BBB Accredited Business since

Planes Moving & Storage, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (513) 759-6000 Fax: (513) 759-3699 View Additional Phone Numbers 9823 Cincinnati Dayton Rd, West Chester, OH 45069 http://www.planesmoving.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Planes Moving and Storage is an agent for United Van Lines. The business provides full service and do it yourself moving products and services for local, long distance or international moves.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Planes Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Planes Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Planes Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1920 Business incorporated 03/28/1956 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Baughman, Director of Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Baughman, Director of Customer Service
Related Businesses
Planes Moving & Storage, Inc. Stacey Moving & Storage, Inc. Portable Storage Solutions, LLC
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Warehousing Services Relocation Service

Method(s) of Payment
Checks, AmEx, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
Additional Information

Planes Moving & Storage operates a storage company named Go Mini's Portable Storage Solutions. Stacey Moving & Storage is a division of Planes. Separate reports on these companies are available upon request.

Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Choosing a Storage Facility Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Planes Moving & Storage, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7529 Sussex Drive Suite 300

    Florence, KY 41042 (859) 371-4440

  • 9823 Cincinnati Dayton Rd

    West Chester, OH 45069 (513) 759-6000 (513) 759-3666 (800) 543-4977

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the sales process, we were advised the moving crew would have special protection for our paintings. We purchased optional insurance to cover any unforeseen damages. On moving day, the crew advised us they had no special protection for our paintings. We offered them the use of our bubble wrap and boxes we had used for transporting the paintings during our previous move. To our shock and dismay, we found the crew CRAMMING our paintings into other boxes without putting any type of protection around them. i.e., literally stuffing pictures into a mirror carton and scraping paint off frames, scratching them, and breaking some of the corners. We were able to stop them but not before several frames had been damaged. Planes Moving & Storage has refused to pay for the damage even though we purchased insurance. They have not responded to our appeal. This was the worst move of our lives. Several other things happened which are outlined in the letter below. ============================== Initial letter: August 29, 2013 name withheld as instructed Planes Companies / United Van Lines 9823 Cincinnati-Dayton Road West Chester, OH 45069 RE: move (8/17/2013) Dear name withheld as instructed As requested, here is an itemization of the charges we are disputing. 1) Mattress cartons: a. Quote was for (2) @$15.00 each = $30.00 b. Charge was for (3) @$15.00 each & (2) @$6.75 each = $58.50 c. REFUND: $28.50 2) Mirror cartons (paintings): a. It was noted during the estimate/quote that we had “…a lot of paintings”. We were advised that a special paper would be used for wrapping and packing to avoid damage to the oil paintings, etc. When the crew arrived, they advised us that they did not bring any of that paper. When we noticed them cramming and stuffing the paintings into mirror cartons with nothing between each frame, we were horrified. Not having the special paper, we offered our own bubble wrap for cushioning the paintings from one another if the crew thought that would be safe. Since the move, we have noted several nicks, dings, and scratches on the paintings, and a large “wrinkle” in one large oil painting. We have not yet had time to examine painting or frame in detail. b. We had (8) mirror cartons (from prior move) with some paintings already packed. Instead of using those cartons, we were charged for (7) additional (and unneeded) cartons @$9.25 each = $64.75. c. REFUND: $64.75 plus damages 3) Second trip for washer & dryer: a. When reviewing with the crew what was to be moved from our apartment, one of the first items noted was the washer & dryer. Items that we were moving ourselves were isolated in two bathrooms and one closet with signs clearly stating “Owner will move the contents of this room (or closet)”. We informed them that we had contracted for them to pack and move all the items that were not in those three isolation rooms. When the crew announced they were all done packing & loading, the following items had not yet been packed or loaded from inside the apartment: washer, dryer, 2 standing lamps, 1 desk lamp, desk drawer filled with hanging files, two kitchen cabinets, and the entire (dry food) pantry. And the following items had not been loaded from the garage: 8 mirror cartons (previously mentioned with some paintings already packed), three-1.5 cu ft. boxes and one 3.0-cu ft. box. b. The crew indicated they would have to make a second trip since the washer & dryer wouldn’t fit. Professional packers and movers should have been able to pack the truck that was used with the washer & dryer in one load with several cubic feet to spare especially knowing at the beginning that it was part of the move. We shouldn’t have to pay extra because they forgot to plan for it while loading. Two (2) extra hours labor @$122.00/hour = $244.00 hours. c. REFUND: $244.00. 4) Crew size: a. It’s our understanding that the original estimate was based on 2 packers for 8/16 and 3 movers for 8/17. While working with our coordinator, we were advised that Planes wanted to combine the packing and moving into one day; since our move was so small, it would be more efficient that way. After making sure that the special paper for protecting our paintings was scheduled as part of the packing and doing it this way would take less total time, we agreed to a one-day move on 8/17. At that point, we were informed that two (2) packers and four (4) movers would be at our home for the move on 8/17. We were a bit concerned when a crew of only three (3) people showed up. The crew agreed among themselves that one of them would pack while the other two loaded. b. The quote seems to indicate that our move would be accomplished in about seven (7) hours with a crew of three (movers). It’s not possible to determine how things might have been affected with the larger crew that was promised but it seems logical that the extra trip could surely have been avoided. While the extra trip accounts for approximately two (2) extra hours labor, having the smaller crew size likely contributed to at least one extra hour over the original estimate. One (1) extra hour labor @$122.00/hour = $122.00. c. REFUND: $122.00 TOTAL REFUND: $ 28.50 (mattress cartons) $ 64.75 (mirror cartons) $244.00 (unnecessary trip for washer & dryer) $122.00 (extra hour due to understaffed crew) ---------- $459.25 plus damages We questioned the driver about these items when he presented the bill at the end of the day. His response was that everything is based on the hourly charge. Since Debbie had already spoken with you, and you indicated that you “…would take care of us…”, we did not argue with him but paid the amount requested, trusting that these items would be taken care of as promised. Thanks for your help. Sincerely, name withheld as instructed =================== Appeal letter January 31, 2014 name withheld as instructed Planes United Van Lines 9823 Cincinnati-Dayton Road West Chester, OH 45069 Dear name withheld as instructed: This letter is to formally dispute your letter dated January 14, 2013 (sic). There is no question that our pictures and picture frames were damaged during the move on 8/17/2013. It would seem that you are not aware of all the circumstances. A copy of other correspondence is attached for your information. Simply stated, on moving day, the crew showed up announcing that they did NOT have the necessary “special paper” for wrapping our pictures, even though this had been discussed from the very beginning of the planning process. To our complete chagrin, during the packing process, we saw the crew STUFFING our pictures (frame and all) into mirror cartons…WITHOUT any protection whatsoever. In the process of JAMMING wood frames together, several were damaged by the crew. To claim that the damage sustained would “…not result from the carrier mishandling during transit” is totally off base. The damage occurred during packing; a fact we’ve done our best to make known to you and other personnel at Planes United over the past several months. Similarly, the planter was damaged during PACKING. The pictures you may have seen were taken AFTER we had to remove all the decimated foliage, in an attempt to retain some usefulness from the item. I will be sending you a JPG file of the oil painting via email. It was taken after the painting was removed from the moving van. That the canvas is rippled from the heat is clearly seen; this due to no protection being afforded the painting. It was simply loaded on the truck without any boxing or wrapping whatsoever. The weather almanac indicates an outdoor temperature of 83 degrees on 8/17/2013. Frankly, we’re at a loss to understand your reasoning about these items. We purchased insurance to make sure that any problems would be quickly resolved. Certainly the insurance provides a few dollars for replacing damaged picture frames; especially when the damage was due to negligent packing. Now that you have more insightful information, we look forward to a speedy & reasonable claim settlement. Sincerely, name withheld as instructed Cc: name withheld as instructed, CEO name withheld as instructed, President ========================== letter to CEO & President Dear name withheld as instructed, CEO Dear name withheld as instructed, President, I am writing because I felt it was very important that you know what is happening within your company. I am writing about our experience with Planes Moving. Imagine this being you and your family. We moved on Saturday, August 17, 2013 with your company. We had a very good experience with the initial evaluation by your salesman, name withheld as instructed. He assured us that Planes would "take care of us". We were to have 2 packers on Friday, August 16th and 3 movers on Saturday August 17th. We have many valuable paintings; both oil and acrylic and all beautifully framed. name withheld as instructed pointed out on several occasions that special paper must be used for the paintings to be shipped properly in the summer heat in the moving trucks. We absolutely agreed since our artwork is precious to us. We were assured that Planes had professional packers and we agreed to have Planes pack a large portion of our valuable belongings. We were assigned a coordinator, name withheld as instructed, who took 45 minutes to review our moving information with me on the phone. More time than really needed to review a few details but name withheld as instructed liked to talk and establish the importance of her job. I asked name withheld as instructed about the special packing paper for the paintings and she guaranteed that we would have it just like our salesman did. We asked name withheld as instructed for boxes to start packing what we could ourselves. Due to the fact that I asked for boxes, name withheld as instructed was now trying to change our packing date which we did not want to do at all. Our original plan which is what we wanted was to have 2 packers on Friday and 3 movers on Saturday. Over several conversations with her, she pushed us into having the movers pack and move on the same day. We were very uncomfortable with this. name withheld as instructed assured us there would be 2 packers and 4 movers early Saturday morning and since we were paying an hourly charge the move would be done more quickly this way. Under a certain amount of uncomfortable duress, we agreed. After all, Planes is an experienced company, right? name withheld as instructed has told us that that's what her job is to coordinate this whole move for us. On the Saturday in question, 3 men showed up at our door and tell us that they have bad news. First, there are only 3 of them, and secondly they don't have the special wrap for our paintings. We ended up with 1 packer and only 2 movers when we were promised 2 packers and 4 movers if we agreed to packing and moving the same day. Thank you name withheld as instructed, our coordinator! Her promise to save us money and time on moving was fabricated since she could not follow through. We were obviously very upset but HAD to move. My husband showed the father (in charge) what there was to pack, what was in the garage already packed, the newer boxes from last year’s packing which we wanted used before they used their boxes which we had to pay extra for. We showed them everything we needed moved. We showed them the washer and dryer, which they eventually forgot. During this ordeal of packing and moving and the chaos going on, I found my precious paintings STUFFED IN BOXES ONE ON TOP OF ANOTHER LIKE GARBAGE. THESE MEN WERE IN NO WAY "PROFESSIONAL PACKERS" TO TREAT delicate oil and acrylic ARTWORK LIKE THIS. They took a narrow mirror box and LITERALLY CRAMED in 3 large paintings, one box after another. My precious oil painting which goes over the fireplace is now rippled from the damage of packing and the heat in the truck. My frames are scratched and damaged. They moved us to our new home and forgot to pack our entire pantry, table and several lamps which they just left without explanation. Then we were told that they didn't have room on their truck for our washer and dryer which they totally forgot to make room for. They were instructed by us to make sure our paintings go in last, are moved quickly and therefore will come out first. They just took my paintings put them in near the front of the hot truck. The Nightmare continues... I drove to our new home waiting for the movers while my husband stayed at our old residence packing up the pantry, the lamps trying to move the table by himself which were left there with our washer and dryer. I was so upset over this total mess that I called Planes emergency number and talked to name withheld as instructed. I told him the movers "packed so poorly that they ruined my artwork; had to make another trip back to the residence to get the washer and dryer which they said WE HAD TO PAY FOR regardless of their incompetency. When the movers had their lunch, they showed up to my new home and were moving in loads of boxes. I was trying to figure out what was in each one to tell them where to put the boxes. I couldn't read the scribble on the few boxes that were labeled so I was opening up boxes and looking in them to see what was there SO I could then tell the movers where to put each box. When the father, in charge saw what I was doing, he abruptly told me that if I were opening boxes I would BE CHARGED for it. The movers couldn't take the time for me to see what was in them before dropping them off in the incorrect rooms. I was trying to find my tiffany lamp in the living room boxes and asked where my lamp was. The father literally ripped open the box on which I could not read his son's writing and shoved it into my face. I was shocked by his manners. I found him somewhat intimidating. He acted like he was angry the whole time and this made my husband and I uncomfortable. I actually wanted this whole ordeal to be over and wanted him out of my home. When the move was completed...We were charged for 10 hours of moving a small 2 bedroom apartment into a new home that we built. A huge amount of boxes were already previously packed by us. Most of our furniture was just newly purchased and already at the house so the movers didn't even have to move a great deal of furniture. We just did not have that much to move. Following the move, we received a call from name withheld as instructed, our coordinator, on Monday August 19th who said she was "looking into this matter". We waited and waited. My husband had to keep calling to find out the update on the reimbursement as well as filing a claim for damage of some artwork. Finally 7 days later Jen calls to tell us that there is nothing that Planes is willing to do for us. We never heard from name withheld as instructed again. He said he would take care of this situation, he did not. I guess we are not important enough customers which is what the message is from Planes. I called Planes myself to write directly to you. I felt this whole situation needs to be addressed by people in charge of the company. I felt that you would want and need to know how your company is being run. When I called for your name and address, I was transferred to name withheld as instructed. He did not remember me nor the emergency phone call on August 17th; nor did he remember declining to help us after assessing the situation. I informed him that I was writing to you. He then asked me, "what do you want from us?". I thought that was an interesting but very poor way to apologize. He offered his e-mail, asked me NOT to contact you and he indicated he would "see" what he could do once again. He was certainly no help on an emergency basis , why should he be of any service to us now? I feel differently than name withheld as instructed. I feel you need to know about our experience. My husband and I have been put through a terrible ordeal from your company. We are greatly disappointed in the people who are out there representing Planes to us and to the community. We certainly would no longer recommend your company. My husband has used Planes frequently over the years in his company business and that is why he wanted Planes to personally move us into our newly built home. Imagine your family going through this experience with Planes and how you would feel. We feel this whole ordeal was disgraceful. Sincerely yours, name withheld as instructed

Desired Settlement: Refund for $244.00 relating to extra charges for the move because of extra time and trips required due to movers "forgetting" to load the washer & drier on first trip and "forgetting" to finish packing. Our original letter details overages of $459.25; to date we have received only $215.25. Settlement of $1,250.00 for damaged art work as enumerated in the claim form. - Six (6) picture frames at $75.00 each = $450.00 - One (1) planter at $300.00 each = $300.00 - One (1) oil painting at $500.00 each = $500.00

Business Response: Dear **** *****,
 
We are in receipt of the above captioned complaint by our former customer.  The complaint text is lengthy and repetitious in content.  It appears to be a collection of several different communications regarding the ********* experience with our company.  This move occurred in August of 2013, nearly a year and a half ago.  All of the issues stated and restated in this complaint have been presented to us prior and have been acted upon.  Space forbids trying to, once again, focus on each individual point of the complaint as it has been presented to the Bureau.  Instead we will move directly to the *********  Desired Settlement.
 
The settlement sought is tied to reimbursement or repair of damaged items and also a monetary refund back to them on the amount they paid for our services.  First, in the matter of the claimed damages, we processed their claim through our Claims Department.  The items were inspected by a trained, professional claims adjuster.  The third party company used for this evaluation is a member of the Claims Prevention and Procedures Council.  They are not Planes personnel.  Our claim settlement decision is based on their visual inspection and evaluation.  A copy of our settlement letter to the ********* is attached here.
 
Regarding their request for a refund on the money paid for their move;  the amount of labor estimated on our original Estimate/Order For Service that was provided to the ********* totaled $1456.00.  Once the move was completed, the actual cost of the labor required to complete the move was $1220.00.  Despite the fact that we completed the move with a labor cost that was $236.00 under estimate, our customer was less than satisfied.  As an additional Customer Service gesture, we sent them a refund of $212.25.  They accepted our refund.  That fact was confirmed on January 28,2014 when they put their mark on our Full and Final Settlement endorsement and cashed our check.
 
While this action is new to the Bureau, the issues reported in the complaint have been presented to Planes several times prior.  Each time they were measured and evaluated.  In the absence of any new information from the ********* our position remains unchanged.
 
Any additional comments can be directed to me.
 
Regards,
 
*** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

 I find no place on your web site to reply to Planes erroneous analysis of what happened. They say the price was less than their quote, but ignore the fact that the quote was based on an entirely different size crew. We outlined the discrepancy in their charges. The partial payment they made in no way was documented as their final settlement. Their supposed independent claim adjuster is a company on their payroll. The people that came out were people who restore broken & damaged items, not investigators who can determine how our paintings were damaged. We KNOW how they were damaged; we saw the Planes employees CRUSH them into boxes that were not intended to hold paintings. And they did this WITHOUT any packing or PROTECTION around the paintings. We feel defrauded about the insurance since Planes refuses to pay any claim, even though the damages were clearly due to negligence on their part. We did not receive a single correspondence or phone call from them
 to discuss things outlined in our letters. They ignored our phone calls. Our move with Planes was the worst experience of our lives.

Regards,
Deborah & Lee Johnsen

Business Response:

We are responding to the ********* January 20, 2015 rebuttal (included below) to our reply to their Bureau complaint.  We ask that you, again, read our earlier response.  We have responded to each/all of the Johnsen issues many times in the eighteen months since their move took place.  Our multiple responses have been through direct mail communication with the *********, email communication with the *********,  telephone conversations with the *********, and finally through their complaint filing with Better Business Bureau.  Their descriptions and opinions of their move experience have been repeated to us many times.  We have acted on each based on the facts involved.  The *********, obviously, don’t like our decisions nor our actions.  But continuing to publish the same critical opinions over and over provide no useful purpose.

 

We are sorry that the ********* are less than satisfied with their experience with our organization, but their opinions are not consistent with the facts.  Once again, in the absence of any new information to consider our position remains unchanged.

 

Any additional information may be directed to me.

 

Regards,

*** ********

 

 

 

***** ** ********
Director 
Residential Services
Planes Companies / United Van Lines
9823 Cincinnati-Dayton Road
West Chester, OH  45069
###-###-#### | ###-###-####
Fax:  ###-###-####
***************************** * ***********************

 

2/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been in contact with Planes Moving Company for two months, hoping they would locate my missing boxes that were stored in their facility in **** *******, ****.I received a letter the latter part of last week informing me that, since these boxes were packed by me, they are not responsible. These boxes were,in fact,packed by them. I paid to have all lamps, pictures and mirrors packed by them.The letter also stated that I was given a form to mark off each item as it was delivered. I was never given such a form to mark anything off.I would appreciate any information from you as to how I can resolve this issue to my satisfaction.******** ***********

Desired Settlement: I paid insurance for the move, and believe they should pay for the lost items packed by them. I submitted to them a claim with a list of the lost items.******** ***********

Business Response:

Dear **** *****,
We are in receipt of the complaint captioned above.  Our former customer, ******** ***********, filed the complaint claiming some items in her recent move from ********** to *********, ** were lost and undelivered.  She says that we denied the damage/loss claim that she had filed upon the completion of her move.  She is correct, we did deny her claim.  The claim was denied because she had earlier (on delivery day) confirmed that she had received everything that had been in our custody during the move.

To respond to this Bureau complaint we have attached copies of the Bill of Lading, the Household Goods Descriptive Inventory forms, and the Inventory Control Form from her move.  Each bears her signature confirming delivery.


The first document in the attachment is a copy of the *********** Bureau complaint.  After that is the Bill of Lading,  Attachment #1.  In the lower left of this form is the Delivery Acknowledgement.  Under that heading it states, "Shipment was received in apparent good condition except as noted on inventory and services ordered were performed."  On the signature line labeled "Received by Customer's Signature" is ** *********** mark.

Attachments #2 through #7 are the Household Goods Descriptive Inventory forms for the complainant's move.  In the lower right of the form (each) is the delivery acceptance section.  This section is headed with  WARNING  -  "Before Signing Check Shipment, Count Items and Describe Loss Or Damage In Space On the Right Above."    This wording mirrors the similar wording on the above form, the Bill of Lading.  Her mark appears on each of these six inventory forms as the Customer Or Authorized Agent accepting the shipment.  Also note there were no exceptions taken on the inventories at the time of delivery.

Attachment #8 is the Inventory Control Form.  It is another Verification of Receipt, as printed near the top of the form.  Near the lower right of this form are two boxes that also confirm delivery.  One is labeled,  "I have checked off the Inventory Control Form."  ** *********** initialed that she had.  The second reads,  "Was everything received?"  ** *********** checked  YES.  Under those boxes is a final signature line.  It, too, was signed by *** ***********.

On these eight documents there are ten opportunities to confirm or deny receipt of goods.  Each was marked affirmative, confirming delivery, by our customer.

Any additional communication re**rding this complaint may be directed to me.


Regards,

*** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******** ***********

 

I did sign the paper. The delivery man assured me all boxes where there, showed me his paper with all his markings. I believed him as there was no way on delivery day to check as the boxes were brought in. My mistake! I did give them a very detailed list of what was missing after I unpacked the boxes in my possession.. For a lenghty time they strung me along saying they would look for my missing boxes, I would not recommend that anyone use Planes Moving and Storage. There business practice is misleading and verges on corrupt.

Business Response:

We are responding to ** ***********'s rebuttal (attached) to our reply to her complaint filing with the Bureau.  She claims undelivered/lost cartons during her move despite having confirmed delivery at destination.  The correct, legal process for accepting destination delivery is explained to all of our customers, including the complainant, at several points during the move process.  Our sales representative explain it on estimate day.  Once contracted, the Relocation Counselor covers it in their initial telephone call.  It is spelled out in the Counselor's initial email confirming all the facts and information about the upcoming move.  Below, here, is an excerpt from our initial confirmation email to ** ***********.  This is the section regarding delivery day:  

 

   

DELIVERY DATE & DELIVERY SPREAD

?Please note that the above dates represent a delivery spread.  This means your shipment could be delivered any time during this date spread.  It is imperative that you give me and your van operator all possible contact numbers for you during transit and at destination so that you can be notified of the scheduled delivery date.

?You must be available to take delivery on each and every day in your delivery spread; I will monitor the arrival of your shipment and give you as much notice as possible.  Please be aware, the van operator can give as little as one day notice for delivery. 

?DO NOT WAIVE THE RIGHT TO CHECK OFF.  Use the Bingo sheet provided by the driver to check off your items  as they are unloaded.  Notate any missing  items on the BINGO sheet.  This check off will protect you in the claims process should any item be missing.  Failure to complete your check off may subject you to claims denial.

?Complete a  FINAL WALK THROUGH prior to signing off on paperwork and releasing the crew.   Make sure that all items are in the correct room, placed properly, and standard assembly  is complete prior to the crew leaving.  Remember to check for any damages to the physical structure of your home.  Property damage must be documented  on the driver’s paperwork prior to signing.  Please also report the damage to me.

 

 

The delivery, check-off, and signing process is covered again (verbally) by the Relocation Counselor during the 24 hour til delivery day telephone call.

 

As we stated in our original reply, ** *********** confirmed that everything was delivered with her signature or a checkmark on every destination document presented to her.  Every numbered inventory item was marked off as received at destination.  In her claim filing, she did not supply us with an inventory number for the two cartons she claimed as lost.  Every item in our custody was inventoried and numbered.  ALL of those items were delivered.  ** *********** admits signing at destination in her rebuttal.  What else is there?

 

** ************* last sentence in her rebuttal is;   “There [sic] business practice is misleading and verges on corrupt”.   Throughout this full move experience, through our initial Bureau complaint response, and in this reply, no fair evaluator could find us misleading.  Further, her suggestion that we “verge on corrupt” is way off the mark and totally without merit.  The *********** Bureau filing is emotional and petty and lacks any business or professional basis.  This is a non-complaint and the file should be closed as we have operated fairly and responsibly.

 

Further communication may be directed to me.

 

Regards,

*** ********

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Why can't they just look for and locate  for my missing boxes. They are in their warehouse.

Regards,

******** ***********

Business Response:

In ** ***********’s rebuttal of January 27 she asks, “Why can’t they just look for and locate for [sic} my missing boxes.”  “They are in their warehouse.”  At the time of her claim filing we did a full trace of shipments through our Interstate Dispatch Operations on and about the time of her interstate shipment.  Additionally we checked all inbound and outbound warehouse activity during the time period around when the *********** shipment came in and the timeframe when it went out of our facility.  We did this as part of the claims process despite the fact that ** *********** had signed that she had received everything.  A**in, the numbered inventory items were all checked off as received.  There were no inventory item numbers nor content descriptions for the cartons claimed as missing on the claim filing by ** ***********.

 

We are sorry that our customer is less than satisfied.  We are sorry that she feels that our continued explanations of the facts do not resolve her complaint.  But after our thorough tracing and confirming that everything was delivered (by ** ***********), we have closed the claim file.  There is nothing further that can be investigated.

 

Regards,

*** ********

  

 

  

 

***** ** ********
Director 
Residential Services
Planes Companies / United Van Lines
9823 **********-Dayton Road
**** *******, OH  45069
###-###-#### | ###-###-####
Fax:  ###-###-####
***************************** | www.planescompanies.com

 

1/31/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising about there insurance to handle damaged goods they caused. We used them to move from ********** to *******. During the move they broke my grill and tv. Sent a service tech out to look at he said they need to be replaced. Moving company said they are not responsible for tv's or grill. They claimed the grill was not in movable condition. It's solid steel 300+ Lbs. And the tv they packaged. I called the reps that helped us and they said everything is covered call the vp and he say he doesn't handle that stuff. Since the claim I've called numerous times and no one will call back. They only way to dispute this is pay for litigation which comes out to a little less than value of goods damaged.

Desired Settlement: Replace or send check for full value.

Business Response: We are responding to the above captioned complaint filed with the Bureau by our customer **** ***** **********.  Attachment #1 is a copy of the ********** complaint.  The ********** complaint names "false advertising" by Planes in the representation of our damage protection products in the event of loss or damage during his move.  The type of damage claimed by the **********'s following their move is not covered under the terms of the protection option they selected.  The specific claim exceptions are spelled out in the Bill of Lading, which they signed.  At the time of the denial, the reasons were explained in discussions with *** ********** on more than one occasion.  They were also described in our claim settlement letter to the customer.  A copy of this settlement letter is also attached, here.  Attachment #2.

During and after the move, we performed as contracted.  Following a professional damage inspection and the processing of their claim, the ************ disagreed with the decision rendered by our Claims Department and the insurer.  In their complaint to the Bureau they have presented no new, unheard information for us to consider.  Accordingly, are position remains.

As *** ********** mentioned in his Bureau complaint, our decision regarding his claim is arbitration eligible.  The arbitration process is described in the claim settlement letter.

Further communication may be directed to me.

Regards,

*********** ******** ****** ********* * ****** *** ***** **** ***************** **** **** ******** **  *****
###-###-#### | ###-###-####
Fax:  ###-###-####
***************************** * ***********************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

 I've called numerous times to discuss and the only response I got was go to arbitration.  The cost of abitration almost covers the cost of the damaged goods so I feel they do this on purpose so they don't have to pay.  As regards to the claim that the grill was not on the inventory list, there were alot of items not on the list.  We were told since we were the only items on the truck it was not required to inventory every item.  (told waste of time).  Also, when I talked to our move coordinator I was told everything was covered.  Aslo told everything was covered by the person who came to our house to do the walk through.  As for the grill not being in move condition is a lie.  They stated they view from the pics to determine that.  Well that was after the move and after they damaged it.  The gill in question is a 300 plus pound stainless steel grill.  To watch their guy drag it through the yard with the wheels locked was unreal.  Not prfesional at all.  As for the TV not being covered, I was told by the two same people above it was even after I recieved the rejection letter.  I called and talked to both coordinators and they said it was covered.  When I called the claims department to talk about this they will not return my calls.  I've even called the VP and his responce was to call the claims department.  When I called back to say after numerous calls they won't call back, he stoped calling back.  Why?  To me thats hiding someting.  I called the this morning acting as a new customer and talked to a rep about a move and asked what was covered under the insurance ance they said eveything.  So some where some one is lieing.  Why would I trust anyone to move my items if they won't protect it.  I would have moved them myself.

Regards,

**** **********

Business Response:

We are responding to our customer's rebuttal to our reply to his initial complaint filing with the Bureau.  In his rebuttal he restates the same issues that were part of his original complaint.  During and since his move nearly seventeen months ago, he has expressed his concerns with us several times.  During the course of our professional relationship he has communicated those concerns to a number of people in our organization who have touched his move and/or were involved in the claims process;  his Sales Representative, his Relocation Counselor, his Claims Adjuster, our Senior Claims Adjuster, our Vice President of Claims, and our Vice President of Customer Service.  Our customer's claim that no one in our organization will talk to him is patently untrue.

It is unfortunate that our customer is not happy with the results found by the professional third damage inspector, our Claims Adjuster, and our insurer.  But the facts don't support his position.  He has been made aware of the federally mandated arbitration program that is available to hear his case but chooses not to utilize it; certainly his right.  His alternative path, to complain to the Better Business Bureau, is proving to be circular and repetitious.

In the absence of any new information, our position remains unchanged.

Regards,


*** ***** ** ******** ******** *********** ******** ****** ********* * ****** *** ***** **** ***************** **** **** ******** **  ***** ************ * ************ ****  ************ ***************************** * ***********************

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Planes moved my household contents in May. After the move, there were damages noted to my furniture. I completed the form as requested. I had a balance of approx. $900. I requested that they give me a statement to assure that when I pay the balance they would inturn honor my damages and pay me for the repairs I had to make. They refuse to do so. They have emailed me numerous times and I have replied back, that I will gladly pay them as long as I have something in writing that they will pay for the repairs. The repairs are approximately $300. Now, they are stating to me that they will send this to a third party collections agency. I would appreciate your assistance. In good faith, all I am asking for is their assurance in writing that they will pay for the repairs. In my opinion, they are being totally unreasonable.

Desired Settlement: Planes will reimburse me for my damaged furniture repairs.

Business Response:

We have received the above reference Bureau complaint from our customer, *** ****.  ** ******  Desired Settlement  is “Planes will reimburse me for my damaged furniture repairs.”  In her complaint, she acknowledges that she is withholding payment of $900.00 that is due Planes.  She is asking for our written assurance that we will pay for repairs to her damaged furniture before she will pay the balance due us.  She states that we said we will send the debt to a third party collection agency.

 

The rest of the facts are; we moved ** **** from the ******, **** area into our **** ******* warehouse to be stored until she found a home in this area.  The move into storage was in November of 2011.  It remained in our facility until she called for her goods in May of 2014.  In an effort to secure her as a customer and as a consideration to her, we discounted our normal intra-**** moving rates as well as reducing our regular monthly storage rates to fit her financial requests.  The agreed contracted storage rate was $300.00 per month.  ** **** didn’t pay her storage for May 2012, August 2012, nor the last full month in our warehouse, April of 2014.  That is the $900.00 due us.  The delinquency of money due us began two years before the delivery out was requested and the damage was claimed.  As of the date of this Bureau reply, the storage due is still listed on our 90+ delinquency receivables.  Actually we’ve waited about two and half years since the first storage non-payment.  In her complaint, ** **** refers to us as “unreasonable”.  We think not.

 

When we operate within the state of ****, we do so under the legal authority and guidelines of the **** Association of Movers and the tariff of the Public Utilities Commission of ****.  Reading from the OAM Tariff PUCO, in the section CLAI**, Item 190, Article D;   “Any claim for loss, damage or overcharge shall be in writing.  As a condition precedent to any claim adjustment or payment, such claim shall be accompanied by the original paid bill for transportation and the original Bill of Lading.”

 

 

 

Also, it was explained to ** **** more than once that the receivable must be cleaned up first.  Then the damage claim would be addressed.  Below is just one example.  This email was sent to ** **** by her Clai** Adjuster on June 9, 2014.

       

    

Hello **. ****,

 

Good morning, I am the clai** adjuster assigned to your claim. Your claim form was received on May 29, and a review of your claim and move paperwork is in progress. As part of the clai** process, we may be required to document the damages claimed. Please do not repair, replace, or dispose of any of the ite** on your claim form.

 

I understand that there is an outstanding balance due on your move. We cannot finalize a settlement until the move is paid in full. I'll be your main point of contact throughout the clai** process, so if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me.

 

Best Regards,

 

******* *********

Clai** Adjuster

 

 

 

Once payment is received, the claim will be resolved within the guidelines of the protection coverage selected by **. ****.

 

We released her goods to her without the full payment due us.  Something we never do.  We provided discounted intra-**** transportation rates.  We provided discounts off of our normal storage rates.  We provided all our services to her on the date/dates she requested.  We performed precisely as contracted.  ** ****** shortsighted Bureau filing is disappointing.  I don’t know how much more reasonable we can be.

 

Any further communication can be directed to me.

 

Regards,

*** ********

 

 

    

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

***** ****

 

Hello,

 

I am responding to the email associated with the complaint I made against Planes Moving and Storage. I reviewed the response from the Account representative. Here are a few facts that were missing from her information. *** ******** was my point of contact and he did a fantastic job of securing my furniture and making ensuring my move went smoothly. Due to my long storage timeframe, he did offer me a discount. However, I do believe I am not the only customer that has had long term storage in which they offered a discount.  I paid my moving expense immediately after the move was completed.  They called and emailed  me a bill for $900 stating it was from past storage. I shared that I was not aware and would review my own records. During that timeframe, I discovered that a few pieces of my furniture were damaged. I sent the clai** form in. At that time I was hoping for an adjustor or some sort of response on the damage so I could proceed with the repairs. (Exhibit #1)

 

Following that time, I did state that I reviewed my records and Planes was correct in the storage charges. In order to ensure I would receive the damages as sent in to them, I simply ask that they give to me in writing an assurance that my damages would be taken care of . (Exhibit #2) However, as you can see from the remaining emails I have copied for this complaint, they would not give to me a statement with the amount of damages they were going to pay. (Exhibit #3) Instead the account manager, *****, appeared to try to strong arm me due to the fact that she represents a large company and I am a consumer of their services and must comply. Again, my only point was to ensure that Planes was going to give me my full amount due for damages. Not just say, you pay us and we will pay you. Pay me what amount and when??

 

*** ******** and his movers could not have been more pleasant and easy to work with. They were helpful and courteous. However, due to the back and forth with the account representative, I had nowhere else to turn as a consumer but to the BBB. It is misleading and not in “good faith” that Planes refuses to state in writing the amount of damages they will pay me. I have already had my furniture repaired and have all copies of the receipts. (Again, it is less than the $900 I owe them) Yet, Planes only response is I must pay them regardless of my request. See** very one sided.

 

If you have further questions, don’t hesitate to contact me.

 

***** ****

 

 

Exhibit #1

I sent it over two weeks ago. I appreciate your follow up ***. However, your company must understand that I also need some accountability concerning my damages. They are not significant but need repair. That's why I have furniture medic coming to my house this next week to do the repairs. Thanks ***

 

Sent from my iPad

 

On Jun 6, 2014, at 2:50 PM, "*** ********" <*****************************> wrote:

 

> ***,

>

> I checked with *******  They do have the claim form.  However, United will not process a loss/damage claim on a move that still has an open receivable.

>

> Please let me know how you wish to proceed.

>

> Thanks,

> ***

 

Exhibit #2

I am requesting a statement from them before I pay. I'm not asking for them to pay me now but a statement of what they intend to settle on with me.

 

8/5/14*****

 

I never stated I am refusing to pay. However, I do expect in "good faith" for your company to share in writing what they plan on covering for my damages. I did send a payment in to demonstrate that I am willing to pay for the remaining balance when I am assured that I will be guaranteed repair damages that I have incurred for my furniture of which your company damaged.

 

*** ***** ****

 

Exhibit #3

 

Yes you have explained. As I have to you that all your company needs to do is send me a statement of the damage settlement with the amount noted and I will gladly pay the final statement. See** logical and a good faith process on your part.

 

***** ****

 

Sent from my ******

 

> On Oct 23, 2014, at 12:49 PM, "***** ******" <***************************> wrote:

>

> *****

> I have explained on several occasions as did ***,  that we are willing to settle your claim as soon as the balance is paid on your move/storage.   Our clai** department has stated they have received your claim and it will be processed.  I believe we have been cooperative to this point.

>

> ***** ******

 

9/5/14 *****

Likewise for me. In good faith I have paid all except this balance. I am requesting that your company even though as you have stated have separate divisions , at least give me a statement of the associated expenditures to be reimbursed for damages which was caused through the move. Once I receive that statement  of assurance, I will gladly pay the remaining balance.

 

***** ****

 

What do you mean my claim doesn't exist. I sent it to your company.

 

Sent from my ******

 

> On Oct 27, 2014, at 9:58 AM, "***** ******" <***************************> wrote:

>

> *****

> Your claim doesn't exist until all charges are paid.  Please provide me with information on when payment will go out or this will proceed to the next collection level.

>

> ***** ******

 

 

Learning Forever,

 

***

*** ***** ****, ************** ******* **** ******* *** *********** **** ******** ** ***** ************

 

 

 

Business Response:

In response, we are simply operating within the regulatory guidelines of the PUCO.  **. **** was made aware of the unpaid storage charges prior to delivery from our warehouse.  She claimed she was current.  Again, as a courtesy, we released the contents of the storage lot without payment.  She was to research her records and determine if it was, in fact, unpaid.  And then she would pay.  Her records agreed with ours and the storage fees were owed.  She then refused to pay until the clai** were resolved.  These are two separate is***s separated by several months.  Her exhibits confirm that she was made aware of the process regarding open receivables and processing the claim.  It has been explained many ways, many times.  She just won’t comply.

 

We refer you, once again, in part to ** ****’s Clai** Adjuster’s email of June 9 included in our initial complaint response.  “As part of the clai** process, we may be required to document the damages claimed.  Please do not repair, replace, or dispose of any of the ite** on your claim form”.  “We cannot finalize a settlement until the move is paid in full.”

 

Also from our original complaint response, once payment is received, the claim will be resolved within the guidelines of the protection coverage selected by **. ****.

 

Regards,

*** ********

     

Business Response:

In response, we are simply operating within the regulatory guidelines of the PUCO.  **. **** was made aware of the unpaid storage charges prior to delivery from our warehouse.  She claimed she was current.  Again, as a courtesy, we released the contents of the storage lot without payment.  She was to research her records and determine if it was, in fact, unpaid.  And then she would pay.  Her records agreed with ours and the storage fees were owed.  She then refused to pay until the clai** were resolved.  These are two separate is***s separated by several months.  Her exhibits confirm that she was made aware of the process regarding open receivables and processing the claim.  It has been explained many ways, many times.  She just won’t comply.

 

We refer you, once again, in part to ** ****’s Clai** Adjuster’s email of June 9 included in our initial complaint response.  “As part of the clai** process, we may be required to document the damages claimed.  Please do not repair, replace, or dispose of any of the ite** on your claim form”.  “We cannot finalize a settlement until the move is paid in full.”

 

Also from our original complaint response, once payment is received, the claim will be resolved within the guidelines of the protection coverage selected by **. ****.

 

Regards,

*** ********

     

Consumer Response: [
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The condition that I have been requesting is Planes states in writing the amount in dollars the damages will cover. Again, just making sure that the customer is not left hanging out without an assurance that I will receive my damages for furniture that has already been repaired.  I then will be happy to pay for the last of the storage fees.

Regards,

***** ****

Consumer Response: Thank you for your follow up. Since †here were only two responses for me to choose, I felt this is*** could be closed as long as Planes puts the damage amount in writing to me. They stated they received it -so it is simply a confirmation that they will pay me. Otherwise, as I have stated numerous times, Planes is not acting in good faith to expect the customer to pay the final payment with no guarantee of my damage payment.

***** ****

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am moving from the Cincinnati area and as such needed a moving company to transport my belongings to my new residential city. The company I entered into an agreement with is also a United Van Lines agent and through that partnership, Planes was the Cincinnati-based agent for pickup of my belongings. My wife was at home at the time of the pickup and felt a high degree of discomfort with the individuals making up the pickup crew. My wife then said that the crew chief spoke with her and she felt a lot better about things. She indicated to me that several of them were talking about their plans to terminate their employment with Planes in the near future, for various reasons. This did not engender great confidence in how our belongings would be handled. At the end of the move, while doing an inspection of the home, we noticed that there were several visible damage marks that were not there prior to the pickup. Those have been shared with the moving company in our new location. When inspecting our belongings being unloaded by the crew on the delivery end, I noticed that there was a chip out of one of our bedroom furniture pieces that was not there prior to the move. In addition, multiple pieces of furniture were not wrapped with shrink wrap, which the delivery crew told me was a cardinal sin of moving. In addition, the packing statements indicate that our 46" flatscreen television was packed in a carton/box. When the delivery was made, we found that the TV was wrapped with a padded wrap and had a piece of cardboard to protect the screen. To date, there is no visible damage to the television, but I will withhold further judgment to see if the piece will still work properly. The fact that the packing sheet did not comply with the actual work performed constitutes a lie, which is 100% unacceptable to me. If I was lied to about the television, what else was I lied to about? My previous experience with Planes was of a business nature and it was always very reputable, which is why this experience is so perplexing to me. I hope that this was just a rogue collection of crew members, but in this experience, these folks represent Planes and as such, my recommendation of Planes to my friends/family in Cincinnati is questionable at best.

Desired Settlement: I believe an apology for the actions of the crew is warranted, along with a billing adjustment for those pieces that were not handled appropriately.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the above captioned complaint. *** *******  Desired Settlement  is for an apology and repair of items not properly handled.  The ******* had filed a claim damage report with us on November 11.  The damages have all been repaired and our claim file is closed. 

 

We regret that the ******* were less than satisfied with the level of service they received.  We, nonetheless, are pleased that we were able to satisfactorily remedy the issues and make the ******* whole.

 

As usual, any other inquiries or comments can be directed to me.

 

Thanks,

Jim

 

 

***** ** ********
Director 
Residential Services
Planes Companies / United Van Lines
9823 Cincinnati-Dayton Road
West Chester, OH  45069
###-###-#### | ###-###-####
Fax:  ###-###-####
***************************** www.planescompanies.com

 

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Planes / United for $16,253 for our move from **********, ** to ****, **. Planes lost several items and damaged several items. They claim we signed a 'waiver' which indicated that all of our items were delivered and they will not replace. Regarding the waiver, when our movers arrived they said we could either write down the sticker number of every box or item as they brought in or sign the waiver. It would have been impossible to write down every sticker number as 5 people brought things into the house, and we could not have done the sticker count at the end of the day because the movers left the house so fast. So we were forced to sign the waiver to get our things and now are basically being told because we signed a piece of paper that that they won't replace our stuff. Also have been waiting 10 days so far for repair of other items. Not only have they not yet been repaired, we've been told they will let us know when a repair firm has been assigned!! Totally unprofessional and unacceptable. I have informed Planes that I will be replacing my lost or damaged items and deducting from my bill.

Desired Settlement: Immediate repair or replacement of damaged items (exercise equipment - elliptical and smith machine). Replacement of all other lost items.

Consumer Response: Hi, I need to remove the complaint# ********. We have resolved this issue with Planes Moving and Storage. 

Thanks,
********* ********* ** ******

Hi, I need to remove the complaint# 10131877. We have resolved this issue with Planes Moving and Storage. 

Thanks,
Elizabeth

Elizabeth M. Cullen

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company refuses to compensate or repair damages caused by their employees. We sent a detailed list with photos within 60 days of moving and we were told that was not good enough. We were told they needed notice within 48 hours. However, we were originally told 60 days and their claim forms state the same. We pointed out several damages to the movers on moving day before they left. We feel that we should receive compensation, repairs, and apologies for our losses.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be compensated or have our furniture and home repaired and receive an apology for our losses.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the above referenced complaint from our customer, *** ******.  His complaint to the Bureau is dated January 10, 2014.  The focus of the ****** complaint is damages to his furniture and his home during his local move on November 11, 2013.  Just prior to the ****** filing with the Bureau, we had settled his damage claim and sent him a check and an accompanying letter of explanation.  *** ****** was not satisfied with the explanation nor the amount of the cash settlement.

 

During the initial move estimate and at the time *** ****** contracted with us, he selected the basic carrier liability coverage of sixty cents per pound per article in the event of a loss or damage.  This is the minimum coverage provided by all movers.  There is no charge for this level of coverage.  He decline the option for full replacement coverage through our insurer.  In an October 23 telephone conversation with his Planes Relocation Counselor, he stated that he had his homeowners insurance coverage with Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance.  He said his agent told him that his homeowner policy covered goods-in-transit and he opted out of any additional coverage from us.

 

However, in an extended effort to resolve the damage issues with *** ****** as well as close this file with the Bureau, within the next ten business days we will send *** ****** our check in the amount of $212.99.  This check will satisfy all eligible damages claimed by *** ****** within the guidelines of the protection option he selected.

 

Any additional communication can be directed to me.

 

Regards,

           

 

***** ** ********
Director 
Residential Services
Planes Companies / United Van Lines
**** ***************** **** **** ******** **  ***** ###-###-#### | ###-###-####
Fax:  ###-###-####
***************************** * ***********************

 

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are several things that have gone wrong during the whole move and I am thoroughly disappointed by the level of service. 1. I asked for a binding quote that doesn't change at all under any circumstance and I clearly specified that to the agent when I requested the quote. The rate was changed after delivery with a reason that bed had to disassembled to get into the bedroom. 2. I was told the my goods will be available for delivery after 1 week of pickup. When I asked the agent about delivery dates on invoice he told it was a placeholder and he promises it will be available for delivery after 1 week. I contacted mayflower for the delivery after a week and I was told the delivery spread is further along and goods are not available for delivery. 3. My stuff was damaged. The claims department processed the claim and confirmed me the payout of $494. However, the check that was sent was of a different amount $399. I can provide the details and supporting emails exchanges if required. But all in all I feel cheated and lied to at several instances during the whole move.

Desired Settlement: Needs an apology and ensure other customers get better service.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of your December 26, 2013 letter regarding our above captioned customer’s filing with the Cincinnati Better Business Bureau.  All of *** ******* concerns had previously been addressed.  This was done over a period of weeks via personal contact, written and electronic communication, and through the claims filing process.

 

In *** ******* *ureau complaint, his Desired Settlement is:   “Needs an apology and ensure other customers get better service.”    The Relocation Counselor that handled his move, our Director of Residential Services, and our Vice President of Customer Service have each communicated an apology.  Each has expressed our concerns regarding any miscommunication or misinterpretation of facts that may have occurred during his relocation process.  As we move forward and as part of our ongoing self-improvement program, we have discussed *** ******* experience with each of our employees and/or representatives that may have played any role in his move.

 

We trust this will satisfy *** *******  Desired Settlement and positively close this Bureau file.

 

Regards,

***

          

 

***** ** ********

Director 
Residential Services
Planes Companies / United Van Lines
9823 Cincinnati-Dayton Road
West Chester, OH  45069
###-###-#### | ###-###-####
Fax:  ###-###-####
***************************** www.planescompanies.com

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****