BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gullivers Movers Ohio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gullivers Movers Ohio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Gullivers Movers Ohio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 17, 2007 Business started: 03/22/1990 in DC Business started locally: 01/01/2009 Business incorporated: 03/22/1990 in DC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Kinneary, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Kinneary, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Gulliver's Movers Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Additional Locations

  • 2692 Madison Rd Ste 305

    Cincinnati, OH 45208 (513) 351-0420 (513) 290-9112

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 290-9112(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/27/14, I hired Gullivers Movers (http://www.gulliversmovers.com/) to move a 2-bedroom apartment to a 2-bedroom townhouse. I told them there would be three locations to pick up all the stuff, so the move had to start early. The move was scheduled for 8am, but was delayed to noon, and then to 4pm. When the movers finally showed up, it was already 5pm—a 9-hour delay. The owner promised he would still be able to get everything done despite the late start. By 10pm, he was only able to move 3/4 of the one-bedroom apartment, with FOUR movers on the job. He promised he would come back the next day, 5/28/14, to finish the job, and he promised he would be on time. The second move was scheduled to start at noon the next day, on 5/28, but again, the movers did not show up until 4:30pm. After moving the remaining 1/4 of the one-bedroom apartment and stopping at the retail store to pick up a chair, the movers wanted to call it for the day—after only working for two hours. They refused to load the other one-bedroom stuff as contracted. They said the owner told them to stop loading and pick up the rest the next day. I could not believe a two-bedroom move would have to take them THREE DAYS to finish the Job and every time they would show up late, WAY LATER than the scheduled time. I then asked the movers to at least move the heavy furniture in the storage unit so that I could move the smaller pieces myself. They still refused. So after having been delayed for 13.5 hours and having spent almost $1,000, I still only got half of the job done (the same job, by the way, only cost me half as much to finish the move in four hours last time with another company, the Star Moving). Frustrated, I told the movers to follow me to the destination to unload the stuff already in the truck. Unbelievably, instead of following me, the truck turned in the other direction and left WITH MY POSSESSIONS IN THEIR TRUCK. I frantically called the owner, and he said he would unload tomorrow. I said he had no right to take my stuff and put it in their storage because that was not what I contracted them to do, and they had no right to take my stuff and kept it without my permission. He still refused to return to unload, so I called the police to report a theft crime. An officer responded, and instructed the owner that he had no right to retain his customer’s possessions without permission. The owner finally agreed to return to unload the truck. Even though my possessions have been returned, I believe Gullivers Movers still committed a “theft” crime (legally defined as “A criminal act in which property belonging to another is taken without that person's consent”) or a “larceny” crime (legally defined as “unauthorized taking of property in nonviolent face-to-face encounters without the owner’s permission”). Even though the owner claimed that he would have my possessions delivered the next day, it was a breach of contract because I did not authorize him to keep my possessions overnight, and based on his untrustworthy record, I had every reason to believe that his intent was holding it as leverage to make me pay for his poor service that he certainly did not deserve. I therefore reported this case as a theft or larceny crime against Gullivers Movers to the Warren County Sheriff’s Office. To be fair, there are excellent crews (such as Headband Rob’s team, who did the third move returning my possessions to me, was fantastic) in the company, but the way the owner runs the business is incredibly disrespectful of their clients, including showing up 13.5 hours late, dispatching more movers than necessary just to charge extra without making the move faster, wearing dirty shoes and booties on carpets and rugs, causing damage and dents on the walls, charging extra hidden fees (such as tapes) that no other moving companies charge, and not to say taking the clients’ possessions without their permission.

Desired Settlement: I demand a full refund of the some $900 plus $100 tip for the excessive delay in arrival time, the damage done to my property, the undisclosed charge and hidden cost, the breach of contract, and above all, the anguish of taking my possessions without my permission.

Business Response:

Our sincerest appologies for not meeting the customer's expectations on the move. Circumstances beyond our control prevented our crew from arriving in the morning, but we did get her permission to arrive in the afternoon and got 75% of her belongings moved. She was not completely packed, so suggestel coming back the next day to get the rest of her belongings so she would have time to complete her packing. And this we did as promised.

This was a phone estimate that was taken by one of my associates. She communicated to us that she wished to empty out her 2 (5' x10') storage units as well as her 2 bedroom apartment, all in one day, I suspect there was a communication problem, because this was en unrealistic expectation to begin with, compounded by her lack of packing preparation arid by our late arrival, It seemed logical and reasonable to suggest that we do the storage units on a following day,

The original estimate rate was $180/hr for 3 movers, I changed it to $140/hr to make up for our late arrival and I brought an extra man at no charge, to help accelerate the move on the first day. She paid us $861 by check, voluntarily, for 5 hrs of work and 1/2hr of travel time. We charge for materials such as mattress bags, sofa wrap and tape, as all movers do.

I was the crew chief on the first day and the customer complimented my crew for its professionalism in wrapping all her furniture and, especially, taking good care of her piano. It was very difficult to unload at her newly constructed townhome since she had purchased many pieces and stocked the home with unopened boxes of newly purchased household goods. We could barely negotiate in the home given the volume of items already there, and it was necessary to move a great deal around before we could even attempt to unload our full truck.

The cusi:omer required us to put on hospital shoe covers that she provided, which slowed us down and made a Jr work a bit more difficult and dangerous, One can easily slip on wood staircases and wood floors carrying furniture. I specifically explained to her that we would not be responsible for smudges and nicks on walls due to the tight quarters we encountered and the narrow staircases we had to negotiate,

The townhouse was absolutely full of furnishings when we left at ;10pm that first night. 1 was concerned how she expected to get an additional 2 storage units of her household goods in that cramped space. We came back the next day in the afternoon to finish moving the remainder of her apartment and to, hopefuly, move her storage units. The crew arrived at the storage units to find there were three units, not two, During the,cstimate process, we had not been made aware of the third unit, which was substantially larger (10'x20') and packed completely full of belongings. The driver tried to explain to the customer that our standard size 26' moving truck could not hold all three storage units and the remainder of the apartment contents already on the truck.

The customer was noticeably upset, and it became quite difficult to communicate clearly with her, it was getting late and ****, the driver,  had family obligations, so I suggested he bring back the truck to our depot with the idea of unloading the truck, later that same evening with a different driver.

Regretfully, the customer misread our intentions and felt it necessary to call the police, Even the policerman who arrived on the scene reassured her that we were not going to "hijack her goods". I provided another driver, and we proceeded to complete the unloading of her apartment. We did not charge her for this portion of the move, She was very pleased with the work that my driver Rob arid his crew performance, so much so that she tipped them $100.

Given the circumstances of her crowded townhouse and the high potential for damage to the wails and floors, I felt that we could no longer continue to provide the service she expected. We had attempted to meet her needs, but, objectively speaking, it would have been impossible to fit all the belongings (apartment and storage) into her new home given ail the new furnishings already present.

Our estimate for services was hour -based (not a flat rate for the entire move). Thus, we were and are not uncl,51 a "contractual obligation' to continue working with her to move the contents of her 3 storage units into her new home. She was free, at any time, to call another mover to handle the storage units.

I am sorry we were not able to make her happy, but we did perform a good portion of the move at a discounted rate to make up for our late arrivals.

Joseph Kinneary, Owner
Gulliver's Movers


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

The Gullivers’ Response is full of lies, excuses, and factually incorrect statements.

First, it is simply outrageous to claim that being NINE HOURS LATE is “beyond their control.” The crew chief kept calling me to say they would arrive shortly, and yet kept me waiting with already-packed stuff for nine hours. I gave the crew chief permission to arrive in the afternoon because he kept assuring me that his crew would be able to finish moving a two-bedroom apartment even though they arrived at 5pm. In the end, after five hours of moving, they only finish moving 75% of ONE-BED ROOM, but the contract was to move a TWO-BEDROOM, so the chief’s claim of finishing 75% of my stuff is simply not true.

Second, the Response blamed me for not “completely packed.” This is simply NOT TRUE. I packed EVERYTHING except furniture, which I specifically told them not to pack because those furniture was old and not worth their packing time. They packed every piece of furniture anyway, causing needless delays and wasting my money on something I did not ask them to do.

Third, the crew chief blamed the company’s associate for “miscommunication.” This is absolutely absurd and nothing more than a lie. It was him, the crew chief, who arrived NINE HOURS LATE, assured me that his 4-men crew would be able to finish moving a two-bedroom apartment despite late arrival. This “unrealistic expectation” has nothing to do with their company’s associates.

Fourth, the so-called “fourth” man was completely useless because his size was probably smaller than me, a 5’2”, 130-pound woman. This person admitted that he was only doing this on the side, so his presence was nothing more than charging me more. He even slipped when carrying a small cabinet and caused a two-quarter wide dent on the wall. The crew chief pretty much simply stood by and gave verbal instructions. Charging me $180/hr for a “four-man crew” was in no way a courtesy or favor. I ended up having to spend hundreds of dollars to patch the damage they did to the walls.

Fifth, the Response claims that they charged for materials such as mattress bags, sofa wrap, and tapes, “as all movers do.” This is not true. I have moved four times in the past 12 years in Cincinnati; no movers ever charged me for using their bags or wraps or tapes unless I wanted to keep them. Gullivers DID NOT LEAVE ME ANYTHING.

Sixth, the Response states that the new house was “absolutely full of furnishings” when they moved in. This is simply NOT TRUE. I have delivery receipts to prove that most of the new furniture was not even there when Gullivers moved my stuff. I did put a few boxes in the living room before the moving date, but it was far from “absolutely full of furnishings.” Moving those boxes out of the way to clear the path would not take them more than a few minutes or seconds. I even tipped them $100 for having to moving those boxes. This is no excuse of their failure to finish moving a one-bedroom apartment with a “four-man crew” in five hours.

Seventh, the Response blames their slow moving on having to wear shoe wraps. This is absolutely absurd. Putting the show wraps on took no more than a second or two, and the crew did not even bother taking them off when they went outside and put them back on when they went inside. So in the end, they wore dirty shoe wraps in and out and ruined my new carpet. I had to hire a carpet cleaner and cost me $250 to clean the dirty carpet because of their dirty shoe wraps.  

Eighth, the contract clearly states that I asked them to move a two-bedroom apartment. One bedroom was in a rental apartment, and the other bedroom was in a storage place. I told the crew chief that I rented three storage units, two 5x5 and one 10x10, which is precisely the standard space for a two-bedroom apartment. The Response states that one of the units was 10x20. I have store receipts to prove that this is not true. I never rented a 10x20. In fact, when the movers complained about the size of the storage unit being 10x20, I clearly explained to them it was 10x10, not 10x20. The movers provided false information to the company as an excuse for their not willing to move the stuff as agreed.

Ninth, the Response states that they left with my stuff and told me they would return the same evening to unload the stuff. This is again NOT TRUE. They left with my stuff and told me they would return the next day to unload the stuff. The police officer who responded to my call can confirm this. It was only after I filed a theft report with the police and the responding police officer urging them to return my stuff immediately that they agreed to return the same evening. The Response states that I “misread” their intention to return my stuff. This is yet again NOT TRUE. The movers simply left without telling me their “intention” to return my stuff. Phone log can easily prove that they never called to tell me their “intention” to return. By legal definition, this constitutes “theft” and is a criminal act.

Tenth, the Response states that they were not under “contractual obligation” to complete the work because they were paid by hourly rate. This is the most absurd excuse I have ever heard. Just because they were hired by hourly rate does not give them the right to take my stuff and leave without my permission or telling me their intention. The contractual obligation of any moving company is clearly to “load” AND “unload” the stuff, hourly rate or not.


Regards,

******** ****