BBB Accredited Business since

J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage

Phone: (513) 933-9051 Fax: (513) 934-2219 View Additional Phone Numbers 4317 N State Route 48, Lebanon, OH 45036 http://www.kendrickmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving & storage services & property leasing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James H. Kendrick, President Ms. Stephanie Kendrick, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James H. Kendrick, President
Business Category

Movers Recreational Vehicles - Storage Relocation Service

Alternate Business Names
Kendrick Moving & Storage
Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4317 N State Route 48

    Lebanon, OH 45036 (800) 339-2681 (513) 933-9051

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our move was scheduled for two days, two trucks and 4 men. At the time we were quoted, we set up our month ahead schedule and were told the days could be flexible since we did not know exactly what days we would be ready. We called the week before to set the days and were told which days they were now available and we were ok with those days. The 4 men plus one “new observer in training” were polite, worked hard and moved us the first day. These men used door jam protections on the doors of the home we were moving out of but failed to use these protections on both sides of the new construction we were moving into. The basement door was only protected on one side. As we were moving in my 2 teenagers were located on each floor to identify and instruct the movers as to where things were to be placed. I stayed at the truck to say “upstairs” of “downstairs” to each load. My husband witnessed the missing door frame protector on the basement door only at the end of the day when he got there. The next morning we saw the basement walkout sliding door had significant scratches and a huge chip in the clad exterior metal. We called Kendricks right away to hear a recording that they are closed on Saturday. Monday morning the men showed up to finish the move and that is when I showed them the damage. They said nothing but went on with their day. These men moved everything except our entertainment center that needed the basement door to be taken apart to be moved and this did not happen because mid day it rained and it was too slippery to move down the hill to the basement. We have not complained about this because it was simply an oversight in the morning before the rain. Even though I reminded them that it needed to be moved before it rained and the basement door had been taken apart so was ready for the move. This entertainment center is still in my garage and I was told it would cost a minimum of $150 to come back and move it into the basement. I noted the damage on the contract and signed it and paid in full over $4,200. The next day after the completion of the move I called Kendricks and reminded them of the damage both shown to the movers and noted on the contract . Rob told me he would get back with me after speaking to the owners. A few days later he called me and offered to move the entertainment center into our home in exchange for the damage of the door. I told him that I needed to investigate the costs as well as possibility of fixing the damage repairs before I would agree. Rob then offered to bring his repairman out to look at it. A week went by and I called him back to arrange a date for this repairman to look at the door. I told Rob that we were not optimistic about the repair because it was extensive. Rob offered to come out himself. Rob came out to look at the damage and was very polite and professional. Rob looked at the damage and said he would get back with me in a few days. A few days later Rob called and said his repairman said he could putty the door and paint it. I did not accept that because it was a ******** A series and is clad not painted and we would have to repaint it every year. The repair he described would not adequately fix our door. I then told him I would ask a ******** window representative. I called ******** windows who gave me the ****** ****** ******** product representative contact information. This ******** rep asked for pictures of the damage and responded with a statement that the door was un-repairable and had to be replaced. I then got a replacement quote and sent it to Kendricks. The quote was for $1,100 for the one door panel plus labor to install it. I called Kendricks a few days later and Rob told me he would get back with me. A few days later Rob called me to say that they had spoken to the moving men and that they said they did not do the damage so they would not pay for anything. A few weeks later I got a letter from their lawyer saying they were not responsible for the damage. It is very difficult to note all damage when there are household items everywhere and 5 men are standing around waiting to leave. Inspection of both properties took place after they left but prior to the end of the job. The damage was noted on the last days release statement.

Desired Settlement: We believe we are owed the replacement costs for this damaged door. The written quote from ******** windows is $990 plus we have added $200 for labor for installation. We are requesting $1,190 to replace this door panel. Total cost of the sliding door was over $1,800.

Business Response:

Mrs. ****** has moved with our company several times. Each and every time Mrs. ****** moved with our company, she had to be out as soon as possible, it was a mess every time we showed up to move her, never packed, tons of people in and out, she always had to change the dates last minute, we always accommodated her except this last time. This last move, she called 2–3 days before and wanted to change again (after rescheduling 1x already). I explained to Mrs. ****** we were booked and could not reschedule her again. We either had to move the days she was scheduled or cancel her move entirely. This customer has around 25-30,000 lb of house hold goods.

This last job again, when it was time to move, Mrs. *****, was not prepared. She was not completely packed, again..... had construction workers at the new address including other children bringing items in and out the entire time we were moving her items in. Our men were moving around them. They did show the customer a rub on the inside of the door from a couch they carried in and she was made aware of thiš. 

She did not contact us until a few days after the move regarding the door, stating there was a huge gauge now in the door. We spoke with our men regarding the allegation and they know they did not put any gauges in any door. If our men would have damaged her back door that severely, she would have seen that the same day/second it happened and she would have had a destroyed piece of furniture, which she did not have. That damage is from something else, something other than furniture, possibly a tool, metal object, not a couch. That couch would have been torn and the arm broken off.

She also had a large entertainment piece that would not fit thru her front door. She told our men she did not want them going thru the yard due to the weather so we put that in her garage as they were told to do by Mrs. ******. She was never told by anyone we would go back and move that for free. She moved to ***********, **** and was explained when she did call about getting it moved again, there would be a charge to come all the way back to Clarksville to move 1 piece for her. We waved the 2 hour minimum, offered a flat fee. She refused to pay that amount and then mentioned the door.

We sent Rob out to get a picture of her claim and let our men who moved her see it. As soon as they seen the picture they were shocked. They did not do that damage. NO POSSIBLE WAY. Again, she refused stating we did it and she wanted a new door. We explained we did not do that damage to the door, we would have had to be running full force and ram that door to get a gauge like that and she would have been out a piece of furniture, she would need to approach the other construction companies that were in her home, and the kids that were bringing items in and out, it could have happened when they were working for her.

Every single time we have moved this customer she has claimed something for money back. In the past we settled with her just to make her happy. This time Absolutely Not, We did not do this damage and will not accept liability for something we did not do.

We have been in business since 1953. If our men damage anything, we will do our best to get it fixed and make our customer happy. If we were a company that had damages as she is accusing, we would not have lasted as long as we have in this business. -

Jim K*******

Presidnet

SEE PDF ORIGINAL BUSINESS RESPONSE

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]  

I see this business fabricates many, many reasons that my job was "difficult" however, they do not indicate proof that they did not damage our door. The business representative I spoke to indicted that their repairman would repair the damage by filing and painting it. Only once I spoke of replacement did the company claim they were not responsible for this damage and threw everything including the kitchen sink at the reasons.


Regards,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on J. Herschel Kendrick Moving & Storage
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart