BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers local and long distance moving and storage services. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hercules Moving & Storage Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hercules Moving & Storage Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Hercules Moving & Storage Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 11, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1983 in OH Business incorporated: 02/12/1990 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald D. Hirth Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald D. Hirth Sr., President
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Industry Tips
Choosing a Storage Facility Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Additional Locations

  • 1015 Fairbanks Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45205 (513) 251-2593 (513) 655-2277 (513) 373-4108 (513) 373-4108 (859) 308-6174 (859) 298-3546

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 373-4108(Phone)
  • (513) 373-4108(Phone)
  • (513) 557-3361(Phone)
  • (513) 655-2277(Phone)
  • (859) 298-3546(Phone)
  • (859) 308-6174(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have employed Hercules for my last 5 moves and also had my husband employ them for 2 moves. I spoke to owner Ron Hirth and asked for specific details regarding storage charges and prices for all of the moves. We just had all of our things delivered from storage into our new home last week and these are the issues we have encountered and are yet to be resolved... 1). Storage fees were underestimated by Ron for both storage spaces. He came out and did the quote himself and saw everything going into storage but then charged more. 2). My and my husband's things were supposed to be placed into same storage yet this did not happen- never were told why after numerous inquires and have paid 2 storage fees (over agreed amount) for the 6 months items were in storage. 3). On each of the moves the movers showed up late yet LIED on the sheets and we were charged for the time they put down. I called and spoke to ********* after the first time this occurred and I was told I would receive a credit and never did. This last move we called 3 times before they finally arrived an hour and 15 mins late and ********* "noted" the time. Yet when they were leaving we noticed they again wrote down a time that was 30 mins prior to their arrival and called the office. Ron finally called back when we refused to pay the bill and the crew was standing in our driveway cursing- using the F word repeatedly - and refused to work with us. I am still waiting a week later for resolution. 4). A dining room set that went into storage brand new came back scuffed up and knicked- $20,000 dining room set. Numerous items were knocked up and were less than a year old when they went into storage. 5). The movers did not put two bedrooms back together as promised. 6). Movers were careless in newly built home- scratched new wood floor- put dents into walls- careless with our things and in a hurry to leave. 7). The parts to numerous items that were disassembled and the bags with the pieces taped to the underside were never returned. 8). Missing numerous items from the 6 months of storage. 9). Labeled boxes for each room were randomly placed all over the house. (I was asked every trip inside where something that was clearly labeled was going and told the crew exactly where to put it but the second they were out of my sight they dropped it wherever was easiest for them. 10). Items they did attempt to put together were put together wrong. 11). The crew took an hour lunch break they did not mark. 12). The crew smoked marijuana during the move and left their trash in our driveway along with cigarette butts from their numerous smoke breaks. 13). One crew member spent 30 mins in a bathroom downstairs. 14). Hit with a $1500 fee to remove items from storage at the end of the move. ( A fee to take our items out of storage that we have paid over $500 a month for 6 months that we were never informed of.) Overall I would never recommend Ron or Hercules to anyone. My brother and sister-in-law are getting ready to put their 6000 sq ft home's furniture and belongings into storage while they go oversees for the next 3 years and were going to check out Hercules but after this experience they will look elsewhere. Ron does not return phone calls. The crew lies and can't be trusted alone with any of your items and fabricate arrive and delivery times. I don't think they can read or they chose not to put items that were clearly labeled and were told repeatedly where to put them. I am basically sick over what has happened to my items that were in Ron's care and disgusted with how we were treated after doing business with this man numerous times for last 3 years.

Desired Settlement: I want what is fair. I want to be refunded for the times the crew lied about their arrival and departure times. This is easily documented through our numerous phone calls to ********* at Hercules- I was never refunded as promised for last move and then overcharged again this move. The company owes me 2 hours. I also want to be refunded for the work that was not completed- the bedrooms that were not reassembled as promised- the dents in the walls- the scratches on the new wood floors- the furniture damage (too many to list) and the charges incurred that were not discussed.

Business Response: I am willing to refund 2 hours of labor. As far as the damage to the house or furniture, I will have to come out to do a damage check. Please contact us to schedule this. 

 
Thank you 
Ron Hirth

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I would like in addition to his offer- that we also get reimbursed for a portion of the $1500 we were charged to have our items taken out of storage. This charge was never disclosed or discussed and is part of our major issue. Also, the movers did not do as contracted- they did not reassemble 2 bedrooms and other items. They also charged us for 45 mins that they had not even arrived at our place. The 2 hours offered is not acceptable.


Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: The 2 hours I am willing to refund you is for the 45 minutes you say they overcharged you, also for the time to reassemble the 2 beds and other items. Concerning the $1540 for 10/17/14 that is for 5 men and 3 trucks at 220 per hour for 7 hours to load your belongings out of the warehouse. I personaly was one of the crew members bring your belongings out of the warehouse, and i personally tract the time. You wanted all of your belongings delivered in one day and this was the only way we could do that. 

9/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have just completed a move out of state which was handled by Hercules Moving and Storage. It was extremely stressful and I wish I had checked the BBB prior to hiring them. I found out in March 2014 while I was working in ******* that I would be able to move from ********** to ** shortly after I would return from *******. I returned home July 3, 2014 and had to be out of my condo on July 31, 2014. I had spoken to Ron Hirth some time ago and was pleased with his rate and customer service but when I called him from ******* he sounded as tho I was really taking up too much of his time. He rattled off a per hour rate and I had to push him to get a date on his calendar. We agreed on the 29JUL and the team of **** and his son did an excellent job of loading the truck with my things. Since I did not have a place yet to live in ** we agreed to hold my things in storage for a month and then deliver then to **. On the day they loaded I was presented with an inventory list which noted many damage codes for most all of my things. I did not sit down to read the list and damage noted until I was in **. The inventory list contained such things such as mildew and soiled spots on my mattresses, in addition to most of the wood pieces being scratched, dented, rubbed, and or chipped. I was certain this was not true and was looking everything over in my mind. I called the Hercules office and was told Ron would call me back. He did not. I waited a few days, called again, no Ron, and no callback. I waited a few more days and happened to catch Ron in the office and told him the inventory was so incorrect and I asked him to verify the damage noted was truly incorrect. He said he did not have time to go and look at all the things was were in storage. When things slow down he would check when he had time and get back to me. He was always too busy but when I finally did talk to him personally on 14 or 16AUG to see what sort of lead time I needed to give him to have my things from storage delivered, he found the time to go to look at the things and emailed me a revised inventory/damage list on 22AUG. it was considerably shorter than the original. We agreed to have my things delivered to ** on Monday 25AUG14. **** and his helper, ***, arrived in the AM and made rather short work of unloading the truck everything looked just as they had taken it with the exception of awful black soot on all the wood furniture which I began cleaning as soon as they brought in. the first damage I noticed, however, was when cleaning the computer desk. I noted that to **** and he said to put it on the claim sheet. I could put the keyboard tray which rolls in and out, because it was too out of alignment. *** put it on but it would not roll freely, then I noticed the drawers were out of alignment and would not close properly. In the meantime, I had placed the keyboard tray on the desk and *** had brought in some boxes and placed them on top of the tray. When he tried to fix the tray, he evidently did not lift the boxes off the tray but just tried to slide the tray out from under the boxes which several deep gouges in the already damaged desk. He never owned up to making the damage when I showed it to ****. *** then asked if he could use the bathroom. I, of course, said yes. But when I went in there later, I see that the cupboard doors under the vanity had been opened and not closed properly but I did not say anything to him. Just wondered what he was needing. there were several towels out as well as toilet paper, which he did not use and left the seat up!When they were finished and **** asked me how I was paying for it, I told him credit card and *** asks if the tip was on the card too. I ignored him.After everything was signed and another damaged piece was noted, they left. I then went into my closet to get my computer which I had placed on top of my jewelry box. The computer was now underneath the jewelry box and I looked to find my blue and white sapphire ring gone. that ring and another I had worn just a week ago and put them back in the box. The other ring was still in the box.I immediately called **** in the truck and told him what had happened and that I wanted him to stop the truck and search *** and the entire truck and he said he would talk to him and get back to me. I then called the office and talked to *********, who has been an extreme delight throughout my dealings with Hercules Moving Co. she said Ron should be in very soon and he will call me back. Of course, that did not happen until much later. In the meantime, I tried to have the KY state police stop the truck and they blew me off. I called the cc company and filed a dispute of the charge, as well as making a police report with my local police.I could not get in touch with **** again. Ron did call me back in the afternoon and told me he was going to wait for the truck to come back in and search it the guys. I understood him to say he would call me when that happened, but I did not receive his call. I did talk to him today, 26AUG14 and he did not find any ring on either **** nor ***. He has suspended *** pending termination. Ron said the truck would be searched tomorrow. He is going to make a police report and told me to fill out the insurance claim which I received today via email.I really dont want money for the ring, I want the ring. I had chosen the stones and had the ring made for me in celebration of completing cancer treatment. It is a very special ring to me.

Desired Settlement: At best, I want my original ring returned to me at the very least, I want an exact replica in design and quality made by the jeweler who originally made it for me.I want the desk replaced with one of comparable quality, size and number of drawers, etc. It is beyond repair.The hamper I want reimbursed in the amount of $60.00

Business Response: First let me say I apologize for all the problems you had with the move.  As far as the issue with the inventory, it was resolved before the shipment left **********.  On August 25, 2014 I met the truck when it arrived at the lot.  I searched both **** and ***'s overnight bags as well as made them turn their pockets inside out.  I also did a quick check of the cab of the truck, I found no ring.  The next day I went through the cab and rear of the truck searching for the ring and did not find anything.  I have cooperated with *** ********* local police department, in whichever way possible.  I did  send an insurance claim form via email and mail.  As of today 09//03/2014 I have not received it back.  Also, *** has been terminated from the company.  

 
Thank You,
Ronald D. Hirth

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

I mailed the requested insurance forms to the business on September 3rd and have heard nothing. I would like to know the status of my claim and I would like a better explanation as to what happened and what action has been taken to resolve this situation. Thank you.


Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: The insurance company has contacted *** ******* since this responce. They are handling it.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Yes I have talked to an insurance rep and forwarded receipts that she had asked for, , but she is waiting on Ron Hirth to make a decision and get back to her.  He has not returned her calls nor mine as of today 23SEP14.

.

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Ron Hirth, Hercules  Moving has not contacted me directly but through his insurance agent.  The last email I received was 17OCT14 and stated that because I have stopped payment on my credit card for the move, he was not going to pay for any of the items damaged in the move.  He will not take responsibility for my ring being stolen by one of his employees.  Just today, I spoke again with my credit card company and told them to definitely not pay Hercules Moving.  I then sent an email back to Ron's insurance agent with a copy to him, advising him of my decision not to pay the amount originally billed to the credit card.  The cc company is preparing the documents and will send them to me to finalize.

 
I wish this entire scenario, which began with the delivery of my furniture and the theft of my ring in August 2014, to become a permanent part of the complaint filed with BBB against Hercules Moving and Storage.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: have just had heart proble** and unable to lift and carry i hired the company of hercules moving and storage to load a truck for me to drive to ******** ** . loaders was to arrive at 9:30am and with two to three men and a full size truck . at 9 am two men arrived and in a van ! i had a ****** truck to load my ite** for the long move to ******** ** . told the men that there was ite** to go to ******** ** and ite** to head to storage in ****** ** . no call made to have another truck or man to come to help ! when i asked i was told oh i can get it all on one load . thats not the problem but i had work and the men was to load and not for me to manage them . as i came up on how it was being loaded i asked sure its all going to fit on ? oh yes . as the time went on and i had my work to fininsh they had most all but not all on the truck and i asked a**in its not looking to good loaded ! oh its on and will be ok . i have photos of what was done with my item and the worrie of the man who was incharge was we have to hurry for we have another loading job !!! a rush job and not using all the ite** to cover and pack as to how the truck not brouht to load the storage ite** on . if the second truck had came and loaded the ******** ** ite** i would not had damage done to any of my things . i have photos and can provide them . i have sent them to ron the owner and he stated he had to talk with his man . the back of his form and its telling of damagesandteh responsible of damage caused by his men or company and not saying anything about being the driver or just as a loader . they was hired to load and damages was done due to just in a hurry and piled up on top of others untill damage was the only thing to happen . i also was charged for a truck and twice on milege and had no truck and the drive time was to be only one time not twice . so see below and see the cost and expence thats it going to take to repair the damage of sofa and head and foot board and end tables and coffee table and charges of two drive time and over charged with out the second truck . if the second truck had been brought it would have had just the storage ite** and the ******** ** ite** would have been on the ****** truck only . and i had not problem with paying for a third man if it was needed to keep down or no damages as happen with out the second truck and man .

Desired Settlement: this is the brake down on charges #1 no truck so the charge should be only $40.00 per hour and thats times 61/2 hours would be $260.00 and a one trip charge of to the job would be only $42.50 for a total charge of $302.50 total ! the charge was $637.50 taking off the true charges would be a refund of $335.00 #2 damages done to sofa with the viewing of under and edge of sofa loading caused also the back to be weak and will not set up and seating is marked and will not clean up and coming apart at sea** so a new sofa of $1,500.00 is in order and the new bed room set of head board and foot board and side boards and damage to edges and spliting of base and chester drawers and edges of night stands is a value of $1,700.00 and the set is not made any longet at ****** furniture company . the end table damaged and coffee table is damaged and view photos of damages will see how they was done when they was loaded . the total cost of repair is not that bad and the repair man said he would be able to repair with about 3hours of regluing and clamping . at $45.00 per hour and i thank him for help cutting the cost to a total of only #135.00 . the box springs has so many holes and had not a hole in it untill the loading that day . new box springs is only $130.00 for a queen size so placing all cost of damages is at a total of $3465.00 plus the loading over charges of $335.00 comes to a total of $3800.00 . a refund check of cashier will be find to recive to replace and repair and cover the over charges from hercules moving and storage inc .

Business Response: This claim has been turned over to my insurance company.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  


The business response said the matter had been turned over to their insurance company. I have heard nothing and would appreciate a status update on my claim. Thanks.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: This claim has been forwarded to the insurance company.  The insurance company is handling it.  We are waiting for a response from them.  

 
Thank You,
Ronald D. Hirth

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


I did some research and contacted ********** (the business Hercules said they used for insurance) and they told me that Hercules hasn't been with them for some time. At this point I have no idea where my claim has been sent and an unsure if I have a claim at all. If *** Hirth would like to contact me directly to settle this matter I would be happy to speak with him. He can reach me at ###-###-#### or via e-mail at *********************. Thank you.


Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response: I had to go ahead and get the bed fixed. I have been waiting for Hercules to respond to my claim. I've waited more than enough time and I would like them to take care of this ASAP, preferably today.  Thank you.

**** ******

Business Response: The insurance company is suppose to contact *** ******.  I have not been in the office.  

Thank You,
Ronald D. Hirth

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.






** **** : 

  as we talked weeks ago and my looking into the insurance company on all the for** from hercules moving and storage inc .  as i looked into this for** info and found that hercules has done no business with this company sense april 30 , 2013.   all the for** and info thats listed is fraud and when calling the company they also said mr hirth is with no insurance with there company and has not sense april 30,2013 and that  all the for** and all info should have beed taken off with there name on it .

hercules moving and storage inc stated  they have said sense may 24 ,2014 they have insurance and have turned it into they company who covers them but no one has called or sent a form or asked for pictures of the damages .    

  this in turn is fraud and miss leading and the damages is not been taken care of .     i have filed out this info for the B B B    for the second time and  this should have been taken care of a month ago .   

  i have no more to say and all the damages is still here and a mess .    if i do not recive a check by may 29,2014 via over night for the damages of $3,465.00 plus the over charge of travel and workers and no truck for a amount of totaling of $3,800.00 i will on wednesday turn this over to my lawyer mr ***** ******** and he will go to the district court house and fill all papers for fraud and damages and ask for a grand jury to looking to the fraud mr ronald d hirth and owner of hercules moving and storage inc of saying they we covered by ********** insurance company . 

 this is a law breaking info and clai** of having this company is fraud and all info will be forward to the insuarnce to fill a law suite also and charges of fraud on his part . 

 this all can be stopped today and if mr hirth wants to let it push forward it will cost him more in court cost and then also the fraud charges from the court also .    if i am not contacted about the over night shipment of a cashier check all will be done next wednesday july 30th ,2014  .  to payment of check is to be in the amount of $ 3,800.00.    thank you for taking the time and hope he sees that i mean business !   **** w. ****** I    my address is as fellows at **** ********** *** * ******** * ** ******  and phone is ###-###-#### 

Business Response: I spoke with my insurance agent on 07/31/2014, and they are putting together a response letter to *** ******** complaint.  

Thank You,
Ronald D. Hirth

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Regards,

**** ******



to ** **** :

               the letter is be forwarded to my lawyer and dates of insurance and paper work is not correct and spelling in letter is from some one that needs to return to school or use spell check .    second is i have all the photos of the way they just piled my ite** on the truck and padding and tie down and rope is showen there also .    damages is been done and paper work with the wrong insurance company and dates of coverage is not matching also . this i feel your office of the  B B B should look into and find who is his insurance with ?   no name just a persons name .   i can be contacted at ###-###-####. as i said before given this to the lawyer as i stated i would and will push for the damages and insurance fraud and also for the office of the B B B for not keeping up with how and who the company had as insurance with .  please contact me . thanks **** w. ****** I

Business Response: This is being handled by my insurance company.

 
Thank You,
Ronald D. Hirth

Consumer Response: I tried to talk to **** at the insurance company and she was rude and very uncooperative. I just want some answers asap. Please respond. Thank you.

Business Response: Enclosed is a copy of our response from the insurance company. Again, I think this covers our position on this claim.

Thank you 
Ron Hirth 
 
----- Forwarded Message -----
From: **** ****** <**********************>
To: Hercules Moving & Storage (***********************) <***********************>
Cc: ******** ******* <***********************>
Sent: Mon, 04 Aug 2014 19:30:25 -0000 (UTC)
Subject: Ron - ****** Response - Review and advise before this is submitted....

Dear *** ****** and BBB:

 

In response to BBB complaint ID ********, we offer the following.

 

This agency has insured Hercules Moving since 4/2010.  Agent, **** ******, has insured Hercules Moving at her prior agency for several years, too.  Thus, we are very familiar with Hercules Movings and its operations.

 

1.      
 Re  *** ******** most recent message to the BBB regarding an insurance company listed on Hercules’s for** -   A blank such form is attached, and *** ****** was given a copy of a completed such form for Hercules’s work for him.  Hercules was insured with ********** Ins. for several years – until 4/30/13.   Hercules now has other insurance.  The for** were developed/updated when Hercules was insured by **********.  Hercules’s printer inadvertently left **********’s name on Hercules’s forms. Hercules is merely using up for** in stock; when new order for for** is made, ************ information/name will be deleted.   There is no specific information on Hercules’s for** indicating that ********** is their insurance company.     Hercules does indeed
have proper insurance coverage with insurance companies other than **********.   There is certainly no fraud on Hercules’s part.

 2.      

Re: *** ******’s first message to the BBB regarding damage to his property – Hercules’s owner, Ron Hirth, advises that *** ****** did NOT order any truck from Hercules; the order was for loading ******** property from **** ********** *** ******** ** onto a truck that ****** rented and was to drive.  Hercules sent 2 men to the ****** location in ******** in a Hercules van because the order was only for loading of ******** truck.  Some of ******** property was to go to a storage in ****** **; the balance was to go to ********* **.  The experienced Hercules employees determined and advised that all property would indeed fit in ******** truck so they loaded the ** property first and the storage property last.  *** ****** drove the truck (with loaders following in the Hercules van) to the storage in ****** **.  The Hercules men unloaded the storage ite** for *** ******.  Then *** ****** drove the truck containing his property to ********* **. 

 

*** ****** was NOT charged by Hercules for any truck or any mileage.  He was charged ONLY for the 2 employees’ time of 6-1/2 hours at $85/hour and ½ driving time from the ******** ** address to the storage at Hebron ** at $85 for a total of $637.50 which *** ****** paid with ****.  See invoice/job ticket specific to this work attached.

 

The Advice of Coverage on page 2 (back side) of the job ticket/invoice item 1. Under General Conditions says  “Up to the Agreed Value shown above, we will be liable for loss or damage to your property caused by or resulting from our negligence or failure to use ordinary care in the handling of your property while it is in our care, custody or control….”     Hercules did have control while loading onto the truck and then again at the truck unloading at storage in ****** **.   Hercules had NO control/custody/care once *** ******’s ite** were placed in the truck and during any driving or unloading of the ****** truck at its ********* ** destination.  While the ite** were on Godman’s truck, they were in his care, custody, and control.  If ****** unloaded his truck himself, again his property was under his care, custody, control.  If *** ****** had other hired people to unload in ********* ** then those people had care, custody, control for that unload. 

 

*** ****** was told upon his order to Hercules for loading only work that he needed to provide his own moving pads/blankets, straps, etc to avoid any damages to his property while it was in his truck.  *** ****** provided no such ite** to help prevent damages to his property.  If Godman’s ite** were damaged in transit, that is his own negligence – not any on the part of Hercules Moving.   The loading was done with accepted practices of care for property by Hercules within the limitations resulting from ****** not having any moving pads, straps, etc.  Hercules’s employees did the best they could in the absence of protective articles.  *** ****** was at both the initial loading and the unloading at storage.  *** ****** paid Hercules for their work upon completion of the unloading at storage, so he was aware of how the truck was packed.  If the ite** going to Savanaugh were damaged in transit, again that is *** ******’s responsibility.

 

Hercules Moving & Storage Inc. denies any responsibility for any damages to *** ******’s property.  

 

 

 

 

 

**** ** ******* **** ***

V.P. / Account Executive

** ****** ****** ********* ****** *** ***** **** ******* ** *****

Ph:    ###-###-####

Fx:    ###-###-####

Cell:  ###-###-####

**********************

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Today September 3rd ,2014 

 I recived this same same old put off letter from a man doing Fraud and no insurance and damaged my ite** and not wanting to pay for repairs .

 I have now a Lawyer who said Mr Ronald D Hirth is in the wrong and has to show the name of the insurance company and insurance number and phone number of the for say company ! 

Mr Ronald D Hirth had and stated  the company he had on the work order for** was Fraud and did not have coverage with that company .   ** **** ****** sent a letter of the same Mr Hirth keeps saying he has coverage and i was at all falt !  Wrong !!  I have photos and i did have pading and rope and cords to hold ite** into palce and did order a truck and three men and they sent to men and a van i asked them where is the big truck and the third man ?  OH  they sent us and i will call and have them send a truck and another man .  When i asked where the truck and man were they said that the truck is not coming and that he can get all on the truck . Again i asked him if the loading of the storage in ****** ** ite** be put on and come back and get the ******** ** ite** to load then ? NO I can get all on this in one load !  Wrong as we see the damages that he caused and the photos show that before i left for Savannah Ga and my son was there also saying look at all the damage done ! . 

 I am not giving up and if i do not get payed for the damages i will go with my Lawyer to the Ohio Courts and for them to file Fraud charges on Mr Hirth .     I give Mr Hirth untill September 8th and after that i will move forward to the next level and the Ohio Attorneys Generals Office to give all photos and info for them to send to the Grand Jury to indite Mr Hirth on Fraud of no insurance and also **** ****** and ******** ******* for covering up the no insurance that Mr Hirth said he had .  

A Cashiers Check of $3465.00 to be over nighted to my address or this will all come about on the 9th of September ,2014 .       My new address in ******** ** is as fellows    **** ********** *** * ******** * ** * *****  . 

    ********** is ready to file charges of Fraud of saying and showing insurance that they was covering all Hercules Moving and Storage when they had  not covered   for Mr Hirth and Hercules for over a year .    As i said this is it and next is the courts and no more of this back and fourth with the BBB !!! 

  Looking for my check on the 9th of September 2014 !  

 **** ** ****** I

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Copy of email sent to owner who wasn't responding to phone calls. Finally got a response today from owner. Dear Ron, I have attempted to contact you twice today regarding my move from ******** ** to ******** *** yesterday and resolve the issue. Given my experience with your company so far I am writing proactively to inform you of how I'm attempting to resolve this matter. To keep things simple here's a quick timeline: -Called on 5/31/14 to schedule move for 6/2/14. I was told by the woman on the phone movers would arrive between 12 & 2pm on 6/2/14. This was double and tripled verified before hanging up. -At 12:45pm on 6/2/14 I called to check on an ETA and was told by ********* that the movers had until 2pm to arrive and it would likely be closer to 2pm. -I called at 2:20pm to verify ETA of movers, then again at approx 2:35pm. ********* could not find any information on availability. -You called me around 2:45pm to tell me that a new crew was being put together and would be at ******** ** at 4pm. -At 4pm you or ********* called to tell me that your new crew was only now getting back to HQ and was heading out and should be at ******** ** within 30-45 min. I stated I had to get to ******** *** to unload my car and my friend's truck, and my mother or father would stay behind to oversee the load-up. -Movers don't arrive at ******** ** until 4:59pm. Movers leave at 5:17pm. Times verified by my mother. Surprising it didn't take longer, as my mother stated ******* frequently was off task and wanting to chit-chat. My mother is an attractive woman, and I can only imagine he was flirting. -Movers arrive at ******** *** after 6pm to begin unloading. Unloading was not fast, but above average from what I have experienced before. Very appreciative of this. The ONE thing that went right all day. -Movers leave at 6:50pm. The truck showed up 3-5 hours late, and what was supposed to be a 2-hour process cost my family nearly 7 hours of our day. I would expect a discount from a company who's website touts promptness as it's core value and who's entire profitability relies on timing and logistics. I was never offered a discount any time I spoke with either you or *********. At least 25% would seem appropriate- if not 50%. My family has owned a local business for 132 years and when we make mistakes we make it right. I expect the same customer services from other locally owned and operated companies, as I prefer to only do business with those types of companies because I relate to the "struggle" of what it's like. However, what I have a bigger problem with is that when everything was unloaded from the truck I stated to ******* and *******, "Is there a discount available for my inconvenience or a manager I can call to settle things up with?" Previously, ******* assured my mother, when loading the truck, that he would see to it personally that I got a discount for my inconvenience. The story changed when he got to me and unloaded the truck. ******* and ******* both stated that they were unauthorized to offer any discount and the office closed at 5pm, which I verified with a phone call and got the answering machine. ******* stated next something along the lines of you being a "tight SOB" who isn't willing to deal or offer discounts, and that the best I could hope for was a discount on future services (yeah right!). At this point I asked, rhetorically, "well what do we do now?" *******'s first response, throwing his arms up and mockingly pounding his fist in his hand was, "well we can always call the cops!" *******'s body language (slumped posture, shaking his head) was of awkward discomfort and wanting to leave at this point. I think he may have been as surprised as I was hearing *******. I let them swipe my card for the full amount just to get them the heck out of my apartment. THIS after having to keep ******* from looking through my things- which he was doing before I caught him- because he was asking me about my things and wanting to see them. ALSO after ******* all but told me they stopped for food while they were on MY clock. Highly unprofessional. What it boils down to is this: You and your hooligans do not get to treat customers this way when it is you and your employees who created the mishap. Your employees have no right to threaten to call the cops for wanting to speak with a manager. Nor do I feel safe in my NEW apartment because not only do your thugs know where I live, but they know what I own and seemed actively interested in my belongings. This is what's going to happen: First, the main purpose of this email is to inform you that the payment swipe you took of my debit card yesterday has been blocked by my bank. If you wish to receive payment for yesterday's services you'll have to contact me directly to work this out (to tell you now, I won't be offering more than $40- your service charge). I'll then ask you to send out some sort of invoice to be paid by money order. I will then pay that invoice. If you truly represent the values so boldly stated on your website I dare say I expect no charge for yesterday's debacle. Second, my property manager has been informed of your company and it's trucks, as well as descriptions of your ******* and *******, to CALL THE COPS if they are seen near the property; thanks to my new found lack of security in my very new apartment. My parents obviously are able to identify them, as well (******* was asking about the cars at the house). You guys have the best rates in Cincy. It's a shame our experience went this way. I really do prefer to support local companies. I'll do a little better research next time. Feel free to contact me when you have a chance. If you I don't hear from you in the next 48 hours I'll assume you're just fine with matters as I've currently stated. Best, *** ****** ###-###-#### Ron's response: Dear *** In response to your letter regarding your move 6/2/14. I am willing to credit you the 42.50 one time trip charge for the crew being 3 hours late. This means the total you would owe is $170. If this is agreeable for that amount then you can pay by cashiers check or money order. I do apologize for the crew being so late, but the first job was a lot larger and took a lot longer than we had estimated. Thank you Ron Hirth

Desired Settlement: Bill was for $212. I am not willing to pay more than $50 for "services" rendered.

Business Response: This is in response to the complaint submitted by ******* ******.  I personally never talked to *** ******, ********* did.  Anytime we book a job in the afternoon, it is an estimated time.  Based on the information we have for the customer scheduled before them.  The job was much larger than the customer had told us.  We tried everything to get a crew out there by 3pm.  It turned out that the crew we had scheduled to do the move, was the one that could get there the quickest.  I do agree the crew was late and I have offered a $42.50 discount.  I guess this is not acceptable to *** ******.  The only person allowed to give a discount on a move is myself.  In *** ******** letter he states at least 25% discount would seem appropriate, therefor I would agree with a 25% discount, which would take off $53.13 off of the bill, which is about $10.00 more dollars that I originally offered.  As far as the rest of him comments concerning ******* and *******, I find no merit in his claim.  ******* and ******* both have been with the company more than 5 years, doing hundreds of jobs per year, and have never had any complaints towards either one of them.  To offer me $40.00 or $50.00 for our services is not acceptable.  Please forward this to *** ******, and I will wait for his response.

 
Thank You,
Ronald D. Hirth - President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 
Regards,

******* ******




Consumer Response: For Ron to say my claims are without merit is highly offensive. My privacy was invaded, and I was threatened and made to sign an agreement under duress. If anyone should have called the cops it would have been me. The timing issues are unprofessional and they should have cancelled when it was obvious they weren't going to make it anywhere near on time so I wasn't sitting around until 5pm. To put the effects and costs of logistical errors on your customers is customer service at its worse. If internal errors were made at the time of the original arrival estimate, if the job prior to mine was underestimated, why is my wallet and my time of day to be held liable? Even more, when my privacy and personal safety and security are threatened how would this company not expect me to take action. I can agree to pay no more than 50% of the original bill, coming to a reduced bill of approx $106, to settle this craziness. That will be my final offer. That's a 50% discount for being 3-5 hours late and being threatened to have the cops called on me for asking to speak to a manager for being unhappy with and worried about the service I was receiving. 

Business Response: Let's split the difference between my offer and you offer and settle this for $132.50. Let me know if you agree with this.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

 
Please forward an invoice to
**** ******** *** *** **** ** *****

Regards,

******* ****** 
###-###-####




8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON MAY 4TH I HIRED HERCULES TO MOVE ME FROM FAIRFIELD TO DEER PARK. THE MOVERS WERE PLEASANT AND WORKED HARD. AT THE THE HOUSE, THERE WAS A JEWLERY BOX FILLED W/ VALUABLES. THE MOVERS WERE WORKING HARD, THEREFORE I DIDN'T THINK THEY WOULD HAVE THE TIME TO GO THROUGH IT OR HAVE "STICKY FINGERS." AFTER THEY LEFT, I NOTICED A FEW PIECES OF JEWELERY MISSING. TWO OF WHICH WERE ITEMS FROM MY DECEASED MOTHER. I CONTACTED THE COMPANY RIGHT AWAY AND NEVER RECEIVED RETURNED CALLS FROM THEM. I FILED A POLICE REPORT AND NEEDLESS TO SAY, THE OWNER CALLED THE POLICE BACK RIGHT AWAY. BUT, THE OWNER IS FRIENDS W/ THE CHEIF OF POLICE THERE. SO I KNEW MY CASE WOULD MOST LIKELY BE DROPPED. IN THE MEANTIME, THE COMPANY SENT ME A CLAIMS FOR FOR THE MISSING ITEMS. I FILLED IT OUT W/ HOPES THAT I WOULD STILL BE ABLE TO GET MY ITEMS BACK. ALL I WANTED WAS THE TWO ITEMS THAT HAD SENTIMENTAL VALUE TO ME, BUT NO EFFORTS WERE PUT FORTH TO RETRIEVE THESE ITEMS. A MONTH AND A HALF GOES BY AND I NEVER HEARD FROM THE COMPANY NOR DID I RECEIVE PAYMENTS FOR THE ITEMS. I EMAILED THEM AGAIN W/ THE FORM AND ANOTHER MONTH HAS GONE BY AND NO WORD FROM THEM AT ALL. PLEASE HELP ME EITHER GET MY ITEMS BACK (WHICH IS PREFERRED!!) OR AT LEAST HAVE THEM PAY FOR THE ITEMS THAT WERE STOLEN. THANKS!

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LOVE TO GET THESE ITEMS BACK. A PRICE TAG CANNOT BE PUT ON THE SENTIMENTAL VALUES THAT TWO OF THE ITEMS HAVE.

Business Response:

We fully cooperated with the police.  None of my employees were charged with the theft.  The insurance claim form has been forwarded to the insurance company.  We will check into it to see if we can find out the status of this claim. 

Thank You,

Ronald D. Hirth - President

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello BBB, I would like to initiate a consumer complaint against the below service provider. Hercules Moving & Storage Inc. 1015 Fairbanks Avenue Cincinnati, OH 45205-1832 The owner is Ron Hirth. In short I contacted them after researching your website for a referral for a local mover to pick up my belongings and move them into storage for a temporary period of time then bring them to my new home. The company took an extremely long time to load up my contents. They billed me for 13 hours to load my contents and move them into storage on 8/15/12. I called the company that same day and spoke with ***** with my concern of the length of time it was taking to load my contents. I was told Ron would call me right away. He never did. I had to call him several times over the course of the next 5 days. In addition the two guys that loaded my contents asked if they could load my things with their shirts off and ask if they could help themselves to drinks I had. Then when it was complete they asked for a tip. When I finally reached Ron he seemed to understand and agreed to adjust the storage bill and negotiated a flat fee for my move into my new home. The move into my new home took place on Friday 11/16/12 and it was somewhat sloppy in the sense that employees did not assemble my bed correctly and they did not put doors back on correctly and some of my furniture was scratched and scuffed. Most importantly they took a treadmill apart to get into my basement and they damaged it. I contacted Ron the following Monday and again I had to make repeated calls and e mails to get in touch with him. He came to my residence and inspected the unit and tried to convince me that he fixed my treadmill. The issue is the employees yanked a cord out of an switch on the main board and damaged the main board. As a result the treadmill will not power up and will not work. I requested that he send out a repair tech, he begrudgingly agreed to do so. He sent out ***** with ****** *******, I finally got that information on November 28, 2012. ***** was at my home on December 12, 2012 for the inspection. ***** advised me on 12/13/12 he had called Ron and left him a message to review the price of the repair. On 12/14, 12/17, 12/18 I attempted to reach Ron for verification that he is going to authorize the repair and he has not returned my calls nor has he responded to my e mails. I attempted to contact Onsite on 12/18/12 as well and left a message. I have received a response from ***** advising Ron will call me and that he was packing or moving someone. ***** refused to provide me with Ron’s cell phone number. I expressed my dissatisfaction with the poor service and that I felt as if they are ignoring my damage. They collected my payments right away but they ignore problems. They have refused to forward this into their liability insurance carrier if they even have insurance. I have informed the mover I am not concerned with all the scratches and scuffs I just wanted my treadmill fixed. I have informed him that if I don’t get some resolve here I would contact your agency. Please HELP! I would NOT! recommend this company.

Desired Settlement: See above

Business Response:

On 12/18/2012 we authorized to have the part ordered for *** ******* treadmill. This was 2 days before *** ***** made this complaint. *** ***** did receive an email on 12/18/2012 stateing the part was authorized and ordered. As soon as the repair company recieve's the part they will contact *** ***** and set up a time to do the repair.  Below is a copy of the email that we sent to *** ***** with the day and time.

 

 

From: Hercules Moving & Storage
Sent: Tuesday, December 18, 2012 1:36 PM
To: ****** ****
Subject: RE: ********** Treadmill

 

****,

 

I just spoke with ***.  He said that he spoke with Brian and they have ordered the part.  All we can do now is wait for that.   Once that comes in, ******* will contact you to do the repair.

 

Thanks,

*****

 

Thank You,

Ronald D. Hirth - President

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Hello BBB,

 

In response to your recent letter dated 12/27/12 received on today’s date.  I have been informed that Hercules Moving & Storage has authorized the payment for the part to be ordered.   However,   as of today’s date the treadmill still has not been repaired and I have had to leave several messages for the repair tech to get an update on when the part is expected in.   To date I have no idea of the timeframe that is expected to get this repair complete.   So until the repair has been completed and the unit is back in service I will not be satisfied.  I have not been satisfied with the level of service to get this repair complete.   Thank you for your attention in this matter.  

 

 

Regards,

**** *****

 

Business Response:

Like *** ******, we are waiting for the repair company to recieve the part for the treadmill.  The repair cannot be done without the part.  We have already paid for the part, and we believe it has to come from another country because it is not manufactured here.

 

Thanks,

Ronald D. Hirth

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

Hello BBB:

 

Thank you for your letter Dated January 4, 2013 received on January 11, 2013.  My treadmill still has not been repaired.   Until my unit is back in service I am not satisfied.  In addition outside of your correspondence I have received no communications from Hercules Moving to provide any information on status or even show any concern.  I could not recommend this business to anyone.    

**** *****

 

Business Response:

We have not heard anything from *******. Again, we have paid for the part. Since we had not heard anything from anyone we thought the repair was done. We have sent an email to ******* to find out what's going on with the treadmill part.

 

Thanks,

Ronald D. Hirth

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have supplied receipts to Hercules for damage done to my stove by their movers and Hercules has failed to pay for my repairs.***** ***** is stating the "Check is in the mail," and Ron Hirth is never available to speak with in person. During the week of 10/8/2012 ***** stated that Ron was on vacation. I submitted my receipts and no refund has been sent as of 10/20/2012.

Desired Settlement: Replacement part for switch and know $93.01, labor to repair the switch and knob $120.91, repair damages total $213.92

Business Response:

We had mailed her a check several weeks ago. Due to a problem with the post office, several of our checks did not arrive on time. We have put a stop payment on the check, and re-issued a new check #1849 in the amount of $213.92. It was mailed on 10/22/2012. It should arrive in 2-3 days. Sorry for the inconvience and delay.

Thank You,

Ronald D. Hirth

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

***** *****

 

 

 

2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them to move me on November 29, 2011. I had lots of totes packed with my possessions & they were all clearly labeled as to contents & which floor or room they were to go. The movers completely ignored the labels & it has taken me over a month to unpack the boxes & carry things upstairs that were left downstairs & upstairs to downstairs. Lots of breakage & lids to many totes were cracked.In addition, a drawer to a chest was damaged & I have been waiting for about a month to have that fixed. (Needless to say, no one called to give me an update.) They reassembled a bookcase (wall to wall & floor to ceiling) incorrectly & it now sways from side to side. I am going to have to get rid of it because it would be fatal to my dogs or me if it should fall over. Also, when I unrolled a carpet that had been in front of another bookcase, I discovered a large crack at the base.Finally, I discovered that my ****** was missing. I had just bought a new one & was going to sell the old one online for $65.00. I had put it in a stackable plastic drawer with the box from my new phone, & a charger cord. All have disappeared. Obviously, I cannot prove that one of the movers stole it, but no one else has been here since the move. I didn't steal it from myself & it didn't grow legs & walk off.I was very nice to these guys. I went out & bought them soft drinks from ********** & even gave them a $100.00 tip! I have complained to the owner & his indifference is almost as galling as the damages I have suffered.

Desired Settlement: I would like the damaged furniture repaired. I realize that the $65.00 for the IPhone will not be paid back to me, but an apology (or at least some concern) would be nice. I would certainly accept repayment of the tip as the damages were not visible for some weeks after the move & I definitely would not have tipped them had I known how bad their work was.

Business Response: This is in repsonse to the complaint from ******** *****.  In reference to the bookcase I personally went out and reassembled the bookcase.  It is made of particle board with nothing on the back to stabelize the bookcase.  This is the way it was when my men moved it.  As far as the dresser drawer I just found out who the manufacurer is a couple of days ago, and I am working on finding a replacement part.  Concerning the ******, it has almost been a month and a half since the move, that I have found out about the ******.  Anything could have happen to that phone in that many days.  I do not believe my men stole that *****.  Both men have been with me for 3-5yrs, have done hundreds of jobs with no reports of thefts.  When I went to reassemble the bookcase and look at the other damage, I did apologize for those problems.  But I do not feel I should apologize for something my men did not do.  As far as the damage to the other bookcase, I will look at it when I return to install the drawer guides for the dresser.