BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving & storage services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All My Sons Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on All My Sons Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 2000 Business started: 03/15/2000 in OH Business incorporated: 12/09/2002 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad St., Columbus OH 43266
http://www.puco.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 800-686-7826
Fax Number: (614) 752-8351

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Morgan, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Morgan, General Manager
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
All My Sons Moving & Storage of Cincinnati, Inc.
Industry Tips
Choosing a Storage Facility Moving & Storage, Local Moving, Interstate

Additional Locations

  • 3010 Harris Ave

    Cincinnati, OH 45212 (866) 726-1579 (513) 579-9600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 451-9300(Phone)
  • (513) 563-1777(Phone)
  • (513) 735-0900(Phone)
  • (513) 829-3700(Phone)
  • (866) 726-1579(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WHEN I CALLED STATED " WE HIRE" FULL TIME PROFESSIONALS, WE ARE A FAMILY OWNED COMPANY ETC. THEY ADVISED ME OF THE PRICE PER HOUR, EXTRA FEES ETC. THEY TOLD ME TO LEAVE DRESSERS PACKED. I HAD INFORMED THEM OF ALL OF THE LARGE FURNITURE AND BOXES THAT WOULD NEED TO BE MOVED OVER THE PHONE. THE ACTUAL MOVE WAS A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT EXPREIENCE. THE CREW WAS 1 1/2 HOUR LATE.THEY IMMEDIATELY BEGAN TO COMPLAIN TO ME ABOUT WHAT THEY NEEDED TO MOVE AND THE MAIN OFFICE. THEY SAID THEY HAD ALREADY DONE AN 8 HOUR JOB AND THAT THIS WAS ********. THEY PROCEEDED TO CUSS AND USE FOUL LANGUAGE THE ENTIRE MOVE. EVEN IN FRONT OF MY FRIENDS CHILD. **** THE DRIVER PROCEEDS TO TELL ME ALL THE THINGS THEY WONT MOVE AND THIS IS GOING TO BE A 5 OR 6 HOUR JOB COSTING ME OVER $1000.00 TOLD ME THAT THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME AND IF I CALL THE OFFICE THEY WONT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THEN TELL ME THAT IF I CANCEL THE ORDER AND GET A UHAUL THEY WILL MOVE MY STUFF FOR $600. CASH AND SAVE ME OVER $400. I TOLD THEM NO AND CALLED THE MAIN OFFICE. THEY WERE LEAVING BEHIND THINGS THAT THEY COULD TAKE ON PURPOSE UNTIL I TOLD THEM TO TAKE IT. THEY TRIED ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT MY DIVORCE. MADE COMMENTS ABOUT FURNITURE BEING RUINED BECAUSE OF THE RAIN. I SPOKE WITH *****, WHO TOLD ME A MGR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. I ADVISED HIM OF THE ISSUES INCLUDING THE REQUEST TO CANCEL AND PAY THEM, AND SAID I WANTED TO NEW MOVERS OR TO MOVE THE NEXT DAY. HE SAID THAT WAS NOT POSSIBLE AND THAT HE WOULD " FIX IT". FOLLOWING THE MOVE TO THE NEW HOUSE, THE MOVERS DIDNT USE THE PROTECTIVE EQUPT. EVEN THOUGH I ASKED THEM TO, SEVERAL TIMES, MISS STACKED BOXES, HAVING THINGS FALL OFF AND BREAK. THEN THE SAYS WE GOT DONE EARLY AND SAVED YOU $300. AND INCLUDED THE 1/2 THAT THEY WAITED FOR THE RAIN TO SLOW. A FEW DAYS LATER ASKING TO SPEAK WITH THE MANAGER ABOUT IT AND ***** ONCE AGAIN SAID THE MANAGER IS NOT AVAILABLE BECUASE HE IS VISITING HIS MOM WHO HAS CANCER BUT I'LL GIVE YOU HIS CELL PHONE NUMBER. HE THEN PROCCED TO GIVE ME THE MANAGERS NAME AND CELL

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST A REFUND OF 780.78 (MY BILL) FOR THESE SERVICES. I FEEL THAT THE WAY THIS WAS HANDLED WAS BEYOND POOR AND THE SERVICE FALSLEY ADVERTIZED TO ME. I WANT THE COMPLAINT PUBLISHED I AM GOING THROUGH A DIVORCE AND HAD NO ONE TO HELP ME MOVE. I THOUGHT THAT THIS WOULD BE A GOOD SOLUTION. IT WAS A HORRIBLE MISTAKE. WHEN I FIRST CALLED THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS WERE VERY NICE ACCOMODATING AND PROFESSIONAL SOUNDING. THEY HAD ME BELIVING THE MOVING EXPERIENCE WOULD BE TOO.

Business Response: All My Sons Moving & Storage would like to thank you for the opportunity to reply to our customer's complaint. It remains our goal to respond to all customer inquiries in both a timely and professional manner. We have called and left you a voicemail and we would like to work together towards a reasonable resolution. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked and paid a deposit to All My Sons to move me on June 7 2014 after the sales associate assured me the move would be done on that day and professional. They were supposed to move me between 12pm-4pm. I received a call at 2pm the day of the move telling me they weren't going to be able to move me unless I push I move to later in the week. I had to be moved that day, hence why I scheduled it and double checked it would be done that day before I paid my deposit. They assured me their "sister" company would come later that day to move me. The company that showed up assured me they are in no way incorporated with All My Sons nor are they a sister company. All My Sons had overbooked themselves and called a completely different moving company that had availability. This other company didn't show up until 8:20 pm and didn't finish moving me until after 11pm. My furniture was not wrapped up and they put a dent in my wall and were not willing to fix it. This other company also ended up costing me approx $200 more than what I was quoted. When I called All My Sons and asked to speak with management I was promised several times I would hear from the manager first thing in the morning. It took almost 3 weeks and several calls and voicemails before I ever received a call back. When I received a call back from the General manager he was very inattentive. I could hear him talking to other people while he was supposed to be listening to my concerns. Eventually the manager began yelling at me saying he can't help me. I also have yet to receive my deposit refund. The manager said it only takes 48 hours yet I've been told repeatedly that it has been "processed" as a refund for almost 3 weeks. When I asked the manager for a corporate number to address my concerns with someone else he yelled at me "look it up". Eventually, the manager put me in contact with a corporate employee who apologized but did nothing to make up for the extra money spent. I'm am still waiting for my refund of my deposit.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit refunded immediately as well as compensation for the $200 more that I ended up having to pay for an unprofessional moving job.

Business Response: All My Sons Moving & Storage would like to thank you for the opportunity to reply to this complaint. It remains our goal to respond to all inquiries in both a timely and professional manner. The deposit has been refunded. For any other concerns please contact the company that moved you. Thank you, we wish you all the best.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When this company moved our furniture into storage in October 2013 the movers lost control and a few of our piece slide off their dolly's and where damaged. The movers assured us that when we got our stuff out of storage that their company would send a repair person to fix it, we just needed to call the office to complete a claims form. I completed the claims form and was told I had to wait until we moved out of storage and to call back. Then I called in March to schedule our move and to find out what's next and I was told I needed to complete yet another form and that it could take 30 days for a response. I sent the form in and was sent another form to complete because they couldn't fully see my photos. Once I resent the complete package I waited, sent final form in April 2014 and on June 2014 I received an update, $33 to fix my property. The furniture was only 1.5 years only purchased brand new from ****** the style is no longer in stock at ******.

Desired Settlement: For the company to send a furniture repair person or cover the cost to nightstand, mirror and dresser fixed.

Business Response: ****** I am glad we were able to speak on the phone this morning. Per our conversation you will receive and email from me today with a reasonable resolution. Thanks!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I just received an updated settlement statement. I will be completing and mailing this week. I appreciate your help in this matter. Your organization has always helped me to resolve issues with companies. Have a great day. 

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used this company a week ago to move from a 2 bedroom apartment to a 2 bedroom condo. After the move we found numerous scratches amd dents in our new furniture despite the furniture bring wrapped and padded.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for the repairs and or pay for new if cant rpair.

Business Response:

To *** *****,

We regret that ********* ****** had damage from recent local move with All My Sons Moving and Storage.  I confirmed with ** **** ****** that the claims packet was mailed out her on March 5, 2014.

Unfortunately, a completed claim form must be submitted to begin the claim process.  I will continue to monitor the progress of the claim, and as needed update The BBB and our customer as well. 

Respectfully,

**** ******

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

 
I have received my claims packet in the mail today and will fill it out and return to All My Sons.   Once the claim process has begun and if AI am unsatisfied with the results I will contact you.   

Regards,

******** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All my sons moving and storage moved our household items on September 28th. One of the pieces of our furniture was dropped as one worker fell off a ramp. We were told that the company would send us a claim form so that we could get it repaired or replaced. We never received a claim form and after multiple phone calls to the company we received a claim form in email. We then emailed and mailed it back to the company but never received any calls or affirmation of receipt. I started calling the company again and one person said that the claims are handled in *****. I called ***** a couple of times and was told that they would get back with us the next day once they spoke to the company in Cincinnati. We never received a phone call. My husband called All my sons again and then he was told that the claim would be handled in Cincinnati. Again we started calling and I was asked to mail another claim form and pictures of the damage. I did both the next day including asking to acknowledge the receipt of the email with pictures. Again nobody emailed/called/mailed us back. Once again I called and asked for the manager and the person who I sent the pictures to (****) came on the phone and said that the "********* *****" should be contacting us (This conversation happened last Tuesday 11/12). I waited until Friday, then I called back again and I was assured by the Manager "Patrick" that the ********* ***** would call me on Saturday. Again I received no phone calls. I called back again today (11/18/13) spoke to Patrick who asked me to call the furniture medic which I declined. A little while later the furniture medic contacted me and said that they are supposed to set up an appointment but they did not know what for. The piece of furniture (a computer desk hutch) was in excellent condition as it had only been constructed then stored, then it was dropped. The mahogany covered particle board is damaged in several places with the mahogany covering completely destroyed on several corners and in the back. We included the replacement information, the furniture was custom ordered to fit the office. We originally ordered the furniture at ****** *** and as of right now we would be able to replace it. The replacement cost is $420 and it is unreasonable to continue to drag this issue out any longer. I am not able to unload my office or finish the moving in part in this room. Furniture medic is supposed to come repair it on Saturday 11/23, however unless it looks like new I cannot accept this. It is pretty much impossible to repair damaged particle board with wood covering. It is very frustrating,very unprofessional and quite ridiculous to delay such a "small monetary complaint" for a moving company.

Desired Settlement: Check for full purchase amount of replacement furniture ASAP.

Business Response:   With good intention, rather than simply compensating her for the damaged hutch (200 lbs.) in the amount of $120 as determined by and in accordance with the terms of her signed moving contract (60 cents per pound per article for damaged items) we attempted to have a separate furniture repair company repair the hutch. Unfortunately, the repair company did not respond promptly to the customer as they had indicated they would to us and we apologize for this delay. At our expense, the repair company picked up the damaged piece and subsequently the repairman was told by our customer that they would not accept it if the repair was noticeable. Given the construction of the hutch (pressboard with a plastic "mahogany appearance" laminate) it could not be guaranteed that the repair would riot be noticeable. In light of customer goodwill, we are offering **** ****** the amount she requested ($420,00) based upon the acceptance of the terms set forth on the signed release form. This amount far exceeds our maximum contractual obligation of $120. I have enclosed a copy of the settlement letter for your reference.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was moved into a new home in April 9th of this year having used this company twice before. After a few days, I noticed a rip in my recliner and the back (which was taken off for moving) was loose. I called immediately and sometime mid-May (?) (many phone calls made, left, unreturned when upholsterer did not call) and was finally sent an upholsterer who said he did not handle maintenance issues. Since the repairs to the material were not on the seam, we felt like we would not be satisfied. When they sent us a release form April 10th and I saw what they were going to pay us, I sent a letter on June 26 requesting repairs and a maintenance man to inspect the looseness but heard nothing. On July 10th I called to speak with the mgr and left a message but have not heard a word. I think a long enough period has gone by that this issue should have been resolved.

Desired Settlement: I would like a courtesy phone call from the Manager and the necessary repairs by the upholsterer and the maintenance personnel be made. I would also like copies of the forms I signed on moving day which I have asked for but never received.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of correspondence dated July 26, 2013, in reference to ****** *******'s complaint with our company. After reviewing Ms. *******'s complaint, I called Ms. ******* on 7/26/13 to discuss her damage claim with our company. The damage was to an upholstered chair. Ms ******* indicated that the back of it had a rip and that it was loose. In accordance with the terms of the customer-signed Bill of Lading and in accordance with related state law, lost and damaged goods will be reimbursed in an amount not exceeding sixty cents per pound per article (see enclosed signed copy of which an additional copy will be mailed to Ms. ******* per her request). A claim form was sent to Ms. ******* soon after her move. We received her completed claim form on approximately 4/23/13 which indicated an approximate weight of 100 lbs, for the chair. **** sent an upholsterer to Ms. ******* to look at the chair and since the rip was not on the seam, the repair would be visible. Since Ms. ******* indicated that she would not be satisfied with the repair, **** then sent a settlement form for the amount the company is legally obligated to pay in accordance with the Bill of Lading. The estimated weight of the chair was calculated to be 90 lbs. thus the settlement would be $54.00 (90 lbs. x $,60/1b. = $54). As mentioned, I spoke with Ms. ******* and we agreed to have a repairman look at the chair to see if it was financially feasible for the company to repair the "looseness". If so, Ms. ******* indicated that she was not as concerned about the visual appearance of the rip if it can be sewn together since it would not be visible given its location within the house, If the loosenes was repaired, we would then determine the financial feasibility of simply having the rip sewn together as well. If we determined the amount to be feasible, we would then ask Ms. ******* to sign a release form prior to the upholster repair as we would have already spent significantly more than the coverage amount of $54.00. Should you have any additional questions, please call me at the above telephone number,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It was my understanding from Mr. ******* that if the looseness could be fixed, then they would go ahead with the rip repair.  If it could not be repaired  that the he would work with me on an alternative to $54.  If the looseness cannot be fixed, I would at least like the rip to be repaired. 

 

Regards,

****** ******* (aka ***

 

 

Business Response: have received an email from the BBB regarding a complaint by Ms. *******. The situation has been resolved and the update is as follows:

A repair company was sent out to Ms. ******* to inspect the chair for any "looseness" caused by transit damage and none was found (see enclosed invoice for inspection). I discussed this result with Ms. ******* and Ms. ******* still wanted us to send someone to repair the fabric tear/rip. All My Sons then sent a fabric repair company which repaired the tear (see enclosed invoice for repair).

Should you have any additional questions, please call me at the above telephone number.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, I moved in April 2013 and it took until September to resolve the issue;  phone calls were not returned, or returned a week later, contractors did not call to schedule appointments for weeks.  I realize that they were not responsible for repairs made and truly appreciate Patrick working with me.

Regards,

****** ******* (aka ***




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked All My Sons movers for a move in Mason, Ohio on Feb 13, 2013. We booked for both Packing and Moving and when the movers arrived they refused to do the packing. THey said they will reschedule or provide a discount. Since i had taken a vacation only for the move, i opted to take the discount. When i called ALl my sons and spoke to ******, he said none of the company people promised us a discount. THe mover boys (3 of them) who had come for the move also heard this and can authenticate to this fact in addition to my wife - THe person not only told me about the discount but also to my wife and the 3 mover boys who were there. In addition they also charged me $50 at the time of booking and they did not even discount that in the final bill. Then we had to move many things on our own and it was very difficult to do with my 2 year old.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a refund of the entire amount i paid to All My Sons for mental agony and difficulties my family had to go through on the day of move (13th Feb, 2013) till today.

Business Response:

As previously indicated, we are in receipt of correspondence in reference to a complaint with our company torn. *** ***********. Upon review of his complaint, we have found several inaccurate statements. Our computerized reservation system tracks and provides a dated history of events occurring with a customers move. **, ************* move was reserved under the name ****** ****** and the reservation was made on 2/11/13 at 4:36 pm for a move on 2/13/13. Our customer service rep ***** made the reservation and the customer at that time requested a discount since they felt that our hourly rate was too high. ***** told the customer that she was unable to provide a discount. The customer then paid the $50 deposit and the customer never mentioned requiring our packing services when asked. On 2/11/13 at 5:02 pm our customer service rep ******** called the customer to confirm the move and ******** went over the scope of the move (again, there was no packing mentioned by customer when asked), methods of payment, etc.. Again, the customer requested a discount from ******** since he felt it was a high hourly rate and ******** told him that we were unable to provide a discount. We do a confirmation call in order to avoid any miscommunications and also to go over the scope of the move so there are no surprises for either the customer or our company. On 2/13/13 our moving crew arrived at the customer's house and began the move. Approximately 1 hour and forty-five minutes after the start of the move which was in the afternoon, the customer calls our office and speaks with ****, our sales manager. The customer asks **** where the packing supplies were and **** told him that he did not ask for packing services at the time of the reservation nor during the confirmation call when asked. **** then asked the customer if he would like us to bring out boxes to him (she was finishing her shift and lives only a few blocks away from the customer and was willing to take boxes out to him) he said that he didn't want the boxes but wanted a discount instead. **** told him, as others had before, that we could not give him a discount but we can deliver the boxes. He then said that he would get back to her but he didn't call back. 1, along with ***** ******** (operations manager) recall **** offering the boxes to him as she had mentioned to us during the call that she may need to deliver boxes. The customer then called ***** 1-2 weeks later saying that he never got a discount for the move. He claimed that **** told him he would get a discount and ***** told him again that we could not provide him with a discount and that he had heard **** telling him on the phone that we couldn't give him a discount.


If the customer had requested packing services or supplies at either the time of reservation or during the confirmation call we would have been happy to provide/supply this service but it was never requested at either time. We were even willing to bring boxes out to him during the move but he declined and wanted a discount from the time he made the reservation_ In addition, the customer never complained to the office that the moving crew did not load items from the origin address as it is the customer's responsibility to walk thru the house to ensure that all items have been taken. In reference to the $50 deposit mentioned in the complaint letter, this amount was deducted from the final bill. The total cost of the move was $496.00 and the $50 deposit was subtracted from this, thus leaving a balance of $446.00 which the customer paid.

Consumer Response:  

Thank you for sending us the response from All My Sons. I want to begin by saying what was mentioned on the complaint letter we have found several inaccurate statements. Well, statements do look inaccurate if they are not presented in full. The story presented does not cover the entire episode that happened.

 

My wife ****** ****** did reserve the company for Packing and Moving on 2/13/13 (Not only move as alluded in the letter by the company). They quoted a price for 3 people and the customer service rep. did advise ****** that they would send 3 people when we requested for 2 since they said there is packing involved. The company also assured my wife that this would cover all the packing materials. At this point, when ****** thought 2 would be sufficient for a 2 bed room apartment move, ****** did request a discount which the company refused. At that point ****** agreed to their price since there were two things involved: 3 people and Packing along with packing materials (in addition to moving). The customer then paid the $50 deposit”… I want to make it clear that we did not pay the $50 deposit by choice, but we were asked to pay this to confirm the appointment and my wife promptly provided the credit number without further adieu, making sure the company understands that both packing and moving are involved.

 

Day of move: The 3 company people arrive at our home for the move. There was a shocker – we asked them to start packing. They said they did not know they were supposed to pack. Now we are not aware why the order confirmation was not passed to the crew members. We expressed shock on this. Immediately one of the crew member called the office (this is not mentioned in the letter by the company) and spoke over all this. They suggested that we fix the move on a different day!!! I had taken a day off from work specifically for the move. I had cleaning scheduled in the apartment after this. Well with my two year old baby around and taken off from work they left me with no choice. I then decided to go ahead with the move on the same day. All the calls were made during the time when they billed me for their time. When one of the crew member was talking on the telephone discussing this with his office none of the crew members were working. Then I questioned them about the point of them sending me 3 people instead of 2. The premise of sending 3 was there was packing involved. The crew told me that the office has agreed to provide us a discount for the confusion and they apologized.

 

Then, one of the crew member made me sign a huge stack of papers (in my own time for which I paid for – during this process one of the crew member was not working and rather was with me with the paper work). We lost a fair bit of time there with one crew-member not working but they still charged me for the same.

 

The work started. I was upset the whole time since without packing I knew most of my stuff would not get shifted that day. I was discussing this with the crew members and after a while I called the office and spoke to them to express the agony I went through. They said the same thing that I will have to reschedule the move to a different date. This time they offered me a box, which was not really an option at that time. I had to pay extra for the packing now and also lose my vacation day for this! Initially when the appointment was booked by my wife, they quoted a price for 3 people (instead of 2 since packing is involved), materials for packing, and packing. Now they changed – agreed to get me boxes for an extra price. I said I will get back. I thought about that. Then I refused their offer since I did not want pay extra for something that was not my fault. The crew members then called the company (again this is not addressed in the letter), the crew members spoke to the company over a speaker phone – this was heard by 5 people (3 crew members, me and my wife) that they will provide discount for the confusion they created. The company people may please talk to all 3 crew-members who heard this. I very clearly mentioned this to ***** on all my follow up calls. 

 

At the end of the move: One of the crew member approached me and said you need to a make a payment now or else we will not get your couch out of the moving van. Another shocker – but by this I had already realized that I was not having a professional service. The crew member refused to take my couch off until I made the payment. Again this discussion happened in the time for which I paid for. I very promptly handed over the credit card to the crew member who processed the payment. At that time, I was so busy settling down things that the discount slipped out of my mind. The company was not courteous enough to discount what they promised for and they charged me in full.

 

Subsequently I contacted the company, spoke to ***** and mentioned to him that I never got a discount for the move. ***** said he will get back to me on this. I had to call them more than 5 times to follow up on this. Every time I even suggested ***** to pull out our telephone conversation script so to make things clear – about my wife requesting packing, we requesting for discounts, crew members talking to the company, and finally the company promising us the discount. Every time I called the company, I specifically requested them to let me talk to Jason. ***** everytime said he would discuss and get back to me. He never called me back even once. I was very frustrated and asked him that you will never get back and asked him if he can provide me the promised discount. ***** refused and banged the phone on me. This is the day when I contacted BBB after requesting the company multiple times.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would not recommend this company if you are planning to move.If the weather calls for possible Blizzard conditions have the foresight to call and reschedule. Started loading my furniture. Which let me also say they did not take all of my stuff. The sales people claim that each truck will hold 2300 sq ft of furniture so we ordered 2 trucks because our house was 3000 sq ft. We did not take all of our furniture as we were leaving some pieces behind. However, what we did want moved was whatever they felt like moving. We moved boxes ourselves. So they load up what they wanted and headed to our new house. They get to the our new house at about 3 pm. It is sleeting at this point but still not horrible. We have one driveway that is flat next to the garage. So as I am sitting inside, one of the workers come in(Not the foreman). He proceeds to tell me that he thinks it's not safe to unload. So I say ok can you pull up next to the garage and go through it since you can back alomst into it. He says no it has been a long day and All My Sons does not care about our safety but he wants me to talk to the foreman and have them call it a day. He said they would bring back salt the next day and be able to start early to get it all in. I said well we have no place to stay tonight. So he goes out to the truck gets 3 matresses and throws them in the rooms. They were soaked from the rain and we couldnt sleep on them. We had to get a hotel room.Next morning headed to the house early to receive a ********* **** delivery of my couches. A woman at the office called and said we are not going to deliver your furniture. We think it is to slick and you need to have a service come and put salt down. I explained said they said they bring it. She said no you have a couple of hrs and if it's not done then your stuff goes in storage and it very costly and I dont think you want that. Now I have to rent a truck to get my other stuff. I had pieces broken and glass missing from furniture. What a mess!!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like some compensation for the truck I have to rent, the guys I have to hire to move my other furniture and the time I have to take off work to do it. I only had this week off for the move.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of correspondence dated December 28, 2012, in reference to a complaint with our company. After reviewing **** ******* complaint, I would like to address the issues that **** ***** brought up.

**** ******* move took place on December 26th, 2012. The weather was bad and it was supposed to sleet, snow and rain all day long. When the crew arrived, the driver had called me immediately to tell me that the customer was not properly prepared and thus not ready for the move. I told him that I would see the house shortly as I was bringing out the second truck to the job and was only about 15 minutes behind the crew. When I arrived the crew had already started working and was loading the first truck, I walked in and did a walk through of their home to find that they really were not ready to move at all. As I walked through I had noticed that all their furniture was covered with items that should have already been packed in boxes. items were left on dressers, couches had clothes and other items on them, mattresses still had sheets and bed spreads as well as other personal items on them. The floors were covered with toys and various miscellaneous items. Boxes were not packed correctly as many of them were overfilled and items were spilling out of the top thus making moving them very difficult and unsafe In addition, boxes that are overfilled with items cannot be stacked on top of one another inside the truck since they would fall over (and possibly break the contents) thus minimizing the usable space within the truck.

I approached *** ***** (**** ***** had already left when the crew arrived) about the condition of their home for moving and explained to him that we could not take all of the loose items that needed to be boxed and everything had to be cleared off of the furniture in order for the furniture to be loaded on the truck. I also explained that with such a big load that we would not be able to take the open top boxes because there would be no way to stack the items in the back of the truck without breaking the items in the box since they were not packed properly as previously mentioned (if the boxes were packed properly and closed, there would have been enough room for them to be loaded onto the truck since they could then be stacked). He understood and started to clear off the furniture for us to be able to take the items,

By the time that both trucks were loaded and ready to go the bad weather had set in and the falling snow was sticking to the roads. I witnessed *** ***** (again, **** ***** was not present) telling the crew that they (the crew) had gotten everything that was going, so the crew strapped off the load and got ready to leave. I then took the second truck to the new home. When I pulled up to their new home the roads were already slippery and the road that their new home was on went up a steep hill and their driveway was right in the middle of it. I had backed my truck into the driveway to stage it for when the crew arrived. It was already very slick and covered with slush. When the second truck pulled up to the house, the driver stopped on the hill in front of the house and the truck started sliding back down the road due to the slippery conditions (note that the truck weighs over eight tons empty and thus is extremely dangerous when it slides due to slippery conditions). The driver then pulled back up the hill to attempt to back it in the driveway, By the time he had backed It into the driveway, the driveway was already covered with snow and slush and was very slick. I had asked **** ***** if she had any salt to put down so it would not be a dangerous slip hazard and she said she had none. Unfortunately, I had to call the delivery off since the driveways and walkways were extremely slick and thus making it too dangerous for the truck and the men carrying the items into the house. At that time the weather had gotten worse and the driver of the other truck had come to me saying that he had spoke to **** ***** and she was willing to take delivery of the her goods the next day, That** when I went in to speak with **** ***** and asked her if that was correct. I told her that it would be the best for everyone because it is not safe to carry anything heavy on slick surfaces. She then asked the driver if we could get her beds off of the truck so they had somewhere to sleep. Since the truck was loaded, the only thing we could get to was three mattresses since the bed frames were not accessible, We pulled the mattresses out and brought them into the house for them. She said that the mattresses were soaked but the only time that they were exposed to the weather was when we were unloading them and taking them inside.

I told her we would not charge her for storing her items overnight inside the trucks and that she just had to make sure her driveways and walkways were treated and cleared for the crew to complete the move safely the next day (please note the customer-signed liability waiver form attached indicating that it is the customer** responsibility to have the driveways and walkways properly treated for snow). She said ok. *** ***** was not present at that time. He had left a little bit earlier to take his son to the doctor,


The next day when the crew arrived, the driveway and walkways were a sheet of ice. it was never treated and cleared and everything froze overnight. The office called *** *****, it was the only telephone number we had for them, and explained to him that the driveway and walkways needed to be cleared. He said that nobody told him that (even though he had signed the waiver form acknowledging the customer** responsibilities concerning inclement weather the day before) and since I had told **** ***** specifically (he was not present) that it needed to be cleared off. He said ok and called a plow service to plow and salt the driveway. Our crew waited for three hours, at no charge to the customer, for the driveway to be cleared. By the time i got back out to the job, most of the ice was gone but the walkways still had some ice on them. I personally then took a hammer and a shovel and started to break the ice off the steps and using the shovel to clear the rest of the ice off of the steps. *** ***** then showed up and started to help clear the ice off. Once we had the steps cleared off they got the truck into place and started to unload the items.

Although we understand that the move did not go as desired, we feel that the two primary causes for this were the bad weather coupled with the customer not being properly prepared (boxes properly packed, loose items within the house, etc.) and ready to be moved. Unfortunately we do not have any control over either of these two factors, Nevertheless, in light of customer goodwill, we'd be willing to offer the customer $150 to help offset any additional costs incurred.

Respectfully,

***** ********

Operations Manager

All My Sons Moving and Storage


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

I am perplexed about the boxes were over flowin when you never moved boxes at all. We had done that ourselves. Not to mention ***** never called us at all.  We only received calls from other workers and when the weather was predicted to be bad I would expect a company to not start a job they cannot finish.  Not to mention I was approached by **** an told the company doesn't care about our safety so could talk to ***** about calling it a day. I explained we didn't have a place to stay so he went out and retrieved wet mattresses only a few not all and put them on the floor. The next day we were not called to tell is what time and never told a time the day prior. We did t know what the next step was as **** had told me as he was putting the mattresses down that tomorrow would be better as they would bring salt with them. Still at no point had ***** let us know anything.  When I was called the next Morning by the office I made arrangements and had the driveway taken care of immediately. ***** never stayed the second day and all our furniture in the basement was left standing on end and all in the middle of the floor. The workers actually were arguing as to who had to bring in the washer and dryer because they said they were to heavy and didn't feel like taking off the door. When we asked where all the glass pieces were to the furniture we were handed several wrapped blankets and they left them with us and say they hoped it was all there.  We are still missing pieces and have several Broken items. 

Regards,

**** *****

 

Business Response:

We are in receipt of correspondence dated 01/17/2013, in reference to a response to a complaint with our company. After reviewing **** ******* response, 1 would like to address the issues that **** ***** brought up.

First 1 would like to begin by addressing the issue with the boxes. Our prior response concerning the boxes was only to explain the reason as to why we did not move them as they were not properly packed. In addition, as previously mentioned, the customer was not ready/prepared to be moved as things were on the floor as well as on the furniture items. Again, after I performed a walkthrough of the house, I explained (in person, not on the phone) to *** ***** what we could take and he understood and began clearing off the furniture so we could load the items. At that early point of the move, the customer could have asked us to stop since *** ***** was informed of the limitations, we were simply trying to assist them in at least getting some of the moving done for them. Towards the end of the loading process I, as mentioned in our prior response, witnessed *** ***** telling the crew that they (the crew) had gotten everything that was going thus the crew strapped off the load and made preparations to leave as we relied on *** ******* direction that no other items were going.

When the tracks arrived at the new home (which is on a steep hill), the street as well as her driveway (and walkways) had not been treated for snow/ice thus the trucks were sliding dangerously. At that point we had to make a safety decision based on the ever-worsening weather, which we have no control over, as well as the dangerous slippery walkways. The ability for the trucks to maneuver safely is of utmost importance and priority as a sliding truck can potentially do tremendous damage to property as well as risk the lives and safety of those in it and people/cars around it. Given these unforeseeable conditions, it was not safe to continue. I personally (not by phone) then spoke to ***. ***** to confirm that we could make the delivery first thing the following morning due to the dangerous conditions. She then asked if we could get her beds, and we were able to get three of them off the truck as the fourth was not accessible given the items that were loaded in front of it. It is possible that falling snow may have gotten on the beds as they were being offloaded however the possibility of items getting wet in rain/snow


was addressed in writing (and signed off by the customer as acknowledgement and attached in our first response) prior to the beginning of the move. As previously mentioned, I then told her in person (not on the phone) that the driveways and walkways had to be cleared and treated for the crew to complete the move (which was also addressed in writing and signed off by the customer as acknowledgement prior to the start of the move). The moving crew then arrived at 8:15am the following morning and neither the walkway nor the driveway was treated or cleared (as requested the prior day) and had frozen over thus the crew was not able to deliver at that time. The crew then returned a few hours later after these areas were cleared and treated and I came, again in person, to ensure that the trucks could begin offloading safely and I also helped clear ice off the steps and then left.

As mentioned previously, we feel that the two primary factors causing these issues was the lack of preparedness for the move and the bad weather conditions, neither of which we had control over. We are still willing to offer $150 to help cover any additional costs. We had also previously sent ***. ***** a claim form to address any issues concerning broken items.

Respectfully

***** ********

Operations Manager

All My Sons Moving and Storage


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:


*****


I am not certain that the $150 will cover renting a truck to get the flower pots and freezer that are still left. Me ***** knew the upstairs dressers had to be cleared and did so as downstairs stuff was being removed. Not to mention there were not many items left on the dressers. I actually had one magazine on mine  which shouldn't have been a big deal. The boxes were overflowing because those were items we were bringing and not part of the move.  I actually didn't speak with you first. I had a conversation with one of your crew members that went on for 5 mins about the company not caring about his safety and asked that I go out and speak with you. At which point you came in and said your crew was leaving. I was told by a diff person that you would come back tomorrow and bring salt. I asked again are you guys bringing it or do I have to go to **** *****?  He said we will take care of it. Then the next day, you didn't even call you had another employee call us and then you never answered your phone after that point. 

You showed up at the house then left. So you have no idea what happened after you were gone. I now am faced with having to get a freezer and some other items left behind. 


Yes he did fill out the claim form but how do you put a price on a missing piece from an item made in 1911 given to you from your parents who passed away. Not something you can itemize as my husband's stomach turns every time he looks at it.


**** 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

**** *****

 

Business Response:   We are in receipt of **** ******* correspondence regarding a complaint with our company. Although we believe that we should not be held responsible for those items which are still at the origin address given the information we provided previously, including, as mentioned previously, that *** ***** said to our crew that we had gotten the items that needed to go and that no other time was charged for or paid for the additional items that **** ***** mentions. I would offer that if there are only one to three furniture items that still need to be moved, as a gesture of goodwill, I would offer to move them at no charge. If, on the other hand, there are more items than this (boxes, additional furniture, etc.) I would offer to send a two man crew at $99 per hour with no minimum (its normally 2 hours) and no trip charge (normally $99). The hourly rate would start when the crew arrived at the residence and would continue from the time they loaded the truck, drove to the new address, and then offloaded the truck.

Patrick O'Neil, President
All My Sons

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My move was from a two bedroom condo to house in **. I asked that the move be T&M because the estimator looked at more stuff than was to be moved. I wasn't moving the whole condo - simply a couple of desks a couple of bookshelves and a couch plus some miscellaneous household goods. There were no appliances or heavy pieces, most of the furniture was to be given away. When the movers came to the condo they did not give me an empty truck weight ticket - because they left it at the office. When the they got to ** they still didn't have the empty weight ticket and the loaded truck was weighed near the destination.The movers busted my kitchen table and tried to fix it, but the fix didn't hold. The movers also "lost" a box of kitchen plates and wine glasses. For over two weeks I've been calling All My Sons and have gotten a run around on the empty truck weight so I could be charged correctly. The office in ** ***** has been the worst but the ownership of the problem lies with the originator (Cincinnati). The Cincinnati office pushed me off to the ** ***** office. The ** ***** office have been misleading and in the end basically couldn't do the simple task of making me comfortable with a certified empty truck weight. I have been asking them to email the paperwork and they are continuously stalling. On a phone call, after I pressed, a representative actually tried to tell me that my weight was over 7000lbs, which he knew was wrong - simply based on the inventory, and what others in his own company said. These people have never followed up on their own - I've had to initiate all communication. I've dealt with bad companies like this before, they always say they are busy, they stonewall, they don't have the information, their email doesn't work so good, etc. But they have no problem keeping your money. I'd recommend that you stay away from these people or make sure you have the time to inspect their work every step of the way. Chances are if you were happy with them you overpaid.

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to be honest and deal with me fairly, and not treat me like a fool. My guess is that the weight of my items in the truck were about 3500lbs. max. based on the inventory. We had a non binding contract were they are obligated to prove their charges - because of their business practices I was forced to pay prior to given proof - I expect a refund for the actual weight.

Business Response: We are in receipt of correspondence dated November 12, 2012, in reference to **** ********* complaint with our company. According to the inventory of items that was made at the time of *** ********* move, there were in excess of two hundred items (which includes furniture, various household items and boxes) that were transported thus the weight would be greater than 3500 lbs.. Our **** ****** ******* office has been in contact with *** ******** since last week and a mutually agreed upon settlement has been made. Should you have any additional questions, please call me at the above telephone number.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and per the response,  find that working with the people in*** ***** is satisfactory to me.  All My Sons Moving & Storage and I have come to a mutual agreement.

Please remove my complaint ******** from your records.

 

Regards,

 

 

**** *******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/19/2012 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/7/2012 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/20/2011 Delivery Issues
12/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2011 Delivery Issues
8/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1