This Business is not BBB accredited

PineCone Research Panel

Phone: (888) 572-2676 250 E 5th St Ste 1000, Cincinnati, OH 45202 http://www.pineconeresearch.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

PineCone Research Panel offers online consumer market research.  Participants in the panel are paid in the form of a check or through PayPal, with sweepstakes opportunities.  The amount of payment varies according to when you signed up, and all disclosures should be clearly stated on the registration page.  Panelists can expect to be called upon to answer a survey once or twice a month, sometimes less, based on client volume.  The Nielsen Company owns the PineCone Research Panel and AC Nielsen Bases.   Click here for the BBB report on The Nielsen Company.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for PineCone Research Panel include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for PineCone Research Panel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on PineCone Research Panel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1998
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Cribbs
Related Businesses
The Nielsen Co. Acorn Research
Business Category

Market Research & Analysis

Alternate Business Names
Pinecone Research

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

PineCone Research Panel has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    250 E 5th St Ste 1000

    Cincinnati, OH 45202 (888) 572-2676

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I complete surveys for this company in return, I gain points then I can cash out either by selecting a gift, or selection a cash out, the problem is this company works different than any other, in order to sign into the website you have to wait till they send you your invitation e-mail, inside the e-mail is a special used ID, and Password assigned to each panelist. I have been a member for a long time now and never had a problem till recently. I have not received an invite in over 2 months, this means I can't access my account to cash out my accumulated points for my work. I have waited for now almost 3 months I have called 5 times, and e-mailed 7 times or more and still no response. I would like to redeem my points for Christmas to get my kids something since I have no money which is why I have worked hard to do these surveys, and now I got ripped off it feels like. My points is about a cash value of approximately, $80.00. Usually I would pick out some XBOX games for the kids but I am unable to do so. So to sum it all up this company owes my account information so I can redeem my points.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to send my log in information so I can access my account, in order to redeem my current points for gifts. Furthermore I am requesting at this time they also credit my account with some kind of bonus for having to accept this frustrating ordeal of UN-professionalism from this company. I even did further research and found out Nielsen works with them so I contacted them as well,they said they will contact PineCone and have them contact me,still no response.$80.00 or more.

Business Response: Customer was contacted directly

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 Thank you all at the BBB the company has contacted me, and I am now able to gain access to my account thanks, and happy holidays to you all. This case in my opinion may be closed as the company did respond and is satisfactory outcome.

Regards,

***** *********

Thank you all at the BBB the company has contacted me, and I am now able to gain access to my account thanks, and happy holidays to you all. This case in my opinion may be closed as the company did respond and is satisfactory outcome.
Thank you all at the BBB the company has contacted me, and I am now able to gain access to my account thanks, and happy holidays to you all. This case in my opinion may be closed as the company did respond and is satisfactory outcome.

12/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WAS INVITED TWICE TO TAKE PART IN PINECONES SURVEYS. A ***** ***** HAS TURNED ME DOWN TWICE,BECAUSE OF MY AGE

Desired Settlement: EITHER GIVE ME MY MEMBERSHIP OR PAY FOR SURVEYS I SHOULD HAD BEEBPAID FOR 125.00

Business Response:

We apologize for not approving your membership, but due to lack of completed surveys on 9/17/14 your application was denied.  Your application denial has nothing to do with you age.

 

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.

Regards,

***** ******

***** ***** E- MAILED ME HERSELF 4 TIMES AND I HAVE ALL THE E- MAILS BOTH BACK & FOUTH. I ALSO WAS INVITED BY MY MOTHER- IN- LAW WHO IS A MEMBER IN GOOD STANDING. ***** ****** FROM ******** *** ***** ***** HAS BEEN NOTHING , BUT RUDE TO ME. I SENT HER ( EVERYTHING) SHE ASKED OF ME AND SHE STATED SHE COULD NOT OPEN THEM???? I SENT THEM TO A FRIEND WHO HAD NO PROBLEM OPENING THEM. I AM NOT GOING AWAY. I WILL FIGHT FOR WHAT IS RIGHT. SO I WANT TO BE PAID FOR THE 10 15.00 & 11.00 SURVEYS I DID DO. 110.00 IF THIS IS NOT RESOLVED I WILL BE RETAINING A LAWYER TO SUE PINECONE RESERCH. AND I AM PREETY SURE I WILL WIN, BECAUSE OF ALL THE DOCUMETION I HAVE. MY LAWYERS NAME IS *** ******

12/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have worked at home doing surveys for pinecone research and have not been paid for services rendered. The company has a system where you can either redeem for cash or points. I have continually contact a ***** ***** that I have never been able to access the site she referred me to and need to just collect a check instead,, Each time her reply would be either a automatic response that says to try the same site I have had not luck in accessing one way or the other. The company offers not other assistance. I continued to do surveys for a while longer in hope that the company would work with me but they have not, Recently they sent me a product to try and ask that I return it for compensation, I did and advise them that I need the cash/check refund as the site they keep sending me to rejects my going on or accessing it. I have done at least 6 to 8 or more survey which is suppose to pay 3 dollars. While its petty cash I worked for it and I want to be compensated accordingly. All I have gotten is the run around and I finally just unsubscribed to this agency due to disappointment. I just want what I worked for.

Desired Settlement: To be able to get the compensation I am rightful owed instead of being humiliated

Business Response:

**** ******* was been sent an email today, cashing her points out for a check in the amount of $42.  This will be processed on Friday after the holiday.  Let me know if you need further assistance. 

 

Thanks,

*******

Consumer Response:

Hi so far I have not gotten any compensation for my services, I was suppose to have gotten a check after the holidays but I am still waiting. Therefore the case is still pending as far as I am concerned. Thanks
 
 
God Bless

*****




Business Response: PineCone reached out to the customer directly

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Hi I am please to state that I did get a check today for 42 dollars and plan on cashing it in soon, Having said that I would say my case has been handled properly and fair. I appreciate all your help and Thank you
 
 
God Bless

*****




9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is refusing to allow me to join their FREE survey panel due to a technical problem on THEIR end. They refuse to work with me to resolve the problem and don't seem to have the knowledge to fix it without asking for help I can't give.

Desired Settlement: I want this problem corrected and to be allowed to join their panel. The problem is NOT my fault and it is NOT on my end. It's a technical issue with THEIR survey and though I have given them and EXACT cut and copy of the error I continue to receive they are clueless to fix it. I want them retrained in computer literacy and the problem FIXED!

Business Response:

Hi ******

This is regarding ID *******. We receive the panelists complaint you provided regarding her inability to access and complete her registration. This is no problem with the link or software and we are consistently receiving completed registrations from other panelists. Using the log in information and link she was provided, we were able to access successfully and could not replicate the problem. We sent the panelist the following information below. Please mark this issue as resolved as we have done everything we could on our end.

"Dear Registrant,

I apologize for the difficulty. Please be sure that you are typing in your ID number and password as the copy and paste function can add hidden characters. Also, be sure that you are putting the information in the correct spaces.

You will be able to access these questions only by clicking on the link provided in the PineCone Research Registration email.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

 

Dear Registrant,

I apologize for the difficulty. The Internet will sometimes save 8 to 10 of the last places you visited. When you re-visit them, it diverts to the saved page. On the current studies page, try holding down the control key (bottom left of keyboard) and clicking on refresh (F5) simultaneously. This should bring up the most current page. You also may want to restart your computer. Let me know if you continue to have difficulties.

 

Dear Registrant,

I apologize that we were unable to rectify her issue and thank you for your attempts, because of this issue which is the formatting we use for every survey, we will not be able to have you on our panel."

Thanks,

******** **********

Panel Relations Supervisor

Nielsen

******************************* **** ***************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not believe the company did anything to try to resolve my issue. They NEVER responded the the full text of the problem message I was getting and never LISTENED as I told them OVER and OVER again that it was NOT the initial log in to their survey that failed. I COULD access the survey. It was the first question of the survey that I could not answer. It asked for a user name, NOT an ID number or password and I do NOT have a user name for their site. the company NEVER seemed to understand this and thus they need the retrain their customer service personnel to actually READ customer emails and NOT make assumptions. This matter is not resolved and will not be until the company gives me a user name so I can answer that question on their survey.  

Regards,

** *******

 

 

Business Response:

This is regarding ID *******. We receive the panelists complaint you provided regarding her inability to access and complete her registration This is no problem with the link or software and we are consistently receiving completed registrations from other panelists. Using the log in information and link she was provided, we were able to access successfully and could not replicate the problem. We sent the panelist the following information below. Please mark this issue as resolved as we have done everything we could on our end.

"Dear Registrant,

I apologize for the difficulty. Please be sure that you are typing in your ID number and password as the copy and paste function can add hidden characters. Also, be sure that you are putting the information in the correct spaces.

You will be able to access these questions only by clicking on the !ink provided in the PineCone Research Reg.stration

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

.11.•••••••••••••••

Dear Registrant,

I apologize for the difficulty. The internet will sometimes save 8 to 10 of the last places you visited. When you re-visit them, it diverts to the saved page. On the current studies page. try holding down the control key (bottom left cf keyboard) and clicking on refresh (F5) simultaneously. This should bring up the most curren: page. You also may want to restart your computer. Let me know if you continue to have diff.culties.

Dear Registrant,

I apologize that we were unable to rectify her issue and thank you for your attempts. because of this issue which is the formatting we use for every survey, we will not be able to have you on our panel."

Thanks,

******** ********** ***** ********* ********** ******* ******************************** **** ***************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They STILL are FAILING to address the ACTUAL problem! They FAIL to even SEE the problem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i have told them OVER and OVER and OVER again what the EXACT message I'm receiving is and like they NEVER get it! What they are expalining is NOT the issue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The survey is NOT! asking for my user id OR password. It's asking for a USERNAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  these idiots are FAILING to get this and I won't quit until they do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Regards,

** *******

 

 

Business Response:

 

When the USERNAME being prompted for ** ******* it is after she logs in.  After a Panelist enters their ID and Password they should be taken directly to the survey. Our Support team can’t replicate or identify what is causing the prompt for USERNAME.  When issues are specific to their computer (security settings, spyware) and our general troubleshooting does not help, then the panelists computer may not be compatible to complete surveys so we would not need them on the panel.”

 

Thanks

****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business is still REFUSING to even LISTEN or do anything to resolve this matter and they are also trying to put THEIR problem on me. This is NOT my computer OR my system and it happens on MULTIPLE computers! They need to STOP effing around and FIX the problem!

Regards,

** *******

 

 

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to complain about Pinecone Research's unprofessional manner in which they handled the issue of me getting frauded by an impostor claiming to be them. I have been a member of Pinecone Research originally since 1999, then had to re-register at a later time because my membership got cancelled. I don't remember that date, but I have been a survey taker for them for over 13 years. When I tried to talk to them I got an automated response saying that someone would get back with me, but they didn't. I had to email them another time just to get a response. I complained that they never returned my email and I asked that someone call me because they needed to know what happened to me. The only response that I received was that the other company was a fraudulent company and refer to their Security Notice on their home page. I have never had any issues with this company before and had a lot of respect for them. But their customer service skills fall short of what they should be. I know they can't help me because of the money that I was frauded out of, but they should be respectful and have more concern for someone who has been a member of their company for a long time.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone from Pinecone Research to personally talk to me about what happened to me, one of their members. I was frauded out of $4,116 because someone used their company name. They treated me like it wasn't their problem. I little bit of concern and a simple "I'm sorry" would have went a long way*************************

Business Response: Per phone call: Customer was called directly by *** ******.  This issue has been addressed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There was absolutely no communication between the business and myself about this matter.  I have never heard of that person before.  No, I do not consider this matter taken care of at all. 

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Business Response: Our SVP of Public Affairs has left 2 voicemails for Ms *******.  Please have her contact him for her resolution.

Thank you,


I have called ***** ******* twice and have left messages expressing our apologies for this incident and left my phone number for her to call if she would like to discuss. I have not heard back from her.

*** *** ****** ****** *************** *** ****** ******* ******* ** ***** *** **** *** *** ***** ** ***** *************** *************** **********************

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******