This business is not BBB accredited.

PineCone Research Panel

Phone: (888) 572-2676 250 E 5th St Ste 1000, Cincinnati, OH 45202 http://www.pineconeresearch.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

PineCone Research Panel offers online consumer market research.  Participants in the panel are paid in the form of a check or through PayPal, with sweepstakes opportunities.  The amount of payment varies according to when you signed up, and all disclosures should be clearly stated on the registration page.  Panelists can expect to be called upon to answer a survey once or twice a month, sometimes less, based on client volume.  The Nielsen Company owns the PineCone Research Panel and AC Nielsen Bases.   Click here for the BBB report on The Nielsen Company.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for PineCone Research Panel include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for PineCone Research Panel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on PineCone Research Panel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1998
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Cribbs
Related Businesses
The Nielsen Co.
Business Category

Market Research & Analysis

Alternate Business Names
Pinecone Research

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

PineCone Research Panel has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    250 E 5th St Ste 1000

    Cincinnati, OH 45202 (888) 572-2676

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pinecone Research is a Market Research company that specializes in online surveys.I am a member. My account is in good standing. I respond promptly to all email invitations. I have never violated the terms.I tried to log into my account and found out that my account was deactivated. They never notified me first.I had changed my payment request from check to Pay Pal and saw a mention of my account terminated on 5/4.There is no reason to drop your present loyal participants. I feel that I am being used and discarded.They try and recruit new members on other survey websites.I belong to 10 other survey companies and have never been terminated.No other company does this. This is unacceptable business practice. The BBB should be aware of this .Also future applicants need to know.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reinstated as a member.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *********

First and foremost, thank you for participating in our surveys.

We are sorry for the inconvenience, however we occasionally must refresh our sample to meet the changing demands of our

clients, in addition we must also account for shifts in population growth and demographic trends. As a result, this sometimes results in turnover so

that new people can be recruited into the panel. This allows us to provide the most accurate information that our clients demand.

We again thank you for your participation, and hope you might consider participating again if you receive an offer to do so.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ********

No other market research company has a business practice like Pinecone. When they release a lot of their loyal participants they realize they need to recruit again. Then I will be seeing a lot of aggressive advertising on other survey websites. I hope future applicants see my complaint and will not join this panel.

2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do surveys for this company in exchange for points that I cash out via PayPal. On 1/17/16 I cashed out 4000 points which is $40. On 1/22/16 I received another email stating that my PayPal payment is unclaimed and the unclaimed money will be returned in 30 days. I have always gotten my payments in the past with no issues. I emailed the company on 1/23/16 asking if I was to expect a check or if the points will be replaced in my account and the response was that the points would be returned in 30 days that payment was initiated. Then on 2/25/16 I got an email from pinecone stating that I can now sign up to cash out via PayPal so I signed up again. I contacted PayPal to see if I had an unclaimed payment and they asked me for a number which I was never given so they were unable to look it up. Here it is 2/25/16 and the 4000 points are still nowhere to be found. I currently have 800 points in my account now that I earned from surveys after I cashed out the 4000 and I'm worried if I cash that out the same thing will happen. I emailed the company again 2/18/16 and got same response that it will be back in my account in 30 days. I need someone to look into this situation since paypal can't tell me anything without the PayPal number.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recieve my payment for the 4000 points ($40) that is missing as well as cash out my 800 points currently in my account via check.

BBB Response:

This message is regarding complaint ID ******** submitted to BBB about your business on 2/25/2016 by ***** ******** .  

We received the information listed below from your customer.  This complaint has been closed as resolved.  If you have any questions, we are happy to assist you. 

IMESSAGE:

Ms. Williams sent an email to the BBB stating her complaint against Pine Cone Research has been resolved.






2/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of this survey panel since 9/6/2011.I have had no issues until recently.I have not received a survey since 12/16/2015.I contacted them to ask why and was then informed I had been removed from their panel for no reason at all.I had 8700 points in my account which equaled $87.I did some research online to find out that I was one of many they have done like this.I believe it was done to keep from having to pay us what we earned. I have been very loyal to this company and completed every survey they sent me in a timely manner.There was no reason for them to do this

Desired Settlement: I want the money that I am owed and I want my account reinstated.

Business Response: *** ******


We apologize for the inconvenience, we have sent the 3 checks you have requested for a total of $87 and you should be receiving them in the next week or two. (2 checks sent on 2/9, 1 sent on 2/16)

We do appreciate your years of service, and we apologize but we occasionally will refresh our sample and this may have been the case for your account. 

Thank you again for helping us with the surveys, and please let us know if you do not receive your checks after a couple weeks.



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
******* *****

I did nothing wrong to be removed from this panel.I always answered questions openly and honestly plus I did this as soon as I received the email to do so.

I am not the only one they have done this to as I have heard from others who had the same thing happen to them for absolutely no reason.They did not have the nerve to contact me and inform me I was being removed from the panel and this shows that they knew they were doing wrong.It states on there that after a year of inactivity they will close your account and they are hoping that me and others would not notice this where they can keep the money we earned.

I have gotten two of my checks,but I will not be happy until my account is reopened.It took me too long to finally get invited to this panel and I am not pleased with how they threw me out like I was garbage when I worked very hard for them.

9/25/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used my reward points to purchase four books from Pinecone Research. The order was placed on Aug. 31. I received the order on Sept. 8 with a U.S. Post Office stamp indicating that the box was damaged and there were "no contents". I emailed Pinecone Research on four separate occasions asking for a points credit or re-shippment of the books I ordered. I have not received a response. This is unacceptable. I have earned the reward points and have not received my order. The company clearly shipped the books I ordered in an inferior box. I have the box as evidence and will gladly provide photos of the box and the U.S. Post Office marking.

Desired Settlement: I prefer a replacement of the books I ordered, however, a replacement of the points is also acceptable.

Business Response: The ******** was first emailed on Tuesday 9/8 at 5:13 pm. Unfortunately due to outlook issues and server problems we were swamped with a large number of emails in our mailboxes. I responded to ******** on Sunday 9/13 and also sent an email to the rewards team asking them to contact ******** as well. See emails attached. I haven’t received a response from the rewards team yet, but I will follow up closely on this matter. Thanks, ******* ****** (Panel Relations)

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I I'm a panelist who gets paid for completing surveys about products. I've been doing this for some time now but every now and then. I haven't been able to take the surveys that I've been assigned to do. In a recent survey that I tried to take, I was stuck on the same page and couldn't go beyond because it would bring me back to the same page. I contacted the customer service and reported the technical problem so they can fix it. The response I gotwas: "Take your time on the page and read it". I was on the same page for over 20 minutes and problem still persisted. I contacted customer service again and all I got was a simple sorry maybe next time. Now, in a new survey, I'm able to log in fine but when I when I log in to take the survey my password isn't working. I get the following response: "Sorry, the username and/or password you have entered is incorrect." I've contacted customer service but there's no response. Since customer service hasn't responded or fixed the problem on their website, it's just telling me that this isn't a good sign for the company. I do know that Pinecone Research is part of ******* and I have contacted them too. This whole situation is very frustrating and I'm starting to get the feeling that I'm being blocked on purpose.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix the problem with their website so I can take the survey that is now open. If they respond after the survey is over, I would like to receive credit for it and the previous survey that I missed.

6/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was doing surveys for pinecone research up until my PC died on me in early to mid April. I was in the process of packing up my house to move to Florida and had no way/time to do their surveys. My old address was ** ******** **** ***** ******** ** *****. Around 4/29/15 I received an email from Pinecone informing me that they noticed that I had not been doing any surveys for them and that to stay active I had to continue doing surveys. On 5/4/15 I emailed them back informing them of my computer issues and asked for my login info because I was unable to get on their site to do surveys without this info. I informed them I had access to a computer and wanted to do surveys. I also sent them emails trying to get this info on 5/8/15, 5/11/15, 5/13/15 and 5/18/15. I never received a response to any of my emails. I also informed them that I had about $12.00 on my account that I wanted to move to my ****** account. This is the first time that I have had any issues with this survey company so I don't understand why they are totally ignoring my emails. As far as I am concerned they have horrible customer service. I can't even reach them by phone because I am unable to find a phone number for them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to get onto my account so that I can move my money to my ****** account. All I need from them is my "House Hold Number" and other login info, such as password and login ID. I don't understand why that is so hard for them to send to me.

Business Response: We have contacted her 4 times over email and I have sent out a letter today with the information she requested to the mailing address on file for her. On behalf of Erin A****, Senior Panel Relations Specialist

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I complete surveys for this company in return, I gain points then I can cash out either by selecting a gift, or selection a cash out, the problem is this company works different than any other, in order to sign into the website you have to wait till they send you your invitation e-mail, inside the e-mail is a special used ID, and Password assigned to each panelist. I have been a member for a long time now and never had a problem till recently. I have not received an invite in over 2 months, this means I can't access my account to cash out my accumulated points for my work. I have waited for now almost 3 months I have called 5 times, and e-mailed 7 times or more and still no response. I would like to redeem my points for Christmas to get my kids something since I have no money which is why I have worked hard to do these surveys, and now I got ripped off it feels like. My points is about a cash value of approximately, $80.00. Usually I would pick out some XBOX games for the kids but I am unable to do so. So to sum it all up this company owes my account information so I can redeem my points.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to send my log in information so I can access my account, in order to redeem my current points for gifts. Furthermore I am requesting at this time they also credit my account with some kind of bonus for having to accept this frustrating ordeal of UN-professionalism from this company. I even did further research and found out Nielsen works with them so I contacted them as well,they said they will contact PineCone and have them contact me,still no response.$80.00 or more.

Business Response: Customer was contacted directly

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 Thank you all at the BBB the company has contacted me, and I am now able to gain access to my account thanks, and happy holidays to you all. This case in my opinion may be closed as the company did respond and is satisfactory outcome.

Regards,

***** *********

Thank you all at the BBB the company has contacted me, and I am now able to gain access to my account thanks, and happy holidays to you all. This case in my opinion may be closed as the company did respond and is satisfactory outcome.
Thank you all at the BBB the company has contacted me, and I am now able to gain access to my account thanks, and happy holidays to you all. This case in my opinion may be closed as the company did respond and is satisfactory outcome.

12/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WAS INVITED TWICE TO TAKE PART IN PINECONES SURVEYS. A ***** ***** HAS TURNED ME DOWN TWICE,BECAUSE OF MY AGE

Desired Settlement: EITHER GIVE ME MY MEMBERSHIP OR PAY FOR SURVEYS I SHOULD HAD BEEBPAID FOR 125.00

Business Response:

We apologize for not approving your membership, but due to lack of completed surveys on 9/17/14 your application was denied.  Your application denial has nothing to do with you age.

 

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.

Regards,

***** ******

***** ***** E- MAILED ME HERSELF 4 TIMES AND I HAVE ALL THE E- MAILS BOTH BACK & FOUTH. I ALSO WAS INVITED BY MY MOTHER- IN- LAW WHO IS A MEMBER IN GOOD STANDING. ***** ****** FROM ******** *** ***** ***** HAS BEEN NOTHING , BUT RUDE TO ME. I SENT HER ( EVERYTHING) SHE ASKED OF ME AND SHE STATED SHE COULD NOT OPEN THEM???? I SENT THEM TO A FRIEND WHO HAD NO PROBLEM OPENING THEM. I AM NOT GOING AWAY. I WILL FIGHT FOR WHAT IS RIGHT. SO I WANT TO BE PAID FOR THE 10 15.00 & 11.00 SURVEYS I DID DO. 110.00 IF THIS IS NOT RESOLVED I WILL BE RETAINING A LAWYER TO SUE PINECONE RESERCH. AND I AM PREETY SURE I WILL WIN, BECAUSE OF ALL THE DOCUMETION I HAVE. MY LAWYERS NAME IS *** ******

12/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have worked at home doing surveys for pinecone research and have not been paid for services rendered. The company has a system where you can either redeem for cash or points. I have continually contact a ***** ***** that I have never been able to access the site she referred me to and need to just collect a check instead,, Each time her reply would be either a automatic response that says to try the same site I have had not luck in accessing one way or the other. The company offers not other assistance. I continued to do surveys for a while longer in hope that the company would work with me but they have not, Recently they sent me a product to try and ask that I return it for compensation, I did and advise them that I need the cash/check refund as the site they keep sending me to rejects my going on or accessing it. I have done at least 6 to 8 or more survey which is suppose to pay 3 dollars. While its petty cash I worked for it and I want to be compensated accordingly. All I have gotten is the run around and I finally just unsubscribed to this agency due to disappointment. I just want what I worked for.

Desired Settlement: To be able to get the compensation I am rightful owed instead of being humiliated

Business Response:

**** ******* was been sent an email today, cashing her points out for a check in the amount of $42.  This will be processed on Friday after the holiday.  Let me know if you need further assistance. 

 

Thanks,

*******

Consumer Response:

Hi so far I have not gotten any compensation for my services, I was suppose to have gotten a check after the holidays but I am still waiting. Therefore the case is still pending as far as I am concerned. Thanks
 
 
God Bless

*****




Business Response: PineCone reached out to the customer directly

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Hi I am please to state that I did get a check today for 42 dollars and plan on cashing it in soon, Having said that I would say my case has been handled properly and fair. I appreciate all your help and Thank you
 
 
God Bless

*****




9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is refusing to allow me to join their FREE survey panel due to a technical problem on THEIR end. They refuse to work with me to resolve the problem and don't seem to have the knowledge to fix it without asking for help I can't give.

Desired Settlement: I want this problem corrected and to be allowed to join their panel. The problem is NOT my fault and it is NOT on my end. It's a technical issue with THEIR survey and though I have given them and EXACT cut and copy of the error I continue to receive they are clueless to fix it. I want them retrained in computer literacy and the problem FIXED!

Business Response:

Hi ******

This is regarding ID *******. We receive the panelists complaint you provided regarding her inability to access and complete her registration. This is no problem with the link or software and we are consistently receiving completed registrations from other panelists. Using the log in information and link she was provided, we were able to access successfully and could not replicate the problem. We sent the panelist the following information below. Please mark this issue as resolved as we have done everything we could on our end.

"Dear Registrant,

I apologize for the difficulty. Please be sure that you are typing in your ID number and password as the copy and paste function can add hidden characters. Also, be sure that you are putting the information in the correct spaces.

You will be able to access these questions only by clicking on the link provided in the PineCone Research Registration email.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

 

Dear Registrant,

I apologize for the difficulty. The Internet will sometimes save 8 to 10 of the last places you visited. When you re-visit them, it diverts to the saved page. On the current studies page, try holding down the control key (bottom left of keyboard) and clicking on refresh (F5) simultaneously. This should bring up the most current page. You also may want to restart your computer. Let me know if you continue to have difficulties.

 

Dear Registrant,

I apologize that we were unable to rectify her issue and thank you for your attempts, because of this issue which is the formatting we use for every survey, we will not be able to have you on our panel."

Thanks,

******** **********

Panel Relations Supervisor

Nielsen

******************************* **** ***************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not believe the company did anything to try to resolve my issue. They NEVER responded the the full text of the problem message I was getting and never LISTENED as I told them OVER and OVER again that it was NOT the initial log in to their survey that failed. I COULD access the survey. It was the first question of the survey that I could not answer. It asked for a user name, NOT an ID number or password and I do NOT have a user name for their site. the company NEVER seemed to understand this and thus they need the retrain their customer service personnel to actually READ customer emails and NOT make assumptions. This matter is not resolved and will not be until the company gives me a user name so I can answer that question on their survey.  

Regards,

** *******

 

 

Business Response:

This is regarding ID *******. We receive the panelists complaint you provided regarding her inability to access and complete her registration This is no problem with the link or software and we are consistently receiving completed registrations from other panelists. Using the log in information and link she was provided, we were able to access successfully and could not replicate the problem. We sent the panelist the following information below. Please mark this issue as resolved as we have done everything we could on our end.

"Dear Registrant,

I apologize for the difficulty. Please be sure that you are typing in your ID number and password as the copy and paste function can add hidden characters. Also, be sure that you are putting the information in the correct spaces.

You will be able to access these questions only by clicking on the !ink provided in the PineCone Research Reg.stration

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

.11.•••••••••••••••

Dear Registrant,

I apologize for the difficulty. The internet will sometimes save 8 to 10 of the last places you visited. When you re-visit them, it diverts to the saved page. On the current studies page. try holding down the control key (bottom left cf keyboard) and clicking on refresh (F5) simultaneously. This should bring up the most curren: page. You also may want to restart your computer. Let me know if you continue to have diff.culties.

Dear Registrant,

I apologize that we were unable to rectify her issue and thank you for your attempts. because of this issue which is the formatting we use for every survey, we will not be able to have you on our panel."

Thanks,

******** ********** ***** ********* ********** ******* ******************************** **** ***************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They STILL are FAILING to address the ACTUAL problem! They FAIL to even SEE the problem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i have told them OVER and OVER and OVER again what the EXACT message I'm receiving is and like they NEVER get it! What they are expalining is NOT the issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The survey is NOT! asking for my user id OR password. It's asking for a USERNAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  these idiots are FAILING to get this and I won't quit until they do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Regards,

** *******

 

 

Business Response:

 

When the USERNAME being prompted for ** ******* it is after she logs in.  After a Panelist enters their ID and Password they should be taken directly to the survey. Our Support team can’t replicate or identify what is causing the prompt for USERNAME.  When issues are specific to their computer (security settings, spyware) and our general troubleshooting does not help, then the panelists computer may not be compatible to complete surveys so we would not need them on the panel.”

 

Thanks

****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business is still REFUSING to even LISTEN or do anything to resolve this matter and they are also trying to put THEIR problem on me. This is NOT my computer OR my system and it happens on MULTIPLE computers! They need to STOP effing around and FIX the problem!

Regards,

** *******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on PineCone Research Panel
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart