BBB Accredited Business since

H. Johnson Moving & Storage

Phone: (859) 431-7745 Fax: (859) 655-7862 35 West 8th Street, Covington, KY 41011 http://www.hjohnsonmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers local and long distance moving & storage services.










BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H. Johnson Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for H. Johnson Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on H. Johnson Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1932 Business incorporated: 03/28/2008 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation Cabinet, Kentucky
200 Mero Street, Frankfort KY 40622
http://transportation.ky.gov/
Phone Number: (502) 564-4890

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Sowder, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Sowder, Managing Member
Related Businesses
Tri-State Record Storage & Management
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 4pm
Method(s) of Payment
All
Service Area
Tri State
Alternate Business Names
H. Johnson Moving & Storage Co., LLC
Industry Tips
Choosing a Storage Facility Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

H. Johnson Moving & Storage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 35 West 8th Street

    Covington, KY 41011 (859) 431-7745

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with H. Johnson Moving Company in February 2013 to complete our move from Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, to Union, Kentucky. Our move required two moving trucks and both trucks were loaded at our former residence on a Friday morning, the trucks were driven to our new home in the neighboring county, and unloaded that afternoon. Our new driveway is about 100 yards long and after unloading the first truck, the movers switched the positions of the trucks in our driveway to move the second truck closer to the house. In the process of backing the trucks out of the driveway, one of hte movers backed the truck into our mailbox, which was located on the opposite side of the road. The end of the truck destroyed the metal mailbox and twisted the 4" x 4" post to the point that it split apart. My mother-in-law witnessed the truck hit the mailbox. We immediately approached the movers about what happened and, to our shock and surprise, they claimed (adamantly) that the mailbox was already damaged when they arrived. We assumed management of H. Johnson Moving Company would make this right with us, so we paid the movers at the end of the day, tipped each of the six movers in cash, and listed our claim for the damage to the mailbox on the form we signed. I called H. Johnson Moving Company on the following Monday morning to arrange for the repair to the mailbox (again, assuming this would be simple administrative process) in light of the clear responsibility for the damage, the fact we had a WITNESS to the truck pushing the mailbox over, and considering the thousands of dollars we paid for the move. I was completely wrong. The owner himself told me that he had spoken to his movers and they had assured him they did not damage the mailbox. He told me uniquicovally, that he would "stick with his employees." I made one additional follow up phone call to try to get some relief from H. Johnson Moving Company with nothing to show for it. This is not an acceptable way to treat customers.

Desired Settlement: This matter will not be resolved until we receive a payment from H. Johnson Moving Company sufficient to replace the mailbox they destroyed.

Business Response:

The movers on the job were adamant that the mailbox was already damaged when they arrived.

In the customer's statement, it says "In the process of backing the trucks out of the driveway, one of the movers backed the truck into our mailbox."

The trucks back into the driveway upon arrival, so when they leave, they are pulling out of the driveway, not backing out.  So if there was an eyewitness to saw the truck "back" into the mailbox upon leaving, that could not be possible.

It was a snowy winter day on a rural road.   We are of the opinion that a snow plow truck hit the mailbox and failed to stop and tell the homeowner.

If our movers had hit this mailbox, they would have immediately told the customer about the incident. 

This moving job was a 5 man, 2 truck job, the movers are trained to watch the drivers back into driveways.  There are many hazards when backing, low hanging wires, tree branches, etc.   Our movers are trained to watch as our drivers maneuver the trucks in and out of driveways, etc.

Our movers have no reason not to report damages or incidents.  They are not penalized for mishaps on the job, they know we just want the facts about any incident that might occur so we can take the appropriate steps to correct the situation if we are at fault.

The owner of H. Johnson Moving went out to the jobsite to look the situation over and saw no evidence contrary to what the movers reported and have no reason to not believe their reporting of the facts.

We take all complaints and issues very seriously and investigate them in detail.  Any incidents that we know to be our responsibility we take care of them promptly;  but in this particular incident we do not feel that H. Johnson Moving is at fault and we have no reason not to believe the report of our movers who are all seasoned employees/movers with our company. 

Sincerely,

H. Johnson Moving Co.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

The response from H Johnson Moving Company is exactly what I anticipated. They continue to make excuses that do not have any basis in fact. For several reasons the response H. Johnson provided does not match the facts that we can prove:

1. There was less than an inch of rain/snow mix on March 1, 2013 and Boone County did not plowed the road at anytime that day. Boone County records will support this fact.

2. As is the case with most rural mailboxes, the mailbox was on the opposite side of the road from the house. That means that for a vehicle (other than a truck moving in and out of our driveway) to have damaged the mailbox, it would have been an eastbound vehicle. The photograph clearly shows the damage to the mailbox was from left to right, as it was twisted off its post. An eastbound vehicle would have smashed the mailbox the opposite direction. At the scene, H. Johnson's movers tried to convince us a truck had come down the road from east to west, swerved across the opposite lane, clipped the mailbox, and returned to the correct lane, all without leaving tiremarks in the grass.

3. Photographs taken at the scene show clearly that there were no tire tracks in the grass on either side of the mailbox. For a vehicle moving in either direction on Rice Pike to have struck the vehicle, the vehicle would have had to enter the grass to strike it. The ground was saturated with rain/snow and would have shown tire marks. The reason the mailbox was destroyed without tire tracks is simple: the mailbox was torqued to the point of snapping by the backend of a truck moving slowly from the driveway. The truck stuck out far enough from the road surface that the tires did not have to leave the pavement to make contact with the mailbox.

4. AFTER we asked what happened to the mailbox, one member of H. Johnson's crew told us he saw the mailbox broken when they arrived, yet strangely said nothing about it until we raised the issue. It would seem hard to believe that one of the movers would notice damage to a customer's property (that they did not cause) and keep quite about it. The movers had access to us at all times and they talked openly with us about other issues related to the move.

5. My mother-in-law saw the damage as it was done. H. Johnson can accuse her of lying if they chose, but she was there and she's willing to testify in small claims (our next step) as to what she saw.

The bad experience with the mailbox left us questioning other aspects of the service provided by H. Johnson. For example, when we returned to the old house, it was freezing cold because movers had left windows open in several rooms upstairs (although the furnace was still on). Keep in mind, this was the last few days of February and hte temperature was in the low 30's. Also, very few rooms were left empy. I had to remove items from every single room. I was also suprised and the garbage left behind such as drinking cups, chip bags, empty cigarette boxes. I would be shocked if this was the way H. Johnson usually leaves a job site.

Finally, in the response, the owner said he went out personally to examine the site. I find this  hard to believe. If he did, did he take any photographs? I spoke the owner the week after the move and asked him to come out and look at the site. He flatly refused telling me that it was not necessary. He said he believed his men and did need to see the mailbox.  

Regards,

 

**** ***********