two Men and a Truck were NOWHERE IN SIGHT!

Desired Settlement: $150.00 for what I paid out of pocket to people to move my mother without insurance or background in moving. This was at 8pm at night in a total downpour after waiting for Two Men and A Truck to do their job for 8 hours...but not show up. We finally finished her move and I got home at 11pm at night. You can't treat customers like this and leave them hanging. Two Men & a Truck never even called to apologize the next day or even check on us to see if we still needed or wanted a move. Total lack of customer support.

Business Response:

We apologize that this situation occurred.  Our manager on duty did her best to accommodate Ms. Haas, but we were unable to arrive during the scheduled window of time due to unforeseen circumstances.  We understand the inconvenience that this causes and we have made staff changes to address this issue and prevent it from occurring again in the future.  We will cut and mail a check for $150.00 to the customer as quickly as we can if the customer will provide a mailing address.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ***** ****



Please forward this address so that a check can be sent.

***** **** **** ******* **** *********** ** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


I have not received the promised $150.00 check. My current address is **** ******* ***** *********** ** *****, please mail the check there. My previous address was **** * ******* ****** ****** ** . Thank you.


Regards,

***** ***** ****

Business Response: ***** ***** **** was refunded $100.00 on her daughters credit card per her request on July 3, 2014.  The issue has been resolved

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

They had credited my "mother's" credit card (not mine) a deposit for the move that never happened.    I had asked for a out of pocket sum which they agreed to in earlier BBB emails.

Please read earlier emails as Two Men & A Truck agreed to pay the amount and asked where to send the check.  I provided the information and then closed the BBB complaint thinking they would send it.  Just like the day of the move, I am still waiting for them to do their job. 

Regards,

***** ***** ****

Business Response: I have talked to ***** ***** **** and apologized for the confusion.  I confirmed the address with her and advised she should receive a check for $150.00 by end of next week. 

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them on April 18 2014 to move me. They took over an hour trying to decide how to move my refridgerator instead of just removing the doors and take it out th front door. So that cost me an additional $110.00 (there hourly rate). They decided to take the refridgerator out the back door and slide it down the banister. It was severly dented on the side and several dents on the fornt. I have talked to several employess and general manager. I keep getting the run around. On June 6th they said the would cut a check that day and have someone pick up the refridgerator. I called on June 12th and got the run around again. I am wanting my hour I paid for them to talk about moving the refridgerator and them to give me a check for it. I was not told how much I would get. This refriderator was just 2 years old and looked like new.

Desired Settlement: refund for the refridgerator and 1 hour refund for the move.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

We apologize for any frustration *** **** has felt as we worked toward settlement of her claim of damage to her refrigerator.  We have handled the manner to the best of our ability and feel that the settlement we agreed to is fair for both parties.  We recently deliver a check to *** **** for $1100 so she can purchase a replacement refrigerator.  We apologize for the damage and any inconvenience that followed and we consider the matter to be closed at this time.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****



1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck was contracted to move my household contents on Jan 29th, 2013. They move went smoothly, except when the movers when to moved my fridge into the new house, they tore the vinyl flooring in the entryway. The mover pointed this out to me and filled out the Damage Report. They sent out their repair man to look at the tear and said that the floor could not be fixed, that it would need to be replaced, he took pictures and said that I would hear back from them soon. A few weeks later, I still hadn't heard anything and called them, and they sent out another person to take pictures and again they said that I would hear back from them. I had contacted **** at the office numerous times. I called the Head Office of Two Men and a Truck and they tried to negotiate between us. Apparently, they sent a 60 cent.. yes.. 60 cents.. less than a dollar, check to 'my partner' for repair. They said that this was the 'Reimbursement of Lost or Damaged Goods' that I chose on the contract. (Which I did initial, only it was for the $2.25 per pound) . Now this 'Reimbursement of Lost or Damaged Goods' only refers to the articles that they moved, not damage to the premises. This has been going on for almost a year. I have finally had the floor replaced.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Two Men and a Truck to pay for the new flooring in the entryway that was damaged by their movers without having to go to Small Claims Court. I have gone with the least expensive vinyl that I could find. The flooring was done by Lowe's and the total amount I paid was 771.93

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

We have attempted to resolve this issue with *** ****** and *** ***** in a manner that is fair to both parties in consideration of the fact that Depreciated Value Coverage was chosen for the move and not Full Replacement.  We have also taken into consideration the severity of the damage and feel it is more than fair to offer a settlement of $400.00 to bring this matter to a conclusion.  We understand that the floor has been replaced, but unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to price the vinyl through our vendors or schedule an installation through our vendors which would have resulted in a final cost of much less than $771.00.

We will be forwarding a check in the amount of $400.00 to *** ******* ***** at the address we have on file and consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

The facts in this case are simple.
 
The item damaged was NOT part of the items contracted to be moved, ie. household items.  Therefore, the Depreciated Value Coverage does NOT apply.  For example, if the drivers had run over a fire hydrant, Two Men and a Truck would be liable for full cost of damage.  The same applies in this case.  They were NOT contracted to move flooring.  Therefore, they are responsible for full replacement cost.
 
They are correct, the flooring has been replaced.  But they had more than ample opportunity  to price vinyl through their vendors.  The damage occurred the end of January 2013.  Two Men and a Truck sent 2 different people out, 2 different dates to take photos of the damage.  Both had said that the vinyl could not be patched, it would have to be replaced.  We never heard back from either visit.  We repeatedly called them.  During the last round of calls, I was told by ***** that the 60 cent check was all that they were prepared to pay.  I finally had the flooring replaced end of September, beginning of October 2013.  Two Men and a Truck had over 7 months to arrange for the pricing of vinyl and installation through their vendors. 
 
We refused the 400.00 check, as this does not cover the cost and installation of the flooring.
 
Regards,

****** ****** *** **** *****

-----------------------------

Their reply:

We have attempted to resolve this issue with *** ****** and *** ***** in a manner that is fair to both parties in consideration of the fact that Depreciated Value Coverage was chosen for the move and not Full Replacement.  We have also taken into consideration the severity of the damage and feel it is more than fair to offer a settlement of $400.00 to bring this matter to a conclusion.  We understand that the floor has been replaced, but unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to price the vinyl through our vendors or schedule an installation through our vendors which would have resulted in a final cost of much less than $771.00.

We will be forwarding a check in the amount of $400.00 to *** ******* ***** at the address we have on file and consider this matter closed.

 

Business Response: We have reviewed our files once again and our offer stands at $400.00 as previously stated.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Two Men and A Truck damaged the flooring.  They damaged private property that was NOT part of the move.  They are responsible for the full replacement cost.  They had over 6 months to send someone of their choice.  ***** was very rude and disrespectful.  

Regards,

****** ******




11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is Two Men and a Truck are not taking responsibility for breaking my dresser when they moved me on 9/29/13 When bring up the dresser to the apt. the movers set it in the bedroom upside down and was going to just leave it that why till I said something. They then had already had off most of the wrap and when they flipped it the drawers where popping out. During them moving me my friends where also moving stuff so it was crazy so we did not notice the broken dresser till after they had already left. My friend called the very next day Sept. 30, 2013 (the order was in her name)to inform them they broke my dresser. The damage they did was on the one of the side panel it is split in two all the way down. She spoke with a **** and he said I would need to let them know how old it was and where bought. I called as soon I got off work and spoke with an ****** told them my number and that the dresser was only 2 years old and from ****. She said the someone would call to come look at it with in 24 to 28 hours. Never got that call. Finally after many calls the repair guy calls and then says due to it being an ikea piece it could not be fixed but will let the office know this. I called the office the very next day they asked for pictures. I sent pictures to the office managers cell, they then forward to **** for OM was not working there anymore. He said he would get with the new OM and get back to me right away. After 3 days of not hearing anything I called again. Was told the OM was still working on it. After me getting very mad that it still was not fixed I finally spoke with an Antwan the new OM, he said he was just told about it 5 mins ago and it would depend on the inc we took out. We looked it only says if we see damage call with in 96 hours of move we did We where never offered any ins. Still not fixed to date. Antwan is not calling back and I keep getting the run around about what they are going to do to fix my dresser.

Desired Settlement: Went my dresser fixed or refunded the amount of dresser, cost to rebuild it, cost of gas to pick it up. Dresser was $250 2 years ago plus about 3 hours of my time to build it and picking it up Do not want anything less then $300.

Business Response:

We apologize for the unnecessary time and confusion in handling this claim. After speaking with the customer, we have agreed to purchase the same dresser at **** to replace the one that was damaged. In addition, we will be assembling the dresser and delivering it to the customer at a time that is convenient for her. *** ****** has agreed that this is a satisfactory resolution to her issue.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. As long as I receive my dresser by Nov. 8th. At this time I have not heard back as to when they will be bring the new dresser, when I talked to the office manager they where to call me back as to when they would deliver it and I have not heard anything back since Tues Oct. 29, 2013. 

Regards,

****** ******




Consumer Response: The dresser has not been delivered as of yet. The office manger did finally call me this Tues Nov. 12 and the are to deliver it this Tues Nov 19 at 7 pm.
  

Thank you for the follow up,

****** ******

Business Response: The new dresser was delivered yesterday, Novemeber 19.  Again, we apologize for the confusion and length of time it has taken for this matter to be resolved. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******




11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/7 we hired Two Men and a Truck to move our furniture from our home into storage. The two movers stated throughout the day that if any furniture is damaged that replace it. They stated that it is company policy to replace it and that it comes out of their pocket. During the move, they leaned our headboard up against our gas grill whie they were putting things into the storage unit. The grill was on wheels and was not secure. The grill moved, and the headboard fell to the ground. It was scratched in the center on the front. The movers told us that we would complete a damage form to initiate the refund. We completed the form the day of the damage (9/7). We began reaching out to Two Men and a Truck on Monday the 9/9 with little to no response. On 9/24 we were asked to provide a detailed description of the events that occurred to ******, which we provided. This was when the company began stating that the two movers were claiming I knocked the furniture over. This is a lie, and surely a result of a company policy that requires the movers to pay for the damages out of thier pocket. They did not respond to this email. I reached out to Two Men again with no response. We asked for the General Manager *** Wallace to call us for two weeks with no luck. On October 2nd I spoke with *** and she stated that ***** would call me- he never returned my call. I called back on 10/3 (I believe this is the exact date, I may be off a day or two) and spoke with *****. ****** was in the background coaching him on what to say. They offered to refund 1/2 of the cost of our headboard. I asked for *** Wallace to call me. I stated that they had shared on multiple occassions the policy was to replace the furniture. They said since the employees continue to deny the event we would split the cost. On 10/8 I called again since no one from Two Men had returned my calls. I spoke with ****** and she stated that "the movers are not supposed to state our policy of refunding for damaged furniture." She said "they are not supposed to share that they are held financially responsible." She stated that she would have *** call me the next day. On October 14th, *** emailed me stating, "Good Morning. ****** Boettcher in our Mason Office has made me aware of the claim you filed regarding a damaged headboard. In order to proceed with settlement of the claim I would ask that you provide a purchase receipt for the headboard in question. You can scan the receipt to Ms. Boettcher or myself and we will proceed with resolution of your claim. We sent the receipt 10/16. Once *** reviewed the receipt for $1700 he emailed: "We will not be providing a check for the full replacement amount of your headboard. It has come to my attention during discussions with ***** and ****** today that we have not gotten a repair quote from our vendor to repair the damage in question to your headboard. Usually this would be a first course of action as it is our right to decide whether a repair or cash settlement is the best course of action for settling particular claims. ***** ******** will pass along your information to our repair vendor who will be in touch and make arrangements to complete the necessary repairs at your convenience. I apologize that a vendor was not assigned to your claim sooner. We will make sure the repair work is scheduled as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience." Since this date they have had very little communication with us. Every interaction has required multiple calls or emails. I even reached out to their CEO and other executives to try any get someone to return my calls. Friday, 10/25 a vendor from their company reached out to me to try and schedule a repair of our headboard. I explained that we were in the middle of a dispute and that we would not permit them to repair our headboard. In the meantime, I have also filed a complaint with the Attorney General in hopes of resolving this quickly.

Desired Settlement: We paid $1713 for our bed. We are asking the company to fulfill the numerous oral committments they made to us, and issue us a check for the cost to replace our headboard. I am also open to discussing a mutually agreed upon compromise. We paid $682 for the movers and tipped the movers $200 cash (because they stated the cost of repair would come out of their check). One possible resolution would be to refund the money we have paid Two Men and a Truck given their lack of professionalism, lies, and damages to our property they caused. I would just like to resolve this quickly. Thank you.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

As stated by *** ************ in her complaint, there was some initial confusion as to who was responsible for the damage that occurred to her headboard.  The movers who performed the move continue to insist that they did not knock over the headboard, and that was the reason that our initial settlement offer was to split the cost of repair.  ***** ********, Operations Manager in our ***** office, extended this offer to *** ************ and she refused based on her feeling that the movers had entered into an "oral contract" to pay for a replacement headboard.  There is no such "oral contract".  We have spoken to the men involved and both deny making any statements about replacing the headboard and both men are experienced enough to know that we have skilled wood repair vendors that are able to repair simple scratches to wood furniture.   

After the initial offer was refused, I did request that the purchase receipt be provided.  We had made the decision to accept responsibility for the damage despite the insistence of our movers that they were not responsible, and we were considering whether a cash settlement offer would be a fair and prompt resolution.  If the cost of a replacement headboard had been close to our cost to repair we would have made a settlement offer.  It was not.  The request to provide a receipt was made with the intent of exploring another possible avenue for settlement.  At no time did I indicate that we would pay for a replacement headboard if they provided the purchase receipt.  One other issue to be aware of regarding the purchase receipt is that there is no itemized breakdown of the headboard, footboard, side rails etc.  The cost of the entire bed frame was approximately $1700.00.  Our liability in any case would be limited to the item we damaged.  We have confirmed with Arhaus furniture that the cost of the headboard alone at the time of purchase was $799.00, so the request for payment of $1700.00 is not appropriate.

As we have explained to *** ************ on numerous occasions, we do not acknowledge any "oral contract", therefore it is our right to repair damaged items as a first course of action according to the paperwork signed by *** ************ at the time the move was performed.  That is what we are willing to do.  We have several vendors that do quality work and they are more than capable of repairing the scratches to *** ************** headboard.  For her to insist that we pay for a replacement headboard or offer her a free move is not reasonable or fair.  Our typical repair cost for something like this would be $200-$300.  We would be willing to mail a settlement check for $300.00 in lieu of sending our repair vendor.  *** ************ could find her own capable vendor for that amount and likely have money left over.   

8/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We scheduled a move with the *****, ****, franchise of Two Men and a Truck for June 26, 2013. Two trucks and four men were scheduled to show up at 9:00. At 10:30 the morning of the move one truck and two men showed up and began to move us after thanking us for the careful preparations we had made. We had packed carefully, clearly marked boxes in terms of contents and placement in the new home, and we were careful to ensure easy access to all rooms. At about 2:00 in the afternoon, a second truck with two men arrived and joined in the work. At 4:00 one of the new arrivals claimed to find a bed bug in the bedding upstairs, called his supervisor, and the move was halted. We were told we would need to fumigate the entire house before they would return, and they gave us the option of their unloading what they had packed or taking it to the new house. We chose the latter; they drove to the new house and unloaded what they had packed, finishing their work a little after 6:00.We paid the movers for their work, a figure that almost exactly matched the estimate given to us over the phone. The next day we called a certified pest inspector and he came out on Friday, June 28 and examined the upstairs bedrooms. For almost two hours he probed all bedding, all clothing, looked from ceiling to floor, even behind pictures. He found nothing. You dont have bed bugs, he said as he left after writing his report. You dont even have spiders up there in those rooms.We sent the report to the ***** office and were told we would be contacted as soon as the report arrived. We never were, so we called the office. We were told the earliest date we could be moved was July 6. We were now left with clothes in one house, beds in another. We had to pack suitcases from the new house and move to the old house to sleep, which we did for three days before deciding to sleep on an uncomfortable sleeper couch in the new house. We essentially lived between houses from June 26 to July 6. We had two homes, neither of which we could live in.Our experience with the ***** franchise was simply horrible. Either the workers didnt want to work, knew they had met the estimate and wanted to quit, or didnt know a bed bug from a lady bug. We suspect they knew there were no bed bugs because they did move one of the mattresses from the upstairs bedroom to the new house after telling us we had a bed bug infestation, something they surely wouldnt have done had they believed the house had a problem.

Desired Settlement: We would like the following reimbursement from the ***** franchise of Two Men and a Truck:$80, the needless cost of bringing an inspector to our home.$150, mileage for three trips between the houses as we attempted to survive the unjustified cessation of our move.The total were asking for is $230, a figure that doesnt come close to reimbursing us for the stress and discomfort we experience working with this franchise.

Business Response:

At Two Men And A Truck we always try to exceed customers expectations.  I am sorry that we did not in this case.  I am glad that our sister office did get your move taken care of and your move is completed and that you are happy.  This is not what how we do things in my ***** office and again I am sorry that this happened the way that it did.  I am sorry for your inconvience and the extra time it took to get you moved.  We truely have much higher standards.

I have sent your address to the owner and the check should be mailed out to your new address.  You should recieve your check within 5-7 business days.  I hope that you love your new home and wish you well.  And I am very happy that you did complete your move with our sister office. 

 

Thank You and Best Wishes

****** *********

Franchise Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

The money we have asked for represents the actual expenses incurred because of the unjustified interruption of our move.  Nothing could make up for the stress and trauma that marred what should have been a very happy occasion.  We accept the payment but suggest consumers look at another franchise when they research potential moving companies.  

Regards,

 

***** ******

 

 

 

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men and a Truck took 5 hours to move a refrigerator, upright freezer, and a washer and dryer on pedestals less than 4 miles away and also caused damage to a refrigerator and stairs, walls, and banister while moving the refrigerator down the stairs on December 14, 2012. They did repair the stairs, walls, and banister, but tried to refuse blame on the damage to the refrigerator. Finally, they called a repairman and I mailed them the receipts on March 12, 2013. After I made numerous followup calls, the office manager said the owner was sending me a check on June 10, 2013. No check came. On June 20th, the office manager said she would send a money order. I still have not received payment. The repair bill for getting the refrigerator working was $637.91. The replacement doors cost $587.40. The total cost for repairing the refrigerator back to its original state before it was damaged by Two Men and a Truck was $1225.31.I also paid them $451 for a move that was estimated to take 2 hours and took them 5 hours (they were "kind" enough to only charge me for 4 hours) because they couldn't get a refrigerator out of the original house and had to call in a third man and they tried moving the other refrigerator down stairs and got stuck on the landing and had to carry it back up and start over.

Desired Settlement: At the minimum, Two Men and a Truck owe me the $1225.31 they have told me they would pay after I used the repairman THEY called and submitted the receipts as they asked.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the damages to ******* fridge and we are sending the said amout for the doors. That check will be sent out this week.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *****

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Two Men & A Truck
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart