BBB Accredited Business since

J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage

Phone: (513) 933-9051 Fax: (513) 934-2219 View Additional Phone Numbers 4317 N State Route 48, Lebanon, OH 45036

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers moving & storage services & property leasing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James H. Kendrick, President Ms. Stephanie Kendrick, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James H. Kendrick, President
Business Category

Movers Recreational Vehicles - Storage Relocation Service

Alternate Business Names
Kendrick Moving & Storage
Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4317 N State Route 48

    Lebanon, OH 45036 (800) 339-2681 (513) 933-9051


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: questioned Jim (owner) on the over use of the dish barrels which are their costliest items at $25 a box as opposed to $17 for medium sized boxes. I further explain my frustration that the packers not only used dish barrels for metal art and items that would have been fine in a regular sized boxes. Jim told me that he would contact an independent furniture restoration tech and also at that time was willing to discuss refunding some of the money as a way of compensation. Never heard anything back from company.the packing of the boxes made it very difficult to determine which room the boxes should have been taken to as several boxes had kitchen, dining room, basement and bedroom items packed in the same boxes. This further added to the time the movers were here as we had to stop and determine where the boxes were meant to go. in our unpacking of our fine china we found two plates that were chipped. This china is over 50 years old and has been moved several times before with no damage. As we continue to unpack items, we are finding even more damage to our belongings.I called Kendrick moving to discuss the situation, I explained to ***** that were very upset about this damage, coupled with the damage that had occurred with our solid cherry king size bed frame. Jim, the owner of the company, immediately he was very adversarial and told me that since I did not arrange to have glass packers to do the packing that the damage falls on me. He wouldnt even discuss the issue and hung up on me even before I was able to address my concerns. So far we have found several more items damaged including one of a kind pottery items, the heirloom china, and the bed frame, glass picture frames, other assorted items.

Desired Settlement: Due to the company not wanting to come to any sort of arrangement, coupled with fact the owner handled this in a very unprofessional way (by being adversarial and hanging up the phone while I was trying to discuss my issues), nothing less than the full refund of $2051.50 will be sufficient to cover the costs and damage to our household items.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to a complaint filed with the BBB, ID#*******. Our company was contacted by this customer needing moved and some packing. They were given our rates and our rates for packing per box. This customer has moved with us before in the past. Knowing all the pricing per box they scheduled this job as a local move and some packing, (whatever they did not finish), but we were not packing any glass or fragile, as they were doing all of it themselves. They scheduled the move for 10/25/12.We called and confirmed all the information the day before the move. We were never informed of any glass/fragile to be packed. The day of the move, our men showed up to a house in disarray. They only had 1/2 of the kitchen done and basically nothing else. Our men called the office letting us know that this customer was not ready to move and it was going to be a lot more packing then they initially scheduled and there was some glass left, but they did pack about /2 the glass. We always put extra packing on our trucks of various sized boxes just in case something like this happens. We advised our men to explain this to the customer, that with only 1/2 of what they said they were packing, this would make the packing bill more than what we had discussed on the phone as it is per box .The customer understood and still wanted us to proceed with the job and they packed also while we were packing. During this move my men pointed out different items that were damaged before we even touched them. The customer joked telling our men how the damages were done when he moved himself with a pickup truck. At the end of the move, the customer was happy and even tipped our men. ( 4 of them)

On 11/7/12 this customer calls our office and complains that we did not mark boxes properly and he thought we used to much paper in our dish barrels. I tried to explain to the customer that when packing glass, you have to have cushion around bottom, top and sides to prevent any damages. I also explained, that we use dish barrels sometimes for more than just glass/china, we use them for ceramic lamps, expensive/antique clocks, certain types of decor, anything that is fragile, we put in a dish barrel because that type of box is made thicker arid is made to protect fragile items. He then went on to tell us of a headboard that was scratched. I told him we would take care of that, even though he signed there was no damage at the end of the move. I called our Furniture Medic to go out and repair this for the customer.

On 11/9/12 the customer called again, this time being very belligerent stating he has china that is chipped and demanded we pay him for it. I asked what box it was in, as they did pack 1/2 of the glass/kitchen themselves. He stated that doesn't matter, we packed it. I tried to explain that basic insurance for local moves is .60 cents per lb. per article. He refused to listen and hung up. He then called back and spoke with the owner, again being so belligerent that he was advised if he did not calm down we were going to discontinue the call until he can speak to us properly. I called ********* ***** to make sure he had contacted the customer for the repair. He informed me that he did contact him and when he did, the customer told him, "He had it taken care of; he did not need him to come out".

We have offered to have the headboard repaired, as to the packing, local, intra, and interstate moves we are not responsible for Owner packed cartons. If we did pack the carton, the .60 cents would fall into place for the insurance.

By looking at our past record, we hope you can see that what this customer is stating is NOT how we do business. We would appreciate any help or guidance you can give us regarding this unfortunate situation and hope this does not affect our rating.
********* ********