BBB Accredited Business since

Bell Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (513) 942-7500 Fax: (513) 942-7600 View Additional Phone Numbers 4075 Port Union Road, Fairfield, OH 45014 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business offers local & long distance moving & storage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bell Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bell Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Bell Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1922 in OH Business incorporated 01/08/1996 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. William F. Kissel, Vice President Ms. Tamara Kissel
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tamara Kissel
Principal: Mr. William F. Kissel, Vice President
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips
BBB News: Moving Tips Choosing a Storage Facility Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bell Moving & Storage, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4075 Port Union Road

    Fairfield, OH 45014 (800) 932-3356 (513) 942-7500


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: removed items from our home,placed in their storage facility,acknowledged an item in their storage not loaded on their truck for delivery to our home in *********; through their corporate, Wheaton Van Lines, refused to honor our claim for replacement; 21 additional items were damaged by Bell/Wheaton personnel; their corporate, Wheaton Van Lines, refused to honor claim, except one item of $125. Loading location: **** ******* ***** ***** *********** **

Desired Settlement: issue check to us for amount of claim, approx $3,473.07

Business Response:

Hello and thank you for the opportunity to provide a response on this matter.

This customer moved out of state (from ** to **). Since the move was interstate, it was hauled under the authority of our van line affiliation, Wheaton World Wide Moving.
As is required prior to every interstate move, a comprehensive, descriptive inventory was completed for every item being moved. The inventory was acknowledged and accepted by signature of the customer at origin at time of loading. After delivery, the customer filed a claim for alleged damages directly with Wheaton. (Claims resulting from an interstate move must be submitted directly to the carrier that holds the interstate hauling authority.) The Wheaton Claims Department conducted a prompt, thorough and careful review of the claim submitted. This involved comparing the alleged damage of each item to the condition of the item as listed on the descriptive inventory. Upon final review, Wheaton made a determination of liability. Please note, it is our experience in the 25+ years that we have been an agent for Wheaton, that they typically err on the side of the customer, for purposes of good will and customer retention.
However, the facts indicated that the items claimed as damaged were not legitimate in nature and did not result from negligent handling by the Wheaton driver handling the move.

Additionally, the customer states there was an item not loaded on the truck for delivery to **. We are happy to address this matter and simply need more information to do so. What is the item description and corresponding inventory number? We'll initiate a trace for this missing item and provide a quick settlement in the event the item is not found promptly.

Thank you.
****** ******
Bell Moving & Storage Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  


Richard Carlin



Business Response:

Would you kindly update our response for the above referenced complaint to include that we have received additional information regarding the missing item that the customer included in his BBB complaint?

The customer states he purchased a ladder (to replace the missing one) for $118.81. In response, we processed a reimbursement check for this amount yesterday and mailed today 07/10/13 to the customer.

Thank you!

****** ******

Bell Moving & Storage Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


******* ******

received payment from Bell Moving for one item on the claim; 22 items remain outstanding; Wheaton contracted with a furniture restoration company who inspected the claim items. Once we

have Wheaton's response to his review, and our claim, we may reassess the complaint against Bell Moving



Consumer Response: Wheaton/Bell contracted with a local inspector/adjustor to view the claim items. This company conducted the inspection on Tuesday, July 9, 2013. Wheaton/Bell have not advised us regarding the status of this inspection. As soon as Wheaton/Bell advises us of the result of the inspection, we will respond to ****.

Business Response: Wheaton issued a settlement check on 8/13/13 as itemized on the attached correspondence. *** ****** agreed to and accepted this settlement with Wheaton. Please confirm receipt of the check with *** ****** and close the file as resolved.  Thank you! a *********** ###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******

Status: making good progress toward resolution of the claim. Received  check for about 2/3 of the claim amount.

The balance, 1/3, Wheaton/Bell has contracted out to a 3rd party for direct billing. Once that work is complete,

about one month [?], we may be in a position to sign off on the claim.



******* ******